Skip to main content

Full text of "Encyclopedia of Connecticut biography, genealogical-memorial; representative citizens"

See other formats


1 .Mine. Ik ul '.1 %••■ . Im ... , 



3 0231 00370 0536 






Digitized by the Internet Archive 

in 2012 with funding from 

LYRASIS Members and Sloan Foundation 



http://archive.org/details/encyclo07unse 



ENCYCLOPEDIA 

— OF — 

CONNECTICUT BIOGRAPHY 

GENEALOGICAL — MEMORIAL 



REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS 



Compiled with the Assistance of a 

Capable Corps of Advisers and Contributors 






ILLUSTRATED 



■ 



THE AMERICAN HISTORICAL SOCIETY (Inc.) 

NEW YORK PUBLISHERS CHICAGO 



-•7 



EACH one of us is "the heir of all the 
ages, in the foremost files of time." 
We build upon the solid foundations 
laid by the strenuous efforts of the fathers 
who have gone before us. Nothing is 
more fitting, and indeed more important, 
than that we should familiarize ourselves 
with their work and personality; for it is 
they who have lifted us up to the lofty 
positions from which we are working out 
our separate careers. "Lest we forget," 
it is important that we gather up the 
fleeting memories of the past and give 
them permanent record in well-chosen 
words of biography, and in such repro- 
duction of the long lost faces as modern 
science makes possible. 

Samuel Hart. 



BIOGRAPHICAL 



±17o<j1 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



MORGAN, John Pierpont, 

Master Financier. 

Celtic in origin, the name Morgan, in 
the principality of Wales, is older than 
the advent of the Saxon race or language. 
The derivation has not heen conclusively 
determined, hut Dixon, an English author- 
ity on surnames, says that it means by 
sea, or by the sea, which is probably as 
nearly accurate as any explanation may 
be. The name is allied to the Scotch 
ccann mor, meaning big head, or perhaps 
headland. Another possible derivation is 
from the Welsh more can, meaning sea 
burn, which is not essentially different 
from the former interpretation, by the sea. 
The name was common at the time of the 
Conquest, and appears in the Domesday 
Book and in the Battle Abbey Roll. 

In the latter part of the sixteenth cen- 
tury the family from which were derived 
the ancestors of the American branch 
moved from Wales to Bristol, England. 
The immediate family of Miles Morgan, 
who came to Massachusetts, was of Gla- 
morganshire, Wales, and there is reason 
to believe that his father was William 
Morgan. Among the early families of the 
American pioneers there was tradition of 
a little book owned by James Morgan, the 
brother of Miles Morgan, dated before 
1600, and inscribed with the name of Wil- 
liam Morgan, of Llandaff. Other evidence 
in the shape of antique gold sleeve buttons 
stamped "W. M.," in the possession of 
James Morgan, pointed in the same con- 
clusion, and these were said to have been 
an heirloom from William Morgan, of 
Llandaff. 



.Inns — Or, a griffin segreant sable. 
('rest — A reindeer's head couped or, attired 
gules. 

Motto — Onward and Upward. 

(I) Miles Morgan, who founded the 
family of his name in New England, was 
born probably in Llandaff, Glamorgan- 
shire, Wales, about 1615. Accompanying 
his older brother, James Morgan, who 
settled in New London, Connecticut, and 
John Morgan, who went to Virginia, he 
sailed from Bristol, England, and arrived 
in Boston in April, 1636. His first resi- 
dence was in Roxbury, and there it is be- 
lieved he remained some years. Subse- 
quently he joined the company which, led 
by Sir William Pynchon, had founded 
Agawam (Springfield) on the Connecti- 
cut river. It is not a historical certainty 
that he was with the first company which 
went inland from Boston, or that he was 
one of the founders of Agawam. That 
place was established in 1636, and the 
name of Miles Morgan appears on the 
records in 1643, showing that he was 
there before that time, but how long be- 
fore is not known. 

He became one of the leading men of 
Agawam. He acquired an extensive tract 
of land, and was also a trader, sailing a 
vessel up and down the river. One of the 
few fortified houses in Agawam belonged 
to him, and he was one of the leaders of 
the militia, having the rank of sergeant. 
In all the fighting in which the little 
settlement was engaged to protect itself 
from the attack of the surrounding sav- 
ages, he was much depended upon for his 
valor and his skill as a soldier. When, 
during King Philip's War, in 1675, tne 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Indians made an attack on Agawam and 
nearly destroyed the town, his house was 
the central place of refuge for the be- 
leaguered inhabitants. His sons, follow- 
ing the footsteps of their father, were two 
noted Indian hunters, and one of them, 
Pelatiah Morgan, was killed by the In- 
dians. In the "records or list of ye names 
of the townsmen or men of this Towne of 
Springfield in February, 1664, written by 
Elizur Holyoke,"he appears as Serj. Miles 
Morgan. In 1655-57-1660-62-68 he was a 
selectman. He served as constable one 
year, and at different times as fence 
viewer, highway surveyor, and overseer 
of highways, and also on various town 
committees. He died May 28, 1699. A 
bronze statue of a Puritan soldier stand- 
ing in one of the public parks of Spring- 
field enduringly commemorates his fame. 

He married (first) in 1643, Prudence 
Gilbert, of Beverly, Massachusetts. The 
tradition is that on the vessel on which he 
came to Boston, Prudence Gilbert was 
also a passenger, and there he made her 
acquaintance. She was coming to the 
New World to join members of her family 
already located in Beverly. After he had 
settled in Springfield he sent word to her 
and proposed marriage. She accepted 
the offer, and the young man, with two 
friends and an Indian guide leading pack 
horses, marched across Massachusetts 
from the Connecticut river to the "land of 
the people of the east," where the two 
young people were married. After the 
marriage the household goods of the 
young couple were laden on the pack 
horses, and the bride, on foot, tramped 
back to Springfield, one hundred and 
twenty miles, escorted by the bridegroom 
and his friends. She died January 14, 
1660. He married (second) February 15, 
1670, Elizabeth, daughter of Thomas and 
Margaret Bliss. 

(II) Nathaniel, son of Miles and Eliza- 



beth (Bliss) Morgan, was born in Spring- 
field, June 14, 1671. He settled in West 
Springfield, where he made his home dur- 
ing his entire life and was a successful 
farmer. He died August 30, 1752. He 
married, January 17, 1691, Hannah Bird, 
who died June 7, 1751. Of the seven sons 
and two daughters of this marriage, all 
the sons and one daughter lived to be 
over seventy years of age. 

(III) Joseph, son of Nathaniel and 
Hannah (Bird) Morgan, was born De- 
cember 3, 1702. He lived on the paternal 
farm in West Springfield. He died No- 
vember 7, 1773. He married, in 1735, 
Mary Stebbins, daughter of Benjamin 
Stebbins ; she was born July 6, 1712, and 
died December 6, 1798. 

(IV) Joseph (2), son of Joseph ( 1 ) and 
Mary (Stebbins) Morgan, was born Feb- 
ruary 19, 1736. He was a captain of 
militia, and in character as well as in 
physique he was reckoned one of the 
staunchest men of Western Massachu- 
setts. He married, September 9, 1765, 
Experience Smith, born October 23, 1741. 

(V) Joseph (3), son of Joseph (2) and 
Experience (Smith) Morgan, was born 
January 4, 1780. Leaving home when he 
was a young man, he settled in Hartford, 
Connecticut, and became a successful and 
respected hotelkeeper. He died in 1847. 
He married Sarah Spencer, of Middle- 
town, Connecticut. 

(VI) Junius Spencer, son of Joseph (3) 
and Sarah (Spencer) Morgan, was born 
in West Springfield, Massachusetts, April 
14, 1813. His early years were spent in 
Hartford, Connecticut, where he was edu- 
cated. When he had grown to manhood 
he went to Boston and entered the bank- 
ing house of Albert Wells, where he 
gained his first knowledge of that busi- 
ness, in which he afterward became suc- 
cessful and distinguished. In July, 1834, 
he moved to New York, entering the 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



banking house of Morgan, Ketchum & 
Company. Remaining in New "York only 
about two years, he returned to his native 

city and then- established himself in busi- 

as a dry goods merchant in the firm 
of Howe. Mather & Company and Mather, 
Morgan & Company. Subsequently he 
went again to Boston, and, still continu- 
ing in the dry goods business, became a 
partner of J. M. Becbe in the famous firm 
of Becbe. Morgan & Company, which in 
its prime was one of the largest and most 
influential houses in that trade in the 
United States. 

Mr. Morgan visited England in 1853, 
and, upon the invitation of George Pea- 
body, became associated with that great 
banker as his partner in October, 1854. 
In ten years he succeeded entirely to the 
business of Mr. Peabody, and established 
the house of J. S. Morgan & Company, 
which shortly became one of the largest 
banking houses in the world. The later 
years of his life were spent largely abroad, 
but he never lost his love for his native 
country, and during the civil war he gave 
substantial assistance to the cause of the 
national government. He was a man of 
generous instincts, and contributed hand- 
somely to the support of educational and 
public institutions. His activity as a lay- 
man in the affairs of the Protestant Epis- 
copal church was noteworthy, and among 
other institutions, Trinity College, of 
Hartford, Connecticut, owed much to his 
munificence. He died in Nice, France, in 
1895, as the result of an accident. He 
married, in Boston, in 1836, Juliet Pier- 
pont, daughter of Rev. John and Mary 
Sheldon (Lord) Pierpont. 

(VII) John Pierpont Morgan, only son 
of Junius Spencer and Juliet (Pierpont) 
Morgan, was born in Hartford, Connecti- 
cut. April 17, 1837; died in Rome, Italy, 
March 31, 1913. 

He was educated in the English high 



school in Boston, and then studied in the 
University of Gottingen, Germany, where 
he completed a full course, returning to 
the United States when twenty years of 
age. lie engaged in the banking business 
with Duncan Sherman & Company, of 
New York City, in 1857, and there ob- 
tained a full knowledge of finance in a 
house which at that time was one of the 
most prominent in the country. In i860 
he became American agent and attorney 
for George Peabody & Company, of Lon- 
don, with which house his father was con- 
nected, and in [(S64 he engaged in banking 
on his own account in the firm of Dabney, 
Morgan & Company. In 1871 he became 
a member of the famous banking house 
of Drexel, Morgan & Company, the name 
of which in 1895 was changed to J. P. 
Morgan & Company. At the same time 
he was also a member of the firm of J. S. 
Morgan & Company, of London, of which 
his father was the founder, and, upon the 
death of his parent, he succeeded him in 
that concern. Thus he was head of the 
greatest private bank in America, and of 
one of the most influential monetary insti- 
tutions in England. 

His preeminence as a banker and finan- 
cier was recognized for nearly a quarter 
of a century. In those respects he was 
one of the most potent powers that the 
United States has ever known, and rivaled 
even the strongest men in Europe. In 
the wonderful industrial and financial de- 
velopment which characterized the clos- 
ing years of the nineteenth century in the 
United States, and especially in the de- 
velopment toward the consolidation of in- 
dustrial enterprises, Mr. Morgan was not 
only prominent, but it is not too much to 
say that, at that time, he exercised the 
most powerful and helpful influence ever 
displayed by any man in the financial his- 
tory of the country. Particularly will his 
genius and indefatigable labors in the 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



organization and development of the 
United States Steel Corporation be long 
remembered as a masterly achievement, 
and, in the opinion of many, as laying the 
substantial foundation for the great in- 
dustrial prosperity of the country which 
followed in the years immediately after 
this accomplishment. 

Mr. Morgan was connected with nearly 
all notable financial undertakings of his 
time, and his influence was always of the" 
soundest character and conductive to the 
public welfare as well as to the investing 
interests. A list of the important reorgan- 
izations of railroad companies, the nego- 
tiations of loans, and the underwriting of 
industrial enterprises which have been 
handled by him would be long and impos- 
ing. Also in public affairs were his serv- 
ices to the country of inestimable value. 
Especially in 1894 and 1895, and at other 
times of threatened monetary stringency, 
he contributed substantially and effec- 
tively to protecting the credit of the 
United States treasury. 

Although, when the banking disturb- 
ance which developed in New York City 
in the autumn of 1907 threatened to over- 
whelm the entire country with supreme 
disaster, Mr. Morgan had been largely re- 
tired from active participation in affairs, 
he came forward again to save the situa- 
tion. In the grave emergency which then 
arose he took the lead in measures insti- 
tuted to prevent the widespread destruc- 
tion of public credit and overthrow of in- 
dustrial and financial institutions that was 
imminent. His leadership in those trying 
days was unreservedly accepted by men 
who were foremost in the financial world 
in New York City, and as well through- 
out the United States. Among his asso- 
ciates he was relied upon for initiative 
and for powerful influence, and even the 
national administration depended upon 
his advice and his assistance. After the 



battle had been won and confidence re- 
stored, it was everywhere recognized that 
his financial genius and his masterly con- 
trol of men and affairs had been the main 
instruments in saving the country, if not 
the world, from the worst disaster that 
had impended for a generation. The great 
masters of finance in London, Paris, and 
other monetary centers of Europe did not 
withhold their warmest praise and in- 
dorsement of his accomplishment, while 
his associates in the American fields of 
finance and industry have been profuse in 
acknowledgment of the preeminent serv- 
ice that he rendered to the country. 

Mr. Morgan was also a large investor 
in the great business enterprises of the 
country, and a director in more than two- 
score financial, railroad and industrial cor- 
porations. Typically foremost among the 
enterprises in which he held important 
interests and exercised pronounced influ- 
ence in the direction of their affairs were 
the following: The United States Steel 
Corporation, the Cleveland, Cincinnati, 
Chicago & St. Louis Railroad Company, 
the First National Bank of the City of 
New York, the General Electric Com- 
pany, the Lake Erie & Western Railroad 
Company, the Lake Shore & Michigan 
Southern Railway Company, the Michi- 
gan Central Railroad Company, the Na- 
tional Bank of Commerce of New York, 
the New York & Harlem River Railroad 
Company, the New York Central & Hud- 
son River Railroad Company, the New 
York, New Haven & Hartford Railroad 
Company, the West Shore Railroad Com- 
pany, and the Western Union Telegraph 
Company. 

A man of broad culture and refined 
tastes, Mr. Morgan did not confine him- 
self to business affairs. He was particu- 
larly interested in art, being one of its 
most generous patrons, and one of the 
accomplished connoisseurs of the world. 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Some of the finest works of the great mas- 
ters of olden times and of the present 
wore owned by him. His collection of art 
objects is recognized as one of the largest, 

most important, and most valuable ever 
brought together by a single private in- 
dividual. A considerable part of this great 
collection was acquired during the ten 
years or so preceding 1908, and has been 
kept in Kensington Museum, London, in 
the Metropolitan Museum of Art, in New 
York City, and in Mr. Morgan's private 
galleries in London and New York. It 
consists not only of rare and valuable 
paintings, but exquisite porcelains, mar- 
ble reliefs, bronzes, enamels, fabrics, and 
other objects. 

Mr. Morgan's New York residence was 
in Madison avenue, and he had a country 
seat, "Cragston," at Highland Falls, New 
York. He also had a house at Roehamp- 
ton, near Wimbledon, a suburb of Lon- 
don, and one near Kensington. Adjoin- 
ing his New York City residence he had 
a fine private art gallery which contains 
many of his art treasures. He was a mem- 
ber of the leading clubs of New York City 
and London, was one of the founders and 
president of the Metropolitan Club of 
New York, and was for several years 
commodore of the New York Yacht Club. 
Particularly interested in the Metropoli- 
tan Art Museum, he was a generous bene- 
factor to that institution and was its presi- 
dent. He arranged to erect in Hartford, 
Connecticut, an art building in memory 
of his father, to be called the Morgan 
Memorial ; the cornerstone of this edifice 
was laid April 23, 1908. He was one of 
the trustees of Columbia University, a 
director or trustee of various other edu- 
cational and philanthropic institutions, a 
member of the Protestant Episcopal 
church, and several times was a lay dele- 
gate from the diocese of New York to 
the general conventions of that religious 
body. 



lie married (first) Amelia, daughter of 
Jonathan and Mary (Cady) Sturgess, of 
New York City. She died, and he mar- 
ried (s L eond) in [865, Frances Louise, 
daughter of Charles and Louise (Kirk- 
land) Tracy, of New York City. Issue: 
1. John Pierpont Morgan, born 1867; 
graduated from Harvard University, class 
of [889, and since then has been engaged 
in the banking business founded by his 
grandfather. He resides in Madison ave- 
nue. New York City, and is a member of 
the Metropolitan, Union, University, Rid- 
ing, New York Yacht, and other clubs. 
He married, in 1891, Jane Norton Grew, 
daughter of Henry Sturgis and Jane Nor- 
ton (Wigglesworth) Grew, of Boston; 
she was born in Boston, September 30, 
1868. They have one son, Junius Spen- 
cer Morgan, born in 1892. 2. Louisa Pier- 
pont Morgan, married Herbert L. Satter- 
lee. 3. Juliet Pierpont Morgan, married 
W. Pierson Hamilton. 4. Anne Tracy 
Morgan. 



BEECHER, Henry Ward, 

Clergyman, Orator, Author. 

The Rev. Henry Ward Beecher was 
born in Litchfield, Connecticut, June 24, 
1813, fourth son of Lyman and Roxana 
(Foote) Beecher. His mother died when 
he was but three years old ; his step- 
mother, under whose guardianship his 
childhood days were spent, was an Epis- 
copalian. Both parents were devoted 
Christians, and his father was one of the 
most influential of New England pastors. 
His home training was of the severe New 
England type, but alleviated by an irre- 
pressible sense of humor in his father, and 
a poetic and mystical spirit in his step- 
mother. He was graduated from Am- 
herst College in 1834, in his twenty-first 
year. He did not stand high in college 
studies, there, as throughout his life, fol- 
lowing the bent of his own inclination 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



rather than any course marked out for 
him. He made a careful study of Eng- 
lish literature, submitted to a very thor- 
ough training in elocution, took hold of 
phrenology and temperance, and partici- 
pated in prayer meetings and religious 
labors in neighboring country towns with 
fervor. His father, an intense and polemi- 
cal evangelistic divine for his time, was 
liberal, taking an active part in theological 
controversies as against the old school or 
extreme Calvinistic party in the orthodox 
church, laying stress on human liberty 
and responsibility, and also as against the 
Unitarian denomination, urging the doc- 
trine of Jesus Christ, the vicarious atone- 
ment, regeneration, and the inspiration 
and authority of the Scriptures. On these 
doctrines, Henry Ward Beecher was 
reared, and he never to the day of his 
death lost the impression they made upon 
his character and method of thought. But 
at a very early period they passed with 
him from a dogma to a vital spiritual ex- 
perience in which, through a conscious 
realization of Christ as the manifestation 
of a God of infinite mercy, coming into 
the world not to judge, but to redeem and 
educate, Mr. Beecher himself entered into 
a new spiritual consciousness, in which 
love took the place of duty in the law of 
life, and the place of justice in the inter- 
pretation of God. 

Upon graduating from Amherst Col- 
lege, he entered Lane Theological Semi- 
nary (Cincinnati), where his father was 
professor of systematic theology, and pur- 
sued his studies there, receiving proba- 
bly quite as much from the spiritual life 
and keen dialectic conversation at home 
as from the instructions of the seminary. 
He also served as a Bible class teacher, 
and in journalistic work in connection 
with a Cincinnati paper, in which he took 
an active part as an ardent Abolitionist. 
His first parish was the Presbyterian 



church at Lawrenceburg, Indiana, a small 
settlement on the Ohio river. Twenty 
persons, nineteen women and one man, 
constituted the entire church. He was 
both sexton and preacher, lighted the 
lamps, swept the church, rang the bell, 
and took general charge of the edifice. 
After a year or two he was called to a 
Presbyterian church in Indianapolis, the 
capital of the State. His remarkable gifts 
as an orator gave him almost from the 
first a crowded church. His influence was 
felt throughout the State in intellectual 
and moral impulses given to members of 
the Legislature and to public men, who, 
attracted by his originality, earnestness, 
practicality and courage, came in great 
numbers to hear him. His pulpit did not, 
however, absorb either his thought or his 
time. He preached throughout the State 
in itinerant revival labors ; lectured fre- 
quently, generally without compensation, 
for impecunious charities; and edited 
weekly the agricultural department of the 
"Indiana Journal." 

After eight years of increasingly suc- 
cessful ministry in Indiana, Mr Beecher 
accepted a call to the then newly organ- 
ized Plymouth Church of Brooklyn, New 
York, entering upon the duties of his pas- 
torate October 10, 1847, an d remaining 
until his death, March 8, 1887. The his- 
tory of these forty years is the history of 
the theological and polemical progress of 
this country during that time. There was 
no theological question in which he did 
not take an interest, no problem having 
any recognized bearing on the moral well- 
being of the country which he did not 
study, and upon the practical aspects of 
which he did not express himself, and no 
moral or political reform in which he did 
not take an active part. His fertility of 
thought was amazing. He rarely ex- 
changed ; he preached twice every Sab- 
bath, usually to houses crowded to over- 



8 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



flowing; he lectured through the week, so 
that there is scarcely any city and few 
towns of any considerable size and any 

pretension to literary character in the 
country in which he has not spoken. He 
also wrote profusely as a contributor of 
occasional articles, or as an editor, at one 
time of the New York "Independent," and 
subsequently of the "Christian Union," 
which he founded, and of which he was 
editor-in-chief until within a few years of 
his death. A career such as his could not 
be passed without arousing bitter enmi- 
ties, but of all the numerous assaults upon 
his memory, only one was sufficiently 
significant to pass into history, and that 
has already, for the most part, faded from 
men's minds, leaving his name unsullied. 
It is safe to say that no man, unless it be 
George Washington or Abraham Lincoln, 
has ever died in America more widely 
honored, more deeply loved, or more uni- 
versally regretted. 

Mr. Beecher's great work in life was 
that of a pulpit and platform orator, yet 
he wrote enough to prove himself master 
of the pen as well as of the voice. His 
principal works, apart from his published 
sermons, are his "Lectures to Young 
Men," delivered during his Indiana minis- 
try ; "Yale Lectures on Preaching," deliv- 
ered on the Henry Ward Beecher founda- 
1 tion at Yale Theological Seminary ; "Nor- 
| wood : a Tale of New England Life," a 
novel, first published in Serial form in the 
New York "Ledger;" "Star Papers," and 
"Flowers, Fruits and Farming" (one 
volume each), made up from occasional 
contributions to various journals ; and the 
"Life of Jesus Christ," left unfinished at 
his death, but subsequently completed by 
his son, with extracts from sermons. As 
an orator Mr. Beecher has had no 
i superior, if any equal, in the American 
pulpit, and probably none in the history 
of the Christian church. His themes were 



extraordinarily varied, everything that 
concerned the moral wellbeing of men 
being treated by him as legitimate sub- 
jects for the pulpit. He had all the quali- 
ties which art endeavors to cultivate in 
the orator — a fine physique, rich and full 
blood currents, that overmastering nerv- 
ous fire which we call magnetism, a voice 
equally remarkable for its fervorand flexi- 
bility — a true organ of speech, with many 
and varied stops — and a natural gift of 
mimicry in action, tongue, and facial ex- 
pression. Training would have made him 
one of the first actors of dramatic history, 
yet he was not an actor, for he never 
simulated the passion he did not feel. 
Genuineness and simplicity were the 
foundations upon which he built his ora- 
torical success, and he never hesitated to 
disappoint an expectant audience by 
speaking colloquially, and even tamely, if 
the passion was not in him. 

His five great orations delivered in Eng- 
land during the Civil War in 1863. in be- 
half of the Union, were, in the difficulties 
he encountered, his self-poise and self- 
control, his abundant and varied re- 
sources, his final victory, and the imme- 
diate results produced, unparalleled in the 
world's history of oratory. There is no 
space in so brief a notice as this for any 
critical analysis of either the man or his 
teaching. More than any man of his time, 
he led the church and the community 
from a religion of obedience under ex- 
ternal law, to a life of spontaneous spiritu- 
ality ; from a religion which feared God 
as a moral governor, to one which loves 
Him as a father; from one which re- 
garded atonement and regeneration as an 
inexorable, but too frequently dreaded 
necessity, to one that welcomes them as 
the incoming of God in the soul ; from one 
which yielded a blind intellectual sub- 
mission to the Bible as a book of divine 
decrees, to one which accepts it in a spirit 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



of glad yet free allegiance, as a reflection 
of the divine character and purposes in 
the minds and hearts of his enlightened 
children. 

Mr. Beecher was married, in 1837, to 
Eunice Bullard, who survived him ; he 
also left four children, three sons engaged 
in business pursuits, and one daughter, 
married to Samuel Scoville, a Congrega- 
tional clergyman of New England. On 
January 13, 1893, a tablet in honor of 
its famous preacher was dedicated and 
unveiled in the vestibule of Plymouth 
Church. The tablet is of brass and enamel, 
mounted on a great panel of antique oak. 
A border of interlaced oak leaves sur- 
rounds the tablet, upon which appears a 
medallion bust in bronze. The inscription 
is in base relief: "In memoriam Henry 
Ward Beecher, first pastor of Plymouth 
Church, 1847-1887. 'I have not concealed 
Thy loving kindness and Thy truth from 
the great congregation'." Mr. Beecher 
died at his home in Brooklyn, New York, 
March 8, 1887. 



FISKE, John, 

Author and Lecturer. 

John Fiske was born in Hartford, Con- 
necticut, March 30, 1842, son of Edmund 
Brewster and Mary Fiske (Bound) Green ; 
grandson of Humphreys and Hannah 
(Heaton) Green, of Delaware, and of John 
and Mary (Fiske) Bound, of Middletown, 
Connecticut, and a descendant from 
Phineas Fiske, of Fressingfield, Suffolk, 
England, who came to America to Wen- 
ham, Massachusetts. 

John Fiske's name was originally Ed- 
mund Fiske Green, and in 1855, on the 
marriage of his widowed mother to Edwin 
W. Stoughton, he took the name of his ma- 
ternal great-grandfather, John Fiske. He 
was brought up by his maternal grand- 
mother, who lived at Middletown, Con- 



necticut. He displayed great precocity 
as well as diligence in preparing himself 
for college ; he had mastered Euclid, alge- 
bra, trigonometry, surveying and naviga- 
tion at twelve ; could read Plato and Hero- 
dotus and had begun German at fifteen ; 
could read Spanish, French, Italian and 
Portuguese at seventeen ; and made a 
beginning in Sanscrit and Hebrew at 
eighteen, meanwhile continuing an inces- 
sant course of reading. He was gradu- 
ated at Harvard College in arts in 1863, 
and in law in 1865, having been admitted 
to the Suffolk bar in 1864. He never 
practiced law, devoting himself to litera- 
ture, gaining position as an author from 
the publication of his first article in the 
"National Quarterly Review" in 1861, a 
review of Buckle's "History of Civiliza- 
tion," which won for him the considera- 
tion of editors of both American and Eng- 
lish periodicals, and he became a frequent 
contributor to the leading magazines and 
reviews. He was university lecturer at 
Harvard, 1869-71, his subjects being 
"Positive Philosophy" and the "Doctrine 
of Evolution." He was instructor in 
history there, 1870; assistant librarian, 
1872-79; and overseer, 1879-91. He was 
non-resident lecturer on American his- 
tory in the University College, London, 
England, 1879, at the Royal Institution 
of Great Britain, 1880, and in Washing- 
ton University, St. Louis, Missouri, 1881- 
85; and from 1885 non-resident professor 
of American history in that institution. 
After 1880 he gave his entire time to writ- 
ing and lecturing. He delivered in 1890, 
1895 and 1898 three series each of twelve 
lectures on "The Discovery and Coloniza- 
tion of America ;" "Old Virginia ;" and 
"The Dutch and Quaker Colonies" before 
the Lowell Institute, Boston. He was 
elected a fellow of the American Academy 
of Arts and Sciences ; a member of the 
Historical societies of Massachusetts, 



10 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Connecticut, Virginia, W isconsin, Minne- 
sota, Missouri, California, Oneida county, 

New York; the Military Historical Soci- 
ety of Massachusetts, the Essex Institute, 
the American Antiquarian Society, the 
American Geographical Society and the 
American Folklore Society; was given 
the degree of Doctor of Laws by Har- 
vard in 1894, and that of Doctor of Litera- 
ture by the University of Pennsylvania 
the same year. He composed a mass in 
B minor, and several hymns and songs, 
and was president of the Boylston club of 
singers, Boston. Massachusetts, from 1876 
to 1881. He was joint editor with James 
Grant Wilson of Appletons' "Cyclopaedia 
of American Biography" (six volumes, 
[887-89). His published works include: 
'•Tobacco and Alcohol" (1868); "History 
of English Literature, abridged from 
Taine and edited for Schools" (1872); 
"Myths and Myth-Makers" ( 1872) ; "Out- 
lines of Cosmis Philosophy based on the 
Doctrine of Evolution" (two volumes, 
1874); "The Unseen World" (1876); 
"Darwinism and Other Essays" (1879; 
new edition, I 885); "Excursions of an 
Evolutionist" (1883); "The Destiny of 
Man viewed in the Light of his Origin" 
(1884); "The Idea of God as Affected by 
Modern Knowledge" (1885) ; "American 
Political Ideas Viewed from the Stand- 
point of Universal History" (1885); 
"Washington and His Country" (1887); 
"The Critical Period of American His- 
tory." 1783-1789 (1888; illustrated edi- 
tion, 1897) ; "The Beginnings of New 
England ; or the Puritan Theocracy in its 
Relation to Civil and Religious Liberty" 
(1889; illustrated edition, 1898); "The 
War of Independence, for Young People" 
(1889); "Civil Government of the United 
States, considered with some reference to 
its origins" ( 1890) ; "The American Revo- 
lution" (two volumes. 1891 ; illustrated 
edition, 1896) ; "The Discovery of Amer- 



ica, with some Account of Ancient Amer- 
ica and the Spanish Conquest" (two 
volumes, [892); "Franz Schubert" (in 

Millet's "Famous Composers," [892); 
"Edward Livingston Youmans, Interpre- 
ter of Science for the People" (1894); 
"History of the United States, for 
Schools" (1894); "Old Virginia and Her 
Neighbours" (two volumes, 1897); "The 
Dutch and Quaker Colonies in America" 
(two volumes, 1889); "Through Nature 
to God" (1899); and "Japanese Transla- 
tions of The Destiny of Man and The 
Idea of God," published at Tokio in 
1894-95. 

He was married, in 1864, to Abby, 
daughter of Aaron Brooks, of Petersham, 
Massachusetts. He died at East Glouces- 
ter, Massachusetts, July 4, 1901. 



HADLEY, Arthur T., 

Educator, Author. 

Arthur Twining Hadley, son of Dr. 
James (2) and Anne Loring (Twining) 
Hadley, was born in New Haven, Con- 
necticut, April 23, 1856. 

He was prepared for college at the 
Hopkins Grammar School, and was grad- 
uated from Yale College in 1876, at the 
age of twenty, with the highest honors 
as valedictorian of his class, and taking 
the Woolsey and Bristed scholarships, 
one of the Winthrop prizes given to "stu- 
dents most thoroughly acquainted with 
Greek and Latin poets," the Clark prize 
for the solution of astronomical problems, 
and one of the Townsend prizes for Eng- 
lish composition. He studied history and 
political science at Yale College, 1876-77, 
and then went abroad and spent two years 
in study of the same subjects in the Uni- 
versity of Berlin, under Wagner, Treit- 
schke and Gneist. also taking up history. 
On his return home he was made a tutor 
in Yale College, remaining in that capac- 



11 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



ity until 1883, teaching various branches, 
but German principally. For three years 
following he was university lecturer on 
railroad administration. In 1886 he was 
elected professor of political science and 
was dean of the graduate department, 
which he held until May 25, 1899, when 
he was elected to the presidency of Yale 
University, to succeed Dr. Timothy 
Dwight, resigned. He entered upon his 
new duties on commencement day, 1899, 
the thirteenth president, the first layman ; 
and also the youngest man chosen for the 
position. In 1885 Governor Harrison ap- 
pointed him Commissioner of Labor Sta- 
tistics in Connecticut, a position which he 
held for two years. In 1887-89 he was 
associate editor of the "New York Rail- 
road Gazette," having in charge the 
foreign railway department. He was pres- 
ident of the American Economic Associa- 
tion, 1899-1900, and is a member of the 
International Institute of Statistics, and 
of the American Academy of Arts and 
Sciences. He received the degree of Mas- 
ter of Arts from Yale in 1887, and has 
also the honorary degree of Doctor of 
Laws from Harvard, Columbia, Johns 
Hopkins, California and other universi- 
ties, and the degree of Doctor of Philoso- 
phy from Berlin. His published writings 
are : "Railroad Transportation ; Its His- 
tory and Its Laws" (1885); "Reports on 
the Labor Question" (1885); "Report on 
the System of Weekly Payments" (1886) ; 
"Economics : An Account of the Relations 
between Private Property and Public 
Welfare" (1896), which is in use as a text- 
book in various colleges ; "The Education 
of the American Citizen" (1901); "Free- 
dom and Responsibility" (1903); "Bacca- 
laureate Addresses" (1907); "Standards 
of Public Morality" (1907); "Some Influ- 
ences in Modern Philosophic Thought" 
(1913). He was associated with Colonel 
H. G. Prout in the editorship of the "Rail- 



road Gazette" from 1887 to 1889. He has 
contributed to various magazines, one of 
the most notable articles from his pen be- 
ing in "Harper's Magazine," in April, 
1894, in appreciation of the value of Yale 
Democracy, and advocating the impor- 
tance of a high standard of scholarship, 
rigid adherence to it, and the utility of 
athletics as a factor in university life. He 
contributed articles on transportation to 
Lalor's "Cyclopedia of Political Science;" 
also articles on railroads to the ninth edi- 
tion of the "Encyclopedia Brittanica," and 
in 1899 accepted the editorship of the sup- 
plement to that work. 

Dr. Hadley married, June 30, 1891, 
Helen Harrison Morris, a Vassar gradu- 
ate, daughter of Governor Luzon B. Mor- 
ris. Children: Morris, born 1894 ; Hamil- 
ton, 1896; Laura, 1899. 



STEDMAN, Edmund Clarence, 

Author, Literary Critic. 

Edmund Clarence Stedman was born in 
Hartford, Connecticut, October 8, 1833, 
son of Major Edmund Burke and Eliz- 
abeth Clementine (Dodge) Stedman; 
grandson of Griffin and Elizabeth (Gor- 
don) Stedman, and of David Low and 
Sarah (Cleveland) Dodge, and a descend- 
ant in the eighth generation, of Isaac 
Stedman, who was born in England, 1605, 
and immigrated to Massachusetts in 1635 ; 
settled in Scituate, Massachusetts, in 
1636; sold his farm there in 1650 and re- 
moved to Boston, where he became a mer- 
chant, and died in 1678. 

After Edmund's father's death in 1835, 
he became the ward of his great-uncle, 
James Stedman, of Norwich, Connecticut, 
to whose home he was sent in 1839. He 
attended Yale College, 1849-51, receiving 
his Bachelor of Arts degree in 1871, as a 
member of the class of 1853; and con- 
tinued his studies under private instruc- 



12 





y[^U* &*■*■ b^*^^*^*^^ 



*r 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OE BIOGRAPHY 



tion at Northampton, Massachusetts, 
1S51. lit- was editor oi the Norwich 
"Tribune," 1852-53; and of the Winsted 

(Connecticut) "Herald," 1854-55. He re- 
moved to New York City in [856, where 
he contributed verse to leading publica- 
tions, and was editorially connected with 
the "Tribune," 1859-61. He was located 
at Washington, D, C, as war correspond- 
ent of the New York "World" during the 
Civil War days of 1861-63; and in the 
confidential employ of Attorney-General 
Bates, 1863-64. He was a member of the 
New York Stock Exchange, 1869-1900. 
He subsequently devoted his entire time 
to literary work, and made his home in 
Bronxville, New York. The honorary 
degree of Master of Arts was conferred 
upon him by Yale College in 1871, and by 
Dartmouth College in 1873; that of Lit- 
erarum Humaniorum Doctor by Colum- 
bia University in 1892, and that of Doc- 
tor of Laws by Yale University, 1894. 

Mr. Stedman acquired a wide reputa- 
tion as a literary critic of unusual dis- 
crimination. He lectured at Johns Hop- 
kins University upon the "Nature and 
Elements of Poetry," upon the creation of 
the Turnhull chair of poetry, the first 
chair of its kind in America, 1891, and re- 
peated the same course at Columbia Col- 
lege, 1891, and at the University of Penn- 
sylvania in 1892. He was frequently 
chosen to deliver original poems on im- 
portant public occasions. He served as 
/ice-president and president of the Ameri- 
can Copyright League. He edited, with 
Thomas B. Aldrich, "Cameos, from the 
Poems of Walter Savage Landor" ( 1874) ; 
"Poems of Austin Dobson" (1880) ; "The 
Library of American Literature," with 
Ellen M. Hutchinson (eleven volumes, 
1888-89); "The Works of Edgar Allen 
Poe" (ten volumes, 1895), with G. E. 
Woodbury : "A Victorian Anthology" 
(1895); and "An American Anthology" 
(1900). He is the author of: "Poems, 



Lyric and Idyllic" ( [86b) j "Alice of Mon- 
mouth" (i.Xo-ij; "The Blameless Prince" 
(1869); "Poetical Works" (1873); "Vic- 
torian Poets" (1875); "Hawthorne, and 
Other Poems" (1879); "Poems now first 
Collected" (1884); "Poets of America" 
(1885); "The Nature and Elements of 
Poetry," lectures (1892). He died Janu- 
ary 18, 1908. 

He was married, November 2, 1853, to 
Laura Hyde, daughter of Asa and Eliza- 
beth (Rogers) Woodworth, of Danielson- 
ville, Connecticut. 



TINGIER, Lyman Twining, 

Jurist, Legislator. 

Lyman Twining Tingier, of Rockville, 
was born June 9, 1862, in the town of 
Webster, Massachusetts, the son of Sey- 
mour Allen and Sarah (Twining) Tingier. 
Both of his parents were natives of the 
town of Tolland, Massachusetts, his 
father, born in 1829, the son of Edward 
Lay Tinker and Laura (Steele) Tinker, 
and his mother, born in 1832, the daugh- 
ter of Lyman Twining, of Tolland, Mas- 
sachusetts, and Paulina (Shepard) Twin- 
ing, of Blandford, Massachusetts. The 
family name of Tinker became Tingier in 

1857- 

Seymour Allen Tingier was a graduate 
of Williams College, and for many years 
was a practicing lawyer in Webster, Mas- 
sachusetts, removing in 1878 to Thomp- 
son, Connecticut, where he engaged in 
farming until his death in 1888. He held 
several public offices in Webster and 
Thompson. Sarah (Twining) Tingier 
died at Webster in 1864, and in 1870, Sey- 
mour Allen Tingier married Mary L. 
Tucker, daughter of Charles and Olive 
( Atwell) Tucker, of Webster, Massachu- 
setts, who survived him, dying at Thomp- 
son in 1902. 

Lyman Twining Tingier attended the 
public schools of his native town, a pri- 



13 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



vate school at Springfield, Massachusetts, 
and Nichols Academy at Dudley, Massa- 
chusetts. He graduated from Yale Uni- 
versity Law School in 1888. The same 
year Mr. Tingier was admitted to the bar 
at New Haven, Connecticut, and for the 
ensuing year was engaged in the practice 
of law at Webster, Massachusetts. In the 
fall of 1889 he removed to Rockville, Con- 
necticut, where he has since resided. Mr. 
Tingier has been honored by his fellow- 
citizens in many ways. He has served in 
several public offices and has taken a deep 
interest in the welfare of the community. 
In 1890 he was elected judge of the Pro- 
bate Court for the District of Ellington, 
and was twice reelected. In 1893 he was 
appointed clerk of the Superior Court, 
which position he continues to hold. In 
1899 he was appointed judge of the City 
Court of Rockville, and served in that 
office for four years. In 191 1 he was 
elected mayor of the city of Rockville, 
and served for two years, declining re- 
nomination. Mr. Tingier was a repre- 
sentative from the town of Vernon to the 
General Assembly during two sessions, 
1909 and 191 1. During the former ses- 
sion he was a member of the committee 
on incorporations and of the house com- 
mittee on constitutional amendments. In 
191 1 he was the candidate of his party for 
the speakership, thus becoming minority 
leader. In 1912 he was elected lieuten- 
ant governor and served for two years ; 
in 1914 he was nominated for the office 
of governor, but suffered defeat with his 
party. In 1896 Mr. Tingier was a dele- 
gate to the National Democratic Conven- 
tion at Chicago. In addition to other 
offices held, he has been a member of the 
Vernon school board for several years, 
and is a director of the Savings Bank of 
Rockville. Fraternally Mr. Tingier is a 
Free Mason, a Knights Templar and a 
Shriner. He is also a member of the 
Knights of Pythias, Foresters of America, 



and the Ancient Order of United Work- 
men. 

On November 16, 1893, Mr. Tingier was 
married to Charlotte E., daughter of Nel- 
son D. and Isabelle (Brown) Skinner, of 
Vernon. They have no children, their 
son, Allen Seymour, dying in 1896. 

Mr. Tingier is the descendant of sev- 
eral old families in Massachusetts and 
Connecticut. John Tinker, who came to 
America about 1637, settled in Windsor, 
and after living for several years in Bos- 
ton and Lancaster, Massachusetts, re- 
moved in 1659 to Pequod, now New Lon- 
don, where he became prominent. In 
1660 he was chosen deputy to the Gen- 
eral Court, and he afterward became an 
assistant. From him Mr. Tingier is de- 
scended. 

George Steele came to New England 
about 1631, settled first at New-Towne 
(now Cambridge), Massachusetts, and 
removed to Hartford with Rev. Thomas 
Hooker. He died in 1663 at an advanced 
age. John Steele, grandson of George 
Steele, married Melatiah, daughter of 
Major William Bradford, son of Gov- 
ernor William Bradford, of Plymouth, 
and from them was descended Laura 
(Steele) Tinker, wife of Edward Lay 
Tinker, of Tolland, Massachusetts, par- 
ents of Seymour Allen Tingier, and grand- 
parents of Lyman Twining Tingier. 

Sarah (Twining) Tingier was a de- 
scendant of William Twining, who came 
to New England about 1637, settling at 
Yarmouth, Massachusetts, whose de- 
scendants are found in nearly every State 
in the Union, and many of whom have 
attained prominence. 



GOODMAN, Richard Johnston, 

Lawyer. Manufacturer, Public Official. 

In the affairs of State and country are 
often found descendants of the early Colo- 
nial families, whose strength of mind and 



14 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OE BIOGRAPHY 



magnetic force arc felt and recognized t>y 
the most unobservant people. Notable 
among these men is Colonel Richard J. 
Goodman, of II art ii>rd. Connecticut. Mr. 
Goodman descends from one of the oldest 
families, the immigrant ancestor heing of 
the same name. 

(I) Richard Goodman, immigrant, was 
horn in England, and came from there to 
America, first settling at Cambridge, 
Massachusetts. He was a proprietor of 
that town in [633, and on May 14th of the 
following year was admitted a freeman. 
He formed one of the company of Rev. 
Thomas Hooker, and removed to Hart- 
ford, being among the first settlers. Later 
he removed to Hadley, Massachusetts, 
ind there met his death on April 1, 1678. 
He was killed by the Indians in King 
Philip's War. During his residence in 
Hartford he married, December 8, 1659, 
Mary Terry. 

(II) Richard (2) Goodman, second son 
)f Richard (1) and Mary (Terry) Good- 
nan, was born March 23, 1663, in Hadley, 
^nd died in Hartford, May 14, 1730. The 
nventory of his estate was one hundred 
ind thirty-seven pounds, seven shillings 
knd eight pence, showing him to have 
jeen a man of thrift and prudence. He 
named Abigail Pantry, born January II, 

678-79, died January 26, 1708, a daughter 
»t John Pantry. 

(III) Timothy Goodman, fourth child 
">i Richard (2) and Abigail (Pantry) 
joodman, was born September 22, 1706, 
ind died March 12, 1786. Through his 
lather-in-law, John Pantry, he received 
ands, and on March 4, 1729, he located in 
.Vest Hartford, near Farmington. His 
lome there was burned to the ground, and 
he Boston "Chronicle" of May 2, 176S, 
ontains an account of this loss. He mar- 
ied Joanna Wadsworth, daughter of Jo- 

u .eph and Joanna Wadsworth, granddaugh- 



ter of the intrepid Captain Joseph Wads- 
worth, whose name will long be famous 
because of his connection with the Charter 
Oak. 

(IV) Richard (3) Goodman, sixth child 
of Timothy and Joanna (Wadsworth) 
Goodman, was born April 10, 17.18, and 
died in May, 1834, in West Hartford. He 
served in the Revolutionary War as a 
member of Captain Seymour's company 
of Hartford. In 1771 he married Nancy 
Seymour, who was born February 16, 
175 1, at West Hartford, died January 27, 
1792, a daughter of Captain Timothy and 
Lydia (Kellogg) Seymour. 

(V) Aaron Goodman, son of Richard 
(3) and Nancy (Seymour) Goodman, 
born July 20, 1773, in W f est Hartford, was 
the first postmaster of that town, which 
office he held until his death, March 28, 
1832. He married, April 15, 1804, Alma 
Cossitt, born December 10, 1780. at 
Granby, died at Plainfield, New Jersey, 
November 13, 1868, daughter of Asa and 
Mary (Cole) Cossitt. 

(VI) Aaron Cossitt Goodman, son of 
Aaron and Alma (Cossitt) Goodman, was 
born in the town of West Hartford, on the 
old homestead, April 23, 1822, and his 
death occurred at the family home in 
Hartford, July 29, 1899. He was for many 
years one of the leading and prominent 
citizens of the city of Hartford. He in- 
herited many desirable qualities from 
worthy forebears, and at the tender age of 
thirteen years was employed in the book 
store of Sumner & Company of Hartford. 
With grim determination he applied him- 
self to his tasks, and so well did he suc- 
ceed that in 184 1 he was asked to go to 
Philadelphia in the employ of a publish- 
ing house there. He only remained there 
a year, and in 1842 returned to Hartford, 
where he again became associated with 
his first employer, but as a partner of the 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



firm. The name was changed to Sumner, 
Goodman & Company, and for six years 
a thriving business was enjoyed. In 1848 
Mr. Goodman bought out the interests of 
Mr. Sumner, continuing alone until 1852. 
An advantageous opportunity presented 
itself at that time to engage in the paper 
business in New York, and Mr. Goodman 
disposed of his Hartford interests to re- 
move there. He met with success, but 
desiring to come to Hartford again, sold 
the business about the year 1872. Mr. 
Goodman was one of the original stock- 
holders of the Phoenix Mutual Life Insur- 
ance Company, and in 1875 became its 
president, succeeding the Hon. Edson 
Fessenden. Upon the reorganization of 
the company in 1889, Mr. Goodman with- 
drew entirely, and was practically retired 
from business and public life from that 
time. He was a member of the old fire 
department ; captain of the Hartford Light 
Guard, on the staff of General Frank 
Bacon. A member of Trinity Church of 
Hartford, he was active in its good works. 

Mr. Goodman married, April 10, 1857, 
Annie M. Johnston, born in New York 
City, a daughter of Robert Rhea and 
Mary Sears (Hatch) Johnston. Their 
children are : Emilie, wife of Rev. Rich- 
ard Wright, resides in Cambridge, Massa- 
chusetts ; Edward, whose death occurred 
in 1872 ; Annie G., wife of Rev. John F. 
Plumb, of New Milford ; Mary A., who 
lives at home ; Richard Johnston, of fur- 
ther mention. 

(VII) Richard Johnston Goodman, 
youngest child and only son of Aaron 
Cossitt and Annie M. (Johnston) Good- 
man, was born in the city of Hartford, 
March 23, 1875. The public schools of 
that city afforded him his elementary edu- 
cation, and he prepared for college at the 
Hartford Public High School, graduating 
in 1892. Four years later he was gradu- 



ated from Yale College, subsequently pur- 
suing a law course at the Yale Law 
School, graduating in 1899. He was ad- 
mitted to the bar in January, 1899, an d 
during his last year in the college prac- 
ticed his profession in New Haven, Con- 
necticut. In October of the same year, 
Mr. Goodman opened offices in his native 
city, and for six years was without a 
partner. In 1905, in association with Les- 
lie W. Newberry, he formed the law firm 
of Newberry & Goodman, which for over 
a dozen years was one of the leading law 
firms of the city. Outside interests of 
Mr. Goodman so pressed upon his legal 
affairs that he was obliged to relinquish 
his profession in order to give them the 
proper attention. 

In 1908 the Bush Manufacturing Com- 
pany, manufacturers of automobile radia- 
tors, was organized and at that time Mi 
Goodman became its president. He has 
continued to the present time in this office, 
and a large amount of credit is due to 
his management for the success of the 
corporation. 

Mr. Goodman has long been active in 
military affairs. By his own force of will 
he has risen up through the ranks to his 
present colonelship, which commission he 
received in July, 1914. He enlisted as a 
private, September 6, 1899, in Company 
K, First Infantry, Connecticut National 
Guard ; in November, 1902, he was com- 
missioned second lieutenant; captain, in 
December of that year; major in 1907; 
lieutenant-colonel, in November, 1908; 
colonel, in July, 1914. Colonel Goodman 
served as an aide on the staff of Grand 
Marshal Chaffee, at the inauguration of 
the late President Theodore Roosevelt. 
During the Mexican Border trouble in 
1915-16, Colonel Goodman was stationed 
at Nogales, Arizona, and served through- 
out the campaign. In 1917, upon the en- 



16 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



trance <>f the United States into the World 
War, Colonel Goodman was in command 
of the First Infantry Connecticut Na- 
tional Guard and was Stationed at Mart- 
ford and New Haven until late in Novem- 
ber. HJ17, when he was transferred to 

the work of training troops for overseas 
service at Camps Greene and Wadsworth 

in South Carolina. There his experience 
and military training was most valuable; 
he performed great service to his country 

in the manner in which troops under his 
orders were trained and the military spirit 
instilled into them. From all over they 
came, from all sorts and conditions of 
life, and it was a most arduous task to 
substitute military discipline for the hab- 
its of years forming. A strong will, pains- 
taking effort, and withal a human under- 
standing were necessary qualifications for 
one who would lead, and these qualities 
are possessed in a high degree by Colonel 
Goodman. He served in the National 
army until December 22, 1918, on which 
date he received his discharge. 

Mr. Goodman is a Republican in pol- 
itics, served for two terms as a member of 
the Common Council, and was a member 
of the Republican Town Committee for 
four years. 1904-08, and in the latter year 
was a member of the Health Commission. 
Fraternally, he is a member of St. John's 
Lodge, No. 4, Ancient Free and Accept- 
ed Masons ; Washington Commander}', 
Knights Templar; and Sphinx Temple. 
His chilis are the Hartford, Hartford Golf, 
University, Graduates' and Yale. He is 
a member of the Connecticut Historical 
Society, the Municipal Art Society, and 
the Society of Colonial Wars. For recre- 
ation he indulges in outdoor sports, being 
.particularly fond of fishing and tennis. 

Mr. Goodman married. April 19, 1917, 
Helen Hatch, daughter of Edward B. 
Hatch, of whom there is an account else- 

Cotm— 7— 2 



where in this work. Mr. Goodman and 
his wife are attendants at Trinity Epis- 
copal Church, of which he is vestryman. 

Their home is at No. 33 Sycamore road. 



BUSH, Philip Milton, 

M .1 1111 I ai t 11 rcr. 

It may well be said that a man is as 
great as his opportunity; but the man 
who is truly great is he who makes his 
own opportunity. The man who carves 
out his own way in life is greater than the 
man who merely fits himself into some 
niche that has been prepared for him, or 
which has been left vacant by some other 
man. In these days, when men in every 
industry find new openings for develop- 
ment, the man who turns the accumulated 
energy of the age into a new channel 
gives us new worlds as truly as those dis- 
coverers whom history lauds. Philip 
Milton Bush, of Hartford, is a man whose 
work has been of this nature, working 
out new ways of applying well known 
principles and finding, as an outgrowth 
of these efforts, still newer principles on 
which to found other branches of work. 
The name of Bush originated in the place 
where lived the first man who bore the 
name. It is of Teutonic origin, and means 
dweller by a bush or a thicket. 

Benjamin Franklin Bush, father of 
Philip M. Bush, was born in Smyrna. 
Pennsylvania. He was only a lad when 
he came to Hartford, Connecticut. He 
served his time as an apprentice at the 
factory of Pratt & Whitney, and remained 
with that company as long as he lived. 
He was a man of great natural ability 
which, together with a tireless capacity 
for applying himself to the work in hand, 
made him a valuable employee to the 
company and gave him really wonderful 
skill. He married Elizabeth, daughter of 



i/" 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



James and Elizabeth (Sawyer) Smith, 
who was born in Dundee, Scotland. . 
Elizabeth (Smith) Bush was born at Cape 
Ann, Massachusetts. There were three 
children : Frank, now employed with the 
Johns Pratt Company of Hartford ; James, 
with the Aetna Life Insurance Company; 
and Philip Milton, of whom further. The 
father of Benjamin F. Bush was Philip 
Bush, also born in Smyrna. 

Philip Milton Bush was born in Hart- 
ford, November 14, 1880. He was edu- 
cated in the grammar and high schools of 
Hartford, and from a lad of tender years 
was energetic, active, always interested 
in the life about him. During vacations 
and at other periods of leisure in his 
school life, Mr. Bush learned the ma- 
chinist's trade, going into the theory of 
mechanics, as well as the actual practice. 
When he was graduated from high school 
he took charge of the drafting room of the 
Sterling Blower & Pipe Manufacturing 
Company, engaged in the manufacture of 
exhaust, heating and ventilating systems. 
He filled this position with remarkable 
success, considering his youth and lim- 
ited experience. There he remained for 
seven years. He then filled the position 
of manager of the Norton Manufacturing 
Company for a year at their plant in 
Chester, Connecticut. After that he be- 
came superintendent of the automobile 
department of the Whitlock Coil Pipe 
Company of Elmwood, remaining with 
them for three years, or until 1907, when 
he embarked in his present business. 
Here he made for himself a place in the 
world of industry. After about a year he 
wished to branch out more widely, and 
the firm was incorporated under the name 
of the Bush Manufacturing Company. 
The business has developed and grown 
and has become an important industry. 
The factory on Commerce street is 



equipped with the most up-to-date ma- 
chinery, and the work turned out must 
come up to the highest standards before 
it is allowed to pass out of their hands. 
They make radiators for automobile 
trucks, tractors, and aeroplanes. During 
the war with Germany the product was 
almost entirely used in government work. 
In normal times the product is sold direct 
to the motor car vehicle manufacturers. 

Mr. Bush married Gertrude Louise, 
daughter of Elias Lyman. Mr. and Mrs. 
Bush are the parents of two children: 
Gertrude Goodman, born April 30, 1910, 
and Philip Lyman, April 21, 1912. Mr. 
Bush is a member of Trinity Episcopal 
Church. 

Personally, Mr. Bush is a man of open 
mind and genial disposition. He is 
deeply interested in all lines of mechan- 
ical work, and believes that the discover- 
ies and inventions of recent years have by 
no means embodied the last word in 
mechanical science. He is keenly appre- 
ciative of the fine arts, and does not allow 
himself to become too absorbed in busi- 
ness to leave time for those refinements 
and relaxations which make life worth 
while. 



TREADWAY, Charles Seth, 

Organizer, Financier. 

In the death of Charles Seth Tread- 
way, on January 27, 1905, the town of 
Bristol, Hartford county, Connecticut, 
lost one of its most prominent and public- 
spirited citizens, and one who has been in 
the highest degree identified with the 
great development of that place during 
the past three decades. His parents, 
Charles and Emily (Candee) Treadway, 
were residents of Bristol, and there Mr. 
Treadway was born on January 24, 1848. 

He continued to live there and attended 



18 





yi^s* 



X 



F.\' CYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



the local public schools until he had 
reached the age of twelve, when his par- 
ents removed to Winsted, Connecticut, 
where the youth attended the high school. 
It \v;is in Waterbury that he entered upon 
the business career which was to make 
ftiim a prominent figure in the Connecti- 
cut financial world. The first few years 
of this career were marked by a number 
of beginnings in several different lines, 
sUCCessivel) made, and each leading to 
something of greater promise. I laving 
completed his schooling at the age of fif- 
teen years, he entered the employment of 
the Waterbury Clock Company, with 
[which his father was connected, to learn 
the trade of clockmaker. He did not re- 
main there more than a few months, leav- 
ing to accept an offer of a clerical position 
In the Waterbury post office. It was due 
[to A. S. Chase, at that time president of 
the Waterbury National Bank, that Mr. 
Treadway finally entered the business 
which, more than any other, was to form 
his life work. This gentleman on his 
Visits to the post office had observed the 
youth and been impressed with his air of 
alert industry. It is reported that ap- 
proaching him one day, he asked him if 
lie would like to learn the banking busi- 
ness. The young man replied promptly 
hat he would, whereupon the offer of 
position of office boy in Mr. Chase's in- 
stitution was made and at once accepted. 
And now, as before, his keen intellect and 
.villingness to work hard impressed Mr. 
phase, and he was rapidly promoted, 
:hrough a number of intermediate posi- 
:ions, to that of teller, he being at the 
;ime of his appointment one of the young- 
est men to hold that responsible position 
n the State of Connecticut. Mr. Tread- 
.vay had in the meantime made the ac- 
quaintance of the late Andrew Terry, 
ounder of the Andrew Terry Company, 



of Terryvillc, Connecticut, manufacturers 
of malleable iron. Mr. Terry was im- 
pressed with the young man's ability and 
invited him to join him in a western en- 
terprise which he had under considera- 
tion. Mr. Treadway at once agreed to 
the proposition and together with Mr. 
Terry went to the town of Lawrence, 
Kansas, which was at that time feeling 
the effects of the great boom enjoyed in 
that section of the country. In this prom- 
ising environment a bank was opened of 
which Mr. Terry was the president and 
Mr. Treadway the secretary and teller. 
The enterprise prospered and Mr. Tread- 
way remained in the Kansas town for 
four years in the capacity mentioned 
above. in the year 1875 the Bristol 
National Bank was organized by John 
Humphrey Sessions and a number of his 
associates. To these gentlemen the name 
of Mr. Treadway was mentioned as that 
of one eminently fitted to take charge of 
the cashier's department of the new insti- 
tution, and they accordingly wrote him 
in the West and made him the offer of 
the position of cashier. Mr. Treadway at 
once accepted and returned to his native 
place to assume his new duties after an 
absence of about thirteen years. Though 
he thus renewed his residence and asso- 
ciations with Bristol, he never forgot his 
friendships in Waterbury, nor lost his 
affection for the place itself, and that the 
converse of this is also true may be seen 
in the notices which appeared in the 
Waterbury papers on the occasion of his 
death. Mr. Treadway continued to act as 
cashier of the Bristol bank until the year 
1899, when, upon the death of Mr. Ses- 
sions, he was elected president, an office 
which he held until his own demise six- 
teen years later. Under his capable man- 
agement, the bank continued its succ< 
ful development until it became one of 



19 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



the prominent institutions in financial 
Connecticut. 

The business operations of Mr. Tread- 
way were not actuated solely by personal 
considerations, and many of his most 
characteristic successes were achieved 
with the general development of the com- 
munity quite as much in mind as his pri- 
vate interests. Ten years of banking in 
Bristol had given Mr. Treadway a con- 
spicuous position in that town, and it was 
as a man of influence that he started in 
the year 1883 a definite movement toward 
the improvement of conditions there. In 
spite of his unselfishness and broad con- 
ception of public welfare his plans met 
with considerable opposition on the part 
of the extreme conservatists in the com- 
munity. Mr. Treadway and his associ- 
ates were not the men, however, to be de- 
terred by obstacles, and they proceeded 
surely towards their goal. Their plan was 
the establishment of an adequate public 
water supply and to this end the Bristol 
Water Company was organized with John 
H. Sessions as its head. The plant, which 
was finally constructed, is one of the most 
modern and effective in the State of Con- 
necticut, and to its final success Mr. Tread- 
way devoted his great energies, mastering 
its construction and operation in the 
greatest detail. At the death of Mr. Ses- 
sions, Mr. Treadway succeeded him as 
president of the water company and 
served in that capacity until the end of 
his life. His next movement in the inter- 
est of the town was towards the installing 
of electric lights, and in this matter also 
his efforts were crowned with success, 
and the year following the establishment 
of the Bristol Water Company saw that 
of the Bristol Electric Light Company, 
with Mr. Sessions again at the head. The 
lighting company, however, was ab- 
sorbed ten years later by the Bristol and 



Plainville Tramway Company, also the I 
product of Mr. Treadway's enterprise, 
and which carried on a successful trans- 
portation and lighting business. At the 
death of Mr. Sessions, Mr. Treadway suc- 
ceeded to the presidency of these com- 
panies and held the office until a few 
months before his death, when ill health 
obliged him to give up the manifold duties I 
connected with their management. It 
was largely due to his skill and judgment 
that the various public utilities were so 
successful and that the operating com- 
panies were placed upon such sound 
financial basis. 

Mr. Treadway's interests were not con-1 
fined to enterprises of this semi-public 
type, however, for he has played anl 
equally important part in the industrial 
development of the town. One of the 
largest concerns with which he was con-1 
nected was the New Departure Manufac- I 
turing Company. The company was or-1 
ganized in 1887, and a few years later Mr. 
Treadway became a stockholder, and in 
1900 was elected its president to succeed 
W. A. Graham. The business at once 
felt the stimulus of his progressive man 
agement and grew rapidly until it attained 
enormous size and an international ac 
tivity. It possesses at the present time a 
market for its products, such as bells, 
brakes for bicycles, ball bearing, stee 
balls, and many other devices in all part 
of the world. A branch factory was es 
tablished in Germany some time beford 
Mr. Treadway's death. The association I 
of Mr. Treadway with Everett Horton 
was also the cause of a large concerJI 
known as the Horton Manufacturing 
Company. Mr. Horton was the inventor 
of a steel fishing rod which he hac 
patented, and Mr. Treadway and a num-j 
ber of his associates organized a company 
for the manufacture of this article. Of this, 



s, 



20 



ENCYCD IPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



C. F. Pope, of New York ia close personal 
friend of Mr. Treadway), was chosen 
president, but Mr. Treadway was the 

treasurer and upon him devolved the 
control of the business. He was also the 

vice-president of the Bristol Brass Com- 
pany, and held the same office in the Bris- 
tol Manufacturing Company, lie was a 
[director of many important concern'-, 
notably the Blakesley Novelty Company, 
the Bristol Press Publishing Company, 
the Southington National Bank, and for 
a period of the "Waterbury American." 
A man so closely and prominently iden- 
tified with large and semi-public under- 
takings, as was Mr. Treadway, would find 
it out of the question to remain aloof in 
[matters of more formal public concern. 
To this result, too, was contributary a 
keen interest in public issues generally, 
particularly those of local application. It 
was practically inevitable, therefore, that 
he should become connected with local 
politics, and that, becoming thus con- 
nected, he would exert a profound in- 
fluence on the conduct of public affairs. 
Notwithstanding this Mr. Treadway en- 
red to the best of his ability to 
avoid public office without, however, com- 
plete success. He was elected a repre- 
sentative from Bristol to the Connecticut 
General Assembly in 1884. He was treas- 
urer of the town of Bristol from 1888 to 

1900, inclusive, and treasurer of the bor- 
|Ough from its incorporation in 1894 to 

1901, inclusive. He also served on the 
jboard of directors of the Free Public Li- 
brary from its organization in 1892 until 
his death, and was at one time treasurer 
of the first school district. It would seem 
that the duties and obligations involved 
in the many offices, public and private, 
enumerated above would have proved as 
great a burden as any man could success- 
fully bear, yet Mr. Treadway found time 



and energy to devote to social life, and 
was included in the membership of many 
clubs and orders. lie belonged to the 
Townsend Lodge, Independent Order of 
( >dd Fellows, of Waterbury, and to Reli- 
ance Council, Royal Arcanum, of Bristol. 
He was a director of the Farmington 
Country Club, and a member of the board 
of governor^, and at one lime vice-presi- 
dent of the club, lie was al>o a member 
of the Waterbury Club, the Bristol Coif 
( lub, and the Bristol Business Men's 
Association. 

Mr. Treadway married (first) Decem- 
ber 22, 1873, Margaret Terry, of Law- 
rence. Kan>as, a daughter of Andrew 
Terry, of that place. To them two chil- 
dren were born, as follows: Susan Em- 
ily, who died when but four years old, 
and Charles Terry, whose sketch follows. 
Mrs. Treadway's death occurred in 1880. 
On January 24, 1884, Mr. Treadway mar- 
ried (second) Lucy llurlburt Townsend, 
of Waterbury, a daughter of George L. 
Townsend, a resident of that place. To 
them four children were born : Townsend 
Gillette, Morton Candee, Lucy Margaret, 
and Harry, who died in infancy. The 
three others with their mother survive 
Mr. Treadway. 

Of the influence of Mr. Treadway upon 
the community, and of the regard which 
the community held him in, it is per- 
haps more appropriate to let those who 
directly felt these things speak. And of 
such words we have no lack. The "Bris- 
tol Press" on the occasion of his death 
concluded a long commemorative article 
as follows: 

Mistakes were rare indeed in his career. He 
studied problems coming to him for soiution, 
with conservatism born of bank training, yet with 
the progressiveness of a promoter of large suc- 
cesses. No man was ever truer to the trust of 
his fellow-men, none more worthy of reputation 
for unfailing honesty and fairness in all dealing. 



21 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



His opinions were carefully formed, firmly held, 
even against opposition that would have over- 
whelmed most men. Once he saw a course to be 
right, he held to it with that remarkable tenacity 
of will that makes men masters and leaders. His 
mental capacity was large, carrying the details of 
affairs in which he was interested, without con- 
fusion of facts. In his home and with his friends, 
his devotion was sweet. In dealing with the pub- 
lic he always tried to meet men on a level, al- 
ways tried to be fair and if perchance he felt 
that he had not been just, his effort was prompt 
to make amends. Outspoken at all times, decep- 
tion had no place in his ethics of conduct. Mr. 
Treadway's life has gone into the structure of 
the community. His death marks the sacrifice 
of a personality that was eminently valuable, and 
a loss, the appreciation of which will be better 
estimated with every day that passes. 

Not only the Bristol papers, but those 
of Waterbury joined in the chorus of 
praise and sorrow over the sad event, but 
perhaps the most appropriate ending to 
this sketch is the resolutions passed at the 
time by the directors of the Bristol Na- 
tional Bank, an act in which this institu- 
tion was joined by the many other con- 
cerns with which Mr. Treadway was as- 
sociated. Those of the bank read : 

At a meeting of the directors of the Bristol 
National Bank, held Monday, January 30, 1905, 
it was voted that the following be spread upon 
the records of the bank : 

The members of this board have learned with 
profound sorrow of the death on the 27th inst 
of their late esteemed president, Charles S. Tread- 
way, and desire to express their high apprecia- 
tion of him as a valuable citizen in this com- 
munity, having been identified with so many of 
its manufacturing and industrial enterprises. It 
is largely due to his wisdom as a financier and 
to his superior business qualities that these have 
been successful and thus contributed to the pros- 
perity of the town. We feel that in all these 
years his connection with the various industries 
has been one of credit to himself and of lasting 
benefit to the town. He was connected with this 
bank from its organization in 1875, acting as 
cashier until 1899, when upon the death of Mr. 
John H. Sessions, he succeeded to the presidency, 
holding these positions to the satisfaction of both 



officers and patrons of the bank. We, as directors 
of this bank, fully realize that in the death of 
Mr. Treadway we have lost a trusted manager, 
a wise counsellor and one in whose judgment in 
matters pertaining to this institution we have had 
implicit confidence that he has always acted from 
the best motives of what he thought was right 
and just. We shall miss him at our board meet- 
ings where he has always been ready in a cheer- 
ful manner to impart any information asked for 
pertaining to the bank. He has passed away 
universally respected and mourned. To his fam- 
ily we tender our heartfelt sympathy in their 
bereavement. 

Voted, that the bank be closed from 1 o'clock 
Monday the 30th until 12 o'clock Tuesday the 
31st, and that the members of this board attend 
the funeral in a body. 

Voted, that a copy of the above be sent to his 
family and published in the "Bristol Press." 



TREADWAY, Charles Terry, 

Financier. 

Charles Terry Treadway, president of 
the Bristol National Bank, treasurer of 
the New Departure Manufacturing Com- 
pany, vice-president of the Horton Manu- 
facturing Company, and a director in a 
number of Bristol's leading industries, is 
also a leader in political, social, educa- 
tional and religious affairs of that town. 
He represents a family which has been 
prominent in the industrial life of Con- 
necticut for many years and includes 
many distinguished names. His great- 
great-grandfather was Eli Terry, Sr., the 
pioneer of the clock industry in this State. 
Mr. Treadway's father was Charles Seth 
Treadway, late banker, manufacturer, 
State representative and treasurer of the 
town of Bristol, in whose footsteps in the 
paths of business success and good cit- 
izenship he has closely followed, espe- 
cially in his position as president of the 
Bristol National Bank. Mr. Treadway's 
mother, daughter of Andrew and Susan 
(Orr) Terry, was Margaret (Terry) 



22 





§ iJi<flt/iCl% 




ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Treadway. who died in his infancy. He 
was born September 8, 1877. 

Mr. Treadway was of a studious, 
thoughtful nature, and desired and ob- 
tained a thorough and advanced educa- 
tion. He completed elementary courses 
at the Federal High School, in Bristol, in 
1891, and then took the full course at the 
Bristol High School, graduating in 1895, 
where he was president of his class. He 
also did a year of college preparatory 
work at Phillips Academy, Andover, in 
1895-96. He then entered Yale Univer- 
sity, where he was graduated in 1900 with 
the degree of Bachelor of Arts. Mr. 
Treadway spent several months just be- 
fore entering business in 1900, touring the 
great centers of Great Britain and the 
Continent of Europe. 

In December, 1900, Mr. Treadway en- 
tered upon his business career as treasurer 
of the New Departure Manufacturing 
Company of Bristol, which office he still 
holds. After his father's death in 1905 
he was elected vice-president and director 
of the Bristol National Bank. After the 
death of Edward B. Dunbar, in May, 1907, 
Mr. Treadway was elected president of 
the bank, and had the distinction of being 
the youngest bank president in Connect- 
icut, being then under thirty years of 
age. In executive ability, experience and 
sagacity in matters of finance, he was as 
mature as many far older men, and had 
the advantage of an unusual training 
under his capable father. 

Mr. Treadway is interested in many 
other corporations of importance in the 
business life of Bristol, being vice-presi- 
dent of the Horton Manufacturing Com- 
pany, and a director in the following or- 
ganizations : The American Silver Com- 
pany, the American Piano Supply Com- 
pany, and the Bristol Manufacturing 
Company. He was for several years 



president of the Bristol Water Company 
until the city of Bristol took it over into 
municipal management. He was also a 
director of the Bristol and Plainville 
Tramway Company for a number of years 
after his father's death, and until that 
company changed ownership in 1913. He 
is one of the incorporators of the Bristol 
Savings Bank. 

For four years Mr. Treadway was sec- 
retary of the Bristol High School com- 
mittee. He was at one time chairman of 
the Republican town committee, and did 
splendid work in strengthening that party. 
In 1912 he was elected an alternate to one 
of the Hartford county delegates to the 
Republican national convention at Chi- 
cago, made famous as the convention 
which split the Republican party, and led 
to the election for the first time since 
Grover Cleveland of a Democratic Con- 
gress. In 1914 he became a member of 
the State central committee representing 
the Fifth Senatorial District. In 1916 he 
was a delegate from Hartford county to 
the Republican convention at Chicago. In 
1918 he retired from the State central 
committee, and from active participation 
in State or local politics. In 191 5 he was 
chairman of the executive committee of 
the Connecticut State Bankers' Associa- 
tion ; in 1916 its vice-president, and in 
1917 its president, serving his full term 
of one year, and retiring at the conclu- 
sion of the greatest convention probably 
ever held by New England bankers, un- 
der the direction of the Connecticut As- 
sociation, at the Hotel Griswold in New 
London. He was for a number of years 
active in the management of the affairs of 
the Farmington Country Club, of which 
his father was a founder and an officer, 
and for one year ending October, 1918. he 
was the president of the club. 

He has been active in many local or- 



23 



0diO-fc"l*fc \^Y\\* 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



ganizations, and when the war came to 
the United States, he became a member 
of Company L of the First Regiment of 
the State Guard, and at present holds a 
commission as its second lieutenant. He 
also became chairman of the Bristol 
Chapter of the Americal Red Cross, and a 
founder of and member of the Bristol War 
Bureau. In addition to these rather 
burdensome and confining activities, he 
became by reason of his being president 
of the Bristol National Bank, the liberty 
loan chairman of the Bristol District 
(Bristol, Forestville and Terryville) and 
has managed all four campaigns, in which 
Bristol very creditably exceeded its quota 
in every drive in more than an average 
way, and with a total of over $5,000,000 in 
subscriptions. 

Mr. Treadway has been deeply inter- 
ested in the promotion of a project to 
build an adequate recreation center for 
young and old of Bristol, and is at this 
time first vice-president of the Bristol 
Community Club, which has a fund of 
nearly $200,000 for the purpose men- 
tioned. He takes an active interest in 
associated employers' and manufacturers' 
affairs, and has been for several years and 
is now a member of the board of directors 
and treasurer of the Manufacturers' Asso- 
ciation of Hartford County. He is also 
active in the interests of the manufac- 
turers division of the Bristol Chamber of 
Commerce and its chairman. The Man- 
ufacturers' Association of Connecticut 
also makes demands upon him, and in 
191 5 he fought energetically for an ade- 
quate and equitable state corporation tax 
bill, which in that year became a law. He 
is now a member of the executive com- 
mittee, the managing body of the State 
Association. He is a member of Frank- 
lin Lodge, Free and Accepted Masons ; 
Pequabuck Chapter, Royal Arch Masons ; 



Ionic Council, Royal and Select Masters ; 
Washington Commandery, No. 1, Knights 
Templar; Sphinx Temple, Mystic Shrine; 
Scottish Rite ; the Yale Club of New 
York, the Graduates' Club of New Ha- 
ven, the Farmington Country Club, the 
Bristol Club, and the Shuttle Meadow 
Country Club. He is a loyal and devoted 
member of the Congregational church, 
being bred in the faith of that body. He 
is fond of outdoor life in many forms, and 
is an enthusiastic devotee of golf, walk- 
ing, horseback riding and automobiling. 
Mr. and Mrs. Treadway are fond of travel 
and have many delightful memories of 
visits to all parts of this country and 
neighboring points, i. c, in Canada and 
Cuba. 

Mr. Treadway's family consists of a 
wife and two sons, named Charles Terry, 
Jr., and Graham Richards. His mar- 
riage took place on June 4, 1902, and his 
wife's maiden name was Isabella Graham 
Richards. 

Few men make their mark in the world 
as early in life as Charles Terry Tread- 
way. The secret of his success lies in his 
guiding principle of life, and is of par- 
ticular interest to young men coming 
from one of their own age. Mr. Tread- 
way says : 

In my mind one principle ever stands preemi- 
nent as our guide to success as American citi- 
zens, and more especially in this principle im- 
portant with a young American. He should 
stand unswerving in his loyalty to all those things 
which make for the betterment of social, eccle- 
siastical or material conditions. He should be at 
once loyal to employer and employee, to church, 
home and State, and perhaps more than all, to 
every truly American ideal. 

Mr. Treadway has found great help and 
benefit from private study and reading of 
economical treatises, financial and cor- 
poration histories, and sociological litera- 



24 



KXCYCLOI'KDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



ture, which have helped to lit him for 
leadership in the industrial and banking 

world, and he lias also derived much cul- 
ture and profit from the study of English 
literature. \11 this goes to show thai dil- 
igence, industry and judicious use of time 

and talent, in accordance with high ideals 
and firm purpose, may win the prize of 
Success and of place and power at an age 
when many men are still apprentices in 
their chosen W ork. 



SIMONTON, Frank Forester, 

Physician. 

The activity of Dr. Frank Forester 
Simonton in the medical profession dates 
from 1903, while since 191 1 he has been 
identified with the medical profession in 
Thompsonville as a general practitioner. 
During this time Dr. Simonton has be- 
come the center of a large general prac- 
tice, and has gained worthy position 
among his professional brethren of the 
Si tte, the only interruption to his work 
having been during his three months' 
term of enlistment in the United States 
army as a member of the staff of Base 
Hospital Xo. 132, an overseas organiza- 
tion. Dr. Simonton held the rank of cap- 
tain in the medical department, and dur- 



where he followed hi> calling of ship car- 
penter. He married Mar\ Pascal, of 
Warren, Maine, and they were the parents 
of John Pascal, Andrew. Maria, and 
nie. 

John Pascal Simonton, father of Dr. 
Simonton. was born in Rockport, Maine, 
January <;, [840. He entered the ministry 
of the Methodist Episcopal church, and 
has devoted his entire life to the preaching 
of the doctrine of that denomination. He 
married I larriet Judson Baker, born in 
East Boothbay, Maine. March 13, 1849, 
daughter of Jeremiah P. Baker, a ship 
carpenter of Boothbay, Maine, where the 
family had resided for several genera- 
ti< »ns. 

Frank Forester Simonton was born in 
Waldoboro, Maine, April 6. 1876, and 
after preliminary studies he entered the 
East Maine Conference Seminary at 
Bucksport, whence he was graduated in 
1895. Subsequently he enrolled in the 
academic department of Wesleyan Uni- 
versity, graduating in the class of 1899, 
after which he pursued professional stud- 
ies in the Bowdoin Medical School. He 
was graduated M. D. in 1903, and after 
completing his interneship of six months 
he established in general practice in Ells- 
worth, Maine, after eight years making 



ing his brief term of service fulfilled the 

many exactions of military life with the ThompsOiiville the scene of his profes- 

ready response that characterized the sional labors. Here Dr. Simonton's prac- 

l.iedical profession's part in the entire tice has been general in nature, with some 

war, both in the United States and with work in minor surgery, and he has served 

the Expeditionary Force. faithfully the community of which he has 

Dr. Frank Forester Simonton is a son been a member for eight years. In the 



of John Pascal and Harriet Judson 
(Baker) Simonton, and grandson of Pat- 
rick Simonton, of Portland, Maine, his 



recent country wide and almost world 
wide epidemic of influenza, which taxed 
the medical profession to the utmost lim- 



line of Irish origin represented in Maine, it, Dr. Simonton attended his cases with a 

Pennsylvania, and North Carolina by constancy and fidelity that had its happy 

branches founded by the immigrants result in the unusual success he had with 

from the North of Ireland. Patrick Sim- this disease, even when the patient had 

onton was a native of Portland, Maine, advanced into the pneumonia stage. 

25 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Commensurate with his professional 
standing has been the place he has taken 
in the civic life of his town, and his circle 
of friends and acquaintances is a wide 
one. He is a member of the County, 
State, and National Medical associations, 
and he holds membership in both the Ma- 
sonic and Odd Fellows orders. Dr. Sim- 
onton has been a lifelong member of the 
Republican party, and a strong believer 
in its principles, and he is, with his fam- 
ily, a communicant of the Methodist 
church. 

Dr. Simonton married, in Charlestown, 
Maine, November 8, 1904, Edith Marion 
Thayer, born August 6, 1879, daughter of 
Fred Alphonso and Mary (Tibbetts) 
Thayer, her mother a member of a family 
old in Charleston, Maine, her father born 
in Wrentham, Massachusetts. Children 
of Dr. Frank Forester and Edith Marion 
(Thayer) Simonton : Mary Harriet, born 
February 10, 1907; Edith Marion, born 
February 21, 1908; John Thayer, born 
August 24, 1916. 



WHITTELSEY, William Frost, 

Insurance Executive. 

The story of a life cannot be told in 
any fragmentary mention of a man and 
his work; but the heritage of an honored 
name is a story in itself, a story already 
told. In the days of the Crusades — down 
through English History — from the early 
Colonial days in America — the name of 
Whittelsey has stood for all that is 
worthy. William Frost Whittelsey, ma- 
rine vice-president of the Aetna Fire In- 
surance Company, of Hartford. Connect- 
icut, is putting into the administration of 
the large affairs in his hands the same 
sound judgment and unimpeachable in- 
tegrity which have marked the careers of 
his forebears. 



The name of Whittelsey originated with 
the people who dwelt in Cambridge- 
shire, England, on the Whittelsea Fens, 
and belongs to the "Place names." It 
dates back to the tenth century. In 1187 
William Whittelsey was one of those who 
followed their King "in the vain hope of 
securing our Saviour's tomb from the 
Jews." He returned to England in 1190, 
and fell at the battle of Malta, in 1192. 
The coat-of-arms of the Whittelsey fam- 
ily is as follows : 

Arms — Azure, a fesse, ermine, between three 
escallop shells, or. An esquire helmet on shield. 
Crest — Lion rampant. 
Motto — Ammo et fide (Courage and Faith). 

(I) John Whittelsey, the immigrant an- 
cestor of the family in America, was born 
July 4, 1623, in Cambridgeshire, England, 
a son of John and Lydia (Terry) Whit- 
telsey. He was a member of the Lords' 
Say and Seal Company, which named Say- 
brook, one of the earliest settlements of 
Connecticut. He came to America in 
1635. In 1662 he was keeper of the ferry 
at Saybrook, with William Dudley. He 
bought lands and was representative in 
the General Assembly, besides holding 
several other minor offices. He married, 
June 20, 1664, at Saybrook, Ruth Dudley, 
born April 20, 1645, m Guildford, Con- 
necticut, daughter of William and Jane 
(Lutman) Dudley. Her father was the . 
immigrant of that name who settled in 
Guilford in 1639. 

(II) Stephen Whittelsey, second son of 
John and Ruth (Dudley) Whittelsey, was 
born April 3, 1667, at Saybrook, and died 
in 1760. He was a prominent man, and 
made himself signally useful in the public 
life of the community. He was made a 
freeman, April 5, 1704; was elected dep- 
uty for Saybrook in 1710, and also in 
1725. He was townsman, justice of the 



26 



K.\ CYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



peace, and aided materially in the building 
of the ferry, until Other work claimed his 
time. He married, October 14, 1696, Re- 
becca Waterous, born September 20, 
1677, daughter of Abraham and Rebecca 
(Clarke I Waterous. of Saybrook. She 
died about 1 715. 

(III) Ambrose Whittelsey, son of Ste- 
phen and Rebecca (Waterous) Whittel- 
sey, was born January 13, 1712. His 
youth was spent in hard work ; first on the 
farm, and then in assisting his father at 
the ferry. Despite this fact he gained a 
very fair education, and held the title of 
attorney. He engaged in the practice of 
law until his death, April 17, 1756. He 
served as deputy and justice of the peace. 
He married. March 9, 1732, Elizabeth 
Mather, born in Saybrook, in 1710, daugh- 
ter of Rev. Azariah Mather, who was 
born in 1685. He was a tutor at Yale 
University, and an accomplished linguist. 
He married Mattie Taylor. His grand- 
father, Timothy Mather, died January 14, 
1684, in Dorchester, Massachusetts, and 
his father, Rev. Samuel Mather, was one 
of the founders of Yale University. 

(IV) Ambrose (2) Whittelsey, son of 
Ambrose (1) and Mattie (Taylor) Whit- 
telsey, was born December 21, 1732, at 
Saybrook, and died December 24, 1818. 
He worked at the ferry, and was ap- 
pointed a deputy for Saybrook for five 
years, from 1751 to 1756. He was jus- 
tice of the peace for New London county. 
He was made a freeman, April 11, 1757. 
He married, in 1756, Elizabeth Tully, who 
was born April 2^, 1739, and died in 1828. 

(V) Ambrose (3) Whittelsey, son of 



West Indies. For a period of six years he 
remained ;it home and during that time 
was representative to the Legislature 
three times. Between 1820 and 1824 he 
made extended voyages, mostly to Spain 
and Portugal. In his old age he gave up 
the sea and lived a retired life. I [e mar- 
ried, February 20, 1783, Ann Water- 
house, born at Saybrook in 1758, died 
there September 12, 1838. 

(VI) Friend Whittelsey, son of Am- 
brose (3) and Ann (Waterhouse) Whit- 
telsey, was born June II, 1787, at Say- 
brook, died at Sandusky, Ohio, August 6, 
1872. For some time he lived in Chester, 
Connecticut, and then removed to San- 
dusky, where he was engaged in general 
merchandising. He married (first) De- 
cember 15, 1814, Sylvia Stannard, born 
in 1796, and died October II, 1832. He 
married (second) February 19, 1834, Mary 
Hilyard. 

(VII) William Friend Whittelsey, son 
of Friend and Sylvia (Stannard) Whit- 
telsey, was born November 4, 1822, 
at East Windsor, Connecticut, and died 
January 25, 1907, in Hartford. He grew 
up in the clothing business, and made a 
trip to Sandusky, Ohio, in a canal boat. 
There he engaged in business, but after 
some years returned East. He continued 
in the clothing business, and established 
himself in a retail store in Hartford. He 
was very highly respected by all who 
knew him ; an affable, genial man. inter- 
ested in every phase of the life of the 
works about him. He was an enthusiastic 
Mason, a member of St. John's Lodge, 
No. 4, Ancient Free and Accepted Ma- 



Ambrose (2) and Elizabeth (Tully) Whit- sons ; Washington Commandery, Knights 



telsey, was born December 20, 1761, at 
Saybrook, and died August 20, 1827. 
When he reached his majority he shipped 
as a sailor, and eventually became master 
and owner of vessels. He sailed to the 



Templar; Connecticut Consistory ; Sphinx 
Temple, Ancient Arabic Order Nobles of 
the Mystic Shrine. Mr. Whittelsey was 
one of the early members of the Putnam 
Phalanx, and a member of Charter Oak 



27 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Lodge, No. 2, Independent Order of Odd 
Fellows. He married (first) January 16, 
1845, at Hartford, Isabella Lathrop, born 
February 22, 1828, at Hartford, daughter 
of Samuel B. and Emma (Frost) Lathrop; 
she died September 2, 1881, at Hartford. 
He married (second) February 23, 1885, 
at Warehouse Point, Connecticut, Jennie 
Elizabeth Randall, born June 5, 1849, at 
Clinton, Massachusetts, daughter of Jo- 
siah and Elizabeth (Gleason) Randall, of 
Clifton, Illinois. 

(VIII) William Frost Whittelsey, ma- 
rine vice-president of the Aetna Insurance 
Company, was born October 18, 1856, son 
of William Friend and Isabella (Lathrop) 
Whittelsey. He received his formal edu- 
cation in the Hartford grammar and high 
schools, and supplemented this study with 
broad and well chosen reading. He spent 
two years in a real estate office, then en- 
tered the employ of John B. Powell, in 
the life insurance business. In 1886 Mr. 
Whittelsey entered the employ of the 
Aetna Company, in the local agency. He 
was transferred to the home office, Feb- 
ruary 21, 1891, as superintendent of the 
re-insurance department. He continued 
thus for several years, then became an 
examiner of fire risks. Some years later 
he took hold of the marine end of the busi- 
ness, at first as clerk, then in 1905 as 
special agent. In 1908 he became assist- 
ant secretary; in 1912 secretary; and in 
1917 was made vice-president. This rapid 
rise from a subordinate position to one of 
the most important offices in the gift of 
the company has been due to the thorough 
business efficiency of the man and his 
sterling character. Mr. Whittelsey is a 
member of Hartford Lodge, No. 88, An- 
cient Free and Accepted Masons ; of the 
Drug and Chemical Club, of New York; 
of the Country Club, of Farmington ; 
Automobile Club of Hartford. 



Mr. Whittelsey married, September 12, 
1877, at Hartford, Katherine White Free- 
man, born April 3, 1858, at Lyme, Con- 
necticut, daughter of Richard and Aman- 
da (Bostwick) Freeman. Both are Epis- 
copalians. They have one daughter, 
Maude L., born February 24, 1887, who 
married Henry J. Foster, of the Travel- 
ers' Insurance Company, and who has one 
daughter, Barbara, born August 4, 1913. 



CROFT, Rev. Charles Pitnam, 

Welfare Worker. 

It is our good fortune now and then to 
meet men in our course through life who, 
in addition to being public spirited, carry 
their altruism to the point where they are 
indifferent to the praise of their fellow- 
men. They persevere on, content in the 
sense of duty well accomplished. Such a 
man is the Rev. Charles Pitnam Croft, of 
Simsbury, Connecticut. 

(I) In early Colonial days there were 
many settlers in the Pennsylvania valleys 
who had left their lands and homes across 
the seas, coming to this country in order 
to establish their homes again in the free- 
dom which they desired. One of these 
was James Croft, who was the great- 
grandfather of Charles P. Croft. James 
Croft came from northern Germany in 
his youth, previous to 1776. He served in 
the Revolutionary War as a member of 
the New York Militia from April 10, 1778, 
to April 10, 1781. Thus did he prove him- 
self a worthy citizen of his adopted 
country. He held the commission of cor- 
poral under Captain Jonathan Hallett and 
Colonel Philip Cortlandt. Upon the ceas- 
ing of the war, Mr. Croft took up his for- 
mer occupation of farming, which he con- 
tinued until the end of his life. 

(II) John Croft, son of James Croft, 
was a resident of Putnam Valley through- 



. 



ENCYCU IPEDIA OF BK >GRAPHY 



OUt his lifetime He was a fanner and 
owned many acres of land, lie was the 
father of Matthias, of whom further 

(111) Matthias Croft. SOH of John Croft, 
was horn in [809 in Putnam Valley, Put- 
nam county, New York. He inherited 
lands from hi- father, and the will to do 
from his grandfather, and with this heri- 
tage he became one of the most succe 
fill farmers of the valley He cultivated 
many acre- and was prosperous. Mr. 
Croft was keenly interested in civic mat- 
ters and was a member of the Whig party, 
later hecoming a Repuhlican at the time 
of the organization of that party. He 
was a regular attendant of the Methodist 
Episcopal church, and for over half a 
century he held an office in the church. 



village where he has heen resident almost 

continuously since, and where lie has been 
the means of introducing many helpful 
and beneficial measures to the life of the 
community. Three years later he hecame 
a minister of the Congregational church. 
being ordained at Avon, Connecticut, and 
his successive pastorates were at Torring- 
ton, Watertown, Connecticut, and Terre 
Haute, Indiana. In the latter place his 
health, which had heen failing, obliged 
him to discontinue his lahors, temporarily 
at least, and resigning his pastorate Mr. 
Croft returned to Simsbury. He did not 
immediately take up any special lahors. 
hut rested from the arduous cares of a 
pastorate in an effort to regain his health. 



He married Maria Chapman, a native of A man of his temperament could not long 

Putnam county, who died in 1883. After remain idle, however, and soon he hegan 

her decease Mr. Croft retired from active to receive calls to preach in other pul- 

cares and settled in Peekskill, New York, pit-. Mr. Croft has never since occupied 

where he died in 1899. Mr. and Mrs. a regular pastorate, hut he has been most 

Croft were the parents of the following active in many ways in performing many 

children: 1. Mary Jane, married Reuben acts of goodness. A few years ago he es- 



Smith. who is now deceased. 2. Harriet, 
wife of Theodore Travis. 3. William 11. 
4. Charles P.. of whom further. 5. Han- 
nah, wife of Robert Strong. 6. Silas C. 
7. Francis D. 

(IY) Charles Pitnam Croft, son of 



tahlished in Simsbury, a "Community 
House." This house is equipped with 
reading rooms, containing books and 
other literature which interests the young 
mind : it has rest room-, where members 
may sit and entertain themselves and 



Matthias and Maria (Chapman) Croft, their friends. Music is provided by the 

was born in Putnam county. New York, guests, and altogether a general feeling of 

where his forefathers had long dwelt, good fellowship pervades, which is the 

He was a student at the Peekskill Mili- fundamental reason of the "house." It 

tary Academy after completing his pub- fills a long felt need of some place for 

lie school course. He next attended the the young people to gather and enjoy 

Charlotteville Seminary at Charlotteville, themselves, and it remained for a man 

Xew York, and in 1869 was graduated such as Mr. Croft to see and supply this 

from the Wesleyan University of Middle- need. Mr. Croft is naturally possessed 

town, Connecticut. In [869, which was of fine oratorical ability, and this trait 

also his year ^i graduation, Rev. Mr. combined with his tine literary taste 

Croft was called to the Methodist F.pis- makes him in much demand as a pulpit 

copal church at Simsbury, Connecticut, speaker. He is a true friend, especially to 

This was his tirst acquaintance with the the young man and young woman, and 

29 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



among his fellow-townsmen in Simsbury 
he is held in high esteem. 

Mr. Croft married, in 1872, at Sims- 
bury, Julia Mather, daughter of William 
and Emma (Phelps) Mather, a descend- 
ant of two of the oldest families of Con- 
necticut. 

Rev. Mr. Croft has been an extensive 
traveler. He has been to Europe two 
times, and has visited the Holy Land, 
Egypt, and the Orient. The Nile river 
country and Asia Minor he has also vis- 
ited, and has journeyed extensively 
through South America, Panama and the 
West Indies. On all of these journey- 
ings he has made frequent lectures and 
delivered many addresses. 



PRENTICE, George E., 

Manufacturer, Inventor. 

The success achieved by George E. 
Prentice, president of the G. E. Prentice 
Manufacturing Company of New Britain, 
manufacturers of sheet metal and wire 
goods, was not through accident, but by 
the constant application of effort. From 
the very outset of his career, as an ap- 
prentice in a jewelry establishment, he 
manifested the energy and good judg- 
ment which have been important factors 
throughout his business life. 

Mr. Prentice was born in 1870 in Eng- 
land, and as a boy of thirteen came to the 
United States, and to New Britain, Con- 
necticut. Soon afterwards he entered the 
employ of the Churchill & Lewis Com- 
pany, the oldest jewelry manufacturing 
concern in the country, and there served 
his apprenticeship as jeweler. Upon their 
moving to New York, Mr. Prentice, de- 
siring to remain in New Britain, became 
associated with the Traut & Hine Manu- 
facturing Company to learn the trade of 
tool making. He found this work much 



more to his liking, and possessed of nat- 
ural mechanical ability, he made rapid 
progress. In the short space of two years 
he was promoted to superintendent of the 
plant. At that time it was rather a small 
concern ; Mr. Prentice remained in the em- 
ploy of the firm until 1912, and enjoyed 
the satisfaction of seeing the business 
grow and expand until it increased to 
half a million dollar company and carried 
about six hundred and twenty-five em- 
ployees. In the latter year Mr. Prentice 
resigned his position and organized the 
G. E. Prentice Manufacturing Company, 
and he was elected president of the organ- 
ization. In the short space of the six 
years intervening, a million dollar .busi- 
ness has been built up. It is therefore 
hardly necessary to go into detail about 
the business acumen and judgment of Mr. 
Prentice, to whose efforts and untiring 
industry much of this success is due. The 
corporation ranks among the leading bus- 
iness institutions of New Britain, and its 
officers are men of high standing in the 
community. The inventive genius of Mr. 
Prentice has been ever at work, and dur- 
ing his years with the Traut & Hine firm 
he took out a number of patents which he 
assigned to his employers. He has con- 
tinued to improve and patent many me- 
chanical appliances which are used and 
controlled by his own company. 

Mr. Prentice married Edith M. Chal- 
oner, a native of New Britain, a daughter 
of W. T. Chaloner. Four daughters : Le- 
nore, Mildred, Dorothv, and Edith. 



BRAY, Henry T., 

Physician, Health Officer. 

During the sixteen years of practice of 
his profession in New Britain, Connect- 
icut, Dr. Bray has won for himself a well 
deserved place of recognition. He came 



30 




^f^-^Z^ s&. 3?-^*>£: 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



to that city in the very beginning of his 
work, and his high integrity and the con- 
fidence he has gained have brought him 
a large clientele. He has faithfully and 
efficiently served in various puhlic offices, 
ami is one of New Britain's progressive 
citizens. Dr. Pray was horn Octoher 4, 
1876, in St. Johnsbury, Vermont, the son 
of William J. and Catharine (Tierncy) 
Bray. 

William J. Bray is a native of Quebec, 
Canada, born in 1846. He removed to 
St. Johnsbury. and there engaged in the 
business of builder and contractor. In 
1889 he came to Hartford and followed 
this work. Mr. Bray now lives retired 
from active business in Hartford, and re- 
cently celebrated his golden wedding an- 
niversary. He married Catharine Tier- 
ney, horn in Tinwick, Province of Quebec, 
Canada, and they were the parents of the 
following children : Anna, married Dr. J. 
E. McSweeney ; Agnes, wife of Prank 
Lloyd; Clara, wife of William Haaser; 
Beatrice, who lives at home ; Walter D., 
practices dentistry in Hartford ; Joseph 
A., also engaged in the practice of den- 
tistry in Hartford ; Henry T., mentioned 
below. 

Dr. Henry T. Bray was a boy of thir- 
teen years when he was brought by his 
parents to Hartford, Connecticut, and 
there he continued his education, which 
had begun in the schools of his native 
town. After completing the high school 
course, he entered the University of Ver- 
mont, graduating in 1902 with the degree 
of M. D. During his senior year in medi- 
cal college he did hospital work in Ver- 
mont. In 1902 he came to the city of New 
Britain, Connecticut, where he has re- 
mained to the present time. He has served 
as a member of the attending staff of the 
New Britain General Hospital since his 
first year there, and also engages in the 



general practice of his profession. In [904 
Dr. Bray was appointed health officer of 
New Britain and served a term of four 
years, and in [908, at the expiration of his 
appointment, he was appointed health 
commissioner, which office he ^till holds 
Dr. Bray serves as medical examiner for 
several large insurance companies, and is 

medical examiner of the Nurses' Training 
School of New Britain. He performed 
efficient service to his country during the 
World War as medical examiner of Draft 
Board No. 1, of New Britain, and was 
commissioned acting assistant surgeon of 
the United States Puhlic Health Service. 

Dr. Bray has specialized in obstetrics, 
and has at different times delivered lec- 
tures at medical meetings. As is natural, 
the major part of Dr. Bray's associations 
are those relating to his profession, al- 
though he serves as a director of the Com- 
mercial Trust Company of New Britain. 
He is a member of the New Britain Med- 
ical Association, the Hartford Country 
Medical Association, the State Medical 
Association, the American Association, 
the Delta Mu (medical) fraternity. His 
social affiliations are with the Benevolent 
and Protective Order of Elks, the Frater- 
nal Order of Eagles, Foresters, and 
Knights of Columbus. 

Dr. Bray married. June 5, 1905, Eliza- 
beth O'Connell, and their children are: 
Henry, born March 20, 1906; Margaret, 
June 15, 1909. Mrs. Bray's death oc- 
curred March 9, 1918. Dr. Bray and his 
family attend St. Mary's Church, of New 
Britain. 



LEETE, Arthur Russell, 

Business Man. 

As a furniture dealer, undertaker and 
funeral director of Thompsonville, Con- 
necticut, Mr. Leete occupied a prominent 



3i 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



place in the business life of the town 
which gave him birth. He was of the 
ninth generation of the family founded in 
Connecticut by Governor William Leete, 
each one of these generations except the 
governor born in Connecticut, and all liv- 
ing in Guilford, until Henry William 
Leete, of the seventh generation, moved 
to Wallingford, Connecticut. George 
Leete, his son, later moved to Thompson- 
ville, where Arthur R. Leete was born. 
This is a solid Connecticut family, most 
of the wives also having been born in Con- 
necticut, and for ninety years from the 
founding of Guilford no Leete moved 
away from that town. 

The name Leete, during the many cen- 
turies it has existed as a surname, has 
been variously spelled, but as early as the 
reign of Queen Elizabeth there were those 
who used the form Leete, and for the past 
two generations that has been the most 
used form. The family bore arms : 

Arms — Argent on a fesse, gules between two 
rolls of matches. Sable fired proper, a martley 
or. 

Crest — On a ducal coronet, or, fired proper. 

The earliest mention of the family is 
found in Morden, Cambridgeshire, Eng- 
land, in 1209. 

(I) The founder of the family in Amer- 
ica was William Leete, one of the first 
settlers of Guilford, Connecticut, and 
Governor of the New Haven and Con- 
necticut colonies. He was a son of John 
and Anna (Shute) Leete, and grandson 
of Thomas and Maria (Slade) Leete, of 
Ockington, Cambridgeshire, England. He 
was "bred to the law," but he became a 
Puritan, came to New England in Rev. 
Mr. Whitefield's company, was one of the 
signers of the Plantation Covenant on 
shipboard, June 1, 1639, and about July 
10, following, arrived in New Haven. 
When Guilford was agreed upon as a 



place to settle, he was one of the six to 
purchase the land of the native Indians. 
The section of outlying lands he owned 
at Guilford yet retains the name "Leete's 
Island," and has been owned and occu- 
pied for nearly three centuries by Leetes. 
William Leete was called upon to fill 
many public offices. He was clerk of the 
plantation, 1639-62, was one of the four 
to whom was entrusted supreme civil 
power, was one of the seven pillars of 
the church, one of the founders of the 
colony of New Haven, deputy to the Gen- 
eral Court, 1643-50; magistrate, 1651-58; 
deputy governor, 1658-61 ; Governor, 1661, 
until the colony of New Haven was united 
with Connecticut in 1664. After the union 
he was assistant until 1669, then deputy 
governor of the Connecticut Colony until 
1676, when he was elected Governor, a 
high position he held through successive 
reelections until his death in 1683. Guil- 
ford was his home until his election as 
Governor of Connecticut, when he moved 
to Hartford, and there died and was 
buried. His tombstone was discovered 
about 1830, in the ancient burying ground 
in the rear of the First Church of Hart- 
ford, where it had long been hidden be- 
neath an accumulation of earth. His de- 
scendants have since erected a plain 
granite monument to his memory. Says 
Trumbull: "He was magistrate, deputy 
governor, or Governor, of one or the other 
of the Colonies during a period of forty 
years. In both Colonies he presided in 
times of the greatest difficulty, yet always 
conducted himself with such integrity and 
wisdom as to meet the public approba- 
tion." Governor William Leete married 
(first) in England, about 1638, Anna 
Payne, daughter of Rev. John Payne, ofi 
Southhoe. She was the mother of his 
nine children; he was twice married after 
her death. This branch continues through 
John, the first born. 






32 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



(II) John Leete, son of Governor Wil- 
liam Leete, who is said to have been the 

first white child horn in Guilford, died 
November 25. 1602, aged fifty-three years. 
II: married. October 4, 1670, Mary Chit- 
tenden, daughter of William and Joanna 
(Sheafe) Chittenden. They were the par- 
ents of eight children, the next in this 
line being Peletiah, tin- fifth child. 

(III) Deacon Peletiah Leete, son of 
John Leete, was born March 26, [68l, and 
was the first of the family to settle at 
"I. cote's Island." There he resided until 
his death, and was a large landowner, and 
a good farmer, considering one hundred 
bushels of shelled corn to the acre nothing 
more than a fair average yield. He kept 
one hundred head of cattle, and was one 
of the substantial men of his day, inherit- 
ing the acres which he tilled from his 
father, who had them from his father, 
Governor William Leete. Peletiah Leete 
was a deacon of the Fourth Congrega- 
tional Church of Guilford, and represent- 
ed Guilford in the General Court many 
times. He died October 13, 1768. He 
married, July 1, 1705, Abigail Fowler, 
daughter of Abigail and Elizabeth (Bart- 
lett) Fowler, of Guilford. She died Oc- 
tober 22, 1769, aged ninety years, surviv- 
ing her husband but one year, they hav- 
ing experienced a married life of sixty- 
three years. This branch traces through 
their eldest son and second child, Daniel. 

I I V ) Deacon Daniel Leete, son of Dea- 
con Peletiah Leete, was born at the home- 
stead in Guilford, October 14, 1709, and 
died October 1, 1772. He was a farmer 
at Leete's Island all of his life, and a dea- 
con of the Fourth Congregational Church 
f Guilford. He married. June 14, 1738, 
hoda Stone, born November 2, 17m. died 
December 23, 1769, daughter of Caleb and 
Sarah (Meigs) Stone. Their son. Daniel 
1(2), is head of the next generation. 

(Y) Daniel (2) Leete, son of Deacon 

Conn— 7 3 33 



Daniel (n Leete, was born at Leete's 
Island, Guilford, Connecticut, April 17, 

1742, and there died May 3, [825, a farmer. 
He married, December 10, [766, Charity 

Norton, born in 1743, died February 13, 
daughter 1 if I Janiel and Sarah ( Brad- 
Norton, of Guilford. At a meeting 

of the town "t' Guilford held December 8, 
177S. Daniel Leete was appointed to serve 
"ii a commission to care for the families 
of Revolutionary soldiers and t" provide 
proper clothing for same. At a meeting 
held by the town of Guilford, mi February 
14, 1780, a committee was chosen of which 
Daniel Leete was one to provide for the 
families of soldiers engaged in fighting 
the battles of the American Revolution. 
At another meeting held by the town of 
Guilford, December 8, 1778, one Daniel 
Leete was appointed to erect a suitable 
guard house. The line follows through 
their youngest son and third child. Ed- 
mund. 

(VI) Edmund Leete, son of Daniel (2) 
Leete, was born at Leete's Island home- 
stead. Guilford, Connecticut. May 10, 
1775. and there died May 28, 1825. a 
farmer. He married. February 26, 1801, 
Fanny Goldsmith, born February 2?. [783, 
• lied December 5, 1864, daughter of John 
and Mary (Case) Goldsmith, of Guilford. 
Their children were: Henry William, of 
further mention; Benjamin Case, married 
Amanda Cook; Fanny Minerva, married 

;e Fowler; Samuel Willis, married 
Emma Buell ; Mary Fidelia, married Rus- 
sell Crampton ; Eunice Louisa, married 
Philander Field. 

(VII) Henry William Leete, son of 
Edmund Leete, was born at Leete's 
Island homestead, Guilford. Connecticut, 
December i, 1801, died in Wallingford, 
Connecticut, October 10, 1844. He mar- 
ried, in September, 1824, Nancy A. Doo- 
little, born August 19, 1804, daughter of 
Gules and Amelia (Thomas) Doolittle. 






ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



They were the parents of: Sarah, born 
May 24, 1826, married John Powers; 
Henry Edmund, born March 26, 1828, 
married Cynthia Freeman ; George, of 
further mention ; Elizabeth, born October 
9, 1833, married William Smith ; Marietta 
Clarissa, born June 19, 1836, married A. 
K. Conklin ; Rachel Isabel, born Decem- 
ber 3, 1839; Fanny Amelia, born July 30, 
1842, married John Anderson. 

(VIII) George Leete, son of Henry 
William Leete, was born in Wallingford, 
Connecticut, April 6, 1830, and died March 
2 3> I 9 I 5- He resided in Thompsonville, 
Connecticut, and for over fifty years was 
a foreman in the employ of the New York, 
New Haven & Hartford Railroad. He 
married Mary Coughlan, born in County 
Cork, Ireland, in 1837 (now Queenstown). 
Their children were : Eva Augusta, born 
December 3, 1858, married James Davi- 
son ; Arthur Russell, of further mention ; 
Edmund, born November 3, 1866, died 
September 29, 1868; William, born 1869; 
Edward, born October 14, 1870; Joseph, 
born July 9, 1873 ; Fannie May, born July 
13, 1881, died August 3, 1881. 

(IX) Arthur Russell Leete, son of 
George and Mary (Coughlan) Leete, was 
born in Thompsonville, February 2, 1864, 
where he died April 11, 1919. He attend- 
ed the public school until thirteen years 
of age. His first year after leaving school 
was spent as credit boy in the Hartford 
Carpet Mills. He then began his busi- 
ness career as errand boy and clerk for 
Niles Pease, original founder of the home 
furnishing business, where he remained 
about five years. He then formed a co- 
partnership with J. E. Allen, under the 
firm name of Allen & Leete, house fur- 
nishers, and who bought the business of 
Niles Pease. After a few years Mr. Allen, 
the partner, retired, the business being 
taken over by Arthur R. Leete, who con- 
ducted it most successfully until his death. 



He also had under his control a plumbing 
business and a tinsmithing shop. He was 
a thoroughly competent undertaker and 
funeral director, and for twelve years was 
president of the State Board of Embalm- 
ers. Mr. Leete was active in the Board 
of Trade interests in Thompsonville, and 
served as its president from 1896 to 1900. 
In 1918 he was elected again to this office 
and served until his untimely death. He 
was a member of the Enfield Business 
Men's Association. 

In politics, Mr. Leete was a loyal, ar- 
dent Republican, and a member of the 
town committee for two years. In 1909 
he was elected representative from En- 
field and served as chairman of the com- 
mittee on roads and bridges. He was a 
member of the Connecticut Board of Ex- 
aminers of Embalmers, appointed by Gov- 
ernor Frank B. Weeks. He served sev- 
eral terms as a member of the town school 
committee, and for fifteen years was a 
member of the school committee, District 
2, which comprised all the Thompsonville 
schools. He was a director of the Con- 
necticut Valley Waterways Association. 
Mr. Leete was a thirty-second degree Ma- 
son, and a member of Doric Lodge, An- 
cient Free and Accepted Masons ; he was 
master of this lodge three terms, 1894-95- 
96, and was a member of the board of 
trustees. He was also a member of Wash- 
ington Commandery of Suffield ; Suffield 
Council ; Sphinx Temple of Hartford. 
His clubs were the Calumet, Columbus 
Fish and Game Club of Canada and 
Springfield Fish and Game Club. He held 
membership in the Enfield Society for the 
Detection of Thieves and Robbers. 

Mr. Leete married, June 21, 1892, in 
Windsor, Connecticut, Jane Abigail 
Tryon, born July 11, 1867, daughter of 
Watson Tryon, the long time contractor 
and builder, who built the Connecticut 
State Capitol, one of the best constructed 



34 



F\CYGF< UM-1I >I.-\ OF lib KiK \!'IIY 



in the United States, and built well within 
the appropriation. Mr. Tryon is still liv- 
ing, aged ninet) six years. Mr. and Mrs. 
Leete were the parents of two sons and 
a daughter: i. Malcolm R.., born Febru- 
ary i. 1894, enlisted in May. 1917, as a 
private in the United States Hospital 
Corps, in service in France; he was prob- 
ably one of the first to sail for foreign 
service, and served twenty-one months 
until his discharge, April 18, 1919. 2. 
Marian Tryon, born April 15, [896. 3. 
William Kenneth, horn August 2~ , [897, 
fa a graduate of the Preparatory School at 
Swathmore; he joined the Yale Battery, 
and was at Camp Tobyhanna, Pennsyl- 
vania. 



WHITAKER, George Lewis, 

Transportation Manager. 

The work of the world is done by those 
who have the strength, physical or mental, 
to carry the weight of their own burdens, 

and still help lift those of their fellow- 
men. No matter what the work may be, 
the personality of the worker and the 
conscientious fulfillment of every duty in- 
volved, makes the work and the worker a 
benefit to mankind, and gives both a dig- 
nity to be won in no other way. Among 
those men in the city of Hartford, Con- 
necticut, whose work meets the never 
ceasing need of the people, is George 
Lewis Whitaker, of Whitaker i\; Bacon, 
tiie well known car men of Trumbull 
street. 

Whitaker is one of those names which 
are derived from the location of the pro- 
genitor's home. It means dweller at the 
White Field. It i- of English origin, and 
dates back to the fourteenth century. The 
field was undoubtedly named either be- 
cause oi some white flower growing in 
abundance in it. or because some incident 
making it necessary to designate the place 



occurred during an unusually severe w in- 
ter, when the field was covered with sno 

George Lewis Whitaker, of the linn of 

Whitaker <.V Paeon, was born in Norwich, 
Connecticut, November n, i{ 1 of 

( Paries P.. and I larriet M. (I foldridj 

Whitaker. lie was educated in the pub- 
lic schools of Norwich, Connecticut, and 
the Norwich Academy. Eager to begin a 
man's work, and alive to the world of 
movement and action, be followed rail- 
roading for a time, working for the New 
London & Northern, then for the New 
York & New England, now the Highland 
Division of the New York, New Haven & 
Hartford. He then entered the employ of 
the Norwich & New York Transportation 
Company. This kept him in Norwich, as 
he held the office of secretary of the com- 
pany, and served as its agent at that city. 
He remained in this position for two 
years. Like thousands of our best young 
men at that period, he went to Oregon, 
where he became interested in mining. 
He was more successful than many, but 
feeling satisfied that great wealth in this 
line was merely a matter of chance, he 
decided to turn to something where his 
native energy and capability for practical 
management of affairs would count. He 
believed that success in the long run v 
certain in that direction. Eventually he 
proved himself in the right. He returned 
East and located in Hartford, where he 
was in the employ of the Sherman Trai 
fer Company t n years. He found 

the work congenial, and his cheerful man- 
ner and faithful attention to bus ive 
him the upward 1 which he 
was looking. After three years he 
made manager of the business, which 
position he held for four years. By this 
time Mr. Whitaker saw that in the de- 
velopment of the city the business inter- 

ts were throwing on the firms in 
line more work than thev could well 



35 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



handle. In association with Frank Fred- 
erick Bacon, a sketch of whom follows, 
he formed a partnership in this line of 
business, under the firm name of Whit- 
aker & Bacon. They do a large business, 
owning forty-two head of horses and four 
large auto trucks. With this fine equip- 
ment and the spirit of progress which 
they put into their work, they form a 
significant part of the business life of 
Hartford. Mr. Whitaker is a member of 
Hartford Lodge, Ancient Free and Ac- 
cepted Masons, and a charter member of 
Norwich Lodge, Benevolent and Protec- 
tive Order of Elks, of which he was the 
first secretary. He is a Republican in 
political faith, and while still a resident 
of Norwich was an active worker, but not 
an aspirant for office. For a number of 
years he served as secretary of the Young 
Republicans' Club, in that city. 

Mr. Whitaker married Susan, daughter 
of Jacob Eberle, of Hartford, and they 
are the parents of two children, George A. 
and Walter E. The family are members 
of the Church of the Good Shepherd. 

A leader, keen of mind and possessing 
exceptional executive ability, Mr. Whit- 
aker is still considerate of those in his 
employ, and a cordial friend of his busi- 
ness associates. 



BACON, Frank Frederick, 

Transportation Business. 

To be useful is to be great. There is no 
man so useful to society as the man of 
action. Let the line of effort be what it 
may, the man who makes of his work in 
life an active, progressive industry, and 
rising from the ranks of the employee, 
gains the eminence of the employer, places 
the work he has done and tne position 
which he holds on a basis of dignity as 
well as usefulness. Too many men forget, 
in the scramhle for easy, esthetic occupa- 



tions, the sturdy, upright manliness which, 
through all the generations of our exist- 
ence as a Nation, the men of these United 
States have devoted to those pursuits 
which demand of a man physical stamina, 
hardihood, and unremitting toil. The use- 
fulness of such work cannot be gainsaid, 
and the man who has foregone the lighter 
responsibilities to give himself to duties 
which are a service to mankind is a man 
deserving of the highest honor. Frank 
Frederick Bacon, of the firm of Whitaker 
& Bacon, car men, of Hartford, is one of 
those men who has chosen useful work, 
and made of it a business which demands 
more than passing recognition. 

The surname Bacon is derived from the 
Saxon word, buccen or baccen, meaning 
beech tree. It is a very ancient family. 
In 1082 William Bacon endowed the 
Abbey of the Holy Trinity at Caen. 
Among the early Bacons was Roger 
Bacon, born in 1214. John Bacon was a 
learned monk, and died in 1346, in Lon- 
don. During the reign of Queen Eliza- 
beth, Sir Nicholas Bacon was keeper of 
the great seal, and was the first to be 
created a baronet by James I. 

Mr. Bacon's father, Andrew Bacon, was 
born in the suburbs of Buffalo, New York, 
and died in New York City, in 191 1, at 
the age of seventy-nine years. He was 
educated in the public schools of Buffalo, 
and then followed the canal for some 
years as captain of a canal boat. Later he 
removed to Springfield, Pennsylvania, 
where he engaged in farming for a num- 
ber of years. After he retired from active 
life he spent his declining years visiting 
among his children. He was a Republi- 
can by political affiliations, and held vari- 
ous town offices at different times, but 
was not a politician. He married Emily 
Wohlgast, and they were the parents of 
seven children : Louise, who married 
Justin Coville ; Amanda, Charles A., Al- 



36 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF I'.K KiRAI'HV 



bert I... Mary, who married Louis 
Rauschkolb; Frank Frederick, of whom 
further; Jaj W. The mother was a mem- 
ber <>t" tlir Methodisl Episcopal church. 

Frank Frederick Bacon was born in 
Sherman, New York, March 5. [873. He 
was educated in the public schools of 
Springfield, Pennsylvania, then wont to 
Nortl ivesl Montana, where he worked on 
cattle ranges for eight years. After that 
he removed to Chicago, and entered the 
employ of Nelson Morris, as a cattle ship- 
per in their stock yards. Then he came 
to Middletown, Connecticut, and was in 
the employ of Kennedy, the truckman, 
for six or seven years. About fifteen 
years ago he came to Hartford and en- 
tered the employ of Bill Brothers, car 
m< n, and went from them to the Sherman 
Transfer Company. Five years ago, hav- 
ing laid aside a little from his years of 
stead}' work and thrifty habits, and appre- 
ciating the possibilities offered by the 
rapid growth of the city, he formed a 
partnership with George L. Whitaker, 
and started a general trucking business. 
In this short time the business has grown 
to large proportions. They have forty- 
two head of horses and four fine automo- 
bile trucks, which are all kept busy the 
greater part of the time. The firm are 
familiar with the needs of the public 
along these lines; they are prompt and 
obliging, and believe in carrying the 
policy of quality into a business whether 
it be a manufacturing, mercantile or pub- 
lic service enterprise. 

Mr. Bacon married Nellie Gertrude 
Larkin, of Middletown, Connecticut, and 
they have one child, Lester A., born June 
17, 1898, and who is now serving in the 
Three Hundred and Twenty-sixth Field 
Signal Battalion with the Army of Occu- 
pation. 

Mr. Bacon is a man of genial disposi- 
tion, sturdv manhood, with a cheerful out- 



look on life ami its interests. I| r makes 

friends as well a- helpers of Ids employ 1 
and holds a high standard < .f character as 
well as efficiency in his dealings with 
them. He is a public-spirited man. inter- 
ested in the good of the city, and well in- 
formed on all questions of local, national 
and international interest. 



ALCOTT, Ralph Waldo Emerson. 

Physician. 

New England is justly famous for citi- 
zens who have won recognition — in the 
world of art and letters, in the professions 

and in the industries. From the pine 
wo^.ls of Maine to the section which now 
prides itself on being the suburb of the 
metropolis, town after town, and city 
after city points with pride to names 
which have become of more than local 
significance; modest, retiring citi/.ens who 
have followed the call of their ideals, who 
have ministered to the spiritual and 
esthetic longings of their fellows, who 
have administered large affairs and cre- 
ated industries which have become the 
means of sustenance for countless thou- 
sands ; men whose achievements have 
revolutionized industry; women whose 
faces are enshrined in the hearts of loving 
admirers, and whose words have not only 
given pleasure, but have pointed out the 
high path of honor to youth. 

Working for the good of humanity in 
the rank and file of public service, are 
many men, who deservedly enjoy the con- 
fidence of their fellow-citizens, but disre- 
gard the allurements of a wider fame to 
meet the every-day needs of the people. 
The bonds of service unite these two 
groups in a common brotherhood. There 
is no profession so exacting, none de- 
manding such unreservim; self-sacrifice, 
as that of a physician. And it is only just 
and fair to accord to the man who fulfills 



37 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



his obligations in this profession a posi- 
tion among the men we honor. Dr. Al- 
cott, of West Hartford, is such a man. 

The name Alcott is a familiar one in old 
English history, but is there spelled Al- 
cocke. There was an Alcoc in Cam- 
bridgeshire in the reign of Edward I., and 
in the same reign there was a John de 
Alcock in London. The first of the name 
appearing in English history was John 
Alcock, born in Beverly, in Yorkshire 
county. Thomas Fuller gives the follow- 
ing account in his "Worthies of Eng- 
land:" 

John Alcocke was born in Beverly, County 
Yorkshire, where he built a chapel and founded 
a chantry for his parents. He was bred a D. D. 
in Cambridge, and at last became Bishop of Ely. 
His prudence appears in that he was made Lord 
Chancellor of England by King Henry the Sev- 
enth, a prince of an excellent palate to taste men's 
abilities; and a dunce was no dish for his diet. 
His piety is praised by the pen of J. Bale; which, 
though generally bitter, drops nothing but honey 
on Alcocke's memory, commending him for a 
most mortified man, "given to learning and piety 
from his childhood ; growing from grace to grace, 
so that in his age none in England was higher for 
holiness." He turned the old nunnery of St. Radi- 
gund into a new college, called "Jesus" in Cam- 
bridge. Surely, had Malcolmn, King of Scots — 
first founder of that nunnery, survived to see this 
alteration, it would have rejoiced his heart to 
behold lewdness and laziness turned out for indus- 
try and piety to be put in their place. This 
Alcocke died October i, 1500; and had saintship 
gone as much by merit as by favor, he deserved 
one as well as his namesake, St. John ; his pre- 
decessor in that see. 

The coat-of-arms of the family is as fol- 
lows : 

Arms — Gules, a fesse between three cock's heads 
erased argent beaked or. 

Crest — A cock ermine barbed, membered, crested 
and wattled or. 

Motto — Vigilate. 

This coat-of-arms was granted June 8, 
1616, by order of the King, to Thomas 



Alcock, of Sibertof, Leicestershire. The 
device is emblematic of watchfulness. 

(I) Thomas Alcock came from Eng- 
land with John Winthrop, in 1630, and 
settled in Boston. He is the forty-sixth 
on the list of original members of Boston 
Church in 1639. He removed to Dedham, 
and later returned to Boston, where he 
died September 14, 1657. His widow, 
Margery, married (second) John Burn- 
ham, and went to New Haven in 1660. 

(II) Philip Alcock, son of Thomas Al- 
cock, was born in 1647-48, in Dedham, 
and died in 1716. He married, December 
5, 1672, Elizabeth, born February 6, 1651, 
daughter of Thomas and Elizabeth 
Mitchell. He removed with his mother 
to New Haven, and resided near what is 
now George street. He was a large land- 
holder. 

(III) John Alcott, son of Philip Al- 
cock, was born July 14, 1675, in New 
Haven. He resided there on the paternal 
estate, using the new form of the name. 
He also owned land in East Haven and 
Wallingford. He died in March, 1722, 
and his wife Susannah, died in 1737. 

(IV) John (2) Alcott, son of John (1) 
Alcott, was born January 14, 1705, in New 
Haven, and settled in Waterbury in 1731, 
on Spindle Hill, now Wolcott. He died 
January 6, 1777. He married, January 14, 

1730, Deborah Blakeslee, born March 15, 
1713, in New Haven, died January 7, 1789, 
daughter of John and Lydia Blakeslee, 
granddaughter of John and Grace (Ven- 
tries) Blakeslee, great-granddaughter of 
Samuel and Hannah (Potter) Blakeslee, 
of Guilford, Connecticut. 

(V) Captain John (3) Alcott, son of 
John (2) Alcott, was born December 28, 

1 73 1, in Waterbury, that part which is 
now Wolcott. He built a home near that 
of his father, and died September 27, 1808. 
He married, August 28, 1755, Mary Chat- 
field, born October 11, 1736, in Derby, 



38 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF i:i< xiRAI'HV 



died February 28, (807, daughter of Solo- 
mon and 1 1 a n nail 1 Pierson > Chatfield, and 
descendant of George and Sarah (Bishop) 
Chatfield, of ( milford. 

(VI) John Chatfield Alcott, son of 
Captain John (3) Alcott, was bom May 

7, 1771. in Wolcott, and resided near "Po- 
lucca's K 1 1 1 l^ " until 1805, when he settled 
on Clinton Hill, the highest land in Spin- 
dle Hill district. He married, October 13, 
[796, Anna Bronson, of Plymouth. One 
of their sons was Amos Bronson Alcott, 
father of Louisa M. Alcott, the noted 
author of many hooks for young girls and 
boys, including "Little Women" and 
"Little Men." 

(\ lh Junius S. Alcott, son of John 
Chatfield Alcott, was horn in Wolcott, 
Connecticut, July 6, 1818. Whenayoung 
man he removed to Oriskany Falls, New 
York, and soon established himself in 
business as a machinist, under the firm 
name of Couch & Alcott. This was at a 
time when the present widespread use of 
machinery was something undreamed of. 
The industry was still in its infancy, and 
it is probable that the early death of 
Junius S. Alcott was a loss to the world. 
He died at Oriskany Falls, Xew York, 
.April 16, 1852, before he reached the age 
of thirty-four. He married Nancy J. 
Pritchard, of Litchfield, Connecticut, who 
was born February 5, [821, and died Au- 
gust 19, 1880. They had five children, 
three of whom grew to maturity : Lillian 
May, born May iq, 1S45, died February 
25, 1907. was the wife of John H. Perry, 
of Hartford : Jane Ann. born May 31, 
1848. the wife of William Aver, of Fowler, 
Michigan ; ami Ralph W. E., of whom fur- 
ther. 

(VIII) Dr. Ralph Waldo Emerson Al- 
cott, son of Junius S. Alcott, was only two 
years of age when his father died. He 
was a quiet lad, fond of reading and study. 
As he grew to young manhood and began 



to realize hi- loss, he settled down in earn- 
est to pursue -"me line of study which 
would give him a place in the world 
worthy the tradition- of his family. He 
chose medicine, and Studied under the 
tutorship of I >r. C. S. Cutler, of Granby, 
and later, with Dr. H. B. Steel, of 
\\ insted, Connecticut. He continued his 
education at the University of Pennsyl- 
vania, and finally was graduated from the 
Cnited State- Medical College, of New 
York, with the degree of Doctor of Medi- 
cine. He began practice in Granby, then 
practiced in Avon, where he remained 
until [896, when he located permanently 
in Wesl Hartford. There he is very 
hly esteemed as a physician, and has 
built up a large practice, in which he is 
deservedly popular and prosperous. He 
keeps well abreast of the times, constantly 
watching the new discoveries in medical 
science, and applying them to his own 
practice with discriminating judgment 
and commendable success. He is devoted 
to his work, and his ability is gaining 
wide recognition. Dr. Alcott was made 
a Mason in Village Lodge, No. 29, Free 
and Accepted Masons, in Collinsville, in 
1880, and at present holds membership in 
Wyllys Lodge, No. 99, Free and Accepted 
Masons, of West Hartford. He is also a 
member of Pythagoras Chapter, No. 17, 
Royal Arch Masons ; and Wolcott Coun- 
cil, No. 1, Royal and Select Masters, of 
Hartford. 

Dr. Alcott married, July 11, 1871, Ida 
H. Miller, daughter of Myron and Lura 
(Gates) Miller, of Hartland, Connecticut. 
They are the parents of two children : 1. 
Herbert P>ronson, who i- now engaged in 
business in Avon, Connecticut: married 
Clara, daughter of George Wheeler, of 
Avon, Connecticut, and now has one son, 
George. 2. Ila Louise, who married Clin- 
ton Thomas King, of Windsor. Mrs. Al- 
cott died July I. 1884. 



39 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



CURTISS, Charles Edson, 

Manufacturer, Legislator. 

For the past forty years Mr. Curtiss has 
been connected with the Ensign-Bickford 
Company of Simsbury, Connecticut, and 
has gained the esteem and respect of his 
fellow-citizens, having been active in pro- 
moting the prosperity of the town physi- 
cally and morally. 

(I) He is a descendant of one of the 
oldest Connecticut families, founded by 
Thomas Curtiss, who was born in Eng- 
land in 1598, and settled at Wethersfield, 
Connecticut, with his wife Elizabeth in 
1639. There he died November 13, 1681. 

(II) Joseph Curtiss, third son of 
Thomas Curtiss, was born March 31, 1644, 
in Wethersfield, died there, December 31, 
16S3, leaving an estate of £717 13s. iod. 
He married, February 8, 1674, Mary Dem- 
ing, who was probably a daughter of 
Thomas and Mary (Scheafe) Deming, the 
latter a daughter of John Scheafe, an early 
resident of Connecticut. 

(III) Joseph (2) Curtiss, eldest son of 
Joseph (1) Curtiss, was born January 10, 
1675, in Wethersfield, made his home in 
that town, and died December 31, 1765, 
lacking ten days of being ninety-one years 
of age. He married, December 7, 1708, 
Dorothy Edwards, born in September, 
1681, in Wethersfield, that part now 
Rocky Hill, died April 18, 1760, daughter 
of Joseph and Sarah Edwards, of that sec- 
tion. 

(IV) Josiah Curtiss, youngest child of 
Joseph (2) Curtiss, was born September 
12, 1 72 1, in Stepney Parish, now Rocky 
Hill, and was buried October 4, 1800. In 
1777 he was a member of Captain Henry 
Champion's company, of Colchester, which 
served in the Revolutionary army. He 
married, December 3, 1747, Mary Hilborn, 
born March 4, 1725, in Newington, died 
October 7, 1799, third daughter of Lieu- 



tenant Ebenezer and Eunice (Hale) Hil- 
born, of that town. 

(V) Ebenezer Curtiss, third son of 
Josiah Curtiss, was born January 31, 1760, 
in Stepney, went in old age to Simsbury, 
probably with his son, and died there 
March 21, 1819. He married, April 1, 
1781, Rebecca Latimer, born December 
12, 1754, in Wethersfield, daughter of 
John and Anna (Grimes) Latimer. 

(VI) Timothy Hale Curtiss, third son 
of Ebenezer Curtiss, was baptized March 
9, 1788, settled in Simsbury, Connecticut, 
where he died March 19, 1864. He was 
married in Simsbury, by Benjamin Ely, 
justice of the peace, April 5, 1814, to Sarah 
McCombs, a descendant of an old family 
of that section. Her birth is not recorded 
in Windsor or Simsbury. 

(VII) Ebenezer G. Curtiss, son of Tim- 
othy Hale and Sarah (McCombs) Curtiss, 
was born November 15, 1822, in the sec- 
tion of Simsbury near the Canton line, 
known as the "Bushy Hill" District. He 
spent his boyhood in Southwick, Massa- 
chusetts, where his parents were living 
for some time ; in early manhood engaged 
in farming and later became interested in 
the cattle business, residing in that part 
of Simsbury known as Weatogue. He 
was accustomed to purchase stock in the 
West, which he drove to Connecticut and 
there disposed of to advantage. He was 
a prominent citizen of the town, which he 
represented at one time in the State Leg- 
islature, and was active in the Masonic 
fraternity, affiliated with St. Mark's 
Lodge, No. 36, Free and Accepted Ma- 
sons, of Simsbury, with which his son is 
now identified. He died September 16, 
1890, and his body was laid to rest in 
Simsbury. He married, October 11, 1846, 
Mary Amne Norton, who was born Octo- 
ber 29, 1827, in Avon, Connecticut, a de- 
scendant of a very old Connecticut fam- 
ily, founded by John Norton, who appears 



40 



KXCYCLOI'KDIA OF BH >GRAPHY 



on the first page of the Branford records. 
Hi- is supposed to have been a son of 
Richard and Ella (Rowley) Norton, of 
London. About i ' > 3 « * he removed from 
Branford to Farmington, Connecticut, 
where he was one of the eighty-four pro- 
prietors, and died Novembers, [709 His 
second wife, Elizabeth, died al Branford, 
November 6, [657. Her son, John Nor- 
ton, born October 1 1. 1657, in Branford, 
lived in Farmington, which he represent- 
ed in the ( ieneral Court in Si and 
[682, and there died April 25, [725. He 
married Ruth Moore, born January 5, 
1667, in Norwalk, Connecticut, daughter 
of Isaac and Ruth (Stanley) Moore. Their 
son, Thomas Norton, baptized July 11, 
[697, in Farmington, resided there, and 
died May _', 1760. He married, January 
I", [724, Elizabeth McEwan, horn No- 
vember 7. 1699, in Stratford, died ,••• 

0, daughter of Robert and Sarah ( Wil- 
COXSOn) McEwan. Her third son, Icha- 
bod Norton, born September 17, 1736, 
lived in Granby, Connecticut, and died 
there, October 1, 1825. He married, Feb- 
ruary 21, 1760, Ruth Strong, born Sep- 
tember 3, 1739, died July 16, [823, in West 
Hartford, daughter of Asahcl and Ruth 
(Hooker) Strong. Their youngest child, 
George Norton, born November 15, 1782, 
in Farmington, settled in Avon, Connec- 
ticut, where he died May 11, 1833. He 
married, December 20, 1820, Elizabeth 
Frisbie, and they were the parents of 
Mary Amne Norton, who became the wife 
of Ebenezer G. Curtiss, as previously 
stated. They were the parents of three 
sons. 

(VIII) Charles E. Curtiss, second son 
of Ebenezer G. and Mary Amne (Norton) 
Curtiss, was born March 18, 1850, in the 
Bushy Hill District of Simsbury. and be- 
gan his studies in the district schools of 
Weatogue. In 1859 his parents moved to 
the Meadow Plain District and there he 



was under the instruction of several able 

teachers, and later spent a winter at Guil- 

I Institute. After leaving school in 

[866, he Spent a J ear on the paternal farm. 

In [867 he began his business careei 
clerk in the general store of Judson Wil- 
cox at Simsbury, and two years later be- 
came travelling ■-ale-man for Humason & 
Beckley, hardwi Britain. 

F( >r -1 >me time he tra\ eled over New York 
State, and subsequently covered the same 
territory in the interesl of a cigar manu- 
facturer of New York City. In [872 he 
went to Oneonta, New York, where he 
engaged in the livery business, and sub- 
sequently removed to Westiield, Massa- 
chusetts, and was bookkeeper and sales- 
man in a grocery establishment. Since 
December 1, [879, he has resided in Sims- 
bury, and for many years has been asso- 
ciated with the Ensign-Bickford Manu- 
facturing Company. Since April 10, 1889, 
he has occupied the elegant home in Sims- 
bury, formerly the Averett Wilcox Home- 
stead, known as "The Seven Elms," from 
the seven large elm trees in front of the 
mansion. Tn political affairs he has al- 
ways been identified with the Democratic 
party, which he supports in general elec- 
tions, but ignores partisan politics in local 
matters. While he has never shirked his 
duty to his party and to the community, 
he has steadfastly declined to be a candi- 
date for office, but in 1909 and 1910 he 
yielded to the urgency of his fellow-citi- 
zens and as a matter of public duty repre- 
sented the town in the State Legislature, 
where he served on the committees on 
roads, rivers and bridges and public utili- 
ties. As before stated, he is a member of 
St. Mark's Masonic Lodge, of Simsbury, 
of which he has been treasurer for nearly 
twenty years. Mr. Curtiss is an enthusi- 
astic horseman, is regarded as one of the 
best judges of horse flesh, and has owned 
and driven many of the finest horses in 



-11 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



the State. He is esteemed as a liberal 
and progressive citizen, always actively 
strengthening public improvements and 
endeavoring to make life in this world 
enjoyable to all who surround him. 

Mr. Curtiss married (first) April 19, 
1876, Sarah J. Toy, who bore him two 
children: 1. Joseph T., born December 
16, 1878; was educated at Dobbs Ferry 
and Andover, Massachusetts, and spent a 
year in study and travel in Europe ; he 
married, December 19, 1899, Abigail G. 
Eno, daughter of Chauncey H. Eno, of 
Simsbury ; their home was in Tarifrville, 
where Mr. Curtiss was engaged in a mer- 
cantile business ; he died March 19, 1912. 
2. Grace G., born September 26, 1883 ; was 
graduated from St. Margaret's School in 
Waterbury, in 1901. Mr. Curtiss married 
(second) June 24, 1891, Anna Isabel Ham- 
ilton. 



SMITH, Waldo C, 

Public Official. 

The line of ancestry of Waldo C. Smith 
is one of the most ancient and honorable 
in New England. Cushing in the New 
England Genealogical Register, vol. 26, 
p. 190, says : "The early settlers of Hing- 
ham, Massachusetts, were mostly from 
Hingham, Norfolk county, England," and 
he mentions Ralph Smyth as coming to 
that place in 1633, and infers from the 
numeral "1" following his name that he 
came alone. His name appears first in 
the Hingham, Massachusetts, Registry in 
1637, when he drew a "house lot" on 
Bachelor street, now Maine street. In 
1637 he took the oath of allegiance. His 
name here and always was spelled 
"Smyth," though we find the more com- 
mon spelling used by his son and all his 
descendants. Ralph Smyth was consta- 
ble of Eastham, Massachusetts, from 
1660 to 1664. He was engaged in trading 



with Jesse Hobart, of Hingham, Massa- 
chusetts, and himself became an extensive 
landowner in Eastham. He appears to 
have been married more than once, and 
one of his wives was named Grace, but 
there are reasons for believing that she 
was not the mother of his son Daniel. 

(II) Daniel Smith, son of Ralph Smyth, 
was baptized at Hingham, March 2, 1647, 
and died at Eastham, Massachusetts, 
March, 1720. He married, March 3, 1676, 
Mary Young, of Eastham, who was born 
April 28, 1658, at Eastham, and was the 
daughter of John Young and his wife 
Abigail. Daniel and Mary (Young) 
Smith had six children : Daniel, Comfort, 
Abigail, James, of whom further ; Na- 
thaniel and Mary. 

(III) James Smith, son of Daniel and 
Mary (Young) Smith, was born at East- 
ham, the last week of April, 1685. He 
married Hannah Rogers, of Eastham, 
February 19, 1712-13. She was born Au- 
gust 5, 1689, and they had six sons and 
one daughter : Levi, Solomon, of whom 
further ; James, Joshua, Grace, Benjamin, 
Phineas. These children were all born 
at Eastham. 

(IV) Solomon Smith, son of James 
and Hannah (Rogers) Smith, was born 
March 8, 171 5-16. He married Susanna, 
daughter of Benjamin and Thankful 
(Bawerman) Snow, of Eastham. He 
died at Sandisfield, Massachusetts, May 
13, 1790, aged seventy-five years. His 
marriage took place February 21, 1739- 
40, at Eastham, Massachusetts. Susanna 
(Snow) Smith was of the fifth generation 
from Stephen Hopkins, of the "May- 
flower" (Susanna Snow (5), Benjamin 
Snow (4), Joseph Snow (3), Constance, 
or Constanta Snow (2), wife of Hon. 
Nicholas Snow, daughter of Stephen (1) 
Hopkins). Their children were: Solo- 
mon, Jr., Uriel, Ezekiel, Susanna, Amos, 
of whom further. 



42 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Records show thai the brothers, Solo- 
mon and Benjamin Smith, purchased land 
in what was later called Sandisfield, in 
1751, and thai thej had previously ac- 
quired a residence in Hebron, Connecti- 
cut, though how long they had lived there 
is not known. Solomon Smith built the 
fifth house in Sandisfield, which was 
doubtless of logs, as were all the houses 
built at that time, but it was replaced by 
a frame house in 17,"-'. M of Berk- 
shire \\a< an unbroken wilderness at this 
time and covered with a dense growth of 
hardwood. There were no roads or 
bridges and there had been little survey- 
ing done. But this was a fertile region 
and it attracted a. fine class of settlers. In 
a few year- a large population came in 
and took up land, most of them coming 
either directly or indirectly from East- 

ham, Massachusetts. Soon it was one of 

the most thickly settled regions of West- 
ern Massachusetts, and was peopled by a 
very superior class of men and women. 
The first settler of the town was Thomas 
Brown, of Enfield, Connecticut, who came 
in 1750. So fast did the population in- 
crease that at the commencement of the 
Revolutionary War, in 1775, there were 
one hundred and thirty-five men capable 
of bearing arms. The records show that 
fifteen Smiths did military duty; some 
doing service as "Minute Men," who were 
frequently called out for longer or shorter 
periods, and other- enlisted for the dura- 
tion of the war. some as privates and later 
winning their commissions and others 
entering the service as officer-. 

On February 24. [756, the Sandisfield 
church was organized, Benjamin Smith 
being one of a committee of fourteen to 
form the incorporation. The committee 
united by letter to communion with the 
church. Ruth, the wife of Benjamin Smith. 
and Susanna, wife of Solomon Smith. 
Many others from Eastham united with 



the church al the -anie time. The town 

of Sandisfield was incorporated, March '>, 

170J. The fust town meeting was called 
April i<>, 170J. Solomon Smith wa- ap- 
pointed constable, and Benjamin Smith 
and William Underwood, tithin^men. 

(V) Dr. Amos Smith, the youngest 
child of Solomon and Susanna I Snow) 
Smith, was born October 23. 1747, at 
Sandisfield. At the age of twenty-five he 
married his first wife and by her he had 
four children : Tr\ phenia, Amos, Jr., Han- 
nah, and Amariah. Hi' was a man of 
great ability and found time not only to 
operate hi- large farm but to study med- 
icine a- well and gained a reputation a- a 
practitioner, which was more than local. 
Me was an ardent patriot and served 
much time in the army during the Revo- 
lution. He was a private in Captain Jacob 
Brown's company. Colonel John Fuller's 
regiment, which came out in response to 
the "first alarm'' of April 10. 1775. His 
name frequently appears on the register 
of the soldiers and sailors of Massachu- 
setts in the Revolution. As a physician 
he was frequently called in for consulta- 
tion and to perform delicate surgical op- 
erations. There is a story of his courage 
and determination in the account of a 
single handed combat he had with a wolf 
in which, unarmed, he came off the 
victor. Even more courage was shown 
by him in a day when the clergymen were 
looked upon with almost superstitious 
awe. when in full town meeting he called 
upon the pious minister to give his free- 
dom to his negro slave, Toney. This re- 
quest, the record says, was refused by the 
owner. He lived in what was then known 
as South 1 100 Acres in South Sandisfield. 
and there he died October 6, i<So7, and his 
gravestone is still to be seen in the cem- 
etery near his old home. 

Dr. Amos Smith married (second) 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Christiana Phelps, July 29, 1783, and they 
had ten children : Christiana, Amariah, 
Sylvester, of whom further; Erastus, Cyn- 
thia, Harvey, Clarissa, Sally, Ira, and 
Daniel Phelps. 

(VI) Sylvester Smith, son of Dr. Amos 
and Christiana (Phelps) Smith, was born 
at Sandisfield, January 24, 1788, and died 
at North Colebrook, Connecticut, July 17, 
1865, aged seventy-seven years. He mar- 
ried, at Sandisfield, January 11, 1813, 
Laura A. Cowles, who was born in 1791, 
and died June 10, 1870, at North Cole- 
brook. It was said of him and his wife 
that "two more estimable persons were 
never united in the bonds of matrimony." 
His sterling qualities of character and his 
mental gifts seem to have been trans- 
mitted to his posterity. He was remark- 
able in a practical age for his love of lit- 
erature. It is said that he was a man of 
great height and muscular build, standing 
six feet six inches in his stockings. The 
children of Sylvester and Laura A. 
(Cowles) Smith were: Cynthia, Milton, 
of whom further ; Emily, Aurelia, William 
Amos, and Laura Christiana. 

(VII) Milton Smith, son of Sylvester 
and Laura A. (Cowles) Smith, was born 
March 16, 1818, at North Colebrook, Con- 
necticut. He was a man of a very high 
order of mental ability, although he had 
no advantages beyond those afforded by 
the schools of North Colebrook. He 
would have been with a liberal education 
a man of distinction in his State. He be- 
gan at the age of eighteen to teach in 
various places in the region of his birth, 
one of those being West Nassau, New 
York. He then settled on a farm in 
North Colebrook, marrying about the 
same time. Here in North Colebrook he 
lived the remainder of his nineteen years 
of life. He became a man of prominence 
in the community, and was three times 



elected a member of the House of Repre- 
sentatives of Connecticut, and served at 
one time as selectman of the town of 
North Colebroook, and was once first 
selectman. He also served one term as 
one of the county commissioners of Litch- 
field county, Connecticut. He was also 
at one time a lieutenant in the Connect- 
icut State Militia, and was for several 
years postmaster of North Colebrook. 
During all these years of a busy life he 
continued to be a student and reader, his 
mental horizon continually expanding as 
long as he lived, and his scholarly tastes 
and broad views making up to him in part 
for the lack of early advantages. He was 
a man in advance of his age and did much 
of his own thinking, arriving at opinions 
which were a generation or two ahead of 
his own time. A continual preoccupation 
with him was the relation of the individ- 
ual to the service of the State in a democ- 
racy, and by his daily walk and example 
showed that he believed in not only the 
privileges of liberty but in its obligations 
to service. He died in the prime of life 
at a time when he had just begun to be 
recognized outside of his community as a 
man fitted to play a leading part in the 
State. His death was a loss not only to 
his immediate circle but to the larger 
body of society which had only recently 
begun to realize his ability, character and 
principle. 

Milton Smith married (first) March 18, 
1844, at North Colebrook, Connecticut, 
Mary Swift; she died February 3, 1850, 
at the age of thirty-three. They had three 
children : A son and a daughter who died 
young, and Rufus Babcock. Milton 
Smith married (second) Martha (Hall) 
Smith, widow of Corrin Smith, son of 
Uriel and Sophronia (Church) Smith, of 
Sandisfield. She died March 26, 1859, at 
the age of forty, and he died March 16, 



44 




7rz££^cou^ 6L % &j 



"yn*^PzAsr 



ENCYCL< IPEDIA OE l'.K KiRAI'HY 



[863, at the age of forty-three, at North 
Colebrook. Their children were: Syl- 
vester, of whom further; Mary ami 
Martha. 

(VIII) Sylvester Smith, son of Milton 
and Martha (Hall-Smith) Smith, was 
horn March '>. 1852, at North Colebrook, 

Connecticut, ami died May [I, [882, of 
typhoid pneumonia, ..: East Granby, Con- 
necticut. lie married, at East Granby, 

March (>. [872, Lois Nutlej Work, and 
she died April 8, 1905. Their children 
Were: 1. Grace M., born Fehrnary 1, 1S73, 
married Walter Oatley, and has two 
daughters, Josephine and Gynevere. 2. 
Milton, horn in December, 1874, married 
Mattie Griswold, and has one daughter, 
Mildred. 3. Waldo C, of the present bio- 
graphical notice. 4. Celia, born July 23, 
1885, married Louis J. Pinney, and has 
two sons, Lester and Waldo. 

(IX) Waldo C. Smith, son of Sylvester 
and Lois Xutley ( Work ) Smith, was born 
April 11. 1882, at East Granby, Connect- 
icut. His mother, Lois Nutley (Work) 
Smith, was the daughter of Hasting 
Work, a native of Wilbraham, Massachu- 
setts, wdiere he was a farmer all his life. 
Waldo C. Smith was educated at the pub- 
lic schools of his native region, and con- 
tinued on the home farm after his father's 
death. He is considered one of the im- 
portant and substantial farmers of that 
section, making- a specialty of bis tobacco 
and his dairy. He has about twelve acres 
in tobacco, a large amount of land for 
such an intensive crop. He keeps fifty 
head o\ cattle and also raises potatoes and 
corn. Mr. Smith has always followed the 
tradition of bis fathers in being an active 
participant in political matters, feeling it 
to be the duty of a citizen of a republic 
to bear his share of the duties and service 
of the common weal. He has represented 



his district in Coi and held other 

public offices. 

Mr. Smith married Margaret Jane, 
daughter of Samuel and Sarah (Waugh) 
( )rr. Samuel ( )rr was born November 
15, [850, in * ounty Down, Ireland, and 
came to America at the age of en, 

locating at West Suffield, where he be- 
came a prosperous tobacco grower. He 
married a daughter of Hugh Waugh. 



SEYMOUR, William Alfred, 

Useful Citizen, Public Official. 

Among the oldesl families of Connect- 
icut is that of Seymour, identified with the 
city of Hartford from its earliest begin- 
ning. The family is of great antiquity in 
England. On the will of Thomas Sey- 
mour, eldest son of Richard Seymour, the 
American progenitor, is the seal contain- 
ing the device of the England Seymours 
from the time of William de St. Maur of 
Penhoe. One ■<;' hi- descendants has a 
"Bishop's Bible" printed in [584, on one 
of whose fly leaves is a drawing of the 
arms of the Seymours of Berry Pomery, 
namely, two wing-, conjoined in lure, 
quartered with the royal arms as granted 
by Henry the Eighth to Edward Sey- 
mour, Duke of Somerset. Richard Sey- 
mour was of Berry Pomery in the County 
of Devon and in this Bible his 

entry of ownership with the date 1640. 

(I) Though not an original proprietor, 
Richard Seymour was one of the early 
settlers of Hartford, where his name ap- 
rs in the list of those inhabitants who 
were granted lots at the "Town's cour te 
sie." in 1639. This lot was Xo. 79 on the 
north side, and bis house stood on wdiat 
is now North Main street. He had other 
pieces of land in what is now West Hart- 
ford. In 1647 he was elected chimney 
viewer, an office which closely corre- 



40 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



spondee! to those of building inspector and 
fire chief in the present. Most of the 
houses were built of wood with thatched 
roofs, and constant watching was the 
price of safety on conflagration. He was 
among those who made an agreement to 
settle Norwalk, June 19, 1650, and his 
name appears in a paper dated at Norwalk 
in the following year. His home lot there 
was directly opposite the meeting house 
and parade ground on the highway lead- 
ing from Stamford to Fairfield. In March, 
1655, he was elected selectman, but did 
not live to the close of that year. His 
will, made July 29, was proved October 
25, 1655, and his wife, Mercy, was desig- 
nated as one of the executors. His es- 
tate, inventoried on October 10 of that 
year, was valued at two hundred and 
fifty-five pounds and nine shillings. His 
widow subsequently married John Steele, 
of Farmington, one of the foremost men 
of the colony. 

(II) John Seymour, second son of 
Richard Seymour, was probably born in 
Hartford, removed with his father to Nor- 
walk and with his step-father to Farm- 
ington. After attaining manhood, he set- 
tled in Hartford, where he appears on 
record as early as March 15, 1664. He was 
one of the founders of the Second Church, 
February 12, 1669, and he and his wife, 
Mary, were admitted to full communion, 
March 31, 1678. Mary Seymour, wife of 
John Seymour, was the daughter of John 
and Margaret (Smith) Watson, the for- 
mer an early resident of Hartford, where 
his name appears in 1644. John Seymour 
was made a freeman in 1677, and lived on 
the south branch of the Little river, with- 
in the limits of the present town, near the 
Farmington road. He was subsequently 
granted a parcel of woodland. 

(III) John (2) Seymour, eldest child of 
John (1) and Mary Seymour, born June 



12, 1660, in Hartford, was an active and 
useful citizen of that town, serving on 
numerous committees concerning bound- 
aries, and in consideration of his services 
was granted several parcels of land in 
the new town of New Hartford. At a 
meeting of the proprietors of the new 
town held in Hartford, December, 1723, 
he was moderator, and subsequently sev- 
eral of his sons settled here. Through- 
out his long life he seems to have been 
constantly in public service, died May 17, 
1748, at Hartford, and was buried in the 
rear of the Center Church. He married, 
December 19, 1683, Elizabeth Webster, 
daughter of Lieutenant Robert and Su- 
zanna (Treat) Webster, granddaughter 
of Governor John Webster. 

(IV) John Webster Seymour, eldest 
child of John (2) Seymour, born in 1694, 
married a daughter of Captain John Ma- 
son. 

(V) John Webster (2) Seymour, third 
son of John Webster (1) Seymour, born 
November 24, 1727, in Hartford, lived in 
West Hartford, and was identified with 
the church of that town. He married, 
June 19, 1749, Lydia W r adsworth, who 
was born 1731 in Hartford, daughter of 
Johnathan and Abigail (Camp) Wads- 
worth, granddaughter of Captain Joseph 
and Elizabeth (Barnard) Wadsworth, 
great-granddaughter of William and 
Eliza (Seymour) Wadsworth, of Hart- 
ford. Captain Joseph Wadsworth ren- 
dered great service to the Colony by 
secreting its original charter in the fa- 
mous Charter Oak, and thus preserved 
the liberties of the people. 

(VI) Asa Seymour, son of John Web- 
ster (2) Seymour, born September 16, 
1756, in Hartford, was baptized May 21, 
1758 in the West Hartford Church, and 
settled at Granville, Massachusetts, where 
he was a justice of the peace, a prominent 



46 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



citizen, and died February i-\ 1837. 'l ( ' 
married, in West Hartford, November 1 \, 
17S1, Abigail Deming, of Hartford, born 
January 30, 175'). daughter of Gideon and 
Prudence (Merrill) Deming, died June 24, 
[805, in I Iranville. 

(VII) Chester Seymour, son of Asa 
Seymour, married. June 8, [820, Florilla 
Mather, who was born August 8, 1796, 
and died June [2, [838, in Canton, Con- 
necticut, eldest child of Eli and Sarah 

(Loomis) .Mather. She was descended 
from John Mather, who was a resident of 
Lawton, Winwick Parish, England, where 
his son, Thomas Mather, lived with his 
wife, Margaret. They were the parents 
of Rev. Richard Mather, horn there in 
[596. lie attended school until he was 
fifteen years old in Winwick. and in 1611 
became a teacher in a school at Toxteth 
Park, near Liverpool. While there he de- 
cided to prepare himself for the Gospel 
ministry and continued his studies under 
the teaching of Edward Aspinwall, in 
whose family he lived. Subsequently, 
Richard Mather attended Brazenose Col- 
lege, Oxford, and had been there but a 
short time when he was called to preach 
at Toxteth. On November 30, 1618, he 
preached his first sermon, and was or- 
dained a minister of the established 
church. In August, 1633, he was silenced 
for non-conformity, but restored in the 
following November. The next vcar he 
was again silenced and soon after derided 
to come to New England. He sailed from 
Bristol, May 23, 1635, in the ship "James'' 
and arrived at Boston on the 17th of the 
following August. Settling at Dor- 
chester, he was chosen teacher of the new 
church there in 1636, in which year he 
was admitted to the church with his 
wife, Catherine, served as minister until 
his death, and for fifty years was able to 
attend to his church labors every Sunday. 



In the last ;. ears he lost tin- ighl 

of his e\ eS, and died April J-', [669. I le 

married, September -•'). [624, Catherine, 
daughter of Edmund Hall, of Bury. She 

died in 1055. Her son, Timothy Mather, 

born in [628 in Liverpool, tame to \iner- 
ica with his father and was the only one 
of his distinguished family who did not 
become a minister, lie is tin- ancestor of 
all the New England Mathers, and died 

January 1 (. [684. lie married, about 
[649, ( atherine, daughter of Major Gen- 
eral Humphrey Atherton. Their young- 
est child, Atherton Mather, born Octo- 
ber (. [664. in Dorchester, went to Wind- 
sor. Connecticut, when a young man, 
tlure dealt much in land-, and there five 
of his children were bom. In 1712 he re- 
moved to Suffield, where he was a prom- 
inent citizen. The town was then a part 
of Massachusetts and he represented it 
four years in the General Court at Boston. 
lie purchased land in the center of the 
town, resided on the main street, and died 
in 1734. He married, October 24, 170;, 
Mary Lamb, of Roxbury. baptized March 
[3, [681, daughter of Caleb and Mary 
(Wise) Lamb. The third son of Ather- 
ton Mather, Richard Mather, was born 
November 21, [708, in Windsor, lived in 
Suffield. There he married, March 21, 
1734, Lois Burbank, born January 15, 
171 5. in Suffield, daughter of John and 
Mary (Granger) Burbank, of that town. 
Their second son, Elihu Mather, born 
April 2, 1741. in Suffield. lived at Wind- 
sor and Meriden, and died December 17, 
1778, in the latter town. There is no 
record of his wife. His fourth son, Eli 
Mather, born October 25, 1773. lived in 
Canton, Connecticut, and died December 
1, 1S35. He married Sarah Loomis, born 
June 12. 1776, in Simsbury, daughter of 
Abel and Sarah (Phelps) Loomis, and 
their eldest child, Florilla, born August 



47 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



8, 1796, became the wife of Chester Sey- 
mour, as previously stated. 

(VIII) Chester (2) Seymour, son of 
Chester (1) and Florilla (Mather) Sey- 
mour, was born December 24, 1824, in 
Hartford, was gifted with a keen, active 
mind and unusual energy. He was also 
generous, tender hearted and unselfish, 
and was deeply interested in the conduct 
of public affairs. In 1858 he was elected 
to the Legislature from Simsbury, and in 
1868 from East Granby. From 1850 to 
i860 he engaged in carriage building at 
Simsbury. Subsequently he purchased a 
farm in East Granby, on which he con- 
tinued to reside until September, 1888, 
when he went to Simsbury and lived with 
his daughter, Mrs. Joseph Toy, until his 
death, March 4, 1895. His last twenty- 
two years were much saddened by an ill- 
ness, the result of cerebro-spinal menin- 
gitis. Of open and frank character, he 
was fearless and outspoken, sincere in 
word and deed, and hated cant and insin- 
cerity. He had many friends, was a most 
congenial companion, and especially kind 
to children, who were attracted to him. 
He married Sabra Ensign, who was born 
August 18, 1826, in Simsbury, daughter 
of Moses and Martha (Whiting) Ensign. 
Their five children are : Frank C, of the 
Seymour Manufacturing Company, Chi- 
cago ; Mary, widow of Rev. James Toy, 
now living in Hartford ; Moses E., a 
farmer of East Granby ; William A., of 
further mention; and Lucius H., of the 
same town. Sabra Ensign, wife of Chester 
Seymour, was a member of the church at 
Tariffville. Chester Seymour, in connec- 
tion with his other and many duties to 
his town, was town collector. 

(IX) William A. Seymour, third son of 
Chester (2) and Sabra (Ensign) Seymour, 
was born February 9, i860, in Simsbury. 
As a boy he lived on the paternal farm, 



sharing in such labors as were in that day 
turned over to the boys. Meantime he 
was a student at the public school of 
Tariffville, and later attended a normal 
school in Toronto, Canada. On leaving 
school he proceeded to St. Louis, Mich- 
igan, where he entered the employ of 
Henry L. Holcomb, a Connecticut friend 
of the family, who was conducting a lum- 
ber business. Mr. Seymour remained five 
years in the West, part of the time in 
other employment than that of Mr. Hol- 
comb, after which he returned to East 
Granby, and soon after entered the Gov- 
ernment employ in the railway mail serv- 
ice. For one year he continued in this 
line on the New Haven & Northampton 
Railroad, and subsequently ran on the 
shore line between New York and Boston 
for a period of eleven years. His natural 
ambition and his observation of condi- 
tions led him to study earnestly in an en- 
deavor to fit himself for promotion. He 
spared no effort in mastering every de- 
tail of the work and made rapid advance- 
ment. Few people realize the exaction 
made by the railway mail service and its 
inroads upon the vitality and strength of 
the individual. Physically, the work is 
most arduous, while the amount of study 
necessary to keep up with changes in 
post offices and routes places a great 
strain upon all those who engage in this 
work. Mr. Seymour met with the re- 
ward of conscientious endeavor and was 
placed in charge of the largest mail train 
in the United States, on which fifteen men 
were employed. In 1898 he passed 
through a very severe railroad accident, 
but happily escaped any personal injury. 
This led him to request a transfer from 
the train and he was returned to the 
Northampton Division, where he had 
previously been in the service. In the 
spring of 1900 a serious wreck occurred 



48 



ENCYCLOPEDIA ( >F UK (CRAI'HY 



i.n this road, in which Mr. Seymour did 
not escape as fortunately a-, before, and 
some of his fellow trainmen were killed. 
Mr. Seymour then determined to abandon 
the rails, and very shortly after purchased 



United States Government was anxious 
ti> obtain the services of all those whose 
special qualifications would be of servi 
tn their country; Mr. Seymour's ability 
in explosives made him a desirable man. 



his presenl farm on Eiatchett Hill, which and he was so recommended by the En- 
is one of the finest locations for a home in sign Bickford Company. lie enlisted in 



Hartford county, lie immediately re- 
sumed the life of an agriculturist in which 

he had received his first life lessons and 
to which he brought the same energy and 
intelligently directed endeavor which had 
brought him such success in the mail serv- 
ice. Like most of his neighbors he gives 
some space to the cultivation of toba< 
grows considerable corn and hay, and 
keeps twenty cows, whose milk is dis 
posed of to Hartford dealers. Mis stock 
is of high grade with Ayreshire strain. 
and he enjoys the results of careful and 
intelligent breeding. Mr. Seymour has 



the Twenty-eighth Engineer Corp-, sta- 
tioned at (."amp Meade, and on February 
19, 1918, went overseas; through his effi- 
cient work he received his commissions 
.'i-- sergeant and i- now a lieutenant, mem 
her of Company A, [Engineering Corps. 
1 luring the time he was with the Ensign- 
Bickford Company he traveled as an ex- 
pert on high explosives, doing testing 
work. Lieutenant Seymour is now in 
France, so far having served sixteen 
months overseas. It is to such men as he 
and his comrades, who willingly contrib- 
uted their services, their knowledge, and 



endeavored to sustain the part of a good whatever other talents they possessed to 
citizen and has served the town in various their country'- cause, that the world gives 
capacities, including that of selectman, grateful homage. 2. Dorothy Frances, 
and chairman of the School Board, where born June 22, 1896; was educated at the 
he served seven years. His political affil- Misses Master's Select School, Dobbs 
iations are with the Democratic party. Ferry. New York ; during the war she was 
He is a member of the Congregational actively engaged in many ways; one of 
church of East Granby, and is esteemed the principal ways in which Miss Sey- 
as an upright citizen and faithful public raour performed commendable work was 
servant. In 1916 he was candidate for 
State Senator and was defeated by a small 
margin in a district which had a sub- 
stantial normal Republican majority. 

Mr. Seymour married, November 11, 
189 1. Ella Rhoades, daughter of Isaac 
Rhoades, of New Marlboro. Massachu- 
setts, and they are the parents of two chil- 



as a member of the American Fund for 
French Wounded. 



QUINN, James R., 

Business Man. 



''This ancient sept is recognized in the 
native annals from the earliest date of 
dren. 1. Chester Rhoades, born June II, surnames." Among the heroes who fell 
1804; he graduated from Trinity College at Clontarf in 1014 was Neil 'OQuinn, 
in 191 5, having taken special courses in undoubtedly an ancestor. Members of 
chemistry; after his graduation he en- the Quinn family were large landholders 
tcred the employ of the Ensign-Bickford throughout Ireland. 

Company as an explosive expert: he con- James R. Quinn was born in 1> ran ford, 

tinned there until 1917, in which year the Connecticut. June 5. [872, the only son of 

Odd— 7— 4 A } 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



John and Annie (Carbary) Quinn. His 
grandfather was a retired English officer 
and held the position of bailiff in County- 
Tyrone. He was government pensioner 
for military service. John Quinn, father 
of James R., was born in County Tyrone, 
Ireland. He came to America at the age 
of nineteen and located in New York City. 
After six months residence here he moved 
to Niverville, New York, where he en- 
gaged in farming for three years. He 
next secured the position of superintend- 
ent of the round house at Roundout, Iowa. 
While he was superintendent at Round- 
out, the new railroad was built through 
Iowa to California ; this brought him much 
added responsibility. At this time the 
Civil War was in progress. After remain- 
ing here four years he returned to Bran- 
ford, where he continued successfully in 
farming until his death in 1912 at the age 
of seventy-eight. His wife, Annie Car- 
bary, was a native of Scotland. 

The son, James R. Quinn, was educated 
in the public schools. He spent his child- 
hood on the farm and early in his youth 
learned the trade of carpenter with B. F. 
Hosley. He followed this occupation for 
some time, and then entered the employ 
of S. A. Griswold, a furniture dealer and 
undertaker, of Branford. After being as- 
sociated with Mr. Griswold for eighteen 
years he moved to Rockville, and on July 
1, 1913, purchased his present business as 
a dealer in house furnishings. He is also 
undertaker for the town. 

Mr. Quinn is a member of Rising Star 
Lodge, Independent Order of Odd Fel- 
lows ; Damon Lodge, Knights of Pythias ; 
served as captain on Colonel Norton's 
staff of the uniform rank, Knights of 
Pythias, at New Haven for five years ; 
Loyal Order of Moose, Rockville ; Shep- 
herd of Bethlehem, New Haven; Vernon 
Grange and Modern Woodmen of Amer- 



ica ; member of Battery A, Connecticut 
National Guard at Branford for nine 
years, holding the rank of first sergeant 
at the time of his discharge. He was 
elected to honorary membership for life 
in that body, being one of only four men 
who have been so honored. 

He married Eleanor, daughter of Wil- 
liam and Eliza Stone of North Branford. 
They had three children, Olive E., mar- 
ried Richard Wescott ; James B.; and 
Ruby E. Mrs. Quinn is a member of the 
Episcopal church of Branford. Mr. Quinn 
is a respected and active member of the 
Union Congregational Church of Rock- 
ville, and takes great interest in church 
affairs. His ancestors are among those 
who had to flee to Ireland under the per- 
secution of Protestants under King 
Charles, from which the so-called Scotch- 
Irish race sprung. 



SHACKLEY, Franklin W., 

Trucking Contractor. 

The qualities which make for success 
are present in abundance in the character 
of Franklin W. Shackley, a well known 
and respected citizen of the city of Hart- 
ford, Connecticut. His attainments, no- 
bility of mind and purpose cannot be 
summed up in a few words, but chief 
among his characteristics are his original- 
ity, his clear, quick mentality, philosoph- 
ical memory, wonderful executive capac- 
ity, and strong practical view, the inherit- 
ance of worthy ancestors. 

Mr. Shackley was born August 11, 1838, 
in Shapley, York county, Maine, the son 
of Moses Robert and Sarah (Morrison) 
Shackley. His father, Moses Robert 
Shackley, was born May 29, 1816, in San- 
ford, Maine, died May 11, 1905, in Willi- 
mantic, Connecticut, where the last years 
of his life were spent. He was a shoe- 



50 





o-? 




ENCYCU M'F.niA ()!• BIOGRAPHY 



maker by trade, following this occupation 
for many years. Previous to the Civil 
War he went West and was there for 
about tWO years; that was at a time when 

the Western States were in a very unciv- 
ilized state. Mr. Shackley was sixty years 
of age when he first came t>> Connecticut, 

locating in Hartford, and SOOn after pur- 
chased a tin peddlar's outfit with which 
he traveled through Connecticut during 

the summer months, and spent the win- 
ters at the home of his son, Franklin W., 
in Hartford, lie married Sarah Morrison, 
born May 17, 1816. 

Franklin W. Shackley, son of this union, 
attended the schools of Dan vers, Massa- 
chusetts, whence his parents had removed 
about 1843. Thence they again removed 
to Industry, a small town near harming- 
ton, Maine. After he was twelve years of 
age he did not attend school any longer, 
and at the age of fifteen was living in 
West Brookfield. Massachusetts. Mr. 
Shackley has ever been a keen ohserver 
of men and things, and this fact, supple- 
mented by wide and judicious reading, 
has enabled him to take his rightful place 
among his associates as a man of stand- 
ing. \< a youth he learned the trade of 
shoemaker under his father's direction, 
and for six years was thus engaged. Go- 
ing to New Bedford, Massachusetts, he 
shipped on a whaler and was voyaging 
for four years. On his return to his native 
home he went West and was among the 
pioneers of the State of Illinois, remain- 
ing one and one-half years, removing 
thence to Iowa, where he lived for four 
years. In 1870 Mr. Shackley came to 
Hartford, in which city he has continued 
to reside to the present time, and through 
his industry, thrift, and uprightness has 
attained a high degree of success, not 
often achieved by men whose opportuni- 
ties are of such a nature. For over a 



quarter of a century, Mr. Shackley \ 
engaged in general farming at what is 
now Pope I'ark. Hartford He conducted 

a dairy, producing as much as seven hun- 
dred quarts of milk daily, \fter a time 
he decided to enter the trucking busim 

and iii [893, in a small way, began the 
business of general trucking. This has 
consistently grown t" it- pre-'-;;! propor- 
tions, and a large and flourishing trade is 
maintained by Mr. Shackley. lie con- 
tinually empli '\ - eight to ten Ik .rses in his 
work. In 1904 he built his present attrac- 
tive house on Prospect avenue, one of the 
choicest residential sections of the city. 

Mr. Shackley married Elizabeth R. 
Barnes, horn in West Brookfield, Massa- 
chusetts, died April II, 1015. i" Hartford. 
They were the parents of four children, 
two of whom now survive: Gertrude, wife 
of James Monks; and Mahle, who mar- 
ried a brother of the latter. Samuel M< >nks, 
residents of Hartford. 

As a citizen Mr. Shackley takes active 
interest in all civic affairs. His sterling 
business qualities and acumen have won 
for him a well deserved and honorable 
place among his contemporaries and fel- 
low-citizens. He has shown the proof of 
his abilities and acquisitions. 



SHEPARD, Jean Edward, 

Tobacco Grower. 

We say that a man's training fitted him 
for his work ; that his early advantages 
gave him a start in life : that fortunate cir- 
cumstances have been the reason for his 
success. In the last analysis it is the man 
himself who makes his own life. His 
training is useless unless he holds the 
ground thus won ; he can squander a pat- 
rimony in a night, and float on the tide of 
circumstance until adversity overtakes 
him, when he finds he has no power to 



51 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



stem the current. A man who has 
achieved success has worked for it, and 
must be constantly on the alert, or he 
loses all that he has gained. Especially 
is this true of those lines of business the 
prosperity of which depends on the un- 
stable elements. Of nothing is it more 
true than of the production of tobacco — 
one of the most if not quite the most deli- 
cate and unreliable crops grown on a 
large scale. This is preeminently a busi- 
ness in which "eternal vigilance" is the 
price of success. In the big tobacco sec- 
tion of which the town is a part, one of 
the big tobacco men of South Windsor 
is Jean Edward Shepard. 

The name of Shepard is, in some cases, 
one of those names which is derived from 
an occupation, but not invariably, as some 
families of the name received it from their 
places of residence, as for instance — "Sib- 
bertswold," later pronounced Sheperds- 
well. The various derivations, and the 
fact that they came from remotely sepa- 
rate localities, would indicate that not all 
persons bearing the name are of one fam- 
ily. The Shepards of America, who have 
descended from settlers coming prior to 
1650, are for the greater part descendants 
of Ralph Shepard. 

(I) Ralph Shepard was born about 
1602, and died September 11, 1693, in 
Maiden, Massachusetts. He came from 
London in 1635, on the "Abigail" and 
located in Dedham, Massachusetts, then 
later was in Abington, and bought lands 
in Charlestown, also selling lands in the 
same place. 

(II) Thomas Shepard, son of Ralph 
Shepard. lived in Maiden and Milton, 
Massachusetts. He was admitted to the 
Charlestown church, September 2, 1677. 
He married. November 19, 1658, Hannah 
Ensign, who was born July 6, 1640, and 



died March 14, 1698, a daughter of Thom- 
as and Elizabeth (Wilder) Ensign. 

(III) Thomas (2) Shepard, son of 
Thomas (1) Shepard, was admitted to 
the Charlestown church in 1688; removed 
to Bristol, Rhode Island, and later to New 
Haven, Connecticut. He married, Decem- 
ber 7, 1682, at Charlestown, Hannah 
Blanchard, born in Charlestown, daugh- 
ter of George Blanchard. 

(IV) John Shepard, son of Thomas (2) 
Shepard, was born August 9, 1696, in 
Bristol, Rhode Island. He married, De- 
cember 8, 1720, in Brookfield, Susannah 
Marks, born about 1700, daughter of John 
and Mary Marks, of North Brookfield. 

(V) William Shepard, son of John 
Shepard, was born February 27, 1725, in 
Brookfield, and lived in what is now War- 
ren, where he died October 7, 1818. He 
married, July 5, 1755, in Warren, Elenor 
Davis, born July 23, 1733, in Brookfield, 
died January 27, 1813, in Warren, daugh- 
ter of John and Elenor Davis. 

(VI) Amos Shepard, son of William 
Shepard, was born in Warren, May 9, 
1769, and lived in East Windsor, Con- 
necticut. He married, in East Brook- 
field, May 27, 1792 (intentions published 
March 1, 1792), Thankful Janes, born July 
18, 1769, daughter of Israel and Abigail 
(Fay) Janes. 

(VII) Sumner Shepard, son of Amos 
Shepard, was born October 17, 1808, in 
Windsorville, where he died. He en- 
gaged in mercantile business in that town, 
being the owner of a store there. He held 
the office of judge of probate for several 
years. Mr. Shepard was twice married, 
and the father of three children by his 
first wife, and four by the second mar- 
riage. The only child to survive by the 
first wife was Edward Sumner. 

(VIII) Edward Sumner Shepard, son 
of Sumner Shepard, spent the greater part 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



of his life in the insurance business. He 
represented the Hartford companies in 
Western Massachusetts, living ;it Green- 
field for many years. His death occurred 
in MJ07, and he is buried in Ellington, 
Connecticut. Mr. Shepard married Lora 
Pinney, of Ellington, who survives him, 
now residing in that town. The) were 
the parents of three children: Jean Ed- 
ward, of further mention; James Pinney, 
and Hazel. Mrs. Lora (Pinney) Shep- 
ard is a direct descendant of Humphrey 
I'iniu-v . who was the founder of this fam- 
ily in America. He came from England 
in 1630 and located at Dorchester, Mas- 
sachusetts. Five years later he removed 
from there and settled at Windsor, Con- 
necticut. He died August 20, 168,1 His 
wife was Mary ( Mull) Pinney, who came 
from England in the same vessel. 'Their 
son, Samuel Pinney, was horn in Dor- 
chester, and was the oldest of their chil- 
dren. He removed to Simsbury in 1667, 
leaving there in 1676 at the time it was 
hurned by the Indians. He was subse- 
quently employed at surveying- in the 
town of Ellington, and there purchased 
lands from the Indians, on which he 
settled. At that time Ellington was a 
part of Windsor, and he is believed to 
have been the first settler in Ellington in 
1717. He died there. He married Re- 
joice Bissell, who was a daughter of the 
immigrant. John Bissell. Their son, Cap- 
tain Benjamin Pinney. horn about 1715. 
died in 1777. ! le was the father of Eleazer 
Pinney. horn in 1753. in Ellington. He 
was a farmer, sergeant of militia in the 
campaign against Burgoyne, a member of 
a company of Connecticut yeomen who 
were famed for their bravery. He took 
part in the battle of Stillwater, September 
19, 1777. and in the battle of Saratoga, 
October 7. 1777. being one of the division 
that stormed the camp of Burgoyne. He 



was a representative in the General 
sembly; selectman, fourteen years; ad- 
ministrator of many estates, and <•■ 
acted as guardian to minor children, lie 
died about 1836, one df the most esteemed 
and respected citizens of Ellington. He 
married (second) Anna McKinney. of 
Ellington, and their third child was Loring 
Pinney. Me was born in [802, a farmer 
of Ellington, died in [881. Me married 
Susan Blodgett, and they were the parents 
"t Lora Pinney, who became the wife of 

Edward Simmer Shepard, as above noted. 

The Shepard family were member- of the 
Methodist Episcopal church, and Mrs. 
Shepard was very active in the women's 
societies of the church. 

( IX ) Jean Edward Shepard, son of Ed- 
ward Sumner Shepard, was born February 
_' 1, 1870, in Norwich. He received his 
education at the public schools, supple- 
mented with a course at the Childs Busi- 
ness College, of Springfield, Massachu- 
setts. With this practical foundation for 
a career, he chose to return to the old 
homestead farm in Ellington, and began 
the raising of tobacco, on his own ac- 
count. Few young men start in business 
at so early an age, but he wisely made a 
small beginning, with only two acres 
under cultivation. Working early and 
late, gradually increasing the acreage, 
building as he was able to develop the 
business, and providing work each year 
for more and more helpers, he built up 
the splendid industry which now covers 
three hundred acres annually with open 
grown tobacco. Besides Ids own prod- 
he buys and packs great quantities of 
tobacco, and the business provide- em- 
ployment for about seventy-live men on 
the average. Mr. Shepard is a man of 
progressive spirit, genial, optimistic dis- 
position, holding a prominent position in 
the social as well as the business world. 



53 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



He is a member of Evergreen Lodge, An- 
cient Free and Accepted Masons ; Wash- 
ington Commandery, No. I, Knights 
Templar ; Connecticut Consistory ; Sphinx 
Temple, Ancient Arabic Order Nobles of 
the Mystic Shrine ; and the Benevolent 
and Protective Order of Elks. He is a 
director of the City Bank & Trust Com- 
pany, of Hartford. He is a member of 
the Hartford Club, of the Country Club, 
of Farmington, and of the Hartford 
Chamber of Commerce. 

Mr. Shepard married Mrs. Anna Nancy 
Storrs, who had one son, Hamilton Storrs. 
From the present marriage there is one 
son, Jean Edward, Jr., born August 26, 
1917. The family attend the Congrega- 
tional church of South Windsor, and are 
active in its support. 



STOCKWELL, Sidney Ernest, 

Manufacturing Superintendent. 

From the early settlement of New Eng- 
land the name of Stockwell has been iden- 
tified with the history of Massachusetts 
in an honorable and worthy manner. 

The founder of the family in this 
country was William Stockwell, born 
about 1650 in England, who made his 
home for many years in Ipswich, Massa- 
chusetts. According to family tradition 
he was induced on ship-board when a lad, 
and after serving a long apprenticeship 
became an able seaman. He continued in 
seafaring after locating in Ipswich. The 
tradition also states that he was born in 
Scotland, but the name is unquestionably 
English, and other English Stockwells 
were in Massachusetts before his arrival. 
In 1700 he had a seat in the meeting house 
at Ipswich, and from 1720 to 1731 the 
latter was in Sutton, Massachusetts. As 
late as 1731 his son William used the 
"•-affix Jr. on his name. He married at 



Ipswich, April 14, 1685, Sarah Lambert, 
who was born there July 4, 1661, daughter 
of William Lambert. They were the 
parents of five sons, the eldest, William 
Stockwell, born about 1686, lived in Sut- 
ton, Massachusetts. He married, about 
1708, Mary, whose surname is undiscov- 
ered. Their son, William Stockwell, born 
about 1710-12, married, December 4, 1733, 
in Sutton, Elizabeth Nichols, born Jan- 
uary 24, 1 710, in Reading, Massachusetts, 
daughter of Thomas Nichiols. Their son, 
William Stockwell, baptized September 
26, 1742, in Sutton, resided for some time 
in Thompson, Connecticut, and in 1786, 
removed to the section known as West 
Farms in Northampton, Massachusetts, 
where he built a stone house. He had 
four sons and six daughters. 

A descendant of this family, John 
Alonzo Stockwell, was born in July, 1840, 
in Northampton, Massachusetts, and has 
spent most of his life in agriculture in 
that town. He was a soldier of the Civil 
War, serving in Company A, Twenty-sev- 
enth Massachusetts Volunteer Infantry, 
and is a member of a Grand Army Post 
in Springfield, Massachusetts. He mar- 
ried Isabelle Jane, daughter of Joseph and 
Phoebe (Bosworth) Stockwell, of North- 
ampton, - and they were the parents of six 
children, five of whom grew to maturity : 
Sidney Ernest, receives further mention 
below; Caroline, married Frank Bartlett ; 
Leslie J., deceased ; Anna, a teacher of 
manual training in a school for the feeble- 
minded at Newark, New Jersey ; Ora Hel- 
len, wife of Roy Usher, of Springfield, 
Massachusetts. The mother, who was 
born in 1851, has lost her sight, but is 
otherwise well preserved. Both she and 
her husband are members of the Method- 
ist Episcopal church. Mr. Stockwell is a 
man of domestic tastes and has never 



54 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



mingled with public affairs. His home is 
now in Florence, Massachusetts. 

Sidney Ernest Stockwell, eldest child of 
John Uonzo and [sabelle Jane (Stock- 
well) Stockwell, was born June 30, ^77< 
in Northampton, Massachusetts, and 
when he was a small lad the family re- 
moved to Chicopee Falls, Massachusetts. 
Hi- early applied himself to study in the 
public schools, and at the age of twent) 
years entered the tool making establish- 
ment of the Waltham Tool Manufactur- 
ing Company of Waltham, Massachusetts. 
After completing his apprenticeship he 
entered tin- employ of the Pratt & Whit- 
ney Company of Hartford, and within a 
short time was engaged by the New De- 
parture Company, a rapidly growing in- 
dustrial concern of Bristol, Connecticut. 
Me began there as a machinist, but after 
one year was given charge of the tool and 
dye making. Subsequently he was with 
the Jacobs Chuck Company of Hartford, 
and for about five years was employed by 
the Abbott Ball Company of F.lmwood. 
He again entered the service of the New 
Departure Company and for the past 
three years has been connected with the 
Elmwood plant, first having charge of 
the reaming department, later also the 
production of cone grinding and cup 
grinding, and was recently made super- 
intendent of the Hartford plant at Elm- 
wood. Mr. Stockwell has demonstrated 
in his career what can be accomplished 
by ambition and intelligently directed in- 
dustry. He has never been contented 
with a subordinate position and continu- 
ally studied in preparation for larger re- 
sponsibility when opportunity presented. 
He is a member of Franklin Lodge. No. 
56, Ancient Free and Accepted Masons, 
of Bristol, and Pythagoras Chapter, No. 
17, Royal Arch Masons, of Hartford, 
Connecticut, and is a regular attendant 



and faithful supporter of the Fourth * On- 

gregational Church of thai city. 

Mr. Stockwell married, ' ((tuber 2, [912, 

Alice, daughter of Frederick Bradford 

Sands, of LewistOn, Maine, a direct de 

scendanl of Governor William Bradford", 
of the Plymouth Colony. Mr. and Mr-. 
Stockwell are the parents of a daughter, 
Elizabeth Bradford, born June 15. 1914. 



GRIFFIN Family, 

Ancestral History. 

The Griffin (originally Griffith) family, 
according to historians of Wales, is one of 
the oldest of whom there is record, dating 
back some centuries before Christ. It is 
claimed that the Welsh originated in the 
Caucasian country and were the first to 
colonize Britain under their chief, I In 
Cadarn. At later periods other Celtic 
colonists emigrated from Loire and Gas- 
cony in France and Brittany. The Welsh 
genealogists give the brothers, Fdward 
and John Griffith, who founded the fam- 
ily in America as the ninety-eighth gener- 
ation in descent from Prydian, son of 
Aedd the Great, who led the colonists 
from Loire some centuries before the 
Christian Era. Most of the nobility of 
Wale-, as well as some of England's royal 
families, trace their ancestry to early gen- 
erations in this Griffith line. Before the 
use of family surnames came into vogue, 
people had but one name, usually sug- 
gested by some personal quality. Sons 
took their father's name, using prefixes or 
suffixes indicating the relationship. The 
name Griffin has been derived from Gruff 
— plural, Griffion — a sneer, irony (femi- 
nine) ; Grif — plural, Grifon — an aggressive 
mass, (masculine). The former connotes 
fierceness, boldness. In a Welsh poem, 
"Gruffudd" is called the "Noble Speared" 
and "Griffon" of our "Noble Race." In 



^^ 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Dwnn's Pedigrees, the family herein un- 
der consideration is given as Pengriffin, 
signifying "Head Griffin" or "Chief Grif- 
fin." 

(I) Richard Griffith, great-grandfather 
of the immigrant, who is numbered in 
the ninety-fifth generation, is said in the 
Chronicle to be of the highest nobility. 
He was born in the troublous times of 
Glendower (1400-16), when Glendower 
failed in his rebellion against the Eng- 
lish, he having espoused the cause of the 
Red Rose. At first Richard Griffith cast 
his lot with the Red Rose, but later trans- 
ferred his allegiance to the White Rose, 
and as a reward for his valuable service 
at the battle of Bosworthy Fields, Henry 
Tudor, when he became King Henry VII., 
granted to Richard Griffith the right to 
wear the following coat-of-arms on his 
shield : 

Arms— Gules, on a fesse, between three lozenges 
or, each charged with a fleur-de-lis of the first. 
A demi-rose between two gryffons, segreant of 
the field. 

Crest — A gryffon segreant. 

Motto — Semper paratus. Always ready. In 
Welsh, "Bob amser yn bared." 

Richard Griffith married Elizabeth, a 
sister of William Mar, Esquire. Their 
son, Griffith Griffith, who married Joan, 
daughter of Seimant David, Esquire of 
Koksol, Gent. They were the parents of 
John Griffith, who married Ann, daughter 
of Edward Langford, of "Bigandr." They 
had two daughters and two sons : The 
latter, Edward, born about 1602, and John, 
who established the family in America. 

(II) Sergeant John Griffin, from whom 
is descended the members of the family 
here under consideration, was born about 
1609, and came from London, October 24, 
1635, on the ship "Constance," to Vir- 
ginia. He was in the employ of Captain 
William Claiborn, secretary of the Vir- 



ginia Colony, as was his brother, Lord 
Baltimore, who claimed that his grant 
superceded Claiborn's grant of Kent's and 
Palmer's island in the Chesapeake bay, 
and while Claiborn was in England re- 
cruiting Protestants to defend his island 
possessions, Lord Baltimore sent a force 
of forty men and two cannon to seize 
the islands. The Griffin brothers were 
among those captured, but both managed 
to escape. We next learn of Sergeant 
John Griffin in New Haven, his name ap- 
pearing in the directory of that town for 
the year 1642. There he engaged in the 
ship business with a man named Bell. 
In 1644 he took the oath of fidelity there. 
It is claimed that he was the first settler 
of Simsbury, his name being on record 
there in 1646. He represented the town in 
the General Court, 1670-74, and was the 
first manufacturer in that town, having 
invented a new process for making pitch 
and tar, the latter being used in the Brit- 
ish navy, and for which he received a 
large grant of land, which was in addition 
to the tract of ten miles square, which he 
had acquired as the first settler of Sims- 
bury, and was known as the "old Griffin 
Lordship." He was sergeant of the train 
band there. His death in August, 1681, 
was due .to drinking water from a spring 
while he was over-heated. From that 
time the spring was called Lord Griffin's 
spring, he having been known by that 
title for a long time. He married, May 
13, 1647, Anna Bancroft, of Simsbury, and 
at his death left ten children. 

(III) Thomas Griffin, fifth child of Ser- 
geant John Griffin, was born October 3, 
1658. He married, in 1693, Elizabeth 
Y\"alton. He died in August, 1719. 

(IV) Lieutenant Nathaniel Griffin, son 
of Thomas Griffin, was born May 24, 1706, 
and died April 22, 1786. He married Eliz- 



56 




/ / -/ '■■,". s 



f 




y>. 



iff A-^n^* 



EN CYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



abcth Griffin, his cousin, daughter of 
Ephraim » iriffin. 

i \ i Seth Griffin, son of Lieutenant 
Nathaniel Griffin, was born in 1717. in 
Granby, and served in the Eighteenth 
Regiment Militia under Colonel Phillip-, 
who defended the coast in [780. This 
regiment served in New York from Au- 
gust 25 to September 25, 1776. Seth Grif- 
fin married, September 10, [772, Mary 
Beower, a woman of French descent. 
Seth Griffin died March 26, 1817, and his 
widow, April 6, [833. 

(VI) Aristarchus Griffin, son of Seth 
Griffin, was born in 17S7, and died March 
i; v [866. He followed the occupation of 
fanner, and was a man of strong religious 
instinct ; a Christian who believed in prac- 
tical religion. When there was no church 
in his section of Granby, he opened his 
house to Methodist preaching. The out- 
growth of those meetings was the present 
Copper Hill Methodist Church of East 
Granby. Mr. Griffin married Jael, daugh- 
ter of Chauncey Gillett, and they were 
the parents of ten children. 

(VII) Gilbert Griffin, son of Aristar- 
chus Griffin, was born in 1816 or 1819, in 
what was known as the Hungary district 
of Granby, and died in January, 185 1. He 
was a farmer in Granby. He married 
Harriet Yicts, daughter of Captain Daniel 
Yicts. of Granby, a descendant of one of 
the oldest families. 



GRIFFIN, Gilbert Benjamin, 

Agriculturist, Tobacco Grower. 

( VI II) Gilbert Benjamin Griffin, son of 
Gilbert and Harriet (Viets) » iriffin, was 
born July 13, 1850, in Granby. His boy- 
hood and youth were spent in a rural en- 
vironment, and he early became accus- 
tomed to farm life, thus building up a 
strong physique. During the intervals 



between the growing Of the crops and 

busy farm seasons, he attended the dis- 
trict schools and for a short tune was a 
indent at the \\ ilbrahain Academy. He 
was only a youth of about twenty years 

when he started out for himself. Pos- 
sessed of much determination and will, 
he soon was achieving success, and in 

1870, in company with Oliver llolcomb, 
his brother-in-law, he purchased a Farm of 
three hundred acres in Granby. In addi- 
tion to the general crops much tobacco 
was raised. Subsequently Mr. Griffin took 
over the north half of the farm, and for 
about ten years continued to cultivate 
this section. In 1880 he purchased his 
present farm, consisting of one hundred 
and fifty acres. During the past thirty 
eight years he has cultivated this vast 
area with tobacco as the chief and largest 
crop. Through his skillful management 
and busine-s acumen he has won a place 
of pr< eminence among the growers of Con- 
necticut tobacco, and he is held in high 
esteem among his fellow-citizen-. Mr. 
Griffin finds needed relaxation and pleas- 
ure in hunting and fishing. He has ever 
been a lover of these sports, and during 
the latter years has maintained a winter 
home in Florida, and there has had splen- 
did opportunities to indulge in these pas- 
times. 

Mr. Griffin married Margaret Fleming, 
daughter of Charles Fleming, of Glasgow, 
Scotland. Mr. and Mrs. Griffin are the 
parents of four children: 1. Fred B., 
whose sketch follows. _'. Charles Flem- 
ing, whose -ketch follow-. 3. Gertrude, 
wife of Clifford Briggs, resides in Buffalo, 
Xew York. 4. Emma, wife of Ray Case, 
of Granby, Connecticut. Mr. and Mrs. 
Griffin attend the Congregational church 
of Granby. and to its charities they do- 
nate liberally. Among the most progres- 
sive and up-to-date farmers of his com- 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



munity, Mr. Griffin holds a foremost place, 
and his achievements are the just reward 
of a well-spent, industrious and upright 
life. 



GRIFFIN, Fred B., 

Tobacco Grower and Packer. 

From a clerkship in an obscure country 
store to a position of prominence among 
the leading growers and packers of Con- 
necticut tobacco is the distance travelled 
within a comparatively few years by Fred 
B. Griffin, treasurer and general manager 
of The Griffin Tobacco Company of Hart- 
ford, Connecticut. When one talks with 
the men by whom he was employed dur- 
ing the years when his mental and moral 
habits were being established, one finds 
no expression of surprise ; he is told that 
"nothing else could be expected of Fred 
Griffin than that he would make an im- 
portant place for himself in the business 
world." 

During the years that Mr. Griffin's 
family has been in America those sturdy, 
physical, mental and moral qualities that 
are uniformly characteristic of the Walsh 
have lost none of their original vigor, and 
Fred B. Griffin has proved himself a 
worthy heir to such an heritage. His 
early life on the farm developed that 
robust physique so essential to success in 
almost any line of endeavor. Keen of 
mind and ambitious, Mr. Griffin naturally 
devoted the best that was in him to the 
accomplishment of every task undertaken 
for others or for himself from the day he 
first went to work. Such effort always 
wins success. 

(IX) Fred B. Griffin was born in Gran- 
by, Connecticut, June 16, 1873, son of Gil- 
bert Benjamin and Margaret (Fleming) 
Griffin. He received his education in the 
grammar and high schools, and at the age 
of sixteen entered the employ of Loomis 



Brothers, who were engaged in the gen- 
eral merchandise business in Granby. He 
remained in that position for about four 
and one-half years, subsequently going to 
Plainville, Connecticut, where he held a 
similar position, and also served as local 
agent of the American Express Company. 
His next employment was with the Brad- 
ley, Smith Company, wholesale dealers in 
confectionery and cigars of New Haven, 
Connecticut. After fifteen months Mr. 
Griffin returned to Granby and to the em- 
ploy of Loomis Brothers, remaining until 
November 1, 1901. On the latter date Mr. 
Griffin became interested in his present 
business. It was first organized as the 
Krohn Tobacco Company, the members 
being Moses Krohn, of Cincinnati, A. H. 
Reeder, of Dayton, Ohio, and Mr. Griffin. 
That same year Mr. Krohn died and his 
interests were purchased by his partners 
who changed the firm name to the Reeder, 
Griffin Company. In 1910 Mr. Newberger 
became interested in the business and the 
firm name became The Griffin-Newberger 
Tobacco Company. In 1917 Mr. Griffin 
purchased Mr. Newberger's interest in 
the business from the Alien Property Cus- 
todian and the name was changed to the 
Griffin Tobacco Company. The company 
raises annually about four hundred acres 
of tobacco and buys the crops of other 
growers, which it packs and markets with 
its own product. Mr. Griffin is a direc- 
tor of the American Industrial Bank of 
Hartford, of which he was one of the 
organizers ; is president of the Arthur 
Corry Company of Quincy, Florida, pack- 
ers of leaf tobacco and growers of fruits 
and vegetables. This company owns a 
plantation of thirty-three hundred acres, 
two thousand of which are under culti- 
vation. Mr. Griffin is also treasurer and 
general manager of the Connecticut To- 
bacco Company, whose business is buy- 
ing tobacco for export and import. 



58 




OL^&^C^, 



ENCYCU >PEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



The trials and experiences of Mr. Grif- 
fin in working his own way upward have 
made him mosl charitable toward the 
young man of to daj who is striving for 
success. He is held in high respect by his 
employees and business associates for his 
qualities of uprightness and fairness for 
Others. He possesses a keen, analytical 

mind, and is quick t i see and appreciate 

faithfulness on the part of his workers. 
His unfailing courtesy has won for him a 
hosl of friends, both business and social. 
Because of his genial manner and large 
heartedness, Mr. Griffin is a popular mem- 
ber of several fraternities and chilis, tak- 
ing an active part in the social life of his 
community. He is a member of that great 
fraternal body, the Masonic order, and is 
past master of Granby Lodge, Ancient 
Free and Accepted Masons; Washington 
Commandery, No. i. Knights Templar, of 
Hartford; Sphinx Temple, Nobles of the 
Mystic Shrine, of Hartford, and the Con- 
necticut Consistory. 1 lis clubs are : Hart- 
ford Club, Hartford Golf, Sequin and 
Farmington Country Club. 

Mr. Griffin married Bertha Shattuck, 
daughter of the well known artist, Aaron 
D. Shattuck, a member of one of the old- 
est Colonial families of New England. 
Mr. and Mrs. Griffin are the parents of 
five children : Marian M., Freda Bertha, 
Donald C, Charles G., Carol Barbara. 
With his family Mr. Griffin attends the 
Congregational church of Bloomfield, and 
commensurate with his resources aids 
financially and otherwise in the charitable 
works "i that institution. 



GRIFFIN, Charles Fleming, 

Tobacco Grower. 

In every activity which involves the 
health and comfort of a great number of 
people, the need is apparent of workers in 
constructive lines. It is the man of versa- 



tile talents who does this WOrk, and it IS 

the man of keen ingenuity, of broad sym 
hies and comprehension, who does the 
work well. He must understand and ap- 
preciate the point of view of many kinds 
and clas es of people. In short, he must 
be, in the highest sense of the term, an 
all-round man. Such a man is ( hai 
Fleming Griffin, of the Griffin Tobacco 
I i impany. 

(IX) Charles Fleming Griffin was horn 
in Granby, Connecticut, December 12, 
[874, and is a son of Gilbert Benjamin and 
Margaret I Fleming) Griffin. He received 
his education in the public schools of his 
native town, and the Iluntsinger Busi- 
ness College of Hartford. He then learned 
the trade of carpenter in Granby, and later 
went to Florida, where he remained for a 
year and a half, following this trade. 
Upon his return North he entered the em- 
ploy of Anderson & Price, a prominent 
firm wdio operate numerous Northern 
summer resorts and Southern winter re- 
sorts. Mr. Griffin had charge of the re- 
pair and construction work of the various 
hotels. Later he went to New York, with 
Mr. Price of the above firm, and had 
charge of the carpentry in a hotel there, 
in which Mr. Price was interested, for 
three years. The association with Mr. 
Price proved very satisfactory on both 
sides, and the duties of purchasing agent 
were added to Mr. Griffin's other respon- 
sibilities. He continued to manage both 
these departments of hotel work for two 
years more. Then he was made assistant 
manager of the Briar Cliff Lodge on the 
Hudson, continuing for two years. On 
April i, [910, Mr. Griffin took charge of 
the tobacco plantation of the Griffin To- 
bacco Company, of which he is now vice- 
president, and has continued there ever 
since. The importance of this position 
and the magnitude of the plantation will 
be understood by the fact that he has an 



5Q 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



average of five hundred employees under 
his direction all the time. In this section 
of the State the tobacco fields stretch for 
miles North and South, the width varying 
with the convolutions of the valley. The 
plant thrives in the fine mellow soil, the 
alluvial deposit left by rivers of former 
glacial periods, ages before this part of 
the world was inhabited. A plantation of 
this kind, remote from the city, must be 
almost entirely sufficient unto itself, so 
far as construction and repair work is 
concerned, and Mr. Griffin finds practical 
use for his experience along these lines. 
So much of the preparation of the product 
must be done under protection from the 
elements that the buildings constitute the 
largest share in the equipment of such a 
plantation. These buildings must be kept 
in constant repair, as well as the machin- 
ery and small tools used in the prepara- 
tion of the ground for the crop. All this 
requires a capable man at the head. The 
housing of the employees also mounts to 
a place among the big problems, and de- 
mands attention to certain lines of detail 
that are foreign to most productive occu- 
pations. Mr. Griffin is a member of St. 
Mark's Lodge, No. 91, Ancient Free and 
Accepted Masons, of Granby ; Old New- 
gate Lodge, Knights of Pythias, of Tariff- 
vilie. 

Mr. Griffin married Gertrude Sickles 
Crane, and they have one child, Henry 
Thompson, born December 4, 1914. The 
family are members of the Granby Con- 
gregational Church. 



HUDSON, Charles Ellis, 

Educator. 

The business world is a world of ac- 
tion. Ideas and theories have their place 
here as well as everywhere, but they must 
be founded on the basic principles on 
which the world of business stands. It 



is only in comparatively recent years that 
a definite preparation for business has 
formed a part of the educational system 
of this country. The city of Hartford is 
well favored along these lines, but 
Charles Ellis Hudson, president of the 
Huntsinger Business College, is one of 
the few heads of such schools who bring 
to their position the ripe experience of 
years of successful dealing in the busi- 
ness world. 

Henry W. Hudson, father of Charles 
E. Hudson, was born in Concord, Ver- 
mont, on May 7, 1844, and grew to man- 
hood there. In early life he learned the 
trade of carpenter, and later engaged in 
business for himself as a contractor and 
builder. He discontinued this business 
while still a young man, and for the re- 
mainder of his life was a merchant tailor. 
In the early eighties he removed to Prov- 
idence, Rhode Island, and for fifteen 
years conducted a merchant tailoring 
business under the Narragansett Hotel. 
He then removed to St. Johnsbury, Ver- 
mont, but continued in the same business. 
He was a member of the Masonic Lodge, 
of that city, also the Knights Templar, 
and a Noble of the Mystic Shrine, at 
White River Junction. His wife Hannah 
was a daughter of Jonathan Adams, and 
was born in Waterford, Vermont. Mr. 
and Mrs. Hudson were identified with 
the Universalist church, where he served 
as chorister, singing tenor. He was a 
musician all his life. Henry W. and Han- 
nah Hudson were the parents of three 
children, of whom two grew to maturity: 
Charles Ellis, of whom further, and Nina, 
secretary of the Huntsinger Business 
College, of which her brother is presi- 
dent ; she was the fourth lady certified 
as a public accountant in the United 
States ; she was educated at St. Johns- 
bury Academy, and in the Zanerian Art 
School. 



60 



KWYH.OI'KDIA OI' I'.K KiRAPIIY 



Charles Ellis I ludson was born in \\ est 
Concord, Vermont, April 22, [8 n of 

Henry W. and Hannah (Adams) Hud- 
son. I It- attended the grammar schools 
in thi' various places in which hi- parents 
resided and the high school in the city <>i 
Providence, lie then entered the employ 
oi the Union < hi Company, working up 
with that firm to the position of assistant 
superintendent. Here he showed marked 
business ability, hut was not contenl to 
remain within the narrow limits afforded 
by this line of business. After ten years 
he resigned and bought a photographic 
studio in South Framingham, Massachu- 
setts, where he foun 1 scope for the devel- 
opment of his artistic tastes, and was 
very successful. lie remained there for 
twelve years. In [907 he entei em- 

ploy of the Massachusetts College of 
Commerce, in Boston, as its manager. It 
was here that Mr. Hudson found his Hfe 
work. That artistic taste which had given 
him success as a phi tographer kept him 
alive to those niceties of business equip- 
ment and correspondence which appeal to 
successful men in any line of husiness, 
and the practical, aggressive common 
sense which had advanced him to a high 
position with his first employers gave 
him the ability to apply to the work in 
hand principles which gave it a distinc- 
tively practical trend. He remained with 
this school for four years, then came to 
the Morse Business College of Hartford 
as principal of the commercial depart- 
ment He remained with the Morse peo- 
ple for two years, then went to New York 
1 ty, where he was principal of the Mil- 
ler School for four years. 

Mr. Hudson bought his present school 
in 11)15. Here, as the head and moving 
spirit of the Huntsingcr Business Col- 
lege, he has been able to stamp his per- 
sonality on the school. He stands for the 
highest ideals in business, and his work- 



ing out of the student's preparation for 
hi- business life i- a crystallization of 
these ideals into practical efficiency. Not 
onlj doc- he incorporate into his courses 
of study thorough perparation for every 
branch of business, but he infuses into the 
atmosphere of the school the spirit of 
enthusiasm. He is peculiarly well adapted 
by nature, as well as by training and 
perience, for the instruction of youth 
along vocational lines. He is possessed 
of a pleasing personality, always digni- 
fied, yet courteous and considerate, suave 
and diplomatic, yet none the less firm in 
enforcing necessary discipline. Mr. Hud- 
son is a member of Framingham Lodge, 
Independent Order of Odd Fellows, and 
i- past grand. He was district deputy 
nd for three year-, and is also a mem- 
ber of the encampment. He is a member 
of the Kiwanis Club, of Hartford, and of 
the Charter Oak Ad. Club. 

Mr. Hudson married Ella, daughter of 
James H. Onslow, of Jersey City. 

The city of Hartford may be congratu- 
lated on having a man of Mr. Hud-' 
type at the head of one of her most im- 
portant schools for vocational training. 
There is nothing which so contributes to 
civic progress as the influence of men of 
integrity and fine mentality on youth, 
particularly at the age when they begin 
to feel their responsibility to society, and 
look forward to taking a useful place in 
the world. 



BENNETT. Wilbur R., 

Manufacturer. 

It is impossible to compute the value to 
mankind of skill in any certain line of 
work. A book reaches the hands of a 
hundred thousand readers ; music charms 
a multitude of listeners ; food production, 
the textile industry, the building trades, 
all arc vital to the subsistence of the in- 



61 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



dividual and the existence of the Nation. 
But countless lives and incalculable prop- 
erty values depend for safety on the per- 
fection of various mechanisms. From the 
microscopic adjustments of a watch to 
the massive parts of a locomotive, through 
nearly all of the numberless industries of 
to-day, there is felt, if not fully realized, 
an utter dependence on the flawless qual- 
ity of hardened metal. In motoring past 
a modest structure in a quiet suburb, one 
is not greatly impressed by the import- 
ance of its bearing on the public safety, 
but the Bennett Metal Treating Company 
of Elmwood cannot be set down among 
unimportant industries. 

According to Harrison, the name of 
Bennett is one of those patronymics de- 
rived from the locality where the first 
person using the name resided, and sig- 
nifies, "Dweller at a Bent, or Moor, over- 
grown with bennet, or bent-grass." 
Bardsley, another authority of recognized 
standing, attributes the origin of the name 
to a priestly class. He says : "Our 'Ben- 
nets' once performed the function of exor- 
cists, and by the imposition of hands, 
and the aspersion of holy water expelled 
evil spirits from those said to be thus 
possessed." The name is on record in 
England as early as 1256, which is the 
period when surnames began to come into 
general use in England. 

Wilbur R. Bennett is one of the almost 
innumerable descendants of Adriaense 
Bennet, an English cooper, who emigrated 
to the Netherlands prior to 1636. Later 
he came to America, and bought a large 
tract of land from the Indians at Gowanus. 
He married Mary Badye, widow of Wil- 
liam Bredenbent, by whom he had six 
children. His numerous descendants are 
scattered throughout the country, and 
number many noteworthy individuals. 

Mr. Bennett's father, Joseph Bennett, 



was born in Brooklyn, New York, August 
6, 1847. The breaking out of the Civil 
War found him in school, and still a lad, 
but he enlisted in the Sixth United States 
Infantry as a drummer boy. He enlisted 
in 1861, and was discharged in 1864. He 
was with the regiment all through its 
service, including the second battle of 
Bull Run and Gettysburg. After the war 
he was a member of the Grand Army of 
the Republic, in New Britain. He lived 
in Fair Haven, Connecticut, and later 
came to Hartford and went to work for 
Pratt & Whitney. Here his ability for 
painstaking attention to detail won him 
a reputation as a steel expert, and he re- 
mained in their employ for twenty-four 
years. By this time he was a valuable 
man, and when he left there and went to 
the American Hardware Corporation in 
New Britain he was considered an acqui- 
sition. After about five years there, he 
went to the New Departure Company, of 
Bristol, and remained there until his 
death. He married Delia, daughter of the 
Rev. Rufus Reynolds, whose last appoint- 
ment was in New Britain. Joseph and 
Delia Bennett were the parents of several 
children, of whom three grew to maturity. 
These were : Wilbur R., of whom further ; 
Ethel, who married W. A. Renne ; Ruth, 
a well known musician of New Britain. 

Wilbur R. Bennett, proprietor of the 
Bennett Metal Treating Company, of 
Elmwood, was born in New Britain, 
Connecticut, January 26, 1872. He was 
educated in the New Britain grammar 
and high schools. He early showed an in- 
terest in the line of work in which his 
father had become expert. In his eight- 
eenth year he entered the employ of the 
Pratt & Whitney Company, of Hartford, 
and learned the steel treating business, 
which is far more an art than a trade, 
requiring a nicety of judgment and del- 



62 



ENCYCLOPEDIA ' >!•" r,l< >< ;k.\pi I Y 



icacy of touch uncomprehended by an 
outsider. He remained there eleven years, 
then went to the Stanley Work-, in New 
Britain, where he was employed for seven 
years. From there he went to the New 
Departure Company, of Bristol, where he 

remained for five <»r six Near-. 'There lie 

had charge of the steel treating depart- 
ment, the character of their work demand- 
ing the attention of a man thoroughly 
skilled in this line. In mi; Mr. Bennett 
started in business for himself, and since 
that very recent date has hnilt up a busi- 
ness of more than local importance, the 
foundation being sheer excellence in the 
work turned out. lie draws his patrons 
from a territory covering a radius of five 
hundred miles of Hartford, and this in- 
cludes the manufacturing centers of the 
East, and some <>i the oldest established 
manufacturing concerns of the continent. 
'This business is one of the largest of its 
kind in .Yew England. Mr. Bennett was 
recently elected president and treasurer of 
the W. R. Bennett Company, manufac- 
turers of steel treating furnaces, which 
were invented and patented by Mr. Ben- 
net himself. These furnaces are being 
shipped all over the world, and mark a 
point of progress in the steel industry 
which will be noted by coming genera- 
tions. Mr. Bennett is a man still in the 
prime of life, and his achievements at his 
age are worthy of more than passing re- 
mark. He is an example of what a young 
man may do who will specialize in some 
congenial line of effort, and by patient and 
intelligent application to theory, as well 
as practice, place his name on the long 
and honored list of creative workers. Mr. 
Bennett is a member of Harmony Lodge, 
Ancient Free and Accepted Masons, of 
New Britain. 

Mr. Bennett married Margaret, dauerh- 
ter of Christopher Hart, of New Britain, 



and the) are the parent - of three i hihlren : 
Marian. Mildred, and Russell Wilbur. 

The family are very prominent socially, 
and interested in all forward movements 
thai make for the progress of the com- 
munity. 



STONER, Louis Emory, 

Manufacturer. 

Practical industries build character; 
the}- establish, in the men who spend their 
lives in practical pursuits, the stable. 
every day habits which become, in the final 
analysis, constancy and uprightness of 
character. With every generation of men 
engaged in useful pursuits, the trend of 
the public conscience is toward a noble 
social order, and, away from idleness and 
degradation, becomes stronger, and indi- 
vidual character is enriched, broadened 
and deepened by responsibility. The 
highest attainments are reached by men 
whose training in youth has been in use- 
ful pursuits, and in whom habits of in- 
dustry have been established while they 
were still passing through those years in 
which their character was formed. One 
of the noteworthy examples of this funda- 
mental law of society is Louis Emory 
Stoner, one of the prominent manufac- 
turers of Hartford. 

The name Stoner was originally derived 
from one of the oldest and most useful of 
the industries, that of stone-cutter, or 
stone-mason. According to Harrison, in 
his "English Surnames," the name Stone 
is formed of the old English word, stan, 
meaning stone, and "the agent in the 
suffix, er." 

Mr. Stoner's grandfather, George Ston- 
er, lived in McConnellsburg, Fulton 
county, Pennsylvania, and was a cabinet 
maker. He was a man of great skill, and 
many fine specimens of his work are still 



63 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



treasured by householders of that sec- 
tion. He enlisted in the Civil War from 
McConnellsburg, and died of disease dur- 
ing the war, somewhere on the Lower 
Mississippi. 

His son, Merrick A. Stoner, was born 
in McConnellsburg, in i860, and died in 
1900. He was educated in the public 
schools, and later entered the laundry- 
business, which he followed nearly all his 
life. He engaged in the laundry bus- 
iness in different cities in which he 
lived; Bedford, Pennsylvania; Cincinnati, 
Ohio; Washington, D. C. ; and Bayonne, 
New Jersey. He came to Hartford in 
1895 to assume the managership of the 
Empire Steam Laundry, which is still one 
of the principal laundries of the city. He 
married Mary, daughter of John Dicken, 
of Bedford, Pennsylvania, and they were 
the parents of three children: George J., 
now an attorney of Hartford ; Louis Em- 
ory, of whom further; and Bessie, who 
married Fred G. Abby, of Los Angeles. 
His wife still survives him, and is a mem- 
ber of the First Baptist Church. 

Louis Emory Stoner was born in Bed- 
ford, Pennsylvania, April 27, 1881. son of 
Merrick A. and Mary (Dicken) Stoner. 
He attended the public schools in the 
various cities in which his parents re- 
sided, completing his formal education in 
the Hartford Public High School. Being 
a young man of observant and studious 
habits, and possessing a retentive mem- 
ory, his real education was by no means 
confined to the lessons which he had 
learned from his text-books. He was bet- 
ter prepared than most youths to enter a 
business career. He entered the employ of 
the City Bank of Hartford, beginning as 
a messenger. He soon showed himself 
capable of the faithful discharge of more 
important duties, and was advanced to 
more responsible positions. His prog- 



ress upward was steady and sure, and he 
at length became assistant cashier. He 
resigned, after eighteen years of service, 
in February, 191 5, to become treasurer 
and manager of the Hartford Morris Plan 
Company. He remained there until April, 
1916, when he became the treasurer of the 
Jacobs Manufacturing Company. He was 
elected president and treasurer upon the 
death of Arthur I. Jacobs. This is one of 
the many important manufacturing firms 
of Hartford. Since Mr. Stoner's connec- 
tion with the firm the business has felt 
a new impetus, while being carried along 
strictly in the same spirit of business in- 
tegrity and progress as heretofore. Mr. 
Stoner takes an active interest in the busi- 
ness, and is familiar with the work done 
in all departments. He is a member of 
the Hartford Club, the Farmington Coun- 
try Club, the City Club, of Hartford, the 
Hartford Gun Club. He is an out-door 
man in his tastes, is active and full of the 
keenest interest in all the out-door world, 
but his favorite sports are hunting and 
fishing. He is a director of five important 
Hartford concerns : The Jacobs Manu- 
facturing Company, the Rhodes Manu- 
facturing Company, the Hartford Morris 
Plan Company, the American Industrial 
Bank & Trust Company, and the W r hit- 
lock Coil Pipe Company. 

Mr. Stoner married Clara, daughter of 
Arthur I. Jacobs, a sketch of whose life 
appears elsewhere in this work. They 
are the parents of two sons, Arthur M., 
and Louis B. Stoner. The family are 
members of the First Baptist Church. 

Mr. Stoner is a man of very pleasing 
personality, a man who meets his fellow- 
citizens with a frank and sincere interest, 
and gives of the wealth of his broad and 
generous nature to make the world about 
him a better place in which to live. 



64 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



WADE, John Franklin, 

Muuufucturcr. Pnblic Official. 

John Franklin Wade was born June 29, 

iS/hi, at TallokaS, Brooks county, Georgia, 
the son of Thomas and Mary (Oliver 1 
Wade. 

His early life was spent on a cotton 
farm. He attended the schools of the vil- 
lage. In his twenty-first year, not being 
satisfied on the farm, he went to Florida 
in search of other employment, and for a 
time worked on orange groves. In Octo- 
ber o\ [88l, he entered the employ of the 
S. B. Hubbard Company, of Jacksonville. 
Florida, a large wholesale and retail store 
of hardware and building material. In 
February, 1884, he traveled through 
Texas, finally locating at Dallas. Not 
finding employment there in the hardware 
business, he worked on a farm near Dallas 
until September, returning to Jackson- 
ville, Florida, reentering the employ of the 
S. B. Hubbard Company, remaining for 
a few months until he had a better offer 
with the Drew Hardware Company of 
the same city. He remained there until 
October, 1885, when he entered the em- 
ploy of the Rockwell cc Kinnie Company, 
of Jacksonville, Florida, which position 
he held until they closed out their busi- 
ness in February, 1889. He left Jackson- 
ville, March 2, 1889, for Bristol, Connec- 
ticut, and joined A. F. Rockwell, March 
5, 1889. in starting the manufacturing of 
what was then known as the New De- 
parture Bell. He started as an ordinary 
laborer, taking anything that came to 
hand, having no experience in the manu- 
facturing business. The business was 
later organized into the New Departure 
Bell Company, continuing until 1896, 
when it was changed to the New De- 
parture Manufacturing Company. He 
worked up from the position of ordinary 
laborer to that of contractor, thus serving 

Conn— 7— 5 



for a year, and then was placed &fl Fore- 
man in one of the departments, remaining 

in this position from nine to ten months, 
lie was made general superintendent of 
the plant, which position he held until 
August, [904. 

The German government had pas 
laws whereby they would not protect any 
foreign patents unless the goods were 
manufactured in Germany. As he was 
familiar with the manufacture of New 
Departure goods, Mr. Rockwell selected 
him as the man to establish a foreign 
branch in Germany. Mr. Wade fulfilled 
his mission most satisfactorily, remaining 
in Germany as general manager of the 
Xew Departure Manufacturing Company 
until January, 1910. The company then 
had an offer for the sale of their patents 
in Germany which they accepted, and 
their machinery was sold to parties in 
Birmingham, England, and the business 
closed out in Germany. After a short 
time spent in Paris, Mr. Wade returned 
to the United States, resuming connec- 
tions with the New Departure Manufac- 
turing Company, continuing as general 
superintendent until October, 1915, when 
he severed his connections, becoming 
works manager of the Bristol Brass Com- 
pany, which position he holds at present. 
He is a director of the Bristol Brass Com- 
pany, and of the Bryce Manufacturing 
Company of Forestville, Connecticut. 

Mr. Wade has long been active in Bris- 
tol's public life. In 1899 he was elected 
burgess on the Board of Wardens and 
Burgesses. In 1901-02-03-04 he was 
elected warden, his departure for Berlin, 
Germany, interrupting his public service. 
After his return to Bristol in February, 
1910, he was reelected warden of the bor- 
ough in April and held that position until 
the town and borough government were 
united under the form of a city govern- 
ment. He then had the honor of being 



65 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



elected the first mayor of the city of Bris- 
tol, which position he held for two years, 
at which time he retired from public life, 
but remaining an earnest, interested citi- 
zen, helpful and patriotic. 

Mr. Wade married (first) in 1886, 
Emma G. Ponder, of Jacksonville, Flor- 
ida. There were two children of this 
union : John Franklin, born May 10, 
1888, in Jacksonville, and Walter Rock- 
well, born March 23, 1890, at Bristol, Con- 
necticut. Mrs. Wade died August 12, 
1904. Shortly after her death Mr. Wade 
and sons went to Berlin, Germany, John 
F., the eldest son, returning immediately 
to America to attend a business college in 
Hartford, Connecticut, from which he 
graduated, returning to Germany in De- 
cember, 1905. He entered the employ of 
the New Departure Manufacturing Com- 
pany in Bristol, Connecticut, taking up 
the branch of heat-treating, carbonizing 
and hardening. He passed his examina- 
tion with the United States Government 
as a metallurgist, and is now employed by 
the Marlin-Rockwell Company of Plain- 
ville, Connecticut, in charge of the heat- 
treating department. The youngest son, 
Walter R., remained with his father in 
Germany, attending a gymnasium school 
there for about three years. He then re- 
turned to America, finishing his educa- 
tion in Bristol, Connecticut. He served 
his time as a tool maker, and with his 
knowledge of tool making and manufac- 
turing became a skilled mechanic. With 
two years' experience, after the outbreak 
of the war, working on gauge work, jigs, 
and fixtures, he became very familiar 
with the machine gun business. A short 
time after entering the army he was 
placed in the ordnance department as 
Machine Gun Instructor, in which ca- 
pacity he remained after going to France. 
Mr. Wade returned to America in Janu- 
ary, 1906, and on January 17, 1906, was 



married to Virginia B. Edmonson, of Tal- 
lokas, Georgia. One son, Edmond, was 
born of this union, February 12, 191 1. 



HAMBLIN, Frank Milton, 

Physician, Hospital Official. 

The name Hamelin is still a common 
one in France and in England, and is 
found from the date of the compilation of 
Battle Abbey Roll as Hamelyn, Hamlin 
and Hamlyn. The German form of the 
name is Hamblen. In the United States, 
Hamblin and Hamlin is the usual form. 
As the name appears on Battle Abbey 
Roll it is supposed that a follower of the 
Conqueror brought it from Normandy. 
Many of the names bore arms, as regis- 
tered in the Herald College, and in this 
country Hamlins were arrayed as sol- 
diers in liberty's armies. The most dis- 
tinguished representative of the family in 
the public life was Hannibal Hamlin, 
Vice-President of the United States, the 
friend and contemporary of Abraham 
Lincoln, United States Senator from 
Maine, and United States Minister to 
Spain. 

The American ancestor was James 
Hamlin, who came from New England to 
Barnstable, Massachusetts, where he was 
admitted a freeman, March 1, 1614. In 
the sixth American generation, Thomas 
Hamlin left Barnstable, made several re- 
movals, finally settling in New York 
State. His son, Captain Jabez Hamlin, 
of Columbia county, New York, was the 
father of Rev. Jabez Hamlin, a minister 
of the Methodist Episcopal church, who 
married Esther, daughter of Rev. Ebene- 
zer Snow, the first minister of the Second 
Baptist Church of Westfield, Massachu- 
setts. Rev. Jabez Hamlin had ten chil- 
dren, including the founder of the West- 
ern New York branches of the family, 
notably Cicero Hamlin, one of Buffalo's 



66 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BI< )GK AIM IV 



greatest merchants and the owner of the 
world famous Hamlin Stock Farm, the 
home of "Marnbrino King," "Chimes," 
"Almont, Jr." and the beautiful record 
breaking "Belle Hamlin," names once to 
conjure with in the sportsman's world. 

The Hamlins in earlier generations in- 
termarried with the Hallett family of 
New England, and in several instances 
Hallett was used as a given name. This 
was the case in this branch, a Hallett 
Hamblin, of Cayuga, New York, being 
the father of Rev. Milton Hamblin, and 
grandfather of Dr. Frank Milton Hamb- 
lin, as the name seems to be spelled in 
this branch. Dr. Hamblin was for ten 
years in medical practice in New York 
State, Maryland, and Pennsylvania, before 
coming to Bristol, Connecticut, where he 
has been in continuous and successful 
practice since 1909. Fie practices accord- 
ing to the school founded by the great 
physician, Hahnemann, and has estab- 
lished in Bristol a large clientele of de- 
voted followers of that school of medicine 
and of Dr. Hamblin, its talented ex- 
ponent. 

Rev. Milton Hamblin was born in Ca- 
yuga, New York, in 1843, and died in 
1887. He was educated for the ministry, 
but before ordination engaged in the con- 
flict raging between the armed forces of 
the North and South. He enlisted in the 
One Hundred Eleventh Regiment, New 
York Volunteer Infantry, won a lieuten- 
ant's bars for bravery and fought until 
severely wounded at Gettysburg. He 
was invalided home and when peace 
came both to his beloved land and to his 
own tortured body he entered the service 
of the Prince of Peace. He was regularly 
ordained a minister of the Methodist 
Episcopal church, and was settled pas- 
tor over churches in Ithaca, Syracuse, 
Rochester and other New York State 
churches. Rev. Milton Hamblin married 



Pamelia Tuttle Warrick, of Cayuga, New 
York, and they were the parents of Rev. 
Charles Hamblin, who served with the 
Young Men's Christian Association forces 
in France; Bertha Jennie Louise Clark; 
Frank Milton, of further mention; Alys 
M., married Dr. A. A. Dewey, of Bris- 
tol, Connecticut. Rev. Milton Flamblin 
died April 17, 1887; his widow survived 
him until December 25, 1896. 

Frank Milton Flamblin, son of Rev. 
Milton and Pamelia Tuttle (Warrick) 
Hamblin, was born in Rochester, New 
York, September 21, 1873. He was edu- 
cated in the public schools of Rochester 
and Auburn, New York, and after gradu- 
ation from Auburn Fligh School in 1891, 
continued study at Syracuse University, 
whence he was graduated A. B., class of 
1895, where he was a member of Delta 
Kappa Epsilon fraternity. He choose the 
profession of medicine as his life work, 
entered New York College of Homoeo- 
pathy, New York City, and in 1899 was 
awarded his degree of M. D. by that insti- 
tution. Dr. Hamblin began practice in 
Owego, New York, as a resident physi- 
cian in a private insane asylum, here re- 
maining two years. He spent the next 
four years as resident physician at Bar- 
nard Sanitarium, Baltimore, Maryland, 
going thence to Chambersburg, Pennsyl- 
vania, where he established in the private 
general practice of his profession. Fie 
continued in Chambersburg until 1909, 
then located in Bristol, Connecticut, 
where for the past ten years he has been 
in practice. He has won public confi- 
dence not only as a skillful physician, but 
as a citizen, friend, and neighbor. He is 
a member of the American Institute of 
Homoeopathy ; Connecticut State Medi- 
cal Society; Franklin Lodge. Free and 
Accepted Masons; Columbus Lodge, In- 
dependent Order of Odd Fellows ; Knights 
of Pythias; Improved Order of Red Men; 



67 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



is a Republican in politics, and a member 
of the Congregational church. 

Dr. Hamblin married, August 30, 1906, 
Beulah, daughter of Samuel and Cassan- 
dra Clement. Dr. and Mrs. Hamblin are 
the parents of a son, Francis, born May 
4, 1908. 



WAGONER, William Richard, 

Business Man. 

We give the name of public benefactor 
to the man who donates large sums of 
money to hospitals, asylums and other 
public institutions. We laud the man who 
gives his life to scientific research. We 
honor the man who foregoes wealth or 
privilege to follow a life of self-abnega- 
tion. But there is a class of men from 
whom, perhaps, we withhold honor when 
honor is due. The purveyor of the daily 
necessities of life receives scant apprecia- 
tion for his services to mankind. His is 
a most exacting business for at least two 
reasons ; because there is no seasonal re- 
laxation, and because he meets his trade 
as one who serves, not as an autocrat who 
has his convenience in his own power. 
But surely, no less than a public benefac- 
tor is the man who conscientiously sup- 
plies the townspeople with good food, 
when he uses every precaution to safe- 
guard the health of his patrons. In the 
town of Collinsville, Connecticut, Wil- 
liam Richard Wagoner stands in such a 
relation to his fellow-citizens. 

The name of Wagoner is derived from 
the occupation of its progenitors, the evi- 
dence of this surviving in the present 
form and spelling of the name. In the 
days when names were originated the 
man who made any article of so great im- 
portance as a wagon was a man of high 
standing in the community. This was 
due to the fact that he had dealings with 
the landed people who were, ot course, 



more wealthy than the peasantry, and 
were, indeed, the only people who had use 
for vehicles or money with which to buy 
them. 

Richard Wagoner, father of William 
Richard Wagoner, was born in Hessen- 
Nassau, March 13, 1840, and died Decem- 
ber 31, 1910. He learned the trade of 
butcher in Germany, a trade which his 
direct ancestors had followed for five or 
six consecutive generations. He came to 
America in 1861 and took up his resi- 
dence in New York City. After follow- 
ing his trade there for a year or two he 
came to Collinsville and started in the 
butcher business. That was in the days 
before this line of business had been con- 
centrated into the hands of a compara- 
tively small number of concerns who 
practically control the industry. It was 
also at a time when much stock was 
grown in New England for home con- 
sumption. Mr. Wagoner killed and 
dressed his own beef, pork, and mutton, 
and cured his own hams and bacon, turn- 
ing out far more delicate smoked meats 
than can be found in the market to-day. 
His skill as a butcher was far-famed. 
There are men now living who can re- 
member the occasion when, in twenty- 
one minutes from the time he knocked a 
steer in the head, the carcass was hang- 
ing in quarters from the hooks. He did 
a large business, buying his own live- 
stock, and covering territory extending 
forty miles from Collinsville. He was a 
member of the Village Lodge of Masons, 
of Collinsville. His wife, Catherine 
(Draude) Wagoner, was born in the same 
town in Germany as he was, but their 
children were born in America. The 
children are : Louise, who married Wil- 
liam H. Crowley; Mary, who married 
Michael J. Crowley; Louis; Theresa; 
Catherine ; Clara ; and William Richard. 
Richard Wagoner's father never came to 



68 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF HIOCR AIM IY 



America, but lived and died in the town 
which had been the home of the Wagon- 
ers for many generations. 

William Richard Wagoner was born in 
Canton, October 8, [864. lie was edu- 
cated in the public schools of Collinsville, 
then learned all the details of the meat 
business in association with his father. 
Beginning when he was twelve years old, 
he took an interest in the work and estab- 
lished himself in the confidence of the pa- 
trons so thoroughly that when he suc- 
ceeded his father in the business he held 
the trade of the best people of the town, 
and still caters to a wide and discriminat- 
ing class of customers. This business 
which his father established in 1862 has 
been conducted in its present quarters 
since 1871. The Wagoners, father and 
son, have been progressive and up-to-the- 
minute, keeping abreast of every new de- 
velopment in their line of business. Col- 
linsville is not a large village, yet there 
is no modern equipment to be found in a 
large city market that Mr. Wagoner has 
not installed. Their refrigerator and 
meat counter are cooled by an automatic 
ammonia refrigerating plant, and their 
equipment also includes an up-to-date 
slicing machine for slicing boneless meats, 
an electric meat grinder, the latest type 
of computing scales, etc. Especial atten- 
tion is given to sanitation. The success 
of this business from a financial point of 
view shows that even in a small town the 
man who adopts modern business meth- 
ods and devices wins recognition and the 
substantial evidence of public apprecia- 
tion. Furthermore, it is the progressive 
retail dealer of Mr. Wagoner's type who 
attracts to a town like Collinsville the 
patronage of the more remote country 
dwellers, and make it a center of trade. 
Mr. Wagoner is a member of the Village 
Lodge of Masons, of Collinsville ; Wash- 



ington Commandcry, Knights Templar; 
Connecticut Consistory; and Pyramid 
Shrine, of Bridgeport; and Penevolent 
and Protective Order of Flks, of Win- 
sted. 

Mr. Wagoner married Annie, daughter 
of Frederick W. Konold, of Collinsville. 
A sketch of Mr. Konold appears else- 
where in this work. Mr. Wagoner has 
four children : Anna, who married Or- 
ville Orne ; Raymond William, Elizabeth 
Faith, and Richard Leslie. 



CROSTHWAITE, Frederick H., 

Manufacturer. 

Art in these days governs the simplest 
and most useful product of manufacture. 
The time was when art was considered to 
be the prerogative of artists. If an artist 
painted a canvas or a ceiling, it became a 
picture. If anyone else did the work it 
was merely a painted surface. A genius 
created a tapestry and it was art. But 
the fabrics of commerce were, for the 
greater part, merely woven threads. In 
architecture, perhaps, was art first made 
a governing impulse, to a degree where it 
was felt in other than its own immediate 
circle. Art, as applied to castles and 
cathedrals, now lives in many useful ob- 
jects, as well as in art forms. The study 
of line and color has followed the pro- 
gress of useful invention, until the sim- 
plest tool or utensil is attractive in form 
and tint. The demand for artistic inter- 
iors is not confined to institutions of cul- 
ture, but wherever men pass or congre- 
gate, even in the business office and 
workshop of the everyday world, the 
finish, the fittings, the whole effect, must 
be artistic. Among the many and varied 
industries in the city of Hartford, the 
modest factory of the Hartford Wire 
Works Company on Allyn street stands 



69 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



as an exponent of applied art. Some of 
the work turned out by this concern for 
office fittings is entirely worthy of being 
classed among the fine arts. Frederick 
H. Crosthwaite is the president of this 
company, and the moving spirit of the 
establishment. 

The suffix "thwaite" occurs chiefly as 
the second element in local names, espe- 
cially in the lake district of the North of 
England ; as Bassenthwaite, Stonethwaite, 
and Crossthwaite. Thwaite is equivalent 
to a "field," or "felled place," or woodland 
clearing. The name of Henry de Cros- 
thwaite appears in Writs of Parliament, 
and John de Crostwyt appears in Placeto 
de Warranto. 

Frederick H. Crosthwaite was born in 
London, England, March 22, 1851, and is 
the son of Daniel and Julia (Shultz) 
Crosthwaite. His father was a ship- 
builder and lived for some time in South- 
shields, near the ship-yards, and his pa- 
ternal grandfather was a preacher, and 
the son of a preacher. The Crosthwaite 
Church in London was named for his 
great-grandfather. Frederick H. Cros- 
thwaite was brought to America when 
but six months old, the loss of his father 
in infancy being filled by the devotion of 
his mother, who brought him to this 
country and trained him to an upright 
and useful manhood. He was educated 
in the public schools, and being a bright 
lad, with a genuine thirst for knowledge, 
he made the most of such advantages as 
offered. When he was twenty-one he 
faced the world in earnest. He felt that 
the man who stands alone and makes his 
own way is the man who will make last- 
ing success. So he began in a very small 
way, on his own account ; his first pro- 
duct was wire designs for florists — 
wreaths, crosses, and the more elaborate 
forms which constitute the foundations 



of floral designs. From that beginning 
the business branched out into other lines 
and, as was to be expected, the result of 
good management, dependable products 
and courtesy to all customers, it was only 
a matter of time when it assumed con- 
siderable proportions. Now the concern 
manufactures a general line of wire goods, 
including office railings, wire elevator par- 
titions, etc. They employ about twenty 
people and have the most modern mechan- 
ical equipment. The business reaches to 
a radius of fifty miles of Hartford. 

Mr. Crosthwaite is a substantial busi- 
ness man, a progressive citizen, interested 
in all that makes for the public welfare, 
a man of high ideals, which he carries 
into his business and social life. In his 
long residence here in Hartford he has 
won the esteem of all who have had the 
opportunity to know him. He is a con- 
stant attendant and earnest supporter of 
the Christian Science church. Mr. Cros- 
thwaite is a member of Lafayette Lodge, 
No. 100, Ancient Free and Accepted Ma- 
sons ; was a member of the City Guards 
for five years, and is now a member of 
the Veterans' organization. 

Mr. Crosthwaite married Mrs. Maria 
Porter, daughter of William (2) Gray, of 
Hebron, Connecticut. 



ANDERSON, Oscar, 

Public Official. 

Oscar Anderson, commissioner of pub- 
lic work, Bristol, Connecticut, was born 
in Oarod, Sweden, December 1, 1864, 
and there spent the first seventeen years 
of his life. He obtained a good public 
school education, and was variously em- 
ployed until 1881, when he came to the 
United States, locating in Bristol, Con- 
necticut, there spending six years in fac- 
tory and private employ. He then re- 



70 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



turned to his former Swedish home, his 
intention being to remain there. lie en- 
gaged in a business of his own, but soon 

decided to come again to the United 
States, having kept in touch with his 
friends in Bristol, through whom he re- 
ceived an offer from a I'-ristol merchant. 
Late in 1887 lie sold his business in Swe- 
den and returned to Bristol. He re- 
mained three years with the merchant 
who had induced his return, then estab- 
lished in business under his own name, 
conducting the same successful business 
until 191 1, when he closed out to accept 
his present position with the city of 
Bristol. 

Bristol was chartered a city in 191 1, 
and Mr. Anderson was elected a member 
of the first City Council. He only sat in 
that body a short time, however, but re- 
signed to accept appointment as commis- 
sioner of public work. He has served his 
city in that capacity continuously until 
the present time, his service having been 
of the highest quality and rendered to the 
satisfaction of each succeeding adminis- 
tration. He is a member of the Benevo- 
lent and Protective Order of Elks ; The 
One Hundred Men; and the Order of 
Vasa. 

Mr. Anderson married, March 4, [889, 
Jennie Anderson, and they are the par- 
ents of four children: 1. Pauline, edu- 
cated at Roanoke College, Roanoke, Vir- 
ginia. 2. Bertha, educated at Martha 
Washington College, D. C, and now an 
instructor in domestic science in Bristol 
schools. 3. Oscar, prepared in Bristol 
public schools and Andover Academy, a 
student at Dartmouth two years prior 
to his enlistment in the United States Na- 
val Aviation Service; he was stationed at 
Pensacola, Florida, but now is honorably 
discharged with commission as ensign. 4. 
Pearl, attending Bristol High School. 



COOLEY, Norman Peck, 

Manufacturer. 

As one writer ha- aptly said: "Some 
men are great because Of their forbear-, 
and some forbears become great through 
their descendants." In the life and career 
of Norman Peck Cooley, of New Britain, 
this fact is doubly true. In his business 
and public life he has succeeded in adding 
more honor to an already honored name 
and family. For two generations the 
family have been identified with the inter- 
ests of New Britain, and its members 
have been active in furthering the inter- 
ests of that city in various ways. 

(I) The immigrant ancestor of the 
Cooley family was Benjamin Cooley, who 
married, probably in America, Sarah 

, and she died August 23, 1684, his 

death preceding hers by six days, occur- 
ring August 17, 1684. His will was filed 
the September 30th following. 

(II) Daniel Cooley, son of Benjamin 
and Sarah Cooley, was born May 2, 165 1, 
at Longmeadow, Massachusetts, and died 
there February 9, 1727. He married, at 
that place, December 8, 1680, Elizabeth 
Wolcott, a descendant of Henry Wolcott, 
the immigrant of Connecticut. She died 
January 31, 1739. 

(III) William Cooley, youngest son of 
Daniel and Elizabeth (Wolcott) Cooley, 
was born August 12, 1698, in Long- 
meadow, and settled in the adjacent town 
of Enfield, Connecticut, which was then 
a part of Massachusetts. He sold land 
at Enfield, March 14, 1733-34, and again 
August 21, 1739. He appeared to have 
sold his farm. May 3, 1742, to Joseph 
Olmstead, of Bolton, Connecticut. At 
that time he removed to Bolton. He held 
various town offices in the town of En- 
field, and died at Bolton, March 10, 1775, 
in his seventy-seventh year, according to 



7i 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



the town records. He joined the Bol- 
ton Congregational Church in 1759. He 
married, April 11, 1727, Elizabeth Clark, 
who died at Bolton, February 12, 1772. 
She joined the Bolton church in 1749. 
Their children, born at Bolton, were: 
William, mentioned below ; and Eliza- 
beth, born March 23, 1734; probably 
others not recorded. 

(IV) William (2) Cooley, son of Wil- 
liam (1) and Elizabeth (Clark) Cooley, 
was born in Bolton, February 28, 1730. 

He married Elizabeth , and they 

were the parents of Samuel. 

(V) Dr. Samuel Cooley, son of Wil- 
liam (2) and Elizabeth Cooley, was born 
at Bolton, January 21, 1755. He studied 
medicine under Dr. Ichabod Warner, of 
Bolton, and practiced there for twenty 
years. In the war of 1812, he was a sur- 
geon in the United States Army. Late in 
life he removed to Portage county, Ohio, 
and practiced in the town of Northamp- 
ton, where he died November 12, 1812, 
aged fifty-seven. He was a skillful phy- 
sician and attorney. In referring to the 
success of his teacher, he used to say that 
Dr. Warner had a better "How-do-you- 
do" than he. In the census of 1790 Sam- 
uel Cooley was reported as of Coventry, 
Connecticut, with his family, consisting 
of two males over sixteen and two under 
that age, and three females. It is possible 
that he was the Samuel Cooley, of Con- 
necticut, who was a member of Captain 
Farr's company in the Revolution, which 
was located at Salem, New York, in 1780. 
He married, in Bolton, September 7, 1780, 
Aurelia Abbott, of Easton, Connecticut. 
The Tolland County History gives his 
children as five sons and one daughter. 
Among them were Dr. William, men- 
tioned below ; Simeon ; and Dr. A. A., 
who was for years a druggist in Hart- 
ford. 



(VI) Dr. William (3) Cooley, son of 
Dr. Samuel and Aurelia (Abbott) Cooley, 
was born at Bolton, May 10, 1781, and 
died at East Hartford, January 10, 1839. 
He learned the profession of medicine 
from his father and settled in what is now 
Manchester, Connecticut. For many 
years he was a prominent and successful 
physician, and highly respected as a citi- 
zen. He married (first) Mary, daughter 
of Aaron Buckland, of Manchester; (sec- 
ond) Diantha Spencer, also a native of 
Manchester; (third) a Miss Roberts; 
(fourth) Jerusha Pitkin, born at East 
Hartford, a direct descendant of Gov- 
ernor Pitkin, of Connecticut. The chil- 
dren of the first wife were : William and 
Mary ; child of second wife, General Hor- 
ace S. Cooley, who settled in the State of 
Illinois, was editor of the Quincy "Her- 
ald," a leading paper of the times, super- 
intendent of the schools of the State, and 
was Secretary of State for six years ; his 
address on the "History, Spirit and Ten- 
dency of Free Masonry," delivered before 
the Grand Lodge of Illinois, October, 
1844, on which occasion he was Grand 
Orator, at a time when the anti-Masonic 
feeling was still violent, is one of the 
most eloquent and forceful expositions of 
the virtues of the order ever published ; 
he died ' in 1850. The children of the 
fourth wife were : Jerusha Pitkin, born 
1823, died 1829; Elizabeth Lord, born 
November 28, 1824, died September, 1840; 
Charles Samuel, born June 10, 1826, mar- 
ried Elizabeth Meacham ; George Pit- 
kin, mentioned below ; and Jerusha, born 
1830, died 1833. Of Dr. Cooley a friend 
wrote, after his death : 

In the death of Dr. William Cooley the com- 
munity in which he lived sustained a loss that is 
and will long be extensively felt. As a physi- 
cian he had extensive practice, was eminently 
successful and universally beloved by those to 



72 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



whom he ministered. Possessed of an acute, 
but eccentric mind, he obtained celebrity not 
only as a physician, l>u t .is a politician inch si 
few enjoy. Elected on repeated occasions to 
represent Manchester, the place of his nativity, 

where he resided until 8 few years past, lie WSS 
faithful to his trust. Ili^ wit, sarcasm and 
eccentric speeches in the Legislature will long be 
remembered. In all political matters he took 

an absorbing interest, and was to the last mo- 
ments of his life an ardent supporter of Demo- 
cratic principle, an advocate oi the present ad- 
ministration, an excellent companion and a sin- 
cere friend, with an inexhaustible fund of humor, 

great originality and genuine benevolence, he 
was always welcome to every circle. For many 
rs he suffered with a painful disease that ter- 
minated his existence. His spirit never forsook 
him; he died with composure and resignation to 
the Divine Will. 

(VII) Dr. George Pitkin Cooley, son 
of Dr. William (3) and Jerusha (Pitkin) 
Cooley, was born in Manchester, Connec- 
ticut, November 28, 1828. He attended 
the public schools of East Hartford, 
Hartford Center School, and the Phelps 
Academy, at East Hartford. After leav- 
ing school he was clerk in a drug store 
owned by A. A. Cooley, of Hartford. He 
began to study medicine with Dr. C. A. 
Taft in 1850, and attended the New York 
Medical College the following year. 
Later he was a student at the Hahne- 
mann College, of Philadelphia, 1853-54, 
and was graduated with the degree of 
M. D. He first practiced at Bristol, Con- 
necticut, for three years. In 1857 he lo- 
cated at New Britain, and until very 
recent years was still in active practice 
there. He was one of the oldest and most 
highly respected physicians in the State, 
and for years was attending physician of 
the Xew Britain General Hospital. He 
was made a master mason in 1854, and is 
a member of Franklin Lodge, of Bristol. 
He married, April, 1865, Lucy Ann Peck, 
a native of Berlin, Connecticut. The 



children were : I )r. < I 'itkin 1 _' ) 

and Norman Peck, both mentioned below. 

(VIII) Dr George Pitkin (2) Cooley, 

son of Dr. ( ieorge Pitkin (1) and Luc) \nn 

I Peck) Cooley, was born in Xew Britain, 
Connecticut. lie attended the public 
and high schools there, and the Greylock 
Seminary in Williamstown, Massachu- 
setts. He prepared For his profession in 
the Medical School of the Xew York Uni- 
versity, and at the Hahnemann Medical 
School, Chicago. He is surgcon-in- 
eliarge of Grace Hospital, Detroit, Michi- 
gan ; also assistant surgeon-in-chief of 
the Michigan Central Railroad Company. 
(VI 1 1 ) Norman Peck Cooley, son of Dr. 
George Pitkin (1) and Lucy Ann (Peck) 
Cooley, was born in New Britain, August 
8, 1869. He received his education at the 
public and high schools of Xew Britain 
and Greylock Seminary, Massachusetts. 
He entered the employ of the Russell & 
Erwin Manufacturing Company of New 
Britain, manufacturers of hardware, and 
remained with them for three years. He 
then entered into a partnership with How- 
ard S. Hart for the manufacture of cold 
rolled steel. The plant was in South Chi- 
cago, Illinois, and he continued there for 
nine years. The business was then con- 
solidated with other interests and he re- 
turned to Xew Britain. Here he was one 
of the founders of Hart & Cooley Com- 
pany, manufacturers of steel registers and 
steel lockers. This company has come to 
be one of the important manufacturing 
establishments of Xew Britain. Mr. 
Cooley has been actively interested in the 
management of the company ever since 
its organization, and much of the success 
of the company has been due to his 
natural gift for the practical application 
of progressive business principles. Mr. 
Cooley is a Republican in political affilia- 
tion, though never seeking political pre- 



73 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



ferment. He is a director of the New Bri- 
tain Trust Company, the Hart & Hutch- 
ing Company, and Fafnir Bearing Com- 
pany. He is one of the organizers of the 
Shuttle Meadow Club, of which he is 
the president. He is a member of the 
Episcopal church. 

Mr. Cooley married, June 20, 1895, 
Mary Stanley, daughter of James Stan- 
ley, of New Britain. 



BOTTOMLEY, Charles S., 

Textile Manufacturer. 

The world of industry is built upon 
the needs of mankind. Each separate man- 
ufacturing establishment goes to make 
the foundations secure and enduring. 
And upon the integrity of some man or 
some group of men does the existence of 
each individual industry depend. In the 
busy little city of Rockville, Charles S. 
Bottomley holds an important position 
among the men who provide a means of 
livelihood for the constantly growing 
population of the city. 

The name Bottomley is one of those 
names derived from location ; com- 
pounded of the words "bottom" and "lea" 
meaning literally, bottom, or lower 
meadow, thus designating definite loca- 
tion. For many generations the Bottom- 
ley family of Shelf, near Bradford, Eng- 
land, has been interested in the manufac- 
ture of textile goods. The father of the 
Rockville manufacturer, William Bottom- 
ley, was a manufacturer of woolen goods 
at Shelf, and later was connected with 
Briggs Priestly & Company, at Bradford, 
England. 

William and Elisabeth (Lister) Bot- 
tomley were the parents of six children. 
Both are now deceased. Herbert, the eld- 
est son, came to America, and was for a 
time a member of the firm of A. Priestly 



& Company, at Camden, New Jersey. 
Another son, Frederick W. Bottomley, 
is in the manufacturing business in Brad- 
ford, England. 

Charles S. Bottomley was born at 
Shelf, July 16, 1866. After attending the 
schools near his home, he continued his 
education at Thorp-Arch Grange, a Cam- 
bridge preparatory school. He was then 
associated with his father in the firm of 
Briggs Priestly & Company, the worsted 
manufacturers of Bradford, England, 
noted the world over for the excellence of 
their goods, which are sought by dis- 
criminating consumers on account of 
their uniformity of weave and stability of 
dye. Mr. Bottomley, as a young man, 
went through all the departments of the 
factory and made himself thoroughly 
familiar with every practical detail of 
worsted manufacturing, including textile 
designing. In 1886 he came to America, 
and became associated with his brother 
in the firm of A. Priestly & Company, at 
Camden, New Jersey. He remained there 
until May, 1897, when he accepted the 
position of designer for the American 
Mills Company, of Rockville, Connecti- 
cut, where he remained until January, 
1900, then went to the Hockanum Mill, 
of Rockville, in the same capacity. In 
August of that year he went to the New 
England Mills, giving his ability wider 
scope in the office of superintendent. 
From there, in 1907, he was transferred to 
the Hockanum Mill, as superintendent. 
When the Hockanum Mills Company was 
organized, he was appointed as the assis- 
tant general superintendent, also a direc- 
tor of that organization, both of which 
positions he now holds. 

In his public life Mr. Bottomley throws 
his influence into such activities as feel 
the need of business sagacity, since, 
while they benefit those with whom they 



74 




^W^o. J? /^lj-C^<ri~T~^L 




ENCYCLOPEDIA OF RIOGKAPIIY 



deal, their very existence depends upon 
the confidence of their patrons. He is 
director of tin- Rockville Building and 
Loan Association; the Rockville Aque- 
duct Company, and a corporator of the 
Savings Banks of Rockville. Politically 
Mr. Rottomlcy is a staunch Repuhlican, 
although he rarely takes the foreground 
in political affairs. In social as well as in 
business life, he is one of the leading men 
of Rockville. He is a member of Fay- 
ette Lodge, Free and Accepted Masons; 
Adoniram Chapter, Royal Arch Masons; 
Adoniram Council, Royal and Select Mas- 
ters. 

Mr. Rottomley married, January 20. 
1897, Lucy Mary, daughter of Jonathan 
and Eliza M. (Thomas) Pickering, of 
Camden, New Jersey. Mrs. Bottomley 
was born in Manchester, England. There 
was one child of this marriage, Margaret. 
The family attend and aid in the support 
of the Union Congregational Church, of 
Rockville. 



HOUGH, Frederick J., 

Manufacturer. 

Three generations of this family have 
resided in Collinsville, Connecticut. Jo- 
siah Hough, grandfather, coming when a 
young man. He was succeeded by his 
son, Emerson A. Hough, Collinsville's 
druggist for half a century and well be- 
loved citizen, and now his son, Frederick 
J. Hough, is the business representative 
of the family in Collinsville, being assis- 
tant superintendent of the Collins Com- 
pany, a corporation with which his entire 
business life has been spent. When 
Emerson A. Hough returned from the 
Civil War in October, 1864, he resumed 
his position in the Polk drug store in Col- 
linsville, and from that time until his 
death, half a century later, he was en- 
gaged in the drug business, operating his 



own Store from [8671 and whether a- part- 
ner or sole owner was its capable, effi- 
cient, directing head. He was more to 

his townsmen than their druggist, he was 

their friend, their postmaster for long 
years, and when they attended Congrega- 
tional worship it was his rich vibrant bass 
voice which led them in song. When he 
passed away in 191 5 it was as though 
each home in Collinsville had lost a dear 
friend. 

The Houghs are of Scotch ancestry. It 
is a local place name, coming from the 
Saxon and Dutch, Hoch, Hoog and How, 
meaning high. There is a place named 
Hough in the County of Lincoln, Eng- 
land. Robert Hough, great-grandfather 
of Frederick J. Hough, was a resident of 
Glastonbury, Connecticut, and there his 
son, Josiah Hough, was born and grew to 
manhood. He was an expert worker in 
wood, and in youthful manhood located in 
Collinsville, where he was for years in 
the employ of the construction depart- 
ment of the Collins Company. Later he 
became a manufacturer of wooden boxes, 
working under a contract with the Col- 
lins Company. In politics he was a Dem- 
ocrat, and for many years he was a mem- 
ber of the Congregational church. Josiah 
Hough married Laura Rice, of Bark- 
hamsted, Litchfield county, Connecticut, 
who was the mother of six children : 
Jane E., married Henry A. Gleason ; 
Henry J., who lived in Brooklyn, New 
York ; George R., a locomotive engineer, 
who resided at Clayton, Illinois; Dayton 
E., a locomotive engineer ; Lucella, mar- 
ried Deacon H. E. Harrington, of Hart- 
ford, Connecticut ; and Emerson A., of 
whom further mention follows: 

Emerson A. Hough was born in Col- 
linsville, Connecticut, November 24. 1S42, 
died in the town of his birth, March 25, 
1915. He attended primary, grammar and 
high school in Collinsville, then became a 



75 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



clerk in the Polk drug store. He con- 
tinued with Mr. Polk until November 18, 
1861, when, inspired with patriotic fer- 
vor, he enlisted in Company H, Twelfth 
Regiment, Connecticut Volunteer Infan- 
try, Captain Joseph R. Toy, of Simsbury, 
and Colonel Henry C. Demming, of Hart- 
ford, commanding company and regi- 
ment. After six months in service he was 
ordered to New Orleans, and by order of 
General Butler was appointed hospital 
steward, his knowledge of drugs and med- 
icines being such that he was of great 
value to the medical department in which 
he served until honorably discharged and 
mustered out at the end of three years' 
service in 1864. He resumed his position 
in the drug store in Collinsville, and about 
two years later, in November, 1867, he 
with a partner bought the business which 
for several years they managed under the 
firm name Polk & Hough. That firm 
then dissolved and a new firm arose, 
Hough & Bidwell, which had but a short 
life. Mr. Hough then became sole owner 
of the business and ably conducted it 
until his death in 1915. He prospered 
abundantly, and for many years con- 
ducted his store in the Harrington block 
which he owned. For more than twenty 
years he was postmaster of Collinsville, 
was an organizer, secretary and trustee of 
the Farmington Valley Agricultural So- 
ciety, and was always an admirer of the 
light harness horse. He was a man of 
sterling worth and pleasing genial man- 
ner, qualities which won and retained him 
the friendship of all who knew him, and 
who in Collinsville did not? 

From 1869 forward, Mr. Hough was 
treasurer of the Congregational church ; 
from 1864 he was a member of the church 
choir, and from 1870 he was chorister. 
His love of music was a passion and it 
was one of his pleasures to bring good 
musical organizations to his section that 



the people might have an opportunity to 
hear good music by famous companies. 
He frequently brought the Boston Ideal 
Opera Company to Hartford, and he 
toured the large cities of Connecticut with 
that well known organization. Special 
trains were run so that the music lovers 
of the small village might attend the per- 
formance, and in that way he brought 
good music to the people. At all local 
happenings he was always called upon to 
furnish the music. His own voice was a 
deep bass and he was always ready to aid 
in the musical part of the program in 
church, lodge, or society. He was a mem- 
ber of Village Lodge, Free and Accepted 
Masons ; Columbia Chapter, Royal Arch 
Masons ; and Washington Commandery, 
Knights Templar ; highly regarded and 
beloved by his brethren of the order. 

Emerson A. Hough married, May 23, 
1866, at Collinsville, Sarah A. Bidwell, 
daughter of Franklin A. and Lucia Ann 
(Dyer) Bidwell, the latter a daughter of 
Zenas and Sarah (Chidsey) Dyer, of Can- 
ton, Connecticut. Franklin A. Bidwell 
was a leading citizen of Collinsville, son 
of Thomas (4) and Dencey (Case) Bid- 
well, of Canton ; grandson of Thomas (3) 
and Lavinia (Humphrey) Bidwell, of 
Canton ; great-grandson of Thomas (2) 
and Esther (Orton) Bidwell, of Canton ; 
and great-great-grandson of Thomas (1) 
Bidwell, the first of the name to settle in 
Canton, he born in 1701 in Windsor, son 
of John Bidwell. Thomas (1) Bidwell 
married Ruhama Pinney. Lavinia Hum- 
phrey, wife of Thomas (3) Bidwell, was 
a daughter of Oliver and Sarah (Garret) 
Humphrey, her father the first magistrate 
of West Simsbury. He was the son of 
Jonathan, son of Samuel, son of Michael 
Humphrey, a pioneer of Simsbury. Mr. 
and Mrs. Emerson A. Hough were the 
parents of two sons and a daughter: 1. 
Frederick J., of whom further mention 



76 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



follows. 2. Harold Wilbur, a graduate of 
Collinsville 1 1 i^H School, then became an 

employee of the Aetna Life Insurance 
Company of Hartford; his present posi- 
tion, assistant cashier. 3. Florence B., a 

graduate of Collinsville High School; 
married Dr. Ralph B. Cox, of Collinsville, 
who during the recent war with Germany 
was a captain in the Canadian army. 

Frederick J. Hough was horn in Collins- 
ville, Connecticut, December 26, 1871. 
IK- was educated in the public schools, 
finishing with high school graduation, 
class of 1890, after which he entered the 
employ of the Collins Company as ship- 
ping clerk. From the shipping depart- 
ment he entered the factory department, 
and since 1907 has been associated with 
the manufacturing end of the business. 
In 1007 Mr. Hough was appointed assis- 
tant superintendent of the company, 
which in normal time employs about one 
thousand hands. He has worked his way 
to his present position, and is thoroughly 
master of all the duties of his position. 
Mr. Hough is a director of the Col- 
linsville Savings Society; past master 
of Village Lodge, Free and Accepted 
Masons ; of Columbia Chapter, Royal 
Arch Masons ; Washington Command- 
ery, Knights Templar, of Hartford, and 
Sphinx Temple, Ancient Arabic Order 
Nobles of the Mystic Shrine, of Hartford. 

Mr. Hough married Etta Tilly, daugh- 
ter of Edgar Tilly, of Meriden, Connecti- 
cut. Mr. and Mrs. Hough are the par- 
ents of a son and two daughters : 1. Leon- 
ard, who is an ambulance driver with 
the American Expeditionary Forces in 
France ; he was an early volunteer for 
the service, although he was but seven- 
teen years of age, and was sent to France, 
reaching the front, where he endured the 
severest exposure and perils when our 
armies became active ; prior to enlistment 
he was a student at Amherst College, 



class of i<>-'o. 2. Marion. 3. Florence. 

The family are members of the Congre- 
gational church, Mr. Hough also tr< 

urer of the Ecclesiastical Society. 



LONGAN, Peter J., 

Business Man, Public Official. 

The ancient Irish name was originally 
O'Longain, but has been anglicized Long, 
Longan, Langan and Langham. The 
word in the Irish meaning, Long, a ship; 
an, one who. The Irish family bore 
arms : 

Arms — Vert, three lions rampant or. 
Crest — A lion rampant. 

There are few countries who have con- 
tributed so generously to the makeup of 
our citizenship as Ireland, who has 
poured her sons and daughters in a 
mighty stream into the United States for 
many years. But Ireland's gift has not 
been in quantity alone, but in the matter 
of quality these adopted children have 
played a part which has been invaluable 
to our national evolution and develop- 
ment. The quickness with which they 
have adopted our ways and seized the 
opportunities offered would indicate that 
at heart we are one race, and that the 
Irishman with his Heaven-born aspira- 
tion for liberty is already an American, 
and needed but our congenial environ- 
ment to develop him. 

Peter J. Longan, of Collinsville, Con- 
necticut, is a son of Patrick and Margaret 
(Hogan) Longan, his father a native of 
Ennis, capital of County Clare, Ireland. 
Patrick Longan was born March 10, 
1844, and died in Collinsville, Connecti- 
cut, January 2, 1902. He came to the 
United States alone at the age of nine- 
teen years, having previously learned the 
butcher's trade under an uncle who kept 
a butcher shop in Ennis. In the United 



77 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



States, Patrick Longan was employed in 
Washington Market, New York City, 
until 1863, when he entered the Union 
army as a substitute, serving in a New 
York company under Captain Ryan, in a 
New York regiment. He continued in 
the service until the war closed and wit- 
nessed the surrender of General Lee at 
Appomattox. 

After the war Patrick Longan returned 
to Ireland, and there in August, 1865, 
married Margaret Hogan, of an Irish fam- 
ily equally as ancient as his own. The 
family was seated in Munster where 
O'h-Ogain flourished, that name having 
been anglicized O'Hogan, Hogan, Ogan, 
and Ougan. The family bore arms : 

Arms — Gules, three lions passant in pale or, 
each holding between the fore paws an esquire's 
helmet proper. 

Crest — A dexter arm in armour embowed, the 
hand grasping a sword all proper. 

The name Hogan in the Gaelic means 
a young man, from "Og," young. Hogyn 
in the Welsh means "A stripling." In 
the Cornish the word means, "Mortal." 
After their marriage Patrick and Mar- 
garet (Hogan) Longan sailed for New 
York City, where he followed his trade 
of butcher. Later he went to Detroit to 
visit an uncle, Captain John Considine, 
a well known grocer of that city, and 
while there secured a position on a gov- 
ernment boat plying the Great Lakes. 
This employment did not suit him and 
soon afterward he returned East, locating 
in New Britain, Connecticut. At first he 
worked at his trade, but later he secured 
a good position with the Corbin Company 
there which he filled until his removal to 
Collinsville in 1874. From the date of his 
arrival in Collinsville until 1890 he was in 
the employ of the Collins Company, then 
from 1890 until his death in 1902 he con- 
ducted a meat market there which he 



established and owned. Patrick and Mar- 
garet (Hogan) Longan were the parents 
of eight children : Dennis, John, James, 
Peter J., of further mention ; Elizabeth, 
married Clement Beauchemin ; Mary, 
Edward, and Elsie. 

Peter J. Longan, son of Patrick and 
Margaret (Hogan) Longan, was born in 
New Britain, Connecticut, January 9, 
1873. He was educated in the public 
schools, and after finishing his school 
years entered the employ of Edward B. 
Finnin, who taught him the meat busi- 
ness. After Patrick Longan opened his 
meat market in Collinsville in 1890, Peter 
J. entered his father's employ and was his 
trusted assistant until the death of the 
senior Longan in 1902. The son then suc- 
ceeded his father as head of the business 
which he has since continued very suc- 
cessfully. He is a good business man, 
conducting his market along sound mod- 
ern lines, practicing those principles of 
fairness and justice which also distin- 
quished his father. He holds the good 
will and esteem of his fellow townsmen, 
as has been twice evidenced by his elec- 
tion to the office of justice of the peace. 
He is a member of the Benevolent and 
Protective Order of Elks, of Winsted; 
Foresters of America ; and in politics is a 
Democrat. He takes an active interest in 
town affairs, and in the administration of 
the duties of the justice's office strives to 
judge honorably and fairly the matters 
submitted to him. 

Mr. Longan married Mary A. McDon- 
ald, born in Hartford, in August, 1877, 
daughter of Edward McDonald, her 
father born in Ireland. Edward McDon- 
ald came to the United States when a 
young man, became a skilled gardener, 
and for the past thirty years, 1888-1918, 
has been employed at State Capitol 
grounds in Hartford. He married, in 
Hartford, Hannah Hurley. Mr. and Mrs. 



78 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF IJIOGRAPHY 



Longan are the parents of two children : 

Marion Margaret, horn in Hartford, in 
July, 1913; Eleanor Patricia, born in 

May, 1915, in Collinsville. 



HOLBROOK, Dwight Gerard, 

Iniarance Manager. 

There were several families of llolbrook 
very early in New England and the de- 
scendants of all of them have proven 
their worth as citizens and active and 
successful business men. The family 
from which Dwight G. Holbrook is de- 
scended was founded in America by John 
Holbrook, who came from Derby, Eng- 
land, and settled at Oyster Bay, Long 
Island, New York. 

(II) Deacon Abel Holbrook, son of 
John Holbrook, was the first male born in 
that settlement. His birth occurred in 
1653. On attaining man's estate he went 
to Milford, Connecticut, and about 1676 
settled in Derby, Connecticut, where he 
had already received a grant of land. 
There he kept an ordinary (tavern), and 
died May 30, 1747. He married Hannah 
Merriman, born May 15, 1653, died Octo- 
ber 20, 1740, in Derby, daughter of Cap- 
tain Nathaniel Merriman, an early settler 
of New Haven. 

(III) Daniel Holbrook, second son of 
Deacon Abel Holbrook, born about the 
close of the eighteenth century, resided on 
the paternal homestead in Derby. He 
married in that town, January 22, IJ2Q, 
Elizabeth Riggs, born June 7, 1706, 
daughter of Captain John and Elizabeth 
(Tomlinson) Riggs, of Derby. 

(IV) Daniel (2) Holbrook, youngest 
child of Daniel (1) Holbrook, was born 
September 21, 1744, was deacon of the 
church, and colonel of the militia. He 
married, October 8, 1766, Anne Hitch- 
cock, who was undoubtedly a descendant 
of the Hitchcock family of Derby, but 



whose birth ainl parentage have not been 
discovered. 

(V) Josiah Holbrook, son of Daniel 
(21 Holbrook, was baptized in 1788, a 

very honest man who sought to improve 
the educational methods of his time, in 
which notable work he was closely asso- 
ciated with Horace Mann, one of the best 
known reformers of that day. Under 
their efficient management, the Boston 
School System was reorganized. Realiz- 
ing the need of better educational acces- 
sories, Mr. Holbrook settled at Roxbury, 
Connecticut, where he engaged in the 
manufacture of materials and apparatus. 
An idealist and an enthusiast, he worked 
for many years in association with Mr. 
Mann and the educational system of the 
entire country is very greatly indebted to 
their efforts. In 1840 Mr. Holbrook re- 
moved his business to Cuyahoga county, 
Ohio, and in time settled in Berea, that 
county. In 1843 he retired from business 
and his sons, Alfred and Dwight, con- 
tinued it ; the latter throughout his life 
producing many very useful instruments 
for illustrating astronomy. The former 
withdrew in 1844 and engaged in teaching 
for many years at Lebanon, Ohio, where 
he founded a school of wide reputation. 
Josiah Holbrook married in Derby, in 
May, 1815, Lucy Swift, born March I, 
1796, daughter of Rev. Zephaniah and 
Sarah (Packard) Swift, of Derby. 

(VI) Dwight Holbrook, second son of 
Josiah Holbrook, was born April 10, 1817, 
continued the business established by his 
father, and in 1854 removed from Berea 
to Wethersfield, Connecticut, where for 
four years his wares were produced by- 
contract in the State Penetentiary. In 
1858 he settled at Windsor Locks, where 
he continued business, and was succeeded 
in 1870 by his son, Charles W. Holbrook, 
His last years were spent in Chicago, Il- 
linois, where he died in 189x3. Among the 



79 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



principal articles produced were globes, 
numerical frames and tellurians. The 
latter instrument was highly perfected by 
Mr. Holbrook, who constructed a geared 
apparatus illustrating the movements of 
the heavenly bodies and on which he was 
granted a patent. The apparatus which 
he produced has been used widely in the 
schools of the United States. He married 
(second) about i860, Kalista Thayer, 
born October II, 1840, in Williamsburg, 
daughter of Joseph Thaxter and Orrel 
(White) Thayer. Her mother was a de- 
scendant of William White of the "May- 
flower." 

(VII) D wight Gerard Holbrook, son 
of Dwight and Kalista (Thayer) Hol- 
brook, was born July 27, 1867, in Wind- 
sor Locks. Before attaining his major- 
ity he went to New York and found em- 
ployment in the passenger department of 
the New York Central Railroad Com- 
pany, and later obtained a position in the 
actuarial department of the Mutual Life 
Insurance Company of New York. Sub- 
sequently he was employed in the execu- 
tive office of that company, and in 1893 
was sent to Dakota to organize an agency 
of the company. He drew about him men 
of initiative and ability, some of whom 
have since become distinguished in the 
life insurance world. Five of his asso- 
ciates became managers there and else- 
where for the Mutual Life of New York; 
three became managers or general agents 
of other companies, and two agency su- 
perintendents in the home offices of other 
insurance companies. In 1906 Mr. Hol- 
brook was called to Hartford to take 
charge of the interests of his company in 
that insurance center, and has continued 
as manager for the Mutual Life Insurance 
Company's business in Connecticut to the 
present time, gaining the good will of his 
competitors in business, and as a citizen 
working to further the best interests of 



his city and State. In the Connecticut 
Association of Life Underwriters, Mr. 
Holbrook has served successively as 
chairman of the executive committee, 
vice-president and president. In the Ma- 
sonic order he takes high rank under the 
Scottish Rite. Mr. Holbrook is a mem- 
ber of the Hartford Golf and other clubs, 
and through his Revolutionary ancestry 
in both lines of the Connecticut Society, 
Sons of the American Revolution. 

In 1898 Mr. Holbrook married Char- 
lotte Baldwin, daughter of Joseph D. 
Long, of Minneapolis, a member of an old 
Massachusetts family. Mr. and Mrs. Hol- 
brook have two sons : Robert Dwight, 
born June 7, 1899, and Darwin Long, 
July 5, 1903. 

(The Thayer Line). 

The Thayer family, of which Mrs. 
Kalista (Thayer) Holbrook is a scion, 
was founded in this country by Thomas 
Thayer, who was probably the Thomas 
Thayer baptized August 15, 1596, in 
Thornbury, County of Gloucester, Eng- 
land. He was supposed to have been a 
brother of Richard Thayer, who was, like 
himself, a settler in Braintree, Massachu- 
setts. He was married in Thornbury, 
April 13, 1618, to Margery Wheeler, and 
about 1630 they came to America accom- 
panied by three sons and probably other 
children. Thomas Thayer was admitted 
a freeman in Braintree in 1647 an d lived 
about one-quarter of a mile east of the 
present North Braintree Railroad station, 
near the Menotoquet river. For many years 
an iron mine was worked on this farm and 
a portion of it continued in possession of 
his descendants until 1892. He died June 
2, 1665. and his widow, Margery, Feb- 
ruary 11, 1672. 

Their eldest son, Thomas Thayer, born 
about 1624 in England, received the bulk 
of the homestead in Braintree by will of 



80 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



his father, and lived there until his death, 
August <). 1693. His will', Hannah, horn 
[624-25, died February 7. [698 

Their third son, John Thayer, horn De- 
cember 25, 1656, in Brain tree, was buried 
in that town. December \<>. 174''. He 

married Mary, daughter of Henry and 
Hannah (Pray) Xeale. horn May II, 
[664, and was buried July 26, 17- (. 

Their eldest child, John Thayer, horn 
June 30, \(^6, died December 10, 1745. 
in Braintree; his second wife bore the 
baptismal name of Lydia. 

Their youngest child, Elkanah Thayer, 
born August 14, 1737, lived in the Mid- 
dle Parish of that town and served the 
town in various official capacities. He 
married, November 30, 1 77 1 , Mary Adams, 
born February 9, 1755, in Braintree, eld- 
est child of Boylston and Mary (Allen) 
Adams, of that town. She was descended 
from Henry Adams, the immigrant ances- 
tor of what is known as the "Presidential 
Family." He was the father of Joseph 
Adams, who married Abigail P>axter, and 
had a son, Joseph Adams, who married 
Hannah Bass, of Braintree. Their son, 
Ebenezer Adams, married Ann Boyls- 
ton, and was the father of Boylston 
Adams, whose daughter married Elkanah 
Thayer. Ebenezer Adams was a brother 
of Deacon John Adams, who was the 
father of President John Adams. 

Elkanah Thayer, son of Elkanah and 
Mary Thayer, was born September 6, 
1 781, in Braintree, and married, in Octo- 
ber or November, 1805, Hannah Thaxter, 
born December 4, 1784. a daughter of 
Rev. Joseph Thaxter, a distinguished 
clergyman and patriot of Revolutionary 
times. He was born April 23, 1744, in 
Hingham, Massachusetts, graduated at 
Harvard in 1768, and as a young man 
fought at Concord, Lexington and Bunker 
Hill, and prior to the Declaration of In- 
dependence was commissioned chaplain 

Conn— 7-6 I 



by the Colonial Legislature of Massachu- 
setts, one of the earliest chaplains ap- 
pointed in that Struggle. After the war 
he became pastor of a church at Edgar- 
town, Massachusetts, and ministered to 
the Indians of Eastern Massachusetts 
and tlu- islands. He conducted the reli- 
gious exercises at the laying of the cor- 
nerstone of Bunker Hill Monument, and 
is said to have been the eldest chaplain 
of Massachusetts troops then living. He 
died July [8, 1827, in Edgartown. His 
grandson, Joseph Thaxter Thayer, son of 
Elkanah Thayer, was partly reared in the 
grandfather's family. He settled at Wil- 
liamsburg, Massachusetts, and there mar- 
ried Orrel White, as above noted. 



DART, Fred W„ 

Automobile Agent. 

Within the last quarter of a century 
the industrial world has been made over. 
Towards the last of the nineteenth cen- 
tury, the wonderful developments in elec- 
trical science gave an unprecedented im- 
pulse to every allied interest, because in 
one form or another the force was applied 
to nearly every line of production. When 
the automobile began to promise a future 
of real, practical usefulness, it opened one 
of the broadest avenues of effort ever 
offered to the business world. It was the 
energetic, well informed, alert business 
man, with a breadth of experience in 
other interests, who entered this business 
and has kept pace with its rapid strides. 
Fred W. Dart, of the Palace Auto Service 
Company, is one of these men. 

The derivation of the name Dart is 
clearly shown, as it originated from that 
form of weapon, as it was used in warfare. 
Dart is the generally accepted form of 
spelling, but in some old English records 
it is found Darte. The earliest record of 
this name in New England records is at 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



New London, and it is found widely scat- 
tered through the eastern part of the 
State, and some members of the family- 
are found in New Hampshire. 

(I) Richard Dart, of New London, the 
founder of the family in this section, mar- 
ried, in 1664, and the records give the, 
name of his wife as Bethia. He died Sep- 
tember 24, 1724, aged eighty-nine years. 

(II) Daniel Dart, son of Richard Dart, 
was born in New London, May 3, 1666. 
He married, August 4, 1686, Elizabeth, 
eldest daughter of William Douglas, and 
removed to Bolton about 1716. 

(III) Daniel (2) Dart, son of Daniel 
(1) Dart, was born August 31, 1691, and 
died February 19, 1791. On April 13, 
1719, he married Jemima, daughter of 
Abel Shaylor, who came of a prominent 
Haddam family. 

(IV) Jonathan Dart, son of Daniel (2) 
Dart, was born January 10, 1733. He 
married Lucy Whitney, of Canaan, June 
16, 1755. He was admitted to the Bolton 
church, May 28, 1758. They were the 
parents of eleven children. 

(V) Aaron Dart, seventh child and 
sixth son of Jonathan Dart, was born 
January 12, 1768, in Bolton, Connecticut. 
He married Sarah Shaylor. He became 
an extensive farmer in what is now the 
town of West Hartford. 

(VI) Edmund Dart, fifth child and 
second son of Aaron Dart, was born 
March 10, 1797, in Tolland, Connecticut, 
where the family lived during his early 
school days. He married Mary Ann Bar- 
tram Withenbury, of Hartford, who was 
of English descent, and a daughter of 
Benjamin Withenbury. They lived in 
Hartford and West Hartford, and be- 
came prosperous farmers, Mr. Dart fol- 
lowing this calling as long as he lived. 
He died March 8, 1861. 

(VII) Joseph Dart, eighth child and 
fourth son of Edmund Dart, was born 

82 



August 5, 1839, in West Hartford, near 
the old Wadsworth Tavern. He was edu- 
cated in the schools of West Hartford and 
Hartford, and being a quiet, studious boy 
was very thorough in his work. After 
leaving school he went South and then 
West, interesting himself in the steam- 
boat business. He made the last trip up 
the Mississippi river before the blockade 
of the river at the beginning of the War 
of the Rebellion. He returned to Hart- 
ford, and during the war engaged in the 
picture frame business in Hartford. Sub- 
sequent to that period, and up to 1874, 
he was associated with his father-in-law 
in the manufacture of cotton twines in 
South Woodstock, Connecticut, and Ox- 
ford, Massachusetts. Later on, Mr. Dart 
removed to New York and engaged in the 
cotton goods commission business. He 
remained in this line for about nineteen 
years, during a portion of that time sell- 
ing goods on the road. He returned to 
Hartford and was engaged in stock farm- 
ing for some years, in connection with 
which he made extensive improvements 
on his real estate, and opened up many 
streets on his own property, in the vicin- 
ity of New Britain avenue. 

Mr. Dart married, on September 18, 
1862, Adelaide A. Warner, of South 
Woodstock, Windham county, Connecti- 
cut. They were members of the Baptist 
church. Daniel W'arner, father of Mrs. 
Dart, was born in Smithfield, Rhode 
Island, and died in Hartford, eighteen or 
twenty years ago, at the age of ninety-six 
or ninety-eight years. He spent his early 
life in Oxford, Massachusetts, and Wood- 
stock, Connecticut. While yet a young 
man he began the manufacture of cotton 
twine and warp. At one time he owned a 
chain of mills numbering six or seven. 
He had the distinction of making the first 
ball of hand-wound twine in America. 

(VIII) Fred W. Dart, second child 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF HIOGKAI'HY 



and eldest son of Joseph Dart, was born 
September -\ [87a. He was quite a lad 

when his father removed to New York 

City, and the boy grew up there, remain- 
ing in the city for eighteen years, lie 
received his education at the Polytechnic 
Institute, Brooklyn. After completing 
his formal studies, he entered the employ 
of C. P. Rogers. For some time he rep- 
resented them on the road, and later was 
buyer for the firm in their silk and drap- 
ery department. Salesmanship itself is 
a liberal education, and this experience 
fitted the young man for larger endeav- 
ors. About twenty years ago, he came 
to Hartford, and for several years en- 
gaged in the real estate business, buying 
unimproved land, and developing the sub- 
divisions. The southwestern section of 
the city, especially, bears enduring testi- 
mony of Mr. Dart's activities in the de- 
velopment of barren acres into comfort- 
able, suburban homes. He still continues 
in this line, but not so extensively as 
formerly, as it is crowded to one side by 
the more pressing demands of his recent 
interests. Some years ago he became in- 
terested in the automobile business, which 
now takes up nearly all of his attention. 
At first he sold the Northern automobile, 
but has handled a number of other cars, 
principally the Thomas Flyer, the Mitchell 
and Haynes. He has handled the last 
two for the past four or five years. In 
this work he finds ample opportunity for 
the exercise of his splendid abilities. Mr. 
Dart is a genial man, and his work, which 
has brought him in touch with ''all sorts 
and conditions of men." has made him an 
interesting talker. He is a thorough bus- 
iness man, one of those men who make 
Hartford the mercantile as well as the 
social and legislative center of the State. 
Mr. Dart is a member of the City Club, 
the Rotary Club, the Automobile Club, 
the Country Club, of Springfield, the 



Hartford Chamber of Commerce, and the 
Automobile Dealers' Association. 

Mr. Dart married Claribel Ashton, of 
Philadelphia, and they have one son, 

Harold Ashton, who was called into the 
United States service in the war with 
Germany, but finally had no opportunity 
to go overseas. 



ST. JOHN, George H., 

Business Man. 

Among the well known business men 
of the city of Hartford, George H. 
St John has attained a respected and 
esteemed place because of his fairness 
and uprightness in business dealings. He 
is a scion of an old Colonial family of 
Connecticut, whose members have been 
true patriots and citizens of upright, 
sterling character. In early days the 
name of St. John was also spelled Sen- 
sion and Sention, the latter two styles 
being evidently a phonetic representation 
of a very short pronunciation of St. 
John. The following excerpt is taken 
from the New England Historical and 
Genealogical Register : 

I believe these families (St. John, Throckmor- 
ton, Willoughby, and Sands) are the four great 
pillars of Elizabethan England, replacing the 
great feudal earls. 

The St. John family was essentially English, 
and brethren of the royal family of Tudor by 
the half blood, hence their powerful position. In 
the first generation they were divided into two 
sections — the senior line at Bletsoe in Bedford- 
shire; and the junior line at Lidiard Tegoze, in 
Wiltshire. Both these localities were hotbeds 
of Puritanism, and many of our early pioneers 
were connected with the two St. John houses. 

George H. St. John was born March 
25, 1871, in Phelps, New York, son of 
Charles R. St. John, and grandson of 
Charles G. St. John. The latter made his 
home in Hartford and was long engaged 
in farming. In early life the son, Charles 



83 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



R., also followed agricultural pursuits, 
and owned a large farm on Asylum Hill. 
This he sold and removed to Phelps, New 
York, where he continued farming for fif- 
teen years. On his return to Connecticut 
he settled at Windsor, where he operated 
an old fashioned saw-mill in addition to 
his farm work. In his later life he sought 
a change from the arduous labors of the 
farm and engaged in mercantile business, 
and he was for more than twenty years 
employed by the large dry goods house 
of Brown-Thomson & Company, of Hart- 
ford. Mr. St. John married Caroline 
Hicks, and they were the parents of 
eleven children, nine of whom grew to 
manhood and womanhood, six of whom 
are as follows : William E., George H., 
Arthur R., Robert, Luella, Annetta. Mr. 
and Mrs. St. John were regular attend- 
ants of the Methodist Episcopal church 
of Hartford, and in the good works of 
that institution they took an active part. 
George H. St. John, the second son and 
child of this marriage, of whom this 
article more particularly treats, received 
his education in the public schools of Hart- 
ford. He early displayed in his char- 
acter those qualities of resourcefulness 
and business acumen which prophesy the 
successful man in business. He served 
his apprenticeship to learn the plumbing 
business under George Mahl. Sufficient 
evidence of his ability in this line is the 
fact that in 1905 he engaged in business 
on his own account, doing general plumb- 
ing and steam heating, also including re- 
pairs and contracting work. The high 
standard of his work and his strict integ- 
rity in business details have won for him 
a well defined place among his business 
associates. Outside of his business ab- 
sorptions, Mr. St. John has few other 
interests. Devoted to his home and fam- 
ily he takes little part in civic affairs, 
although willing to foster and aid in any 



welfare movement, and those who desire 
his assistance in the furthering of any 
worthy project find him most easy of 
access. Quiet and unassuming in man- 
ner, he finds his keenest enjoyment within 
his own family circle. 

Mr. St. John married Elizabeth Hart, 
daughter of William Hart, a native of 
Barkhamstead, Connecticut. The ancestry 
of Mrs. St. John also traces to early Con- 
necticut families. The marriage of Mr. 
St. John has been blessed with six chil- 
dren : Eleanor M., Dorothy, Russell G., 
Gladys, Lawrence, Mildred. With his 
family, Mr. St. John attends the St. 
Thomas Episcopal Church of Hartford, 
and is active in the works of that institu- 
tion. 



BURKE, Augustus M., 

Enterprising Citizen. 

Among the well known and prominent 
business men of the city of Rockville, 
Connecticut, Augustus M. Burke is held 
in high esteem for his integrity and up- 
right business dealings. Mr. Burke was 
born November 18, 1873, in the city where 
he has attained his success, the son of 
Henry and Ann (Norton) Burke. The 
Irish family of Burke are traced to the 
Anglo-Norman, De Burghs, one of whom 
settled in Ireland soon after the acquisi- 
tion of that country by the English raon- 
archs. The name, Afric de Burc, appar- 
ently of Saxon origin, appears in the 
Domesday of Suffolk. 

Henry Burke, father, was born May 
31, 1835, in County Galway, Ireland, son 
of John Burke. He died April 3, 1916, at 
his home in Rockville, Connecticut. 
Henry Burke landed in New York, July 
3, 1850. Locating in Dedham, Massachu- 
setts, Henry found employment there in 
driving the stage between Dedham and 
West Dedham, and this incident, trivial 



84 




^^T^/^^^f '. 



LXCYCLOI'KDIA ()!•' BIOCRAI'UY 



in itself, determined the course <>f his fu- 
ture activities. In 1853 he removed to 
Rockville, Connecticut, wliere lie entered 
the American Mill as a spinner, having 
previously learned that branch of textile 
manufacturing- in Lawrence, Massachu- 
setts. He gave up mill work to do team- 
ing for Mr. Gaynor, who was in the flock 
business. His driving took him through 
Hartford, Manchester, Broad Brook and 
neighboring towns. 

He was ambitious and thrifty, and after 
a time he acquired sufficient means to 
purchase three horses from his employer. 
With this equipment, he established him- 
self in the teaming business, hauling 
goods between Rockville and Hartford. 
As business increased he added other 
teams and in 1858 had prospered to such 
an extent that he was able to start a liv- 
ery business. In i860, he bought the 
business of his competitor, David Dart. 
In the early days of Rockville, before the 
railroads had been built, Henry Burke 
was a familiar figure on the road between 
Rockville and Hartford. For nearly half 
a century he was known as one of the 
most reliable men in the teaming and liv- 
ery business in his section of the State. 
Enterprising and energetic he permitted 
no obstacle to bar his progress to the goal 
of his ambition. Careful to keep his 
promises and punctual in making deliv- 
eries, he established an enviable reputa- 
tion. 

In 1861 he acquired an excellent farm 
which at the time of his death comprised 
about 130 acres. To this farm he had 
retired in 1898, leaving the practical man- 
agement of his livery and teaming in the 
efficient hands of his son. In his later 
years Mr. Burke made a specialty of 
tobacco culture. Concentrating all his 
excellent powers and abilities in the intel- 
ligent direction of his business, and never 
forgetting his early lessons of thrift and 



frugality, Mr. I'.urke attained a degree of 
success not attained by many in his line 
and became an extensive real estate 
owner. Mr. I'.urke's career offers a splen- 
did example of the accomplishments of a 
self-made man. Plain and unassuming 
in manner he had the courage of his con- 
victions. He was honest and upright in 
his dealings, and won the confidence and 
esteem of all who knew him. Possessing 
many splendid qualities of mind and 
heart, he had a host of staunch and loyal 
friends. He was a tireless worker until 
his health became enfeebled. The spot- 
light had no attraction for him, for he 
was domestic in his tastes and was fond 
of the companionship of his intimate 
friends. He was always interested in 
everything pertaining to the welfare of 
Rockville, and his generous nature and 
warm heart responded quickly to all 
those appeals that commended them- 
selves to his judgment as being for the 
good of the community. His private 
charities were many and unostentatious. 
It embarrassed him to have the knowl- 
edge of his many kindly acts come to 
light. He loved the great out-of-doors 
and took a keen interest in Rockville's 
annual fairs. He never sought or desired 
political office, but was a consistent mem- 
ber of the Democratic party. 

In October, 1856, he married Ann Nor- 
ton, born December, 1836, daughter of 
Michael and Bridget (O'Donnell) Nor- 
ton, a native of his own section of Ire- 
land, who came to America in 1852. She 
proved to be an ideal helpmeet and com- 
panion, contributing her share to the suc- 
cess and prosperity of the family. They 
were the parents of eleven children, six 
of whom grew to maturity : Francis H., 
member of the undertaking firm of Cav- 
anaugh & Burke; William T. ; Arthur 
B., deceased ; Augustus M., of further 
mention; Mary Jane, wife of Louis P. 



8« 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Matthews, of Baltimore ; and Rosella 
(Burke) Harrington. 

Augustus M. Burke was educated in 
the Rockville grammar and high school of 
Rockville. During intervals when school 
was not in session, he assisted his father 
on the home farm and in the livery busi- 
ness, and as his father advanced in years, 
the young man assumed more and more 
of the responsibilities of the management 
of the business, thus permitting his father 
in his declining years to enjoy well 
earned leisure. The business was re- 
moved to its present location in the rear 
of the Rockville hotel on February I, 
1901, where the livery business was con- 
tinued until about two years ago, when 
the inroads of the automobile made it no 
longer profitable. Mr. Burke established 
himself in the garage business in the 
spring of 191 1. Five years later his pres- 
ent garage, enclosing nearly one-half acre 
of ground and one of the largest in the 
State, was erected. He is agent for many 
of the leading automobiles and trucks, 
and conducts a general service station. 
Mr. Burke has attained a prominent posi- 
tion among the business men of Rock- 
ville, and is looked upon as a success in 
his line. He is a director of the Rockville 
Fair Association ; member of the Knights 
of Columbus, and charter member of 
Rockville Lodge, No. 1350, Benevolent 
and Protective Order of Elks. 

Mr. Burke married Jennie, daughter of 
Roger and Mary (Hurley) Crough, and 
they are the parents of one daughter, 
Helen Mary Burke. Roger Crough was a 
resident of Rockville for many years, re- 
moving in the seventies to Meriden, Con- 
necticut, and there was long engaged in 
building. A native of the County Tipper- 
ary, Ireland, in 1863, he came to America, 
and located in Rockville, where he mar- 
ried Mary Hurley. He learned the trade 
of mason, and has attained a well de- 



served reputation as a builder in the city 
of Meriden, where he and his wife now 
reside. Mr. Crough has also been prom- 
inent in the civic and church activities of 
that city. Mr. and Mrs. Crough were the 
parents of six children, two of whom sur- 
vive ; they are : Jennie, wife of Augustus 
M. Burke; and Mary A., who resides at 
home with her parents. 



BROOK, James, 

Manufacturer. 

For many generations the family of 
Brook has been an honored one in Scis- 
sett, Yorkshire, England, and the name 
has been borne worthily and well by its 
descendants. James Brook, for many 
years president and manager of the Board 
Brook Company, attained deservedly high 
rank in both business and social circles 
by virtue of his capabilities and sterling 
worth. 

Mr. Brook was born December 18, 1848, 
in Scissett, son of George and Hannah 
Brook. He was educated in private 
schools and at the Tattersfield Academy 
for Gentlemen. It was with the firm of 
John Brook & Son, cloth exporters, that 
Mr. Brook entered upon his business 
career, and as a matter of coincidence it 
is interesting to note that throughout his 
life he was associated with enterprises 
carrying the same name as his own, yet 
none of the other Brooks were related to 
him. After ten years Mr. Brook resigned 
from his connection with the above 
named firm to accept the position of man- 
ager of the English branch of E. H. Van 
Ingen & Company, of New York City, 
importers of fabrics for the clothing 
trade. Subsequently, in partnership with 
a Mr. Ogden, the English branch of Van 
Ingen & Company was purchased, and 
the business conducted under the firm 
name of Ogden & Brook with marked 



86 



KWYCLOl'HDIA OF I5K KIKAI'I I Y 



SUCCesa until I904. In the latter year the 

other interests of Mr. Brook so occupied 

his time that he found it necessary to 

withdraw. Previously, about [895, lie had 
become identified with the Broad Hrook 
Woohn Company, as a member of its 
directorate, subsequently becoming presi- 
dent of the corporation in 1897. The year 
following, Mr. Brook removed to Hart- 
ford, and from that time until his death 
he made that city his home. In 1897, the 
year he assumed the office of president 
of the Broad Brook Company, it was in 
a very precarious condition, but through 
the able management of Mr. Brook it was 
soon placed on a sound financial basis, 
developing into one of the most success- 
ful plants in the State. Mr. Brook was 
possessed of a kindly and generous per- 
sonality ; he was honored and respected 
for his high standards. As a man he was 
admired for his cultured mind, and his 
industrious and public-spirited life. He 
was affiliated with the Masonic order, a 
member of Huddersfield Lodge in Eng- 
land. He was a valued member of St. 
John's Episcopal Church of Hartford, and 
served many years as vestryman there. 

Mr. Brook married Hannah, daughter 
of George Thompson, and they were the 
parents of six children, five of whom re- 
side in England. They are : James Wil- 
liam, Elizabeth Lillian, George E., John 
H., and Frank Herman. Harry Clement 
Brook, the fourth son, receives extended 
mention below. 

Harry Clement Brook, son of James 
and Hannah (Thompson) Brook, was 
born November 5, 1883, in Huddersfield, 
England. He received the advantages of 
an excellent education, attending Teten- 
hall College and subsequently pursuing 
a course at the Huddersfield Technical 
School, where he specialized in textile 
designing and weaving. Thus the foun- 
dation of a career was laid which bids 



fair to be one of signal Success. After 

completing his course, Mr. Brook came 

to America with his father, in due course 
of time becoming associated in busini 
witli him. Alter the death of hi- father, 
Mr. Brook succeeded him as director and 
is also manager of the corporation. From 
his honored father, Mr. Brook has in- 
herited worthy characteristics, and pos- 
sesses many of those qualities which 
make for success. He has a fine mind, 
and the ability to understand men and 
conditions, which in his official capacity 
form an important factor to his value as 
an executive. 

Mr. Brook married Amy Katharine 
Pearson, of Arizona, and they are attend- 
ants of St. John's Episcopal Church, of 
Hartford. 



PECK, Charles Erasmus, 

Head of Important Business. 

The name of Peck is of great antiquity, 
i> found in Belton, Yorkshire, England, at 
an early date, and from there scattered 
over not only England, but every civilized 
country. A branch of the family of Hes- 
den and Wakefield, Yorkshire, removed 
to Beccles, County of Suffolk, and were 
the ancestors of Joseph Peck, of Hing- 
ham, County Norfolk, who founded the 
family in this country. The arms to which 
the descendants of Joseph Peck are en- 
titled are as follows: 

Anns — Argent, on a chevron, engrailed gules, 
three heads formed of the first. 

Crest — Cubit arm erected habited azure, cuff 
argent, hand proper, holding on one stalk, enfiled 
with a scroll, three roses gules leaved vertical. 

John Peck, of Belton, Yorkshire, mar- 
ried a Melgrave, and had Thomas Peck, 
whose wife was a Middleton. Their son, 
Robert Peck, married at Tunstall. and he 
was the father of Robert Peck, of Belton, 
whose wife was a Musgrove. Their son, 



8: 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



John Peck, married a Watford, and was 
the father of Thomas Peck, who married 
a Blaxton, of Blaxton. Their eldest child, 
Thomas Peck, of Belton, married a Lit- 
tleton, and had John Peck, who married 
a Carre. Their son, John Peck, of Bel- 
ton, married a Fleming, and was the 
father of John Peck, who married a 
Wenebourne. Their second son, Richard 
Peck, was the father of Richard Peck, of 
Hesden, whose son, Thomas Peck, mar- 
ried a Bradley. His son, Richard Peck, 
was the father of John Peck, whose son, 
Richard Peck, of Wakefield, married 
Johanne, daughter of John Harrington, 
esquire. Their eldest child, Richard 
Peck, married Alice, daughter of Sir Peter 
Middleton. Their eldest child, John 
Peck, of W T akefield, married Johanne, 
daughter of John Anne, of Trickley. 
Their youngest son, Robert Peck, lived at 
Beccels, County Suffolk, and was the 
father of Robert Peck, of that place, who 
died in 1593, aged forty-seven years. He 
married Helen, daughter of Nicholas 
Babbs, of Gilford. 

(I) Joseph Peck, fourth son of Robert 
Peck, was the founder of the family 
in this country. He was baptized in 
Beccels, and in 1638, in company with 
other Puritans, including his brother, 
Rev. Robert Peck, their pastor, came to 
America in the ship "Diligent," of Ips- 
wich, England. He was accompanied by 
his wife, three sons, two daughters, two 
men servants and three maid servants, 
and settled at Hingham, Massachusetts, 
where he was granted a home lot of 
seven acres adjoining that of his brother. 
After seven years he removed to See- 
konk, later known as Rehoboth. In 1639 
he represented Hingham in the General 
Court, was active in town affairs, and was 
one of the principal purchasers of See- 
konk from the Indians in 1641. Thither 
he removed in 1645, an d was active in the 



affairs of the new town. In 1650 he was 
authorized to perform marriages and to 
assist in matters of controversy at court. 
Some of the land granted to him is still 
held by his descendants. His home was 
near the present railroad station of the 
Boston & Providence line. There he died 
December 23, 1663. He married at Hing- 
ham, England, May 21, 1617, Rebecca 
Clark, who died there October 24, 1637. 

(II) Joseph (2) Peck, eldest child of 
Joseph (1) Peck, was baptized August 
23, 1623, in England, and was fifteen 
years of age when he came with his 
father to America. He settled at Reho- 
both, 1647, residing near his father until 
1660, when he removed to the southwest- 
ern part of the town on Palmer's river. 
He was active in promoting town affairs. 
He died in November, 1705. 

(III) Jathniel Peck, eldest son of Jos- 
eph (2) Peck, was born July 4, 1660, in 
Rehoboth, inherited lands, resided near 
his father, became wealthy and influential, 
and died April 5, 1742. From 1721 to 
1 73 1, with the exception of one year, he 
was representative, was active in church 
affairs and gave one acre for the site of 
the Palmer's River Church, in whose 
yard he was buried. He married, January 
28, 1689, Sarah Smith, born November 
19, 1660, in Rehoboth, eldest child of 
Daniel and Ester (Chickering) Smith, 
of that town. 

(IV) Ensign Daniel Peck, eldest child 
of Jathniel Peck, was born January 30, 
1690, and settled in the northern part of 
Rehoboth, which was later a part of the 
town of Attleboro and is now Cumber- 
land, Rhode Island. He had lands, as a 
proprietor, in 1750, purchased more and 
became a large land holder, his property 
lying on the east side of the Blackstone 
river. In 1724 he was town clerk of Attle- 
boro, and filled the same position in the 
town of Cumberland after it was cut off, 



ENCYCD >PEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



until his death, November 6, 1750. lit 1 
married, intentions published March 16, 

1715, in Rehoboth, the marriage taking 
place in Woodstock, Connecticut, April 
14, following, Sarali Paine, born Decem- 
ber 11, (690, daughter of Samuel and 
Anne 1 Peck) i>e C k, of Rehoboth, later of 
Woodstock. 

(V) Daniel (2) Peck, only son of Dan- 
iel (1) Peck, was born November 13, 
I7_'^, lived in Cumberland, where he died 
October 11, 1750, a few days before his 
father. He married 1 lopestill Dexter, born 
September 15, 1726, in Smithfield, Rhode 
Island, daughter of James and Hannah 
Dexter. 

(VI) George Peck, eldest son of Dan- 
iel (2) Peck, was born September 2, 1749, 
in Cumberland, resided there on the home- 
stead of his grandfather, was a soldier of 
the Revolution, represented the town in 
the General Assembly, and about 1782 
removed to Eastport, Maine. He mar- 
ried, April 12, 1770, in Smithfield, Rhode 
Island, Phoebe Whipple, daughter of 
Stephen and Phoebe (Ballou) Whipple, 
of that town. 

(VII) Dr. Daniel (3) Peck, son of 
George Peck, was born October 7, 1771, 
in Cumberland, Rhode Island, and set- 
tled in the practice of his profession at 
Stafford, Connecticut, residing in West 
Stafford, where he died April 20, 1828. 
He married. April 9, 1797, at the Second 
Church of Stafford, Persis Ladd. She 
was admitted to that church, September 
18, 1812. 

(VIII) Daniel Alonzo Peck, son of Dr. 
Daniel (3) Peck, was born August 4, 
1806, in Stafford, was baptized at the 
Second Stafford Church. October 31, 
1813. Soon after attaining his majority 
he settled in the town of Ellington, Con- 
necticut, which he represented in the Gen- 
eral Court in 1838-39. He married Joanne 
Strickland, a native of Stafford, daughter 
of Samuel and Hannah (Eaton) Strick- 



land, the latter a daughter of John and 
Sally 1 Moulton ) Katon. 

(IX) Rial S. Peck, third son of Daniel 
AJonzO and Joanne (Strickland) Peck, 
was born October 24, 1847, ' n Ellington, 
and died March i_\ [91 1. At the age of 
fourteen years he went to Troy, New 
Ymk, and was there employed several 
years in a dry goods store. Thence he 
proceeded to Hartford, Connecticut, 
where he was engaged by H. C. Judd & 
Roo', wholesale woolen merchants, with 
whom he continued some twenty years. 
Afterward he became interested in the 
printing business, which was finally in- 
corporated under the title of R. S. Peck 
& Company. The last twenty years of 
his life were devoted to the promotion of 
this enterprise, which developed a large 
and profitable business. Mr. Peck was a 
member of St. John's Lodge, No. 4, An- 
cient Free and Accepted Masons, of Hart- 
ford, which he served as master, and was 
also a commander of Washington Com- 
mandery, No. 1, Knights Templar. He 
was a member of the Connecticut Con- 
sistory, and a past potentate of Sphinx 
Temple, Ancient Arabic Order Nobles of 
the Mystic Shrine. It is thus apparent 
that he was active in promoting the in- 
terests of this great benevolent fraternity. 
He married Emma Perry, daughter of 
Valet Perry, who conducted a music 
store in Hartford for several years before 
his death. Mr. and Mrs. Peck were the 
parents of two sons, Charles Krasmus 
and Hubert Perry, the latter born Octo- 
ber 13, 1879, has been associated with his 
brother for some years in business. He 
married Mabel Wolcott, and had a son 
and daughter, Rial and Catherine. 

( X ) Charles Erasmus Peck, senior son 
of Rial S. and Emma (Perry) Peck, was 
born April 23, 1875, in Hartford, where 
his life has been devoted to a leading in- 
dustry. As a youth he attended the pub- 
lic schools of Hartford and graduated 



89 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



from the Sheffield Scientific School of 
Yale University as an electrical engineer 
with the degree of Ph. B., in 1896. On 
leaving the university he took employ- 
ment with the Brainerd Milling Machine 
Company, of Hyde Park, Massachusetts. 
Because of the serious illness of his 
father he was obliged to give up this 
employment and returned to Hartford, 
where he assumed management of the 
printing business. He went to work in 
the shop to gain a practical knowledge of 
the business, and thus fitted himself for 
the proper management of all details. 
This is one of the largest institutions of 
its kind, employing some fifty men on an 
average, and specializes on fine catalogue 
and book work, with a department de- 
voted to expert advertising in the interest 
of its customers. Like his father, Mr. 
Peck has long been active in the Masonic 
order, affiliated with St. John's Lodge, 
No. 4, Ancient Free and Accepted Ma- 
sons, Washington Commandery, No. 1, 
Knights Templar, Connecticut Consistory 
and Sphinx Temple. He is also asso- 
ciated with many of the leading clubs of 
his home city, including the University 
Club, Rotary Club, Farmington Country 
Club, Highland Country Club, and the 
Yale Club, of New York He is also a 
member of the Hartford Chamber of 
Commerce. 

Mr. Peck married, February 25, 1902, 
Ethel Chase, of Holyoke, Massachusetts, 
daughter of Sanford Chase, of that city. 
She is a member of the Center Congrega- 
tional Church of Hartford and the Moth- 
erhood Club. Mr. and Mrs. Peck are the 
parents of two daughters, Alice and 
Eugenia. 



KRAMER, John, 

Merchant. 

America is symbolical of the land of 
hope, opportunity and achievement for 



the man born under another flag. The 
story of our country, her rise, glory and 
triumph contains thousands of names 
whose childhood allegiance went to an- 
other country, but whose patriotism and 
love for the land of their adoption are 
sometimes greater than that of the Amer- 
ican born. Such a one was John Kramer, 
born about 1856 in Eisenbaum, Rhein- 
falz, Germany, died August 21, 1917, in 
Rockville, Connecticut, son of Karl 
Kramer. The family of Kramer was an 
old one in that part of Germany. 

When a boy of sixteen, young Kramer 
came to America, locating first in Scran- 
ton, Pennsylvania. He had learned the 
baker's trade with his father in Germany, 
and engaged in it in the west end in New 
York City. Three years after coming to 
this country, at nineteen years of age, he 
came to Rockville, Connecticut, where he 
remained until his death, one of the most 
highly esteemed business men of that 
city. Soon after attaining his majority, 
he was in a position to engage in busi- 
ness for himself. Mr. Kramer was frugal 
and thrifty, and by judicious management 
of his affairs and strict attention to the 
smallest details, he succeeded in accumu- 
lating a competence. His conscientious 
adherence to the high standard of produc- 
tion, honesty in using only the best ma- 
terials where an inferior quality might 
not have been detected, coupled with uni- 
form courtesy and tireless energy, re- 
sulted in the building of a substantial 
business which was carried on by Mrs. 
Kramer for a time and then leased. 

Mr. Kramer was very public spirited, 
and every worthy cause could count on 
his support. He took a keen and active 
interest in all welfare movements. His 
fraternal affiliations were with the Forest- 
ers of America, Court Snipsnic, and the 
German Sick Society. Throughout his 
life, he was a regular and valued member 



90 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF I'.K >GKAI'l IV 



of the Lutheran church and took an ac- 
tive part in its support. 

He married. October jo, 1S7S, Bertha, 
daughter of Martin and Elizabeth Yost 

Martin Yost was a native >>t 1 fesse Darm- 
stadt, ami died in January. [883. I !<■ eame 
to America in his youth, locating in 
Rockville where lie was engaged in the" 
mill business for the remainder of liis 
life, and was a musician of some note. He 
was a sergeant in the Civil War, and 
served until the close. His father, Martin 
Yost, was for many years engaged in the 
hakery business and resided on a farm in 
Vernon. Connecticut. Martin Yost, Jr., 
married Elizabeth Urkstadt, and was the 
father of six children, the of whom grew 
to maturity : Bertha, widow of John 
Kramer; Katherine, died in childhood; 
Martin, deceased; Frederick; Henry; and 
Elizabeth. 

Mr. and Mrs. Kramer were the parents 
of the following children: Margaret, wife 
of Frank Rizzy, of Norfolk, Virginia ; 
Bertha Flora ; Lena Elizabeth ; and John. 



WILLIAMS, Alfred C. J., 

Man of Many Activities. 

If there is one business more than an- 
other in which art and utility meet, it is 
that of the furrier, and in Hartford, and 
indeed throughout Connecticut, there is 
no name better known in the fur trade 
than Williams. For over fifty years 
father and son have maintained the high- 
est standards of quality and business in- 
tegrity. 

The origin of the name Williams is lost 
in the mists of antiquity. Before sur- 
names came into use men were known 
only by one name ; as Peter, Thomas, John 
or William ; and suffixes were added to 
indicate the relationship between father 
and son. Thus John's son became John- 
son, and the sons of Peter and William, 



by the addition of the possessive "-." be- 
came respectively Peters and Williams. 
The latter is among the oldest "f patro- 
nymics, and though families bearing this 

name are widely scattered in England and 

America, the name is generally considered 
to he of Welsh origin and it-, ancient 
form was Ap Williams. 

(I) George H. Williams, grandfather 
of Alfred C. J. Williams, spent a long and 
active life as a resident of London, Eng- 
land. He was a collector, employed by 
Sir Henry Meux in his brewery. I !<■ mar- 
ried Ann Cottrel, a native of London. 
Six children were born of the marriage, 
and all are now deceased. Both the 
grandparents were members of the F.pis- 
copal church, and both lived to a good 
old age. 

(II) Alfred Williams, father of Alfred 
C. J. Williams, early showed an ambition 
to strike out for himself in a new line. 
He became apprenticed to a furrier and 
learned the trade. He was keenly inter- 
ested in his work, soon gained skill and 
became an expert. For many years he 
was connected with the firm of G. Smith 
& Company, one of the best known fur 
houses in the city of London. In 1857 he 
came to New York, where he remained 
for a time in the employ of John Ruszits, 
a prominent furrier. In 1859 he came to 
Hartford, and became identified with the 
firm of Strong & Woodruff, one of the 
largest fur houses in the city. Except 
for three years in New York, he held a 
position for sixteen years with this firm 
as foreman of the fur department, demon- 
strating in a practical way his adminis- 
trative ability. In New York he became 
interested in designing, having charge of 
the manufacturing department of Kings- 
bury, Abbott. Gay & Company, of that 
city. Returning to Hartford in 1875, he 
established himself in the manufacturing 
branch of the trade, numbering among his 



91 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



patrons Elsworth Strong, C. R. Dix, R. 
G. Watrous, James Daniels and Priest & 
Daniels. As time passed he reached out 
into the retail branch of the trade, and 
established himself so thoroughly with 
people of taste that he gave up the whole- 
sale trade in 1890 to devote his attention 
entirely to his retail interests. This wide 
experience, together with his infinite 
capacity for detail, gave Mr. Williams an 
enviable position as an authority, such as 
can be attained only by persistent and 
intelligent application to business. His 
specialty was seal skin garments of the 
finest quality. He was held in high es- 
teem by -the business circles of Hartford 
as a representative business man. He died 
in 1891, at the age of sixty-two. For 
many years Mr. Williams was a member 
of Grace Episcopal Church, in Windsor, 
of which he was warden at the time of 
his death. Being a devout man, he 
served the church in some official capacity 
during the greater part of his membership 
there. He was a member of St. John's 
Lodge, No. 4, Free and Accepted Masons, 
and of Magnolia Lodge, Independent 
Order of Odd Fellows, of Brooklyn, New 
York. While he could never be induced 
to accept political honors, he was a thor- 
oughly public-spirited citizen and staunch 
supporter of the Republican party. He 
was a member of the Governor's Foot 
Guard for many years. 

Alfred Williams married (first) Martha 
A. Farley, a native of London, the daugh- 
ter of Joseph Farley, a steel-plate polisher, 
famous as chief bell-ringer of London. 
He died at the age of sixty years. To 
Alfred and Martha A. Williams were born 
seven children, of whom Alfred C. J. was 
the second. The others now living are : 
Mrs. George H. Williams, of Windsor; 
Emily, Mrs. Charles A. Gray : Annie, who 
married Frank W. Barber, in Windsor; 
and Frances, who married Fred B. 



Bower, of Windsor. The mother died in 
Hartford at the age or thirty-six years. 
She was a member of St. Thomas' Epis- 
copal Church. Mr. Williams married 
(second) Emeline A. Tompkins, who was 
a native of Litchfield, Connecticut. A 
son of this marriage, Harry B., is now 
engaged in the insurance business in 
Hartford. 

(Ill) Alfred C. J. Williams was born 
in London, England, December 9, 1855, 
and in early infancy was brought by his 
parents to America. He was a studious, 
home-loving boy ; was educated in the 
public schools of New York and Hartford. 
He early showed an interest in his father's 
business, and although he had several 
opportunities of following that trade with 
other establishments to his great advan- 
tage, he chose to be identified with his 
father's firm, and in the early nineties 
was made a partner. The firm name be- 
came Alfred Williams & Son. Under the 
management of the son the firm has con- 
tinued to cater to the best trade, and its 
standard of quality is in no degree dim- 
inished. Excellence of workmanship is as 
much a feature of their finished product 
as are good taste and style. These goods 
have taken first prizes and medals at 
each of the various State fairs where they 
have been exhibited, more than justify- 
ing the claim of superior quality. The 
firm enjoys a well-earned reputation 
which is by no means confined within the 
boundaries of this State. 

In 1882, Mr. Williams married Millie 
K. Bond, a native of Hartford, and of 
this union was born one son, Raymond 
Sidney. Mrs. Williams is the only child 
of Lafayette K. Bond, for many years a 
citizen of Hartford, and a cabinet maker 
by trade. The son married Marie Simp- 
son, of Bristol, Connecticut, and has one 
child, Inez Marie. 

Besides being a figure of mark in the 



92 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



business life of the city, Mr. Williams 
takes ;i broad interest in fraternal and 
civic matters. He has held every office 
in St. John's Lodge, No. 4, Free and Ac- 
cepted Masons, of which he has been a 
member for many years. He is past 
master, and treasures a souvenir of the 
esteem of his fellow officers and members 
in the form of a magnificent past master's 
jewel, presented upon the expiration of 
his term of office, lie is a member of 
Pythagoras Chapter, and of Wolcott 
Council, No. 1, of which he is past thrice 
illustrious master; and has filled numer- 
ous other chairs. He is past patron of 
Ivanhoe Chapter, Order of the Eastern 
Star; also of Washington Commandery, 
No. 1, and of the Scottish Rite bodies up 
to and including the thirty-second degree. 
He was a member of the board of trustees 
of Connecticut Lodge, Independent Order 
of Odd Fellows, and of Midian Encamp- 
ment, having held a number of offices in 
both organizations. He was also a mem- 
ber of the Royal Arcanum, the Ancient 
Order of United Workmen, and the Order 
of Heptasophs. He was a member of the 
Governor's Foot Guard for twenty-four 
years, and was fourth sergeant under 
Major Kinney, under whom he obtained 
his discharge in 1890. He joined the 
veteran corps after leaving the active 
company Foot Guard, and served two 
years as captain ; then was elected major, 
serving four years. He enjoys the dis- 
tinction, or rather the honor, for the fact 
should be more widely known, of having 
been instrumental in the adoption of the 
present uniform of the corps, one of the 
handsomest uniforms of any used by vet- 
eran organizations of the State. He 
served as treasurer for six years. He is 
an esteemed member of the Kiwanis Club. 
Mr. Williams has been a member of 
the Christ Church choir for thirty-eight 
years, having a rich bass voice. He has 



been actively interested in the musical 

interests of the citv. having done tlO small 

amount of unheralded labor fur the ad- 
vancement of the art, besides having been 
publicly identified with the organization 
of a number of quartets which have ap- 
peared before the appreciative audiences 
of Hartford on many occasions. He has, 
of course, assisted materially on musical 
committees of the various lodges in which 
he holds membership. He plays a brass 
instrument in the Sphinx Temple Band, 
of which order he is a charter member. In 
his church interests he has the support 
and sympathy of his wife, both being 
members of Christ Episcopal Church. 



HENRY, John Milo, 

Man of Enterprise. 

The family of Henry, of which John 
Milo Henry is a worthy representative, 
has long been prominent in Connecticut 
annals, and was very early in Massachu- 
setts. 

(I) The first of the name in this c. tun- 
try was William Henry, who was born 
about 1690 in Ireland, and died sometime 
after 1723. The first record of him ap- 
pears in the records of Stow, Massachu- 
setts, June 24, 1735, on which date he 
purchased land there. There is practic- 
ally nothing known of his wife. 

(II) Robert Henry, son of William 
Henry, was born probably in Ireland 
about 1720, and he lived at different times 
in Groton. Connecticut, Stow and Shir- 
ley, Massachusetts. The Christian name 
of his wife was Eleanor, and she died at 
Enfield, November 23, 1807, at the age of 
eighty-four years. Robert Henry died in 

1759- 

(III) John Henry, son of Robert 
Henry, was born January 8, 1742-43, and 
when he attained his majority, removed 
from his native town of Stow to Connec- 



93 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



ticut. He was a builder of chimneys by 
occupation and many stacks in the Con- 
necticut valley were built by him. John 
Henry served as a member of Captain 
Daniel Dewey's Company, for a short 
period, and marched with that company 
on the Lexington alarm from Lebanon. 
In 1778, he removed to Bolton, Connecti- 
cut, and later to Enfield, where he died 
January 9, 1819. He married, about 1766, 
Mary Gager, born August 25, 1744, in 
Lebanon, youngest child of Rev. William 
and Mary (Allen) Gager. 

(IV) George Gager Henry, son of John 
Henry, was born about 1769, and was 
called Gager Henry. He was a prominent 
man and held several offices. With his 
family he was a member of the Enfield 
Church for many years. He married An- 
nie Parsons, at Enfield, in 1790. She died 
September 30, 1790, and he died February 
5 or 14, 1843. 

(V) Parsons Henry, son of George 
Gager Henry, was an influential man of 
his day. He was a farmer in Enfield, and 
represented that town in the Legislature. 
He married, April 25, 1820, Hannah Bick- 
nell, who died October 4, 1889, at the 
age of fifty-nine years, and Parsons Henry 
died June 13, 1874. 

(VI) Parsons Milo Henry, son of Par- 
sons Henry, was born August 10, 1825, 
and died February 17, 1895. He attended 
the public schools of Enfield and subse- 
quently was a student at the famous old 
Wilbraham Academy. For some time he 
taught school in the winter time and en- 
gaged in farming in the summer months. 
He lived during his entire life on the 
homestead farm. He married, February 
22, 1865, at Enfield, Sophronia Miranda 
Abbe, born April 16, 1840, daughter of 
David Loveland and Sophronia Miranda 
(Davis) Abbe. Mrs. Henry is a descend- 
ant of one of the oldest and most dis- 
tinguished Colonial families. The an- 



cestor, John Abbe, was an inhabitant of 
Salem, Massachusetts, January 2, 1636- 
1637, and was granted an acre of land 
there for a home lot. In 1642, he received 
a further grant of ten acres, probably in 
that part of Salem which was later the 
town of Wenham. He first appears in 
the Wenham records, in 1643, an< ^ from 
that time until his death was a prominent 
citizen there. According to Savage, John 
Abbe was of Reading, May 7, 1685. He 
married (first) Mary, of whose surname 
there is no record. She died September 
9, 1672. 

Thomas Abbe, son of John and Mary 
Abbe, was born in 1660 at Wenham, and 
died May 17, 1728, in Enfield, Connecti- 
cut. This Thomas Abbe was the founder 
of the Enfield family, and an original 
proprietor of that town. The Christian 
name of his wife was Mary and they were 
the parents of John (2) Abbe. 

He was born September 27, 1692, in 
Enfield, died in 1790, in or near Hartford. 
He was an original settler of Upper King 
street in Enfield, and was granted land 
there February 18, 1716. In 1786, he is 
given the title of lieutenant. He held 
many town offices. He married Hannah 
Boardman, born in Wethersfield, daugh- 
ter of David and Hannah (Wright) 
Boardman, and a direct descendant of 
Christopher Boreman, of Clayton, Eng- 
land. 

John (3) Abbe, born September 27, 
1717, in Enfield, died there August 1, 
1794. He settled near Scantic, on the east 
side of the town of Enfield. From April 
14 to October 5, 1755, John Abbe served 
in the First Regiment, Second Company, 
under Lieutenant-Colonel John Pitkin, 
raised for the reduction of Crown Point, 
and was also in Captain Clapp's Company, 
May, 1755. He married, February 1, or 
11, 1738-39, at Enfield, Sarah Root, born 
there, October 18, 1714, died November 



94 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF IHO( IRANI Y 



23, 1771. daughter of Captain Timothy 

and Sarah 1 Pease) Root, of Sinners. 

Timothy Abbe, their son. was horn Jan- 
uary o, 1779, in East Enfield, and died 
there July 2, 1871. He served in the War 
of 1812. He married, December 11. 1805, 
Rhoda Prudence Clark, born March 10, 
1785, <li' -| l April 15. [872, in Enfield, 
daughter of Stephen Clark. The latter 
was a soldier of the Revolution and for 
hi- services he received a pension. lie 
married Prudence Hall. 

They were the parents of David Love- 
land Abbe, horn June 9, 1810, in Enfield, 
died January 31, 1899. He was a farmer 
and married, May 13, 1835, Sophronia 
Miranda Davis, horn February 27, 1816, 
at Enfield, died there January 24, 1899, 
daughter of Alfred and Florinda (Hale) 
Davis. They were the parents of Sophro- 
nia Miranda Abbe, who became the wife 
of Parsons Milo Henry, as previously re- 
lated. Mrs. Henry was horn April 16, 
1S40. in Enfield, and since the death of 
her husband has made her home in Rock- 
ville, Connecticut. Mr. and Mrs. Henry 
were the parents of the following child- 
ren : 1. Willie Parsons, born December 
15, 1805, died April 18, 1899. -• Jennie S., 
October 2, 1869, is now the wife of George 
S. Fellows. 3. John Milo, of further men- 
tion. 4. James Buel, December 21, 1878, 
is an attorney. He married October 16, 
1907, Henrietta Parker. 

f\TF) John Milo Henry, second son 
of Parsons Milo and Sophronia M. (Abbe) 
Henry, was born July 24, 1877, and re- 
ceived his education in the public schools 
of his native town. This course was sup- 
plemented by study at the Wilbraham 
Academy and Mount Pleasant Institute 
at Amherst. Massachusetts, and Mr. 
Henry further pursued a business course 
at the Hartford Business College. After 
completing his studies, he returned to the 
paternal homestead and engaged in pro- 



gressive farming, He raised general 

crops and in addition made a specialty of 
tobacco growing and dairying, conducting 
one of the most up-to-date modern fauns 
in the vicinity. lie met with well de- 
served success and was held in high es- 
teem among his fellow townsmen. Until 
[912, lie continued thus, and in the latter 
year disposed of his interests and sold the 
homestead in order to take up his resi- 
dence in Rockville. Connecticut. Mr. 
Henry is a most public-spirited man. and 
has imbibed worthy characteristics from 
a distinguished ancestry. He has taken 
his place in his adopted community, and 
heartily enters into all movements for the 
general welfare. 

Mr. Henry married Katherine Regan, 
daughter of Charles T. Regan, of Rock- 
ville. The latter was widely known in 
woolen manufacturing circles, having 
been long identified with his brother, 
James J. Regan in that industry. Mr. and 
Mrs. Henry are the parents of four chil- 
dren : 1. Faith Muriel, born October 25, 
1901. 2. Robert John, June 8, 1903. 3. 
Charles Parsons, January 11, i<)05. 4. 
Buel Milton. November 9, 1906. Mr. 
Henry and his family are regular attend- 
ants of the St. Bernard Roman Catholic 
Church, of Rockville. 



YALE, Charles Miller, 

Superintendent. 

Personal achievement is one measure of 
a man's success in life, and gauged from 
this standard, Charles M. Yale, superin- 
tendent of distribution of the Electric 
Light Company of Hartford. Connecticut, 
has been signally successful. 

The Yale family is one of the oldest of 
Connecticut families. The derivation of 
the surname holds an added interest he- 
cause it has been derived from the mater- 
nal side of the family, which is very rare. 



95 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Previous to the thirteenth century there 
were practically no surnames, and as the 
need for names grew it became custo- 
mary to take a name from location of 
residence, occupation or some personal 
attribute. Yale belongs to the class of 
place names. Originally it was spelled 
Ial and Yal, and comes from the com- 
mune, hundred or district of Yale in 
Powys Fadog, Wales. The Yales are 
descended from Osborn Fitzgerald, 
through his descendant, Ellis ap Griffith, 
who married Margaret, the heiress of 
Plas yn Yale. From that time the sur- 
name was adopted by their descendants, 
the first to definitely assume it being Dr. 
Thomas Yale, 1577. 

(I) The immigrant ancestor of the fam- 
ily herein under consideration was Thom- 
as Yale, who was born about 1616 in 
Chester, England, and died March 27, 
1683, in New Haven, Connecticut. In 
1637 he accompanied his father-in-law to 
America, and settled at New Haven the 
following year. In 1659 he returned to 
England, but 1660 finds him a resident of 
the Connecticut Colony. He was one of 
the most prominent men in New Haven ; 
he was active in every movement there 
and was highly regarded by the other 
settlers. In 1645 he married Mary 
Turner, a daughter of Captain Nathaniel 
Turner, of New Haven. 

(II) Captain Thomas (2) Yale, son of 
Thomas (1) Yale, was born in New 
Haven about 1647, an d died January 26, 
1736, at Wallingford, Connecticut. He 
was among the first settlers of the latter 
town, having moved there in May, 1670, 
and was instrumental in forming the first 
church of that town, February 15, 1675. 
Captain Yale was one of the only two 
surviving members of the signers of the 
Wallingford Plantation Covenant in 1710, 
the second being Rev. Samuel Street. He 
served as justice of the peace ; captain of 



the train band ; surveyor of lands, and 
held many other minor offices. He married, 
December 11, 1667, Rebecca, daughter of 
William Gibbards, born in New Haven, 
February 26, 1650, died in Wallingford. 

(III) Captain Theophilus Yale, son of 
Captain Thomas (2) Yale, was born No- 
vember 13, 1675, and died September 13, 
1760. He served as magistrate from 1724 
until his death, and was always engaged 
in some form of civic work, and as one 
writer has aptly said, "He was a true 
servant of the people." He married Sarah, 
daughter of Rev. Samuel and Anna Street, 
of Wallingford, and her death occurred 
November 28, 1785. 

(IV) Elihu Yale, son of Captain The- 
ophilus Yale, was born in May, 1703, and 
his death occurred while on the Louis- 
burg Expedition, at Cape Breton, Decem- 
ber 31, 1745. He was a farmer. His 
second wife was Judith Howe ; they were 
married January 19, 1732, and after his 
death she married Daniel Dutton, remov- 
ing soon thereafter to Waterbury. 

(V) Captain Elisha Yale, son of Elihu 
and Judith (Howe) Yale, was born Au- 
gust 29, 1742, and died April 1, 1825. He 
followed agricultural pursuits. In 1761 
he married Rebecca North, of Farming- 
ton. 

(VI) Elisha (2) Yale, son of Captain 
Elisha (1) Yale, was born December 8, 
1763, and died July 31, 1840. He mar- 
ried Rhoda Culver, and like his ancestors 
was a farmer. 

(VII) Anson Yale, son of Elisha (2) 
Yale, was born February 27, 1805, died 
May 2, 1849. At different periods he 
lived in South Canaan, Waterbury and 
Middletown. Mr. Yale removed to East 
Hartford in 1880 and there he made his 
home until his death. He married, No- 
vember 8, 1832, Mary A. Fields, who was 
born April 25, 181 1. 

(VIII) Charles Fields Yale, son of 

96 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OE BIOGRAPHY 



Anson Vale, was bom December 14, 
1842, in Middletown, and died August 21, 

1901, in East Hartford. He was one of 

twins, the other, a sister, died young. He 
married, February n, 1873, in Hartford, 
Isabella Viney Miller, who was horn 
December 9, 1845, in New London, Con- 
necticut, a daughter of Albert J. Miller, of 
Wallingford. They were the parents of 
a son, Charles Miller, and three daugh- 
ters: Marihel Agnes, wife of Clarence 
Belcher, oi Hartford, a sketch of whom 
appears elsewhere in this work; Annie 
Louise, born October 6, 1876, wife of 
Albert Phillips, of Hartford : Fanny Isa- 
bel, born July 7, 1880, resides at home. 
The family are attendants of the Fir^t 
Baptist Church. 



concentration of purpose they arc value- 
less. It is this latter attribute which has 
been an important factor in the rise of 
Mr. Vale— concentration. In 1909 Mr. 
Yale was made assistant general superin- 
tendent, holding this position until 1913. 
In June of the following j ear he was made 
general superintendent of distribution, 
and for the past five years he has capably 
discharged the duties incumbent on this 
position. Mr. Yale is still a young man, 
and there remains a few more chapters of 
hi-~ life yet to be told ; it is safe to assume 
that the future holds much of promise for 
a man of his capabilities and faithfulness. 
Fraternally, Mr. Yale is a member of 
Hartford Lodge, No. 19, Benevolent and 
Protective Order of Elks, holding the 



(IX) Charles Miller Yale, only son of office of esquire ; member of the Jovians ; 



charter member of the City Club and of 
the Wethersfield Country Club. For 
fourteen months Mr. Yale was a member 
of the Governor's Foot Guards. 

Mr. Yale married, October it, 1895, 
Kathryn E., daughter of John P. Crowley, 
of Hartford. Mrs. Yale is an attendant 



Charles Fields and Isabella Viney (Mil- 
ler) Yale, was born July 13. [876, in Hart- 
ford. He attended the public schools of 
that city and the Huntsinger's Business 
College. His first employment was with 
the New England Car Service Associa- 
tion of Boston as a stenographer, in 
which position he continued for about five of the Immaculate Conception Church 

years. Thinking that he would like to 

engage in the retail grocery business he 
secured work as a delivery clerk in order 
to learn the business. The experiences 
and knowledge thus gained soon con- 
vinced him that he was not fitted for that 
business. On December 28, 1899, Mr. 
Yale became associated with The Hart- 
ford Electric Light Company, as a stock- 
room clerk. Feeling that his opportunity 
was near at hand, Mr. Yale applied him- 
self to his work with an earnestness that 
soon received reward. Added responsi- 
bilities were given him. and in due course 
of time he was placed in charge of the 
stock room, also attending to the pur- 
chasing. 

Although a man may possess many 



GRANT, Frank Harlow, 

Man of Enterprise. 

The name of Grant has been a promi- 
nent one in the history of the town and 
city of Rockville for many years. Its 
members have been identified with the 
growth of that city, and among them 
have been business men of ability, public 
officials, and professional men. The 
name, itself, is of French origin, and is 
found very common among the Scotch. 
It is probably a corruption of the French, 
grand, a name bestowed on an early an- 
cestor on account of his size. The early 
life of Queen Mary was spent in France, 



and upon her return to Scotland she was 
business attributes, unless he also has a accompanied by many French people and 
Coon-7-7 97 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



this fact accounts for the origin of many 
French names in Scotia. 

Matthew Grant, the immigrant ances- 
tor of the family in America, is traced 
in England to William Graunt, of Roxby, 
Yorkshire, who lived in the middle of the 
fifteenth century. He married Jane, 
daughter of William Burton, of Ingman- 
thorp. His son, John Graunt, of Roxby, 
married Jane, daughter and co-heiress of 
Edward Belford, of Exilby. Their son, 
George Grant, married, November 7, 
1570, at Roxby, Julian, daughter of Mar- 
maduke Claryonette or Clargennet. Their 
son, John Grant, born May 6, 1573, mar- 
ried July 7, 1600, Alice Turberville, 
daughter of Matthew Turberville, of 
Woolbridge, Dorset. 

Matthew Grant, the ancestor, son of 
John Grant, was born October 27, 1601, 
at Woolbridge, Dorset, England. He 
married, November 16, 1625, Priscilla 
Grey, daughter of Rev. Anthony Grey, 
rector of Burbach, Leicestershire, and 
Magdelena, daughter of William Purifoy, 
of Caldecot, Warwickshire. Priscilla 
Grey was baptized March 14, 1609, at 
Banbury, Leicestershire. Matthew Grant, 
with his wife, embarked on the "Mary 
and John" at Plymouth, England, March 
20, 1630, and settled at Dorchester, Mas- 
sachusetts. He was admitted a freeman 
at the latter town, May 18, 1631. In Oc- 
tober, 1635, he formed one of the party 
who went overland and formed the first 
settlement at Windsor. His home was in 
the Palisado, near the town lot. It is said 
that he was a carpenter. He bequeathed 
his land to his son, John, with whom he 
spent the declining years of his life. Mat- 
thew Grant held many offices ; he was 
surveyor, recorder, deacon of the church, 
selectman, and withal, an important man 
of the town. Dr. Stiles, in his history of 
Windsor, states: "Few men indeed filled 
the large place in the early history of 



Windsor or filled it so well as honest 
Matthew Grant." Matthew Grant was 
the compiler of a book of records and of 
church records that have been of untold 
value in writing of the early families of 
Windsor. 

Samuel Grant, son of Matthew and 
Priscilla (Grey) Grant, was born Novem- 
ber 12, 1631, in Dorchester, and died Sep- 
tember 10, 1718, in East Windsor Hill. 
He was engaged in tending the ferry at 
the age of eighteen years, and was a 
farmer by occupation. He married, May 
27, 1658, at Windsor, Mary Porter, born 
in 1638 in England, daughter of John and 
Anna (White) Porter. In 1672 he re- 
moved to East Windsor Hill, and joined 
the church in 1685. 

Samuel Grant, son of Samuel and Mary 
(Porter) Grant, was born April 20, 1659, 
in Windsor, and died May 8, 1710. He 
lived in East Windsor Hill, where he was 
a carpenter and owned a cider mill, and 
was also part owner of a saw mill. After 
his death his widow conducted a tavern. 
He married (second) at Stonington, April 
11, 1688, Grace Miner, born there, Sep- 
tember 20, 1670, died April 16, 1753, 
daughter of John and Elizabeth (Booth) 
Miner. 

Samuel Grant, their son, was born Sep- 
tember .19, 1691, and died April 7, 175 1, 
at East Windsor. He married at Wind- 
sor, January 1, 1718-19, Theophyle Bart- 
lett. In 1726, he was living in Bolton, 
having exchanged five hundred acres of 
land in Bolton for five hundred acres on 
which a large part of the present city of 
Rockville now stands, then called North 
Bolton. He was a prominent man and 
held many offices. In later life he re- 
turned to Windsor and there died. 

Ozias Grant, his son, was born in 1733, 
in East Windsor, and died May 22, 1823, 
in Rockville. He was a farmer and owned 
a grist mill. He was pressed into the 



98 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF UK >GRAPHY 



English army and took pan in the Quebec 
campaign, and marched on the Lexington 
alarm. In description, he is referred to 
as a stalwart man. and of quaint manner- 
isms. IK' married, June 30, 1761, in 
Windsor. I orana Strong, horn February 
8, [739, died at Bolton, June 25, [817, 
daughter of John and Hepzibah (Wol- 
COtt) Strong. In [761, he removed to 

Vernon. 

Francis Grant, Ins son. was horn De- 
cember 6, 1777. in Rockville, when' he 
died February ti, [856. He engaged in 
farming. On November [8, [807, he mar- 
ried (first) Lora Root, horn September 
17, 17S7, in Coventry, died November 25, 
[809, in Vernon, daughter of Captain Na- 
thaniel and Elizabeth (Kingshury) Root. 

Harlow Kingsbury Grant, son of Fran- 
cis and Lora (Root) Grant, was born 
February 5, 1809, in Rockville, and died 
there. September 25, 1854. Between 1836 
and 1848 he was a resident of Rushford, 
Xew York, returning to the homestead in 
Rockville in later life. He married, June 
4, 1834, at Vernon, Emily Ann Rathhun, 
born September 20, 1810, died March 9, 
1 So 1, in Rockville, daughter of Rodney 
and Ruth (Redfield) Rathhun. 

Nathaniel Root Grant, their son, was 
born March 20, 1836, in Rockville, and 
died there August 1, 1909. His education 
was received in the district schools and 
during the vacation periods he assisted in 
the tilling of the paternal acres. As the 
years passed and the town grew in size, 
Mr. Grant was often employed in grading 
sites for new residences. In this work he 
gained experience and knowledge that 
were of use to him later, when he held the 
office of superintendent of streets. He 
was also selectman, and a member of the 
old fire department for thirteen years. A 
member of the Baptist church, he held the 
office of treasurer there for several years. 
He married, April 6, 1859, at Thompson- 



ville. Agnes Susan Anderson, horn there 
March \. [837, daughter of William and 
Margaret (Reed) Anderson He lived in 
Rockville and owned thirty-five shares of 
the original live hundred purchased by 
his ancestor, Samuel < .rant, of previous 
mention. Mr. and Mrs. '.rant were the 
parents of the following children : Frank 
Harlow, of whom further; Mary Lot; 
horn March n>, 1867, in Rockville, wife of 

Frank Herbert Potter, of Glastonbury; 
Bella 1 -ilia. June 26, 1871, married Wal- 
lace Erksine Strong, and was a resident 

of Ri >ck\ ille, now deceased. 

Frank Harlow Grant, eldest child and 
only son of Nathaniel Root and Agnes 
( Anderson) Grant, was born Decemher 
20, 1864, in Rockville, and in that city 
he has spent the entire years of his active 
and useful life. lie is the owner of eigh- 
teen of the original acres owned by the 
Grants in Rockville and disposed of sev- 
eral to make building lots, necessary to 
keep pace with the consistent growth of 
the city. Subsequent to completing his 
schooling, Mr. Grant became interested 
in the raising of poultry for exhibition 
purposes, and in 1885 started in business 
as a breeder of fancy stock. To-day, he 
is widely known for the remarkahle suc- 
cess he has attained. His specialty in- 
cludes white and barred Plymouth Rocks, 
single comh White Leghorns, and many 
prizes have been won by Mr. Grant. He 
exhibits annually in New York, Boston, 
and in his own State of Connecticut. His 
reputation has extended even to New 
Mexico, where he has made several sales, 
and his flocks now number as many as 
four hundred pedigreed fowls. Although 
Mr. Grant has now practically retired 
from the more arduous cares of business, 
his interests are efficiently looked after by 
his son, Harlow Rheel Grant. The busi- 
ness and home interests of Mr. Grant 
have occupied the greater part of his time, 



99 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



so much so, that he has not been very 
active in fraternal organizations, but is 
a member of the Ancient Order of United 
Workmen, and with his family is a regu- 
lar attendant of the Union Congrega- 
tional Church, of Rockville. 

He married (first) at Rockville, Febru- 
ary 5, 1885, Nellie Lydia Mc Pherson, 
born there March 29, 1866, died February 
17, 1893, daughter of John and Emma 
(Bilson) Mc Pherson. He married (sec- 
ond) March 28, 1895, Agnes Eva (Rheel) 
Mac Gregor, born March 29, 1868, at 
Pittsfield, Massachusetts, daughter of 
Henry William and Mary Jane (Smith) 
Rheel, and widow of James Mac Gregor. 
By his first marriage, Mr. Grant was the 
father of two daughters : Bernice Louise, 
born December 8, 1888, married George 
Bluteau, of Springfield, and is the mother 
of a son, George Grant Bluteau; Nellie 
Agnes, born February 6, 1893, married 
Walter S. Billings, of Wapping, Connecti- 
cut, and has one son, Stanley Russell Bill- 
ings. By his second marriage, Mr. Grant 
is the father of a son, Harlow Rheel 
Grant, born July 10, 1898. 



THOMSON, William Wallace, 

Florist. 

A descendant of worthy Scotch ances- 
tors, William Wallace Thomson has in- 
herited those qualities which make for 
success, and through his business acumen 
has attained a prominent position among 
the business men of West Hartford. Mr. 
Thomson was born May 21, 1881, son of 
Paul and Jeanette D. (Metcalf) Thom- 
son. 

Paul Thomson, his father, was born 
April 15, 1846, in Perthsire, Scotland, and 
died in February, 1909. He was a son of 
William and Annie (McArthur) Thom- 
son. His early education was acquired 
in his native town, and until his emigra- 



tion to America in 1871, he was engaged 
in agricultural work with his father on 
the paternal homestead. During those 
years he laid the foundation of the prac- 
tical knowledge which proved of immense 
helpfulness to him afterwards in his flor- 
ist business. A year after coming to 
Hartford he purchased the Powell farm, 
located in West Hartford, and until 1899 
did a large and thriving wholesale market 
gardening business. His complete mas- 
tery of his work and his indefatigable 
efforts to make it a successful one, re- 
sulted in its being one of the largest busi- 
nesses of its kind in the vicinity. In the 
latter year he disposed of the land which 
he had formerly owned, and devoted his 
attention to gardening purposes and built 
extensive greenhouses. From that time 
he devoted all of his attention to floral 
work, making a specialty of English vio- 
let cultivation, in which he was highly 
successful. Mr. Thomson continued in 
this line until his death, at which time the 
responsibility passed to his son, William 
Wallace Thomson. Mr. Thomson was a 
staunch adherent of the Republican party 
and was several times honored with offices 
of trust. He served as justice of the peace 
of West Hartford in 1897 anci 1&9&, and 
for several years was master of the West 
Hartford Grange, an organization devoted 
to the interests of those engaged in agri- 
cultural work. Mr. Thomson was an 
active worker in the Congregational 
church and was a member of its Ecclesi- 
astical Society for many years. He mar- 
ried, June 24, 1880, at Keene, New Hamp- 
shire, Jeanette D. Metcalf, of that place. 
Mr. and Mrs. Thomson were the parents 
of three children: William Wallace, Ru- 
pert Roy, and Carlyle C. Thomson. 

The elementary education of William 
Wallace Thomson was received in the 
grammar and high schools of West Hart- 
ford, and during the intervals between 



100 








Ui.&\ ^^XfCm/i 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



school periods He was accustomed to as- 
sist his father in work about the green- 
houses, and at an early age was well 
instructed in different phases of the busi- 
ness. After completing his schooling he 

spent several years in scientific study of 
horticulture, and thoroughly applying 
himself to his work soon acquired an ex- 
tensive knowledge of frhe subject. From 
a modest start with a small greenhouse, 
occupying a space of 185x22 feet, the 
business has steadily and surely grown 
until now there are seventy-five thousand 
square feet under glass. Mr. Thomson 
makes a specialty of growing roses, car- 
nations, violets, sweet peas and chrysan- 
themums, although at all times is alert to 
the desire of the public and produces 
those varieties for which there is a popu- 
lar demand. Now and then Mr. Thomson 
grows a crop of hot house vegetables, 
such as tomatoes, cucumbers and lettuce. 
For all of his products, flowers and vege- 
tables, there is always a ready market, 
as the high grade of their excellence is 
widely known. Mr. Thomson is a mem- 
ber of the Hartford Florist Association, 
in which organization he holds the office 
of treasurer. He is a public-spirited man, 
and takes a keen interest in any move- 
ment that will better the general welfare; 
however, Mr. Thomson's business inter- 
ests and home ties occupy the greater 
part of his time, and he does not seek to 
hold public office, performing his share 
in the role of a private citizen. 

He married Rebekah Wheeler, daugh- 
ter of Benjamin P. Wheeler, of North 
Stonington, Connecticut, and they are the 
parents of the following children : Jean- 
ette Metcalf. Emily Kimbly, William 
Pomeroy, Douglass Wallace. Mr. Thom- 
son and his family are regular attendants 
of the Congregational church, in which 
Mr. Thomson takes an active part. He 
has held various offices and is at the pres- 



ent time a member of the society com- 
mittee. 



REYNOLDS, George Albert, 

Useful Citizen. 

A well known and distinguished citizen 
of Hartford, Connecticut, identified with 
the best interests of that city for many 
years. George Albert Reynolds, clerk of 
the fire board for over twenty years, held 
a high place in the esteem of his contem- 
poraries. 

Mr. Reynolds was born October 23, 
1846, in New Haven, Connecticut, son of 
William and Jane D. (Linde) Reynolds, 
and died July 24, 1918, at Hartford, that 
State. He was a descendant of worthy 
ancestors, among them being the Rev. 
John Davenport, of New Haven, and the 
Hon. Henry Wolcott, of Windsor. Mr. 
Reynolds' early home in New Haven was 
the old Davenport place on Elm street, 
where the regicides were concealed. His 
education was received in the public 
schools, and when but a boy he began his 
career in the business world as paymas- 
ter's clerk aboard the United States gun- 
boat "Paul Jones," under paymaster 
Thomas L. Tullock. After the close of 
the Civil War, Mr. Reynolds entered bus- 
iness in civil life in the New York office 
of the Hartford Life & Accident Insur- 
ance Company, remaining there for four 
years. He then returned to his native 
city, and the ensuing decade was spent 
in the carriage building business asso- 
ciated with George T. Newhall. a well 
known manufacturer. In 1880 Mr. Rey- 
nolds became identified with the business 
life of Hartford, and from that time until 
his death was an active worker in all mat- 
ters pertaining to the general welfare of 
the city. He was employed in the office 
of the Pratt & Whitney Company for 
many years, and at the time of his resig- 



JOI 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



nation he held the office of cashier and 
head bookkeeper. For the next seven 
years, from 1900 to 1907, Mr. Reynolds 
was connected with the Phoenix Mutual 
Life Insurance Company, resigning to 
accept the appointment as permanent 
clerk of the fire board, which he had 
previously served as clerk and book- 
keeper. He discharged the duties incum- 
bent on this office with efficiency and 
ability until his retirement from active 
business life in May, 1915. 

Mr. Reynolds was especially active and 
prominent in fraternal organizations. He 
was a past exalted ruler of Hartford 
Lodge, Xo. 19, Benevolent and Protective 
Order of Elks, having the distinguished 
honor of being the oldest past exalted 
ruler of the Elks in the world, and simil- 
larly the oldest past chancellor of Lincoln 
Lodge, No. 55, Knights of Pythias. He 
was a member of Hartford Lodge, No. 
88, Ancient Free and Accepted Masons ; 
Pythagoras Chapter, No. 17, Royal Arch 
Masons; Wolcott Council, No. 1, Royal 
and Select Masters. Mr. Reynolds was 
a member of the Reynolds Family Asso- 
ciation and of the Wolcott Family Asso- 
ciation. In both of these organizations 
he was highly esteemed, and always at 
their annual meetings delighted all with 
his humorous and interesting accounts 
of some matter pertaining to the histori- 
cal events and happenings. 

Mr. Reynolds married, September 16, 
1905, at Port Jervis, New York, Elizabeth 
R. Robinson, born January 9, 1866, at 
Bethel, Sullivan county, New York, 
daughter of John P. Robinson, of Port 
Jervis. 



VIETS, Scott Benjamin, 

General Farmer, Public Official. 

Steadfastness of purpose is not lack of 
initiative. The man who sticks to one 



thing and spends his life in one place is 
not necessarily a man devoid of resource 
and incapable of doing more than that one 
thing. To make one line of work a life- 
work and carry it through successfully is 
to fill a wide field of usefulness, though 
the geographical bounds are very narrow. 
And in agriculture, if we are to esteem 
the opinion of so great a man as George 
Washington, a man is most useful to his 
fellow men. In recent years, since the 
world has come to realize its dependence 
on the producer of foodstuffs, proper re- 
spect is being paid to the man who is 
willing to forego white collars and soft 
hands, and get out and wrest from the 
soil the means of life and comfort for the 
other fellow. In the valley farms of Con- 
necticut one is very likely to find tobacco 
fields of one or more acres, even where 
the weed is not the main crop. Of such 
a well rounded character have been the 
activities on the farm of Scott Benjamin 
Viets, of East Granby. 

We find the Viets family among the 
early settlers of that section of the State ; 
but the name was an old and respected 
one before its bearers turned their faces 
toward the young country across the 
ocean. It was originally derived from an 
old Teutonic given name, Veit or Viet. 
The records say that this is a name corre- 
sponding with the English name, Guy, 
which is a shorter form of Guido, the 
meaning of the word being guide. The 
letters W and V are equivalent to au in 
Italian and French words. We find in 
the "Dictionary of the High German Dia- 
lect," (Adelung), "Veit, Latin Vitus, a 
man's given name of ancient German ori- 
gin, and contracted from Guido." Cal- 
isch, a Dutch scholar of high standing, 
states that Veit and Guy are correspond- 
ing Dutch and English forms of the same 
name. W T e find the origin of the name 
described thus ; taken from the meaning 



102 



ENi VCD UT.DIA OF BK IGRAPHY 



of three kindred words, the Gothic vitau, 
meaning to take heed; the taglo-Saxon 
witau, to know, the English, wit ; the 
German arte, meaning wit, acuteness, 
good sense The necessity of a guide 

being one who takes heed, sees and 

knows, gives an .added assurance that 
these records are correct. 

(I) Going back to the earliest pioneer 
of this name in America, we find that Mr. 
John Viets came from F.urope previous 
to 1700. We find him settled in New 
York, and there he married Catherine 
Meyers, April 24, 1700. In 1710 he re- 
moved with his family to Simsbury, Con- 
necticut, and lived there until his death, 
November 18, 1723. His wife, Catherine 
(Meyers) Yiets, died March 6, 1734. 

(II) Captain John (2) Viets, son of 
Dr. John (1) Viets, was born November 
3, 17 12, in Simsbury. He was given a 
good education, then was employed in 
the copper mines at Newgate, and later 
lived for a time in YVestfield, Massachu- 
setts. He was a farmer and hotel keeper, 
and is credited with introducing potato 
culture into Connecticut. He was a man 
interested in public affairs, lieutenant and 
captain of militia, and selectman in 1753. 
He was appointed keeper of the Newgate 
prison in 1773, and held that position for 
two years. He did good work during the 
Revolution imprisoning Tories. Before 
his death he became quite a rich man. 
He died of smallpox, April 8, 1777. He 
married, December 12. 1734, Lois Phelps. 
born March 10, 1718, a daughter of Na- 
thaniel and Lois Phelps, a descendant of 
William Phelps, one of the early settlers 
of Windsor. She died November 12, 
1810. 

(III) Captain Abner Yiets. son of Cap- 
tain John (2) Viets, was born February 
15, 1747, and died July 2j, 1826. He was 
an extensive farmer, owned a farm of four 



hundred acres, besides which be wa 
lawyer and surveyor; was also captain of 

militia. Me married, in 1771, Mary, 
daughter of I'.etioni and Martha (Moore) 

Viets, born June 27 , 1751, died Septem- 
ber, [825. 

(IV) Man VietS, son of Captain Aimer 
Viets, was bom October 17, 17^3. and 
died in December, [866. lie was a farmer 
and also a stone cutter. He was a pub- 
lic spirited man and built a highway from 
Granby to bast Granby. Me married, 
January 1, 1812, Beulah Phelps, daughter 
of Deacon Judah and Abigail (Bishop) 
I 'helps. Deacon Judah Phelps served in 
the Revolution. Beulah (Phelps) Viets 
was bom February 21, 1790. 

(V) Benjamin Lrskine Viets, son of 
Dan VietS, was the youngest of nine chil- 
dren, and was born June 12, 1828. 
IU' attended the district schools of 
his native town. At different periods he 
was a resident of Granby, East Granby, 
Suffield, Connecticut, and Springfield, 
Massachusetts. He married (first) Sep- 
tember 1, 1853, Anna Hubbard, born 
March 18, 1828, in Bloomfield, daughter 
of Benoni and Abigail (Francis) Hub- 
bard, a descendant of John Hub- 
bard, one of the early settlers of Hartford 
and one of the first to live in Bloomfield. 
Of this marriage there were three sons, 
Francis Hubbard, Edward Bradford, and 
Scott Benjamin, of whom further. 

(VI) Scott Benjamin Viets, son of 
Benjamin Erskine Viets, was born in 
East Granby. May 4, 1850. He attended 
the public schools, after which he com- 
pleted his education at the Connecticut 
Literary Institute. In 1881 he went to 
Waterbury and was employed there for 
a year by the American Ring Company, 
but except for this has always been en- 
gaged in farming. The Viets farm lies 
on either side of East Granby street, and 

103 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



is crossed by the tracks of the Central 
New England Railroad. It extends to the 
top of the hill, but has fully twenty-five 
acres of good tobacco land. In the 
twenty-five acres on the ridge there is one 
of the best trap rock quarries in the State. 
It is one of the most picturesque locations 
in the State and from the ridge can be 
seen the spires of Hartford, the city of 
Rockville, and the Heublein Tower on 
Talcott mountain. This is the farm to 
which Benjamin E. Viets came in 1869 
and which then comprised one hundred 
acres. He repaired and remodeled the 
buildings which are now among the best 
in town. Scott Benjamin Viets has since 
added considerable acreage to the farm, 
including the Richard Phelps farm, which 
adjoined it on the south. The buildings 
include two houses and a tobacco shed 
125 feet long, besides the usual farm out- 
buildings. This is the farm which the 
State of Connecticut bought in January, 
1918, for the site of the proposed State 
prison. It is generally conceded to be a 
wise acquisition, as it is a most desirable 
piece of property and well suited to the 
purpose. Mr. Viets has grown five or six 
acres of tobacco annually, and until two 
years ago ran quite a large dairy. He has 
always kept several acres in corn. He is 
a Republican and served for four years as 
town treasurer, although he never aspired 
Nd political honors. 

in 1882 Mr. Viets married Chloe M., 
daughter of William Ansel and Sarah 
(Alderman) Viets, born June 21, i860. 
There are three children: Ethel May; 
Bernice L. ; Dorothy P. In 1918 Mr. 
Viets purchased a residence on Five Mile 
road in West Hartford and there the 
family now reside. They are members of 
the Congregational church. For much of 
the genealogical data above we are in- 
debted to the published record of the 
Viets family. 



VIETS, Willard Westley, 

Tobacco Grower. 

The important industry of the Connec- 
ticut Valley is the growing of tobacco, 
and engaged in this work we find many 
descendants and worthy representatives 
of the early Colonial families. Among 
these may be mentioned Willard Westley 
Viets, who was born July 7, 1870, son of 
Dan A. and Mary J. (Getman) Viets. He 
is a direct descendant of Dr. John Viets 
(q. v.), who was one of the best known 
linguists of his day. 

(V) Dan Alexander Viets, son of 
Dan Viets (q. v.), was born Novem- 
ber 11, 1824, in what is now East 
Granby, and died November 8, 1904. 
He was a general farmer and early 
engaged in the raising of tobacco. A Re- 
publican in politics, he held the office of 
selectman for several years. Mr. Viets 
married (first) a Miss Pheland, and their 
children were: Walter, Fannie and Wil- 
liam Viets. Mr. Viets married (second) 
Mary J. Getman, who died November 13, 
1877. She was the mother of seven chil- 
dren, six of whom grew to maturity. 
They are: Emma, wife of William Tifft, 
residing in Hartford ; Hartley, resides at 
home ; Annis, wife of Warren Parker, of 
Westfield, Massachusetts ; Whitney; Wil- 
lard Westley, of further mention ; Jessie, 
wife of John La Fleur, of Stoughton, Wis- 
consin. Mr. Viets married (third) Alice 
J. Grant, and there were two sons by this 
marriage, Harry and Frederick Viets. 

(VI) Willard Westley Viets, youngest 
son of Dan Alexander and Mary J. (Get- 
man) Viets, attended the public schools 
of his native town, at an early age was 
trained to the farm work, and immedi- 
ately after his marriage he began farming 
on his own account. His farm has an 
acreage of one hundred and sixty-five 
acres, and sixteen acres are entirely de- 



104 



FNCYCI.Ol'FDIA OF IMOGRAIMIY 



voted to tobacco growing. General crops 
are grown in abundance also. Despite 

the demands upon his time by bis busi- 
ness and farming interests, Mr. Yiets has 

found an opportunity to lend bis services 

in the interests of his town and State. He 
is a Republican in polities and for twenty 
years served as chairman of the Republi- 
can town committee. Since lX().i he has 
been a member of the Board of Selectmen 
and for twenty-one years served as first 
selectman. In [909 Mr. Yiets represented 
his town in the Legislature, and was a 
member of the railroad committee. For 
fifteen years he has been a member of the 
East Granby School Hoard at various 
times, and is now serving his ninth con- 
secutive year, and in 1918 was elected for 
a term of three years. Fraternally he is 
affiliated with Old Newgate Lodpe, 
Knights of Pythias. 

Mr. Viets married Mary Alice Wilson, 
daughter of David Wilson, of Simsbury, 
born June 17, 1869, and they are the par- 
ents of three sons: David, Dan and 
Adolph Viets. Mr. Yiets and his family 
are regular attendants and lend their sup- 
port to the Methodist church of East 
Granby. 



VIETS, Hiram Chapin, 

Merchant and Postmaster. 

In the less remote country districts, 
while the community does not to any de- 
gree imitate the dwellers in the cities, 
still community pride and individual self- 
respect are evident, not in isolated in- 
stances, but with a unity of spirit which 
compels the respect of the urban visitor. 
Of no section in Connecticut is this more 
literally true than of the towns in the 
northern part of Hartford county. Granby, 
and its more recent off-shoot. East 
Granbv, have given the world many sub- 



stantial citizens, whose influence has been 
for public progress, even if they have not 

invariably been the recipients of public 

honors. The Yiets family, of East 

Granby, is a noteworthy example. 

(V) Joseph Franklin Viets, son of Dan 
Viets (q. v.), was born February 6, 1827, 

in Granby, and died September [3, [903. 
lie married 1 second) October 11, 1870, 
Angeline Chapin, daughter of Hiram 
Chapin, of Granby. She died May 8, 

[915. 

(VI) Hiram Chapin Viets, the only 
child by this second marriage, was born 
August 23, 1871, in Fast Granby. Like 
many another man who has made a name 
for himself and has been a forceful, 
worthy citizen, he was educated in the 
public schools of his native town. He 
worked for others for a year or so before 
he started in business for himself. The 
ambition of the man is proved by the fact 
that he had only passed his eighteenth 
birthday when he bought out the busi- 
ness of E. P. Harvey, of North Granby. 
He ran the business for about three years, 
then wanting the experience of contact 
with men and affairs, he spent a year in 
Hartford. He returned, however, to the 
home town, and to his father's farm, 
which he carried on as long as his father 
lived. Establishing himself in the confi- 
dence of his townspeople, he became 
postmaster in East Granby, November 1, 
1904. The following year he established 
himself in business as a general merchant 
there, conducting an up-to-date establish- 
ment. After continuing in business for four 
years, he sold out his store, but has con- 
tinued to hold the postmastership until 
the present time. For some years prior 
to the spring of 1918. Mr. Viets was en- 
gaged in the cattle and grain business 
more or less extensively, but has since re- 
tired from those lines of activity. Mr. 



10: 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Viets is a Republican, an upright and 
fair minded man, interested in every pub- 
lic enterprise and institution. That he 
enjoys the trust and confidence of the 
towns people goes without saying, as he 
has held the office of town treasurer for 
six years, holding both offices at the same 
time. 



HAYES. William James, 

Tobacco Grower, Public Official. 

Now one of the prosperous, progres- 
sive tobacco growers and packers of the 
Connecticut Valley, having one hundred 
and forty acres under cultivation, Mr. 
Hayes can recall from the momentous 
day, long ago, when with many misgiv- 
ings, he planted his first acre in tobacco. 
He has been steadily progressing in area 
cultivated and in the quality of his pro- 
duct during these years, and among the 
many innovations which he is responsible 
for introducing into the business is the 
growing of the crop under shade. As a 
tobacco grower he has also had the novel 
and somewhat remarkable experience of 
growing and marketing four crops in two 
years, but the explanation is that in the 
years 1901-02, after getting his crop into 
the sheets, he went to Porto Rico, and 
there grew another crop which matured 
and was gathered the same year. Mr. 
Hayes' farm and packing house is at Tar- 
iffville, Hartford county, Connecticut, 
eleven miles from Hartford on the Farm- 
ington river and Central New England 
railroad. He is a son of Thomas and Ann 
(Clark) Hayes, his mother a daughter of 
Owen Clark, of County Meath, Ireland, 
who on coming to the United States set- 
tled at Tarifrville, William J. Hayes be- 
ginning his tobacco growing operations 
on the farm of his grandfather, Owen 
Clark. 



Thomas Hayes was born in County 
Wexford, Ireland, a descendant of the 
ancient O'h-Aodha family which derived 
descent from Aodh(Hugh), the ninth son 
of Cas. They were formerly chiefs of 
Musary-Luaxlura, a territory in the bar- 
ony of Coshlea, County Limerick. This 
name, O'h-Aodha, was anglicized as 
O'Hea, Hay, Hayes, and Hughes. The 
Hayes family of Ireland bore a coat-of- 
arms with a motto : Serva Jugnm. 
Thomas Hayes, when a young man, came 
to the United States and here learned the 
carpenter's trade. He married Ann Clark, 
who died in 1865, daughter of Owen 
Clark, of County Meath, Ireland. The 
Clarks came from Ireland when their 
daughter, Ann, was two years old, set- 
tling in Tarifrville, where Owen Clark for 
a time followed his trade of stone mason, 
later becoming a farmer and land owner. 
Thomas and Ann (Clark) Hayes resided 
in Bloomfield, Connecticut, where she 
died aged twenty-eight years, the mother 
of four children, John, Mary, Francis, 
and William James, the last named the 
only living member of the family. After 
the death of his wife, Thomas Hayes went 
to Cleveland, Ohio, having married a 
second wife, and there he died in 1875, at 
the age of thirty-eight years. 

William James Hayes was born in 
Bloomfield, Connecticut, October 6, 1863. 
He was but two years old when his 
mother died, and from that time he was 
cared for at the home of his grandparents, 
Clark, in Tariffville. He attended the 
Tariffville public school, and worked on 
the Clark farm until he was eighteen 
years of age, then became a carpenter, at 
which trade he spent some time. He en- 
gaged in the butcher business on his own 
account and has a market in Tariffville. 
In 1890 he gave up that business and 
began tobacco growing on his grand- 



106 





yi^C^C^^n^^ 




y%^£< 



KNCYCLOrKDIA OK I'.K )( JRAP1 1 Y 



father's farm, planting bu1 one acre the 
first /ear. His success with that acre en- 
couraged him to continue, and each year 
he planted .1 larger acreage. In [900 he 
began growing his crops under shade, 
being one of the firsl growers in his 
tion tu adopl thai plan, all having hereto- 
fore grown their crops in the open. His 
experience in growing four crops in two 
years lias Keen alluded tO, bul perhaps a 
still inure curious fact is that now, six- 
teen years later, he ships tobacco to Port.) 
Rico, seemingly another case of "carry- 
ing coals to Newcastle." Mr. Mayes has 
now one hundred and forty acres under 
cultivation devoted to tobacco, and since 
[905 has been a buyer and packer, a part- 
ner in the firm, Ketcham & Have--, dur- 
ing the first five years of that period. He 
then formed a partnership with Cullman 
Brothers of New York City. His farm is 
not wholly devoted to tobacco, but main- 
tains a herd of twenty-live cattle and pro- 
duces good crops of grain and potatoes. He 
is a director of the Simsbury Banking & 
Trust Company, and has other interests 
of importance. 

Mr. Hayes is a member of the Knights 
of Columbus of Hartford, the Ancient 
Order of Hibernians, and Foresters of 
America, having been grand chief ranger 
of the Connecticut branch of the last 
named order. He is a Democrat in poli- 
tics, and has served his town both as 
selectman and assessor. He is a man of 
high standing in his community, and 
holds the perfect confidence of his busi- 
ness associates. 

Mr. Hayes married Xellic, daughter of 
John Cunningham, of Hartford, and they 
are the parents of six children : Mary E., 
married Thomas Mahan. of Hartford; 
Francis, now a resident of Detroit, Mich- 
igan, married Nina Downes, of Bridge- 
port; William T., died in 1918, aged 



twenty six, leaving a widow, May il 
ley) Hayes, and three children, Mary, 
William, and James; Arthur, married 
Ethel Foley, and has a daughter, Eliza- 
beth Folej ; \11na and George are living 
u ith their parents. 



DANIELS, Herbert Orrin, 

Deputy Dairy And Food Commissioner. 

One of the mosl widely-known and 
among the most progressive farmers of 

the State of Connecticut, Herbert Orrin 
Daniels, Deputy Dairy and Food Com- 
missioner, was bom April 11, [868, in 
Middletown, Connecticut, son of Samuel 
Buckley and Lucy (Bailey) Daniels. 

Mr. Daniels grew up in the town of 
Middletown, receiving his education in 
the schools of that town and Durham, and 
during his vacation periods was accus- 
tomed to assist in the work of the home 
farm. His entire attention has been 
given to agriculture, to which he has 
brought an intelligent study, and in which 
he has gained a wide reputation through- 
out the State. Following the death of 
his father, in association with his brother, 
James Elmer Daniels, he engaged in the 
dairy business in iS\88. The beginning 
was on a small scale, but through the 
energy and intelligent application of the 
proprietors it rapidly grew. They were 
the founders and organizers of the Mill- 
brook Dair\ r Company, now having head- 
quarters on Main street. Middletown, 
which they equipped with everything in 
the way of new machinery, making one 
of the most sanitary and successful estab- 
lishments of the kind in the State. Their 
interest in this was finally disposed of 
and each of the brothers engaged inde- 
pendently in the dairy business. They 
were the first to erect a silo in the town of 
Middletown, and originated and built the 
first circular brick structure of this kind 



107 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



in their section of the State. The separa- 
tion took place in 1913, and Mr. Herbert 
O. Daniels now occupies a model farm, 
some three miles from the center of the 
city of Middletown, where he conducts a 
prosperous business. He was the first 
farm demonstrator in the State, an evi- 
dence of his pioneer spirit, energy and 
enterprise. This undertaking was fi- 
nanced by prominent business men, and 
was carried on in the manner now adopted 
by the farm bureaus. In time it became 
a part of the extension service of the 
Connecticut Agricultural College, and 
was for some time under Mr. Daniels' 
personal charge. 

The highest compliment to Mr. Dan- 
iels' standing and ability was made in his 
appointment by the State Dairy & Food 
Commissioner, Thomas Holt, to the posi- 
tion to deputy. Mr. Holt, a steadfast 
Democrat, was appointed to his position 
by Governor Holcombe because of his 
especial fitness and ability, and the com- 
missioner made no mistake in choosing a 
prominent Republican as his assistant, 
who contributes in no small measure to 
the success of the department. He is in- 
terested in the progress of the farmer 
and in the work of the State to assist him 
in making the most and best of his oppor- 
tunity. Naturally, Mr. Daniels has been 
active in various organizations in line with 
his work, and he is a member and direc- 
tor of the Connecticut Dairymen's Asso- 
ciation, of which he was two years presi- 
dent ; is also a member and director of the 
Connecticut Milk Producer's Association. 
As a good citizen, Mr. Daniels has not 
confined his activities and interests to the 
dairy business, but has promoted and 
fostered various movements for the gen- 
eral welfare. Along these lines was the 
establishment of a long distance telephone 
system in his neighborhood, in which he 
was largely instrumental, and in fact pro- 



vided the poles for a distance of one mile 
in order to secure the service. Mr. Dan- 
iels is an esteemed member of the Meth- 
odist church of Middletown, to which he 
gives faithful and sincere support. In 
political principle, he has always been a 
Republican with large sympathies for any 
reform measures. 

Mr. Daniels married, February 1, 1893, 
Phoebe K. Baldwin, daughter of Louis 
and Jane (Roberts) Baldwin, both natives 
of Middletown. Mr. and Mrs. Daniels are 
the parents of a son and two daughters, 
namely, Grace, born April 18, 1894; 
Lewis Baldwin, June 18, 1899; Ruth 
Marion, November 18, 1902. 



PHELPS, Almon Blake, 

Agriculturist, Public Official. 

The Revolutionary landmarks of New 
England are, too many of them, gone to 
ruin, although it is not yet a century and 
a half since the stirring deeds were done 
which gave them historical interest. But 
the Old Newgate Prison will stand, at 
least in part, while the everlasting hills 
remain. It is visited by many sight-seers 
annually, and gruesome conjectures are 
made of the terrible sufferings of the pris- 
oners as they languished in the old under- 
ground passages and dungeons. The 
prison is situated on the western decliv- 
ity of a greenstone mountain. In 1786 
the site was in Granby, and now in what 
is called East Granby, since that part of 
the town was set off in 1858. Mines ad- 
jacent were until recently known as the 
Sims Copper Mines. These were worked 
in 1757 by the landed proprietor, Sims. 
In 1 7 14 they were bought by a Boston 
concern and worked for twenty-three 
years. At one time German miners were 
imported. In 1737 and 1739 coin was 
made in these mines. About 1773 they 
were operated by prison labor, and in 



108 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OE BIOGRAPHY 



Revolutionary times Tories were im- 
prisoned there. Captain John Yiets was 
the first keeper, and his bill for one year 
was twenty-nine pounds, five shillings, 
ten pence. It was decided that the Col- 
ony should occupy it as a permanent 
prison, and its purchase and fortification 
price was $375. In 1700 it was estab- 
lished as a State Prison. The wall built 
in 1802 is still standing. As a tourists' 
resort it has gained much fame, there 
being the thousand visitors in the year 
1910. The property is now owned by 
Almon Blake Phelps, a prominent dairy 
farmer of East Granby. 

The Phelps family originated in Lom- 
bard}', Northern Italy, where they were 
called Welf. In the eleventh century in 
Germany the form became Guclph. In 
the sixteenth century they went to Scot- 
land the name became Phelps. The reign- 
ing English family are of this line, and 
the old English family seat was in 
Tewkesbury, Gloucestershire, where in 
the old Abbey church the lettered tomb- 
stones still remain. The name has its root 
in the Greek word philos, meaning friend. 
The escutcheon of the American branch 
of the family was as follows : 

Arms — Per pale, or and argent, a wolf salient 
azure with anorle of eight crosses — crosslet and 
fitchie and gule, crest a wolf's head erased, azure 
collard or, the collard charged with a martlet 
sable. 

The meaning is considered to be a record 
of fortifications against an enemy ; cour- 
age and endurance being signified by the 
wolf; the crosses-crosslets fitchee being 
emblems of the Second Crusade, that the 
arms were earned in that campaign ; also 
the martlet indicates that the ancestor has 
been on a pilgrimage to the Holy Land. 
James Phelps was born about 1520, and 
the records show that his wife, Joan, ad- 
ministered his estate, May 10. 1588. 
Their eight children were baptized in the 



Tewkesbury Abbey Church. William 
Phelps, eldest Son Of Janus and Joan 
Phelps, was born August 4, 1550. Ad- 
ministration was granted on his estate to 
his wife, Dorothy, September 28, 161 I. 
She died in 1613. George Philps, son of 
William and Dorothy Phelps, was horn 
at Tewkesbury, England, about 1606. 
lie came to New England Oil the "Mary 
and John." and settled in Connecticut, his 
home being at the junction of the Farm- 
ington and Great (now Connecticut) 
rivers, in what is now the town of Wind- 
sor. On this farm there was an orchard 
of one thousand trees. He lived at West- 
field, Massachusetts, for a time, going 
there in 1670. He married (second) 
March 22, 1649, Mrs. Frances Dewey. 
Their son, Sergeant John Phelps, was 
born February 15, 1652, and lived in Po- 
quonock. He died about 1742. He mar- 
ried, in 1673, Sarah Buckland, born March 
24, 1649, daughter of Thomas and Tem- 
perance Denslow. Thomas Phelps, the 
next in line, was born June 21, 1687, and 
died January 6, 1702. He married (sec- 
ond) Ann Brown, born in Windsor, 
daughter of John and Elizabeth (Loomis) 
Brown. Thomas Phelps, born July 2j, 
171 1, lived in Poquonock, and owned 
land in Torrington. In 1744 he bought 
land in Simsbury for two hundred pounds. 
He died September 24, 1777. He mar- 
ried, November 23, 1737, Margaret Wat- 
son, born June 7, 1715, in West Hart- 
ford, daughter of John and Sarah (Steele) 
Watson. 

Jabez Moore Phelps, the next in line, 
was the grandfather of Almon B. Phelps. 
He was born May 20, 1782, and received 
only a common school education, as there 
were no advantages at that time in coun- 
try districts, and transportation to schools 
in adjacent cities was out of the question. 
He lived throughout his life in the town 
of Suffield, following the occupation of 
109 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



farming, as his father had clone. He was 
a Whig in politics, and both he and his 
family were members of the Methodist 
Episcopal church. He was an upright 
citizen and a consistent follower of his 
religious faith. He died May 8, 1848, and 
is buried in the town of East Granby. 
On January 1, 1805, he married Rebecca 
Hamilton, who was born in Tolland, 
Connecticut, December 7, 1777, and died 
April 13, 1858, surviving him by nearly 
ten years. They were the parents of four 
children. 

Canfield Phelps, the second child, was 
born July 7, 181 1, in the town of Suffield. 
He studied civil engineering and became 
very well educated. When a young man 
he traveled all through the south in the 
interests of a clock company in Connecti- 
cut, and later went west, locating for a 
time in Sarahsville, Noble county, Ohio. 
Here he followed civil engineering, and 
also did more or less real estate and stock 
business. For a considerable time he 
was extensively engaged in the lumber 
business, continuing after his removal to 
Edgerton, Williams county, Ohio. There 
he became a very prominent citizen and 
held numerous public offices. He died in 
that place, November 5, 1871. He was a 
staunch supporter of the Republican 
party. He married (second) Mary Hol- 
ley, and they were the parents of four 
children, of whom three grew to maturity : 
Almon B., of whom further ; Drayton, a 
resident of Williams county, Ohio; and 
Lucy R., the wife of Edwin Store. 

Almon Blake Phelps was born in Sarahs- 
ville, Ohio, November 26, 1866. He 
was only a child when his father died. 
He attended the public schools of his 
native town, studying assiduously, as he 
realized that in a large measure he had 
his own way to make in the world. When 
he was sixteen he came to Connecticut, 
and from that time until he was twenty- 



one worked on farms of his relatives, 
giving good, honest labor in return for 
the assistance they gave him. He lived 
at Copper Hill, East Granby, for many 
years, following farming. He won the 
confidence and respect of all who em- 
ployed him, and the good-will of his fel- 
low-workers. By economy and industry 
he won his way to a competence, and 
bought his present home in 1912. This 
is the historic old farm where the first 
keeper of Newgate Prison, Captain John 
Viets, lived. Mr. Phelps grows about 
seven acres of tobacco, and twelve acres 
of corn. At times he has as many as 
seventy-five head of cattle on the place. 
He deals extensively in live stock, and 
sells about one hundred quarts of milk 
per day, sending it to Hartford. He is 
one of the practical, progressive business 
men of the town, interested in public af- 
fairs, always willing to serve in any 
capacity where he can advance the public 
welfare, but not an office seeker. He is 
Republican in political affiliations, has 
served for twenty years as assessor, has 
also been selectman, and represented the 
town at the Legislature in 1899, when he 
was on the excise committee. Socially 
Mr. Phelps is much sought. He is a 
director of the Old Newgate Coon Club, 
a well known hunting organization, which 
has become widely famous for its din- 
ners. He has owned the prison property 
for about fifteen years, and until a year 
ago catered to parties of tourists who 
came to visit the old landmark. He is a 
member of the Old Newgate Lodge, 
Knights of Pythias. 

Mr. Phelps married (first) Florence 
Mary, daughter of Julius G. Viets, of 
Granby. They had two children: 1. 
Nellie Esther, who married Alfred Mad- 
igan, of Hartford, and has two children: 
Florence Phelps and Almon Russell. 2. 
Mary Viets, employed with the Trav- 



110 



ENCYCLI IPEDIA OF BI< >< .UAl'l IV 



elers Insurance Company of Hartford, 
Mr. Phelps married (second) Lena 
I' White, born in Forestville, Connecti- 
cut, in [866, daughter of John and Ellen 
(Russell) White, of Forestville. John 
White was a native of Hartford, resided 
for a number of years in Forestville, and 
descends through manj generations of 
John \\ bites in this country. 



BENNETT, Ossian Sanford, 

Business Man. 

An ideal is a beautiful thing, and the 
courage which upholds that ideal is glor- 
ious. It was this admirable quality in 
the character of Ossian S. Bennett that 
enabled him to leave college before com- 
pleting his full term, and with a brave 
heart take up the mantle of responsibility 
which the premature death of his father 
placed upon his shoulders. 

Joseph Bennett, father of Ossian S. 
Bennett, was a native of Tilsit, Germany, 
born there in November, 1870, died in 
New Britain, Connecticut, in 1917. At 
an early age he left his native land and 
came to Montreal, Canada. At the time 
of his arrival there he was practically 
penniless, and finding work he remained 
only long enough to get sufficient funds 
to travel to Boston. In the latter city he 
secured work as a jewelry salesman, fol- 
lowing this occupation for a year. Again 
the desire for change and travel seized 
him and he went to Laconia. New Hamp- 
shire, engaging in business for himself as 
proprietor of a barber shop. This he 
iater disposed of to purchase a street 
sprinkling business. Soon after this an 
opportunity presented itself to Mr. Ben- 
nett to become the owner of a thriving 
laundry business in Laconia. He was 
quick to grasp it and within a year pur- 
chased a second laundry. The latter was 
located in Lakeport, New Hampshire. 



Disposing of his entire interests in the 
latter Mate, Mr. Bennett removed to San 
Pedi 1 >, ( alifornia, and wa thei iged 

in the same line of business. Preferring 
the climate of the Eastern States, he 
again returned to New Hampshire, and 
was living there until [904, in which year 
he moved with his family to New Britain, 
Connecticut. His greatest success in 
business was in New Britain, having pur- 
chased the Union Laundrj of that city, 
one of the largest in the immediate vicinity. 

Thirteen year- later Mr. Bennett died, in 
his prime, and his only son, Ossian S., 
who receives extended mention below, 
now carries on the business. Mr. Ben- 
nett married Mable De Merritt, a native 
of Laconia, and she survives him. 

Ossian Sanford Bennett, only child of 
Joseph and Mable (De Merritt) Bennett, 
was born in Laconia, New Hampshire, 
July 6, 1896. His first education was re- 
ceived in the schools of that town, and in 
1904 he began attendance at the public 
schools of New Britain. He continued 
through the New Britain High School, 
from which he was graduated in 1915, 
following which he was a student for a 
year at the Peekskill Military Academy. 
There he prepared for entrance to the 
S\ racuse University and would have been 
a member of the class of 1920. As above 
stated. Mr. Bennett was obliged to re- 
linquish his course, and returning to New 
Britain immediately took up the manage- 
ment of the business of the Union Laun- 
dry Company, of which he is now presi- 
dent and treasurer. The business acumen 
of Mr. Bennett is worthy of a man many 
years his senior. He has inherited the 
commercial instincts of his father, and 
possesses a rare talent for organizing and 
ability t" execute his plans. The area 
over which the business of the Union 
Laundry extends is a large one, compris- 
ing YYaterbury, Bristol, Southington, 



in 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Plainville, Forestville, Collinsville, and 
Hartford. Originally located at No. 86 
Arch street, the plant has been removed 
to No. 266 Arch street, where large, new 
buildings equipped with the most modern 
and up-to-date machinery have been 
erected. 

Despite the demands made upon Mr. 
Bennett by his business interests, he 
heeded his country's call for men, enlist- 
ing July 1, 1918, in the United States 
Naval Reserves. He was located at the 
Submarine Base, New London, Connec- 
ticut, and was honorably discharged from 
the service, December 12, 1918. Frater- 
nally he is a member of Centennial Lodge, 
of New Britain. 

On June 8, 1917, Mr. Bennett married 
Gertrude Sarita Linke, daughter of Ed- 
ward and Gertrude Linke, of New Britain. 



ANDREWS, Charles, 

Substantial Citizen. 

The tie of a common language unites 
the two English speaking nations, be- 
tween which rolls the broad Atlantic. 
Coming to this country a man of to-day, 
or looking back upon a long line of an- 
cestry to an early founder of our Repub- 
lic, we are brothers, and as such all inter- 
ests, whether of business, society or fam- 
ily, unite as naturally as the waters of 
two mighty rivers flowing together. In 
Charles Andrews, a steam fitter of East 
Hartford, we find all the sturdy and up- 
right qualities that a Scottish born father 
can give to America of to-day, in his only 
son. 

The name of Andrews signifies manly 
or courageous. It was originally An- 
drew, and Andrews is Andrew's son. Mr. 
Andrew's father, Hugh Andrews, was 
born in Ayrshire, Scotland, and came to 
America when he was nineteen years of 
age. After working in different parts of 



the West for a year or so, he settled in 
Hartford, working for a time for the old 
firm of Hawes & Smith, dealers in flour 
and grain. He then entered the employ 
of S. S. Chamberlain, on State street, and 
remained with him more than thirty 
years, or until his death. His wife, Char- 
lotte (McLairen) Andrews, was born in 
Kilpatrick, Scotland, and Charles was 
their only child. 

Charles Andrews was born in Hart- 
ford, June 8, 1858. He was educated in 
the public schools of that town, after 
which he learned the trade of steam fitter 
in the establishment of N. A. Bosworth 
and Pitkin Brothers. About twenty-eight 
years ago he started in business for him- 
self, in which he is still actively engaged. 
In so few words can a story of a business 
career be told, when a man's whole life 
has been an example of steadfastness of 
purpose, turning not to one thing after 
another, going not hither and yon, but 
choosing one long, straight path, and fol- 
lowing it to success. Mr. Andrews is a 
man of tireless industry, with a strict 
sense of business honor. He has done 
some important work in his line, yet it is 
difficult to induce him to talk of his 
own achievements. He is very highly 
esteemed among his business associates, 
as well as those who know him in his 
home life. He is one of the solid men of 
East Hartford. 

Mr. Andrews married Olive Rebecca 
Douglas, born August 17, 1857, daughter 
of Jonathan Dart Douglas, of New Lon- 
don. Her family have been in New Lon- 
don since 1640. To trace them down 
through the early history of our coun- 
try is interesting. 

Mr. Andrews has lived most of his life 
in East Hartford, and is considered one 
of the substantial, solid business men of 
the community. His children were born 



112 



KNCYCLOPKDIA OF HIOCRAPHV 



there and have grown up around him. 
They are: Douglas Hugh, who married 
[sabelle Mercer, and lias one child, Doug- 
las Hugh, Jr.; May Louise, who married 

Wallace E. Frohock, and has one child, 
Wallace E., Jr.; Charlotte S. ; and Ed- 
win (dies. The latter served in the Sig- 
nal Corps at Fort Leavenworth during 
the war with the Teutons. Mr. and Mrs. 
Andrews are members of the South Bap- 
tist Church, and Mrs. Andrews is a mem- 
ber of the ( >rder of the Eastern Star, and 
the Olive Court of Amaranth, which she 
organized in East Hartford. It is a 
source of congratulation to any commun- 
ity to number among- its citizens men of 
Mr. Andrew's character. They give per- 
manence and stability to the social order 
of the town and are examples of business 
sagacity and progress which the youth 
of the community may do well to 
emulate. 

Deacon William Douglas, ancestor of 
Mrs. Olive R. (Douglas) Andrews, was 
born in 1610, in Scotland, and married, 
about 1636, Ann Mattle, who was born 
in 1610, in Ringstead, Northamptonshire, 
England, daughter of Thomas Mattle. 
William Douglas came to New England 
in 1640, and settled in Gloucester, Massa- 
chusetts, then removed to Boston. The 
next year he went to Ipswich, then back 
to Boston in 1645. In 1660 he removed to 
New London, where he was a prominent 
man, and held many offices. He died De- 
cember 26, 1682, and his wife died in 1685. 
Robert Douglas, the oldest son, born in 
Scotland in 1639, was twenty-one years of 
age when his parents moved to New Lon- 
don. He was a cooper. He married, 
September 28, 1665, Mary, daughter of 
Robert Hempstead, of New London, who 
died December 26, 171 1. He died Janu- 
ary 15, 1 71 5-16. Thomas Douglas, the 
next in line, was born May 15, 1679, in 
Coon— 7 8 1 



New London, and married, November 25, 
[703, Hannah Sperry, of New Haven. He 
was admitted to the church, April 9, 1710, 

and held numerous town offices. lie died 

March 3, [724-25. Robert Douglas, born 

December 28, 1705, in New London, mar- 
ried, Augusl 5, 17.^1. Sarah Edgecome. 

Both were members of the church, being 
admitted October 5, 1737. He died in 
October. 17S6, and his wife died in 1797- 
98, at Wallingford, Vermont Samuel 
Douglas, the next in line, was born Feb- 
ruary 26, 1744-45. He married, February 
26, 1781, Rebecca Avery, daughter of 
Elisha Avery, of Stonington, a farmer, 
very highly respected in the community. 
He died April 20, 1821. His widow died 
in Newfield, New York. Elisha Avery 
Douglas was born there, February 7, 
1782, and married, August 8, 1802, Mar- 
garet Dart, daughter of Solomon Dart, of 
\\ aterford. He was a surveyor and held 
public office. He died August 30, 1864, 
and his wife died May 16, 1863. Jonathan 
Dart Douglass was born in Waterford, 
April 2, 1818, and married Sarah Ann 
Smith, November 10, 1839, daughter of 
Jacob Smith, of New London. He was 
a manufacturer of cast steel hammers and 
stone cutter's tools. His daughter, Olive 
Rebecca Douglas, married Charles An- 
drews. 

Family tradition says that Mr. An- 
drews' father was descended from the 
family of Robert Burns, who was a cou- 
sin of the generation then living, the ma- 
ternal name was Boland. 

Mr. Andrews has been active in Ma- 
sonic orders and has several times been 
honored in having conferred on him dif- 
ferent offices. He is past master of Orient 
Lodge, No. 62, of East Hartford, Ancient 
Free and Accepted Masons; member of 
Washington Commandery, No. 1, Knights 
Templar; Connecticut Consistory of Nor- 

13 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



wich ; Sphinx Temple, Ancient Arabic 
Order Nobles of the Mystic Shrine ; Bige- 
low Chapter of the Eastern Star, of which 
he is past patron. He is past thrice illus- 
trious master of Wolcott Council ; past 
thrice potent master of Charter Oak 
Lodge of Perfection ; past patron of the 
Order of the Amaranth, and past grand 
patron of the Amaranth of the State of 
Connecticut. 



HUGINS, Charles Ozro, 

Business Man, Public Official. 

One of the oldest continuous undertak- 
ing establishments in Connecticut was 
that conducted by Charles O. Hugins, of 
Collinsville. Mr. Hugins was born May 
9, 1858, in West Granville, Massachu- 
setts, son of Ozro and Sarah Cordelia 
(Marcy) Hugins, and died March 10, 
1919, at his home in Collinsville. 

The business was founded by Bradford 
Marcy, grandfather of Mr. Hugins, and 
has been in the family for four genera- 
tions. At one time it was the only under- 
taking business within a radius of twelve 
miles and its members were known 
throughout the State. Ozro Hugins, 
father of Charles D. Hugins, was a great- 
great-grandson of Zachariah Hugins, who 
came from England and settled on the 
Housatonic lowlands in the town of Shef- 
field, Massachusetts. He was a farmer 
and also lived in Tyringham, Berkshire 
county, Massachusetts, where his son, 
Ebenezer Hugins, was born. The latter 
was a farmer of Sheffield most of his life, 
but died in Granville, Massachusetts. His 
son, Ozro Hugins, was born in Sheffield, 
Massachusetts, in 1829, and died in Collins- 
ville, Connecticut, in 1889. He grew up on 
the farm, but did not follow the occupation 
of farming, going instead under the in- 
struction of Bradford Marcy, who had 



established in the undertaker's business 
in 1846. Mr. Marcy taught him the cabi- 
netmaker's trade, and also the undertak- 
ing business, instructing his apprentice in 
that branch from the making of the coffin 
to the final rites. He remained with Mr. 
Marcy (whose daughter he married) as 
journeyman, then as partner, and when 
the founder of the business passed away 
succeeded him. Ozro Hugins was a se- 
lectman of West Granville for two years ; 
was a member of Village Lodge, Ancient 
Free and Accepted Masons, of Collins- 
ville ; Columbia Chapter, Royal Arch Ma- 
sons ; and in politics was a Republican. 
He married Sarah Cordelia Marcy, daugh- 
ter of Bradford Marcy, and they were the 
parents of two children : Charles O., of 
further mention, and Clara, who became 
the wife of A. A. Cushing, of Collinsville, 
Connecticut, where she now resides. 

Charles Ozro Hugins was a lad of 
seven years when his parents removed to 
Collinsville, and with the exception of five 
years spent in New Haven, Connecticut, 
(at which time he was superintendent of 
the Hendrick's Manufacturing Company 
there) it has been his home. He was 
educated in the public schools, but from 
boyhood worked with his father in the 
shop, and literally grew up in the cabinet- 
making and undertaking business. He 
became an expert worker in wood, that 
being the part of the business first 
learned. Later he learned the duties of 
undertaker and funeral director and con- 
ducted his first funeral when he was but 
sixteen years of age. Upon the death of 
his father he succeeded to the ownership 
and management of the undertaking busi- 
ness first established by Bradford Marcy 
\n 1846. Mr. Hugins was the first under- 
tdker in his section of the State to aban- 
don the practice of making his own coffins 
and use the ready made caskets now in 



114 



ENCYCL* >PEDIA OF UK )t IRAI'HV 



general use. He had adopted all other 
improvements in caring for the dead. 
During the campaign of i s </'. Mr. Hugins 
withdrew his support from the Republi- 
can candidate and from that time acted 
with the Democratic party. He was 
member of the Collinsville School Board, 
and hi- interest extended to all depart- 
ments of the public life of the town. At 
his death the town of Collinsville lost one 
of her most prominent and upright citi- 
zens. He was a member of Village 
Lodge. Ancient Free and Accepted Ma- 
sons, and until its charter was surren- 
dered he was affiliated with Collinsville 
Lodge. Knights of Pythias. He was al 
a member of Summit Lodge. Independe.it 
Order of Odd Fellows, and in religious 
affiliation was an Episcopalian. 

Mr. Hugins married. November 24, 
1881. Idella A., daughter of Isaac Hall, of 
West Granville. They were the parents 
of three children : Harold O., married Lil- 
lian Silby; Sarah, wife of Uasil M. Par- 
sons ; Charles O., Jr. 



SMITH, Charles Hanno. 

Head of Important Business. 

Careful attention to his duties and up- 
right conduct as a citizen have placed Mr. 
Smith in a position of responsibility and 
he has justified the expectations of his 
employers. He is a descendant of an an- 
cient American family, whose founder 
was Rev. Henry Smith. He was a mem- 
ber of the party of Rev. Thomas Hooker, 
which came from the neighborhood of 
YYatertown. Massachusetts, to the Con- 
necticut river in 1636. He became the 
first minister of YVethersfield. Connecti- 
cut, and there died in 1643. ^° record of 
his wife appears. It is easy to trace the 
origin of the name of Smith, which was 
adopted as a patronymic something like 
four centuries ago. In those days any- 



who worked in metal- was called a 
"smith," and thus •• a greater num- 

ber of people bearing this name than any 
other, because it was adopted as a sur- 
name by SO many people when an edict 
of government compelled everyone in 
England to have a surname. Descendants 
this family have been conspicuous in 
Connecticut and have included Governor 
John Cotton Smith. Rev. John Cotton 
Smith and Rev. Roland Cotton Smith, 
rector- of the Protestant Kpiscopal 
church. 

(I) Samuel Smith, the eldest son of 
Rev. Henry Smith, was born 1638-39. in 
Wethersfield, and from 1666 to 1680 was 
a farmer in Northampton, Ma--achusetts. 
He subsequently settled in Hadley Falls, 
Ma-sachusetts, to care for his aged 
mother, widow of Rev. John Russell 
Smith. There he died September 10, 
1703. He married, about 1662, Mary, 
daughter of James Ensign, of Hartford. 

(II) Ebenezer Smith, second son of 
Samuel Smith, was baptized in 1668 in 
Northampton, lived at Hadley until late 
in life, when he removed to Suffield, 
Connecticut, then a part of Massachu- 
setts, and there died September 15, 1728. 
He married, about 1693, Sarah, widow of 
James Barlow, of Suffield and Springfield, 
Massachusetts, daughter of Thomas and 
Sarah (Spencer) Huxley, of Hartford and 
Suffield, born about 1672-73. She mar- 
ried (second) Martin Kellogg, of Suffield. 

(III) Ebenezer (2) Smith, eldest son 
of Ebenezer (1) and Sarah (Huxley) 
Smith, was born April 12, 1699. in Suffield, 
and was admitted to the church there 
February 2~, 1725. Hi- wife's baptismal 
name was Christian. 

(IV) Rev. Jedediah Smith, eldest child 
of Ebenezer 1 2 \ Smith, was born January 
31, 1727, in Suffield, was graduated from 
Yale in 1750, with the degree of A. M. in 
1754. and was elected pastor of the church 



11 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



at Granville, Massachusetts, August 5, 
1755. He was ordained December 1, 1756, 
and was engaged at a salary of one hun- 
dred fifty pounds (£150) which was sub- 
sequently raised to two hundred pounds 
(£200). He was a loyalist and became 
unpopular with his parishioners, and in 
1776 started with a party to settle at 
Natchez, Mississippi. After enduring 
many hardships he was taken ill at Fort 
Adams, forty-five miles below Natchez, 
and there died September 2, 1776. He 
married, in Granville, Sarah Cook, and 
they were the parents of twelve children, 
all of whom except the eldest went with 
the expedition to Natchez. 

(V) Jedediah (2) Smith, eldest child 
of Rev. Jedediah (1) Smith, was born 
April 5, 1752, in Granville, Massachusetts, 
and after living a short time in Bland- 
ford, Massachusetts, settled at Enfield, 
Connecticut. He served as a soldier of 
the Revolution from that town, as a mem- 
ber of the Ninth Company, Captain John 
Watson, of Canaan, Fourth Regiment, 
commanded by Benjamin Hinman. This 
regiment was raised on the first call in 
April, 1775, and in May, 1775, was at 
Ticonderoga, and suffered much from 
illness during that campaign in October 
and November, and many of its members 
were discharged. When taken prisoner 
at The Cedars, May 19, 1776, he held the 
rank of corporal. Mr. Smith again en- 
listed June 9, 1776, and was made ser- 
geant of Captain John Stevens' company, 
later commanded by Captain Jesse Kim- 
ball, both of Canaan, and the muster roll, 
dated November 25, 1776, at Mt. Inde- 
pendence (Ticonderoga) includes his 
name. His name appears in the list of 
pensioners residing in Vermont under the 
Act of 1818, so it is probable that he re- 
moved to that State before his death. 

(VI) Wheeler M. Smith, son of Jed- 
ediah (2) Smith, was born in Canaan, 



where he was a farmer and stock raiser, 
also in the adjoining town of Colebrook, 
Connecticut, and was well known as an 
Abolitionist. He married, May 9, 1821, 
at the Colebrook Second Church, Malinda 
Fellows, a scion of one of the earliest 
families of Canaan. 

(VII) Henry Ames Smith, son of 
Wheeler M. Smith, was born in Cole- 
brook, June 2, 1824, and died in Collins- 
ville, April 29, 1906. As a young man he 
settled in Canaan and was employed as 
mechanic. In the latter part of his life 
he engaged in the produce business in 
New Haven, and after living there some 
years he returned to Canaan and later 
settled in Norfolk, Connecticut, where for 
some few years previous to his death he 
lived in retirement from active business. 
He married Eletheah Hildreth, daughter 
of Nathaniel and Lucinda (Fisk) Hil- 
dreth, natives of New Hampshire. Mr. 
and Mrs. Smith were members of the 
Congregational church. They were the 
parents of two sons : Ward D., now a 
resident of Hudson, New York, and 
Charles Hanno, of further mention. 

(VIII) Charles Hanno Smith, son of 
Henry Ames Smith, was born March 4, 
1856, in New Haven, and was reared in 
Canaan, Connecticut, attending the pub- 
lic schools there and later in Norfolk, 
Connecticut. In the latter town he be- 
gan work in a carriage axle factory, where 
he mastered the details of the business 
and was for many years its manager. In 
1 891, Mr. Smith removed from Norfolk 
to Collinsville, where he became assist- 
ant superintendent of the Collins Com- 
pany, and about one year later was ad- 
vanced to the position of superintendent. 
This is one of the great industries of the 
Farmington River Valley and is described 
at considerable length elsewhere in this 
work. It is thus apparent that Mr. 
Smith's ability and standing are of no 



116 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



mean order because of the great respon- 
sibility of the position which he holds. 
He is a very p. 1 1 r i < >t i ».- and public spirited 
citizen, of broad and generous character, 
eager to assist every worthy public en- 
terprise, and is a member of tin- Con 
necticul Chapter, Sons of the American 

Revolution. He married (first) Mary, 

daughter of William Peck, of i !anaan, and 
(second) Mary Priscilla Barker, ^<\ Ames- 
bury, Massachusetts. They attend and 
support the Episcopal and Congregational 
churches of Collinsville. 



KONOLD, Frederick W., 

Business Man. 

Prior to the German Revolution of 
1848, Frederick Louis Konold with his 
parents and his brothers and sisters left 
Germany and came to the United States, 
Frederick L. then being a young man of 
nineteen years. The family found a home 
in Collinsville, Connecticut, the male 
members finding employment with the 
Collins Company. This review follows 
the fortunes of one Frederick L. Konold 
and his son, Frederick W. Konold. 

Frederick L. Konold, son of Matthew 
Konold, was a native of Mainz, also writ- 
ten in English, Mentz and Mayence, the 
largest city in the Grand Duchy of Hesse, 
capital of the province of of Rhenish 
Hesse, and one of the principal fortresses 
of Germany on the left bank of the Rhine 
opposite the mouth of the Main. He was 
born June 13, 1 829, and died in Collins- 
ville, Connecticut, October 6, 1898. He 
learned the trade of blacksmith in Mainz, 
where he was educated, and resided until 
1S4S. when he came with the family to 
Collinsville, Connecticut. He secured 
employment with the Collins Company, 
and for half a century, until his death at 
the age of sixty-nine years, he continued 
in that employ. He married Elizabeth 



Swing, born in II' •■ ' el, Germany, 
who yet survives him aged eighty I 
years, a daughter of William Swing, Mr. 
and Mrs. EConold were the parents of five 

children, four of whom to manhood 

ami womanhood: Minnie, deceased ; Net- 
tie, married G. II. Samlow, of New I'rit- 
ian ; Mary, married Charles Leming, of 
Meriden; Annie, married \Y. R. Wagoner, 

of Collinsville: brederiek W., of further 
mention. After coming to Collinsville, 
Matthew Konold. head of the family, did 
not engage in any stated occupation, but 
in Mainz he had been an iron worker. 
Frederick L. later bought a farm at Avon, 
whore he resided. 

Frederick \V. Konold, only son of 
Frederick L. and Elizabeth (Swing) Ko- 
nold, was born in Avon, Connecticut, Au- 
gust 26, 1872, and grew to manhood at the 
farm upon which he was born. He at- 
tended public school during the winter 
term and was employed upon the farm 
during the spring, summer and fall 
months. He continued the management 
of the Avon farm until the death of his 
father, in 1892, and then for ciAjht years 
more ran it for the account of the estate, 
but finally withdrew from farming opera- 
tions in the fall of 1906. He was one of 
the early growers of tobacco in the Avon 
district and was very successful with that 
crop. He also maintained a dairy at the 
farm and was one of the successful men 
in that line. Tn 1896 Mr. Konold started 
a retail grain business, and in September 
of that year moved to the building his 
business now occupies, and for ten years 
he conducted it in connection with the 
farm, but in the fall of that year he retired 
from the farm to devote his entire time 
and energy to the grain business. In 
to 1 2 he installed modern grinding ma- 
chinery and the same year added a coal 
department, then erecting the only coal 
elevator in the Farmington Valley. This 

17 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



has been a most successful department, 
his coal deliveries having reached very 
high figures. The milling and grain de- 
partment is also prosperous, and he has 
reached a point where he can consider 
himself commercially secure. Mr. Kon- 
old, for twenty-five years, has been a 
trombone player and was a member of 
the Collinsville German Band, later with 
the Citizens Band, finally joining the 
Simmon's Military Band, which in 1917 
was organized as the State Guard Band. 
This is one of the bands which wear the 
State Guard Uniform and is in constant 
demand for public occasions, the band 
having gained high reputation for its 
high class rendering of band music of the 
highest standard. He is a Republican in 
politics, a member of Village Lodge, Free 
and Accepted Masons, of Collinsville, is 
past sachem of Wauguahaeg Tribe, Im- 
proved Order of Red Men, and a member 
of the Connecticut Grand Lodge of that 
order. 

Mr. Konold married Hulda Fischer, 
born in Germany, daughter of Christian 
Fischer. Mr. and Mrs. Konold are the 
parents of four children : Annetta, Burton 
Frederick, Mabel Grace, and Earl Frank- 
lin Konold. 



KEENEY, Charles Heath, 

Manufacturer, Inventor. 

The rise from a lowly position to the 
head of a thriving and prosperous busi- 
ness is always interesting, and the fact 
is admitted that the man who achieves 
this aim is endowed with qualities 
far above the average. Charles Heath 
Keeney, president and treasurer of the 
Connecticut Blower Company of Hart- 
ford, has through his intelligently di- 
rected industry attained an enviable posi- 
tion among the business men of that city. 
He has never permitted a position to 



master him, and his reputation as a clear 
headed business man is well established. 
The Keeney family is one of the oldest 
in Connecticut, and it has furnished a 
great number of remarkable and able 
men. The immigrant ancestor of the 
family herein traced was: Alexander 
Keeney, who was a freeman in Wethers- 
field, Connecticut, in 1667, and there died 
in 1680, leaving an estate of £86 6s. His 
widow, Alice, died in 1683, and they 
were the parents of seven children, the 
youngest of whom was Richard Keeney, 
born in 1673, and at one time lived in 
East Hartford. His second son was 
Thomas Keeney, who received a grant of 
land from his father in 1730. His second 
son was Elizur Keeney, and he was the 
father of Elizur (2) Keeney, born August 
14, 1775. He worked during the winter 
months cutting wood on lots which he 
purchased and carting it to Hartford. He 
married Abigail Slate, born August 2, 
1776, and their son, Elizur (3) Keeney, 
was born September 27, 1804, died April 
14, 1885. He grew up on the home farm 
and lived there a short time after his 
marriage. Then he removed to Newing- 
ton, where he lived for six years. Thence 
he removed to West Hartford, and for 
the remainder of his active life was en- 
gaged in farming there. In addition he 
dealt in live stock and tobacco. A few 
years before his death the management 
of his farm was taken over by his son, 
Elizur Keeney. Mr. Keeney was a 
staunch adherent of the Democratic 
party's principles and served as select- 
man. He married, in 1826, Julia With- 
erell, who died February 10, 1891, at the 
age of eighty-two years. They were ac- 
tive attendants of the Methodist Epis- 
copal church. 

Elizur (4) Keeney, their son, was the 
fourth Elizur Keeney in succession. He 



118 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



was born June 25, 1841, in West Hart- 
ford, and when he was twenty-two years 
old went to Collinsville. where for the 

ensuing seven years he was employed by 
the Collins Company. After resigning 

from his work there, he engaged in the 
retail milk business. He started with 
twelve eows and at one time was the 
owner of more than thirty head of cat- 
tle. His farm of seventeen acres was 
practically all under cultivation, and this 
was a part of the homestead farm. Mr. 
Keeney retired from active business cares 
in 1909, and is enjoying a well deserved 
rest in West Hartford. In March, 1918, 
he celebrated the fiftieth anniversary of 
his being made a Mason. He was raised 
in Village Lodge in Collinsville, April 2, 
1867, and is now a member of Wyllys 
Lodge, No. 99, of West Hartford. Mr. 
Keeney married (first) January 15. [868, 
Lucia Isadore, daughter of Joshua S. 
Heath, of Collinsville, born December 5, 
1847, died January 1, 1889. Two of their 
children grew to maturity, namely: I. 
Julia Emily, born July 7. 1870, died Oc- 
tober 9, 1918; became the wife of Ira 
Hall, and was the mother of two sons, 
Harry and Frederick Hall. 2. Charles 
Heath, of further mention. Mr. Keeney 
married (second) December 23, 1893, Ju- 
lia II.. daughter of John S. Bancroft, of 
Wapping, Connecticut. They attend the 
West Hartford Congregational Church. 
Charles Heath Keeney, only son of 
Elizur (4) and Lucia I. (Heath) Keeney, 
was born October 26, 1873, and was a 
student at the public schools of his native 
town. From his early boyhood he teemed 
with vitality, which goes with interest 
and purpose, and which has been behind 
the great energy of the man. His first 
position in 1894 was with a blower com- 
pany in Hartford, where he remained for 
several years in their office to learn the 
blower business. During his spare mo- 



ments he studied and prepared himself 
for a larger responsibility, and for a time 

was employed by the I'.. I' Sturtevant 
Company, of Boston, Massachusetts, in 
capacity of engineer and salesman. A 

similar position was held with another 
blower company of I lartford. successors 
to his first employers, and after two years 
in the home office he was transferred to 
Boston. Massachusetts, and placed in 
charge of their interests there. On re- 
turning to Hartford he organized and in- 
corporated the Hartford I'lower Com- 
pany, and for six years conducted the 
affairs of that company. The experience 
and knowledge thus gained was of untold 
value to him, and he became the repre- 
sentative of a blower manufacturer with 
headquarters in the West, but his great- 
est success seemed to be in his home city, 
whither Mr. Keeney returned, and in 
May, 1915, he realized his ambition to 
engage in his own business. In the above 
named month he organized and incorpor- 
ated the company of which he is now the 
chief executive, the Connecticut Blower 
Company. They manufacture a general 
line of blowers, disc fans, exhaust fans, 
ventilating fans, blower systems, exhaust 
systems, heating systems, conveying sys- 
tems, ventilating systems, dust collectors, 
air washing apparatus, revolving ventila- 
tors, furnace feeders, etc., their largest 
work being the installing of complete 
blower systems, and their field of opera- 
tions covers the Eastern and Middle 
States. Mr. Keeney has taken out a num- 
ber of patents in connection with blow- 
ers, and has invented a blower, exhaust 
fan and dust collector, a blower for dry- 
ing tobacco, and a reversible bearing for 
blowers. 

Mr. Keeney is a man of modern ideas, 
and very alert to the needs of the day. 
He knows by personal experience what 
it is to work for others and is most con- 



119 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



siderate of those in his employ, and he 
takes a vital interest in the welfare of the 
employees of his business. He is a mem- 
ber of Wyllys Lodge, No. 99, Ancient 
Free and Accepted Masons, of West 
Hartford ; the Hartford Automobile Club, 
the City Club of Hartford, Hartford 
Chamber of Commerce, Manufacturers' 
Association of Collection, Hartford Gun 
Club, and the Amateur Trapshooters' As- 
sociation. His recreations are found in 
shooting and fishing. 

Mr. Keeney married Minnie E., daugh- 
ter of Joseph H. Strong, of West Hart- 
ford, and they are the parents of a son, 
Charles Edward, born June 10, 1898. Mr. 
and Mrs. Keeney are members of the 
West Hartford Congregational Church. 



PUTNAM, Herbert Elmer, 

Building Contractor. 

In every environment there is some 
great possibility. Many men go far in 
the search for opportunity, when all the 
time she stands close beside their doors. 
Most young men who find themselves in 
remote country districts feel that they 
are debarred from participation in the 
real activities in the world of men and 
affairs because they are so far from the 
centers of population. Now and then a 
young man will see what every man 
should seek — the opportunity near at 
hand. Herbert Elmer Putnam saw on his 
father's farm the timber for which there 
was a demand — when a hand of skill 
should place it in marketable shape. 
With the enthusiasm of youth he set to 
work to make his future out of the oppor- 
tunity nearest him. The story of how 
this led him into his present business is 
only one more proof of his wisdom, and 
an example of the genius for execution 
with which he is endowed. 

Putnam is an ancient English sur- 



name. It was derived from the place in 
which the man who first bore the name 
lived — Puttenham. We find mention 
of this town in the Domesday Book 
(1660). There was a great fief known as 
the Honor of Leicester, of which the 
town was a part. It is in Hertfordshire, 
near Bedfordshire and Buckinghamshire. 
Noteworthy characteristics of the Put- 
nam family have been : Fine physique, 
fair features, high principles, honesty, in- 
tegrity of purpose, patriotism, and an 
inclination to lead rather than be led. All 
American descendants of this line are 
entitled to the following coat-of-arms : 

Arms — Sable between eight crosses, crosslet 
fitchee, argent a stork of the last, beaked and 
legged gules. 

Crest — A wolf's head gules. 

The American ancestor of the Putnam 
family was John Putnam, of Aston Ab- 
bott, County of Bucks, England, born 
about 1580, came to New England about 
1634. He was a son of Nicholas Putnam 
(1598), son of Richard (1523-56) ; son of 
Henry, living in 1527; son of Nicholas, 
born in 1460; son of Sir George (1408-73) ; 
son of William Puttenham. The line is 
traced back to Simon de Puttenham, who 
was living in 1199 The de was dropped 
from the name in the thirteenth century, 
and Puttenham became Putnam in the 
fifteenth century. 

(I) John Putnam, the immigrant, mar- 
ried in England, Priscilla Gould, and in 
1634 came to New England, was admit- 
ted to the Salem church in 1641, and there 
died, suddenly, December 30, 1662. He 
was a man of considerable education, and 
a good penman, deeds in his handwriting 
being extant. 

(II) Lieutenant Thomas Putnam, eld- 
est son of John and Priscilla (Gould) 
Putnam, baptized at Aston Abbotts, 
March 7, 1614, died in Salem Village, 

120 




Jrc^t^^- S^ 




/^^C 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Massachusetts, May 5, 1686. He served 
as lieutenant of a "troop of horse" and is 
recorded as participating in the "Nar- 
rangansett" Fight. He married (first) at 
I. win. Massachusetts, August 17, [643, 
Ann Holyoke, who died September 1, 
[666, daughter of Edward and Prudence 
(Stockton) Holyoke, an aristocratic New 
England family. Holyoke, Massachu- 
setts, is named in their honor. Lieuten- 
ant Thomas and Ann (Holyoke) Putnam 
were the grandparents of Major General 
Israel Putnam, and great-grandparents of 
Major General Rufus Putnam. Ann Hol- 
yoke was the great-aunt of Edward Hol- 
yoke. president of Harvard University 
from 1737 to 1769. Lieutenant Thomas 
Putnam married (second) September 14, 
[666, Mary, widow of Nathaniel Veren, 
a wealthy merchant of Salem. She died 
in March, [694. Lieutenant Thomas Put- 
nam was the wealthiest citizen of Salem, 
and on November 11, 1672, he was made 
chairman of the committee to carry on 
the affairs of the parish. 

(III) Sergeant Thomas (2) Putnam, 
son of Lieutenant Thomas (1) Putnam, 
and his first wife, Ann (Holyoke) Put- 
nam, was born in Salem, January 12, 
1652, was baptized in the First Church, 
February 2, of the same year, and died 
in Salem, May 24, 1699. He was a man 
of good education, the largest taxpayer in 
Salem, and a man of great influence in 
the colony. He married, September 25, 
1678, Ann Carr, born June 15, 1661, 
daughter of George and Elizabeth Carr, 
of Salisbury. 

(IV) Seth Putnam, son of Sergeant 
Thomas (2) and Ann (Carr) Putnam, 
was born in Salem, May, 1695, died in 
Charlestown, New Hampshire, Novem- 
ber 30, 1775. He aided in forming the 
first church in Charlestown. and was one 
of the first ten members. On August 14, 
1753, the first town meeting was held in 



Charlestown, Seth Putnam being then 
(ii a tithing man. He was a man 
highl) respected in the community, his 
tombstone bearing this inscription: "The 
memor) of the just i^ blessed." He mar- 

;. September [6, 1 7 1 S, Ruth Whipple, 

born in [692, died February 1, [785, in 
Charlestown, New Hampshire. 

(V) Thomas (3) Putnam, sixth son of 

Seth and Ruth I Whipple) Putnam, was 
horn in Billerica, Massachusetts, October 
[728, died in Charlestown, New 
Hampshire, August 20, 1814. He took 
part in the French and Indian Wars and 
is found in the roll of Captain Stevens' 
company in 1750. He was one of the 
first members of the church in Charles- 
town. afterward being made a deacon. In 
Acworth, New Hampshire, he was the 
first justice of the peace ; moderator of 
town meeting there in 1775 and 177' 1; 
selectman, 1772-78, with the exception of 
1774 and 1777, his service covering the 
most important years of the Revolution- 
ary period. He married in Lunenberg, 
Massachusetts, January 24, 1754, Rachel 
Wetherbee, of Charlestown, Massachu- 
setts, born April 3, 1733, died June 12, 
1812, daughter of Captain Ephraim and 
Joanna (Bellows) Wetherbee. 

(VI) Seth (2) Putnam, son of Thomas 
(3) and Rachel (Wetherbee) Putnam, 
was born in Lunenberg, September 16, 
1756, died in Putnam, Upper Canada (On- 
tario), September 3. 1827. At the age of 
nineteen, he was a private in Captain 
Samuel Wetherbee's company in Colonel 
Isaac Wyman's regiment which marched 
to reinforce the Northern army in June, 
1776. He was a member of the Boston 
Tea Party, and an officer in the Revolu- 
tionary army. Later he settled in Can- 
ada, purchased a large tract of land and 
was a successful farmer. He was a con- 
tractor on the peat macadam highway for 
the Government from Hamilton to Chat- 



121 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



ham, one hundred and sixty miles. He 
married Sarah Harding, born in Nova 
Scotia, May 14, 1762. 

(VII) Seth (3) Putnam, son of Seth 
(2) and Sarah (Harding) Putnam, was 
born about 1790. He lived in Vermont, 
and later moved his family to what was 
then a wilderness in New York State. 
This journey was made by ox-team and 
they first settled at Susquehanna, later 
removing back to a hill, afterwards known 
as Putnam's Hill. They were the first 
settlers between the Susquehanna river 
and Deposit, and pioneers in the lumber 
business. Seth Putnam married Jane 
Heald, and was the father of six sons and 
one daughter. 

(VIII) Lancaster Putnam, oldest of 
the children of Seth (3) and Jane (Heald) 
Putnam, associated with his brother, 
Franklin Putnam, set up a mill and man- 
ufactured lumber. This was drawn by 
ox-team to Deposit, then taken by raft 
down the Delaware river to Philadelphia. 
Many thrilling tales have been told of 
their adventures. This was before the 
days of railroads, and the brothers came 
all the way back to Deposit by foot. Lan- 
caster Putnam married Lorinda Wedge, 
and they were the parents of Francis 
Emery, of whom further. 

(IX) Francis Emery Putnam, son of 
Lancaster and Lorinda (Wedge) Put- 
nam, born January 9, 1840, died in 191 1. 
There were two other boys and a girl in 
the family. Wesly died when he was 
eleven years old. The educational oppor- 
tunities of Francis E. Putnam were lim- 
ited. His mother died when he was seven 
years old, and his father belonged to that 
old school which has happily passed 
away, that believed in the "university of 
hard knocks" to the exclusion of any 
other method of acquiring knowledge. 
Nevertheless, Francis E. Putnam made a 
name for himself and a place in the world 



by his own industry and ambition. He 
was possessed of good mental power, and 
succeeded in spite of the handicaps under 
which he entered the battle of life. When 
a young man he bought a farm in Wayne 
county, Pennsylvania. There was much 
timber on the place, and he became inter- 
ested in this timber from a business 
standpoint. He began by felling the trees 
himself, and step by step worked up into 
a large and prosperous business, owning 
several mills, and buying numerous tracts 
of land. There are now over eleven hun- 
dred acres of this logged-off land in pos- 
session of the family. With his straight- 
forward business methods and his enter- 
prising, aggressive activities, he met with 
the success he deserved and became the 
leading man in the community. His 
sterling traits of character won for him 
the confidence and esteem of his fellow- 
citizens. He had six hundred acres of 
cleared land on his farm, and raised large 
general crops ; also raised stock on an ex- 
tensive scale. During the Civil War he 
was engaged in building bridges for the 
Government, his service covering the lat- 
ter years of the war. He was honorably 
discharged after General Lee's surrender. 
Mr. Putnam took an interest in all pub- 
lic affairs, and was a liberal supporter of 
those movements which he believed would 
enhance the public welfare. 

Mr. Putnam married Theodosia Vic- 
toria, daughter of George Graves ; born 
in Harpersville, New York. Twelve chil- 
dren grew to maturity: I. Edna, widow 
of Albert Slocum, now residing in Port- 
land, Oregon. 2. Herbert Elmer, of 
whom we give extended mention below. 
3. Theodore Nelson, of Susquehanna, 
Pennsylvania. 4. Nellie May, widow of 
Edward J. Slocum, now a resident of Hep- 
ner, Oregon. 5. Lorinda Macy, widow 
of Ulysses G. Cook, now a resident of 
New Haven, Connecticut. 6. Louis La- 



122 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



mont, of Portland, Oregon. 7. Norman 
\V., of Lestershire, New York. 8. Clara 
Maude, wife of AJlie G. Spear, of Stevens 
Point, Pennsylvania, a George Ernest, 

who is associated with his brother, llcr- 
bert E., in the business in Hartford; he 
was horn at the homestead, July 22, 1S81, 
was educated in the common schools, and 
has been associated with his brother all 
his life. 1 le is a member of the Woodmen 
of America, the Benevolent and Protec- 
tive Order of Elks; Knights of Pythias, 
and Eoresters of America. He married 
Ada May, daughter of Daniel Arnott, and 
has one daughter, Theodosia Victoria. 10. 
Benjamin Arthur, of Portland, Maine. 11. 
Francis Walter, of South Bend, Oregon. 
12. Harold Douglas, also of that town. The 
pa rents of this family were devout mem- 
bers of the Methodist Episcopal church. 
At one time or another, Francis Emery 
Putnam held most of the offices in the 
church, and was class leader for forty 
years, and superintendent of the Sunday 
school. It may be said that he was the 
spiritual and financial mainstay of the 
small country church with which he was 
identified. Too much honor can hardly 
be paid to the men who have thus upheld 
the forces that make for righteousness, 
and maintain an interest in the evangel- 
ization of remote districts. 

(X) Herbert Elmer Putman, in whose 
life and business the interest of this sketch 
centers, son of Francis E. and Theodosia 
Victoria (Graves) Putnam, was educated 
in the common schools in his native town, 
the Starrucca public school, the Miller- 
ville State Normal School, and a boys' 
school at Alford Center, New York State, 
and grew up on the home farm. He was 
always associated with his father in busi- 
ness, in his younger days, and from the 
time he was twenty-one until he was 
twenty-five, he took an active part in the 
management of the business in which he 



held a constantly growing interest. Later 

he branched out somewhat. There was 
a tine stone quarry on the home farm. A 
>hort time before his marriage he bought 
a half interest in the business of the man 
who was working the quarry, and later 
became - >le owner. This was his begin- 
ning in the work which led to bis pre 

business. Desiring to give hi- growing 
daughters the advantage of the city, with 
its better educational institutions, In- re- 
moved to Hartford, Connecticut, in 1 
and established his present business. He 
continued to operate the quarry for a 
couple of years, but it was difficult to 
manage an industry of this nature from 
such a distance, so he disposed of the 
quarry. He began in Hartford by laying 
sidewalks, and for some time confined his 
operations to this line of work. Gradu- 
ally other and more important lines of 
concrete construction were taken up, until 
to-day he does a general concrete con- 
struction business. His work is such that 
he may well take pride in the point he 
has attained as a business man along con- 
structive lines. After a time he also be- 
gan to handle a general line of mason's 
supplies, and now does a large business 
in that line also. Mr. Putnam is a mem- 
ber of St. John's Lodge, No. 4, Ancient 
Free and Accepted Masons; Washington 
Commander}-, No. 1, Knights Templar; 
the Connecticut Consistory; and the 
Sphinx Temple, Ancient Arabic Order 
Nobles of the Mystic Shrine. 

Mr. Putnam married Mary Louisa, 
daughter of Francis O. Cook, of Susque- 
hanna county, Pennsylvania, and they are 
the parents of three children : Macy 
Marie, a graduate of Hartford High 
School, and a graduate in 1917 of Holyoke 
College; Alma Lucile, a graduate, 1917, 
of Hartford High School, and 1919, at 
Chambersburg, Pennsylvania, Girls' Sem- 
inary ; and Herbert Elmer, Jr., still in 



123 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Hartford schools. The family are mem- 
bers of the First Methodist Episcopal 
Church, of which Mr. Putnam is a trustee 
and chairman of the finance committee. 
He is also a member of the Rotary Club. 
Personally, Mr. Putnam is an interest- 
ing man to meet. He is domestic in his 
tastes, preferring his own hearth to the 
most brilliant circles of society. He takes 
a quiet interest in public affairs, never 
shirking any duty as a citizen, but declin- 
ing any prominence as a politician. 



THRALL, Fred Horace, 

Tobacco Grower. 

From the founding of the town of 
Windsor, Connecticut, the Thrall family 
has been prominently identified with its 
growth and development. The name ap- 
pears in ancient records in a variety of 
forms, including Trail, Thrail and Thrale. 
The arms of the family in England are: 

Arms — Sable, a rose argent; a bordure of the 
last. 
Crest — A cross, crosslet, fitchee gules. 
Motto — In cruce confids. 

(I) The ancestor, William Thrall, born 
1605-06, was probably a native of Eng- 
land, as he is found in the England 
Colony at Windsor as early as 1640, in 
which year he had a grant of land there. 
In 1676 he contributed two shillings and 
six pence to the Connecticut Fund for the 
Relief of the Poor of their colonies. In 
February, 1652, he was granted excessive 
quarry rights in the Common Hill. This 
was known as Thrall's Quarry and was 
located on the west side of Rocky Hill, 
not far from the present Hayden's Sta- 
tion. In 1637 William Thrall served in 
the Pequot War under Captain John 
Mason. He died October 3, 1679, having 
survived his wife three years. Her name 
does not appear of record. She died July 
30, 1676. 



(II) Lieutenant Timothy Thrall, son 
of William Thrall, baptized February 25, 
1641, was also a contributor to the Poor 
Relief Fund in the sum of one shilling, 
six pence. He succeeded his father on the 
homestead in "Hoyte's Meadow," where 
descendants have continued to reside to 
the present time. He was a lieutenant of 
militia and was chosen to take care of the 
town arms and ammunition during Queen 
Anne's War, and in 1654 was a member 
of a committee of five to build a new 
meeting house. He married, November 
10, 1659, Deborah Gunn, who was bap- 
tized February 27, 1641, died January 7, 
1694, the second daughter of Thomas G. 
Gunn, who was early in Windsor and 
moved elsewhere. 

(III) Thomas Thrall, fifth son of Lieu- 
tenant Timothy Thrall, was born July 10, 
1676, in Windsor. When Thomas G. 
Gunn, his grandfather, removed to West- 
field, he gave his homestead in Windsor 
to Thomas Thrall, who resided there. He 
married, November 2, 1699, Elizabeth 
Hoskins, daughter of John and Deborah 
(Denslow) Hoskins. 

(IV) David Thrall, second son of 
Thomas and Elizabeth (Hoskins) Thrall, 
born about 17 10, lived in Windsor, where 
he died March 22, 1772. He married, in 
1738, Jane Barber, born June 16, 1720, 
died February 9, 1789, daughter of John 
and Jane (Alvord) Barber, descendant of 
one of the early Windsor families. This 
family came from England, where it bore 
arms as follows: 

Arms — Argent, two chevrons between three 
fleurs-de-lis, gules within a bordure of the last. 

Crest — Out of a ducal coronet a bull's head 
gules. 

The founder of the Barber family in 
this country was Thomas Barber, who 
came from England in the ship "Chris- 
tian" with the Saltonstall party, and 



124 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



arrived May [6, 1634, in New England. 
In the following year he settled in Wind- 
sor and was a soldier of the Pequol War 
fr< >m thai town. 1 1 is u ife, Jam-. w hi mi he 
married October 7. 1640, died September 
10, lf^).', ami he died on the following 
day. Their third son, Samuel Barber, 
born October 1. [648, in Windsor, lived 
on the paternal homestead. He owned 
the halfway covenant at the Windsor 

church, December i-\ [671. lie lived a 

little north of Mill Brook in Windsor, and 
in 1676 removed to Simsbury, where he 

died March, 170S. He married, June 25, 
1676, Ruth Drake, baptized December 6, 
1657, died November 13, 1731, daughter 

of John and Hannah (Moore) Drake, 
granddaughter of John Drake, who was 
descended from an ancient English family 
who came to Boston, Massachusetts, 
thence to Windsor in 1639. His ancestry 
has been traced in England to 1360, when 
John Drake was a resident of Exmouth. 
He married Christian, daughter of John 
Billet. The line descends from him to the 
Windsor emigrant, through a continuous 
line of Johns, with the exception of the 
seventh and eighth generations occupied 
respectively by Robert and William 
Drake. The last named was the grand- 
father of John Drake, of Windsor. John 
Barber, eldest child of Samuel and Ruth 
(Drake) Barber, was born January 25, 
1677; an d lived in Simsbury. He mar- 
ried, July 24, 1717, Jane Alford, born Jan- 
uary 14, 1699, eldest daughter of Jeremy 
and Jane (Hoskins) Alford, descendant 
on both sides from leading Windsor fam- 
ilies. This name appears as Alvord 
and Alford, and was brought to New 
England by Thomas Alvord, whose 
father was John Alvord, a son of John 
Alvord, born about 1530 in England. 
Thomas Alvord, son of Benedictus Al- 
vord, was in Windsor in 1637, returned 
to England, was there in 1639, was in 



Massachusetts in 1640, joined the Wind- 
sor church in t04I, and was a juror 
in that town two years later. He wa 

■..nit in the PeqUOt War in [6 
served in various town offices, and died 
April -'.?. il ed eighty tl 

leaving an estate of two hundred and 
twenty-nine pounds, three shillings and 
nine pence 1 1'- married, X' >\ ember 

o, Jane Newton. Their youngesl child, 
Jeremy Alvord, born December 24, 1055, 
died June 6, 1709. He married Jane Hos- 
kins born April 30, 1671, fourth daugh- 
ter of Anthony and Pabelle (Brown) 

Hoskins, died M.i\ [9, 1715. Their daugh- 
ter, lane Alvord, born January 14, i<*/'/. 
became the wife of John Barber as previ- 
ly related. The Hoskins family was 
founded in this country by John Hoskins, 
who came in the "Mary and John" in 
1630, located at Dorchester, Massachu- 
setts, and was made freeman in 1631. He 
removed to Windsor, Connecticut, repre- 
sented that town in the General Court in 
1637, and died May 3, 1648. He married 
Anne Files, who died May, [662. Their 
eldest son, John Hoskins, born October 
14. 1659, married, January 27, 1677, Deb- 
orah Denslow, who was born December 
21, 1657, fifth daughter of Henry Denslow, 
whose first wife, Lois, was killed by the 
Indians in 1676. Henry Denslow was a 
son of Nicholas Denslow, who was born 
in 1576, arrived at Dorchester in 1630, and 
died March 8, 1666, at Windsor. Eliza- 
beth -Hoskins, second daughter of John 
and Deborah Hoskins, was married No- 
vember 2, 1699, to Thomas Thrall, as al- 
ready related. Their fourth daughter. Jane 
Hoskins, born April 30, 1671. married 
Jeremy Alvord, as above noted. Their 
daughter, Jane Alvord, born July 24, 
1717, became the wife of John Barber, as 
aforesaid, and their daughter, Jane Bar- 
ber, born June 16, 1720, became the wife 
of David Thrall, as aforesaid. 



i-5 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



(V) David (2) Thrall, eldest son of 
David (1) and Jane (Barber) Thrall, was 
born September 23, 1749, was a farmer on 
the paternal homestead through life, and 
was admitted to the Windsor church with 
his wife, November 20, 1785. He married 
Zulima Denslow, born March 13, 1754, 
daughter of Benoni and Sarah (Griswold) 
Denslow. He died December 7, 1822. He 
was a soldier of the Revolution, serving 
in the Lexington Alarm party. He also 
served in Captain Prior's company of the 
Fifth Connecticut Line, commanded by 
Colonel Bradley in 1777. 

(VI) Horace Thrall, youngest child of 
David (2) and Zulima (Denslow) Thrall, 
was born July 26, 1795, passed his life in 
Windsor, and died January 31, 1865. He 
resided on the paternal homestead of his 
father, engaged through life in agriculture 
and was a prominent and influential cit- 
izen. Politically he was an earnest Dem- 
ocrat. He was possessed of fine mental 
gifts, was a man of upright character, and 
was universally esteemed and respected. 
After serving in various local offices of 
trust and responsibility, he represented 
his town in the State Legislature. His 
death was predicted by himself two days 
previously, and that day he took a drive 
with a handsome team of colts of which 
he was proud and returned in apparent 
perfect health, but almost immediately he 
took to his bed and informed his family 
that he would die at ten p. m. on the fol- 
lowing Tuesday. Monday he settled up 
his affairs, showing the most intelligent 
capability in disposing of his property. 
The wedding of his son had been set for 
February 14, but he requested that the 
ceremony be performed before his death, 
and this took place on January 31, the day 
of his death, at the age of sixty-nine years 
and six months. As he had predicted, at 
the hour of his departure a close watch 



was kept and no signs of dissolution were 
observed until the clock struck ten on 
Tuesday evening, when he suddenly lost 
consciousness and passed away within an 
hour. Mr. Thrall married Eliza J. Wil- 
son, who was born August 16, 1806, at 
Wilson's Station in the town of Windsor, 
daughter of Calvin and Submit (Denes- 
low) Wilson. Calvin Wilson was born 
1758-59 in the town of Stafford, Connec- 
ticut, and settled after the Revolution in 
the town of Windsor, where he died May 
20, 1809. He was a soldier of the Revolu- 
tion, a member of Captain Steven Potter's 
company, Colonel Hermann Swift's regi- 
ment, the second regiment of the Connec- 
ticut Line appearing in the roster of Feb- 
ruary 1, 1782, credited to the town of 
Windham. His wife, Submit (Deneslow) 
Wilson, born 1766, died December 10, 
1840, at the age of seventy-four years. 
She was undoubtedly a member of the 
ancient Deneslow family of Windsor, 
probably her husband belonged to the old 
Wilson family of that town, but unfor- 
tunately no records can be discovered to 
show the parentage of either. 

(VII) Thomas M. Thrall, eighth child 
of Horace and Eliza J. (Wilson) Thrall, 
was born November 23, 1840, was long 
a successful tobacco grower, and died 
May 21, 1889. He cultivated the same 
farm throughout his life, and was one of 
the first to engage in the cultivation of 
tobacco in his section, and at the time of 
his death was one of the largest tobacco 
growers in the Connecticut River Valley. 
He also maintained a large dairy, and pro- 
duced various farm crops on an extensive 
scale. He was active in the public service, 
acting as selectman and in various other 
capacities. Politically a Democrat, he did 
not aspire to any high station in the gift 
of the people, but was ever constant in 
support of his principles. He married 



126 



ENCYCLOPEDIA Oh BIOGRAPHY 



Emma J. Treadway, daughter of Enoch 
Treadway, of Salem, Connecticut. They 

were the parents of a daughter and 50n. 
The former became the wife of Arthur L. 

Cowan, and has three sons, Raymond T., 

Kenneth P., and Thomas Leslie. 

(\ III) Fred I torace Thrall, only son of 
Thomas M. and Emma J. (Treadway) 
Thrall, was born November 3, [872, in 
Windsor, on the homestead which he now 
occupies, ami grew np under the condi- 
tions which surrounded the farmer hoy of 
his time. lie was thus accustomed to 
early rising and soon acquired industrious 
application in forwarding the various in- 
terests of the farm. His formal schooling 
was confined to that supplied by the pub- 
lic schools in the neighborhood, and very 
early in life he assumed the responsibility 
of a farm manager. Upon the death of 
his father in 1889 he became the owner and 
sole manager of the property. He ranks 
among the largest tobacco growers of the 
time, devoting about sixty acres annually 
to shade grown tobacco in addition to fifty 
acres of open grown crop. In the last 
year he also devoted sixteen acres to 
potatoes, thirty acres to corn and one 
hundred acres to hay. His residence is 
one of the finest rural homes in the Conn- 
ecticut Valley. It was erected in 1878, 
constructed of brick, and is one of the 
most substantial as well as handsomest 
farm houses of the community. In addi- 
tion to handling his own product, Mr. 
Thrall engages largely in buying and 
packing tobacco of other growers. In 
1917 his operations in this direction ex- 
ceeded that of any other individual packer 
in New England. During the packing 
season he employs one hundred and sixty 
hands and has a large force the year 
round. Residing in a town whose voters 
are strongly Republican in majority, he 
adheres to the tenets of his fathers and 



sustains the principles of the 
party. In [918 he 

party for State Senator and . ame within 
thirty-three votes of securing the • 

in a district whose normal Republi 

majority is about twelve hundred. I 

high vote is a compliment imonial 

to the personal esteem in which Mr. 

Thrall is held by his contemporaries In 
more than forty years no other Demo- 
cratic candidate has come as near election 

in the district as he. His own town gave 
him a majority of seventy-one votes, 
where- the opposition majority is usually 
in the neighborhood of one hundred and 
fifty. 

Mr. Thrall has long been deeply inter- 
ested in the development of fine 
and has been the patron of legitimate- 
sport in the way of horse racing. In [915 
he purchased Sage Park, near Windsor, 
where racing meetings are regularly held 
during each season. Mr. Thrall is the 
owner of several registered animals, and 
travels the Xew England circuit each 
year with racing animals. The meetings 
at Sage Park are generally admitted to be 
the most successful held in Xew England. 

Mr. Thrall married Nellie, daughter of 
John Sheridan, of Windsor Locks. 



FORMAN, George Lisle, 

Insurance Broker. 

This is the day of the young man. 
George L. Forman, although not yet 
thirty years of age, has achieved consider- 
able, and it is safe to assume that the high 
tide of his life will tell an interesting 
story. George Lisle Forman was born 
September 9. 1891. in Chicago, Illin< 
son of George L. and Gertrude Antoinette 
(Young) Forman. 

His father, George L. Forman, was 
born in Montrose, Scotland, and when a 



127 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



small boy was brought by his parents to 
America, where they located in Chicago. 
There he attended the public schools and 
grew to manhood. Soon after his mar- 
riage he removed to New York City, and 
there he continued to reside until his 
death. He was at different times in busi- 
ness in New York and Chicago, but con- 
tinued to maintain his New York resi- 
dence. He was the secretary of the Crane 
Company of Chicago, Illinois, and sub- 
sequently was associated with the Worth- 
ington Pump Company, of that city. Sev- 
eral years prior to his death he retired 
from active business cares because of ill 
health. He married Gertrude A. Young, 
born in New York City. Mrs. Forman 
survives her husband and now resides in 
New York. Mr. and Mrs. Forman were 
the parents of two sons : George Lisle, 
receives extended mention below ; and 
Charles Edgar, a resident of New York. 

The youth of Mr. Forman was spent in 
New York City, where he attended the 
public schools, and his education was 
completed at the Cheshire Academy in 
Cheshire, Connecticut. Immediately after 
completing his schooling he secured a 
position with the N. S. Mortgage & Trust 
Company, of New York City, remaining 
with them for over a year. On account of 
his father's association with the Crane 
Company in their Hartford office, the 
younger Mr. Forman entered the employ 
of the same company in their Bridgeport 
office. During these years he was secur- 
ing experience which would be needed 
when he decided to enter the business 
field himself. He remained with the 
Crane Company until 1914. In the latter 
year he went abroad as a member of the 
American Ambulance Section, attached 
to the British Expeditionary Forces, Sixth 
Division. He served for seven months, 
then returned to America, and also to his 



former business association with the 
Crane Company. He remained three 
years, and in 1917 formed a partnership 
with Joseph Watson Beach under the firm 
name of Beach, Forman & Company. 
This firm does a general insurance busi- 
ness. Mr. Forman is active in the social 
affairs of his city, and is a member of sev- 
eral clubs, namely: Hartford, Hartford 
Golf of Hartford, the Brooklawn Country 
Club of Bridgeport, and Squadron A. 
Club of New York City. 

Mr. Forman married Elizabeth Stillman 
Kendall, daughter of William Kendall, of 
Brooklyn, New York, and they are the 
parents of a son, George Lisle, Jr. Mr. 
and Mrs. Forman are attendants of Trin- 
ity Episcopal Church, of Hartford, to 
which they lend their support. 



STERNBERG, Adolph Carl, 

Contractor. 

A man and his work are closely related, 
indeed the work is a part of the man, that 
part which lives after him, and expresses 
his personality to the world in which he 
has lived. There is art and beauty, of 
however simple a sort, in every well ex- 
ecuted piece of work, of whatever nature 
it may be. When the element of useful- 
ness is added, the work becomes a worthy 
monument to endeavor. The man of 
vacillating will goes from one thing to 
another, and makes for himself no per- 
manent place in the world of affairs. The 
man of delicate sensibilities chooses the 
work which appeals wholly to the eye or 
the ear. But the man of boundless activ- 
ity and native force chooses work of a 
constructive nature. He is not content 
merely to be, and watch other men do, he 
makes a place for himself, then does some 
big, substantial work, which will be seen 
and used, and will thus become a part of 



128 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BU »GRAPHY 



the progress of the community. In every 
part of the world the people who neglect 
to facilitate communication from one 
town to another, and who take no pride in 
the betterment of civic conditions, are 
backward. They are soon left behind by 
their more social neighbors. America has 
only recently awakened to her privileges 
in the matter of fine highways, hut there is 
8 reason for this which does not appear on 
the surface. She is still a nation in the 
making, and with even the most progres- 
sive American hands, head and heart have 
always been busy with what seemed more 
important matters. 

Nevertheless, from the earliest days of 
American history, every man who came to 
our shores came with the idea of building 
for the future, and year by year, slowly, 
so slowly and gradually that the work 
itself was unperceived, the roads, the 
arteries of the body politic, have been im- 
proved. It remained for the dawn of the 
twentieth century to usher in an era of 
good roads. Now America is looking 
upon the perfection of a general system of 
good highways as necessary to the public 
welfare. The history of the good roads 
movement in the State of Connecticut is 
too long to outline here, but one of the 
first and one of the most important names 
connected with it is that of Adolph Carl 
Sternberg. 

The name Sternberg is of Teutonic 
origin and is compounded of the ending 
burg, meaning city, and according to one 
derivation, the mental quality of the early 
bearers of the name, stern. According to 
another derivation, the first part of the 
name is a changed form of the German 
word Streng, meaning strong, the com- 
plete meaning of the name then being 
Strong City. In all records by which 
names are handed down from generation 
to generation, the natural processes of 

Conn— 7— 9 I 



decay render them illegible, and the nat- 
ural tendency towards dropping unneces- 
sary letters tends towards changes from 
the ' iriginal spelling. 

\ < I • ■ 1 1 > 1 1 C. Sternberg, Sr., was horn in 
Stargard, Prussia, August 15, [839, and 
was a son of Carl Sternberg, Jr., of Pom- 
erania, Prussia, a distinguished and high- 
ly educated lawyer, who also was a fin- 
ished English Scholar, and grandson of 
Rev. Carl Sternberg, Sr., a minister of the 
Luthern church. Carl Sternberg, Jr., came 
to America in [852 on account of his par- 
ticipation in the Revolution of 1848. He 
located in West Hartford, where his fam- 
ily SOOn joined him. He was made a cit- 
izen and remained in West Hartford to 
the end of his life, following general farm- 
ing and making for himself a place among 
the substantia] and respected citizens of 
the town. He died May 7, 1873. He mar- 
ried Bernardine Krause, who died Novem- 
ber 16, 1869. They were the parents of 
nine children, and five of their sons served 
the cause of the Union with gallantry in 
the Civil War, one losing his life. 

Adolph C. Sternberg was a lad of thir- 
teen when he came with his family to 
America. In his native land he had been 
a pupil of a private school famous for its 
high standards of scholarship. He was 
proficient in French and Latin, and had 
begun the study of (".reek. He continued 
his studies with his father for some time 
after they located in West Hartford. 
Later he carried on the farm for his 
father, and after a time added to that in- 
terest the handling of fertilizers and agri- 
cultural implements. He conducted a 
store on State street for twenty years, 
also engaged in tobacco packing. While 
conducting these varied industries he laid 
the foundations for an extensive fruit 
business in which he kept an interest up 
to the time of his death. He was elected 

29 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



to the Legislature by the town of West 
Hartford in 1895, an ^ did fine work on the 
good roads bill with the result that it be- 
came a law. He was elected state high- 
way commissioner, and therewith began 
the wonderful change in highway condi- 
tions for which the State has become 
noted. About twenty years ago, finding 
a great deal of trouble in making the then 
existing contracting companies see the 
superiority of certain methods and sys- 
tems of road construction, Mr. Sternberg 
began taking contracts on his own ac- 
count, gradually broadening the scope of 
his business, surrounding himself with 
capable helpers. He was an authority on 
road building and was often sought for 
consultation by numerous towns in the 
State. He served as acting school visitor 
of West Hartford; justice of the peace; 
was peach yellows commissioner in 1895 ; 
always ready to support any movement 
which would enhance the interests of the 
community. He was a member of the 
Republican party ; member of West Hart- 
ford Grange ; Putnam Phalanx ; Hartford 
Board of Trade ; Sagabout Lodge, and of 
the Tobacco Growers' Association. He 
was a member of the Governor's Foot 
Guard for several years, and also served 
as quartermaster's sergeant of the Home 
Guard. 

Mr. Sternberg married, August 15, 1868, 
Francesca M. Soeckel, and they were the 
parents of five children : Amalie A. B., 
born June 28, 1870, who is the wife of 
Geroge W. Traut, of New Britain, Conn- 
ecticut, a sketch of whom appears else- 
where in this work; Francesca M., born 
January 12, 1872, wife of Ernst Hamilton 
Brandt, of Riverside, Connecticut ; Adolph 
Carl, of further mention ; Louise H., born 
February 27, 1875, died March 13, 1891 ; 
M. Clara, born July 29, 1878, wife of 
Frank L. Traut. The family are mem- 



bers of the West Hartford Congregational 
Church, and Mr. Sternberg is sadly missed 
in both the church and family since his 
death. 

Adolph Carl Sternberg, Jr., was born 
February 7, 1873. He was educated in 
the public schools of West Hartford and 
the Hartford Public High School. After 
completing the High School course he 
went to the Connecticut Agricultural Col- 
lege for special training for the work of 
his choice. He was graduated with hon- 
ors in 1890, and returning to the home 
place began at once scientific farming. 
He began applying the knowledge gained 
to the practical everyday operations of 
the farm, and besides general farm crops, 
specialized in strawberries, raspberries, 
peaches and pears. Mr. Sternberg has 
continued to carry on the contracting 
work which has steadily grown in volume 
and importance until now it gives em- 
ployment on an average to seventy-five 
men, and twelve to fifteen teams, besides 
half a dozen automobile trucks. Like his 
father, he has often been sought for con- 
sultation regarding road building by vari- 
ous towns. Socially Mr. Sternberg is 
much sought. He is a member of Wyllys 
Lodge, No. 99, Ancient Free and Accepted 
Masons; Pythagoras Chapter, No. 17, 
Royal Arch Masons ; Wolcott Council, 
No. 1, Royal and Select Masters ; Hart- 
ford Lodge, No. 19, Benevolent and Pro- 
tective Order of Elks ; and Sagabout 
Lodge. 

Mr. Sternberg married Anna Grace, 
daughter of Horace B. Allen, of Enfield, 
and they are the parents of six children : 
Adolph Carl (3) ; Mary Bancroft, who 
married Arthur Hillery ; Anna Grace Al- 
len ; Francesca ; Mabel Louise ; and Mar- 
garet. The family are members of the 
Congregational church, of which Mr. 
Sternberg is auditor. 



130 



ENCY< U IPEDLA < >F MM >GR M'HV 



DEWEY, John Stevens, 

Tobacco Grower. 

It is sometimes surmised bj men of 
commonplace names that tin- p.>ssrss ( , r ..f 
a celebrated name finds more or less em- 
barrassmenl and inconvenience in the 
very natural query of ever) chance 
quaintance as to whether he is related to 
the famous man of the same name. Be 
that as it may, the qualities which made 
the great man famous are. in the majority 
of eases, characteristic of the family. 
While lie has stood in the public view and 
the world applauds his deeds, other mem- 
bers of the family, with similar traits and 
broad capabilities, are applying their 
powers in less Spectacular ways, in lines 

of endeavor less open to the public view. 

The general welfare of the people re- 
quires that thousands of lives he spent in 
quiet, unheralded occupations, in many 
cases by men who would make good in 
public life, given the opportunity. But 
sterling worth counts for the public good, 
whether that public is aware of it or not. 
Of those big men who are doing import- 
ant work in a quiet, modest way, John 
Stevens Dewey, of the Indian Head Plan- 
tation, of East < iranby, is an example. 
That he is related to Admiral Dewey is 
not a matter of consequence to him. He 
is too fully occupied with the multitud- 
inous duties of the large industry under 
his own hand. 

The name is that of an old feudal family 
ol Flanders, which received the name 
from the town of Douvai. Certain mem- 
bers oi the family settled in Lancashire, 
northeast of London, coming over with 
William the Conqueror. It was for titled 
members of this family, spelling the name 
de Wey, that Weymouth, in Dorset, was 
named. The name has been rendered 



l >a\ 1 1, i; i 'in l >e Vie, I ><■ la We) . and 
1 )ewey, 

Mi Thomas 1 >ewey, the foundei of this 
family in America, came from Sandwich, 
1 unt) Kent, I ngland. I fe was here 
early as [633, as proved b) his signature 
"ii a will, lie was admitted a freeman, 
May 14. [63 1 He v. as 1 'in riginal 

intees of I h >r< hester, Massachusetts, in 
< >n August u. 1635, he 5( ild his 
lands and removed to Windsor, < Connec- 
ticut, being one of the ttlers th< 1 
He was -ranted land in [640. The in- 
ventory of his estate was tiled May [9, 

[648. lie married. March _'_'. [639, at 

\\ in(L<,r, Frances ( lark, widow of I 
rk. 

(II) Sergeant Josiah Dewey, -ccond 
son of Thomas Dewey, was baptized 1 
tober 10. 1 64 1 . at Windsor, and died Sep- 
tember 7. 1732, in Lebanon, Connecticut. 
About 1660 he removed to Northampton, 
Massachusetts. There he learned the car- 
penter's trade, and was made a foreman 
in if>06. lie was granted a home lot in 
July, of that - nne a prominent 

man in the village, and was made 
man. He was in Westfield, Massachu- 
3, in 1070. He had received a grant of 
land there two years previously for build- 
ing a minister's house. lb 
deacon, December 28, [692. He was 
original proprietor in Lebanon, selling his 
lands in Westfield, in [696. He married, 
Novem Northampton, Hep- 

zibah Lyman, born in [644, in Wind 
who died June 4. 1732, in Lebanon, daugh- 
ter of Richard and Hepzibah (For.; 1 Ly- 
man. 

(Ill 1 Josij h (2) Dewey, eldest son of 
geant Josiah 1 1 1 Dewey, born Decem- 
ber 24, 1666, died about 1750, a t Lebanon. 
He lived at Westfield until 1696, when he 
went to Lebanon where he owned mills. 
He married, January 15, 1 69 1 . Mehitable 



L3i 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Miller, born July 10, 1666, at Northamp- 
ton, daughter of William Miller. 

(IV) Josiah (3) Dewey, eldest son of 
Josiah (2) Dewey, was born March 2, 
1694, in Westfield, and died October 30, 
1771, in Lebanon. He was a progressive 
farmer for his day, and a deacon of the 
church. He married, December 4, 1718, 
Sarah Hutchinson, born June 6, 1696, in 
Lebanon, and died September 9, 1776, 
daughter of Samuel and Sarah Hutchin- 
son. 

(V) Solomon Dewey, son of Josiah (3) 
Dewey, was born April 29, 1724, in Leb- 
anon, where he died May 2, 1819, at the 
age of ninety-five. He was a skillful cab- 
inet maker; was six feet tall, and on his 
ninetieth birthday walked a mile to a 
neighbor's house, and built a wooden 
mould board. He married, August 30, 
1770, Elizabeth Cady, who was born June 
6, 1736, in Tolland, and died September 
5, 1813, daughter of John and Hannah 
Cady. 

(VI) Asahel Dewey, son of Solomon 
Dewey, was born June 15, 1775, in Leb- 
anon, and died there, April 26, 1846. He 
was county surveyor, and teacher of 
mathematics, and represented the town 
in the Legislature. He married, March 
8, 1798, Lucina Fuller, born April 10, 1777, 
in Lebanon, and died December 14, 1826, 
daughter of Beyaleel and Phebe (Sprague) 
Fuller. 

(VII) Silas Dewey, eldest child of As- 
ahel Dewey, was born June 16, 1801, in 
Lebanon, and died December 27, 1836. 
He was a farmer on the old homestead, 
and later a merchant in Norwich. He 
married, October 19, 1828, at Groton, 
Sally Ann Brown, born September 27, 
1807, at Groton, died December 8, 1893, 
at Rockville, daughter of David Palmer 
and Fanny Eldridge (Chadwick) Brown. 



(VIII) Silas Henry Dewey, son of 
Silas Dewey, born April 27, 1830, lived on 
the old homestead which had been in the 
family for one hundred and seventy years, 
and sold it after reverses of fortune. He 
was representative to the Legislature in 
1865; was deputy sheriff in New London 
county, and afterwards in 1877, in Tol- 
land. He went to Fisher's Island in 1879, 
and in 1884 to Canada, where he was liv- 
ing in 1898. He was a member of the 
Eastern Star Lodge, No. 44, Ancient Free 
and Accepted Masons. He married, April 

30, 1851, Nancy Maria Manley, born May 

31, 1830, in Columbia, and died Novem- 
ber 29, 1897, in Andover, Connecticut. 
They were members of the Columbia 
Congregational Church. He died July 5, 
1909. 

(IX) John Stevens Dewey, son of 
Silas Henry Dewey, was born February 
12, 1869. He was admitted in the public 
schools of Columbia and Norwich, Conn- 
ecticut. Then went to New York City 
and became a commercial reporter for the 
Mercantile Protective Agency. He was 
thus employed from 1884 to 1890, when 
he returned to Connecticut and engaged in 
farming in the town of Andover. He re- 
mained there for eight years, when he re- 
moved to East Granby. In 1903 he lo- 
cated on the present farm as superintend- 
ent for the Indian Head Plantations Cor- 
poration. He bought out this farm in 
1913, and makes a specialty of shade 
grown tobacco, although he does a very 
considerable amount of general farming. 
He grows about forty acres of tobacco, 
about fourteen acres of corn, three and 
one-half of potatoes, six of oats, four of 
rye, and four of buckwheat. He has alto- 
gether about seventy acres under cultiva- 
tion, and has two other farms besides the 
Indian Head. Besides the growing end 



132 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGR \PIIY 



of the business he buys and packs toba 

Very extensively. lie is one of the big 

men in this line. 

Mr. Dewey is a public spirited, whole 

souled man. who meets his associates as 

one who is interested in the human side of 
existence, as well as the business side. 
In all the various relations involved in the 
administration of an outdoor business in 
a country town, he is a man who sees 
both sides of a question, and meets every 
problem with a breadth of judgment 
which secures him the friend-hip of his 
fellow-workers. lie is a member of St. 
Mark's Lodge of Masons, No. 36, of Sims- 
bury ; Washington Commandery, No. 1; 
Connecticut Consistory ; also a member of 
the building committee. He is past chan- 
cellor of Old Newgate Lodge, No. 65, 
Knights of Pythias, of Tariffville, and has 
been master of the exchequer ever since 
his term of chancellor commander ex- 
pired. Mr. Dewey is past master of St. 
Mark's Lodge, and is now president of 
the Past Masters' Association, of Hart- 
ford. He is a member of the Foresters of 
America ; member of Star Chapter, No. 
69, Order of the Eastern Star, of Granby, 
of which he was one of the organizers. 
Mr. Dewey is now past patron, and Mrs. 
Dewey is worthy matron. 

Mr. Dewey married, June 25, 1897, 
Nellie Sophia, daughter of Edward and 
Jane Euthanasia (Babcock) Thurber, 
born March 6, 1868. They were the par- 
ents of six children : Maude Evelyn, born 
March 3, 1898; John S., Jr., born August 
1, 1899; George Laurin, born March 26, 
1901 ; Bertram! Manley, born July 2, [902 ; 
Nelma Thurber, born December 22, 1903; 
and Grace Lucina, born March 22, 1905. 

For the greater part of the genealogical 
data above, we are indebted to the pub- 
lished Genealogy of the Dewey Family. 



LAMB, Henry Winslow, 

Retired Bmiueii Man. 

Among the early families <<\ Massachu- 
setts I'.ay 1 olony, that 1 »f I .and), first 
planted in Roxbury, has spread all 1 
the New England State-, and wherever 
the name is found is identified with every 

line of worthy endeavor. The founder, 

Thoina- Lamb, came with Governor 

Lamb in 1630, settling in Roxbury, where 
he was one of the six men who pledged 

themselves for the support of the first 
free school in America, Roxbury Latin 
School, its Latin name. This branch of 
the family settled in Connecticut, where 
Winslow M. Lamb was engaged as a 
member of the mercantile firm, Lamb 
Brothers. His wife, Alice M. (Clark) 
Lamb, was a niece of Governor Loomis, 
of Connecticut. They were the parents 
of Henry Winslow Land), who during the 
past eight years of his life, 1910-18, was a 
resident of Tariffville, Connecticut. 

Winslow M. Lamb lived at different 
periods of his life in Salem, Colchester 
and Norwich. In the last named city he 
engaged in the grocery business with his 
brothers for many years, and was a man 
of substance and ability. He married 
Alice M. Hark, and they were the parents 
of two sons and two daughters, namely: 
Henry Winslow. Charles M., Carrie B., 
and Hellen C. 

Henry Winslow Lamb, son of Winslow 
M. and Alice M. I Clark) Lamb, was born 
in Norwich. Connecticut, May 11. 1854, 
died September 6, 1918. He completed 
preparatory study at Colchester Academy, 
then entered Yale University, a classmate 
being now ex-President William H. Taft. 
He was graduated from Yale. A. B., class 
of 1S7S, and for about one year thereafter 
was engaged as principal of the West 
Hartford High School. He then opened 
a wood yard in New Haven, and there 



L33 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



continued in successful business until 
after his marriage, when he disposed of 
that business. He continued his residence 
in New Haven until 1910, then removed 
to Tariffville, Connecticut, which was his 
home until death. In Tariffville he was 
not in active business, but was fully occu- 
pied with the care of his invested inter- 
est. In New Haven Mr. Lamb was a 
member of old Hiram Lodge, No. 1, Free 
and Accepted Masons. He was a man of 
high moral tone and intellectually, very 
careful of all obligations of life, quiet, 
studious and companionable. 

Henry W. Lamb married, February 18, 
1897, Mrs. Emily A. Hotchkiss, daughter 
of Harrison C. and Maria A. (Jones) 
Smith. By her first marriage Mrs. Lamb 
has a son, Earl Harrison Hotchkiss. Mrs. 
Lamb's father, Harrison C. Smith, died in 
1888. He was a machinist engaged in his 
business at both Deep River and Chester. 
He was known as the "veteran bit maker," 
and at the time of his death was foreman 
of a shop in Philadelphia, which city had 
been his home for several years. He was 
a member of Deep River Lodge, Inde- 
pendent Order of Odd Fellows, and a 
member of the Baptist church. Harrison 
C. Smith married Maria A. Jones, daugh- 
ter of Richard Jones, a resident of the 
Deep River section called "The Plains," 
a substantial farmer and stock raiser. 
They were the parents of two children : 
Emily A., now widow of Henry Winslow 
Lamb, and Ivan Smith, of New Haven, 
Connecticut. Mrs. Lamb is a granddaugh- 
ter of Wells Smith, a farmer of Deep 
River, and his wife, Catherine A. (Town- 
er) Smith. 



THOMPSON, Henry Zelah, 

Tobacco Grower. 

To the casual sightseer motoring the 
level valleys in the northern part of Conn- 



ecticut, the only impression left on the 
mind is that of one tobacco field after an- 
other, with scarcely a boundary between 
them. To the casual observer the people 
of the countryside are much like the fields, 
one man after another all engaged in the 
same line of w r ork, so presumably one 
man after another all more or less alike. 
So the men of the city place all agricul- 
turists in a class and call them farmers. 
The ordinary man of business, whose in- 
terests do not touch those of the food and 
tobacco grower, fails entirely to realize 
that the man behind the plow in a very 
large measure makes our civilization. It 
is not the farm, not the character of the 
crops, but the man himself at the head of 
the productive work of the world, that 
holds the welfare of thousands in his 
hands. Nor are all farmers alike. Among 
them can be found many men of broad 
sympathies, of high ideals, alive to the 
moral and spiritual progress of their gen- 
eration, as well as the material needs to 
which they directly minister. Such a man 
is Henry Zelah Thompson, of East 
Granby. 

Thompson is a very old and honored 
English name, and the family, many gen- 
erations before their transplanting to 
America, ,was the bearer of the following 
arms : 

Arms — Azure a lion passant guardant or; 
within a bordure, argent. 

Crest — A lion rampant, ducally gorged or. 

(I) The progenitor of this family in 
America was the Rev. William Thomp- 
son, who was born in 1598-99, in Lanca- 
shire, England. He matriculated at 
Bragen Nose College, in Oxford, January 
28, 1628. He preached in Winwick, a par- 
ish in Lancashire. In 1637 he came to 
Boston, and was first engaged at Kit- 
tery, but later settled at Braintree, Massa- 
chusetts. He removed from there and 



134 



ENCYCLi IPEDI \ < >F MM HiKAPIIY 



ordained November n, of thai year. 
He gave up the ministry in [659, •i"d died 
December 10, 1660. He brought to Amer- 
ica with him his wife, Abigail, two sons 
and two daughters. Their other children 
were burn in America 

(Mi Samuel Thompson, eldest son of 
Rev. William Thompson, was born in 
England. He settled at Braintree, where 

he was representative for nine \ ears. On 
April 25, [656, he married Sarah Shepard. 

horn in England, daughter of Edward and 

Violet Shepard. who had also emigrated 

to America, and at that time resided in 

Cambridge, Massachusetts. 

(III) Edward Thompson, third son of 

Samuel Thompson, graduated from Har- 
vard College in [684, aged nineteen lie 
resided in Xewhury ami taught school 
for several years, before and after leaving 
college. He began to preach in Simshury, 
Connecticut, in June. 1687. and in 1691 
removed to the "west end'' of Xewhury, 
Massachusetts. He died March 16, 1705, 
in Marshfield, Massachusetts. He mar- 
ried Sarah Webster, born July 31, 1659, 
daughter of John and Ann (Batt) Web- 
ster, of Xewhury. 

(IV) Samuel (2) Thompson, eldest 
child of Edward Thompson, was born 
September 1, 1691, in Xewhury, was grad- 
uated from Harvard in 1710, and ordained 
at Gloucester, Massachusetts, November 
28, 171(1. He died December 9, 1724. He 
married Hannah Norwood, who was born 
in [694, and died June 13, 1769. 

(V) Edward (2) Thompson, son of 
Samuel (2) Thompson, was born April 
27, 1722, in Gloucester, and died June 16, 
1806. He came to Simshury in 1793 with 
his mother, his brother Samuel, and sis- 
ters. Mary, Martha and Sarah. He was 
baptized in 1742, and died in 1830. 

(VI ) Edmund Thompson, son of Ed- 
ward (2) Thompson, was born March 9, 



[765, in Simsbury, and baptized \pn! 
170;, by Re\ Roger Viets He married, 
May 8, [782, at l urke> Hill Church, I I 
• .i in!. . Sarah M< ises, 1 if that tow n. 

1 \ 1 1 i Edmund 1 -' ) Th< imp n of 

Edmund (1) I hi >mps< in, vi as born in 
Simsbury, January 27, [788, and died 
April 21, [861. In earl} life he learned 
the trade 1 ; ■>■ making in Simsbu 

then fallowed it also in what is now I 
Granby. He was a skilled and conscien- 
tious workman Later he was extensively 
engaged in farming, and acquired large 

tracts of land He was a I )e niocrat in pol- 
itics, and was highly commended by his 
istituents when he represented the 
town of Granby in the St islature. 

He was held in the highest respect by a 

large circle of friends, who had every con- 
fidence in his probity. On September 11, 
1809. he married Sophia Pinney, of the 
section now known as East Granby, a 
daughter of Aaron Pinney. Moth were 
earnest members of the Baptist church. 
Mr. Thompson died April 21, 1861. and his 
wife died I December 6, 1863. They are 
buried in the East Granby Cemetery. 

The ancestors of Sophia (Pinney) 
Thompson had down through early Xew 
England days, the founder of the family 
coming from England in the "Mary and 
John," in 1630. He settled in Dorchester, 
Massachusetts, and was one of the origi- 
nal members of the Dorchester Church. 
He came to Connecticut and settled in 
Windsor, in 1035: he died August 21, 
$3 Ili^ second son. Nathan, was born 
in December. 1641. was baptized in Wind- 
sor, in January. [642, and died in 1676. 
He married Sarah, widow of Samuel 
Phelps, and daughter of Edward and 
Mary Griswold, pioneers i'i Windsor, 
born in 1038, in England. Their only re- 
corded son, Lieutenant Nathaniel Pinney, 
was born May II, 1671, in Windsor, that 

35 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



section being- then called Poquonock, and 
died January I, 1764. He married, Sep- 
tember 21, 1693, Martha Thrall, who was 
born May 31, 1673, daughter of Timothy 
and Deborah (Gunn) Thrall. Their 
youngest child, Abraham, was born in 
February, 1710, in Windsor, and settled 
in the locality known as "Scotland," in 
Simsbury. He married Elizabeth Burton, 
and died September 12, 1780. Their third 
son, Captain Aaron Pinney, was born in 
1743, and resided in Scotland. He died 
December 26, 1812. On June 1, 1765, he 
married a Miss Bidwell, who was born in 
1740, and died December 20, 1772. Their 
third son, Aaron, was baptized July 10, 
1768, and married Susannah Holcomb, 
who was born in 1769, and died January 
28, 1802, at the age of thirty-four. Their 
eldest child, Sophia, born July 27, 1792, 
became the wife of Edmund Thompson, 
as above noted. 

(VIII) Edward P. Thompson, son of 
Edmund (2) Thompson, was born Au- 
gust 25, 1819, and received an excellent 
education. After attending the district 
schools in the town of Granby, he went to 
the Hartford schools and also Westfield 
schools, and then attended the Suffield 
Institute. He was always well informed 
on the topics of the day, as he continued 
his interest in literature and current his- 
tory throughout his life. He learned car- 
riage making with his father when a 
young man and was very successful. He 
also joined with his father in the carrying 
on and the developing of the home farm 
interests, building a fine residence on the 
property. He was one of the first tobacco 
growers in this section of the county, and 
built extensive barns and tobacco sheds. 
Mr. Thompson married (first) September 
1, 1841, Nancy G. Holcomb, who died 
January 30, 1843, an d she was the mother 
of a daughter, Nancy Holcomb Thomp- 



son, born January 30, 1843, wno became 
the wife of Martin H. Smith and the 
mother of two daughters : Florence, mar- 
ried Charles Luther Spencer, of the Conn- 
ecticut River Banking Company, a sketch 
of whom is found elsewhere in this work; 
Lillian, married Elmer Bailey. Mr. 
Thompson married (second) Mary Jean- 
ette, daughter of Zelah and Jeanette (Ben- 
ton) Case. He died at the old homestead, 
June 22, 1880. By his second marriage 
he was the father of the following child- 
ren : Josephine, born 1844, died young; 
William, born 1853, died young; Katie 
M., born March 26, 1849, married Marvin 
H. Sanford; Delia S., born October 8, 
1856, married W. M. W. Ward. Henry 
Zelah, who receives extended mention be- 
low. Edward P. Thompson was a thor- 
ough-going Democrat, but never desired 
political preferment. His wife died Jan- 
uary 1, 1899, at the home of her son, 
Henry Zelah Thompson. 

(IX) Henry Zelah Thompson, son of 
Edward P. Thompson, was born in East 
Granby, August 2, 1862. He was educated 
in the public schools of his native town, 
supplementing this course with another 
at the Hartford grammar schools and fin- 
ishing at the Suffield Institute. As a 
young man he gave great promise of be- 
ing a worthy successor to the long and 
highly respected line of Thompsons which 
had done so much to establish and uphold 
the dignity of the town of Granby and its 
later offshoot, East Granby. It is cer- 
tainly no flattery to say that this promise 
has been amply fulfilled. Mr. Thompson 
has carried on the home farm, increasing 
the acreage under cultivation, keeping up 
the fine old buildings and presiding in the 
house of his fathers in a fitting manner. 
He raises open grown tobacco, corn and 
other crops. He does not fail in his duty 
to the public, having been chairman of 



136 




^Y^<^5(S7'^Ut^^ 



I'.WYCI.ni'KDI \ OF Bl< >GR \IMIV 



the town committee for ten years and a 
member of the board of relief for five 
years. Neither dues he confine his pub- 
lic interest to the boundaries of his own 
town. He is chairman of the Liberty 
Loan Committee of East < iranby, and 
under his direction excellent work was 
done for the country in her time u\ need. 
Me is a member of Old Newgate Lodge, 
Knights of Pythias, and is also a member 
of the Grange. He is a Democrat, as were 
his father and grandfather, and actively 
interested in the welfare of the party, hut 
has always declined office. lie is prom- 
inent socially as well as in business life, 
and altogether is a man of whom the cit- 
izens of his native town speak with pride. 
Mr. Thompson married Mary S. Rose, 
a native of Suffield, daughter of Mortimer 
and Lucy Ann (Sheldon) Rose. They 
have no children of their own, but have 
reared a daughter, Gertrude Crane, who 
married Charles F. Griffin, of North 
Bloomfield. 



BIDWELL, George Edmund, 

Agriculturist. 

If there be any truth in the theories of 
heredity, a phophet would not have found 
it necessary to resort to occult sources of 
information to predict when George Ed- 
mund Bidwell was a lad that he would 
win recognition as a successful agricul- 
turist. The family record is unique as to 
vocation for Mr. Bidwell is of the sixth 
generation in direct line of descent, each 
of whom has been a successful tiller of the 
soil. George E. Bidwell was born in 
Canton, Hartford county, December 21, 
1858, son of Albert F. and Henrietta R. 
(Pike) Bidwell. 

The name, Bidwell, is of Saxon origin. 
According to Burke, it was originally 
spelled Biddulph, and is composed of "the 



Saxon word- Bidde, or Bida, 'prayer, en- 
treaty,' and Ulph, 'assistance, prot© Hon/ 
indicating that he who Rrsl adopted it 
had been employed in some embassy or 
mission, to seek aid, and thence acquired 
the designation. The famil) is certainly 
of remote antiquity, and Erdeswick, in 
his Survey of Staffordshire, says: The 
Biddulphs derive themselves from one 
( Irmus le * ruidi >n, L ird 1 if I )arl 
Buckinghall, Biddulph, in Staffordshire, 

who lived in the time of Domesday.'" 
M>>re than fifteen variations in the spell- 

ing of the name are recorded, the forms 
now most commonly found being Bid- 
dulph, Bedwell, Bidwell, and Biddle. The 

various coats-of-arms show that tin- hear- 
ers were descended from the Mime an- 
cestor. According to Burke, already 
quoted, the original Bidwell arm-- were: 

Arms — Per saltire or, and gule four roundels 
each charged with a niartl I mter-cfaarged 

Crest — A hand in fesse couped at the wrist 
holding a curling stone. 

The first of the name in the Connecticut 
Valley was Richard Bidwell, called on the 
records "Goodman Bidwell." He was an 
early settler at Windsor. His death oc- 
curred on December 25, 1647. While def- 
inite proof has not yet been found, it is 
generally supposed that he was the father 
of John, mentioned below. 

(I) John Bidwell. a proprietor of Hart- 
ford "by the courtesie of the town," re- 
ceived four acres in the division of 1639- 
jo. He owned a tan yard on an island in 
Little river; was chosen chimney viewer, 
1655-56; was freed fr. >m watching and 
training in 1670. He married Sarah, 
daughter of John Wilcox, and he and his 
wife were original members of the Second 
or South Church. February 12, 1670. 

(II) John (2) Bidwell, eldest child of 
John (1) Bidwell, was born about 1641, 
and died July 3, [692. He married, No- 



*37 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



vember 7, 1678, Sarah Welles, born 1659, 
and died in 1708. She was a daughter of 
Thomas and Hannah (Tuttle) Welles, 
and granddaughter of Governor Thomas 
Welles. John Bidwell inherited from his 
father all his lands and buildings west of 
the Connecticut river, so he resided at 
Hartford. He was a prominent miller, 
and owned the first saw mill at Glaston- 
bury in 1667 ; had three saw mills and a 
grist and fulling mill at Hartford, and 
also had a mill in each of the towns of 
East Hartford, Wethersfield and Middle- 
town. He was an engineer and was 
elected by the town of Hartford to deepen 
the channel in the Connecticut river be- 
tween Hartford and Wethersfield. He 
left an estate of £1,081, and we may 
therefore conclude that he was not only 
industrious and thrifty, but far above the 
average man of his day in business abil- 
ity. He and his wife were members of 
the Center Church. 

(III) Thomas Bidwell, son of John (2) 
Bidwell, was born December 27, 1682. 
and died in 1716. He married, March 28, 
1707, Prudence Scott, born in 1683, died 
February 14, 1763, daughter of Edward 
Scott, of New Haven. Thomas Bidwell 
was one of the administrators of his 
father's estate. He resided in Hartford 
and had a store north of the State House, 
between Exchange Corner and the Hart- 
ford Bank. He was also an owner of 
trading vessels, and was lost at sea while 
on a voyage to the Barbadoes for rum 
and sugar. 

(IV) Thomas (2) Bidwell, son of 
Thomas (1) and Prudence (Scott) Bid- 
well, was born May 16, 171 1, and died in 
1746. He married Ruhannah Pinney, 
who died in 1776. About 1740 they re- 
moved to that part of West Simsbury, 
now known as Canton, and settled on a 
farm which has remained in the familv to 



the present time. He was buried at Town 
Hill Cemetery in New Hartford. 

(V) Thomas (3) Bidwell, son of 
Thomas (2) Bidwell, was born in 1738, 
and was therefore only two years old 
when his parents settled in Canton. He 
engaged in farming on the homestead all 
his life. He married Esther Orton, who 
was born in Farmington, May 22, 1738, 
and died October 17, 1823. One who 
knew them well said "To a man of 
straightforward honesty, energy and 
kindness, with great plainness of speech 
she was a most suitable companion, with 
great intelligence and correct judgment, 
and was well endowed. Her tomb is be- 
side that of her husband in the old Can- 
ton burying ground." The following epi- 
taph is on his monument. "Unshaken in 
the great truth of the Gospel, in this he 
was an iron pillar, and steadfast as a wall 
of brass ; he lived and died in the confi- 
dence of his brethren. But though dead, 
he yet speaketh to the church, to his fam- 
ily and to all who knew him." He served 
in the Revolutionary War, as the records 
show that on January 24, 1778, he lost his 
baggage and collected from the State for 
it £ 1 6s. 2d., and under date of May 30, 
1778, he is referred to as Captain Thomas 
Bidwell in the Bennington alarm list. 

(VI) Thomas (4) Bidwell, son of 
Thomas (3) Bidwell, was born in 1764, 
and engaged in farming in his native 
town of Canton during all his life. There 
his death occurred in 1848. He married 
Lavinia Humphrey, who was born in 1765 
and died about the same time as her hus- 
band. She was a daughter of Oliver and 
Sarah (Garret) Humphrey. Oliver Hum- 
phrey was the first magistrate in West 
Simsbury. He was a son of Jonathan, 
grandson of Samuel, great-grandson of 
Samuel, and great-great-grandson of 
Michael Humphrey, a pioneer of Sims- 
bury. 



138 



ENCYCLi )l'i:DI \ < >F BI< >GRAPHY 



(VII) Thomas ( 5 ) Bidwell, son of 
Thomas 1 \ > and La> inia i I [umphn 
Bidwell, was born in [792. He was a suc- 
cessful farmer and stock raiser in his 
native tow n. 1 le left an enviable repu- 
tation as a man who carried his Chris- 
tianity into his business dealings, and 
showed that success was not incompatible 
with high principles of morality. 

(VIII) Albert F. Bidwell, 
Thomas 15) Bidwell, was born in Can- 
ton, January 5. [818. His father died 
when he was but a lad. and Albert F. was 
reared by hi-- grandfather and his uncle, 
Jasper Bidwell. He started farming on 
his own account and made an enviable 
success as a tobacco grower, stock raiser 
and dairyman, lie was noted for his in- 
dustry and enterprise. Me made man\ 
improvements on his farm, his home and 
the comforts and welfare of his family 
being among his chief interest-, lie did 
not neglect his duties as a citizen, how- 
ever, hut filled the office of selectman and 
assessor with credit to himself and to the 
satisfaction of his fellow-citizens. He 
was a prominent member of the Congre- 
gational church for many years. Hi- 
death occurred November 4, 1873. On 
March 20, 1845, nc married Henrietta R., 
daughter of Hiram and (Hive (Rood) 
Pike, of Xew Marlboro, Massachusetts. 
Five children were born of this union : 1. 
Mary F... horn June S, 1847, died Novem- 
ber 27. 1867. 2. Hiram, born January 31. 

1849, married Gertrude Burr, of Bloom- 
field, and died June 1, 1892, leaving two 
children, Edna G. and Frederick H. Bid- 
well. 3. Frederick A., born December 16, 

1850, married Sadie M. North, and has 
four children : Mary, Albert F., Sarah and 
Isabelle. 4. George E., mentioned below. 
5. Thomas S., born March 29, [86l, mar- 
ried Harriet S. Hinman. and has three 
children : Clara Louise, Burton T. and 
Leland H. Bidwell. 



. I \ Bidwell, -on of Vlbert 

F. Bidwell, was b< irn 1 )ecemb< 1 21, li 
Aftei a >mpleting the public sch< 10I a »ui 
in In - native t' iwc Ik- attended tl ■ ' 
neel icul 1 .iterarj Institute f< ir md 

completed his formal education by a 
course al 1 tannum's Busim 1 e in 

Hartford. His father having died when 

he was only a lad, he began at th< 
fifteen to earn his own way. workil 
farm hand. Strong, vigorous and am- 
bition-, he was able at that earl) age to 
An with his fell kers of 

mature years. So, ,n after his marri 
Mr. Bidwell began farming on his own 
account by working a farm on shares. 
Prudent and thrifty, with the reward- of 
his unflagging industry he was able in 
April, [883, to purchase hi- present farm 

of one hundred and forty-seven acre- in 
Fa-t Granby. This farm ha- I 
brought into high productivity, while the 
residence and buildings • far abi 

the average as to attract attention. Mr. 
Bidwell has always taken an active inter- 
est in public affair-, and i- a tent 
adherent of the Republican party. In 1 
and again in 191 1 he represented the 
town in the State Legislature. 

On January 5. [882, Mr. I lid well mar- 
ried (first) Minnie Bristol, daughter of 
Anson Wheeler and Sarah F. (William-) 
Bristol, a sketch of whom appears else- 
where in this work. She wa- born in 
Canton, September 1;. l8di, and educ 
in the public schools of that town, sub 
fluently attending a sel< hool wl 

-he wa- trained to a school 

teacher, and followed this vocation until 
her marriage. She was the mother of a 
. Jasper W. Bidwell. Mr. Bidwell 
married (second) Mary M. Bristol, born 
August 27. [873, -i-ter of his first wife. 
Her early education was received in the 
Collinsville schools and this course was 
followed bv other courses in Hartford. 



139 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Mrs. Bidwell became a school teacher and 
for several years was engaged in this pro- 
fession in the Hartford schools. 



COTTER, Daniel F., 

Automobile Dealer. 

Opportunity is supposed to be a fleet- 
footed goddess who designs to pass only 
once. But perhaps opportunity has learned 
to respect certain level-headed men who 
are gifted with an infinite capacity for 
painstaking, persistent hard work. For 
the sake of these she may now and 
then take a leisurely pace, accommodat- 
ing her steps to the stately movement of 
those evolutionary forces which bring 
about business changes, and really spell 
progress. Certain it is that the man who 
keeps everlastingly at it, holding his mind 
on the alert for every change in business 
conditions, still never losing his compre- 
hensive grasp on the work in hand, is the 
man who wins. 

Daniel F. Cotter, of Hartford, Connec- 
ticut, is a man who has followed one line 
of business, growing with its growth and 
reaching out with its development, chang- 
ing as time changed the conditions gov- 
erning his work, and thus evolving his 
success. Constancy of purpose and de- 
termination make success. 

The name of Cotter is very old. Ac- 
cording to Burke, "The Irish patronymic 
of this family is O'Corteoir, signifying a 
cottager, a boat builder." According to 
Gibson, in his "History of Cork," the 
family is of Danish origin. The head of 
the Cotter family in Ireland during the 
Commonwealth period was William Cot- 
ter, who forfeited his estate for his activi- 
ties in the Irish War in 1641. The Cotter 
coat-of-arms is : 

Arms — Azure, three evetts in pale propre. 
Crest — A lion passant, reguardant, propre. 
Motto — Dum spiro spero, which means, While 
I live I shall have hope. 



Mr. Cotter's grandfather, Thomas Cot- 
ter, was born in Ireland. His father, Wil- 
liam J. Cotter, was born in Portland, Con- 
necticut, about 1851, and died August 19, 
1899, aged forty-eight years. He grew up 
in Portland, attending the public schools 
there. When he was about sixteen he 
went to work for Fred Russell, of that 
town, and was with him about ten years. 
He then came to Hartford and went into 
the livery business for himself on Trinity 
street. Later he removed to Buckingham 
street, and continued there until his death. 
He numbered among his regular patrons 
many of Hartford's leading families. He 
was one of the first telephone subscribers 
in the city of Hartford, when that con- 
venience was first being installed in the 
city in the face of much indifference and 
opposition. His wife, Mary (Fitzgib- 
bon) Cotter, was a daughter of Daniel 
Fitzgibbon, and was born in Chicopee, 
Massachusetts. She died January 6, 1919, 
aged seventy years. William J. Cotter 
was the father of four children : Daniel 
F., Thomas W., Mazie and Josephine. 
The family were members of St. Peter's 
Church. 

The Fitzgibbon family is of Italian 
origin, and emigrated to Ireland in 1171. 
The founder of the family was Gerald, a 
grandson of Otho, who was an Italian 
Baron, a descendant of the Duke of Tus- 
cany. Gerald built the Castle of Pem- 
broke, and married Nesta, daughter of 
Rees Gryffidh, a Prince of the Welsh. Her 
sons were the ancestors of the FitzGer- 
alds, FitzHenrys and FitzGibbons. De- 
tails of the Griffin ancestry, the name be- 
ing a form of Gryffidh, will be found else- 
where in this work, under the name of 
Griffin. 

Daniel F. Cotter was born in Hartford, 
December 5, 1876. He was educated in 
the public schools, and later was asso- 
ciated with his father in the livery busi- 
ness until his father's death, then suc- 



140 



ENCYCLOPEDIA ' >F BIOGRAPHY 



ceeded him in the business. He con- 
tinued at the old stand until 1906, when 
he removed to Beach street. Automo- 
biles were then coming into general use, 
and Mr. Cotter saw the future of the busi- 
lu-ss as it must expand to inert the new 
conditions. He enlarged his buildings and 
added a garage. As time passed, and the 
use of horses was discontinued in favor of 
the more convenient automobile, Mr. Cot- 
ter met the requirements of his trade with 
such changes and additions as became 
necessary. In 1917 he removed to his 
present quarters on Jewell court and 
ahandoned the livery business entirely, as 
all his old patrons had by that time re- 
placed horses with automobiles. This is 
a striking example of the quiet evolution 
of business. Many of the important 
garage men of the State were formerly in 
the livery business, and seeing the trend 
of progress, gradually worked out of the 
livery business and coincidentally into the 
new business that was destined to sup- 
plant it, the care and repairing of auto- 
mobiles. Mr. Cotter's new garage covers 
fifteen thousand square feet of ground, 
and is one of the largest between New 
York and Boston. Mr. Cotter is a pro- 
gressive, substantial citizen, by no means 
a one-sided man. The spirit that keeps 
abreast of the business world keeps up 
also with the general progress of the 
world of men and affairs. He is a mem- 
ber of the Knights of Columbus, and the 
Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks. 
Mr. Cotter married Charlotte, daughter 
of James and Bridget M. Langdon, of 
Hartford, and has two children, Ruth 
Langdon and William Lyman. The fam- 
ily are members of St. Joseph's Roman 
Catholic Church. 



BALDWIN, John, 

Decorator. 

The family of Baldwin has many 
worthy and distinguished representatives, 



and is among tin- oldesl "i the earl) Colo- 
nial families. According t.. Arthur, the 
author of "Family Names," the name of 
Baldwin signifies tin- speedy conqueror or 
victor, and i> thus derived: Bald, mean- 
ing quick or speedy, and win. meaning 
victory. The name was common .1- early 
as io<>o. 

( I ) The ancestor of the family h( 

traced was Nathaniel Baldwin, who was 
a first settler of Milford, ( onnecticut, and 

a free planter there. November -'o. [639. 

By occupation, lie was a cooper, and was 

living in Fairfield in 1041. He mar: 
Abigail Camp, and she joined the church 
in Fairfield, June 9, 1644, and died there 
on March 22, 1648. 

ill) Daniel Baldwin, -on of Nathaniel 
Baldwin, was baptized in 1044 at Milford, 
and died about I~II. lie married, June 
27, 1665, Elizabeth Botsford, a daughter 
of Henry Botsford, who was an original 
settler of Milford. Daniel Baldwin and 
his wife joined the church, June J/, 1669. 

(III) Daniel {J) Baldwin, son of Dan- 
iel (1) Baldwin, was born March 3, [6 
He married Sarah, whose surname is be- 
lived to have been Camp. She joined 
the church, June 28, 1691, and died De- 
cember 18, 1710. 

(IV) Caleb Baldwin, son of Daniel (2) 
Baldwin, baptized November 29, [702, in 
Milford, died March g, 177-', in Newtown, 
Connecticut, where he settled later in life. 
He was among the forcni"-t citizen-, held 
many offices of trust, was town clerk, 
represented the town, and served a- en- 
sign of the local military company in 1740. 
His first wife was named Mehitable, and 
she died September 5. 1; 

I V ) Caleb (2) Baldwin. SOI I I aleb 
(1) and Mehitable Baldwin, was born De- 
cember 13, 17-'*. in Newtown, and like his 
father was an active man of affairs. He 
was known as Colonel Caleb and held the 
office of town clerk. He married. March 
8, 1756, Naomi, daughter of Joseph Hard, 



141 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



and she died January i8, 1770, at the age 
of thirty-seven years. 

(VI) Dr. John Baldwin, son of Caleb 
(2) Baldwin, was born October 18, 1763, 
in Newtown, and died there on January 
22, 1837. He was a physician. He mar- 
ried Sarah Hatch, who died April 28, 

1835- 

(VII) William Baldwin, son of Dr. 
John Baldwin, was born November 28, 
1803, and died January 12, 1848. He mar- 
ried, October 19, 1825, . 

(VIII) William (2) Baldwin, son of 
William (1) Baldwin, resided during most 
of his life in Hawleyville, in the town of 
Newtown, Connecticut. He died there at 
the age of forty-three years. He married, 
after 1827, Emeline Leavenworth, born 
August 14, 1807, daughter of Russell and 
Althea (De Forest) Leavenworth, and a 
direct descendant of Thomas Leaven- 
worth, who was early in Woodbury. 

(IX) James De Forest Baldwin, son of 
William (2) Baldwin, was born February 
21, 1832, and died in Bethel, February 1, 
1888. The greater part of his active life 
was spent in Bethel and Danbury. He 
was always interested in public matters, 
and as a business man and citizen was 
held in high repute. He early learned the 
painter's trade, but not finding it to his 
liking engaged in mercantile business, in 
addition to which he operated a mill and 
carried on a flourishing livery establish- 
ment in Bethel. In the early seventies, 
Mr. Baldwin began the manufacture of 
fancy combs, for ladies, from horns. He 
possessed unusual skill in coloring these 
combs so that it was difficult to tell them 
from the real tortoise shell comb. In the 
latter part of his life he was in the hotel 
business, and for almost eight years con- 
ducted a hotel at Belle Island. Although 
his business interests were many and 
heavily taxed his time, he found an op- 
portunity to serve his fellow-citizens in 



many ways. A Republican in political 
principle, Mr. Baldwin represented his 
town in the Lower House in 1872, and 
also held several town offices. His fra- 
ternal affiliations were with the Masonic 
order, he a member of Bethel Lodge, and 
with his family attended the Congrega- 
tional church. Mr. Baldwin married, 
May 29, 1853, Margaret Blackman, daugh- 
ter of James Blackman. The latter was 
a drover on a large scale in Newtown and 
Brookfield. Mr. and Mrs. Baldwin were 
the parents of eight children : Mary Eliz- 
abeth, wife of William Wheeler, now de- 
ceased ; William D., resides in Danbury; 
Jennie Margaret, wife of W. F. Godfrey; 
Louis Turner, deceased ; Robert James, 
deceased; John, of further mention; 
Dwight De Forest, deceased. 

(X) John Baldwin, son of James De 
Forest and Margaret (Blackman) Bald- 
win, was born in Bethel, August 6, 1866, 
and his early education was supplied by 
the schools of that town. He was very 
ambitious as a boy, and sought oppor- 
tunities to better equip himself for his 
future life. As a small lad he was em- 
ployed as a cash boy in a department 
store, and when eighteen years of age en- 
tered the employ of Hall & Rogers, mer- 
chants of Danbury, Connecticut. His 
natural traits, especially along the lines of 
artistic furnishing, made his services 
more valuable, and when twenty years of 
age he was made buyer for this firm. He 
continued in that position for four years, 
removing then to Bridgeport, Connecti- 
cut, where he followed similar employ- 
ment, and thence to Fall River, Massa- 
chusetts. In 1892 Mr. Baldwin was 
located in Providence, Rhode Island, and 
that year also marks the beginning of 
his venture into business on his own 
account. It will be remembered that a 
financial panic swept over the country at 
that period, making it very precarious to 



142 




etev z/leaaaw, 



ENCYCD IPEDIA < >F BU >GRAPHY 



undertake any new business, especially 
that of house furnishings. \\ ith the i har- 
acteristic tenacity which has marked his 
entire career, Mr. Baldwin continued to 
struggle against adverses for more than a 
year, and finall) went to Danbury, where 
he remained for a year, obliged to dis- 
continue his business. During the suc- 
ceeding years until [906, he was employed 
in his work in several different cities, 
eventuall) coming to Hartford, where he 
wa^ with the firm of Brown, Thomson & 
Company, and subsequently with the 
Post Carpet Company. Undaunted by his 
first experience, Mr. Baldwin Started in 
business again in 1006, and lias met with 
signal success. Steadily and consistently 
his business has grown. He does not ad- 
vertise, but his superior workmanship and 
exquisite taste appeal to refined people. 
Mr. Baldwin is a lover of Chinese art, and 
has made an extensive study of it. He 
has imported many articles of Chinese 
bric-a-brac, and has then shipped them to 
various parts of the country. His natural 
artistic tastes have been cultivated along 
the practical lines of interior furnishing' 
and decorations. His perception of what 
is needed is intuitive. Possessed of a most 
pleasing personality, Mr. Baldwin enjoys 
well de>er\ed esteem among his con- 
temporaries. 

Mr. Baldwin married Laura Irene, 
daughter of Ebenezer Pierce, of Fair- 
haven. Massachusetts. She is a grand- 
daughter of David R. Pierce, a noted 
builder of New Bedford. Mr. and Mrs. 
Baldwin are regular attendants of the 
South Park Methodist Episcopal Church, 
and active workers in the charities of that 
church. 



REAGAN. Peter. 

Tobacco Grower. 

America has proved the land of oppor- 
tunity to many born under another flag 



and this is especially true of those who 
come to this country from Ireland I 
1 1 ish ha\ e th( l< »m l< » ing 

teristics and qualities which go to m 
the ideal American citizen. I .onj 
the) leave their native soil, these princi- 
ples have been well established, and their 
1 >pen heai tedm - and true 1 )em< icratic 
spirit guarantee them a vv ela >me w hei 1 

thej may choose to 1 \ splendid 

example of the success achieved l>y one 

of this race is illustrated in the caret 

Peter Reagan, tol ■:' Sims- 

bury. We find him possessed of the qual- 
ity of indomitable pluck in the 
every adverse circumstai imbined 

with sheer force of will, concentration of 
mind, and the determination to amount 
to something, these being uppermost in 
his character. 

The Reagan family has long been 
known in County Wicklev, Ireland, and it 
was there that Peter Reagan was born 
about [860, the son of Dennis and Wini- 
fred Reagan, one of four children. The 
others were: John, who died in \\ 
field. Massachusetts; Margaret, died in 
England; Elizabeth, wife of Michael 
Burns, resides in East Granby, Connecti- 
cut. 

The advantages of an education were 
denied to Mr. Reagan, but ever) 
tunity was eagerly seized by him to fur- 
ther his knowledge, thereby increas 
his efficiency. And so it h. rough- 

out his entire life ; he has ever been alert 
and ambitious with the result that he has 
attained a well deserved and respei 
place in his community. 

At the age of eighl ars Mr. 

Reagan came to America, locating in 
Granby, Connecticut. For the seven 
years subsequently he was employed as a 
section hand on the railroad. During all 
the rs he never ! ht of his am- 

bition to own a farm of his own, and by 
practicing the most rigid economy, and 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



regardless of sacrifice of time and pleas- 
ure, he was enabled finally to possess him- 
self of what was long known as the Dan- 
iel Holton farm, consisting of one hun- 
dred and fifty acres. He has always been 
a farmer of the progressive type, and was 
among the early raisers of tobacco in his 
section. At the beginning his crop was 
only an acre in size, and now fifty acres 
of shade grown tobacco are produced 
annually on his farm. Consistent with 
the years has been the growth of his busi- 
ness, and at intervals new buildings and 
additional equipment are added in order 
that the necessary facilities for taking 
care of this increase will be at hand. In 
as many years he has built four new 
tobacco sheds, with a capacity of seven 
acres, and in addition has two small 
sheds. In the busy season it is necessary 
to employ as many as sixty to eighty men 
in order to harvest the large fields of 
tobacco. As soon as the two sons of Mr. 
Reagan reached their majority, they were 
admitted into partnership, and the tobacco 
business is now carried on under the 
name of Reagan & Sons, each one having 
some detail work under their immediate 
jurisdiction. 

Mr. Reagan married Nora Fahey, of 
Simsbury, and their union was blessed 
with two sons and a daughter: i. Wil- 
liam J., born February 23, 1883, is super- 
intendent of the farm. He married Lena 
Peck, of Hartford. 2. John J., born Janu- 
ary 18, 1884, was educated in the public 
schools, and has always been associated 
with his father in the business, now in 
charge of the employees of the farm. He 
married Hattie E. Baker, of Springfield, 
Massachusetts, and they have four chil- 
dren: Roy, Edith, Rose and Lewis. 3. 
Mary, is the wife of Edward O'Brien, of 
Fall River, and the mother of a daughter, 
Loretta O'Brien. 

Mr. Reagan is a man of simple tastes, 



unostentatious in manner, a friend to all 
who are worthy of his regard. He is held 
in high esteem for his upright business 
methods, and is well known among the 
tobacco growers of his section. 



BACKES, Frederick W., 

Business Man. 

The force of environment is an impor- 
tant factor in the upbuilding of character, 
and the youth who rises out of his sur- 
roundings and becomes a prominent and 
influential man in his community proves 
himself to be possessed of more than the 
ordinary amount of will power, ability 
and intelligence. In the life and career of 
Frederick W. Backes, member of the firm 
of Blake & Backes, sugar brokers of Hart- 
ford, this truth is admirably illustrated. 

Mr. Backes was born March 3, 1853, in 
Linc-on-Rhine, Germany, son of Wilhelm 
and Eliza (Wagelein) Backes. At the 
tender age of ten years, he was left an 
orphan by the death of his father, his 
mother having died four years previous. 
To one of less determination, the start in 
life by young Backes would have been 
most encouraging, but to him it served 
as a zest to higher goals. From several 
generations of right living forbears, he 
inherited a splendid physique and fine 
mentality. The necessity of upholding the 
high standard of this heritage devolv- 
ing upon him, Mr. Backes endeavored 
throughout his career not only to main- 
tain this standard, but to add further 
honor to an already honored name and 
family. 

The name, Backes, is found in both the 
German and French forms, and it is im- 
possible to tell which is the earlier. The 
significance of the name is "to contend," 
and against the many obstacles which 
confronted him throughout the years he 
was struggling and striving for success, 



144 



K.WWI." H'EDIA ()!• BK >GRAPHY 



Mr. Backea baa contended as only one 
possessing the undeniable trait- of up- 
rightness, progressivenesa and good judg- 
ment, as in- docs, could contend, or auc- 
Fully aunnount. 
W'illu 1 in Backes, father of Frederick 

\Y. Backes, was a worthy scion of this 
old family. I lis grandfather held the po- 
sition of cashier for the Prince of Wied, 
sufficient indication of the prestige of the 
family. His father, Wilhclm Backes, was 
also the encumbent of a government posi- 
tion, one corresponding to our civil serv- 
ice. He was a progressive man, of up- 
right character, and held in high esteem. 
He took an active and leading part in the 
famous revolution of 1848. He died in 
1865, having survived his wife, Eliza 
( Wagelein) Backes, four years. 

Suhsequent to the death of his father, 
Mr. Backes was placed in the hands of 
his relatives, and attended school, con- 
tinuing through the grammar course, 
which is equivalent to high school train- 
ing in this country for the first or sec- 
ond year, remaining there until fourteen 
years of age. Like many youths who are 
not quite certain of the vocation for which 
they are adapted or which would prove 
most congenial, he learned the baker's 
trade. He served two and one-half years 
at this occupation without one cent of 
compensation, and before he could receive 
his papers as a journeyman it was neces- 
sary for him to make his masterpiece; 
that is, do the entire night's work in the 
bakery himself. After having success- 
fully performed this task, he passed his 
examination in the theory of baking, cov- 
ering those principles of chemistry and 
physics upon which the science of baking 
rests. Having passed successfully the 
various tests in practise and theory, Mr. 
Backes received his papers which per- 
mitted him to travel from place to place 
seeking to broaden his practical knowl- 

Conn— 7— 10 



edge of his trade. It is this ancient DI 

tise that has gi\ en n- the 

man" as applied to a competent mechanic. 

Mr. Backea waa employed in Elberfield, 
Rotterdam. Amsterdam and Leipaig, in 
fact, most of the principle cities of G 
many. In [871 72 he waa obliged to tem- 
arily change hia occupation owing to 

the depression in the baker's trade at that 
time, which year will be remembered in 
America as famous for its financial panic. 
Mr. Backea found work in a freight depot, 
and was one of eight chosen from a group 
of 250 workmen to work in the Custom 
House. Six months hence he waa draft 
for the army, and through a friend in 
America was successful in eluding the 
German authorities and arrived in the 
land of freedom and opportunity. I le v 
a stranger in a strange land and language, 
and a large amount of credit i- due to Mr. 
Backes for the material success he has 
achieved through his own efforts, aided 
by no favor of fortune or circumstance. 
The date of his arrival in America was 
August 12, 1873, and being fortunate 
enough to escape the usual formalities 
confronting the immigrant at Ellis Island, 
Mr. Backes went to work at his trade the 
very next day for the modest stipend of 
six dollars per week and his board, receiv- 
ing an increase of one dollar per week 
after working for three weeks. He was 
subsequently employed in different sec- 
tions of the State of Xew York until l8j 
in which year he located in Providence, 
Rhode Island, where he remained a year, 
returning at the end of that time t" New- 
York City. 

In 1878 Mr. Backes removed to Hart- 
ford, and became associated with his 
brother-in-law in a bakery business lo- 
cated under the Allyn House. Mr. Backes 
had always been thrifty, prudent and 
ambitious, and was now rewarded in being 
able to take an interest in the business. 



M5 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



which was conducted as the Vienna 
Bakery. At that time there were three 
members of the firm, and in 1883 Mr. 
Backes bought the interests of one part- 
ner, acquiring- the remaining interest a 
few years later, becoming sole owner of 
the business. In 1889 Mr. Backes pur- 
chased the building at Nos. 167-169 Asy- 
lum street and remodeled it, fitting it 
with the most modern equipment of that 
time. From the time Mr. Backes became 
associated with the business, it was a con- 
stantly growing success. He gave it his 
undivided attention, and worked as if 
there was no limit to his strength and 
endurance. Naturally such diligent efforts 
were rewarded and Mr. Backes acquired 
a competence, and decided wisely to take 
a rest from his arduous labors, and in 
1903 he retired from the bakery business. 
In 1905 he made a trip back to the 
scenes of his youth and early boyhood, 
visiting his relatives and also those of his 
wife. Returning to Hartford, an advan- 
tageous opportunity to reenter business 
life presented itself, and Mr. Backes was 
unable to resist the promptings of that 
instinct which lay at the foundation of 
his success. He formed a partnership 
with Max Strassen under the firm name 
of Max Strassen & Company, and they 
opened a bakery and restaurant on 125th 
street, near Lenox avenue, New York 
City, Mr. Backes being in charge of the 
financial end of the business. This part- 
nership continued for over a year and a 
half, at the end of which time Mr. Backes 
sold his interest to his partner and re- 
turned to Hartford. In 1905, the same 
year he became interested in the New 
York business, Mr. Backes also purchased 
an interest in the sugar business of E. G. 
Blake, under the firm name of Blake & 
Backes. They sell to grocers and large 
consumers, and handle more sugar than 
any other firm in the State. The record 



of Mr. Backes in all its phases is an 
honorable and manly one, and he is dis- 
tinguished for his high-minded integrity, 
sagacity, and generosity, which qualities 
are richly blended and developed in him. 
His fraternal affiliations are with the Ma- 
sonic order. He is a member of Lafay- 
ette Lodge, No. 100, Ancient Free and 
Accepted Masons ; Washington Com- 
mandery, No. 1, Knights Templar; Con- 
necticut Consistory of Norwich ; Sphinx 
Temple of Hartford. Mr. Backes is also 
a member of the Hartford City Club and 
of the Hartford Chamber of Commerce. 

On September 21, 1877, Mr. Backes mar- 
ried Marie, daughter of Anton Schwarz, 
born in Sweibriicken, and she died De- 
cember 7, 1914. Mrs. Backes was a true 
helpmeet to her husband throughout the 
years he was striving to attain success. 
She was ever ready with encouraging 
words to cheer him when clouds over- 
shadowed, and her optimism and wifely 
counsel proved a bulwark against the dis- 
couragements and trials which beset him. 
Mr. and Mrs. Backes were the parents of 
three children: 1. William J., graduated 
from Sheffield Scientific School, 1899, is 
now chief of the maintenance department 
of the New York, New Haven & Hartford 
Railroad Company ; he married Elsie 
Goer, and is the father of four children : 
Edward, now a student in Pennsylvania 
Military College, Chester, Pennsylvania ; 
Frederick, Helen and Gertrude. 2. May 
C, educated at Simmons College, Boston ; 
married Karl Peiler, mother of a daugh- 
ter, Louise Peiler. 3. Mrs. Helen B. 
Stearns, educated at Vassar, mother of a 
son, Putnam Stearns. 

Mr. Backes and his family were active 
members of Emmanuel Congregational 
Church, and to its charities and worthy 
causes he has always been a cheerful and 
generous contributor. Courteous and un- 
assuming as a man, with a quiet de- 



146 







d,^2v^^ 




ENCY< U >PFI)IA OF BI< >GR \IMIV 



meanor, Mr. Backes possesses the char- 
acter which draws to him and Sincerely 
holds a host of friends lie enjoys well- 
earned respect and esteem 



DOWD, Bernard Joseph, 

Manufacturing Executive. 

The secret of the success attained by 
Bernard Joseph Dowd, factory superin- 
tendent of the Royal Typewriter Com- 
pany of Hartford, might he summed up in 
the one word, preparedness. Throughout 
his boyhood, his youth and his early man- 
hood, he spared no pains nor toil in equip- 
ping and arming' himself so as to be ready 
for opportunity. He was never satisfied 
with a superficial knowledge of any sub- 
ject which he studied, and this quality of 
thoroughness has made him a master of 
detail. Mr. Dowd early discovered the 
wisdom of the words of Abraham Lin- 
coln when he said: "I will study and 
prepare myself to be ready when my time 
comes." 

Mr. Dowd was born April 15, 1883, in 
County Cavan, Ireland, son of Hugh P. 
and Catherine (Smith) Dowd, and was 
but a child when brought by his parents 
to America. He attended St. Peter's 
Parochial School and the Hartford High 
School. Before completing high school 
he entered upon a career in the business 
world which has been one of signal suc- 
cess. His first position was in the draft- 
ing room of the Hartford Cycle Company. 
That was in the year 1898. and for seven- 
teen years he systematically continued the 
work of preparation at evening schools, 
Evening High School, the Hillver Insti- 
tute and private tuition. Ambitious 
and alert, he found it no difficult task 
to sacrifice pleasure in order to center 
his energies on his work and study. 
Courses in mechanical drawing, mathe- 
matics, French, chemistry, physics, me- 



chanical engineering, business mana 
ment, rhetoric and public speaking 
the principal Subjects taken up by Mr. 
Dowd. A.s his abilities increased, be 

sought wider scope for their >\<\ el. .pmerit, 

and was successively employed l>> the 
Sterling Blower Company, the Electric 
Vehicle Company, the I'uderwood Type- 
writer Company of Hartford, and the P. 
& F. Corbin Company of New Britain. 
His vigor and mental acquirements soon 
brought him reward, and in [907 he 
entered the employ of the Royal Type- 
writer Company, in Brooklyn, New York, 
as a typewriter designer. Hi-- progress 
was steady, first as an assistant, and in 
191 1 he was made chief draftsman, and 
was beginning to reap the advantages of 
his years of earnest and searching study. 
In 1916 Mr. Dowd was promoted to the 
position of supervisor of planning at the 
Hartford plant of the Royal Typewriter 
Company, and two years later to the posi- 
tion he now holds, factory superintendent, 
and in this office he has proved himself 
an excellent executive. Mr. Dowd is a 
member of the American Society of Me- 
chanical Engineers. 



DeBARTHE, Albert Winfield, 

Bnaincis Man. 

Of our sister nations who have given us 
of their sturdiest blood, one has recently 
held the attention of all the world, in her 
devastation by ruthless hands. As never 
before France has come to be honored 
and admired in her bitter sorrow. And 
to every American citizen has come an 
added respect for those among their fel- 
lows who trace their origin back to sunny 
France. Those qualities which have made 
the sons of France gallant soldiers un- 
daunted in defeat and magnanimous in 
victory, have made them citizens who 
have upheld the honor and forwarded the 



147 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



principles of our Nation. It is with a 
sense of sincere, if solemn, gratification 
that we record here, in honor of his mem- 
ory, the story of the life of Albert Win- 
field DeBarthe, whose ancestors came to 
us from the shores of France. 

The name of DeBarthe is derived from 
the place of residence of the original 
founder of the family, Barthe. It is thus 
that many surnames were given, when 
their use became general, as a means of 
distinguishing between different men 
bearing the same Christian name. Ac- 
cording to tradition, there were two 
brothers who came from Bordeau, France: 
Joseph and Peter, sons of Peter DeBarthe. 
One of these sons, Joseph, settled in 
Western Connecticut, and for many years 
was a resident of Bristol. 

Peter DeBarthe (second) was born in 
Pennsylvania. He was educated in the 
district schools, and learned the trade of 
cigar maker in Philadelphia. He followed 
this trade all his life. He came to Suf- 
field, Connecticut, a few years before his 
son, Albert W., was born and worked 
there as a journeyman cigar maker. He 
then went to Westfield, Massachusetts, 
where he went into business for himself, 
manufacturing a fine quality of cigars, 
and doing a wholesale and retail business, 
which at that time was quite an impor- 
tant business in this line for that section. 
About 1874 he came to Hartford and 
established himself in business there. He 
was one of the earliest cigar manufac- 
turers of Hartford, having seen the ad- 
vantage of building up a manufacturing 
establishment near the source of supply. 
This was at a time when the tobacco 
growers of the Connecticut River Valley 
were expanding their operations, and 
broadening the fields which now extend 
for miles up and down the fertile valley. 
Peter DeBarthe was connected by mar- 
riage with the family of Robert Fulton, 



the inventor of steamboats. Mr. De- 
Barthe died shortly before the advent of 
the twentieth century. His wife, Phil- 
ena, was a daughter of Henry Barnes, of 
Philadelphia, who was a native of Scot- 
land. Peter DeBarthe and his wife had 
several children, of whom the following 
grew to maturity : Peter, now deceased ; 
William, now deceased; Emerson, a resi- 
dent of the State of Washington ; Albert 
Winfield ; Ada, wife of John B. Knox, 
secretary of the Phoenix Fire Insurance 
Company of Hartford. 

Albert Winfield DeBarthe was born in 
West Suffield, Connecticut, April 2, 1861, 
and died in Wethersfield, May 7, 1917. 
He was educated in the public schools of 
Hartford, and learned the trade of cigar 
maker with his father. He followed this 
trade for about ten years, but having a 
desire to follow some business of a dif- 
ferent nature he looked about him for an 
opening, and started in the laundry busi- 
ness in Worcester, Massachusetts, under 
the name of New Method Laundry. This 
active and exceedingly practical work 
appealed to him, and as he had a genius 
for organization, and a faculty of gaining 
and holding the good will of his em- 
ployees, he was very successful in meet- 
ing the needs of the public. After about 
four years he came to Hartford and 
started a laundry under the same name. 
Three or four years later he formed a 
partnership with George L. Best, and the 
business was incorporated as the New 
Method Laundry Corporation. Mr. De- 
Barthe was president and Mr. Best was 
secretary and treasurer. The business is 
still in active existence, and is run along 
the lines followed by Mr. DeBarthe. The 
loss of his cheerful personality is felt by 
those who were associated with him. It 
is next to the oldest laundry in the city, 
and employs sixty-five people, on the 
average, and runs two automobiles and 



148 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BI< >GRAPHY 



five wagons. Mr. DeBarthc was a mem- 
ber of Lincoln Lodge, Knights of Pythias. 
Mr. DeBarthc married Mary A.., daugh- 
ter of John Ellsworth Strong, of Hart- 
ford, and sistrr of Harry Strong, of whom 
we give a sketch elsewhere in this work. 
Mrs. DeBarthe survives her husband, and 

also the daughter, Mabel, who married 

Horace R. ('.rant, of Wethersfield. 

Mr. DeBarthe was a man of fine char- 
acter and broad intelligence, optimistic, 
genial, and in all his interests thoroughly 
practical ; one of those men who are 
needed sorely in our complex existence, 
for the very spirit of good cheer which he 
put into all his business relations, and the 
sterling worth of his character. 



ELLIOTT, William F., 

Business Man. 

William F. Elliott, member of the firm 
of Hennessey & Elliott, proprietors of 
the "H. & E." Laundry in Hartford and 
Bridgeport, Connecticut, is a representa- 
tive of that sturdy Scotch-Irish stock that 
has contributed so notably to the progress 
and development of the United States and 
Canada. High ideals of morality and 
religion, practical business sense, energy 
and thrift have characterized our citizens 
of Irish descent. They had no ideas nor 
customs to discard in taking their place as 
American citizens ; their ideals of liberty 
and righteousness are the same as those of 
the Puritans and Pilgrims who established 
our institutions, and here they have found 
opportunity for self-development in what- 
ever sphere of activity they might choose 
that was denied them in the older and 
more conservative environment of their 
native land. 

The name of Elliott has been variously 
spelled. It appears in the early records 
as Eliot, Elliot and Elliott. It has been 
borne by many prominent representatives 



ni" the i olonial days. Rev. John Eliot, 
famous Indian Apostle, was the founder 

of the Roxbury family of EliotS, and there 

were three old early Colonial families 
ben mil: tin- Dame. 

William F. Elliott was born February 
11, 1875, in St. John, New Brunswick, 
of Christopher ami Margaret (Gale) El- 
liott, and grandsoii of Robert Elliott 
The latter was a native of Kimishillen, in 
the north of Ireland, and came to 
county, New Brunswick, about 1825, and 
settled on the homestead on which Wil- 
liam F. Elliott was born and where his 
father still resides. Robert Elliott mar- 
ried, the surname of his wife being < Ira- 
ham. They were the parents of Christo- 
pher Elliott, who was born about 1838, 
and still resides on the paternal home- 
stead, where throughout his entire life 
he was engaged in agricultural pursuits. 

It was on this homestead that the youth 
of William F. Elliott was spent, and at 
such intervals as he was not attending the 
district school he was accustomed to 
assist in the work about the farm, and 
in this manner acquired a strong and 
robust constitution, and thus laid tin- 
foundation of physical vigor and devel- 
oped that personal initiative without 
which no real success can be obtained. 
Upon attaining the age of twenty-one 
years, Mr. Elliott came to the I": 
States and first located in ! nee, 

Rhode Island. There he found employ- 
ment as a fireman, and applied hims< 
the team engineering, recer 

in due time his license I LtJonary en- 

gineer. Being of a mechanical bent, he 
continued his studies along electrical lines 
and was engaged in the latter business for 
several years. In 1906 he removed to 
Bridgeport, Connecticut, an.': I in 

the laundry business in partnership with 
Mr. Hennessey, under the firm name of 
Hennessey & Elliott They established 

49 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



the first family washing business in the 
city of Bridgeport, and employ on an 
average twenty persons. Mr. Hennessey 
is in immediate charge of the Bridgeport 
business, while Mr. Elliott takes care of 
the Hartford branch. In 1916 a new plant 
was built at Bridgeport and this has been 
equipped with the very latest machinery 
and facilities. The business was extended 
to Hartford in 1908, and is one of the old- 
est of its kind in that city. A large force 
of employees is kept busy throughout 
the year, and five auto trucks are needed 
to collect and deliver the laundries. 

Mr. Elliott is possessed of much deter- 
mination and force and has the ability to 
execute his plans. His early training and 
the knowledge thus gained has been of 
untold value to him in his present busi- 
ness, and he has made himself master of 
its smallest detail, accounting in a meas- 
ure for his signal success. His business 
matters occupy the greater part of his 
time, and he, therefore, has no particular 
desire to take more than a good citizen's 
interest in public affairs. He is not a 
seeker for office, but is anxious, and at all 
times willing, to take up his part of the 
burden and can always be counted upon 
to lend his support, financially and other- 
wise, if need be, in the furthering of any 
well-deserved movement for the benefit 
of the general public. 

Mr. Elliott married Olga Fischer, 
daughter of Gustave Fischer, of Hartford. 



MITCHELSON, Ariel, 

Agriculturist. 

In the realm of science are numbered 
many lines of labor. The last word is not 
yet said or written along these lines. But 
perhaps agriculture holds the most inter- 
esting possibilities of any science, because 
agriculture is not an exact but an inex- 
haustible science. In the early days of 



our civilization agriculture was practiced 
ably for the purpose of providing the 
necessities of life. The possibility of rais- 
ing the pursuit above the level of drudg- 
ery seemed not to occur to the average 
farmer, and whenever opportunity offered 
he dropped it and turned to some more 
interesting work. It remained for the few 
men capable of crystallizing their ideals 
into progressive results, to grasp the pos- 
sibilities of development along this line 
of productive endeavor. Here and there, 
among mediocre farms, we find one pre- 
eminent among its neighbors, an example 
of agriculture, the science. 

Ariel Mitchelson, one of the most pro- 
gressive agriculturists of his day, is a 
great-grandson of William Mitchelson, 
Jr. The latter came to Hartford in his 
youth, and on April 26, 1713, he married 
Mary Howard. He was efficient and in- 
dustrious, and when they inherited a con- 
siderable amount of property from the 
Howard family his management and care 
enhanced its value and gave their children 
a good start in life. Their son, Eliphalet, 
born about 1730-35, married, December 
28, 1758, Susannah Eno, daughter of Wil- 
liam and Mary (North) Eno. They had 
several children : Their son was a suc- 
cessful physician in Charlestown, South 
Carolina, and many prominent people of 
Rhode Island are descended from their 
daughters. Their son, Ariel Mitchelson, 
was born December 14, 1774, in what is 
now the town of Bloomfield, near Scot- 
land Church, and died September, 1852. 
He was baptized in this church by 
Rev. Roger Viets. He followed farm- 
ing throughout his life, and was highly 
esteemed in his community, a man of 
strict integrity, serving among his neigh- 
bors as an arbiter in their disputes. He 
was a man of progressive ideas, in poli- 
tics a Whig, and served several terms in 
the General Assembly. In 1809 he mar- 



150 



ENCYCL( >PEDIA ( >F 15|( HIRAI'IIY 



ried Elizabeth Cornish, of Granby, who 
was born November n, 1776, daughter 

of Lieutenant Joseph and Elizabeth (Mor- 
ton) Cornish Elizabeth Cornish was a 
descendant of James Cornish, the pioneer 
school teacher, who died in Siinshury at 
an advanced age in 1698. His wife was 
Phcebe (Larraboy) Cornish, and their 
son, Deacon James Cornish, was born in 
1663. On November 10, 1692, he married 
(first) Elizabeth Thrall, daughter of Tim- 
othy Thrall, of Windsor, Connecticut. 
She was born May 1, 1667, and died Jan- 
uary 25, 1713-14. Deacon James Cornish 
died in Simsbury, April 2, 1740. Their 
second son, Joseph Cornish, was born Oc- 
tober 18, 1697, and died May 26, 1759. 
He married, May 5, 1726, Mary, widow of 
Samuel Humphrey, and daughter of 
James and Abigail (Bissell) Eno. She 
died September 16, 1731. Their eldest 
child, Lieutenant Joseph Cornish, born 
June 13, 1729, died September 24, 1776, of 
camp distemper. He married, October 
25, 1753, Elizabeth Morton, daughter of 
Thomas and Hannah (Wilcox) Morton, 
who died November 14, 1792. Thus the 
prominent family of Cornish joins the 
Mitchelson line in which we are inter- 
ested, by the marriage of Elizabeth Corn- 
ish to the first Ariel Mitchelson. 

Ariel Mitchelson, father of Ariel Mit- 
chelson, was well educated, first in the 
common schools of his home district, then 
at the Holcombe High School in Granby, 
finishing at an academy in Poughkeepsie, 
New York. In the early days of the 
tobacco industry in his State, Ariel Mit- 
chelson recognized the probable future 
importance of the crop and entered what 
proved to be a significant career in the 
production and handling of tobacco. He 
was associated with his cousins, A. L. 
and C. L. Holt, of New York, who 
marketed a large quantity of his product 
there, but was himself one of the best 



known wholesalers in this section. He 
was a broad, public-spirited man, giving 
generous and substantial support to any 
institution or project which had to do 

with the public welfare. He was largely 
instrumental in bringing the railroad 
through Tariffville when the original lay- 
out was through Farmington. He built 
part of the village of Tariffville, laid out 
streets, donated land for two school 
houses and the sites for the Baptist and 
Roman Catholic churches and Trinity 
Kpiscopal church, and to the latter, of 
which he was a member, he bequeathed 
five thousand dollars. For many years 
Mr. Mitchelson was a director of the 
Charter Oak National Bank, of which he 
was one of the organizers. His political 
affiliations were originally with the old 
line Whig party, later with the Republi- 
can, and he was keenly interested in the 
election of trustworthy and efficient offi- 
cials, though not ambitious to hold office 
himself. On June 5, 1848, he married 
Elizabeth Chappell, who was born in 
East Lyme, Connecticut, November 29, 
1824, a daughter of Daniel and Hannah 
(Loomis) Chappell. Hannah Loomis was 
a descendant of the old Loomis family 
that settled in Windsor in 1639, and which 
has given the world many eminent men. 
Mr. Mitchelson died February 8, 1894, 
and his widow in 1900. Their remains 
were laid away in Scotland Church Ceme- 
tery. Mrs. Mitchelson in her younger 
years was a member of the Baptist 
church, and later united with the Episco- 
pal church. To her loyal devotion the 
family have always ascribed much of their 
success in life. They were the parents of 
eight children: 1. Ariel, born August 2, 
1850, died at the age of six years. 2. 
Elizabeth C, born February 7. 1852, died 
at the age of four years. 3. George, born 
June 30. 1854, now a resident of Bloom- 
field ; he is an enthusiastic collector of 



isl 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Indian tools; he married Mary Dyer, of 
Hudson, Wisconsin, June 12, 1899. 4. 
Joseph C, born May 22, 1856, lived 
most of his life in Kansas City, Missouri; 
he married Emma Wilson, of Geneseo, 
Illinois, daughter of George and Jane 
(Prouty) Wilson; Mr. Mitchelson died 
at Tariffville, September 25, 191 1, leaving 
a large and valuable collection of coins to 
the Connecticut State Library. 5. Eliza- 
beth, born November 3, 1859, married 
William F. Gorton, deceased, and had 
three children: Elizabeth, William A., 
and Joseph M. Gorton. 6. Charles, born 
November 19, 1861, died September 25, 
1862. 7. Ariel, of extended mention be- 
low. 8. Mary Howard. 

Ariel Mitchelson, Jr., was born March 
20, 1864. He is upholding the traditions 
of his fathers both in public and private 
life. He was given a business education 
at the Eastman Business College in 
Poughkeepsie, New York, after attending 
Hartford schools. He remained on his 
father's farm and associated himself with 
his father in all his tobacco interests until 
his death, and has since conducted the 
business in his own name. He has in- 
creased the business as he became familiar 
with the details of the growth and curing 
of the product, extended the acreage and 
now grows fifty acres under shade. He 
was one of the first to raise shade grown 
tobacco in this section of the State. He 
has a fine warehouse with every modern 
equipment, and employs many laborers. 
Important as is this branch of production, 
it in no degree eclipses the magnificent 
herd of imported, pedigreed Guernsey 
cows. The dairy is a model of perfec- 
tion. The stables and barns are fitted 
with the latest equipment, and the great- 
est attention is paid to sanitation. He 
has exhibited his stock at numerous fairs, 
and has taken many first prizes. The 



herd is widely known for its beauty as 
well as for its fine record. 

Mr. Mitchelson is a director of the Col- 
onial National Bank of Hartford, of which 
he was one of the founders. He is past 
chancellor commander of Old Newgate 
Lodge, Knights of Pythias ; member of 
the Benevolent and Protective Order of 
Elks, of Hartford ; Hartford Club ; Hart- 
ford Chamber of Commerce ; Putnam 
Phalanx of Hartford. He was sent as 
a representative to the Legislature of 
1912-13, and served on the committee of 
cities and boroughs. In religious connec- 
tion, Mr. Mitchelson is a member of Trin- 
ity Episcopal Church at Tariffville. His 
farm has become one of the show places 
of New England, and has been in the 
family since 1664, the original grant from 
the King being in his possession. 

Mr. Mitchelson married Mary Violet, 
daughter of Seth and Adelaide (Hurl- 
burt) Ely, of Windsor, and they have two 
children : Joseph Ariel, born November 
13, 1897, a member of the class of 1921, 
at Amherst; May Adelaide, born Septem- 
ber 26, 1900, attending Miss Capen's Pre- 
paratory School at Northampton, Massa- 
chusetts. 



HATHEWAY, Ernest A., 
Tobacco Dealer. 

Life is what we make it ; but many a 
man has found the course of his life di- 
verted from the channel which he had 
chosen, found himself governed by new 
conditions and necessities, where the 
work which lay before him was different 
from that towards which his ambition had 
faced. When a man is big enough to 
accept such a situation and put heart and 
soul into the work placed in his hands, 
he sets a standard for those who follow 
that aids materially in the maintenance of 
high ideals in the community. He does 



152 




O^z- 




ENCYCLOPEDIA OF UK HiKAl'H V 



one man's share towards shaping the 
trend of human progress. Ernest A. 
Hatheway, of Hartford, Connecticut, is 

one of those nun. He is a member of 
tin.' firm of Hatheway & Strain-, growers 
and packers of tobacco. 

The name Hatheway or Hathaway is 
one of those surnames derived from place, 
and means dweller by the Heath-way. It 
is a surname rarely found in the early 
records of the American colonies. Three 
brothers, Shadrach, Samuel and Jacob 
Hatheway, were early settlers in Suffield. 
Shadrach married Deborah Kent, and 
died, leaving two sons. Jacob married 
the widow of Shadrach, and was the 
grandfather of Milton Hatheway, who is 
still remembered by the older residents of 
Suffield, Connecticut. The present Hathe- 
way homestead, which is now owned by 
Mr. Hatheway, now standing in good re- 
pair, was built by Charles Hatheway, son 
of Jacob Hatheway, and since that time 
the family have been prominent in Suf- 
field, and in the early years of the nine- 
teenth century they were the wealthiest 
family in the town. Luther Hatheway, 
son of Charles Hatheway, married Clara, 
daughter of General Samuel Safford, lieu- 
tenant-colonel in the battle of Benning- 
ton during the Revolutionary War. Mil- 
ton Hatheway, born in 1797 in Suffield. 
owned a grist mill and cotton seed oil 
mill, and also conducted the farm. He 
was a member of the State Legislature. 
He was twice married; his first wife was 
a member of the prominent Heath fam- 
ily, and the second, Elizabeth Bliss. 

Henry Safford Hatheway was horn in 
Suffield in 1830, sen of Milton Hatheway 
by his first marriage. He was educated 
in the public schools and the Connecticut 
Literary Institute. He was reared on the 
farm, and early in life became interested 
in tobacco growing, then being tried out 
more or less extensively in the Connecti- 



cut Valley. He found it profitable and 

turned each year a larger acreage of the 
deep rich BOll of the homestead farm to 

that crop. In [865 he added tobacco pack- 
ing to his business intei 11 con- 
tinuing to produce the crop quite exten- 
sively. He was a public-spirited man, 
interested mail the town afi illy 
the development of the school system, 
serving on the school committee for some 
time, but was not a politician. He mar- 
ried Mary Jane, daughter of Albert Dens- 
low, of Windsor Locks, a direct descend- 
ant of Henry DensloW, the first settler of 
Windsor Locks. He was killed by the 
Indians and a monument stands in his 
honor in that town. Mr. and Mrs. Hathe- 
way were the parents of six children, of 
whom five grew to maturity: Ada E., 
who married J. E. DeWitt, HOW deceased; 
Lissa I., who married Henry W. K< 

win, of Mount Vernon, New York; Frank 

S.. who died in [895 J Ernest V. of whom 
we give further mention below; Jennie 
X., who married G. F. Holloway, of Suf- 
field. The parents and all of the children 
wire members of the Second Baptist 
Church of Suffield. 

Ernest A. Hatheway was horn in Suf- 
field, Connecticut. March. iS. [873, son of 
Henry Safford and Mary Jane »w) 

Hatheway. On his mother's side he is a 
descendant of Lord Mansfield, through 
his daughter, Sarah Mansfield, who came 
to America in the early part of the seven- 
teenth century. Mr. Hatheway received 
his early education in the public schools 
of his native town, and continued hi- edu- 
cation at the Connecticut Literary Insti- 
tute. He taught school for a year when 
he was seventeen years of age. The life 
of a scholar appealed to him. and he was 
well fitted for an educator by his keen 
mentality, and also the genial personality 
which won him friends wherever he went. 
He held several small positions until he 



1 S3 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



was twenty years of age, then matricu- 
lated at Trinity College. After two years 
Mr. Hatheway's brother died, and this 
changed the whole course of his career. 
He discontinued his college course to 
assist his father in the tobacco business, 
and has been identified with that business 
ever since. He started buying and sell- 
ing on his own account in 1895, and while 
continuing in this branch of the business 
he later became a traveling tobacco sales- 
man. On January 1, 1909, he formed a 
partnership with Isaac J. and James H. 
Steane, for the broader development of 
the tobacco business. They produce 
about four hundred acres of shade-grown 
tobacco annually, and also buy largely 
from other growers. They do a very ex- 
tensive packing business in addition to 
their growing interests in Suffield and 
elsewhere. 

Mr. Hatheway is a member of Apollo 
Lodge, Ancient Free and Accepted Ma- 
sons, of Suffield, also the Chapter and 
Council in that town. He is a member 
of Washington Commandery, No. 1, 
Knights Templar; Sphinx Temple, An- 
cient Arabic Order Nobles of the Mystic 
Shrine, of Hartford ; of the Hartford 
Lodge, No. 19, Benevolent and Protective 
Order of Elks, of Hartford ; of the Hart- 
ford Club, and the Hartford Golf Club. 
While not a politician, he is interested in 
all public progress and is always identi- 
fied with any movement which advances 
the public welfare. 

Mr. Hatheway married (first) Lillie M., 
daughter of John M. Stewart, of Boston, 
and they had one son, Stewart Sanford. 
He married (second) Mrs. Elizabeth M. 
Adams, daughter of Frank Stone, of Hart- 
ford. Mr. Hatheway is a member of the 
Baptist church, and Mrs. Hatheway of 
the Episcopal church. Their home is at 
No. 142 Woodland street. 

Personally Mr. Hatheway is a genial, 



open-hearted man, a pleasant acquaint- 
ance and a valued friend. He is a thor- 
ough business man, but reasonable and 
fair with his employees, and cordial with 
his business associates, though always 
standing firmly for the right. He is one 
of those men who contribute largely to 
the stability and permanence of the busi- 
ness life of the city. 



SWENSON, Charles Karl, 

Florist. 

There is something inspiring in the 
story of a young man who leaves the 
home of his fathers and the scenes of his 
childhood, and goes out into the world, 
seeking a better country in which to build 
a home for himself and his children. In 
sixteen hundred or in nineteen hundred, 
the spirit is the same — the outward look, 
the upward climb, the struggle and sacri- 
fice that the next generation may have 
an easier path, a more secure footing on 
the road to success. It is seldom the idler 
who strikes out in this way. There is 
some talent or taste that gives the young 
man an impulse to follow his own way, 
and it takes great strength of character 
to make the start, and in addition also 
undaunted courage and endless tenacity 
of purpose. He must turn every little 
good to his own gain, search out new op- 
portunities, in short, make his way. 

Of the sturdy men who have come from 
Sweden and made this record in America, 
Charles Karl Swenson, florist and gar- 
dener, is a noteworthy example. Mr. 
Swenson was born in Sweden, June 5, 
1 861, and is the son of Swen Neilson and 
Botilda (Gustavson) Neilson. His sur- 
name is formed, according to the custom 
which has prevailed in Sweden from time 
immemorial, of naming the son from the 
father's Christian name, adding the suffix, 
son, to indicate the relationship. This 

54 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF UH >GRAP1 1Y 



rule is kept very strictly, and exceptions 

can be made only by special permission. 
Swen Neilson, Mr. Swenson's father, 

was born in Tarstad, Sweden, and died 

about 1870, aged fifty-five. He was a 

prominent man in the community, highly- 
respected, and owned considerable prop- 
erty. He was a gentleman farmer, and 
was the father of eight children, of whom 
five grew to maturity. 'Three came to 
America, Xeils Swenson, Charles Karl 
Swenson, and Anna, who married Alfred 
Johnson, of West Hartford. 

Charles Karl Swenson was educated in 
the public schools of his native town, then 
worked in a greenhouse for a year. After 
that he worked with a landscape gar- 
dener, doing work on some very fine 
estates. In 1879 he came to America. At 
first he worked as a farm hand, as no bet- 
ter opportunity offered. As he became 
accustomed to the ways of the country 
and familiar with the language, he sought 
work in his special line, and was em- 
ployed in greenhouses and on private 
estates in a number of cities. This gave 
him a breadth of experience in a com- 
paratively short time. At length he went 
to work in the Pierson greenhouses in 
Cromwell, Connecticut. He remained 
there about three years. Mr. Pierson took 
down some small houses to make room 
for improvements in his immense plant, 
and from him Mr. Swenson bought a 
boiler and enough piping for one house. 
When the Colt greenhouses in Hartford 
were taken down he bought enough glass 
to build a house for the boiler. Thus, with 
materials that many would have dis- 
carded, he made his modest beginning and 
established himself in a place of his own. 
That was in 1887. Love of his work, 
thorough knowdedge of it, unremitting 
labor, personal sacrifice, these were the 
foundations of his success. Keenness of 
judgment in anticipating the market re- 



quirements, eternal vigilance in watching 
for the insidious dangers and enemies of 

plant life, and a mind alert for the 1 
and the latest discoveries and inventions 
which bear on this line of business, t! ■ 
are the forces that have kept him Bteadily 

progressing toward the success which he 

now enjoys. As the business grew he 
added other houses, from time to time, 
until now he has ten thousand feet of 
glass. He grows mostly a general line of 

flowers, potted and bedding plants. Every 
spring he has ready a large variety of 
vegetable plants, tomato, cabbage, celery, 
etc. He docs quite a considerable whole- 
sale as well as retail business. 

Mr. Swenson married Mary Nicholson, 
a native of Sweden, and has six children : 
1. Wilbur Karl, who was killed in an 

automobile accident at Prescott, Arizona, 

in 1918; has a daughter, l.ewanda, in Los 
Angeles, California, who was left an 
orphan. . 2. Lillie, who married Frank 
Carlson, of Hartford, and has one son. 
Frank J. 3. Rose, who married Alfred 
Messier, of Hartford, and has one son, 
Wilbur Lewis. 4. Esther. 5. Edward. 
6. Adolph. The family are members of 
the Swedish Lutheran church, of which 
society Mr. Swenson has served as 
trustee. 



PETERSON, Carl, 

Florist. 

New blood revitalizes a living organ- 
ism. This is true of nations as well as of 
individuals. I'pright, industrious, self re- 
liant men arc the very material of which 
the fabric of our civilization is woven. 
When the best men of other nations come 
to us and establish in our midst industries 
of economic stability and esthetic value, 
the impetus for progress is widely felt. 
Not only do they make good citizens, they 
exert a powerful influence among our 



l 53 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



native born young men by spurring them 
on to nobler ambitions and higher ideals. 
Coming to this country a stranger with- 
out influence, not even knowing the lan- 
guage, Carl Peterson has made for him- 
self an honored position among our most 
worthy citizens. He is one of our sub- 
stantial business men, and one of the im- 
portant men in his line. His greenhouses 
in West Hartford are a substantial testi- 
monial to his thrift and industry. 

In Sweden the custom still survives of 
adding the suffix "son" to the father's 
Christian name to designate his offspring. 
Parish records are kept with most scru- 
pulous care, and special permission must 
be obtained before one may depart from 
the established custom. Thus, Mr. Peter- 
son's grandfather was Peter Anderson ; 
his father was named Hendrick, and took 
the cognomen Peterson; and the subject 
of this sketch has a brother, now a resi- 
dent of Hartford, who in conformity to 
this rule has taken for his surname Hen- 
drickson, his Christian name being John. 

The family of whom Carl Peterson is 
a worthy and a representative member 
have been for many generations residents 
of Stockholm, or the suburbs of that city. 
His father, Hendrick Peterson, was a 
farmer, and lived in Stockholm all his 
life. He married Charlotte Lenstrom, of 
that city. 

Carl Peterson was born in Stockholm, 
June i, 1870, and educated in the public 
schools of his native city, after which he 
attended a school for training gardeners. 
After completing his technical studies, he 
went to work on the estate of Ekman, 
who was at that time the largest manu- 
facturer of cannon in Sweden. He also 
served the required three years in the 
army, his branch being the cavalry. He 
came to America in 1893 an d located in 
Cromwell, Connecticut, entering the em- 
ploy of the A. N. Pierson Company, of 



State and National reputation. Mr. Peter- 
son remained there three years, then 
entered the employ of Thomas Young, a 
big wholesale florist of New York City, 
whose greenhouses were in Jersey City. 
After working there for nine months, he 
came to West Hartford, where he was 
employed by Alfred A. Whiting, the 
pioneer florist of that section of Connec- 
ticut. This was a position of no slight 
importance, as the Whiting standard of 
quality was very high, and there is no 
industry which demands more good sound 
judgment or more painstaking attention 
to detail. He remained there in the ca- 
pacity of foreman until Mr. Whiting's 
death, then managed the place for Miss 
Helen Whiting for nine years. In 1916 
Mr. Peterson purchased the plant, includ- 
ing the original Whiting residence. He 
has over one hundred thousand square 
feet of glass with up-to-date equipment, 
and grows a general line of flowers and 
bedding plants. The entire output is sold 
at retail at the greenhouse. Mr. Peterson 
is a member of the Swedish Zion Congre- 
gational Church, of which he has been a 
trustee for eighteen years. 

Mr. Peterson married Anna Linney 
Larson, a native of Warberg, Sweden, 
and they have two children living, Carl 
Eric and Ruth Harriet. 



COLTON, Frederick Marshall, 

Agriculturist, Tobacco Grower. 

The American ancestor of Frederick M. 
Colton, of Granby, Connecticut, was Quar- 
termaster George Colton, who settled in 
Springfield, Massachusetts. Ephraim Col- 
ton, of the second American generation, 
settled in Hartford county, Connecticut, 
and from his coming that county has 
been the family seat of this branch ; a son 
of Ephraim Colton, Rev. Benjamin Col- 
ton, served West Hartford Congrega- 



156 



ENCYCU )l'l-:i)l A ( >F m< >GRAPHY 



tional Church as pastor many years, and 
his sun. Rev. Eli Col ton, contributed rive 
stalwart sons to the Revolutionary army; 
he was pastor of the Congregational 
church of < Iranb) . 

i I i Quartermaster George Colton, 
founder of the family in New England, of 
which Frederick M. Colton, of Granby, 
Connecticut, is a twentieth century rep- 
resentative in the eighth generation, was 
born, if tradition be true, in the town of 
Sutton, Warwickshire, England, There 
seems to be no record of his early coming 
there, nor the place of landing, and date of 
arrival cannot be given. The first certain 
fact is that of his marriage to Deborah 
(iardner, of Hartford, Connecticut, and 
even that date is given as "about i"44.'' 
She died in Springfield, Massachusetts, 
September 5, 1689, and it is certain that 
he reached the Springfield settlement as 
early as 1644. He took the oath of alle- 
giance in 1668, was made a freeman in 
1669, an d in 1670 was a representative to 
the General Court. His home was in that 
part of Springfield then and now known 
as Longmeadow, and there many of the 
name are yet found. On March 20, 1672, 
he was appointed to lay out and establi-h 
the bounds of Suffield, and in the year 
1722 fifty acres were laid out in Suffield to 
the assigns of George Colton, then de- 
ceased, in recognition of public service.' 
Other honorable mention is made of him 
in the old records which indicate that he 
was a trusted, public-spirited member of 
his community. His title "Quartermas- 
ter" is said to have been awarded him by 
the Massachusetts General Court. All his 
nine children were born of his first mar- 
riage, four sons and four daughters grow- 
ing to years of usefulness and honor, the 
heads of families. The youngest child, a 
son, died young. The descent in this line 
is through the second son of the founder, 
Ephraim. 



1 Ih Ephraim Colton, -on ..i George 
1 nit. hi. was born in Longmeadi 1 
Bai husetts, April 9, [648, died in Enfield, 
Connecticut, in [713, eight month 
the birth of his eighteenth child, Abigail, 

bom January [3, 1714. He settled first in 

I ongmeadow, bul aboul [696 mi 
Enfield, where he died. He man led. No- 
vember 17, 1070, Mary Drake, who died 
October 19, [681, daughter of John I >rakc, 
who came from England before [636, and 
settled in Windsor, Connecticut, with his 
family. They were the parents of four 
children. He married (second) March 
26, i685j Esther Marshfield, bora Septem- 
ber 6, 1667, died January 14. 1704, daugh- 
ter of Samuel and Catherine Marshfield. 
They were the parents of fourteen chil- 
dren, their third son, Benjamin, a devoted 
minister of the Gospel. 

(Ill) Rev Benjamin Colton, son of 
Ephraim Colton, was born in Long- 
meadow, Massachusetts, in [690, died in 
West Hartford, Connecticut, March 1. 
1752. He was a graduate of Yale Coll 
in 1710, and on February 24, 1713, was 
installed the first pastor of the Con- 
gregational church at West Hartford. 
He served that society for many years, 
[713-52. He married (first) December 3, 
1713. Ruth Taylor, horn in 1693, died May 
30, 1725, daughter of Edward Taylor, of 
Westfield, Massachusetts. She was the 
mother of four children, the eldest a son, 
Eli, who like his father was a minister of 
the Gospel. He married (second) in 17-"'. 
Elizabeth Pitkin, of East Hartford, sister 
of Governor William Pitkin. She died 
October II, 1760, leaving five children. 

1 \\~) Rev. Eli Colton, son oi Rev. Ben- 
jamin Colton, was born in West Hart- 
ford, Connecticut. August 5. 1716, died in 
Stafford, Connecticut, June S. 1756. He 
was a graduate of Yale College, class of 
1737, and a student of theology under his 
honored father, Rev. Benjamin Colton, 



157 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



until 1740. He settled as pastor of the 
Congregational church in Granby, Con- 
necticut, in December, 1740, but retired in 
November, 1742, then settled at Stafford, 
Connecticut. He married, May 4, 1741, 
Mrs. Eunice Smith, of Simsbury, Connec- 
ticut, born February 7, 1705. She sur- 
vived her husband, and married (third) 
Joseph Higley, and died March 12, 1797. 
Rev. Eli Colton had five sons, all of whom 
served in the Revolutionary army, Elea- 
zer, Ithamar, Eleakin, Lemuel, and Sam- 
uel. Their only daughter, Eunice, mar- 
ried (first) Asa Higley, (second) Joseph 
Higley. 

(V) Lemuel Colton, fourth son of Rev. 
Eli and Eunice (Smith) Colton, was born 
in i75i,diedof disease contracted through 
exposure while a soldier, April 29, 1789. 
He served in the Revolutionary army 
in Captain Joseph Forward's company, 
Eighteenth Regiment, Connecticut Mili- 
tia, in 1776, arriving in New York, August 
24, and receiving honorable discharge, 
September 9, 1776. He later served from 
March 26 to May 5, 1776, in Captain Abel 
Pettibone's company, Brigadier-General 
Erastus Wolcott's brigade. He married, 
in 1781, Achsa Sheldon, of Suffield, Con- 
necticut, and they were the parents of two 
daughters and an only son, Lemuel (2), 
of further mention. 

(VI) Lemuel (2) Colton, only son of 
Lemuel (1) and Achsa (Sheldon) Colton, 
was born in Granby, March 21, 1786, there 
passed his life as a farmer, and died Sep- 
tember 25, 1858. He married, February 
15, 18 1 5, Polly Watson, and they were the 
parents of nine children : Eliza Ann, 
Watson Lemuel, Almira Hannah, Mary- 
ett, died young; Polly A., Mariett H., 
Harmon A., Marshall A., of further men- 
tion ; Newton M. 

(VII) Marshall A. Colton, eighth child 
of Lemuel (2) and Polly (Watson) Col- 
ton, was born in North Granby, Connec- 



ticut, May 6, 1830, died May 5, 1908. He 
was a farmer, cultivating the old home- 
stead in North Granby until fifteen years 
prior to his death, when he moved to 
Granby Center. In 1885 he represented 
the town in the Connecticut House of 
Representatives, and for several years he 
was a selectman of Granby. He was a 
deacon of the Congregational church for 
many years, a member of St. Mark's 
Lodge, Free and Accepted Masons ; and 
a man highly regarded by his fellow 
townsmen. He married, April 8, 1862, 
Emma Cornelia Wilcox, born September 
12, 1839, daughter of Hiram and Rhoda 
(Griffin) Wilcox. They were the parents 
of Carrie Louise, died aged three days ; 
Lillian Vesta, born September 9, 1865, 
married Edward Preston Rice, of Granby, 
Connecticut, May 11, 1887, and they are 
the parents of two children : Lloyd P., 
born February 3, 1889; Gladys Lillian, 
born February 3, 1891 ; Frederick Mar- 
shall, of further mention. 

(VIII) Frederick Marshall Colton, only 
son of Marshall A. and Emma Cornelia 
(Wilcox) Colton, was born in North 
Granby, Connecticut, January 27, 1867. 
He was educated in the public schools of 
Granby, Wesleyan Academy at Wilbra- 
ham, and New Haven Business College. 
He grew to manhood at the home farm, 
and all his life has been engaged along 
agricultural lines, devoting ten years to 
apple dealing, but since 1902 engaging 
principally in tobacco growing and pack- 
ing. He harvests his own tobacco crop 
from fifty acres of his farm, and in addi- 
tion buys largely from other growers. 
He has been very successful in his busi- 
ness concerns, and has gained high stand- 
ing in the community in which his life has 
been spent. He is a director of the Sims- 
bury Bank, and has other business inter- 
ests, his chief concern, however, being his 
farm and tobacco dealing. In politics Mr. 



158 



ENCYCLi )I*l-.l )l.\ OF BU IGRAPHY 



Colton i> a Republican, and in 1909 rep- 
resented his district in tlu- State Legisla- 
ture, serving on the committee on insur- 
ance. In [913 he was elected State Sena- 
tor from the Seventh District, and in that 
body was a member of the committee on 
finance, lie is a member of and a past 
master of St. Mark's Lodge, No. 91, Free 

and Accepted Masons, of Granby. 

Mr. Colton married. November 22, 
i&;2. May Louise StultS, daughter of 
William R. StultS, of Granby, hut for- 
merly of Lyons, New York. Mr. and 
Mrs. Colton arc the parents of two 
daughters: Mildred M.. horn September 
io, 1900, and Caroline S., born .April 14, 
1903. 



JOHNSON, Alfred, 

Business Man. 

America is the land of hope, achieve- 
ment and opportunity for the man born 
under another flag, and under Swedish 
rule in the beautiful town of Bergheim, on 
December 31, 1869. Alfred Johnson, pres- 
ident and manager of the Stanley-Svea 
Grain & Coal Company of Xew Britain, 
Connecticut, was born, the son of Johnner 
Johnson. 

One year after attaining his majority, 
young Johnson came to America, locating 
first at North Easton, Massachusetts, 
wdiere he remained for a period of about 
four years, during which time he was 
employed in gardening and factory work. 
In the spring of 1895 he went to Chicago 
and the following years were filled with 
many and varied experiences, the like of 
which do not fall to the average young 
man of to-day. The harvest fields of 
North Dakota and of Wisconsin ; the 
lumber camps of Michigan and of the 
neighboring States ; the railroads and 
saw mills were all at various times the 
scenes of his labors and activities. The 



experience in working and knowledge of 

farming and the lumber busim :icd 

by Mr. Johnson was very Lr. •.!■ 1 . and not 
only that, he also was ' 1 of robust 

health and a Strong physique, BUCh as can 
he I only through work and exer- 

cise in the great OUt-of-door < >n \pril 
~, [897, Mr. Johnson returned East to 
New Britain, Connecticut, where he ■. 
subsequently employed in contracting 

work until the summer of In the 

latter year Mr. Johnson made a trip to 
his former home in Sweden, remaining 
for a Near. I '])"" his return to New Bri- 
tain he was again engaged in contracting 
work. It seems hut natural that after the 
years spent in the harvest fields gathering 
the grain and assisting in shipping it to 
the market that time should find Mr. 
Johnson in business as a dealer in this pro- 
duct, lie possesses a greater knowledge 
of his wares than one who knows merely 
the retailing end of the business, and in 
September, [908, Mr. Johnson became 
associated with the Stanley-Svea Grain 
and Coal Company, rising t<> the position 
of assistant manager in 1908. to manager 
in 191 2, and upon the death of Mr. Theo- 
dore Stanley was elected president and 
general manager, which position he still 
holds in 1917. He is also a director of the 
Company. Originally it was the Svea 
Coal and Wood Company, and in 1907 
the business of M. IV Stanley was pur- 
chased, the name then changing to The 
Stanley-Svea Grain and Coal Company. 
Mr. Johnson is one of the foremost busi- 
ness men of the city of Xew Britain, and 
takes a keen and active interest in its 
affairs. Fraternally he i-~ a member of the 
Hundred Men Society, and the National 
Order of Yas;t. 

On April 6, i9c/>. Mr. Johnson married 
Ann Anderson, born in Sweden, daugh- 
ter of Andrew Anderson. Mr. and Mrs. 
Johnson are the parents of the following 



150 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



children : Jennie V., born September 30, 
1906; Allis Alfrida, September 10, 1908; 
Frank Alfred, August 19, 1910; Carl Eric, 
October 17, 1912; Anna L., March 14, 

I9I5- 



CARROLL, Patrick, 

Agriculturist. 

The annals of the State of Connecticut 
have been enriched by the deeds of those 
of her adopted sons of Irish birth who 
have made homes and won substantial 
success within her borders. There are to 
be found a multitude of examples where 
men of strong character, sound common 
sense and courage have come with no 
other asset than a stout heart filled with a 
love of liberty and a strong desire to give 
their children the benefits of freedom, 
denied themselves. Such men have 
gained honorable standing in the com- 
munities in which they settled, and in 
many instances have become respected 
and influential citizens. Records of suc- 
cess are always interesting and they teach 
a useful lesson, particularly when difficul- 
ties of an unusual nature are overcome. 
No matter whether our hearts are warmed 
by deeds, brilliant or spectacular, or 
whether the battle has been won by pa- 
tient toil and persevering effort there is a 
lesson to be learned and he will be bene- 
fitted by a perusal of the life of Patrick 
Carroll, one of the gifts from the Emerald 
Isle to the State of Connecticut. 

The Carroll family of Ireland were 
brought prominently into notice in this 
country when Charles Carroll, "of Car- 
rollton," affixed his signature to the im- 
mortal declaration, the only signer to add 
his place of residence. The record in that 
branch of the family shows descent from 
ancient Irish Kings of the eleventh cen- 
tury. The family bore arms, as follows: 



Arms — Argent, two lions rampant, combatant 
gules, supporting a sword point upwards, proper, 
pommel and hilt or. 

Crest — On the stump of an oak tree sprouting, 
a hawk rising all proper, belled or. 

Motto — In fide et in hello forte. 

Patrick Carroll was born in the village 
of Fenry, County Roscommon, Ireland, 
in 1822, and died at Carroll's Corners in 
the town of Granby, Hartford county, 
Connecticut, June 5, 191 1. He spent his 
youth and minor years in the land of his 
birth, being there variously employed 
until his twenty-fourth year. He grew 
up strong, healthy and ambitious, deter- 
mined to make a name for himself in the 
world. The way not opening for him in 
Ireland he sailed for the United States in 
January, 1846, on the sailing vessel "R. J. 
Skipper," and six weeks later, after a 
tempestuous voyage, arrived in New Lon- 
don, Connecticut. He made his way from 
there to Rhode Island, where he was 
employed on a railroad. He was next em- 
ployed in Willimantic for several years, 
going from there to Bristol, always work- 
ing and gaining financial strength, slowly 
but surely. Finally, in 1857, he came to 
East Granby, Connecticut, where for 
three years he lived near the railroad sta- 
tion. Then he located at what became 
known as Carroll's Corners, where he had 
a small farm which he cultivated with the 
aid of his children, for all these years he 
had been a railroad employee. He con- 
tinued working and living at the Carroll's 
Corners farm and also retaining his rail- 
road position until 1899, when he resigned 
the latter after a term of service in East 
Granby, covering a period of forty-two 
years, 1857-99. His entire service as a 
railroad man there and elsewhere com- 
prised a full half century, a most remark- 
able record of fidelity and honorable serv- 
ice. After retiring from the railroad he 
lived at the Carroll's Corners farm until 



160 




^n^y^r^_ TrY^o^^r^i 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF MKHikAI'MV 



reaching the great age of eighty-nine 

years. 

The life of Patrick Carroll was plainly, 
quietly lived, but SO long as there 
necessity he continued in active labor, 
then retired to a contented old age, happy 
in the love of His children and children's 
children. He was a man highly respected 
in his community and no man had a bet- 
ter record as a man of honest, upright life. 

lie took an interest in the town affairs, 

always voting the Democratic tiokel as a 

principle. Shortly before his death the 
family located on their present farm of 
twenty acres, all under cultivation, the 
sons continuing its cultivation, tobacco 
being their principal crop. 

Mr. Carroll married Mary 1 1 viand, horn 
in Count) (."avan, Ireland, February 18, 
1830, who yet survives, aged eighty-nine, 
well-preserved and active. They were the 
parents of seven children, six of whom 
grew to manhood and womanhood: 1. 
Thomas, horn February 24, i8;(), died 
aged thirty years. 2. John, horn July [2, 
[86l, killed in a railroad accident. May 
22, 1913. he a railroad conductor; he mar- 
ried Jennie Hughes, and they were the 
parents of: Thomas, John, Mary, Eliza- 
beth Hughes, and Sarah, the sons serving 
in the United States army in the war 
with Germany. 3. Edmund, born Oc- 
tober 8, 1863, married Anna Ryan, of 
Simsbury, and had three children : Mary, 
wife of Dr. Edward Powers, who is a cap- 
tain with the American Expeditionary 
Forces in France ; Anna : and Patrick, 
died May, 1017, at the age of twenty- 
three. 4. Catherine, born April 1, 1868, 
married Charles Toole, and has two chil- 
dren : Jane and John Toole. 5. Mary, 
horn October 22, [871. 6. Charles, born 
June 21, [874. Thus the life of this quiet, 
domestic, home-loving man. Patrick Car- 
roll, was lived, simply, but usefully and 

Conn— 7— 11 I 



honorably. ll«- p< terling 

principles of character, loved liberty and 

died true to his ideals. 



BRISTOL, Anson Wheeler, 

Uaeful Citizc-ii, Civil War Veteran. 

The name of Bristol undoubtedly be- 
longs to the class known as "pi 
names ; that is, d< ri\ ed from the n 
dents of the first one of the family who 

pted a surname. The use of surnai 
among the common peopli land i- 

of comparatively recent origin, and in 

many cases what would be now called a 

"nick name" was ado], ted as a family 
name. 

(I) The founder of th<- family in this 

intry was Henry Bristol, a native of 
rland. who came to Connecticut with 
his brother Richard at an earl) •: 
latter v. >ng the first proprietors of 

Guilford and a prominent citizen there. 
Henry Bristol settled at New Haven. 
whi ' rived as an apprentice to Wil- 

liam Davis. H( irn about 1625, and 

after attaining his majority conti: 
reside at Xew Haven, where he died in 
5. Mis wife Rebecca d to 

January 26, 1650, on which date he mar- 
! I.ydia. daughter of Francis and Mary 
(Edwards) Brown, born about 1637-38, 
died in 1 ; 

(III Eliphalct Bristol, fourth son of 
Henry and third son of his second wife, 
Lydia Bristol, was born October 2, 1679, 
in Xew Haven, where he made his home, 
and died May lS, 1757. [n 1710 he re- 
ceived a part of the estate of his brother- 
in-law. Joseph Peck. His wife, E 
(Peck) Bristol, born ii aughter of 

Benjamin and Mary (Sperry) Peck, sur- 
vived him. P>enjamin Peck was a son of 
Henry Peck, one of the earliest settlers of 
Xew I I a ven. 

(Ill) Elijah Bristol, second son of Eli- 



61 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



phalet and Ester (Peck) Bristol, settled 
in Woodbury, Connecticut. He married 
Sarah Thomas, born March 28, 1716, in 
New Haven, daughter of Israel and Sarah 
(Humphreeville) Thomas. 

(IV) Gad Bristol, second son of Elijah 
and Sarah (Thomas) Bristol, was born 
December 4, 1738, in Woodbury, where 
he made his home. He married, May 1, 
1760, Rachel Riggs, born January 23, 
1741, in Derby, Connecticut, daughter of 
Ebenezer, Jr., and Rachel (Peck) Riggs. 

(V) Philo Riggs Bristol, second son of 
Gad and Rachel (Riggs) Bristol, was 
born December 1, 1763, in Woodbury. 
He was a cooper by trade and lived in 
Oxford, New Haven county, Connecti- 
cut. He married in Southbury, January 
16, 1791, Nabbie Lyman, undoubtedly a 
daughter of David and Mary (Guitteau) 
Lyman, of Bethlehem. Both Southbury 
and Bethlehem were formerly a part of 
the town of Woodbury. 

(VI) Captain Noah Russell Lyman 
Bristol, second son of Philo Riggs and 
Nabbie (Lyman) Bristol, was born June 9, 
1797, in Southbury, and lived in Canton, 
Connecticut, where he died September 8, 
1861. He was well educated for his day, 
and when a young man taught school, 
and learned the trade of cooper from his 
father. He spent his time at this occupa- 
tion until he was about fifty-five years 
old, when he engaged in farming on the 
grant now owned by his son in the town 
of Canton, Connecticut. He had settled 
in that town while a young man and 
served there many years as town clerk 
and justice of the peace, and also as rep- 
resentative in the State Legislature. In 
early life a Whig in political affiliation, 
he adhered to the Republican party from 
its organization until his death. He mar- 
ried Mary Barbour, daughter of Giles 
Barbour, of Canton, and they were the 
parents of four children : Volney R., 



Keziah, wife of George White ; Burton 
H., and Anson Wheeler. 

(VII) Anson Wheeler Bristol, son of 
Captain Noah Russell Lyman and Mary 
(Barbour) Bristol, was born June 9, 1840, 
in Canton, and has always made his home 
upon the paternal farm. As a boy he 
attended the public schools, and as a 
reader and observer of current events 
became a well informed citizen, enjoying 
the esteem and confidence of his contem- 
poraries. In 1861 he purchased the pa- 
ternal homestead consisting of fifty acres, 
which he sold in 1886, and bought his 
present farm of one hundred acres, one- 
fourth of which is under cultivation. He 
produces considerable quantities of to- 
bacco, in connection with other farm pro- 
ducts, giving especial attention to dairy- 
ing. In this he employs usually some 
twenty cows and also raises young stock 
and disposes of his milk to dealers. In 
1884 Mr. Bristol represented Canton in 
the Legislature and was a member of the 
committee on agriculture. He is among 
the most patriotic residents of the com- 
munity, and served his country during the 
Civil War for a period of eleven months. 
He enlisted in 1862 and became a mem- 
ber of Company I, Twenty-second Regi- 
ment of Connecticut Volunteer Infantry. 
He is now a member of E. R. Lee Post, 
Grand Army of the Republic, of New 
Hartford, Connecticut, and is one of its 
past commanders. His political connec- 
tion has always been in connection with 
the Republican party. Mr. Bristol mar- 
ried Sarah E. Williams, of Brooklyn, New 
York, daughter of Absalom Williams, and 
a descendant of an old Massachusetts 
family. Mr. and Mrs. Bristol were the 
parents of twelve children, and are the 
grandparents of thirty-two grandchildren. 
Ten of their children grew to maturity, 
and they are : 1. Minnie, married George 
E. Bidwell, and was the mother of Jasper 



162 



ENCYCU >PEDIA I >F BH IGRAPHY 



Warren Bidwell. 2. Burton \\. married 
Lizzie Case, and they have six children: 
Amy Luella, Richard Burton, Mortimer 
Robert, Edward Raymond, Russell An- 
Bon, and Elizabeth Coe Bristol. 3. Morti- 
mer Lucius, was educated at the Maine 
State College, and subsequently was su- 
perintendent of Colt's Fire Arms Com- 
pany, of Hartford; he married Rosa Bill, 
and died in 1917, leaving three children: 
Grace, Clark, Ralph. 4. Anson Wheeler, 
Jr., married Mae Smith, and is the father 
of five children : Florence Smith, Stuart 
Arthur, Herman 1 larvey. Anson Wheeler. 
3d, and Alice Phelps Bristol. 5. Helen, 
married Samuel 1 >. Richardson, and is 
the mother of four children: Danford 
Ward, Pearl Bristol, Samuel Anson and 
Helen Elizabeth Richardson. 6. Roscoe 
C, married Louise Humphrey, and their 
children are: Mildred Lydia, Sarah 
Elizabeth, Marion Humphrey, and Edith 
Louise Bristol. 7. Christa, married Har- 
old William Humphrey; she died April 
20, 1919, and was mother of a son, Har- 
old William, Jr. 8. Sterling \\\, mar- 
ried Ruth Codaire, and is the father of 
one child, Robert Austin Bristol. 9. 
( ttharine, married Myron L. Butler, and 
is the mother of one child, Robert I Bris- 
tol Butler. 10. Mary, became the wife 
of George L. Bidwell, whose ancestry is 
contained elsewhere in this work. The 
family is associated with the Congrega- 
tional church of Canton. 

The Barbour family, of which Mr. 
Bristol is a descendant, was founded in 
this country by Thomas Barbour, who 
came to Windsor in 1635, being then 
twenty-one years of age. He arrived in 
Xew England in the ship "Christian," 
March 16, 1634, with the Saltonstall party 
under Francis Styles, and was a soldier of 
the Pequot War. His wife. Jane, family 
name unknown, whom he married on Oc- 
tober 7, 1640, died September 10, 1662, and 



he died on the following day. Their third 
son, Samuel Harbour, born October 1, 
p ;'', in Windsor, resided on the paternal 
homestead, and died March 17, [708. He 

owned the halfwaj covenant at the Wind- 
sor church. < ictobi-r [2, [671. He mar- 
ried, December 1. [670, Mary Cozzen, 
who died May [9, [676. Their second 

son. Samuel I '.arbour, born May 17. i'~.v 
died about [725. He married, December 
17, 171 _'. Sarah llolcomb, born in ifjQI, 
daughter of Nathaniel and Mary (Bliss) 
Hoi. omb, "f Simsbury. Their second son, 
Mr. Samuel Barbour, born 1714. lived in 
that part of Simsbury which is now Can- 
ton, where he died in 1707. He married 
(second) Hannah Humphrey, born June 
8, 1718, died 1819. daughter of Captain 
Noah and Hannah (Case) Humphrey, of 
Canton, granddaughter of Lieutenant 
Samuel Humphrey, great-granddaughter 
of Michael Humphrey, founder of the 
family in Windsor. Her youngest child. 
Giles Barbour, born 1769, lived in Canton, 
and married Mary (iarrett, who died in 
iS'M at the age of eighty-four years. 
Their daughter, Mary, became the wife of 
Noah R. L. Bristol, of Canton, as previ- 
ously noted. 



DANIELSON, Joseph, 

Minister *f the Goipel. 

Arms — Argent, a bend sable. 

To understand the meaning to a man 
of the honor of his family — to know the 
general status in a democracy of fam- 
ilies of old and honorable lineage, is to 
know and understand the meaning and 
brightness of the national honor. For 
this can never be any brighter than the 
honor of the family. This statement is 
nowhere more clearly and conclusively 
proved than in the Roman civilization, in 
which the dominant unit was the fam- 



C03 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



ily, and in which the parent was given the 
power to slay any of his sons who brought 
disgrace to the family name. To-day the 
weapon which the community uses to 
punish the crime of staining family honor 
is public opinion. Public opinion, the 
moral law, love of country, home and 
God, are what have made the artistocracy 
of America, not an aristocracy of wealth 
or noble blood in the ordinary interpre- 
tation of the word, but an aristocracy of 
right and of noble deeds. 

In the foremost ranks of this aristoc- 
racy in the State of Connecticut is the 
Danielson family, which holds a place of 
honor and respect in the community 
eclipsed by none. The Danielson family 
is of Scotch origin, and was established 
in America in the middle part of the 
seventeenth century. Since the time of 
its founding the family has been promi- 
nent and active in the service of the 
country, and has furnished its sons lib- 
erally in times of peace and war. Its 
members have from time to time been 
distinguished in military service, and have 
rendered valuable services in official life. 
The borough of Danielson, Connecticut, 
the home of several generations of Dan- 
ielsons, was named in their honor, and is 
to-day a silent monument to them, mute 
evidence of the high place which they 
have always held in the hearts and minds 
of the community. 

(I) Sergeant James Danielson, progen- 
itor of the family in America, was a native 
of Scotland, whence he emigrated to the 
New World, settling on Block Island, 
now the town of New Shoreham, Rhode 
Island, among the earliest residents of that 
place. Early land records show him to 
have been a man of considerable fortune. 
He assumed a prominent place in the 
town. Between the years 1688 and 1705 
he purchased several large tracts of land 



in Block Island, and was admitted a free- 
man of Rhode Island, at the May session 
of the General Assembly in 1696. In 
1700, Sergeant Danielson was elected ser- 
geant of the town of New Shoreham. In 
September, 1696, he agreed to raise one 
hundred pounds to pay for making a 
suitable harbor. In the same year he 
served as a soldier in the expedition 
against Quebec, under General Wolfe, 
and participated in the engagement on 
the Heights of Abraham against the 
French under Montcalm. In early life he 
served almost continuously in the wars 
against the Indians, and in reward for 
heroic services received a grant of land 
in Voluntown, in the eastern part of Con- 
necticut, from the General Assembly. 
His purchases of land were very exten- 
sive. In 1706 he bought eight hundred 
acres of land on the Quinebaug river, in 
what is now the town of Pomfret. This 
included a mansion house and barn. The 
following year he bought a tract of two 
thousand acres of land lying between the 
Quinebaug and Assawauga rivers. He 
is said to have been the first settler south 
of Lake Mashapaug, at the southern end 
of which he built a garrison house. This 
new settlement afterwards became the 
present-town of Killingly. James Daniel- 
son became one of the most prominent 
and influential men in that section of 
Connecticut. He presented the town with 
a burying ground, located between the 
two rivers above named, and was the first 
to be buried in it. He died on January 22, 
1728, at the age of eighty years. His 
first wife was Abigail 



. His sec- 
ond wife, Mary (Rose) Danielson, died 
February 23, 1752, in her eighty-sixth 
year. 

(II) Samuel Danielson, son of Sergeant 
James and Mary (Rose) Danielson, was 
born in 1701. He inherited a large part of 



164 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



his father's extensive property holdings, 
including his homestead, in what is now 
the town of Killingly. He succeeded to 

his father'- place in the community, which 
was much like that of the English coun- 
try squire. He became a leader in the in- 
dustrial affairs of the town. Part of the 
vast Danielson holdings on the Quine- 
baug river hecame the site of a manufac- 
turing village named Danielsonville, now 
known as Danielson. Samuel Danielson 
married Sarah Douglas, on March 26, 
1725. She was born about 1704, and died 
March 29, 1774, aged seventy. He died 
in 17S0, at the advanced age of eighty- 
five years. 

(III) Colonel William Danielson, son 
of Samuel and Sarah (Douglas) Daniel- 
son, was horn August II, 1729, in the 
town of Killingly, Connecticut, and re- 
sided there all his life, becoming very 
prominent in the town's affairs. He was 
elected constable and collector of taxes 
in 1760. In the same year he was elected 
lieutenant. In 1774 he became first major 
of the Eleventh Militia Regiment, and in 
the following year took one hundred and 
forty-six men from Killingly to Cam- 
bridge, Massachusetts. He became col- 
onel in 1776, and after the close of the 
Revolutionary war was general of mil- 
itia. In 1788, Colonel William Danielson 
was a member of the State Convention 
called to ratify the National Constitution. 
He married, October 29, 1758, Sarah Wil- 
liams, born in 1737, died January 10, 
1809. He died in Killinglv, August 19, 
1798. 

(IV) General James Danielson, son of 
Colonel William and Sarah (Williams) 
Danielson, was born in Killingly, Con- 
necticut, January 18, 1761, and died there 
October 25, 1827. He married, on De- 
cember 3, 1788. Sarah Lord, of Abington, 



Connecticut. She was born June 17, 
17' 9, and died April 28, 1852. 

(V) Hezekiah Lord Danielson, son of 
neral James and Sarah (Lord) Daniel- 
son, was born in Danielson, Connecticut, 
December [6, 1802, and resided there all 
his life. He was prominent in local af- 
fairs in the town, and was a deacon of 
the Congregational church. He died in 
1881. He married Laura Weaver, of 
Brooklyn, Connecticut. Their children 
were: I. Charlotte Tiffany, horn in 1827; 
married Orville M. Capron, resided in 
Danielson and died in July, 1918 2. 
Lucy Storrs, born in 1829; married John 
Hutchins, and resides in Danielson. 3. 
Elizabeth S., born in 1831 ; married 
Charles C. Cundall, and died in Seattle, 
Washington, in July, 1916. 4. John 
Weaver, born in 1833; died in August, 
1913 ; notable figure in Xew England mill- 
ing industries throughout his life. 5. Jo- 
seph, mentioned below. 6. Edward, born 
in 1837, died in 1882. 7. Daniel, born in 
1842; now a resident of Danielson. 8. 
Henry M., born in 1845; resides in Dan- 
ielson. 

(VI) Rev. Joseph Danielson. son of 
Hezekiah Lord and Laura (Weaver) 
Danielson, was born in Danielson, Con- 
necticut, April 20, 1835. He was edu- 
cated in the schools of Danielson. and 
Phillips Academy, Andover, where he pre- 
pared for college, and was graduated from 
Williams College in the class of 1861. 
Having decided to study for the ministry, 
he immediately entered Union Theolog- 
ical Seminary. Shortly after completing 
his course he was ordained in the Chris- 
tian ministry, and was placed in charge 
of the Congregational church at Sacar- 
appa, Maine, where he spent four years, 
devoting all his strength and time to min- 
istering to the needs of his congregation, 
which when he left it was flourishing not 



■65 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



only spiritually but materially. From 
Sacarappa, Mr. Danielson went to Sau- 
gerties, New York, where he remained 
for eight years, at the end of which time 
he was placed in charge of the Congre- 
gational church at Southbridge, Massa- 
chusetts. Here his work, judged by the 
number brought into the fold, was most 
telling and effective, and he had the priv- 
ilege and joy of receiving at one service 
as many as fifty communicants into the 
church under his care. His work here 
covered a period of twelve years. Mr. 
Danielson next spent two years at Wind- 
sor Locks, Connecticut, following tbis 
with nearly seven at Southington, Con- 
necticut, where he concluded his service 
as a minister of God, after a long and full 
career. Mr. Danielson, from his earliest 
years in the ministry, had been an able 
preacher, and a pastor beloved for his 
keen sympathy and his genial humor. 

Rev. Joseph Danielson married, on 
November i, 1865, Frances Weld, daugh- 
ter of Deacon Stowell Leverett and Avis 
Ludentia (Whitmore) Weld. Mrs. Dan- 
ielson survives her husband and resides 
in Danielson, Connecticut. Their chil- 
dren are: 1. Louise Whitmore, born Oc- 
tober 27, 1868; now a teacher in the High 
School at Danielson, Connecticut. 2. 
Frances Weld, born January 17, 1873; 
editor of the Congregational Sunday 
School Publishing Society. 3. Alice Jo- 
sephine, born March 23, 1882, married 
Edward Field Walker, Jr. ; they are the 
parents of three children: Edward Field, 
Avis Walker, and Katherine Frances 
Walker. 

Rev. Joseph Danielson died February 
20, 1898. Tributes to his memory came 
from all over the country from men who 
had known him, and having known him 
had loved him, and from the churches in 
which he ministered so faithfully. The 



following is but a brief excerpt from one 
of the many memorials passed at the time 
of his death : 

[>'• v. Joseph Danielson was a good man. Earth 
is richer for having had him. You who call him 
pastor, and we who know of his life and work 
unite to recognize him to-day as one to whom 
the Master has said, "Well done, come up 
higher." 

Rev. Joseph Danielson * * * died in the 
world's sense of the word, one morning of the 
month just past. But he did not die. To the 
best of his ability, for more than thirty years, he 
built his clean, sweet, loving, consecrated, Chris- 
tian self into scores and hundreds. These took 
on his character. They will give it to others; and 
so in these he touched and through the power of 
the Divine moulder, he will live not only while 
earth lasts, but while eternity lasts. 



HOLLEY, Julian R., 

Business Man, 

As treasurer and secretary of the Bris- 
tol Brass Company, of Bristol, Connect- 
icut, Mr. Holley holds a responsible posi- 
tion which he most efficiently fills. For 
thirty-five years, 1883-1918, he has been 
associated with that company in the ac- 
counting department, and is an authority 
on all matters pertaining to his depart- 
ment, past or present. The Holleys came 
to Tolland county, Connecticut, from the 
State of Rhode Island. 

(I) Perry Holley, grandfather of Jul- 
ian R. Holley, of Bristol, was the original 
settler. He was a blacksmith by trade, 
and spent the greater part of his life em- 
ployed at his trade in his native Rhode 
Island. Late in life he located in Mans- 
field, Connecticut, and there purchased a 
farm, and after making such changes as 
he deemed necessary, he returned to 
Rhode Island, intending to bring his fam- 
ily and occupy his new purchase at once. 
But he was taken seriously ill and died 
after a short illness. His widow, Celia 



166 



ENCYCU )1M Dl \ OF BIOGRAPHY 



(Rawson) Holley, removed to the Mans- 
field farm with her children, and there 
died, aged eighty-three Perry and Celia 
Holley were the parents of five children: 
Lucinda, married Eldridge Cranston, and 

died in W'illimant ic : Perry I -' I, of fur- 
ther mention : Betsey, married Elijah 
Shumway, and resided in .Mansfield. Con- 
necticut ; Nancy, married Alderi Church, 
and died in Chaplin, t Connecticut ; and Gil- 
bert, died in a southern State. 

(II) Perry (_•) Holley, eldest son of 
and Celia ( Rawson) Holley, 
was horn in Rhode Island, July 2, 1909, 
and died at the farm in Mansfield, Con- 
necticut, in March, 18X5. He was quite 
young when his mother brought her fam- 
ily to the Mansfield farm, but he quickly 
took his J dace as head of the family, work- 
ing- on the farm and rapidly developing, 
both physically and mentally. When a 
young man he learned the trade of an iron 
mill worker, becoming an expert in the 
manipulation of the heavy trip hammer 
used in forging steel and iron. He was 
one of the first to gain such good control 
of that powerful but clumsy machine, and 
he was always steadily employed at good 
wages in the plants throughout New Eng- 
land engaged in the manufacturing of bits 
and augurs. For a few years he operated 
a forging plant of his own in company 
with Hiram Parker, the shop being near 
his home. After being employed at his 
trade for many years he returned to the 
farm, and there spent his declining years 
managing its cultivation and operation. 
He was a member of the Methodist Epis- 
copal church at Gurleyville. and in his 
younger years was a very active worker. 

Perry (2) Holley married Lois Fenton. 
born in Mansfield, April 18, 1808, died at 
the farm, April 18, 1892, daughter of 
Elisha and Phileta (Storrs) Fenton, her 
father a blacksmith. Mr. and Mrs. Hollev 



were the parent- of eleven children: 1. 

Celia Ann, died in childhood. 2, Antice 
I), married, AugUSl t6, 1859, William E 
Fenner, a successful farmer and poultry 
raiser in Mansfield, Tolland county, Con- 
necticut; they were the parents of a son, 
Frank Ellsworth Fenner, a merchant of 
Waterbury, Connecticut, now in Califor- 
nia. 3. George, deceased ; was a mechan- 
ical expert of Sturbridge, Massachusetts; 
married Mary Ann Scott, and had two 
-'■us, George Henry and Fred M. 4. Lu- 
cinda, died in infancy. 5. Harriet Lucinda 
Phileta, deceased; married David Clapp, 
whom she survived with a daughter, Har- 
riet M. 6. Mary Ellen, deceased ; married 
(first) Edward Simons, whom she sur- 
vived with a daughter, Jennie R. ; married 
(second) Norman Dunham, whom she 
also survived. 7. Lovisa Maria, deceased; 
married George M. Clark, cashier of the 
Meriden (Connecticut) National Bank. 

8. Perry Earl, a professor of penmanship; 
married Carrie Allen, and moved to 
Waterbury, Connecticut; they are the 
parents of Perry N., and Pearl, deceased. 

9. Sarah Jane, died aged fourteen years. 

10. Dwight Storrs, deceased; married and 
located in Forestville, Connecticut ; chil- 
dren : Everett and Edna. 11. Julian R., 
of further mention. 

(Ill) Julian R. Holley, youngest child 
of Perry (2) and Lois (Fenton) Holley, 
was born at Mansfield, Connecticut, May 
16, 1855. After completing public school 
study he pursued a course at Eastman's 
Business College, then began his business 
career as a grocer's clerk in Forestville, 
Connecticut. He continued in the gro- 
cery business as clerk for several years, 
then became a partner, but one year later 
withdrew, and on May 1, 1883, located in 
Bristol, Connecticut, having secured a 
bookkeeper's position with the Bristol 
Brass Company. Thirty-five years have 



167 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



since elapsed, but the association has 
never been broken, that connection like 
the years flowing smoothly along. He 
has been a potent factor in the develop- 
ment of the company, his responsibility 
growing constantly and increasing not 
only the accounting and financial work 
but the superintendency of the plant at 
times. He is now secretary and treasurer, 
also a director of the Bristol Brass Com- 
pany ; a director of the Bristol National 
Bank ; director of the Bristol Manufac- 
turing Company ; director of the Ameri- 
can Silver Company ; director of the Bris- 
tol Press Publishing Company ; treasurer 
and director of the Masonic Building As- 
sociation. Mr. Holley is a member of 
Franklin Lodge, No. 56, Free and Ac- 
cepted Masons, and in the Ancient Ac- 
cepted Scottish Rite he has attained the 
thirty-second degree. He is also a mem- 
ber of the Independent Order of Odd Fel- 
lows, and of the Bristol Baptist church. 
In political affiliation he is independent. 
Mr. Holley married, June 10, 1897, 
Calista Vinton Brockett, daughter of Asa- 
hel and Mariett Brockett. Mr. and Mrs. 
Holley are the parents of two children : 1. 
Julian Lawrence, born August 25, 1898; 
attended Bristol school and high school, 
Williams College and later Harvard ; he 
joined the Harvard Naval Unit and was 
stationed at the Harvard training camp 
during the year 1918. 2. Margaret Storrs, 
born October 31, 1899. The family home 
is at Bristol. 



RUSSELL, William H., 

Man of Lofty Character. 

The surname Russell belongs to that 
class of English surnames which had 
their origin in nicknames. It is derived 
directly from the cognomen Russell, the 
diminutive of Rous, a sobriquet for one 



with hair or complexion of a reddish- 
brown. Just as the old French brun 
(brown) took in English two diminutives, 
burnett and burnell, so roux (reddish 
brown) found two diminutives — russet 
and russell. From nicknames these be- 
came hereditary surnames, and are all in 
existence to-day with the exception of 
Russet. The first entry of the name in 
English records of mediaeval date occurs 
in the Hundred Rolls in the year 1273. 

Russell Arms — Argent a chevron between three 
crosses crosslet fitchee sable, all within a bordure 
engrailed gules charged with four bezants, and 
as many escallops or, alternately. 

Crest — A demi-lion rampant holding in the dex- 
ter paw a cross crosslet fitchee sable. 

Motto — Constans justitiam moniti. 

The Russell family has figured notably 
in New England life and affairs since 
the middle of the seventeenth century. 
Among its members have been famous 
patriots, public men, divines, and cap- 
tains of industry and finance. Several 
emigrants of the name left England in the 
early decades of the colonization period, 
and became the founders here of families 
which have since spread to every part of 
the United States. The line of ancestry 
herein under consideration descends from 
John Russell, of Woburn, through the 
Revolutionary patriot, Major Thomas 
Russell, and his son, Thomas Handy Rus- 
sell, to the late William Henry Russell, 
founder of the famous old Russell House 
of Detroit, Michigan, and one of the best 
known figures in the life of the Middle 
West in the stirring period which pre- 
ceded the Civil War. 

Major Thomas Russell, son of Thomas 
and Honora (Loud) Russell, was born 
September 28, 1758. He was a descend- 
ant in the sixth generation of John Rus- 
sell, one of the earliest inhabitants of 
Woburn, Massachusetts. Thomas Rus- 



168 



ENCYCLOPEDIA (>F BIOCR \PIIY 



sell was pursuing his studios in Boston at 

the time of the occupation of that cit> by 
the British, in 1775. After the battle of 
Bunker Hill, he and his sister Elizabeth 
went to Providence and took up their 
residence with their brother, Jonathan 
Russell, a merchant of prominence there, 
who at that time was captain of the well 
known Providence Cadet Company, which 
was called into active service and of 
which Thomas Russell was made ensign. 
In October, 1777. although but eight- 
een years of age, he was commissioned 
by General Washington as ensign in 
Col. Sherburne's regiment of Continental 
troops, then being formed. The regiment 
was then ordered to garrison the High- 
lands of the Hudson, and passed several 
months at Fishkill and various places 
along the river. In March following the 
regiment proceeded to West Point, where 
it erected what was afterwards known as 
"Sherburne's Redoubt," after which it 
went into garrison at Fort Arnold (now 
Fort Clinton, Xo. 2). On June 24, 1778, 
Col. Sherburne's regiment set out for 
White Plains, whence it proceeded with 
Gen. Varnum's brigade to Rhode Island, 
and went into camp near Providence. In 
August, 1778, Gen. Sullivan assembled his 
forces at Portsmouth, R. I., for the cam- 
paign against the British troops in New- 
port. In the memorable battle which 
followed on August 29, Gen. Varnum's 
brigade, to which Russell (who had been 
promoted) was attached, was on the right 
and bore a prominent part in what Gen. 
Lafayette characterizes as "the best 
fought action of the war." Gen. Wash- 
ington, in a communication to Gen. Sul- 
livan, officially expressed his thanks for 
the "gallant behavior" of the American 
forces, and Congress, on September 19, 
presented thanks to the officers and troops 
for the "fortitude and bravery displayed." 
On August 31, Col. Sherburne's regiment 



took post at Bristol, Rhode Island, where 
it remained until July, 1779. It then pro- 
ceeded to Providence, where it was in- 
spected by Major-Gen. Baron Steuben. 
Gen. Varnum having resigned his com- 
mission, Brig.-Gen. Stark assumed com- 
mand of the brigade, which in November 
joined the main army, then with Gen. 
Washington in New Jersey. Russell's 
soldierly qualities having attracted the 
attention of his commander, the following 
brigade order appeared on November 20, 
1779: "Adj't Thos. Russell, of Col. Sher- 
burne's Regt., is appointed A. D. Camp to 
B. Genl. Stark. He is to be respected ac- 
cordingly." After which he was known 
as Major Russell. He remained with the 
main army at Morristown until June, 
1780, and was with Gen. Stark's brigade 
in the affair at "Connecticut Farms," and 
on duty at various posts until October 
6, when the brigade marched to West 
Point. In October, 1780, Congress re- 
solved on a reduction of the army. Under 
this resolve nine Continental regiments 
were consolidated into five, the junior 
officers in each regiment becoming super- 
numerary, retired on half pay. Under 
this arrangement Russell was retired on 
January 1, 1781 , after a faithful and hon- 
orable service. 

Repairing to Newport, he married, No- 
vember 29, 1783, a daughter of Charles 
Handy, of that town, and with his wife 
removed to Philadelphia, where he em- 
barked in mercantile business, in which 
he continued until 1785; returning again 
to Newport, he entered into foreign com- 
merce, which led him abroad in voyages 
to London, Canton, and other distant 
parts. He became a member of the Ar- 
tillery Company at Newport, and one of 
its commissioned officers; subsequently 
he was in command there of a volunteer 
company of cavalry. Major Russell died 
in the city of New York. February 19. 



160 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



1801. His children were: 1. Ann Brown. 
2. Mary. 3. Thomas Handy, mentioned 
below. 4. Charles Handy, married (first) 
Ann Rodman ; (second) Caroline How- 
land. 5. William Henry, married (first) 
Mary Alice Crapo ; (second) Anna Kane. 

Thomas Handy Russell, son of Major 
Thomas Russell, was born in Newport, 
Rhode Island. He married Anna P. Bos- 
worth, of Bristol, Rhode Island, and in 
middle life removed to Western New 
York, where he rose to considerable 
prominence in public life. 

William Henry Russell, son of Thomas 
Handy and Anna P. (Bosworth) Russell, 
was born in Rhode Island, February 8, 
1824. He was educated in the schools 
of his native State, and on the death of 
his father went as a youth to live with his 
uncle, Charles Handy Russell. When 
about thirty years of age he went to De- 
troit, Michigan, to accept the post of con- 
fidential agent with the firm of Crane & 
Wesson, real estate dealers. Shortly 
afterward he conceived the plan of con- 
ducting a first class hotel, and to this end 
leased the National Hotel, which stood on 
the site now occupied by the Pontchar- 
train. Changing the name to the Russell 
House, and inaugurating a new policy of 
management, Mr. Russell in the five years 
preceding his death made the Russell 
House one of the most noted hostelries of 
the Middle West. It was known from 
coast to coast in the stirring period of bit- 
ter controversy which directly preceded 
the Civil War, and in its lobbies gathered 
the men who directed the destinies of the 
times. Mr. Russell was a prominent fig- 
ure in Republican politics in Detroit. He 
was also active in the Episcopal church, 
of which he was a valued member. 

William Henry Russell married Emily 
L. Baldwin, daughter of Col. Lyman and 
Mancy (Booth) Baldwin, both of whom 
were descendants of Connecticut families 



of ancient date. (See Baldwin VII. and 
Booth VII). Mrs. Russell, who survives 
her husband, has made her home in the 
handsome Russell residence on Jefferson 
avenue for forty-five years. She is an 
honored member of the First Congrega- 
tional Church of Detroit. 



170 



BALDWIN FAMILY, 

Ancestral History. 

Baldwin Anns — Argent a chevron ermine be- 
tween three hazel sprigs vert. 

Crest — A squirrel sejant or, holding a hazel 
sprig vert. 

Motto — Vim vi re pello. 

The surname Baldwin is of ancient Ger- 
man or Scandinavian origin, and signifies 
literally "Bold-Winner" or "Bold, Cour- 
ageous Friend." The name or its coun- 
terpart is found in practically every lan- 
guage in use in medieval Europe. The 
Latin form, Baldwinus, takes the form 
Baudouin in French, in Italian Balduino, 
and in German, Baldwin. 

The first mention of the cognomen in 
a place of historic importance occurs after 
the battle of Roncenvalles. A. D., 778, 
when Baldwin, son of Gan, a young 
French knight, fell with so many other 
noble youths. Another Baldwin, son of 
Ogier, the Dane, was slain by Charlon, 
son of Charlemagne. This would seem 
to fix the name as of Danish origin, and 
to establish the fact that it was intro- 
duced into France by the Norsemen from 
whom historic Normandy takes its name. 
In 837, A. D., we hear of "Baldwin of 
the Iron Arm," the founder of Bruges, so 
called from his skill in wielding the battle 
axe. He was the first ruler of Flanders of 
whom history has left any record. A 
brave and daring warrior, and a "for- 
ester" of Flanders, under Charles the 
Bald, Baldwin in his visits at court fell 
in love with the king's daughter, Judith, 



/*=■ 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF P.K KiKAPIIY 



the youthful widow of two English kings, 
married her, and fled with his bride to 
I orraine. The kin^. then harassed b) the 
Danes, was unable to avenge what he re- 
garded as an insult. He applied to the 
Pope, v. h< i exo immunicated Baldwin. The 
latter in turn pleaded his "cause of true 
love" so eloquently that the Pope with- 
drew his censures and induced Diaries 
to pardon his children. Charles was at 
last conciliated, and made his son-in-law 
margrave (Marchio Flandriae) of Flan- 
ders, which he held as an hereditary fief. 
The Northmen were at this time con- 
tinually devastating the coast lands, and 
Baldwin was entrusted with the posses- 
sion of this outlying borderland of the 
west Prankish dominion in order to de- 
fend it against the invaders. lie was the 
first of a line of strong rulers, who at 
some date early in the tenth century ex- 
changed the title of margrave for that of 
count. His son, Baldwin II., "the Paid," 
from his stronghold at Bruges main- 
tained, as did his father before him, a 
vigorous defence of his lands against the 
incursions of the Northmen. On his 
mother's side a descendant of Charle- 
magne, he strengthened the dynastic 
importance of his family by marrying 
Aelfthryth, daughter of Alfred the Great. 
On his death in 918, his possessions were 
divided between his sons Arnulf the 
Elder and Adolphus. Direct descendants 
of Baldwin I. ruled the Dukedom of 
Flanders for several centuries. 

In the tenth and eleventh centuries the 
Crusades convulsed all Europe. Every 
family of note was constrained to send its 
representatives to the East. The Counts 
of Flanders and the English branches of 
the family were numerously represented 
as leaders in the successive armies that 
went forth to deliver Palestine from the 
infidels. Baldwin. Count of Flanders and 
Hainaut, known in history as Baldwin I., 



was one of the most prominent leader 
the Fourth crusade, which resulted in 
the capture of ' ■ nstantinoplc, the con- 
quest of the greater part of the East 
Roman Empire, and the foundation of the 
Latin empire of Romania. Baldwin, 

Prim.' of Edessa, and first King of Jer- 
usalem, was one of the "adventurer 
princes" of the first crusade, and as such 
he stands alongside of I'.ohemund. Tan- 
cred and Raymund. Tasso in his poem 
"Jerusalem Delivered" speaks often of 
the Baldwins: 

Baldwin he docs ambitiously aspire 
The height of human grandeur to attain. 

At Patti, Sicily, repose the ashes of 
Queen Adelaide, mother of the great King 
Roger, who became the wife of Baldwin, 
King of Jerusalem. After two years' 
residence there, discovering that he had 
another wife living, she returned to Sicily 
and taking the veil, buried her grief and 
mortification in a convent founded by her 
brother, and died in 1178. 

Baldwin, Archbishop of Canterbury, 
with a train of two hundred horse, three 
hundred foot, his banner inscribed with 
the name of Thomas A' Becket, accom- 
panied Richard Coeur de Lion on a cru- 
sade in 1 120. Matilda, daughter of the 
Duke of Flanders, married William of 
Normandy, the Conqueror, and went to 
England with him. History and tradi- 
tion preserve an interesting story of the 
romance of William and Matilda. Ma- 
tilda, it is said, showed an inclination to 
play the coquette, and refused to give a 
positive consent to marriage. William 
was not to be trifled with and adopted 
heroic measures. One day, accompanied 
by some of his boon companions, he met 
her at Tours, and contrived to have her 
hustled and crowded through the street 
and even tumbled in the dust. The ladv 



171 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



forthwith concluded not to further incur 
the anger of so rough a lover, and they 
were married shortly afterward. One of 
their sons ruled Normandy. Another, 
William Rufus, became King of England 
on the death of his father. 

Baldwin as cognomen and surname fig- 
ures notably in English history from the 
end of the seventh century. The ancestor 
of John Hampden, the English patriot of 
ship money fame, was Baldwin de Hamp- 
den. We read of Baldwin D'Anesnes, son 
of Margaret, Countess of Flanders and 
Hainaut. He is known as the historian of 
his house in the thirteenth century. Wil- 
liam the Conqueror created one Baldwin 
hereditary Viscount of Devonshire and 
Baron of Okehampton. He was succeeded 
by his son Richard. Hemington was held 
by Baldwin de Pettour, who was obliged 
every Christmas to go to Saltus, Sufflus, 
and Pettus, to retain his estate. 

Rev. Thomas Baldwin, who died in 
1190, at the siege of Petolemais, was the 
author of "De Sacremento Atlantis," 
"Bibliotheca Patrum Cisterciensum," and 
several other commentaries. Rev. Wil- 
liam Baldwin, scholar and divine, was the 
author of a work called "A Mirror for 
Magistrates," and of several plays, poems, 
comedies, tragedies, similes, etc. We 
read also of Benjamin Baldwin, an arch- 
eologist of the sixteenth century ; of Sir 
Thomas Baldwin, a miscellaneous writer 
of the seventeenth century ; of Fredericus 
Baldwin of Wittenberg, in 1628, who 
wrote a Latin "Treatise on Cases of Con- 
science." 

Mr. C. C. Baldwin, in his "Baldwin 
Genealogy," gives much interesting infor- 
mation concerning the family in Eng- 
land, and particularly of the Bucks county 
branch from which the American emi- 
grants came. He tells us that "The most 
eminent Baldwin of Bucks was Sir John 



Baldwin, Chief Justice of the Common 
Pleas of England, 1536 to 1546, when he 
died. He was lord of the Manor of Ayles- 
bury. His office was very lucrative and 
he was very rich. In 1540 Henry VIII. , 
granted him the home and site of Gray 
Friars in Aylesbury." Richard Baldwin, 
of Dundredge, County Bucks, was the 
direct ancestor of the American Baldwins. 
The first Baldwin settlers in New Eng- 
land were all kindred, but not all broth- 
ers. The family to-day is found in every 
part of the United States, and for two and 
a half centuries has been honorably rep- 
resented in professional, business and 
public life. Henry Baldwin was a judge 
of the Supreme Court of the United 
States. Baldwins have been governors of 
states, members of congress, divines, 
authors, and leaders in every honorable 
walk of life. One Abram Baldwin was a 
member of the convention which framed 
the Constitution of the United States. He 
later was instrumental in the founding of 
the Georgia University. Matthias Bald- 
win, the distinguished inventor, rose from 
a humble place to the foremost rank. Be- 
ginning in a small shop, of which he was 
the sole occupant, he became the head of 
an establishment employing a thousand 
workmen. He was the builder of the first 
American locomotive. 

Connecticut has been the home of one 
of the most distinguished branches of the 
family for over two hundred and fifty 
years. It was here, in the early town of 
New Haven, that John Baldwin, founder 
of the line herein under consideration, 
settled prior to 1648. 

(I) John Baldwin, the progenitor, was 
born in England ; all evidence points to 
the fact that he was of the distinguished 
County Bucks family, and kinsman 
(brother, nephew or cousin) of Sylvester 
Baldwin, whose nuncupative will he wit- 



172 




tzJt/kfrr? 




"clasyiAStf >£*.' ' tf 'U-^ 



ENCYCLOPEDIA Ob MI< >GR M'ilV 



nessed. The family of Sylvester Bald- 
win came from Aston Clinton, a quiet 
little parish four miles from Aylesbury. 
It has a small church called St. Leonai 
built in the old English style. The walls 
an- the same that the Baldwins were 
familiar with before coming to these 
shores. The roof had been burned in the 
Revolution of [640, hut was replaced. 
The Chapel farm, formerly in the tenure 
^i Sylvester Baldwin, lies directly across 
the street. At the end of the farm are 
the Baldwin woods. A little way from 
St. Leonard's lies I [real Hampden, the 
paternal home of 1 lampden. with its grand 
old avenue of beeches, so long that one 
imagines the four thousand yeomen who 
are said to have ridden to London in 
sympathy for the patriot, congregated 
about it. Hampden was buried here in 
1643. I" his w >" he remembers John 
B ddwin. From this region came the 
Baldwins, Bryants, Fenns, Fowlers and 
others of Milford, Connecticut, in 1638. 
John Baldwin was among the earliest 
planters of Milford, but was not a mem- 
ber of the church, and hence not a free- 
man. He joined the Milford church, 
March 19, i(>;^, and was buried at Mil- 
ford, 1681. He married (first) Mary 

; (second) Mary Bruen, of Pequot, 

daughter of John Bruen, who came from 
Stapleton, Cheshire, England. She died 
September 2, 1670. 

ill) Josiah Baldwin, son of John and 
Mary Baldwin, was baptized at Milford, 
Connecticut, March 20, 1648, aged six 
years. He was a lifelong resident of Mil- 
ford, a prosperous landowner and lead- 
ing citizen. On January 30, 1671, he 
joined the church at Milford in full com- 
munion. On June 25, 1667, he married 
Mary Camp, who is thought to have been 
a daughter of Edward Camp, of New 
Haven. 



(!Ih Samuel Baldwin, son of Josiah 

and Mary (Camp) Baldwin, was born at 

Milford, Connecticut, March 14, 107.175. 
He was called "sriii"r" in the ren.rds 
after 171 1. He owned lands at Chestnut 
Hill. Samuel Baldwin was a wheel- 
wright by trade. He di I of his prop- 
erty by deed to his sons before his death. 
He married Rebecca Wilkinson, who was 
born in 1070, daughter of Edward and 

Rebecca (Smith) Wilkinson, of Milford. 
He and his wife and oldest children were 
tized at Milford, August 1, 1703. lie 
died in Milford, January 8, [737-38. His 
will is dated February 14. 1 734. 

(IV) Caleb Baldwin, son of Samuel 
and Rebecca (Wilkinson) Baldwin, was 
lorn at Milford, Connecticut, July 26, 
1704. He married, January 29, 17. j. Ann 
Tibbals, daughter of Thomas and Sarah 
Tibials. Her mother, Sarah Tibbals, was 
a daughter of Nathaniel Bristol. Caleb 
Baldwin joined the church at Milford in 
1741. His will, which bequeathed to his 
widow and children, was dated Decem- 
ber 20. 1763. and proved April 2. 1782. 
He resided at Milford and Newtown. 

1 V ) Jared Baldwin, son of Caleb raid 
Ann (Tibbals) Baldwin, was born at Mil- 
ford, Connecticut, January 30, 1731 . He 
married, September 18, 1753, Daman's 
Booth, of Newtown. In 1775 he had a 
deed of land from his parents, then of 
Xew Milford. Jared Baldwin served with 
the Continental forces during the Amer- 
ican Revolution, as a member of Captain 
Caleb Mix's company, Colonel Increase 
Mosell's regiment, in 1778; and in 1780 
was in Colonel Heman Swift's regiment. 
After the war he removed to Luzerne 
county (Wyoming Valley) Pennsylvania, 
and settled on a large tract of land there. 
His wife died in 1816, and he in 1817, at 
the residence of his son, 'Dr. Gabriel Bald- 
win, in Connecticut. 



173 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



(VI) John (2) Baldwin, son of Jared 
and Damaris (Booth) Baldwin, was born 
November 17, 1768, and settled in Wes- 
ton, Connecticut, where he died July 7, 
1840. He resided in Weston and in 
Bridgeport, following agricultural pur- 
suits in both places. He married (first) 
October, 1790, in Weston, Naomi Brins- 
made, who was born February 27, 1769, 
and died December 16, 1812. He married 
(second) in 1814, Mariane Smith, who 
died in Weston in 1819. Children: 1. Eli, 
born July 30, 1791, died in Columbus, 
Ohio. 2. Josiah, born February 28, 1793, 
died October 25, 1867; married (first) 
May 20, 1818, Jeanette Wells, who died 
December 5, 1826; (second) May 11, 1828, 
Sarah Burr, who died in 1864. 3. Clar- 
issa, born February 14, 1795, died Sep- 
tember 25, 1880; married, November 6, 
1817, Levi Beardsley. 4. Esther, born 
April 16, 1797, died March 15, 1852. 5. 
Nathan, born May 8, 1799, died May 21, 
1854; married Julia Ann Wheeler, and 
among their children was Samuel Wheel- 
er Baldwin, a notable figure in financial 
and business circles in Bridgeport, Con- 
necticut, and for several decades presi- 
dent of the Connecticut National Bank. 
6. Lyman, mentioned below. 7. Abel, 
born May 3, 1804, died October 15, 1872. 
8. Edwin, born April 29, 1808 ; was iden- 
tified with his brother Josiah in the print- 
ing and bookbinding business ; died May 
12, 1882. 

(VII) Lyman Baldwin, son of John 
(2) and Naomi (Brinsmade) Baldwin, 
was born in Weston, Connecticut, March 
27, 1802. He removed to Michigan in 
middle life, and until his death occupied a 
prominent place in public life in that 
State. Colonel Lyman Baldwin was high 
sheriff of Wayne county, Michigan, for 
the years 1853 and 1854, having previous- 
ly held other important offices. In 1855 



Baldwin avenue, Detroit, was named in 
his honor. That city was his home dur- 
ing the greater part of his residence in 
the West, and he figures notably in the 
history of the early years of its industrial 
and commercial expansion. Colonel Bald- 
win married Mancy Booth, daughter of 
Eben and Sarah (Steele) Booth, of 
Bridgeport, Connecticut. (See Booth 
VII). He died in Detroit, October 8, 
1875- 



BOOTH FAMILY, 

Ancestral History. 

Booth Arms — Argent three boars' heads erect 
and erased sable langued gules. 
Crest — A lion passant argent. 
Motto — Quod ero spero. 

The Booth family has figured promi- 
nently in English history since the middle 
of the thirteenth century. The name, 
which is of local origin and has become 
strongly ramified in South Lancashire, 
England, is first of record on the ancient 
rolls of the county palatine of Lancaster, 
in the year 1275. All families of the 
name in various parts of England, and 
those American branches which claim 
descent from the founder, Richard Booth, 
are believed to be derived from one parent 
stock, of which William de Boothe of 
Lancaster county was the progenitor. 

The New England Booths, prominent 
from the beginning of Colonial history to 
the present day, descend from four pro- 
genitors. Robert Booth settled at Ex- 
eter, Massachusetts, in 1645, whither he 
removed to Saco, Maine, in 1653. John 
Boothe was of Scituate, Massachusetts, 
in 1656, and probably of Southold, Long 
Island. Humphrey Boothe, merchant of 
Charlestown, Massachusetts, married a 
daughter of the Rev. Mr. Symes, about 
1656. Richard Boothe, of Stratford, was 



i/"4 




B°? T H 




ENCYCLOPEDIA < >F BI< >GRAPHY 



one of the original proprietors of the 
town, and a leading figure in it- early 
life. His descendants have ranked among 
the foremost families in Connecticut for 
two hundred and fifty years, and have 
never relinquished the prestige of early 
generations. 
The pedigree of the English house of 

which the American Booths are an off- 

shoot, is herewith appended: 

(I) William de Boothe, son of Adam 
de Boothe, Of Lancaster county, in 1275, 
married Sybil, daughter of Ralph de l'.rer- 
eton, of the county palatine of Chester, 
descendant of an ancient English family. 

(II) Thomas de Booth, son of William 
de Boothe, and his heir, married and had 
Robert, mentioned below. 

(III) Robert Booth, son of Thomas de 
Booth, married into the Barton family of 
Lancashire, but evidence is not clear 
whether his wife was Agnes, daughter 
and heir of Sir William de Barton, or her 
daughter and heir Loretta. 

(IV) Thomas (2) Booth, Knight 
(styled Thomasin of the Booths), son of 
Robert Booth, was living at the time of 
Edward III., 1327-jj. His seal (as ap- 
peared in an ancient document in posses- 
sion of Lord Delamere in 1680) was, in 
1372, "a chevron engrailed in a canton, a 
mullet, and for crest a fox and a St. Cath- 
erine wheel," with the motto "Sigillum 
Tho»ur.'' He married Ellen, daughter of 
Thomas De Workesley, near Booths, in 
Lancashire. 

(V) John Booth, son of Sir Thomas 
(2) Booth, and his heir, was living in the 
time of Richard II. and Henry IV. (1377- 
141 3). He is styled John of Barton. He 
married (first) Joan, daughter of Sir 
Henry Trafford, of Trafford, in Lanca- 
shire, Knight, member of an ancient Eng- 
lish family seated in Lancashire before 
the Conquest. After her death, he mar- 



ried Maude, daughter of Sir Clifton Sav- 
age, of t Ufton, in Cheshire, Knight. 

1 VI 1 Sir Robert (2) Booth, -on of John 
I '.."'th and hi- wife Joan, was the first of 
the Booths who settled at Dunham Mas- 

sey, in * Cheshire. I fe died September, 1450, 
and i- buried in the parish church of Wil- 
merton, in Cheshire. He married Dulcis, 
daughter and heir of Sir William Ven- 
ablcs, of Bollen, Knight. She died Sep- 
tember, 1453. Sir Robert I'.oothand Wil- 
liam, his -on, had a grant of the shrievalty 
of Cheshire for both their live-. 

(VII) Sir William (2) Booth, son and 
heir of Sir Robert (2) Booth, of Dunham 
Massey, Knight, married Maude, daugh- 
ter of J. Dutton, Esq., of Dutton in 
Che-hire, who survived him and married 
again. Sir William Booth received of 
Henry VI. an annuity for services to the 
Crown. 

(VIII) Sir George Booth, or Bothe, 
son of Sir William (2) Booth, married 
Catherine, daughter and heir of R. Mount- 
fort, of Bescote, in County Stafford. The 
Mountforts were of noble connection, 
bearing relationship to David. King of 
Scotland, and to the great family of Clin- 
ton. This marriage brought to Sir 
George Booth an "ample estate of manors 
and lands in the counties of Salop. Staf- 
ford, Warwick, Leicester, Hereford, 
Wilts, Somerset, Devon and Cornwall." 
He died in 1483. 

(IX) Sir William (3) Booth, son of Sir 
George Booth, of Dunham Massey. mar- 
ried (first) Margaret, daughter and co- 
heir of Thomas Ashton, of Lancashire 
"by whom a large inheritance in Lanca- 
shire and Cheshire came to the family of 
Bothe;" she died before 1504. He then 
married Ellen, daughter and co-heir of 
Sir John Montgomery, of Kewby, in 
Staffordshire. Sir William Booth pos- 
sessed various manors in Cheshire, York- 



l /D 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



shire and Cornwall. He died November 
19, 15 19, and was buried at Bowden. 

(X) Sir George (2) Booth, son and 
heir of Sir William (3) Booth, married 
Elizabeth Butler, of Beausay, near War- 
rington, in Lancashire, whose progeni- 
tors had been summoned to Parliament in 
the reigns of Edward I. and II. 

(XI) Sir George (3) Booth, eldest son 
and heir of Sir George (2) Booth, was 
born about 1515-16, and died in 1544, aged 
twenty-eight years. He married, in 1531, 
Margaret, daughter of Rowland Bulk- 
ley, of Benmorris (Anglesea). He mar- 
ried, after her death, Elizabeth, daughter 
of Sir Edmund Trafford, of Lancashire, 
Knight. To him, as head of one of the 
families of rank, came an official letter, 
October 12, 1529, announcing, by com- 
mand of Queen Jane Seymour, the birth 
of her son, afterward King Edward VI. 
It is dated on the day of his birth. This 
letter was preserved by Mary, Countess 
Dowager of Stamford (1771), as was also 
another from Henry VIII. to Sir George 
Booth, dated February 10, 1543, concern- 
ing the forces to be raised against the 
Scots. Elizabeth, wife of Sir George 
Booth, died in 1582. Both are buried at 
Trentham Church, Staffordshire. 

(XII) William (4) Booth, son of Sir 
George (3) Booth, was but three years 
old when his father died, and therefore 
was in ward to the King. He married 
Elizabeth, daughter of Sir John War- 
burton, of Airely, in Cheshire, Knight. 
He became sheriff of Chester, 1571, and 
was knighted, 1579. He died September, 
1579, in his thirty-ninth year, and was 
buried at Barton. His wife died Decem- 
ber, 1628. 

(XIII) Richard Booth, son of William 
(4) Booth, married a Massie, of Cogshill, 
in Cheshire, and died in 1628. Through 
him the connection of the Stratford 



Booths with the family in England is es- 
tablished. 

(The Family in America). 

(I) Richard Booth, immigrant ancestor 
and founder of the Stratford Booths, was 
born in 1607. The exact date of his com- 
ing to New England is unknown. He is 
first of actual record in Stratford, Con- 
necticut, in a list dated about 165 1. The 
list of the seventeen original proprietors 
of the town has been lost, but consider- 
able evidence leads to the belief that Rich- 
ard Booth's name was among them. The 
birth of a daughter to him is noted in 
1641. Another curious incidental testi- 
mony in favor of his original proprietor- 
ship is a protest in 1724 (Vol. of "Town 
Acts," p. 102), by Ambrose Tompson, son 
of John, then aet. 72, and by Ebenezer 
Boothe, son of Richard, also aet. 72 ; they 
complain of injustice in the distribution 
of land, and say "Our parents, we sup- 
pose were either actually or virtually 
among some of the very first settlers of 
the town of Stratford, which was settled 
with very great difficulty and charge, as 
we have been informed. The expense of 
one of our parents for watching and ward- 
ing, and other charges, cost more than 
£40, money." Richard Booth's (or 
Boothe's) name appears often in the town 
records of his day as "townsman," or 
selectman, and in other commissions of 
trust. The prefix Mr. before his name is 
incontrovertible evidence that he was a 
man of influence and high position in 
the community. The title in usage in 
that day was applied only to gentlemen 
of recognized social standing. Richard 
Booth became the owner, through grant 
and purchase, of a large landed property, 
which he divided in his lifetime among 
his children. His home lot was located 
on Main street, on the west side, the fifth 



176 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



In order below the Bridgeport road Like 

other proprietors his lands were spread 

over a considerable area, and wire uncon- 
nected, a fact which seems to be more 
generally characteristic of Stratford than 

of the majority of New England towns. 
His name last appears on the records, in 
March, [688-89, in hi-- eighty-second year. 

Mr, Booth seems to have been twice mar- 
ried, for in 1689 he speaks of "my now 
wife," a phrase commonly indicative, as 
then used, of a second marriage. 1 lis first 
wife was Elizabeth; sister of Joseph Haw- 
ley, founder of the Ilawley family of 
Stratford, and the first recorder or town 
clerk. This is another incidental proof of 
his being one of the original proprietors 
of the town. 

(Ill Joseph Booth (or Boothe). ances- 
tor of all of the name now living in the 
present town of Stratford, was born there 
in March. 1656. lie became a landed 
proprietor in Stratford, and was one of 
the leading men of the town in his day. 
His estate was among the largest in the 
town. Part of the front wall of the cellar 
of his house still remains. Other relics 
are in possession of his descendants. An 
account book in which his business trans- 
actions are entered is in the possession of 
Mr. David B. Booth, of Putney. Several 
leaves at the beginning of this interesting 
old ledger are lost. The remaining en- 
tries extend from 1681 to 1703. Two or 
three generations of the descendants of 
Joseph Booth used the volume for a like 
purpose. Numerous debts of long stand- 
ing were discharged by deeds of land, 
which greatly increased his property, and 
enabled him to confer valuable farms on 
his children and their families. Joseph 
Booth occupied a position of prominence 
in the life and affairs of early Stratford. 
He married (first) Mary Wells, daughter 
of John Wells; (second) Hannah Willcox- 

Conn— 7-12 I 



son, daughter of John WillcOXSOn, about 
1685; she died in 1701. In 1702 he mar- 
ried (third) Elizabeth , who after 

his deatli pave bonds for the management 
of the estate. He died in Stratford, Sep- 
tember 1. 1703, aged forty six years. 

illh David Booth, son of Joseph and 
nnah (Willc<>xson) Booth, was born in 
Stratford, Connecticut, about [698. He 
married (first) in June, 17.27, Mrs. Anne 
Mills, Of Windsor. About 1740 he mar- 
ried (second I Mary ; and shortly 

after his marriage removed to Roxbury, 
Connecticut, where he died June 21, 1773, 
aged seventy-four year-. David Booth 
was a prominent resident of Trumbull, 
and was one of the twenty-four original 
members of the church formed there, 
May 6, 1747. His wife died November 
mi. 1793. aged ninety-one years. 

(IV) David (2) Booth, son of David 
(1) and Anne (Mills) Booth, was born in 
October, 1733. He settled in Trumbull, 
Connecticut, and was prominent in civil 
life there. He was a large landowner, 
and prosperous farmer. David Booth 
served on the school committee of Trum- 
bull, and in October, 1812, represented 
the town in the Connecticut Legislature. 
He married. November 12, 1752, Prudence 
Edwards, who died December 21, 1782, 
aged sixty years. He died September 14, 
1824, aged ninety-one years. 

( V ) Philo Booth, son of David (2) and 
Prudence (Edwards) Booth, was born in 
Trumbull, Connecticut, and resided there 
all his life, a prominent citizen and pros- 
perous farmer. He died July 31, 1819, 
aged sixty-one years. Philo Booth was 
active in public affairs in Trumbull, and 
in 1806 represented the town in the Con- 
necticut State Legislature. He married 

Anna , who died March 18, 1838, 

aged seventy-six years. Both are buried 
in the Unity Burying Place. 



77 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



(VI) Eben Booth, son of Philo and 
Anna Booth, was a well known farmer in 
Bridgeport, Connecticut, for several de- 
cades. He was widely known and emi- 
nently respected in Fairfield county. 
Eben Booth married Sarah (Sally) Steele, 
member of a family long established in 
Connecticut ; they were the parents of 
eight children, all daughters, who re- 
moved after marriage to the West. 

(VII) Mancy Booth, daughter of Eben 
and Sarah (Steele) Booth, was born near 
Bridgeport, Connecticut, December 22, 
1805. She became the wife of Colonel 
Lyman Baldwin, and shortly after her 
marriage removed with her husband to 
Auburn, New York, later going to De- 
troit, Michigan, where she died in 1882. 
Mrs. Baldwin is remembered greatly by 
the older generation of Detroit's citizens, 
as a gentlewoman of birth and breeding, 
who worked indefatigably beside her hus- 
band for the advancement of religious in- 
terest in the city. She was also one of 
the leaders among the noble Christian 
women of Detroit whose self-sacrificing 
efforts in behalf of Michigan soldiers at 
the front, in the hospitals, and maimed 
and wounded at home, are matters of his- 
tory. 



WILLIAMS, Frederick Henry, 

Physician, Antiquarian, Author. 

Frederick Henry Williams, M. D., was 
born in Pleasant Valley, Barkhamsted, 
Connecticut, June 12, 1846, son of Dr. 
Orville Williams. His mother, Minerva 
(Gillette) Williams, died in 1855, and his 
father in 1859. Left an orphan at the age 
of thirteen years, Dr. Williams made his 
own way in the world, supported himself 
and financed his own education. Until 
he was almost twenty years of age, he 
lived on the farm of his maternal grand- 



mother. His early life was spent largely 
in Granby, Connecticut, but later he set- 
tled in Hartford in order that he might 
gain better educational advantages, for 
he had determined to enter a medical col- 
lege. In 1869, after two and one-half 
years of medical study, he suddenly lost 
his hearing. This was a severe blow to 
the young man, but he did not give up his 
intention to become a physician. He con- 
tinued his studies, and supported himself 
in the meantime by working in the print- 
ing offices and drug stores until 1874, 
when he received his diploma from the 
board of censors of the Connecticut-Bot- 
anico-Medical Society, chartered in 1848. 
In 1880 he was granted an M. D. diploma 
by the Connecticut-Eclectic Association. 
He settled in Bristol, Connecticut, in 1876, 
and has won high standing as a success- 
ful physician, particularly in chronic and 
obscure diseases. His practice is very 
large and extends throughout Western 
Connecticut and the Connecticut valley. 
As a result of his sudden deafness in 
early life, he became so dependent upon 
his own mental resources that he soon 
came to be an omnivorous reader and an 
intense student. He speaks, reads, and 
writes French ; reads German and Swed- 
ish ; and has a knowledge of Latin. He is 
deeply versed in surface geology, anthro- 
pology, and archaeology, and his collection 
of prehistoric archaeological specimens is 
unusually fine. The results of his read- 
ing and study have inspired his pen, and 
he has contributed largely to newspapers 
and magazines, on medical, scientific, and 
other subjects. As an historical student, 
his attainments are unusually high, and 
his reading has been directed particularly 
to American and European history. He 
is a keen student of men and public af- 
fairs, and seldom is wrong in his estimate 



178 



ENCYCLl >PEDIA OF UK >C,K AIM I V 



of political parties, their leaders, princi- 
ples, and nit itives. 

Medicine has been only one of his many 
activities, for scientific study always held 
a fascination fur him. He has published a 

work, "Prehistoric Remains of the Fann- 

ington Valley," and has always taken a 
deep interest in the welfare and advance- 
ment of Bristol. He was one of the first 
to advocate the founding- of the Bristol 
Historical Society, and he has been the 
town's unfailing- friend. In politics, he is 
a Democrat, sound in his financial views, 
and refusing to be led away by the soph- 
istries of the silverites. 

In literary matters he has always taken 
a dee]) interest and is himself a writer of 
ability. In addition to his prose writings, 
previously mentioned, Dr. Williams is a 
poet of much talent. His style is spir- 
ited, flowing, and graceful, and his poet- 
ical effusions are the delight of his friends. 
About seventy of his poems have been 
published in the Hartford "Times," and 
local papers, and more ambitious poems 
in the old "Connecticut Magazine." In 
debate or criticism, he wields a scathing 
pen if the subject discussed be handled 
by his opponents in a manner showing 
ignorance of the fundamental principles 
of the subject, whether political or relig- 
ious. His historical sketches are chiefly 
of a local nature and uncollected, but they 
show uncommon power of discernment in 
analyzing chronological data and prepar- 
ing it for popular reading. He is a mem- 
ber of the National Eclectic Association. 
(Frederick Alvin Norton, 1901.) 

Dr. Williams married, in 1885, Janetta 
E. Hart, of Pleasant Valley, Connecticut, 
and they are the parents of a daughter, 
Frances Hart, born in 1886. Frances 
Hart Williams died suddenly in Septem- 
ber, 1909, while on a visit to her grand- 
mother in Winsted, Connecticut. She was 



a graduate of VaSSar College in [907. She 

took the classical course offered by that 

institution, and was especially well versed 

in French, Latin, German, and most of 
all in ( ireek. 

When the Bristol Public Library was 
being built, Dr. Williams was asked to 
contribute his archaeological collection to 
the city. This was done, ami the collec- 
tion i^ now in a separate room as the 
"F. H. Williams Ethnological Collection." 
Since the donation to the city, the collec- 
tion has been greatly increased. It is 
particularly well represented with shell 
artifacts from the various surface mounds 
of South Florida where Dr. Williams col- 
lected during the winters for over five 
years. In i <> 1 4. he was elected president 
of the New England Eclectic Association, 
but becoming very ill was unable to offi- 
ciate. From 1914 to 1916 he was mostly 
confined to his home, and as he gradually 
regained his health his practice was meas- 
urably limited to office work. When the 
epitlemic of influenza came in September, 
1918. he was gradually drawn into active 
practice, and he attended over four hun- 
dred cases of all types without a fatality. 
He had already had much experience in 
the great epidemics of 1889-90, and he 
found that now, as then, the old botanic 
remedies were potent against both the 
bronchial and pneumonic forms of the 
disease. He believes that the great mor- 
tality of the last epidemic was from wrong 
ideas of treatment and dangerous forms of 
drugs used. He continues all his interest 
in the world's doings and politics, but he 
cannot favor the modern ideas of so- 
called "democracy," so different from the 
conceptions of Cleveland and Tilden, 
whom he followed in the early days. For 
the last fifteen years he has been a steady 
opponent of Socialism wherever he could 
find an opportunity to publish his views. 



179 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



He has been an opponent, also, of govern- 
ment ownership of railroads and public 
utilities, on general principles. He is op- 
posed, also, to Prohibition as being wrong 
in its attack on personal liberty, and still 
more wrong in its false conception of the 
place of alcohol in medicine and the arts. 
Dr. Williams, since early in the seven- 
ties, has been a believer in the philosophy 
of Herbert Spencer and a follower of the 
conceptions of Charles Darwin. At the 
outbreak of the great European War he 
publicly declared that the object of Ger- 
many was to master the world and to 
subject it to German headship. He fav- 
ored the immediate entrance of the 
United States into the war to succor 
France and Belgium. During the war he 
never had any doubt of the outcome be- 
ing the triumph of liberty. 

Dr. Williams has written a genealogy 
of his maternal descent, which will be given 
to the Public Library at Hartford. He 
will, therefore, give only a lineal synopsis 
of the ancestral lines in this publication. 
Since he has no lineal descendants he will 
give only a synopsis of his paternal lines. 
He is a great believer in the influence of 
heredity in moulding and changing the 
lives of men. 

Dr. Williams had a younger brother, 
Frank Orville, who went in 1863 to New 
Milford with a cousin, by marriage, of his 
mother, James P. Brace, brother of 
Charles Loring Brace, of the New York 
Children's Aid Society. In 1864 Mr. 
Brace and Mr. Frank O. Williams went 
'to Kansas, and from St. Joseph, Missouri, 
Frank was sent with a caravan to open 
a ranch where Laramie now stands in 
Wyoming. Beset by Indians, all was lost 
except the horses they were riding. 
Frank O. became a trapper, going over 
all the Rocky mountains. He was the 
guide and helper of the artist, Moran, 



when he painted his great pictures of the 
Yellowstone. He was one of the pioneers 
of the Wyoming Territory, being in the 
body that formed that territory. He dis- 
covered copper and sold his little mine 
at the encampment, calling his mine the 
Charter Oak in memory of his native 
State. He was one of the two commis- 
sioners to the Columbian Exhibition, 
where the brothers met for the first time 
since 1864. Dr. Williams furnished the 
Connecticut Indian material for that ex- 
hibition. Frank O. Williams died in 1916 
at Santa Monica, California, unmarried. 
Although he had no schooling to speak of, 
he educated himself nicely, and was said 
to be a forcible and convincing speaker. 
He was twice representative in the Wy- 
oming Legislature, and twice State Sen- 
ator, and was in the line for governor 
when he had a very slight shock and, as 
he told his brother, dropped all politics. 
The brothers met only once after that 
time, when Frank O. came East. 

The ancestry of Dr. Williams, on the 
paternal lines, is as follows: 

(I) Matthew Williams, said by Stiles 
to be the eldest son of Richard Williams, 
of Taunton, one of the earliest settlers of 
W T ethersfield, married Susanah Cole, of 
Hartford. 

(II) Amos Williams, married Eliza- 
beth . 

(III) Samuel Williams, married Mary 
Stebbins. 

(IV) Amos (2) Williams, married 
Mary Stedman. 

(V) Jesse Williams married Lois Col- 
lins. They moved to Sandisfield, Massa- 
chusetts, before the Revolution. Jesse 
Williams died in 1775. Mrs. Lois (Col- 
lins) Williams survived him, and died at 
the age of one hundred and four years, 
after the year 1844. 

(VI) Jesse (2) Williams, son of Jesse 



180 



ENCYCLI (PEDIA ( >F BI( >GRAPHY 



ii. and LOIS (Collins) Williams, mar- 
ried Juliette Whitney, daughter of Hez- 
ekiah Whitney, at Sandisfield, Massachu- 
setts. They had four sons, the youngest 

of whom was Orville Williams, of whom 
further. 

(VII) Orville William-, son of Jesse 
(2) and Juliette (Whitney) Williams, 
married Minerva Gillette, of (Irani) v. 

( >f the family of Jesse Williams, of the 
fifth and sixth generations, it is not known 
that any descendants live except the chil- 
dren of Whitney Jesse Williams, older 
brother of Orville, and Dr. Williams, 
himself. The only males living are Rus- 
sel Williams, son of Whitney J., and his 
baby son. Russel Williams lives with his 
mother and his sister in Winsted, Con- 
necticut, and his aunts live in Massachu- 
setts. 

(The White Line). 

(I) Fdder John White came to Hart- 
ford with Elder Hooker. His son was 
Captain Nathaniel White, of whom fur- 
ther. 

1 in Captain Nathaniel White, son of 
Fdder John White, was a celebrated man 
in Middletown. He left money to found 
the first free school in the colony. He 
married Elizabeth . 

(Ill) Elizabeth White, daughter of 
Captain Nathaniel White, married Ensign 
John Clark, of Upper House, son of Wil- 
liam Clark, of Haddam. 

(The Clark Line). 

(I) William Clark was one of the first 
settlers of Haddam, and had a son, John 
Clark. 

(II) John Clark, son of William Clark, 
married Elizabeth White. 

(III) Captain Daniel Clark, son of John 
Clark, married Elizabeth Whitmore, 
daughter of Francis Whitmore (2) and 



Hannah (Harris) Whitman, daughter of 

William I [arris. 

1 Iii Collard Adams' "Middletown Up- 
per Mouses" this is wrongly stated that 
Elizabeth was the daughter of Andrew 
Wetmore. l'\ the wills in Mainwaring's 
Digest this is di- proven and her parent- 
age is as sh( ivt n above.) 

(IV) Hannah Clark, daughter of Cap- 
tain Daniel Clark, named after her (irand- 
mother Harris, married William Sumner, 
of Middletown. Her son, Hezekiah Sum- 
mer, married Desire Higgins. 

(The Sumner Line). 

The Sumner line descends from Wil- 
liam Sumner, who came to Dorchester 
very early. I lis mother was Joan (Frank- 
lyn ) Sumner, said to be of the same fam- 
ily as Benjamin Franklin. William Sum- 
ner married the daughter of Augustine 
Clement at Dorchester. Mrs. Augustine 
Clement was highly praised in the me- 
moirs of the Apostle Eliot. 

A son of William, also named William 
Sumner, started the Middletown line. 
Two of the name were in the Connecticut 
militia as officers. Hezekiah Sumner was 
long ranking officer in Connecticut. Af- 
ter his marriage with Desire Higgins, he 
moved to Otis, Massachusetts, before the 
Revolution. His daughter, Tabitha Sum- 
ner, married Nathan Havens at Otis. 
Their daughter, Mehitable Havens, mar- 
ried Hezekiah Whitney, and their daugh- 
ter married Jesse Williams, as mentioned 
above. (See Williams VI). 

(The Whitney Line). 

The Whitney lines are given in the 
Whitney Genealogy of Phoenix Ingraham 
down to Dr. Orville Williams, father of 
Dr. Frederick Henry Williams. The 
Whitneys descend from John and Ellinor 
Whitney, of Lynn. The descent in this 



181 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



line is from two sons of John Whitney, 
and the descent is in male lines directly 
to Hezekiah Whitney, great-grandfather 
of Dr. Williams. This line carries by 
marriage with females the line of John 
Havens, of Lynn, to Mehitable Havens 
Whitney, also the line of Colonel George 
Barber, of Dedham, and Major Simon 
Willard, of Groton, both famous Indian 
fighters in Massachusetts Colonial mil- 
itia. 

The ancestry of Dr. Williams, on the 
maternal side, is as follows : 

(The Gillette Line). 

The Gillette immigrants were early in 
Connecticut, and all of the name here 
probably descend from three brothers, 
who were Huguenots from the south of 
France. On the United States census of 
the year 1790, there were twenty families 
of Gillettes in Granby, alone, of the most 
of which no full records are found. The 
first definitely located Gillette ancestor 
of this line was Joseph Gillette, whose 
first recorded notice is in the Simsbury 
Records in which is written his marriage 
to Elizabeth Hayes in 1740. The young- 
est son of this family was Benoni, who 
was born in 1762. He enlisted at the age 
of sixteen and fought intermittently until 
the conclusion of the Revolutionary War. 
Benoni Gillette was a pensioner of the 
Revolution, and died in 1844. Joseph Gil- 
lette died in 1776. Benoni Gillette mar- 
ried, in 1786, at Glastonbury, Penelope 
Hubbard, who died in 1835. She was the 
daughter of Aaron and Dorothy (Hol- 
lister) Hubbard, of Glastonbury. They 
were the parents of thirteen children. 
The third of these children was Almon 
Gillette, born in 1790, and he married 
Lurana Adams, in 1812. He built a 
house in Bushy Hill, Granby, where most 
of their thirteen children were born. 



These children have left heirs in most of 
the West and in Texas. There are none 
left in Connecticut except Dr. Williams. 
Minerva Gillette, the daughter of Almon 
and Lurana (Adams) Gillette, of Granby, 
was born in 1825, and married Orville 
Williams, then of Pleasant Valley, in 
1845. They had two children, sons; the 
first was Frederick Henry, and two years 
later the second and last son, Frank Or- 
ville, was born. 

(The Hayes Line). 

George Hayes came from London to 
Granby from Windsor, Connecticut. He 
was a Scotchman, and settled in Granby 
in 1683. His first wife died childless in 
Windsor. He married (second) Abigail 
Dibble, and settled on Salmon Brook 
street, Granby, where he raised a large 
family. Samuel Hayes, the second son of 
George Hayes, settled in Bushy Hill, and 
married Elizabeth Wilcoxson, of Sims- 
bury, daughter of Samuel and Elizabeth 
(Wilson) Wilcoxson, of Hartford. Their 
daughter, Elizabeth Hayes, married Jo- 
seph Gillette, in 1740, as mentioned above. 

An elder brother of Samuel Hayes was 
Daniel Hayes, who was captured by the 
Indians just west of Salmon Brook, 
Granby, and was carried by the Indians 
to Canada. In the sixth generation he 
was ancestor of President Hayes. George 
Hayes had a daughter, Joanna, who mar- 
ried James Hillier, of Windsor, and her 
daughter, Phoebe Hillier, married Rene 
Cossette, an ancestor of Lurana (Adams) 
Gillette, wife of Almon Gillette. 

In this place it may be recorded that 
Almon Gillette had a sister, Pamelia, next 
in age to himself. She married Apollos 
Griffin, of Granby. Her son, own cousin 
to Minerva Gillette, was Major General 
Charles Griffin, also in the sixth genera- 
tion from George Hayes. General Griffin 



182 



ENCYCU H'EDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



took the swords at the surrender <>f the 
army of North Virginia at Appomattox. 
The ancestor of Elizabeth Hayes, in 
maternal lines was John Griffin, an early 
settler of Granby. In the Turkey Hill 
region in Windsor, in i'».(7, he married 
Anna Bancroft, of Windsor. Their daugh- 
ter, Mary Griffin, married Samuel Wil- 
son, son of Robert and Elizabeth (Steb- 
bins) Wilson, of Hartford. Their daugh- 
ter, Elizabeth Wilson, married Lieuten- 
ant William Wilcoxson, of Simsbury. 
Their daughter, Elizabeth Wilcoxson, 
married Samuel Hayes, as above men- 
tioned. The name Elizabeth was carried 
through many generations and still exists 
in later descendants in Texas. The latest 
is Elizabeth Dow, aged seventeen years, 
daughter of Elizabeth Dolan. great-grand- 
daughter of Almon Gillette. The father 
of Elizabeth Stebbins was called Deacon 
Stebbins, and his wife was said to be 
closely related to Rev. Hooker, if not his 
sister. 

(The Hubbard Ancestry of Almon Gillette). 

Penelope Gillette, wife of Benoni Gil- 
lette, was the daughter of Aaron Hub- 
bard, of Naubuck, then called Eastbury, 
in Glastonbury. Who Aaron Hibbard 
was, has not been found. He was called 
sergeant in the Lexington Alarm list. He 
was long active in the schools of East- 
bury. He died suddenly of smallpox. 
His will, in the East Windsor Probate 
Records, establishes known facts. He 
was associated with Captain Eliazur Hub- 
bard, and was probably a brother. In 
his will he bequeaths property to his 
daughters, Penelope Gillette, wife of Be- 
noni Gillette, and to Prudence, wife of 
Thomas Blish, probably of Manchester. 
The Blish genealogy is faulty in calling 
Prudence the daughter of Eliazur Hub- 
bard. After the death of Aaron Hubbard, 



his widow married John Hudson, of Tor- 
rington, and in the will of her father she 
is classed as Mrs. Hudson, much to the 
mystification of genealogists. But these 
facts as given are proven. According to 
baptismal records, Penelope was born in 
ij(x). She was a very strong character 
and gave much of her force to her descend- 
ants, also giving very black hair and 
lively character^ to the families' females. 
It was said that in the youth of Dr. Wil- 
liams' mother, that when she came along 
the school friends called her "Aunt Nelly" 
after her grandmother, Penelope. 

The maternal lines of the ancestors of 
Penelope (Hubbard) Gillette are as fol- 
lows : 

Dr. William Pynchon, of Salem and 
later of Springfield, Massachusetts, was a 
strong character. He was counsellor and 
treasurer of the Massachusetts Colony. 
He was the founder of Springfield, where 
hi statue now stands. With his son, 
Captain John Pynchon, and his son-in- 
law, Captain Elizur Holyoke, he built up 
the Connecticut valley from Suffield to 
I lolyoke. William Pynchon had a daugh- 
ter. Mari. who married Captain Elizur 
Holyoke, son of Edward Holyoke, founder 
of Holyoke, and from wdiom Holyoke 
mountain is named. Their daughter, 
Hannah Holyoke, married Colonel Sam- 
uel Talcott, of Hartford, who was prom- 
inent in the Connecticut Colony. John 
Talcott, of Hartford, father of Samuel 
Talcott, was one of the most prominent 
men in Hartford for many years. He 
married Dorothy Mott. The son of Sam- 
uel and Hannah (Holyoke) Talcott, Cap- 
tain Nathaniel Talcott, married Elizabeth 
Pitkin, of Hartford. Abigail Talcott, 
daughter of Nathaniel Talcott, married 
Thomas Hollister, of Glastonbury. It is 
written of Mrs. Abigail (Talcott) Hol- 
lister that she had great medical skill and 



183 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



was in constant demand. She lived to be 
over ninety years old. Dorothy Hollister, 
daughter of Thomas and Abigail Hollis- 
ter, married Aaron Hubbard. The Hol- 
lister family were as prominent as the 
Talcotts. John (i) Hollister married Jo- 
anna Treat, whose brother became gov- 
ernor of Connecticut. His son married 
Sarah Goodrich ; their son, Thomas Hol- 
lister, married Dorothy Hill, daughter of 
Joseph Hill, of Glastonbury. Their son, 
Thomas Hollister, married Abigail Tal- 
cott, mentioned above, and their daugh- 
ter married Aaron Hubbard, as mentioned 
above. 

The Adams lines of Minerva Gillette 
Williams are as follows: 

George Adams, early in Braintree, Mas- 
sachusetts, married a daughter of Con- 
rad Streetholt in London. One of his 
sons, Daniel Adams, came probably with 
two brothers to Windsor early in 1660. 
Mrs. Almon Gillette, who was born of 
this family in 1790, and died in i860, often 
told the writer in his youth that President 
John Adams was her cousin. Daniel 
Adams married, in Windsor, in 1667, 
Mary Phelps, daughter of Samuel and 
Sarah (Griswold) Phelps, of Windsor. 
Her mother, Sarah (Griswold) Phelps, 
was a daughter of Edward Griswold, of 
Windsor. Samuel Phelps died young, 
and his widow married Nathaniel Pinney 
when Mary Phelps was eleven years of 
age. She was probably called Mary Pin- 
ney after her stepfather, but the wills of 
her mother show her parentage. Mrs. 
Almon Gillette always claimed that her 
ancestress was Mary Phelps. Joseph 
Adams, son of Daniel Adams, married 
Mary Case, daughter of William Case. 
Her mother was Elizabeth (Holcomb) 
Case, of Simsbury. Matthew Adams, son 
of Joseph Adams, married Susannah Eno, 
daughter of Lieutenant William and 



Mary (North) Eno, of Simsbury. Abel 
Adams, son of Matthew and Susannah 
(Eno) Adams, married Rosene Cossette, 
of Granby. Abel Adams was a Revolu- 
tionary soldier. His family were all tal- 
ented. His daughter, Lurana Lura, mar- 
ried Almon Gillette, of Granby, as men- 
tioned above. A sister of Lurana Adams 
married a Smith, and their son, Colonel 
Ashbel Smith, M. D., was called the 
Franklin of the South (Yale Alumni Jour- 
nal). He was a lawyer and doctor, and 
plenipotentiary from the Republic of 
Texas to France and England. He 
founded the medical college in Texas, 
and was a colonel in the Civil War. It is 
mostly on his old estate near Goose Creek 
where the celebrated Goose Creek oil 
wells are found. His cousin, Henry 
Flavel Gillette, son of his Aunt Lurana, 
and uncle of Dr. Williams, of this sketch, 
was one of the pioneers of Texas and 
long time educator. He conducted the 
Bayland Orphan Home with his own 
funds for the years of reconstruction. 
President Anson Jones chose him for his 
secretary of state in Texas Republic, but 
Mr. Gillette would not give up his edu- 
cational vocation. He had thirteen chil- 
dren and has many descendants in Texas. 
John Case, of Simsbury, married Sarah 
Spencer. He was one of the founders of 
Simsbury. Sarah Spencer was the only 
daughter of William and Agnes Spencer. 
After the death of William Spencer, Mrs. 
Agnes Spencer married William Edwards, 
of Hartford, and she became the ances- 
tress of Jonathan Edwards and Aaron 
Burr. Elizabeth Holcomb, wife of Wil- 
liam Case, was the daughter of Joshua 
Holcomb. Her mother was Ruth (Sher- 
wood) Holcomb. Joshua Holcomb was 
the son of Thomas Holcomb, the original 
immigrant ancestor in Hartford, from 



184 



ENCYCLOPKDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



whom so many Holcombs descend. He 

married Elizabeth . 

Jamea Eno, the immigrant ancestor, 

married, in 1648, Hannah Bidwell (Bed- 
wel). They had three children from 
whom all the Eno and EnOS families de- 
BCend. James (-' ) Eno married Abigail 

Bissell, daughter of Samuel and Abigail 
(Holcomb) Bissell. They had ten chil- 
dren, the tenth of whom was Lieutenant 
William Eno, who married Mary North, 
as mentioned above. Mary North was the 
daughter of John North. Her mother was 
Hannah (Newell) North, daughter of 
Thomas and Rebecca (Olmstead) New- 
ell, of 1 [artford. Thomas North, father of 
John North, was the first settler of Avon, 
and a soldier in the Indian wars. The 
ancestry of Rosene Cossette, wife of Abel 
Adams, is as follows: 

Rene Cossette was born in Paris, 
France, on Place Vendome. Mis parents 
had laud at Three Rivers. Canada. He 
came to look the property over, and then 
took a voyage down the St. Lawrence to 
Boston, Providence, and New Haven, 
where fate overtook him in the guise of 
Ruth Porter, a young girl of about seven- 
teen years of age. She refused to go to 
France, so he came back about 1716 and 
married her. He built a house in Granby. 
He became a Protestant, and was the an- 
cestor of early Episcopal clergymen. He 
is mentioned in the Lexington list, and 
one of his sons was a captain in the Rev- 
olution. His son, Rene (2) Cossette, 
married Phoebe Hillier (or Hyllier), 
daughter of James Hillier, of Windsor. 
Her mother was Joanna (Hayes) Hillier, 
daughter of George Hayes, of Granby. 
His family consisted of eight children, of 
whom Rosene. the youngest, married 
Abel Adams. Their daughter, Lurana, 
married Almon Gillette. One of the de- 
scendants of Rene (2) Cossette became 



very wealthy in the South and built the 
North Granby Cossette Library as a me- 
nu »rial to hi-* ancesti 

Ruth Porter was not found by the au- 
thors of the Cossette Genealogy. She 
was the daughter of Richard Porter, who 
was born in Farmington, and moved to 
Waterbury and later to New Haven. The 
mother of Ruth Porter is not known. 
Richard Porter was the son of Daniel 
Porter, who was one of the earliest physi- 
cians of the colony and hired by the col- 
on v to treat ease-. I le was paid by a land 
grant which included part of Waterbury. 
His wives are not known by name, and it 
is not known which of them was Rich- 
ard's mother. 

This concludes the multiple ancestors 
of Dr. Williams, and from this complete 
ancestry issues the character, such as it 
is, of a primitive Yankee, who like his 
ancestral Adams kin says "Give me liber- 
ty or give me death." 



PIERCE, John William, 

Textile Manufacturer. 

When young John W. Pierce, now su- 
perintendent and general manager of 
the Bigelow-Hartford Carpet Company's 
works at Thompsonville, Connecticut, be- 
gan his connection with carpet manufac- 
ture in his English home, he was a lowly 
beginner, and he has, by hard work, faith- 
fulness and natural ability, won his way 
to important position in that industry, 
having attained a high reputation as an 
expert in the manufacture of Axminster, 
Wilton and Brussels carpets and rugs. 
He is a son of Samuel Pierce, who was 
the only son of John Pierce, a farmer of 
Kidderminster, England. Samuel Pierce 
was born in Kidderminster, where he be- 
came an inspector and exciseman in the 
English civil service. The family were 



18: 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



members of the Church of England. Sam- 
uel Pierce married Annie Jordan, born in 
Kidderminster, England, where their son, 
John William Pierce, of this review, was 
born and spent his youth. 

John William Pierce was born in Kid- 
derminster, a parliamentary and munici- 
pal borough of Worcestershire, England, 
July 20, 1877. He was educated in the 
public schools, finishing at Waverly, Eng- 
land, whence he was graduated, class of 
1893. Kidderminster is noted for its man- 
ufacture of carpets, and when John Pierce 
was seeking an occupation in life, oppor- 
tunity afforded in the form of a place as 
bobbin boy in the carpet mills operated by 
the Brinton Company, Ltd., of Kidder- 
minster. This was but the opening 
wedge, and from bobbin boy he advanced 
step by step through the various grades of 
promotion until he was rated a master of 
the carpet manufacturing business and 
was made superintendent. He was en- 
gaged in the manufacture of the grades 
known as Axminster, Wilton and Brus- 
sels, in Kidderminster, until 1898, when 
he was sent to Peterboro, Province of 
Ontario, Canada, a town with such abun- 
dant water power that it had attracted, 
among many others, the attention of the 
Brinton Company, Ltd., of Kidderminster. 
They erected a carpet mill there under 
Air. Pierce's direction, and when finished 
and placed in commission, he became its 
superintendent and general manager. 
From Peterboro he came to the United 
States, in 1913, locating in Lowell, Mas- 
sachusetts, where he was superintendent 
of the Bigelow Carpet Mills until 1916. 
He was then transferred to the Bigelow- 
Hartford Carpet Company's works at 
Thompsonville, Connecticut, as general 
superintendent, his present position. The 
combined works of the Bigelow-Hartford 
Carpet Company are the largest in the 



world, and are located at Lowell and Clin- 
ton, Massachusetts, and Thompsonville, 
Connecticut. The Thompsonville mill is 
the largest single mill of its kind. These 
mills are the spinners of worsteds and 
woolens, and the weavers of Wiltons, 
Brussels, Axminster and Tapestry car- 
pets, and the finer grades of blankets and 
duck. Mr. Pierce is a member of the 
Masonic order, affiliated with William 
North Lodge, Free and Accepted Masons, 
of Lowell, Massachusetts ; a communicant 
of the Protestant Episcopal church, and 
a member of the Enfield Golf Club. 

Mr. Pierce married, in Kidderminster, 
England, August 1, 1902, Lillie Edith Ed- 
wards, daughter of Thomas and Martha 
(Jolley) Edwards, of Kidderminster. 
They are the parents of two sons : Cyril, 
born in Kidderminster, England, August 
6, 1906; and John, born in Thompson- 
ville, Connecticut, October 4, 1916. 



DUER, Denning, 

Man of Large Affairs. 

Arms — Ermine, a bend gules. 

Crest — A dove and olive branch argent. 

Motto — Esse et vider. 

The Duer family has been prominent in 
the judicial, naval and military history of 
the Middle Atlantic States since the year 
1768, when the immigrant ancestor, Col- 
onel William Duer, came to America from 
England. 

(I) Colonel William Duer was born in 
England, March 18, 1747, the son of John 
and Frances (Frye) Duer. After having 
served under Lord Clive in India, Colonel 
Duer returned to England, and shortly 
afterwards departed for the colonies in 
America. He purchased land on the 
Hudson river, where he established him- 
self, and became one of the Indian Com- 
missioners just before the outbreak of 



[86 




/Qll^l< / HAs*^ t&L<u^-. 



ENCY< LI >PEDIA OK UK >GK MMIV 



the American Revolution. He waa also 
commissary for New York, and a mem- 
ber of tlir Committee of Safety previous 
to the outbreak of hostilities between the 
colonics and the mother country. When 
war came, however, he joined the col- 
onists and entered the army, in which he 

held the rank of colonel. He died May 

17. '7'X> 

Colonel Duer married Catherine Alex- 
ander, daughter of Major-General Wil- 
liam and Sarah (Livingston) Alexander. 
Major-General Alexander was a member 
of the King's Council for the Colony of 
New York and New Jersey before the 
Revolution, after which he became a 
major-general in the American army. 
The wedding was performed at Basking- 
ridge, New Jersey, the home of the bride. 
General George Washington gave the 
bride away, and the ceremony was per- 
formed by his own chaplain, the Rev. Mr. 
Armstrong. Colonel Duer was a brother- 
in-law of the Hon. George Rose, the 
friend and correspondent of Pope, and 
whose eldest son, Lord Strathnairne, was 
one of the heroes of the Crimean War. 
The children of Colonel Duer and Cath- 
erine .Alexander were: I. William Alex- 
ander Duer. one of the first midshipmen 
of the United States Navy. He left the 
sea at an early age and studied law. He 
assisted Edward Livingston in the fram- 
ing of the famous State Constitution, 
known as the Louisiana Code, and since 
that time used as the frame and standard 



rietta. 5. Catherine Alexander. 6. Maria 
Theodora. 7. Henrietta Elizabeth. 8. 
Alexander. 

(II) William Alexander 1 >ncr. LL. I)., 
son of Colonel William and Catherine 
(Alexander) Duer, was born September 

8, [780, and died Ma\ 30, [858. He mar- 
ried, September n. 1806, Hannah Maria 
Denning, daughter of William and Amy 
(Hawxhurst) Denning. She died July 
17. [862. Their children were: I. Hen- 
rietta, born 1808; died September 18, 
1824. 2. Frances Maria, born December 
24, 1809; married April 7, 1836, Henry 
Sheaf Hoyt. 3. Catherine Theodora, born 
December 24, 1811 ; died June 3, 1877. 4. 
William Denning, mentioned below. 5. 
Eleanor Jones, born Kebruary 6, 1814; 
married, May 17, 1838, George Templar 
Wilson; died November 11, 1892. 6. Ed- 
ward A., born 1815; died in 1831. 7. 
Sarah Henderson, born January 28, 1817; 
died August 5, 1856. 8. Lieutenant-Com- 
mander John King, born December 26, 
1 S 1 8 ; died June 14, 1859; married, Sep- 
tember 21, 1 84 1, George Anna Huyler. 9. 
Elizabeth Denning, born July 25, 1821 ; 
married May 8, 1845, Archibald Gracie 
King; died March 21, 1897. 10. Charlotte 
Lucretia, born May 28, 1828; died Janu- 
ary 8, 1832. 

(Ill) William Denning Duer, son of 
William Alexander and Hannah Maria 
(Denning) Duer. was born December 6, 
181 2. He married, May 8, 1837, Caroline 
King, daughter of James Gore King. 



for the constitution of each State entering Their children were: 1. Sarah Gracie. 2. 



the Union. He was appointed judge of 
the Third Circuit Court of New York, 
and in 1830 was elected to the presidency 
of Columbia College of Xew York. 2. 
John Duer, judge and eminent jurist ; his 
books are even now recognized and used 
as text books on the laws of Xew York 
State. 3. Francis Duer. 4. Sarah Hen- 



Edward Alexander: married, April 26, 
1870, Anna Van Buren, daughter of John 
Van Buren. 3. James G. K.. married, 
June 2, 1864, Elizabeth, daughter of Or- 
lando Meads. 4. Lieutenant Commander 
Rufus King Duer, United States Navy, 
died at sea, June 28, 1869. 5. Amy Hawx- 
hurst. 6. William Alexander, married, 



187 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



May 24, 1877, Ellin Travers, daughter of 
William Travers. 7. Denning Duer (2), 
mentioned below. 

(IV) Denning Duer, son of William 
Denning and Caroline (King) Duer. was 
born September 15, 1850, in Weehawken, 
New Jersey. He received his early educa- 
tion in the public schools of Wehawken, 
and after completing the course of study 
offered there, he embarked on a business 
career as a stock broker in New York 
City. He was a man with keen business 
talent, and succeeded admirably in this 
venture in which he remained for several 
years. In addition to his business abil- 
ity, he was also a thinker, student, and 
born diplomat. His recognized ability 
and genius in this line was instrumental 
in securing him an appointment from 
President Arthur in 1881 as Consul at 
Lisbon, Portugal. He rendered valuable 
services in this important position, and his 
worth was recognized to such an extent 
that he was retained in the consular serv- 
ice by the succeeding administration, that 
of President Cleveland. During this ad- 
ministration he was United States Consul 
at Antwerp, Holland, and was later iden- 
tified in an official capacity with the con- 
sulate in London. 

To travel and live abroad among for- 
eign peoples is an education than which 
there is none more broadening, and com- 
plete. Contact daily with customs differ- 
ing in their essentials from those to which 
one has been accustomed, is bound to 
effect in the mind of a man a deep under- 
standing and sympathy with human 
nature, a sort of divine tolerance. These 
qualities Mr. Duer had in abundance, and 
in consequence possessed friends all over 
the world. Upon quitting the diplomatic 
service he returned to America and set- 
tled in New Haven, Connecticut, where 
he resided for the remainder of his life. 



After his retirement from official life, Mr. 
Duer did not again actively enter the bus- 
iness world, though he still continued and 
did until the end of his life take a keen 
and active interest in almost every phase 
of life in the city of New Haven. The 
same qualities which had made him a 
successful man and a more successful 
consul, made his advice sought by some 
of the most influential men of the city, 
whose friend he was. 

On February 12, 1874, Mr. Duer mar- 
ried Louise Suydam, of Babylon, Long 
Island, New York, a daughter of Henry 
L. and Phoebe (Higbie) Suydam. Her 
mother died when Mrs. Duer was five 
years of age, and she made her home 
thereafter with her aunt and uncle, Ferd- 
inand and Caroline (Whitney) Suydam, 
of New York. (See Suydam). 

To Mr. and Mrs. Duer two children 
were born. 1. Caroline Suydam, married 
George Xavier McLanahan, of Washing- 
ton, D. C, and is the mother of four chil- 
dren : Duer, Helen, Louise Suydam and 
George. 2. Louise, born in 1882, died in 
November, 1890. Mrs. Louise (Suydam) 
Duer survives her husband, and resides 
in New Haven, Connecticut. She is a 
member of the Colonial Dames and the 
Connecticut Society. A niece of Mr. 
Duer is the wife of the well known sur- 
geon, Dr. Joseph Blake, of the American 
Hospital in Paris. 



SUYDAM FAMILY, 

Ancestral History. 

Suydam Arms — Argent, a chevron azure be- 
tween in chief two crescents gules, and in base a 
mullet of the last. 

Crest — A swan in water among reeds proper. 

Motto— De tyd vlicgt. 

The Suydam family is one of very great 
antiquity, dating in the Netherlands from 



188 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF HKHiRAl'IIV 



the beginning of the eleventh century, 
when members of the family held exten- 
sive landed estates in Holland. Research 
as yet failed to establish a connection 
between the Ameri< an family of the name 
and the ancient Dutch house. Kikcr in 
hi-^ "Annals of Newtown, New York," in 
an extensive article devoted to the Suy- 
dam family, states that they owe their 
name to a custom in vogue among the 
Dutch founders of families, of assuming 
the title of the place in Europe whence 
they had emigrated to America. The first 
ancestor of the Suydams in America was 
Heyndrycke Rycke or Rychen. Early 
Dutch colonial records inform us that he 
was "from Suydam," but unless either 
Schiedam or Saardam be intended, which 
is perhaps to be questioned, doubt must 
be raised as to the locality. From the ear- 
liest years of the New Amsterdam colony, 
members of the family have rendered dis- 
tinguished services to America during her 
several wars, and have established a rep- 
utation for stern integrity, honesty, hos- 
pitality and respectability. The family 
has held a place of importance socially 
among the old Knickerbocker families of 
Xew York, and has intermarried since the 
time of its founding with the foremost 
families of the State. 

(1 ) Ilendrick Rycken, immigrant an- 
cestor and founder of the Suydam family, 
emigrated from Holland to America in 
i(>>'>3, settling on the outskirts of the city 
of Xew Amsterdam, at what was then 
called Smith's Fly, where he purchased 
a house and land on the shore of the East 
river, in 1678. He was a blacksmith, and 
pursued his trade in that locality until 
forced to move by the continued annoy- 
ance and danger of the snakes which in- 
fested the low land in that section. This 
property, which he subsequently sold to 
Dirck Van der Cliff (after whom Cliff 



Street, Xew York, took its name). 

bounded by the Easl river, Shoemaker's 

land, and Maiden Lane. Ilendrick 
ken had been in Xew York fourteen 

'c la- purchased this property, 
and this transaction -cems to have been 
the beginning of a successful career for 
him. In his monograph on Ilendrick 
Rycken, the Rev. J. Howard Suydam, 
D. D , >ays : 

I a farmer, 

since it was ' a distance from the built- 

up portion of the city. If so, it was a wo 
Structure, long, having a low ceiling, and a roof 

ing very near to the ground. Near by there 
was a garden of flowers, containing many col- 
ored tulips, which at this particular period were 
ducing a strange mania in Holland. There 

also a garden of vegetables, for which the 
Dutch were ever famous. The milk for the fam- 
ily came from the cows which flourished on the 
sweet clover in that pasture field; and the table 
was never without the schnapps, or the tankard 
of beer. On the site of Hcndrick Rycken's farm 
was fought the battle of Golden Hill, on Janu- 
ary 18, 1770, which marked the first bloodshed 
in the American Revolution. It is usually stated 
by historians that the first blood was shed at 
Lexington, but such it not the fact. In 1678-79 
he removed to Flatbush, where in April, 1679, he 
united with the church, with his wife Ida 
(Jacobs) Rycken. Rycken was one of the 
twenty-six patentees of the town of Flatbush, 
under the patent granted by Lieutenant-Governor 
Dongan, in 16S5. He later acquired a large es- 
tate in Flatbush and other places, and assumed 
a place of prominence in the life and affairs of 
that locality. The family ranked high among the 
1 Id Dutch families of the day. 

Ilendrick Rycken died in 1701. In his 
will he enjoins upon his wife a careful at- 
tention to the religious education of their 
children. Issue. 1. Jacob. 2. Ilendrick. 
Ryck, mentioned below. 4. Ida. 5. 
Gertrude. 6. Jane. 

It is a curious though well established 
fact that, about the year 1710, the sons of 
Hendrick Rycken adopted the surname of 
Suydam, and from these three are de- 



[89 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



scended all the Suydams of America, 
whose lineage is traced to early colonial 
days. 

(II) Ryck Rycken or Suydam, young- 
est son of Hendrick and Ida (Jacobs) 
Rycken, was born in 1675, probably in 
New Amsterdam. He removed to Flat- 
bush, and resided there, a figure of prom- 
inence in the early affairs of the settle- 
ment, until his death. From 171 1 until 
his demise he acted repeatedly as super- 
visor of the town, and was also for a con- 
siderable period a judge. Ryck Suydam 
married twice. He died in 174.T. His 
children were: I. Hendrick. 2. John, 
mentioned below. 3. Ryck, usually called 
Richard, who established a branch of the 
family in Freehold, Monmouth county, 
New Jersey. 4. Ida. 5. Anna. 6. Ger- 
trude. 7. Jane. 8. Christiana. 9. Mary. 

(III) John Suydam, son of Ryck Suy- 
dam, was born in Flatbush, New York, 
and resided in Flatbush and in Brooklyn 
throughout his life. He died in Brooklyn, 
about the close of the American Revolu- 
tion. His children were: 1. Ryck. 2. 
Ferdinand. 3. Hendrick, mentioned be- 
low. 4. Rynier. 5. Maria. 

(IV) Hendrick Suydam, son of John 
Suydam, was born in New York, in 1736. 
Prior to the Revolution he removed to 
Hallett's Cove, Long Island, and bought 
the mill on Sunswick creek, which he con- 
ducted during the rest of his life. He was 
one of the foremost citizens of Hallett's 
Cove, and was for many years an elder of 
the Dutch church in Newtown. A con- 
temporary tribute to him, which gives an 
insight into his life and character, states 
that "urbanity of manners, * * * hos- 
pitality without grudging, characterized 
his life. He lived esteemed, loved, re- 
vered." From this we may draw a clear 
picture of him as a representative of the 
finest type of Dutch gentleman and 



planter of his day, living a useful life on 
his broad well-cared-for acres, dispensing 
hospitality and good cheer with a lavish 
hand, after the fashion of the Knicker- 
bocker patriarchs whom Washington Ir- 
ving has immortalized. 

Hendrick Suydam was thrice married ; 
(first) August 30, 1762, to Letitia Sebring, 
who died February 14, 1765. He married 
(second) Harmtie Lefferts, who died 
childless. His third wife, whom he mar- 
ried, August 3, 1770, was Phebe Skid- 
more, daughter of Samuel Skidmore. She 
died April 11, 1832, at the advanced age of 
eighty-seven years. He died February 9, 
1818, aged eighty-one years. 

(V) Ferdinand Suydam, son of Hen- 
drick and Phebe (Skidmore) Suydam, 
was born at Hallett's Cove, Newtown, 
New York, September 13, 1786. He 
passed the early years of his life on his 
father's estate at Newtown, but removed 
to New York City, where he engaged in 
mercantile pursuits later in life. He died 
at Buffalo, New York, March 23, 185 1, 
and was buried in the vault of Trinity 
Church, New York. He was well known 
in business and financial circles in New 
York City. Mr. Suydam was a member 
of Trinity parish. His home at No. 3 
Bowling Green, New York, stood on the 
site of the present Custom House. 

He married, October 21, 1810, Eliza Un- 
derbill, daughter of Anthony Lispenard 
and Clarina (Bartow) Underhill, who 
was born in New York City, November 
8, 1788, and died there June 16, 1844. (See 
Underhill VI). 

(VI) Henry Lispenard Suydam, son of 
Ferdinand and Eliza (Underhill) Suydam, 
was born November 7, 1813, in New York 
City. He resided in Babylon, Long 
Island, a well known citizen there, living 
the life of a retired gentleman. He was a 
man of culture and of quiet, scholarly 



190 



EXCYCLOIT.DIA OF RIOCKAl'I I V 



tastes. lit- married Phoebe Higbie, and turc, considerable wealth according to the 

died at Babylon, Long Island, where he standards of the day, whose progeny have 

was buried, October 25. 1879. Henry never relinquished the prestige and prom- 

Lispenard and Phoebe (Higbie) Suydam inence of the earlier generations of the 

were the parents of one child: Louise, family in the affairs <>f New York. The 

mentioned below. Underbills intermarried with some of the 

(VII) Louise Suydam, daughter of foremost <>f the old Dutch and English 

Henry Lispenard and Phoebe (Higbie) families of New York, among them the 

Suydam, was born August 17, 1853, at Suydams. 

Babylon, Long Island. She married, Feb- (I) Captain John Underbill, immigrant 

ruary u, 1S74. at Xew York City, Rev. ancestor and founder, came to America in 

Carter officiating. Denning Duer. who 1630, settling first on Long Island. He 

was born September 15, 1850. at Wee- was a man of excellent education, evi- 

hawken, New Jersey, son of Denning and dently a keen observer and scholar, for in 

Caroline (King) Duer, of Xew York. 1638 he published his "Newes from Amer- 

Mrs. Duer resides at Xo. 691 Whitney ica." This valuable comment on the life 

avenue, New Haven. Connecticut, and is and manners of the times has been pre- 

well known in the more conservative of served and printed in book form by his 

the social circles of the city. Mr. and descendants, and is among the most in- 

Mrs. Duer were the parents of two chil- teresting documents which come down to 

dren: 1. Caroline Suydam, born in 1876, us from early Xew York. Captain John 

married George Xavier McLanahan, of Underhill was a prosperous planter and 

Washington, D. C, where she now re- farmer, and after a short period became 



sides. 2. Louise, born in 1882, died in 
November, 1890. 



UNDERHILL FAMILY, 

Anceitral History. 



one of the leading figures in the affairs of 
Matinnecock. He died in 1672, and was 
buried in the Underhill burying ground 
at Matinnecock (Locust Valley), Long 
Island. Captain Underhill married Eliz- 
abeth Feke, daughter of Robert Feke (or 



Underhill Arms— Argent a chevron sable be- Feak). They were the parents of sev- 

tween three trefoils slipped vert eral children, among them Xathaniel, 

Crest-On a mount vert a hind lodged or. mentioned below. 

The Underhill family in America dates (II) Xathaniel Underhill, son of Cap- 

from the year 1630, when Captain John tain John and Elizabeth (Feke) Under- 

Underhill, its founder, came to America, hill, was born on Long Island, February 

Since the time of the early Dutch settle- 22, 1663, and passed the early years of his 

ments in Xew Amsterdam, and along the life at the home of his parents on Long 

Hudson river, in what is now the State Island. He removed later to Westchester 

of New Y r ork. the old Westchester coun- county, Xew York, and was the founder 

try has been the home of descendants of of the Westchester branch of the family, 

the pioneer Underhills. The family has He was a farmer on a large scale there, 

been prominent in official life in this sec- and one of the leading men of the sur- 

tion of Xew York since the middle of the rounding country. Xathaniel Underhill 

seventeenth century. Captain John Un- married Mary Ferris, December 2, 1685 ; 

derhill, the progenitor, was a man of cul- she was the daughter of John and Mary 

191 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Ferris. He died November 10, 1710, and 
was buried in tbe old burying ground on 
the Lorillard Spencer estate in West- 
chester. Nathaniel and Mary (Ferris) 
Underhill were the parents of seven chil- 
dren, of whom Nathaniel, mentioned be- 
low, was the second. 

(Ill) Nathaniel (2) Underhill, son of 
Nathaniel (1) and Mary (Ferris) Under- 
hill, was born August 11, 1690. He re- 
sided in Westchester, New York, in what 
is now Williamsbridge, and was prom- 
inent and active in the affairs of the 
county. In 1720 he held the office of 
trustee of the town of Westchester, and 
in 1772 was its mayor. Nathaniel Under- 
hill married, April 19, 1711, Mary Hunt, 
who was born July 22, 1692, daughter of 
John and Phebe (Seaman) Hunt. He 
died November 27, 1775, at the age of 
eighty-five years, and was buried on the 
Lorillard Spencer estate at Williams- 
bridge, New York. His will, dated De- 
cember 1, 1775, is recorded in the surro- 
gate's office, New York. 

(IV) Israel Underhill, son of Nathaniel 
(2) and Mary (Hunt) Underhill, was born 
in Westchester, New York, September 10, 
1732, and resided in New Rochelle, New 
York. He was prominent in official af- 
fairs in New Rochelle, and was active in 
the militia, holding the rank of ensign. 
He was a member of the Protestant Epis- 
copal church, and in 1784 was a trustee 
in St. Peter's Church. In 1787 he held 
the office of supervisor, and in 1803 was 
trustee of Ladies' Seminary and Boys' 
School at West Farms, New York. He 
was a pewholder for several years in St. 
Paul's Church, at Eastchester, New 
York. Israel Underhill married, March 
4, 1761, (license granted by the Secretary 
of the Province of New York), Abigail 
Lispenard, daughter of Anthony and 
Maria (Milburne) Lispenard, and a mem- 



ber of the noted Lispenard family of New 
York. She was born December 4, 1739, 
and died February 3, 1806, and was buried 
on the Lorillard Spencer estate. Israel 
Underhill died September 23, 1806, at the 
age of seventy-four years, and was also 
buried on the Lorillard Spencer estate. 
His will, probated in 1807, is recorded in 
the surrogate's office, White Plains, New 
York. 

(V) Anthony Lispenard Underhill, son 
of Israel and Abigail (Lispenard) Under- 
hill, was born December 30, 1763. He 
removed to New York, and resided there 
during the greater part of his life, on Dey 
street, first at what is now No. 31, later 
at 41-44, in 1827, removing from the latter 
house to No. 28 Cortlandt street. He was 
one of the foremost merchants and pub- 
lic men of New York of his day, an alder- 
man of the city in 1817 and 1818; in 1814- 
1815-16 he held the office of assistant al- 
derman. In 1826-27 he was president of 
the Fulton Fire Insurance Company of 
New York. Anthony L. Underhill was a 
member of Trinity Church, New York, 
and was a pewholder in St. Peter's at 
Westchester, New York. 

Anthony Lispenard Underhill married, 
July 4, 17S3, Clarina Bartow, who was 
born March 4, 1769, the daughter of Basil 
and Clarina Bartow, of Westchester, New 
York. She died July 9, 1836, and was 
buried at Eastern Shore, Maryland, on 
the Dr. Sykes farm. He died July 18, 
1847, at Saratoga Springs, New York, 
and was buried in Trinity vault, Trinity 
Church, New York. 

(VI) Eliza Underhill, daughter of An- 
thony Lispenard and Clarina (Bartow) 
Underhill, was born November 8, 1788, 
at No. 31 Dey street, New York City. 
She married, October 21, 1810, Ferdinand 
Suydam, who was born September 13, 
1786, at Hallett's Cove, Newtown, New 



192 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



York, the son of llcndrick and Phebe 

(Skidmofe) Suydam. He died at Buffalo, 
New York, March 23, 1851, and was bur- 
ied in Trinity vanlt. Trinity Church, New 
York, of which parish he and his wife 
were members. Mr. and Mrs. Suydam 
resided at No. 3 Bowling Green, New 
York, on the site of the present Custom 
1 1 ..use in New York City. Eliza Under- 
bill Suydam died at her home in New 
York City, June [6, 1^44. and was buried 
in Trinity vault 



ABBE, Albert Parker, 

Business Man. 

There are many and varied spellings of 
the name Abbe, among them the follow- 
ing: Abba, Abbe, Abbee, Abbie, Ab- 
baye. The Enfield branch of the family 
has used the spellings Abby and Abbey 
as well as the present Abbe. The name is 
undoubtedly derived from some location 
at or near an Abbey from which an early 
ancestor took his name, as was the olden 
custom. The Abbe coat-of-arms is as 
follows : 

Arms — Gules five fusils in fesse between three 
scallop shells. 

Crest — On a wreath of the colors of the shield, 
gules and argent, an eagle's head erased or. 

(I) John Abbe, the ancestor of the 
family, was born in England, about 1613, 
and died in Salem. Massachusetts, about 
1689-90. He became an inhabitant of the 
town of Salem, January 2, 1636-37, and 
was allotted land for a home. He re- 
ceived a further grant of ten acres, in 
1642, in that part of Salem which later 
became the town of YVenham. John Abbe 
was a prominent and influential citizen of 
the latter town, and was constable there 
in 1669. John Abbe married (first) Mary 
Loring, who was born in England about 

Conn— 7— 13 1 93 



161 5, and died in Wenham, September 6, 
[672. He married (second) November 
25, 1074, Mr-. Mary Goldsmith. I lis 
youngesl son and seventh child was 
Thomas, of whom further. 

(II) Thomas Abbe, son of John and 
Mary (Loring) Abbe, was born probably 
in Wenham, about 1050-56, and died at 
Enfield, Connecticut, May 17, 1728. He 
was an original proprietor of the town in 
1683, and held many office-, selectman, 
fence viewer, and assessor. He held the 
rank of sergeant in 171 1, served in King 
Philip's War, and was lieutenant of the 
Train Band in 1713. He married, at 
Marhlehead, Massachusetts, December 16, 
1683, Sarah Fairfield, born December 24, 
1655, at Reading, died at Enfield, Novem- 
ber 2j, 1 74 j, daughter of Walter and 
Sarah (Skipper) Fairfield. They were the 
parents of John, of whom further. 

(III) John (2) Abbe, son of Thomas 
and Sarah (Fairfield) Abbe, was born 
September 27, 1692, and died in 1790, 
near or in Hartford, Connecticut. He 
was a farmer by occupation, and held 
many high offices in the town. He mar- 
ried Hannah Boardman, of Wethersfield, 
born December 18, 1693, daughter of 
David and Hannah (Wright) Boardman. 
They were the parents of John, of whom 
further. 

(IV) John (3) Abbe, son of John (2) 
and Hannah (Boardman) Abbe, was born 
in Enfield, April 18, 1717, and died there, 
August 1, 1794. He settled near Scantic, 
on the east side. He served from April 
14, to October 5, 1755, in the First Regi- 
ment, Second Company, under Lieuten- 
ant-Colonel John Pitkin, a company 
raised for the defense of Crown Point, 
and also served in Captain Slapp's com- 
pany, in May, 1755. He was a soldier of 
the Revolution and marched on the Lex- 
ington Alarm, a member of the Third 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Regiment, Second Company, Colonel Is- 
rael Putnam, and Captain Experience 
Storrs, commanding. This company was 
recruited in Windham, Connecticut, in 
April, 1775. John Abbe married, in En- 
field, February 1 or 11, 1738-39, Sarah 
Root, born October 18, 1714, died Novem- 
ber 23, 1771, daughter of Captain Tim- 
othy and Sarah (Pease) Root, of Somers, 
Connecticut. They were the parents of 
Daniel, of whom further. 

(V) Daniel Abbe, son of John (3) and 
Sarah (Root) Abbe, was born in Enfield, 
November 7, 1749, and died September 
26, 181 5. He married, November 13, 
1774, Sarah Pease, born December 2, 
1756, in Enfield, died there November 23, 
1808, daughter of Aaron and Anna (Geer) 
Pease. They were the parents of Daniel, 
of whom further. 

(VI) Daniel (2) Abbe, son of Daniel 
(1) and Sarah (Pease) Abbe, was born 
in Enfield, August 22, 1775, and died 
there, August 2, 1833. He was a farmer 
and an inn keeper. His will, made July 
15, 1833, was probated September 6, 1833. 
He married, March 9 or 19, 1795, Eliza- 
beth Morrison, born in Enfield, June 10, 
1772, died there, May 25, 1842, daughter 
of John and Elizabeth (Giffin) Morrison, 
of Enfield. They were the parents of 
Henry Augustus, of whom further. 

(VII) Henry Augustus Abbe, son of 
Daniel (2) and Elizabeth (Morrison) 
Abbe, was born in Enfield, March 24, 
1799, and died August 29, 1893. He was a 
hotel keeper and known as "Dick" Abbe. 
He married (first) November 28, 1820, 
Elizabeth Allen, born in Enfield, Febru- 
ary 16, 1798, died there, April 1, 1849, 
daughter of George and Betsey (Rich) 
Allen. He married (second) about 1850, 
Marietta, whose surname is not recorded. 
She was born about 1821. Child of first 
wife, Albert, of whom further. 



(VIII) Albert Abbe, son of Henry 
Augustus and Elizabeth (Allen) Abbe, 
was born in Enfield, June 17, 1824, and 
died March 19, 1895. He was a farmer. 
He married, at Enfield, April 9, 1846, 
Maria Abbe, born April 18, 1823, died 
September 5, 1892, daughter of Levi Pease 
and Dorcas ( Wolcott) Abbe. They were 
the parents of Albert Howard, of whom 
further. 

(IX) Albert Howard Abbe, son of Al- 
bert and Maria (Abbe) Abbe, was born 
April 8, 1852, and died April 20, 1915. 
After completing his primary education, 
he was a clerk in the hardware store of 
the Wolcott-Abbe Company, of New 
Haven, Connecticut, where he remained 
for a few years. Then he came to Hart- 
ford, where he was employed in a whole- 
sale cigar store, remaining until 1880, in 
which year he went to New Britain, Con- 
necticut, and there opened a hardware 
store under the style of A. H. & E. W. 
Abbe. This soon became a flourishing 
business, and Mr. Abbe attained wide 
prominence in business organizations. It 
was through his efforts that the first Bus- 
iness Men's Association was formed in 
New Britain, and of which he was presi- 
dent for a number of years. He was vice- 
president of the National Hardware As- 
sociation, and held the same office in the 
Connecticut Association. 

Mr. Abbe married (first) at Hartford, 
November 6, 1878, Minnie Seymour, 
daughter of Sylvester and Mary (Warner) 
Seymour. She died June 12, 1879, and he 
married (second) January 17, 1883, Nellie 
Parker, daughter of Emory and Eunice 
(Stebbins) Parker, of New Britain. By 
his second wife Mr. Abbe had three chil- 
dren: 1. Harry Allen, born October 21, 
1883, married, November 20, 1913, Elsie 
Mayhew Peck, daughter of Edward F. 
and Mary (Booth) Peck, of Hampton, 



194 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OP BIOGRAPHY 



Virginia, and they reside in Manlius, New years. He was a farmer in Enfield. He 

York. 2. Albert Parker, of whom further. married, in East Windsor, Connecticut, 

J. Helen Howard, born Line 21, 1890, died November i-'. [801, Dorcas Wolcott, horn 

February 4, IQ07. m ' ,;ist Windsor, December 9, 1784, died 

(X) Albert Parker Abbe, second son ol in Enfield, March 5, 1855, daughter of 

Albert Howard and Nellie (Parker) Abbe, Henry and Dorcas (Allen) Wolcott. 

was born September 13, 1886. He was (VII) Norton Abbe, son of Levi Pease 

educated in the public and high schools of and Dorcas (Wolcott) Abbe, was born in 

his native town, and was graduated from Enfield, November 2, 1825, and was a 



Yale College in the class of 1908. He then 
engaged in business in New York City 
with the firm of Brown Brothers & Com- 
pany, bankers, in their accounting and 
bond department, and there remained for 
five years. Mr. Abbe was in Providence, 
Rhode Island, in the bond business for a 
short time subsequent to 191 3, in which 
year he came to New Britain, and as a 



farmer of prominence in the community. 
He married, November 27, 1856, Kliza 
Turvey, daughter of William and Sarah 
(Mehrell) Turvey, a native of England. 
They were the parents of the following 
children: 1. Edwin Wolcott, born Octo- 
ber 13, 1857; was in the hardware busi- 
ness in New Britain for thirty-three 
years; married, February 19, 1885, Agnes 



clerk in his father's hardware store made J- Moses, born January 12, 1864, and they 



a complete study of the business in detail. 
Upon the death of his father, Mr. Abbe 
assumed the management of the store, 
which is now doing a large and flourish- 
ing business under his judicious manage- 
ment. Mr. Abbe is unmarried. 



ABBE, Albert Norton, 

Business Man, Public Official. 

A prominent figure in the business and 
financial circles of New Britain, Albert 
Norton Abbe has been identified with the 
best interests of that town since 1884. 
He has won his way to public esteem and 
confidence by his business ability, his in- 
tegrity, and his social gifts. He is a fine 



have one son, Luther Norton, born Feb- 
ruary 18, 1886. 2. Albert Norton, of 
whom further. 3. Herbert A., who is in 
business in Springfield ; married Elise C. 
Bridge, daughter of George and Jeanette 
(Law) Bridge, and they are the parents 
of a son and daughter. 4. Levi P., a 
farmer, cultivating the paternal home- 
stead ; married (first) Cora E. Havens, 
who died September 21, 1907; married 
(second) in March, 1912, Adelaide Varno, 
daughter of Arthur Varno. 

(VIII) Albert N. Abbe, son of Norton 
and Eliza (Turvey) Abbe, was born in 
Enfield, Connecticut, July 12, 1859. He 
was educated in the public schools of En- 
field, Connecticut, and then went to the 
high school at Springfield. After finish- 



type of the New England business man 
of the most representative kind. He was ing the course he accepted a position as 
born in Enfield, Connecticut, July 12, bookkeeper in a provision house in New 
1859, the son of Norton and Eliza (Tur- Haven, and here he worked for three 
vey) Abbe. years. A new position also as book- 
(VI) Levi Pease Abbe, son of Daniel keeper in a car trimming company was 
and Sarah (Pease) Abbe (q.v.), was born offered to him and here he remained until 
in Enfield, April 14. 1781, and died there, 1884. In that year he came to New Brit- 
August 6, 1848. at the age of sixty-seven ain, working as a bookkeeper for a plumb- 

195 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



ing house for three years, or until 1887. 
His experience along similar lines led to 
his engagement by the P. & F. Corbin 
Company, as a purchasing agent, giving 
great satisfaction to his employers and 
gaining a wealth of valuable experience. 
This position he held until 1903, when the 
American Hardware Company assumed 
the affairs of the P. & F. Corbin and Rus- 
sell & Erwin companies. Mr. Abbe was 
then made the general purchasing agent 
of the firm and he still continues to hold 
the position. He is a public-spirited cit- 
izen, and has served the city on the Board 
of Finance and Taxation for nine years. 
In 1909 he was elected State Senator for 
the Sixth District, and served in that 
year and in 1910. He is a director of the 
Burritt Savings Bank, and was a director 
of the P. & F. Corbin Company up to the 
time when it was absorbed by the Amer- 
ican Hardware Company. 

Mr. Abbe married, in 1885, Mattie L. 
Booth, daughter of the late Horace Booth, 
of New Britain, Connecticut. 



GODARD, George Seymour, 

State Librarian. 

Librarian of the Connecticut State Li- 
brary since 1900, and editor of the Con- 
necticut State Records, he was born in 
Granby, Hartford county, Connecticut, 
June 17, 1865. He is connected with some 
of the oldest families in Connecticut. He 
is in direct lineal descent from Daniel 
Gozzard (or Godard) who came from 
England to Hartford previous to 1646, 
and from Moses Godard, who served in 
the Revolution. On his maternal side he 
is descended from John Case, who was 
probably the immigrant of that name, 
who came on the ship "Dorset," from 
Gravesend, England, September 3, 1635, 
settled in Hartford, subsequently going 



for a time to New York State, but even- 
tually returning to Connecticut and tak- 
ing residence in Windsor, in 1656, and in 
Simsbury about 1669, his name appearing 
among those to whom land was granted, 
in the first division of public lands, at 
Simsbury, in 1667. 

George Seymour Godard is the third in 
a family of five sons and a daughter born 
to Harvey and Sabra Lavine (Beach) 
Godard. His father was probably the 
largest owner of farms and woodland in 
his section. Occupying the Godard home- 
stead, he raised the usual crops of his 
locality, and continued to run the saw- 
mill, grist mill and cider mill known as 
the "Craig Mills." He was a man of 
strict integrity, of generous and social 
nature, and temperate to the last degree. 
His large farm house became quarters for 
his numerous friends who came to hunt 
and fish on the large tracts of land which 
he owned. While always a busy man, he 
was never too busy to welcome an ac- 
quaintance in health, to visit him in time 
of sickness, or to assist in laying him to 
rest. As a member of the General Assem- 
bly, and the first master of the Connec- 
ticut State Grange, he had a large circle 
of acquaintances. 

As a boy, George S. Godard attended 
the district school in his native town, and 
assisted his father in the many occupa- 
tions upon his extensive farms and in the 
grist and sawmills on the homestead in 
Granby. He prepared for college at Wes- 
leyan Academy, at Wilbraham, Massa- 
chusetts, where he graduated in 1886. 
Mr. Godard continued his studies at Wes- 
leyan University, Middletown, Connec- 
ticut, where he received the degree of 
Bachelor of Arts in 1892; Northwestern 
University, Evanston, Illinois ; and Yale 
University, where he received the degree 
of Bachelor of Divinity in 1895. In 1916 



[96 




tyur^S. ^tW^, 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



his alma mater conferred upon liim the 
honorary degree of Master of Art-. In 
college he was a member <>t' the Delta 

Kappa Epsilon fraternity. 

Beginning by collecting and arranging 

his early .school hooks and the hooks in 
his own home, he continued library work 

as librarian of Philo Society at Wilbra- 
ham, then librarian of his local Sunday 
School Lihrary, and in 1890 the first 
librarian of the Frederick IL Cossitt Li- 
hrary near his home at North Granby, 
where a building was planned, erected 
and equipped. Mr. Godard still retains an 
active interest in this, his first public li- 
hrary. In 1898 he was selected by State 
Librarian Dr. Charles J. Hoadly to assist 
him in the State Lihrary, then located 
in the State Capitol. Two years later, 
after a continuous service of forty-five 
years as State Librarian, Dr. Hoadly died, 
and Mr. Godard was selected to succeed 
him in that important position. Under 
his direction the Connecticut State Li- 
brary has been reorganized and its activ- 
ities extended. It is now adequately 
housed in a new building, substantially 
built, beautiful in its architecture, con- 
venient in its arrangement, harmonious 
in its decoration, and homelike. The State 
Library and Supreme Court building, 
which is built of granite, and is one of a 
group of State buildings of which the 
capitol is the center, is considered a model 
for its purpose. In it are embodied the 
hopes, plans, efforts and ambitions of the 
best years of Mr. Godard's life. It is a 
library by the people, of the people, and 
for the people. The Connecticut State 
Library includes : 

Supreme Court Law Library ; 
Legislative Reference Department ; 
Department of Local History and Gen- 
ealogy ; 
Archives Department; 
Depository of Public Records ; 



Examiner of Public Records; 

Depository of Connecticut State. Town, 
Municipal and Society Official Publica- 
tions ; 

Depository for the Official Publications 
of the united States, the several States 
of the Union, the Canadian Govern- 
ment and Provinces, and of the Austral- 
ian Colonies ; 

Library Exchange Agent for Connecticut 
State Publications ; 

Exchange Agent for the Connecticut Ge- 
ological and Natural History Survey 
Publications : 

Custodian of Portraits of Governors: 

Custodian of State Library and Supreme 
Court Building; 

Depository of I listorical and Genealogical 
Gifts to the State. 

Among these gifts are the following: 

a. Sherman W. Adams Collection of Of- 

ficial Rolls and Lists Relating to the 
French and Indian War; 

b. Dorence Atwatcr Collection of Manu- 

scripts relating to Andersonville ; 

c. William F. J. Boardman Collection of 

Books and Manuscripts Relating to 
Genealogy ; 

d. Brandegee Collection of Portraits of 

Chief Justices of the United States; 

e. Stephen Dodd Collection of Manu- 

scripts Relating to the Karly History 
of Fast Haven ; 

f. Enfield Shaker Collection ; 

g. Sylvester Gilbert Collection of Papers 

Relating to the American Revolution ; 

h. Charles Hammond and H. M. Lawson 
Collections of Manuscripts Relating 
to the Early History of the Town of 
Union ; 

i. Col. Edwin D. Judd Collection of Civil 
War Military Rolls and Paper- : 

j. Dwight C. Kilbourn Collection of 
Books, Pamphlets and Manuscripts 
Relating to Connecticut and New 
England ; 

k. Ellen D. Lamed Collection of Books 
and Manuscripts Relating to New 
Fngland ; 

1. Daniel N. Morgan Historical Collection 
Including Table on Which Emanci- 
pation Proclamation was Signed. 

m. Deacon Lewis M. Norton Collection 



197 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



of Manuscripts Relating to the Town 
of Goshen ; 

n. Orville H. Piatt Collection Relating to 
Finance, Indians, and Insular Affairs ; 

o. Capt. John Pratt Collection of Military 
Papers, 1 778-1824; 

p. Major E. V. Preston Collection of Civil 
War Military Rolls and Papers ; 

q. Col. Daniel Putnam Letters ; 

r. Governor Trumbull Manuscripts ; 

s. Gideon and Thaddeus Welles Collec- 
tion of American Newspapers from 
1820 to 1840, approximately; 

t. Charles T. Wells Collection of Books 
Relating to New England ; 

u. Robert C. W T inthrop Collection of Man- 
uscripts Relating to Early Connecti- 
cut ; 

v. Samuel Wyllys Collection of Manu- 
scripts Relating to Witchcraft and 
Other Crimes in Early Connecticut. 

Mr. Godard has been active in State and 
National organizations interested in the 
several lines of activities connected with 
the Connecticut State Library. Among 
these may be mentioned the National As- 
sociation of State Libraries, and the 
American Association of Law Libraries, 
of which he has been president ; the Amer- 
ican Library Association, and Amer- 
ican Historical Association, in both of 
which he is serving on important com- 
mittees. Among the more important 
committees with which he is connected 
should be mentioned the Joint Commit- 
tee of Law and State Librarians upon a 
National Legislative Reference Service, 
of which he has been chairman since 1909, 
the Public Affairs Information Service, 
the Law Library Journal, the Index to 
Legal Periodicals, and the Committee on 
Public Documents and Public Archives. 

Mr. Godard is an active member of the 
Connecticut Historical Society; vice-pres- 
ident from Connecticut of the New Eng- 
land Historic-Genealogical Society, Bos- 
ton ; fellow of the American Library In- 
stitute ; historian of the Connecticut So- 



ciety of Founders and Patriots of Amer- 
ica ; member of the Wesleyan University 
Alumni Council ; editor of the Connecti- 
cut State Records ; trustee of the Wil- 
braham Academy. He is also in charge 
of the Connecticut State Military Census, 
and custodian of the Connecticut State 
Library and the Supreme Court building. 
As a member of the Center Congrega- 
tional Church, the University Club, City 
Club, Twentieth Century Club, and sev- 
eral Masonic bodies, he is vitally inter- 
ested in their work. 

On June 23, 1897, Mr. Godard mar- 
ried Kate Estelle Dewey, daughter of 
Watson and Ellen Bebe Dewey. They 
have three children : George Dewey, born 
August 8, 1899, a senior in the Hartford 
Public High School; Paul Beach, born 
February 17, 1901, a junior in Wilbraham 
Academy ; Mary Katharine, born October 
3, 1903, who is a senior in the Northwest 
Grammar School. 



SPIER, E. Wilfred, 

Prominent in Jewelry Trade. 

The Spier family have long been estab- 
lished in Dusseldorf, Germany, Colonel 
Isaac Spier coming from there with his 
family. He resided in Dover, New Hamp- 
shire, and late in life became engaged in 
photography. 

E. Wilfred Spier, son of Colonel Isaac 
Spier, was born in Dusseldorf, Germany, 
January 20, 1856, and when young was 
brought to the United States by his par- 
ents. He was educated in the public 
schools of Dover, New Hampshire, fin- 
ishing at Phillips Exeter Academy, Ex- 
eter, New Hampshire. After leaving 
school he served an apprenticeship to the 
wholesale jewelry business, becoming 
thoroughly familiar with that calling. 
He began his connection with the jewelry 



198 




ttlgsses JHn^ctt iBrxJcktimg 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



business when about twenty-one .wars 
of age, and has spent the years since in- 
tervening in the same line of activity. He 

IS now located at No. I26l I'-roadway, 

New York, a jewelry jobber, specializing 

in novelties, but handling jewelry of all 

kinds. His firm, Lippman, Spier & Halm, 
ranks with the leading jewelry houses of 
New York City, Mr. Spier being one of 
the best informed men in his particular 
line of business. He is a Republican in 
his political faith, and a member of the 
Episcopal church in Thompson, Connec- 
ticut. 

Mr. Spier married, in New York City, 
Jessie Alma Ironside, born May 25, 1856, 
in Sheffield, England, daughter of Isaac 
and Martha (Beecher) Ironside, both her 
parents also born in Sheffield. The 
Beecher family has been traced in Eng- 
land to John and Sarah (Richards) 
Beecher, (1760) and has long been one of 
the leading families of that section of 
England. Mr. and Mrs. Spier are the par- 
t ents of two sons : Francis Atkinson, born 
March 19, 1880; Reginald Ironside, born 
March 10, 1887. 



BROCKWAY, Ulysses Hayden, 

Business Man, Public Official. 

Arms — Gules a fleur-de-lis argent, on a chief 
of the second (argent), a lion passant guardant of 
the first gules. Two bars wavy, each charged 
with three pales wavy, gules. 

Crest — An escallop or. 

The Register General of Great Britain 
(1891) states that the name Brockway is 
unknown in Scotland and Ireland, and 
uncommon in England and Wales. It is 
thought to have been derived from the 
Old English name Brock. In compiling 
the genealogy of the Brockway family in 
America it was ascertained that all of the 
name in America prior to 1850 were de- 
scendants of YYolston Brockway, who 



emigrated to Connecticut in the middle 

part of the seventeenth eentury. 

W'olston Brockway, immigrant ances- 
tor of the Brockway family, was born in 
England, about 1038, and came to Amer- 
ica early in life. He settled in the Con- 
necticut Colony, at Lyme, which has 
since been the principal seat of the Brock- 
ways, and from which center branches 
have spread over the entire country. 
W'olston Brockway purchased much prop- 
erty in Lyme, and this with slight 
changes is still in the hands of lineal de- 
scendants. The family is one of the most 
prominent in the vicinity of Lyme among 
many who boast historic lineage. The 
progenitor married, at Lyme, Connecti- 
cut, Hannah Bridges, daughter of Wil- 
liam Bridges. She died February 6, 
1687. 

Ulysses Hayden Brockway, deceased, 
was a member of this distinguished old 
family. He was born in Hamburg, in 
the town of Lyme, Connecticut, July 19, 
1851, the son of Jedediah and Elizabeth 
(Lord) Brockway. He received his early 
education in the public schools of the 
town. When he was but slightly over ten 
years old the Civil War broke out. Too 
young to go to war, he became a drum- 
mer boy for the recruits which were 
drilled at Lyme. The stirring events of 
the conflict inculcated in him a spirit of 
adventure and an ambition which school 
and drudgery of farm life could not sat- 
isfy, and at the age of sixteen years he 
left Lyme, and came to Hartford, which 
city remained his home throughout his 
life. He became thoroughly identified 
with its business, political, social and fra- 
ternal life. 

Mr. Brockway secured his first employ- 
ment in the tailoring business, in which 
he himself later became an employer. He 
entered the oldest tailoring establishment 

99 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



in the city of Hartford, that founded in 
1824 by Robert Buell, and at the time 
owned by Franklin Clark. He rapidly 
became one of the most valued employees 
in the establishment, and on the retire- 
ment of Franklin Clark, in 1878, Mr. 
Brockway, in partnership with J. H. W. 
Wenk, continued the business under the 
firm name of Wenk & Brockway. After 
a period of eight years of successful bus- 
iness, Mr. Brockway became sole owner, 
and from that time until his death con- 
ducted it under the name of U. H. Brock- 
way & Company. The business was in 
every way a success, and under the man- 
agement of Mr. Brockway became one of 
the most important commercial enter- 
prises of its kind in Hartford. 

As the leading figure in a large indus- 
try in the city of Hartford, Mr. Brock- 
way was well known by the people. He 
was universally admired and respected for 
the honesty of his business dealings. He 
was deeply interested in the political af- 
fairs of the city, through motives of a 
purely disinterested nature. He was in 
no way an office seeker. However, he 
was admirably fitted for public service by 
reason of his keen business perception, 
his strict integrity, and he was often 
sought for official posts. In 1883 he was 
elected to the City Council from the old 
First Ward, and in 1884-85 was returned 
to office by a large majority. In 1886 he 
was elected alderman from the First 
Ward, and served in that capacity for 
four terms. In 1896 Mr. Brockway was 
appointed by Mayor Stiles B. Preston a 
member of the water commission, on 
which he served for six consecutive years. 
He was greatly interested in the cause of 
education, and because of his interest in 
the work of furthering educational oppor- 
tunities in the city of Hartford he was 
elected a member of the committee of 



the Second North School District, on 
which he served for a number of years, 
rendering services of a very valuable 
nature. He was especially interested in 
the Henry Barnard School of the Second 
North School District and did much to 
better conditions there. Mr. Brockway 
was a member of the Farmington Avenue 
Congregational Church, and during the 
long period of his membership devoted 
much of his time to its work, and gave 
liberally, but' without ostentation, to its 
philanthropies. 

Mr. Brockway married, on November 
17, 1880, Harriet Elizabeth Norton, 
daughter of Seth Porter and Elizabeth 
Esther (Wilcox) Norton, members of the 
old Norton family of Collinsville, Con- 
necticut. (See Norton VI). Mrs. Brock- 
way survives her husband and resides at 
No. 136 Sigourney street, Hartford, Con- 
necticut. They were the parents of the 
following children: 1. Elizabeth Norton, 
born February 12, 1882, died November 
9, 1907; she was a graduate of Hartford 
High School in the class of 1899; a grad- 
uate of Smith College, in 1902 ; secretary 
of the Second North School ; member of 
the Smith College Club, and of the 
Daughters of the American Revolution. 
2. Ulysses Hayden, Jr., was born July 
19, 1890; in January, 1907, he entered 
Yale University, and was graduated from 
that institution in 191 1, with the degree 
of Bachelor of Arts ; during his freshman 
year at Yale he was a member of the 
Apollo Glee Club, retaining his member- 
ship for three years ; for a like period he 
sang in the college choir ; he is a mem- 
ber of the Delta Kappa Upsilon frater- 
nity, the University Club, the Hartford 
Golf Club, and numerous other societies ; 
after his graduation from Yale Univer- 
sity, Mr. Brockway entered the employ 
of the Travellers' Insurance Company of 



200 








k 



Focnioa 




ENCYCLOPKDI A OF BIOGRAPHY 



Hartford and was connected with the ac- 
tuary department until his enlistment in 

the United States army in October, i <> 1 7 ; 
he was called for active service on Octo- 
ber 15, I917, and shortly afterward com- 
missioned second lieutenant in the ad- 
jutant-general's department ; he has since 
been promoted to the rank of captain. 

Mr. Brockway's death meant to Hart- 
ford not only the loss of a valuable pub- 
lic official, but a true friend. F.xpressions 
of grief at his death were wide-spread. 
and from the various resolutions passed 
by official bodies and articles inserted in 
the public press a discriminating choice 
is difficult. The following resolution 
passed by the Second North School Dis- 
trict, at its meeting on July 9, 1014. will 
perhaps give an adequate conception of 
what he meant in Hartford as a public 
officer and a friend of the people: 

The Second North School District recognizes 
in the death of Mr. Ulysses H. Brockway. for 
twenty-two years a member of the District Com- 
mittee, the loss of a devoted servant of the inter- 
ests of the District. A warm friend of the teach- 
ers arid pupils, he was an example of upright, con- 
sistent and unobtrusive citizenship, which has been 
of distinct value to the youth of the district and 
community. During his long term of service for 
the district he was a faithful conservator of its 
best interests, and a wise counselor and a self- 
sacrificing official. His loss will be keenly felt 
by his associates upon the committee, by the 
teachers of the school and by his many friends in 
the district and in the community which he has 
well served by his quiet, unassuming, but effective 
life. 

Signed by Frank R. Kellogg, 
James P. Berry, 
Solomon Malley, 
District Committee. 

(The Norton Line). 

The following is a description of the 
coat-of-arms of the Norton family, quar- 
tering St. Loe, Russell, De la Riviere, etc., 

etc. : 



Arms — Quarterly of eleven In chief: 1. Ar- 
gent, on a bend sable, between two lions rampant 
of the second, three escallops of the field -'. Ar- 
dent, vair azure. 3. Argent, a bend engrailed 
sable between two mullets counterchanged, all 

within a bordore engrailed >i the second. 4. 
Argent, bordure sable, charged with ten bezants, 
martlet of the second. 

In I' ess — 1. Sable, a chevron ermine between 
thne pheons argent -'. Argent, a bend sable, 
three annulets 01 the field. 3. Sable, Jiree goats 
passant argent. 4. Krmine, a cross .ngrailed 
gules. 

In Base — 1. Argent, manche gules. 2. Gules, 
saltire or between four leopards' faces argent. 
3. A/ure two bars dansettc or. 

Crest — On a torse of the colors, a greyhound 
couped or, collared per fess gules between two 
barrulets of the second. 

Mantle — Sable and argent, the first veined or. 

The history of the Norton family be- 
gins with the Norman Conquest, when on 
September 29, 1066, the Seigneur de Nor- 
ville crossed the Channel to England in 
the army of William the Conqueror, a 
constable under the Norman French re- 
gime. The name Norville, from which 
the English form Norton is derived, is 
of French origin and signifies "north vil- 
lage." After the residence of the family 
in England the English form Norton, 
meaning also north village or town, was 
adopted. It is supposed that the Seigneur 
de Norville was the common ancestor of 
all families of the name in England, Ire- 
land and America. Up to the year 1650 
there were thirteen immigrants of the 
name in America, of whom authentic 
record exists. That branch of the family 
of which the late Seth Porter Norton, of 
Hartford, Connecticut, was a member, 
was descended from John Norton, who 
was in the Connecticut Colony as early 
as 1646. Since the time of founding the 
family has been one of the most promi- 
nent of New England houses of historic 
lineage, and has furnished sons who have 



201 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



served with distinction in the various de- 
partments of our national life. 

(I) John Norton, immigrant ancestor, 
was born in England, probably at Lon- 
don, in 1622, the third son of Richard and 
Ellen (Rowley) Norton. The date of his 
emigration to America is not known. His 
name is first mentioned on the records of 
the colony at Branford, on July 7, 1646. 
He was a landed proprietor there. In 
1659 John Norton removed from Bran- 
ford to Hartford, and on September 29th 
of that year he made a purchase of sev- 
eral pieces of land and "housing." He 
was made a freeman at Hartford, May 
21, 1660. John Norton was interested in 
the establishment of a colony at Tunxis, 
which later became Farmington, and was 
one of the proprietors of the town. He 
joined the church at Farmington in Oc- 
tober, 1661. He was one of the largest 
land owners there, a man of considerable 
wealth according to the standards of the 
period. All of his extensive holdings in 
Farmington and the vicinity descended 
to his heirs. He married (first) Dorothy 

, who died in Branford, January 24, 

1652. His second wife, Elizabeth, died 
November 6, 1657. He married (third) 
Elizabeth Clark, who died November 8, 
1702. He died in Farmington, November 

5. I709- 

(II) John (2) Norton, son of John (1) 
and Dorothy Norton, was born in Bran- 
ford, May 24, 165 1, and died in Farming- 
ton, Connecticut, April 25, 1725. He was 
a man of considerable prominence in the 
early colony, and was deputy to the Gen- 
eral Court from Farmington in 1680, 1681, 
1682. He married, in Farmington, Ruth 
Moore, daughter of Isaac and Ruth 
(Stanley) Moore; she and their son, 
Thomas, were administrators of John 
Norton's estate. 

(III) Thomas Norton, son of John (2) 



and Ruth (Moore) Norton, was born in 
Farmington, Connecticut, on July 1, 1697, 
and died there in 1760. He was the 
owner of a great amount of property in 
the vicinity of Farmington, and was one 
of the original proprietors of Salisbury, 
Connecticut. In the division of public 
lands, in April, 1739, he drew lot No. 24. 
In 1748 he purchased much land from 
Thomas Lamb. Thomas Norton mar- 
ried (first) on November 17, 1724, Eliz- 
abeth Mclan, of Stratford, who died in 
Farmington in 1736; he married (sec- 
ond) in 1739, Widow Rachel Pomeroy ; 
married (third) September 11, 1753, Eliz- 
abeth Deming. 

(IV) Colonel Ichabod Norton, son of 
Thomas and Elizabeth (Mclan) Norton, 
was born in Farmington, Connecticut, in 
1736, and later in life became one of the 
most distinguished members of the Nor- 
ton family. He is a notable figure in the 
Revolutionary annals of the State of Con- 
necticut, having served as a colonel in the 
Continental forces and rendered most val- 
uable services to the country. Colonel 
Ichabod Norton married Ruth Strong, 
who also gained distinction for bravery 
during the war. 

(V) George Norton, son of Colonel 
Ichabod and Ruth (Strong) Norton, was 
born in Farmington, Connecticut, in No- 
vember, 1782, and during the early part 
of his life lived in Farmington, where he 
became a prosperous farmer and leading 
citizen. In 1800 he removed to Granby 
and later to Avon, where he died on May 
11, 1833. He married Eliza Frisbie, a 
member of one of the old families of 
Farmington. 

(VI) Seth Porter Norton, son of 
George and Eliza (Frisbie) Norton, was 
born on May 16, 1823, at Avon, Connec- 
ticut, where he resided during his child- 
hood. He received his early education in 



202 




§>?th Jlnrtrr Norton 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



the public schools Of the nearby town, 

Collinsville, a manufacturing town which 
offered the besl educational opportunities 
to be found in the neighborhood. How- 
ever, as is found to be a common occur- 
rence in the lives of successful men of the 
last generations, he left school at an early 
age, and went into the largest of the man- 
ufacturing plants in the town, the Col- 
lins Company, makers of plows, axes, and 
other agricultural implements. I lis first 
employment in the company was of an 
unimportant nature', lie was a man not 
only of keen business foresight and clear 
perception, but possessed also an infinite 
capacity for details. He mastered every 
phase of the business in the various 
positions which he held with the firm, 
and was gradually advanced as he be- 
came of greater value to the company. 
He eventually became superintendent 
of the Collins Company, a position 
which involved a very large and try- 
ing responsibility. Mr. Norton's energy 
was given unreservedly to his work, and 
throughout the years of his connection 
with the Collins Company he was re- 
garded as a man of the strictest integrity 
and reliability in business dealings. His 
fairness and justice were proverbial. As 
a consequence men trusted him and his 
friends were legion. 

Seth Porter Norton achieved a success 
in the business world which was entirely 
the result of his own efforts, and through 
that fact appealed as a friend and advisor 
to the vast army of men who owe their 
success to unremitting labor and indom- 
itable purposes, rather than to brilliant 
and exceptional strokes of genius. He 
was deeply interested in politics and held 
various public offices. Mr. Norton repre- 
sented Collinsville in the Connecticut 
State Legislature for several terms. 



the old school and a true Christian, whose 
Christianity extended beyond the nar- 
row bounds of one religious denomina- 
tion. Though he was a lifelong member 
dt" tin- Congregational church, he was in 
strong sympathy with every religious 

faith, tolerant enough to see and adopt 
the good in each. As is usual with the 
man who has dealt with and managed all 
manner of men, broad tolerance and a 
sympathy with humanity were character- 
ise of Mr. Norton throughout life. He 
knew and understood, which was the 
secret of his attraction for men, and the 
reason for his numerous friends. Mr 
Norton died at the age of forty-four year-, 
a man well loved, honored and revered. 

Mr. Norton married (first) Aurclia 
Ilumason, of New Britain, Connecticut, 
on December 23, 1845. She died Septem- 
ber _', 1849. H e married (second^ on 
January 1, 1851, Elizabeth Esther Wil- 
cox, daughter of Averit and Sally (Tul- 
ler) Wilcox, and a member of an old and 
highly respected family of Simsbury. 
(See Wilcox VIII). The child of the 
first marriage was Mary, deceased. Chil- 
dren of the second marriage: 1. Charles 
Everett, deceased. 2. Harriet Elizabeth, 
married, November 17, 1880, Ulysses H. 
Brockway, of Hartford. 3. William Av- 
erit, deceased. 4. George Wilcox, en- 
gaged in business in Philadelphia. 5. 
Charles Robinson, deceased. 

(The Wilcox Line). 

Arms — Ermine a chief chequy, or and gules. 
Crest — On a mount, a dove proper. 

The Wilcox family is of Saxon origin 
and was seated at Bury St. Edmunds, 
County Suffolk, England, before the Nor- 
man Conquest. Sir John Dugdale, in the 
visitation of the County of Suffolk, men- 
tioned fifteen generations of this family 



Seth Porter Norton was a gentleman of prior to the year 1600. This traces the 

203 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



lineage back to the year 1200, when the 
surname came into use as an inherited 
family name. Wilcox, variously spelled, 
dates back to an early period of English 
history. One "Wilcox or Wilcott" is re- 
corded as furnishing three men at arms 
at the battle of Agincourt. Another of 
the name is on record as court physician 
to King Charles. The family is one of 
honor and renown in old England, several 
of its branches bearing arms. In Amer- 
ica the name is found in the very begin- 
nings of our Colonial history. The Wil- 
coxes were at Jamestown, Virginia, as 
early as 1610, and at Cambridge, Massa- 
chusetts, as early as 1636. 

The derivation of the surname is inter- 
esting. It is of that large class of Eng- 
lish surnames which had their source in 
nicknames and sobriquets. It is a com- 
pound of Will, meaning literally "the son 
of William," and the suffix cock, a term 
of familiarity generally applied in the 
thirteenth and fourteenth centuries to 
one of a sharp or forward nature. The 
sobriquet was of such a character that 
it adhered to its bearer throughout life, 
and was transmitted to succeeding gen- 
erations. Thus we have the surnames, 
Wilcox, Jeffcock, Hancock, etc. 

The family in America has figured 
prominently in New England life and af- 
fairs since the middle of the seventeenth 
century. William Wilcox, immigrant an- 
cestor and progenitor of the family herein 
under consideration, was the first of the 
name to establish himself in New Eng- 
land. His descendants are found largely 
in Massachusetts and Connecticut. Oth- 
ers of the name followed him and became 
the founders of flourishing and influential 
families. 

(I) William Wilcox, the founder, was 
born in the year 1601, at St. Albans, 
Hertfordshire, England, and came to this 



country in 1636, a passenger in the ship 
"Planter," bringing with him a certificate 
of conformity to the doctrines of the 
Church of England, signed by the min- 
ister of St. Albans. He was thirty-four 
years old at the time of his arrival. He 
settled in Massachusetts, where he was 
admitted a freeman, December 7, 1636. 
William Wilcox was a linen weaver by 
trade. He removed, in 1639, to Stratford, 
Connecticut, where he subsequently rose 
to prominence in public affairs. In 1647 
he was deputy to the General Court at 
Hartford. He died in 1652, aged fifty-one 
years. His wife, Margaret Wilcox, was 
born in England, in 161 1, and accom- 
panied him to America. They were the 
parents of several children, among them 
Samuel, mentioned below. 

(II) Samuel Wilcox, son of William 
and Margaret Wilcox, was born about 
1636. He accompanied his parents to 
Stratford, but on attaining his majority 
married and settled in Windsor, Connec- 
ticut, where he was prominent in local 
affairs until his death. His home was in 
that part of Windsor, which is now Sims- 
bury, where he had a grant of land. Sam- 
uel Wilcox was sergeant of the Windsor 
military company. He married Hannah 

; they were the parents of three 

children of actual record, but there were 
doubtless others. 

(III) Deacon William (2) Wilcox, son 
of Samuel and Hannah Wilcox, was born 
in Connecticut, about 1670. He was a 
lifelong resident of Simsbury, where he 
was the owner of considerable property. 
He married, January 18, 1699, Elizabeth 
Wilson, daughter of Samuel and Mary 
(Griffin) Wilson, of Simsbury. They 
were the parents of William, mentioned 
below. 

(IV) Deacon William (3) Wilcox, son 
of Deacon William (2) and Elizabeth 



204 



ENCYCL* IPEDIA OF BH >r,UAPHY 



(Wilson) WilcOX, was horn in Siinshtiry, 

Connecticut, April 22, [702, and died 
there December 27, 177-' Like his father 
he was a leader in religious activities, and 
one of the foremost citizens of the town. 

lie married, May _'. [723, Thanks Adams, 
who was probabl) a daughter of Daniel 
and Mary Adams, of Simslmry. 

(V) Lieutenant William 1 p Wilcox, 
son of Deacon William (3) and Thanks 
(Adams) Wilcox, was horn April 1, 1728, 
in Simslmry, Connecticut, and settled 
about 1750 in West Simslmry, where he 
died in 1775. He was among the minute 
men who marched from Simslmry on the 
Lexington Alarm, April 19, 1775. He 
married Lucy Case, horn Octoher 17, 
1732, died in 1805, daughter of John (3) 
and Abigail (Humphrey) Case, grand- 
daughter of John (2) Case, and great- 
granddaughter of John (1 ) Case, founder 
of the family. 

(VI) Daniel Wilcox, son of Lieuten- 
ant William (4) and Lucy (Case) Wil- 
cox, was born in West Simslmry. March 
25, 1772, and died in 1833, in Weatogue, 
where he spent his latter years. He mar- 
ried Esther Merritt, who was born on 
March S, 1771, died November 10, i860, 
at Weatogue. She was a daughter of 
James and Hannah (Phelps) Merritt. the 
latter a daughter of Thomas and Mar- 
garet (Watson) Phelps, of the ancient 
Windsor family of that name. Daniel and 
Esther (Merritt) Wilcox were the par- 
ents of ten sons and one daughter. 

(VII) Averit Wilcox, son of Daniel 
and Esther (Merritt) Wilcox, was born 
January 25, 1793, and was a prosperous 
farmer of Simsbury, where he died Janu- 
ary 23, 1866. He married, August 21, 
[821, Sally Tuller, who was born Febru- 
ary 10, 1799, in Simsbury. daughter of 
Elisha and Elizabeth (Case) Tuller. 

(VIII) Elizabeth Esther Wilcox, daugh- 



ter of Averit and Sail \ (Tuller ) WilcOX, 

was horn in Simsbury, Connecticut. She 
married. January !. 1851, Seth Porter 
Norton, of Collinsville, Connecticut, and 
they were the parents of Harriet Eliza- 
beth Norton. 1 See Norton V I 



HILL, Junius Fayette. 

Builder, Contractor. 

Arms— Sable a fess argent between three leop- 
ards passant it, spotted sahlc. The fess is 
charged with three escallops gules. Supporters 
I»e\ter a leopard gules, spotted "r, ducally col- 
lared or. Sinister, a stag, attired gules. 

Crest — A stag's head and neck, azure, attired 
gules, on a wreath, over a ducal coronet. 

Motto — Per Deutn ei femtm obtinui. 

The family of Hill have been well 
known and prominent in England since 
the middle of the fourteenth century, and 
especially eminent for their antiquity and 
worth, in the counties of Stafford, Devon, 
Somerset, and Salop. Since the time of 
Queen Elizabeth it has been of great note 
and esteem in the counties of Down and 
\ntrim, in Ireland. The family has pro- 
duced in every generation soldiers, states- 
men and diplomats of note, and has had 
its chief seats in the county of Down, 
Hillsborough; North Alton, in Oxford- 
shire; and Twickenham, in the County of 
Middlesex. 

The American branch of the family 
ranks among the foremost of our great 
Republic, holding a place of prominence 
in the only aristocracy which America 
knows — that of sterling worth and 
achievement. The Hill family of Con- 
necticut, of which the late Junius F. Hill, 
of Waterbury, Connecticut, was a mem- 
ber, traces its history through a period of 
two hundred and eighty years, through a 
line of stern and rugged patriots, who in 
time of need have served their country 
well, men who have gained notable suc- 



205 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



cesses in the professions, men of keen 
business intellect, and virtuous and cap- 
able women. 

(I) William Hill, progenitor of the 
family in America, emigrated from Eng- 
land, and arrived in Boston Harbor, 
Massachusetts, on the ship "William and 
Francis," on June 5, 1632. He was a man 
of note, and settled with the company at 
Dorchester, Massachusetts. He was made 
a freeman of the Massachusetts Colony, 
November 5, 1633, and elected a select- 
man of Dorchester, in 1636. He received 
an allotment of land from the town on 
November 2, 1635. In 1636, or shortly 
afterward, he removed to Windsor, on the 
Connecticut river, where he was granted 
a home lot and set out an orchard. In 
1639 he was appointed by the General 
Court to examine the arms and ammuni- 
tion of the colony. He was auditor of 
public accounts, and was elected deputy 
to the General Court from 1639 to 1641 
and again in 1644. After 1644 he removed 
to Fairfield, Connecticut, where he lived 
and died, and where his last will and tes- 
tament is recorded in an ancient volume 
of the records of the "Particular Court 
for Fairfield County" (to be found in the 
Fairfield Library). In Fairfield he be- 
came one of the leaders of the official life 
of the town, serving as assistant, and later 
being appointed collector of customs. He 
was selectman in 1646. He and his son 
William were granted by the town home 
lots between Paul's Neck and Robert 
Turney's lot on the northeast side of Dor- 
chester street and Newton square. Wil- 
liam Hill died in 1649, as his wife is called 
a widow at that time in the town records. 
His will is dated September 9, 1649, an d 
was admitted to probate, May 15, 1650. 
He bequeathed to his wife Sarah, and 
children : Sarah, William, mentioned be- 



low ; Joseph, Ignatius, James, and Eliz- 
abeth. 

(II) William (2) Hill, son of William 
(1) and Sarah Hill, was born in England, 
and accompanied his parents to America. 
It is probable that he was with his father 
in Dorchester and Windsor, for he ac- 
companied him to Fairfield, where he re- 
ceived an allotment of land from the town. 
He later became one of the most promi- 
nent citizens of the town. He was town 
recorder in 1650, and continued in that 
office for several years. To him Roger 
Ludlow delivered town papers of value 
when he left Fairfield, in 1654. The town 
records show that on February 1, 1673, 
he received a portion of his father's estate 
from his father-in-law, Mr. Greenleaf, 
which would seem to indicate that his 
mother married a second time. (The 
term father-in-law was an equivalent of 
step-father of to-day). William Hill re- 
ceived from the town, on February 13, 
1670, the Lewis lot on the northwest 
corner of Newton square. He died on 
December 19, 1684. 

Mr. Hill married, at Fairfield, Connec- 
ticut, Elizabeth Jones, daughter of the 
Rev. John Jones. Their children were : 
William, Eliphalet, Joseph, John, of fur- 
ther mention ; James, and Sarah. 

(III) John Hill, son of William (2) and 
Elizabeth (Jones) Hill, was born in Fair- 
field, Connecticut, and died in 1727. He 
married Jane . He owned consid- 
erable real estate, and was prominent in 
the town. He later removed to New 
Haven. 

(IV) Obadiah Hill, son of John and 
Jane Hill, was born in October, 1697. He 
married Hannah Frost, who was born in 
June, 1706. Their children were: 1. 
Eunice, born March 28, 1731. 2. Sarah, 
born May 20, 1732. 3. Mary, born Octo- 
ber 5, 1733. 4. Jared, of further mention. 



206 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



There were Other children, record of 
whom is lost. 

(V) Lieutenant Jared 1 [ill, SOI1 of Oba- 
diah and Hannah (Frost) Hill, was horn 

in North Haven. Connecticut, August 10. 
1736. He married Eunice Turtle, daugh- 
ter of Daniel and Mary 1 Mansfield) Tut- 
tle, both descendants of pioneer colonists 
of New Haven. Jared Hill, the progen- 
itor of the Waterbury Hills, removed 
there with his wile in 1784, and purchased 
a farm on East Mountain. They were 
the parents of twelve children, all of 
whom, except Samuel, were horn in 
North Haven. 1 Ie rendered distinguished 
services throughout the French and In- 
dian War, as a private, and had the repu- 
tation of a good soldier. He died April 
20, 1810. His wife, who was born in 
1739, died December 28, 1826. 

(VI) Samuel Hill, son of Lieutenant 
Jared and Eunice (Tuttle) Hill, was born 
in Waterbury, Connecticut, September 4, 
1784. He was educated in the public 
schools of the city, and after finishing his 
education learned the carpenter's trade, 
which he followed during the summer 
months. He was a man of much literary 
ability, and a scholar, and during the win- 
ter months taught school in Waterbury. 
He was also a talented musician, and 
served as fife major in the Second Regi- 
ment from 1807 until 1818. Samuel Hill 
gained considerable distinction for poetic 
ability in Waterbury, and the surrounding 
country. 

Mr. Hill married, October 14, 1807, 
Polly Brockett, daughter of Giles and 
Sarah (Smith) Brockett. (See Brockett 
VI). He died on April 26, 1834, and 
after his death his family removed to 
Xaugatuck, where his wife died October 
8, 1853. Both are buried in the Hill plot, 
in Riverside Cemetery. Their children 
were: 1. Henry Augustus, born January 



10. [809. 2. Junius Fayette, mentioned 
below. 3. Sarah Maria, horn April 14, 
[8l6, died January 24, [822. 4. Eunice 

Hortensia, born November s, [818, died 
April 1, [890. 5. Ellen Maria, born June 
10. [824, died April 20. [896, in Oneonta. 
New York; married. March 4, 1844, in 
Xaugatuck, Connecticut, John Benjamin 
Taylor. 6. Robert Wakeman, mentioned 
below. 

(VII ) Junius Fayette Hill, son of Sam- 
uel and Polly (Brockett) Hill, was horn 
in Waterbury, Connecticut, July II. 1811. 
lie received his educational training in 
the public schools of Waterbury, and 
upon completing his education, learned 
the carpenter's trade, which he followed 
for the remainder of his life. He later 
engaged in business independently, and 
became one of the leading builders and 
contractors of the city. He was a man of 
great business talent, and possessed great 
ability for organization and management. 
In addition to his prominence in the bus- 
iness world, he was also a leading figure 
in the political affairs of the city, always 
active in the interests of issues which he 
thought were of benefit to the community. 
He was nominated for the State Legis- 
lature on the Democratic ticket, but de- 
clined to accept. Mr. Hill was one of 
the best known and most thoroughly re- 
spected business men of Waterbury of 
the middle part of the last century, sub- 
stantially successful, and highly honored. 
He died at Xaugatuck, Connecticut, 
March 31, 1859. He was a prominent 
Mason, and a member of Shepherd's 
Lodge, Naugatuck. He attended St. 
Michaels Episcopal Church in Nauga- 
tuck. 

Mr. Hill married Elizabeth Augusta 
Porter, daughter of Samuel Porter, of 
Xaugatuck, Connecticut, on May 4, 1835. 
She was born in Xaugatuck, September 



207 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



21, 1812, and died at Waterbury, January 
9, 1899. Their children were: 1. Marie 
Louise, unmarried, resides at Woodmont, 
Connecticut. 2. Ellen Augusta, married 
Henry Leach, and resides at Woodmont; 
child : Robert Hill Leach, who married 
Florence Woodruff, of Milford, Connec- 
ticut, and they have one daughter, Sus- 
anne Hill Leach. Mr. Henry Leach was 
a native of New York City, and was edu- 
cated there. Later in life he removed to 
Waterbury, Connecticut, where he be- 
came a pioneer rubber merchant, and one 
of the leading manufacturers of the city. 
He died in 1907, aged sixty-two years. 
Mr. Leach was a member of the Masonic 
order, and of the Independent Order of 
Odd Fellows, and attended St. John's 
Episcopal Church. Mrs. Leach is a 
charter member of the Milicent Porter 
Chapter of the Daughters of the American 
Revolution. 3. Susie Elizabeth, men- 
tioned below. 4. Caroline Eunice, died at 
the age of three years. 5. Lucy Brown, 
married Joseph Ives Doolittle, who died 
in 1907. She died in May, 1914, and is 
survived by her two sons, Trubee J., and 
Clarence Lewis, who reside at Wood- 
mont, Connecticut. 

(VII) Robert Wakeman Hill, son of 
Samuel and Polly (Brockett) Hill, was 
born in Waterbury, Connecticut, Septem- 
ber 20, 1828, and received his early edu- 
cation there. He later removed to New 
Haven, Connecticut, and there attended 
the Young Men's Institute. After com- 
pleting his studies there, he entered the 
offices of Mr. Henry Austin for the pur- 
pose of studying architecture. After 
thoroughly mastering the technicalities 
of his professions, he went to the State 
of Wisconsin, and there engaged in bus- 
iness in the city of Milwaukee. After 
several years, during which he built up 
a splendid career, he returned to Water- 



bury, and there engaged in his work for 
the remainder of his life. Several of the 
most important public buildings of 
Waterbury, New Haven, Hartford, and 
other large cities of the State of Con- 
necticut, are monuments to his genius as 
an architect. During his lifetime he was 
recognized as the leader of his profes- 
sion in Waterbury. He was affiliated 
with the Republican party, but although 
he took a keen interest in politics he re- 
mained outside the circle of political in- 
fluence. He was a well known figure in 
the financial life of the city, and at the 
time of his death was a member of the 
board of directors and vice-president of 
the Manufacturers' Bank of Waterbury. 
He was also a member of several social 
and fraternal organizations, a founder of 
the Waterbury Club, and a member of 
the Mason Clark Commandery. He was 
a communicant of St. John's Episcopal 
Church. Robert Wakeman Hill died on 
July 16, 1909. 

(VIII) Susie Elizabeth Hill, daughter 
of Junius Fayette and Elizabeth Augusta 
(Porter) Hill, was born in Waterbury, 
Connecticut. She is a resident of Water- 
bury, and devotes much time and atten- 
tion to social and public welfare in the 
city, supporting generously charities and 
benevolences of worth. Miss Hill takes 
a keen interest in the issues of impor- 
tance in the life of the city. She is a 
member of the Milicent Porter Chapter 
of the Daughters of the American Rev- 
olution, the Mattatuck Historical Society, 
and the Naturalist Club. She is also 
prominent in the social life of Waterbury. 

(The Pierpont Line). 

Arms — Argent, semee of cinquefoils, gules. A 
lion rampant, sable. 

Crest — A fox passant proper, on a wreath. 
Motto — Pie repone te. 



208 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



The Pierpont family is of Norman Oil 
gin, antedating the Norman Conquest. 
The Castle of Pierrepont took its name in 
the time of Charlemagne from a stone 
bridge l>nilt to replace a ferry on the es- 
tate of Pierrepont, which is located in 
the southern part of Picardy, in the dio- 
cese of Laon, about six miles south of 
Saint Saveur, Normandy. The first lord 
of whom we have authentic information 
was Sir Hugh de Pierrepont, who flour- 
ished about 980 A. I). lie was succeeded 
by his son, Sir Godfrey de Pierrepont. 
who was the Lather of Sir Godfrey de 
Pierrepont, who left two sons, Sir God- 
frey and Sir Robert de Pierrepont. This 
Sir Godfrey de Pierrepont was the father 
of Sir Ingolbrand de Pierrepont, Lord of 
the Castle about 1090 A. D., and ancestor 
of the French family of the name. Sir 
Robert de Pierrepont went to England in 
the train of William the Conqueror, and 
was the founder of the English family. 

The seventh in descent from Sir Rob- 
ert de Pierrepont was Sir Henry, of 
Holme Pierpont, in right of his wife An- 
nora, daughter of Michael Manvers, Eord 
of Holme. A generation later Robert 
Pierpont was created Earl of Kingston 
in 1628. His last male descendant was 
Evelyn Pierpont, second duke of King- 
ston, who died in 1773. Robert, Earl of 
Kingston, had a younger brother. Wil- 
liam Pierpont, who was the father of 
James Pierpont, the immigrant ancestor 
of the American family. 

(I) James Pierpont, founder of the 
family herein dealt with, emigrated to 
America with two sons: John, of further 
mention ; and Robert. 

(II) John Pierpont, son of James Pier- 
pont, was born in London, England, in 
1619, and came to America with his 
father, settling in Roxbury, Massachu- 
setts, now a part of Boston, where he 

Conn-7-14 200, 



bought three hundred acres of land lb- 
was ;i deputy to the General Court, ami 
died in [682. 

lie married Thankful Stow. Their 
children were: i. Thankful, born Novem- 
ber 26, 1649, died young. _'. John, born 
July 22, 165 1, died young. 3. John, born 
October 28, [652, 4. Experience, born 
January 4, 1655. 5. Infant, born August 
3, 1657, died young. 6. Janus, of further 
mention. 7. Kbcne/cr, born December 
21, 1 66 1. 8. Thankful, born November 
18, 1663. 9. Joseph, born April 6, 1666. 
10. Benjamin, born July 26, 1668. 

(Ill) Rev. James (2) Pierpont, son of 
John and Thankful (Stow) Pierpont, was 
born in Roxbury, Massachusetts, Janu- 
ary 4. 1059. lie was a graduate of Har- 
vard College in the class of 1681, and 
three years later preached before the 
church in New Haven as a candidate. He 
was an able preacher, and in addition to 
his ability won the love and confidence 
of the congregation. He was ordained 
and settled as its pastor in 1685, and re- 
sided in New Haven until his death thirty 
years later. He was the successor of the 
Rev. John Davenport, and through the 
influence of his position in the community 
and the recognized value of his counsel, 
he was able to revive and carry out John 
Davenport's long cherished plan for a 
college in Connecticut. Through his in- 
fluence and efforts the original board of 
trustees of Yale College was organized, 
a charter secured, and a rector appointed. 
Tradition also states that he presented 
six of the original forty-one books which 
were the foundation of the College Li- 
brary. Mr. Pierpont has been called the 
"Founder of Yale." Largely through his 
energy and foresight, the college was es- 
tablished, and he guided it through the 
early struggle for a firm footing. He was 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



instrumental also in securing Elihu Yale's 
gifts. 

Rev. James Pierpont was a member of 
the Saybrook Synod in 1708, and is said 
to have drawn up the articles of the fa- 
mous "Saybrook Platform" which aimed 
to promote discipline and closer fellow- 
ship among the churches of Connecticut. 
He was one of the leaders of the Synod, 
and was noted throughout New England 
for the nobility of his character and the 
spirituality of his life. His only publica- 
tion was a sermon preached in Cotton 
Mather's pulpit in 1712, on "Sundry False 
Hopes of Heaven Discovered and De- 
cryed." 

He married (first) Abigail, granddaugh- 
ter of John Davenport, October 27, 1691, 
who died February 3, 1692. He married 
(second) May 30, 1694, at Hartford, Con- 
necticut, Sarah, daughter of Rev. Joseph 
Haynes ; she died October 7, 1696. He 
married (third) in 1698, Mary Hooker, 
born July 3, 1673, died November 1, 1740, 
daughter of Rev. Samuel Hooker, of 
Farmington, and a granddaughter of Rev. 
Thomas Hooker, of Hartford. Child of 
second wife : Abigail, born September 
19, 1696. Children of third wife: James, 
born May 21, 1699; Samuel, born De- 
cember 30, 1700; Mary, born November 
23, 1702 ; Joseph, of further mention ; Ben- 
jamin, born July 18, 1706, died December 
17, 1706; Benjamin, born October 15, 
l 7°7> graduate of Yale College, 1726; 
Sarah, born January 9, 1709, married Jon- 
athan Edwards, the noted divine ; Heze- 
kiah, born May 6, 1712. 

Rev. James Pierpont died November 2, 
1714, and is buried under the present 
Center Church in New Haven. A me- 
morial tablet in this church has upon it 
the chief facts of his life, the engraved 
arms of the Pierpont family, and the fol- 
lowing inscription: "His gracious gifts 



and fervent piety, elegant and winning 
manners were devoutly spent in the serv- 
ice of his Lord and Master." Among the 
lineal descendants of James Pierpont were 
Jonathan Edwards, the younger, his 
grandson ; the elder President Timothy 
Dwight, his great-grandson ; and the 
younger President Timothy Dwight, late 
president of Yale College. His portrait, 
which was presented to the College, hangs 
in Alumni Hall. 

(IV) Joseph Pierpont, son of Rev. 
James (2) and Mary (Hooker) Pierpont, 
was born in New Haven, Connecticut, 
October 21, 1704. He married Hannah 
Russell, who died in 1748. Among their 
children was Mary, who married, on 
March 13, 1756, Richard Brockett, son of 
Moses and Lydia Ann (Granis) Brockett 
(see Brockett IV). She was born Octo- 
ber 20, 1738, and died June 21, 1773. 

(The Brockett Line). 

Arms — Or, a cross patonce, sable. 
Crest — A stag lodged sable, ducally gorged and 
lined or. 
Motto — Crux mea lux. 

The name of Brockett, a very old and 
honored one, appears very early in the 
records of English history, and is traced 
authentically to the year 1201 A. D. It 
is of Saxon origin, and in all probability 
was established in England at the time 
of the Saxon invasion in the seventh 
century, A. D. The family has always 
been held in high repute locally, and is 
connected through marriage with sev- 
eral of the most noble lineages in Eng- 
land. Several of its members fought in 
the Crusades, and a mark of the trend of 
the times, as well as of the character of the 
house, is found in the motto still retained 
in the Brockett coat-of-arms, namely, 
Crux mea lux — The cross my light. The 
Brocketts have from time to time acquired 



210 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOCKAPHY 



the following manors: Manor of Alme- 
shoebury, Letchworth, Rathamsted, Ayot 
St. Lawrence, Ayot St. Peter, Offiey Mag- 
na, Mandlesen, Spain's Hall. Brockett 
Hall, the ancestral home of the family, 
was located in Wheathamstead, County 
Herts, originally described as Watam- 
stede, inthe Domesday Book. This estate 
originally adjoined Hatfield, which is noted 
in history. In the year 131J, Brockett 
Hall was the meeting place of the Barons 
in their war against Edward II. 

\ tradition which has existed for two 
hundred years in New Haven, traces the 
ancestry of the progenitor of the Amer- 
ican Brocketts, John Brockett. to this 
famous English family above mentioned. 
John Brockett is thought to have been 
the eldest son of Sir John Brockett, of 
Brockett Hall, Hertfordshire, England, 
disinherited because of his sympathies 
with the Puritanism then gaining a strong 
foothold in England. Because of perse- 
cution of Puritanism in England and fam- 
ily disagreement, John Brockett came to 
America, in 1637. 

(I) John Brockett, who is the first of 
that patronymic to be mentioned in rec- 
ords in this country, was born in Eng- 
land in 1609, and came to America in 
1637, probably in the ship "Hector,"' ar- 
riving in Boston, June 26, 1637, in com- 
pany with Rev. John Davenport and 
Theophilus Eaton. 

It is said of the little band which ac- 
companied the Rev. John Davenport, 
"They were gentlemen of wealth and 
character , with their servants and house- 
hold effects. They were for the most 
part from London, and had been bred 
to mercantile and commercial pursuits. 
Their coming was hailed at Boston with 
much joy, for they were the most opulent 
of the companies who had emigrated to 
Xew England." These men were un- 



willing to join the Massachusetts Colony, 
ami explored the coast of Long Island in 
search of a site <>n which to settle. They 

selected a tract of laud near the Quin- 

ipiac river, the site of tin- present city of 
New Haven, and left seven of their num- 
ber to hold it for the winter. In the 
-|)iiiiL, r of the following year, the Rev. 
Mr. Davenport, and a company of men. 
among whom was John Brockett, reached 
the site, bought the ground from the In- 
dians, and set up an independent govern- 
ment or "Plantation Covenant," founded, 
as were all the early governments of New- 
England, on a stern religious basis. They 
called the town which they founded, New- 
Haven. In the early Colonial records of 
Xew England and New Haven, the name 
of John Brockett appears more often than 
any other name with the exception of 
Theophilus Eaton. He was a man of im- 
portance and influence in the civic organ- 
ization, and because of his ability and ex- 
cellent judgment was often called upon 
to represent the community. In the set- 
tling of difficulties with the Indian tribes 
of the neighborhood, he was appointed 
"one of a committee of four to investigate 
and advise with the Indians." He was 
also appointed commissioner to settle the 
question as to boundary lines between the 
Connecticut Colony at Hartford and the 
New Haven Colony. John Brockett was 
skilled and well known as a civil engineer 
and surveyor, and his services were often 
needed in the town. In June, 1639, he 
laid out the square which is now the cen- 
ter of the city of New I laven in nine equal 
sections, calling forth mention in the 
Colonial Records for the perfection of his 
work. Shortly thereafter the governor of 
New Jersey deputed John Brockett "to 
lay out, survey, and bound the said 
bounds of Elizabeth Towne (now the city 
of Elizabeth, New Jersey), the planting 



211 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



fields, town lots, and to lay out every 
particular man's proposition, according to 
his allotments and the directions of the 
Governor, for the avoiding of all contro- 
versies and disputes concerning the same, 
having had certain notice of the good 
experience, knowledge, skill and faithful- 
ness of John Brockett in the surveying 
and laying out of land." As a reward for 
his services in the above instance he was 
allotted a portion of land in Elizabeth, 
which he held until 1670, when he sold it 
to one Samuel Hopkins. During the 
time he was surveying in Elizabethtown 
(from December, 1667, to 1670), John 
Brockett lived there, and became an im- 
portant member of the community, and 
was chosen, with John Ogden, Sr., to rep- 
resent the town in the House of Bur- 
gesses. 

One of the Connecticut religious papers, 
published in 1868, refers to John Brockett 
as follows : 

John Brockett, the eldest son of Sir John 
Brockett, of the County of Herts, England, who 
was a well known loyalist of the time of Charles 
I., becoming convinced of the truth of the Gospel 
as preached by the Puritans, relinquished his 
birthright and all his prospects of honor and 
fame, joined himself to the little company of 
Rev. John Davenport, emigrated to New England 
and settled at New Haven in 1637. Of him, as 
of Moses, it could be said that he preferred to 
suffer affliction with the people of God than to 
enjoy the pleasures of Sin for a season. 

There is no record of his marriage. 
However, a seat was assigned in the 
church to "Sister Brockett" in 1646. It 
is supposed that John Brockett married 
in England, in 1640 or 1641, during which 
time he returned to England for a visit. 
He did not. however, bring his wife to 
America until 1644 or 1645. He was ap- 
pointed surgeon in King Philip's War, 
and was deputy to the General Court of 



Connecticut during the years 1671, 1678 
1680, 1682, and 1685. 

In the autumn of 1669, John Brockett 
was one of the men appointed by the one 
hundred settlers of YYallingford, an off- 
shoot of the New Haven colony, "to man- 
age all plantation affairs in ye said vil- 
lage." In the first allotment of land in 
YYallingford, John Brockett received 
twelve acres, and his son John, eight 
acres. His house lot was "No. 1 at the 
extreme south end of the village 40 rods 
long and 20 rods wide, subsequently ex- 
tended to Wharton's Brook." He was 
one of the thirteen men who founded the 
Congregational church at Wallingford, 
deciding "that there be a church of Christ 
gathered to walk according to the Con- 
gregational way." 

John Brockett died in Wallingford, 
Connecticut, on March 12, 1690. at the 
age of eighty years. His children were : 
I. John, of further mention. 2. Benjamin, 
born February 23, 1645, died the same 
year. 3. Be Fruitful, twin of Benjamin. 
4. Mary, born September 25, 1646; mar- 
ried Ephraim Pennington. 5. Silence, 
born January 4, 1648; married, at Mil- 
ford, October 25, 1667, Joseph Bradley. 
6. Benjamin, born December, 1648; mar- 
ried Elizabeth Barnes. 7. Abigail, born 
March 10, 1650; married John Payne, Jan- 
uary 22, 1673; died July 4, 1729. 8. Sam- 
uel, born January 14, 1652 ; married Sarah 
Bradley. 9. Jabez, born and died in 1654. 
10. Jabez, born October 24, 1656; mar- 
ried Dorothy Lyman. 

(II) John (2) Brockett, son of John 
(1) Brockett, the progenitor, was born 
in New Haven in 1642, and baptized Jan- 
uary 31, 1643. He was educated at Ox- 
ford University, in England, for the med- 
ical profession. Upon returning to Amer- 
ica he began to practice in New Haven, 
but soon located at Muddy River, near 



212 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Ndrth Haven, between New Haven and 
Wallingford, where he remained during 
lu- lifetime. He owned a large and care- 
fully selected librarj of valuable medical 
works, which he gave to Yale College at 

his death. ! n the first allotment of land 
in Wallingford he received eight acres, 
as has already been mentioned. In 1089 
he was given forty-fonr acres. He was 
the first physician to permanently reside 
in the New Haven Colony, and as such 
was a man of importance. Under his 
father's will Dr. John Brockett received 
large quantities oi land, and in addition 
to his practice he carried on extensive 
farming. 

Dr. Brockett married Klizaheth Doo- 
little, daughter of Ahraham Doolittle, one 
of the men elected with John Brockett. 
Sr., to manage the affairs of Wallingford. 
She was horn April 12. 1652, and died 
March, 1731. Dr. John Brockett died in 
November, 1720, and his will, dated New 
Haven, August 31. 1720, gives all his 
property to his widow, who was his sole 
executrix. Their children were : 1. Mary, 
horn May 6, 1673, died in 1673. 2. Mary, 
horn February 18, 1674: married Law- 
rence Clinton. 3. John, born October 23, 
1676, died November 29, 1676. 4. Eliza- 
beth, born November 26, 1677, married 
John Granis, October 12, 1710, at Wal- 
lingford, Connecticut. 5. Benjamin, born 
and died in 1679. 6. Moses, of further 
mention. 7. Abigail, born March 31, 
1683; married John Pardee, July 9, 1712; 
died August 2, 1752. 8. John, born Sep- 
tember 13. 1686, died November 17, 1709. 
9. Samuel, born November 8, 1691 ; mar- 
ried Mehitable Hill, daughter of John Hill, 
August 5, 1712. 

(Ill) Moses Brockett, son of John (2) 
and Elizabeth (Doolittle) Brockett. was 
born in Wallingford, Connecticut, April 
jt,, 1680. He married Lydia Ann Granis, 



on January 8, 170'), and was among the 
earliest settlers at Muddy River. He was 
a wealthy farmer and land owner, one 
single piece of his land being one mile in 
width and two miles long. He was an 
active member of the First Ecclesiastical 
Society, and his name is recorded in the 
manuscript notes of President Fzra 
Stile-, <>f Yale College. 

His wife died April 6, 1742. He died 
November 5, 1764. Their children were: 
1. Anne, born September 27, 1707; mar- 
ried Daniel Barnes, March 25, 1728. 2. 
Silence, born November 3, 1709; married 
a Mr. Frisbie. 3. Lydia, born August 28, 
1712; married Henry Barnes, November 
29, 1744. 4. Moses, born January 17, 
1714; married Priscilla Granis. 5. Sam- 
uel, born March, 1 7 1 5. 6. Benjamin, born 
December, 1716. 7. Elizabeth, born May 
9, 1718; married Jared Robinson, July 14, 
1747. 8. Mary, born June 26, 1719; mar- 
ried John Jacobs, July 18, 1749. 9. Abra- 
ham, born May 19, 1721, died April 7, 
1774. 10. Abigail, twin of Abraham, mar- 
ried a Mr. Barnes. 11. John, born Decem- 
ber 31, 1722; married (first) Thankful 
Frost; (second) M. Cooper. 12. Eben- 
ezer, born July, 1724; married Esther 
Hoadley. 13. Abel, born August 11, 1725; 
married Hannah Pierpont, July 24, 1755. 
14. Richard, of further mention. 15. 
Stephen, born March 20, 1729; married 
Mabel M. Barnes, March 27, 1771. 16. 
Sarah, born May 29, 1731 ; married Ste- 
phen Hitchcock, September 16, 1 77 1 . 17. 
Ichabod, born November, 1733. 18. 
Keziah, born June 13, 1735; married a 
Mr. Sanford. 

(IV) Richard Brockett, son of Moses 
and Lydia Ann (Granis) Brockett, was 
born September 11, 1727. On March 13, 
1756, he married Mary Pierpont, daugh- 
ter of Joseph and Hannah (Russell) Pier- 
pont. She was a granddaughter of Rev. 



213 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



James Pierpont, one of the founders of 
Yale College, and for thirty years pastor 
of the First Church in New Haven, Con- 
necticut. She was also a granddaughter 
of the Rev. Thomas Hooker, one of the 
founders of the Connecticut Colony at 
Hartford. She was born October 20, 
1738, and died June 21, 1773. In 1760 
Richard Brockett and Mary, his wife, 
were members of the Congregational 
church in New Haven. On December 14, 
1790, seventeen years after the death of 
his first wife, he married a widow, Jemima 
Jacobs, who survived him and died on 
September 7, 1830. 

The children of Richard and Mary 
(Pierpont) Brockett were: 1. Joseph, 
born January 17, 1757; married Rebecca 
Tuttle. 2. Mary, born March 13, 1759; 
married James Ives, of Great Barrington, 
June 16, 1779. 3. Giles, of further men- 
tion. 4. Lydia, born November 29, 1763; 
married Philemon Blakeslee, February 22, 
l 7%7- 5- Richard, born January, 1768. 6. 
Jesse, born January 16, 1770, died January 
17, 1770. 7. Jesse, born February 10, 
1772, died February 13, 1772. 

(V) Giles Brockett, son of Richard and 
Mary (Pierpont) Brockett, was born in 
North Haven, Connecticut, April 30, 
1761. During the Revolutionary War he 
enlisted in 1778 with the Connecticut 
troops under Colonel Mead. His name is 
on the pension list in 1832. At the close 
of the war he decided to become a sailor, 
but after one or two voyages to the West 
Indies, returned to North Haven and be- 
came a farmer. He was a public man, 
and quite prominent in his community. 
He was deputy to the General Court in 
1804, and Representative in the Connec- 
ticut State Legislature in 1809. 

Mr. Brockett married, November 17, 
1785, Sarah Smith, daughter of Captain 
Stephen Smith, of New Haven. She was 



born on July 10, 1768, and died November 
27, 1841. Giles Brockett was a Mason, 
and he and his wife were members of 
the First Congregational Church in Wa- 
terbury, where they removed in 1803. 
He died there June 2, 1842. Their chil- 
dren were: 1. Polly, of further mention. 
2. Sarah, born January 20, 1789; married 
Samuel D. Castle. 3. Patty, born April 
29, 1791 ; married A. H. Johnson. 4. Har- 
riet, born March 28, 1794; married Col- 
onel Samuel Peck. 5. Roswell, born July 
17, 1796, died, unmarried, in Greenville, 
Michigan, on April 1, 1853. 6. Lydia, 
born July 17, 1798; married Smith Miller. 
(VI) Polly Brockett, daughter of Giles 
and Sarah (Smith) Brockett, was born 
December 21, 1786. She married Samuel 
Hill, of Waterbury (see Hill), on October 
14, 1807. He was born September 4. 
1784, and died April 26, 1834. 



REICHE, Karl Augustus, 
Educator. 

A concentration of purpose is one of the 
first requisites for the man who would 
succeed, and when this is backed by force 
of character the best possible combination 
of aims and characteristics is formed. 
The possessor of these qualities is a man 
of achievement, and these are the qual- 
ities which have been important factors 
in the rise of Karl Augustus Reiche to 
the office he now holds, Superintendent 
of Schools of the city of Bristol, Connec- 
ticut. 

Mr. Reiche was born July 26, 1885, in 
Hartford, Connecticut, son of Charles 
E. and Marie Antoinette (Ellenberger) 
Reiche. Charles E. Reiche was born in 
1857, in Germany, coming to America 
when but a lad, and was living in Hart- 
ford when he was fifteen years of age. 
After he had reached manhood's estate, 



214 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BK >GRAPHY 



he engaged in business iii that city and 
for mam years was among the most re- 
spected citizens there, engaged in the 
manufacture of pool and billiard tables. 

lie married (first) Marie Antoinette El 
lenberger, who was horn in New Ro- 
chelle, New York, and they were the par- 
ents of two suns: Walter Frederick, born 
January 21, 1880, now a resident of IVta- 
luma. California; Karl Augustus, of ex- 
tended mention below. The mother of 
this family died February 6, 1896, and 
Charles E. Reiche married (second) in 
1908, Marion Bailey. He is now retired 
from active business, and makes his home 
in Hartford. 

The elementary education of Karl A. 
Reiche was obtained in the "Old South" 
School of Hartford, and at the Hartford 
Public High School, from which he grad- 
uated in 1904. Subsequently he pursued 
a course at Trinity College in the same 
city, graduating with the degree of D. L. 
in [908. The same year he engaged in 
substitute teaching at the South School, 
and it was soon apparent that he had 
chosen his life's work wisely, being es- 
pecially fitted by training and natural 
talent for that profession. In 1910 he was 
an instructor in the Henry Dwight School 
of Hartford, teaching the seventh grade, 
and the following year was associated 
with the staff of the New Park Avenue 
School, instructor in the ninth grade. 
Again he was a member of the teaching 
force of the South School in 1911-12, hav- 
ing charge of one of the ninth grades of 
that school, and the same year, in recogni- 
tion of his ability, Mr. Reiche was ap- 
pointed assistant to the superintendent of 
the district, and he continued to hold this 
position for one year. 

The city of Bristol had never had a 
trained superintendent in charge of their 
school work previous to 1913, and in that 

2 



year Mr. Reiche was appointed tO the of- 
fice, continuing to the present time, being 
now 1 [919) ill his seventh year of servi 
During these years many new and im- 
portant changes have been brought about 
under his management, and he has been 
the means of furthering many improve- 
ments which have been of benefit to the 
school children and to the general com- 
munity. It is the children of to-day who 
are the men of to-morrow, and many a 
successful man can attribute a large meas- 
ure of his success to the right training he 
received in his youth. A recognized au- 
thority on many phases of school work, 
Mr. Reiche is connected with several 
organizations, in the work of which he 
takes a leading part. He is a member of 
the National Educational Association; the 
New England Superintendents' Associa- 
tion ; is a member of the Connecticut 
State School Superintendents' Associa- 
tion, serving as its acting secretary; a 
member of the Connecticut School Mas- 
ters' Club, of which he is secretary and 
treasurer. He possesses a rare tact for 
organizing and the ability to execute his 
plans, and as scout commissioner of the 
Boy Scouts of Hartford, he succeeded in 
interesting many of the youths and young 
boys of that city. He held a similar posi- 
tion with the Boy Scouts of Bristol and is 
now director of the Bristol Boys' Scout 
Council ; is vice-president and a director 
of the Bristol Boys' Club. During the 
organization of the Bristol Chamber of 
Commerce, Mr. Reiche served as its initial 
acting secretary. 

His social affiliations are with the Ma- 
sonic order, he being a thirty-second de- 
gree Mason, senior warden of Franklin 
Lodge, No. 56, Free and Accepted Ma- 
sons ; member of Lodge Xo. 1010, Benev- 
olent and Protective Order of Elks ; mem- 
ber of the University Club of Hartford; 



'5 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Connecticut Society of Hygiene ; and the 
Connecticut Historical Society. During 
his past seven years in Bristol he has 
been actively engaged in numerous com- 
mittee conferences on many community 
and civic interests. 

Mr. Reiche married, June 26, 1912, Anne 
Emily Fairbrother, daughter of Lorenzo 
D. and Mary (Miller) Fairbrother. Mrs. 
Reiche died December 29, 1918. They 
have one son, Charles E. (2) Reiche, born 
October 13, 1913. 

One of the secrets of Mr. Reiche's suc- 
cess in his chosen field of work is his 
grasp of the personal side, his sympathy, 
and his realization of the value of the 
encouraging word spoken at the right 
moment. The best years of his life are 
before him, and with his vigor and mental 
acquirements he is richly endowed to 
make an honored name for himself. 



BRADLEY, George Lothrop, 
Man of Affairs. 

Arms — Gules a fesse argent between three 
boars' heads couped or. 

Crest — A boar sable bristled and hoofed or, 
gorged with a garland vert. 

The name Bradley is of Anglo-Saxon 
origin, and is a compound of Brad 
(broad) and lea (a field or meadow). It 
is local in derivation, and it can be readily 
seen that William of the broad lea would 
in the evolution of surnames become Wil- 
liam Bradley. The earliest mention of 
the name in England occurs in the year 
1 183, when the Lord High Bishop of Dur- 
ham mentions an estate in Wollsingham 
which contained three hundred acres, and 
another at Bradley of forty acres, held by 
Roger de Bradley. 

There are numerous townships bearing 
the name located in Cheshire, Lincoln- 
shire, Derbyshire, Southampton and Staf- 



fordshire, the latter of which counties 
contains Bradley estates and townships 
of very great extent. In 1437 there is 
mention of the Bradleys of Bradley. 
Again in 1475 tne will of Sir John Pil- 
kington, Knight, of Yorkshire, bequeathed 
to his brother Charles a place named 
Bradley. There are great and small Brad- 
ley parishes in Suffolk, and Lower and 
Upper Bradley in Kildwick, Yorkshire. 
John Bradley was Bishop of Shaftsbury 
in 1539. In 1578 Alexander Bradley re- 
sided in the See of Durham, and about the 
same time Cuthbertus Bradley was curate 
of Barnarde Castle. Thomas Bradley was 
Doctor of Divinity and chaplain to King 
Charles I., and afterward prebend of the 
Cathedral Church of York and rector of 
Ackworth. His son, Savile, was fellow 
of Magdalen College, Oxford, and another 
son, Thomas, was a merchant in Virginia. 

During this period the persecutions and 
religious intolerance in England led many 
to emigrate to America ; emigration in- 
creased to such an extent that a tax aimed 
at curtailing it was levied on all who 
left the country. This led many to slip 
away by stealth, leaving no record of 
their departure. Among the original lists 
of emigrants, religious exiles, etc., a num- 
ber of Bradleys are mentioned. There 
are several distinct branches of the fam- 
ily in America tracing their lineage to the 
several founders who came to the New 
World in the seventeenth century. Few 
branches have produced as distinguished 
a progeny as the Massachusetts Brad- 
leys, of which family the Hon. Charles 
Smith Bradley, Chief Justice of the Su- 
preme Court of Rhode Island, was a 
member. 

(I) Joseph Bradley, the immigrant an- 
cestor and founder, was born in London, 
England, in 1649, and settled in Haver- 
hill, Massachusetts, in 1659. He married, 



216 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



April 4, 1691, Hannah Heath, of Haver- 
hill, and rose to prominence in the life 

and affairs of the town toward the close 
of the seventeenth century. The fifth 

garrison was in his house and under his 
command. The Bradley family was 
among- those of early Haverhill who suf- 
fered severely from the Indian raids. In 
[697 Joseph, Martha and Sarah Bradley 
were captured by the Indians. On April 
17, 1701, Daniel Bradley was reported 
missing. The wife of Joseph Bradley 
was captured twice. The garrison at his 
house was surprised, February 8, 1704, 
and his wife taken for the second time and 
carried away. An infant child, born to 
her soon afterward, died of exposure and 
want, or was killed, as the following an- 
cient tradition states. Hannah Bradley 
received no kindness from her captors. 
subsisting on bits of skin, ground nuts, 
bark of trees, wild onions and lily roots, 
on the terrible journey to Canada, after 
the birth of her child. The child was 
sickly and annoyed the Indians with its 
crying. They thrust embers from the fire 
in its mouth, gashed its forehead with 
their knives, and finally, during her tem- 
porary absence from it, ended its life by 
impaling it on a pike. She managed to 
live through the journey and was sold 
to the French in Canada for eighty livres. 
She was kindly treated by her owners. 
In March. 1705, her husband started for 
Canada on foot, with a dog and small sled, 
taking with him a bag of snuff to the Gov- 
ernor of Canada from the Governor of 
Massachusetts. He redeemed his wife 
and set sail for Boston. We are told that 
during one attack on the Bradley house 
she poured hot soft soap on an Indian 
and killed him, and that the torture of her 
child was in retaliation. Joseph Bradley 
died October 3. 1729; his widow Hannah, 
November 2, 1761. 



(II) Isaac Bradley, son of Joseph and 
Hannah (Heath) Bradley, was horn in 

Haverhill, Massachusetts, in 1680. Dur- 
ing an Indian raid, Isaac Bradley, aged 
fifteen, and Joseph Whitakcr, aged eleven, 
were taken captive while in the open fields 
mar Joseph Bradley's house on Parson- 
age road, near the north brook. Joseph 
was, tradition tells us, a large, overgrown, 
ami an exceedingly clumsy boy. On their 
arrival at the [ndan camp at the lake, the 
boys were placed in an Indian family 
until the spring, when the Indians in- 
tended to take them to Canada. Isaac 
contracted a fever, and the kindness and 
care of the squaw alone saved his life. 
On his recovery he planned to escape, 
managed to get away with his companion, 
and continued to the southward all night. 
The Indians pursued them the following 
day, and their dogs found the boys. They 
gave the meat they had taken for food to 
the dogs, who knew them, and were saved 
by concealing themselves with the ani- 
mals in a hollow log. Some days later 
they came upon an Indian camp, but es- 
caped without detection. They continued 
almost without food or clothing for eight 
days. On the morning of the eighth day. 
Joseph sank down exhausted and Isaac 
Bradley went on alone, shortly afterward 
reaching a settler's camp, and returning 
for young Whitaker, whom he left at 
Saco, continuing on to Haverhill alone. 

Isaac Bradley married, at Haverhill, 
Massachusetts, intentions dated May 16, 
1706, Elizabeth Clement. 

(III) John Bradley, son of Isaac and 
Elizabeth (Clement) Bradley, was born 
at Haverhill, Massachusetts, April 10, 
1709. He married, and resided in Haver- 
hill all his life, a prosperous and well 
known member of the community. 

( IV) Lieutenant Jonathan Bradley, son 
of John Bradley, was born at Haverhill, 

■17 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Massachusetts, and baptized there, Feb- 
ruary 22, 1746-47. He served with valor 
during the American Revolution, and held 
the rank of second lieutenant in Captain 
Stephen Webster's company, Fourth Es- 
sex County Regiment, in 1778. He married 
(first) (intentions dated February 11, 
1773), Sarah Osgood, of Andover, where 
she died September 14, 1790, aged forty; 
he married (second) April 14, 1791. Sarah 
Ayer, who died October 20, 1820, aged 
sixty-five, at Andover. Lieutenant Jon- 
athan Bradley was a resident of Andover 
for the greater part of his life, and was 
one of the leading men of the town in his 
day. He died there, February 23, 1818, 
aged seventy-three years. 

(V) Charles Bradley, son of Lieutenant 
Jonathan and Sarah (Ayer) Bradley, was 
born at Andover, Massachusetts, Decem- 
ber 17, 1792. He married (intentions 
dated at Newburyport, November 14, 
1817) Sarah Smith, of Haverhill. She 
was a daughter of Jonathan K. Smith, and 
a granddaughter of Rev. Hezekiah Smith, 
a famous chaplain of the Massachusetts 
troops in the Revolution, and for more 
than forty years one of the fellows of 
Brown University. Charles Bradley was 
a prominent merchant of Boston, and af- 
terward a manufacturer in Portland, 
Maine. 

(VI) Hon. Charles Smith Bradley, son 
of Charles and Sarah (Smith) Bradley, 
was born in Newburyport, Massachu- 
setts, July 18, 1819. He enjoyed excel- 
lent educational advantages, and prepared 
for college in the Boston Latin School. 
He entered Brown University, drawn to 
it by the regard he had for his great- 
grandfather, and in 1838 was graduated 
with the highest honors in his class, 
which contained an unusual number of 
brilliant men. Several years following 
were spent in post-graduate study in the 



University, and after taking the degree 
of Master of Arts he chose the legal pro- 
fession for his work in life, and entered 
the Harvard Law School. Completing his 
studies for the bar in the law office of 
Charles F. Tillinghast, of Providence, he 
was admitted to the bar in 1841. In the 
same year he formed a partnership with 
Mr. Tillinghast. 

He sprang rapidly into prominence 
through his eloquence as a speaker. His 
public utterances were all characterized 
by a masterly power of reasoning, com- 
prehensive knowledge, and a polished dic- 
tion which led to his appointment often 
to speak on political and literary occa- 
sions. In 1854 he was elected by the town 
of North Providence to the Senate of the 
State, where he was influential in secur- 
ing the Act of Amnesty to all who had 
taken part in the Dorr Rebellion of 1842. 
At a public meeting in Providence, June 
9, 1856, relative to the assault of Brooks 
on Sumner in the United States Senate, 
he said : 

Is it not well that the second city in New Eng- 
land, the first which is not connected by any per- 
sonal ties with Mr. Sumner, should speak of this 
outrage, not in the first flush of our indignation, 
but in the tones of deliberate condemnation? 
* * * YVe know that brutality and cowardice 
go hand in hand, because brutal passions and 
true moral courage cannot harmonize in the same 
.character. * * * If the South upholds this 
act, the antagonism of their civilization and ours 
will mount higher and come closer and closer; 
and it requires no horoscope to show the future. 

Judge Bradley was a conscientious 
member of the Democratic party through- 
out his life, but had the support and con- 
fidence of men of all parties in the city 
and State. He represented Rhode Island 
repeatedly in the National Democratic 
Conventions, notably that of i860, when 
the party was divided, and he adhered to 
the Unionists, casting his vote for Ste- 



218 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



phen A. Douglas. In [863 he was the 
Democratic nominee for Congress. In 
February, i8v>6, he was elected Chief Jus- 
tice of the Supreme Court of Rhode Is- 
land, as successor to Hon. Samuel Anns, 
receiving the honor at the hands of a 
Republican Legislature. After two years 
on the bench, years in which he dis- 
charged tin- duties of his office with con- 
summate ability and with the greatest 
honor to himself and to the State, he re- 
signed to give his entire attention to his 
private practice. On the occasion of his 
retirement from the hench the "Provi- 
dence Journal" observed : 

He has discharged the duties belonging to that 
high position with a success, and, we may add. 
a judicial distinction, in which the people of the 
State feci both a satisfaction and pride, and which 
they had hoped he would long continue to illus- 
trate in a sphere so honorable and important. 

On the occasion of the opening of the 
Rhode Island Hospital, Judge Bradley, 
a generous donor to the fund of $80,000 
which was raised at the time, remarked 
in his address : 

Every human being is united, by mysterious 
ties, with all the past and all of the future. Those 
who most fully realize the greatness of our being 
have the strongest desire to live after death, even 
on earth. It is no personal ambition, but a 
diviner instinct, which leads such nature to found, 
or to ally themselves with, great institutions, 
whose perennial existence of beneficence shall 
outlast their names and their memories among 
men. * * * Our State will bear proudly on 
its bosom through coming centuries this insti- 
tution, expressing in its object, and its architec- 
ture the humanity of the age. * * * In aiding, 
you place stones of beauty in these walls, where- 
on the All-Seeing Eye, it may not irreverently be 
said, shall read your name, though time and 
storm shall have written their wild signatures 
upon them. * * * The sons and daughters of 
toil, as the day calls them to work and the night 
to rest, will look upon these towers, blending with 
the morning and the evening sky, with their 
tearful benedictions. In the time of illness and 
accident, if the struggle of life presses too hard 



upon them, this shall lie their honorable refuge, 

builded with a beneficence akin '•>. and sanctioned 

by, the I >i\ ine 

In 1 866 Judge Iiradlcy received the hon- 
orary degree of 1. 1.. I), from Brown Uni- 
versity, and was al-o elected one of the 
fellows of that institution. For three 
years lie officiated as lecturer in the Law 
School of I harvard University. In 1876 
he was chosen professor of that school, 
and tilled the chair with remarkable abil- 
ity until 1879. O' 1 ms retirement the 
board of overseers, through their chair- 
man, Judge Lowell, said : 

We have suffered a great loss in the resignation 
of Hon. Charles S. Bradley, whose lucid and 
practical teaching was highly appreciated by the 
students, and whose national reputation added to 
the renown of the school. We had hoped that 
some incidental advantage of quiet and freedom 
from care might be found to outweigh other 
considerations, and that the professorship was 
permanently filled. 

Judge Bradley traveled widely in Amer- 
ica, and at different times had visited 
nearly all portions of Europe. With his 
love of letters and broad scholarship he 
united a genuine and strong love for agri- 
culture and rural enjoyments, which was 
perhaps in a large degree an inherited 
passion. The grounds about his elegant 
rc-idence in Providence, his farm prop- 
erty, and his attachment to ancestral es- 
tates, were a proof of his appreciation of 
all that belongs to the oldest and most 
important of human occupations. His 
tastes and culture were manifested in his 
great love for superior works of art, of 
which he had many noted specimens in 
his home. His oration before the Alumni 
Association of Brown University in 1855, 
his oration on the 250th anniversary of 
the landing of the Pilgrims at Plymouth, 
his remarks on the retirement of Presi- 
dent Caswell from the presidency of the 
University in 1872, and his oration before 



219 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



the Phi Beta Kappa Society of Harvard 
University in 1879, were models of rich 
thought, graceful diction, and lucid argu- 
ment, vindicating his right to be classed 
as one of the most impressive orators of 
his day in the United States. Of his 
address before the Phi Beta Kappa So- 
ciety, the Boston "Daily Advertiser" ob- 
served : 

If there were any need for justification of the 
custom of annual addresses before the college 
societies, such an address as Judge Bradley's 
yesterday gave that justification completely. It 
is, indeed, remarkable to see an audience of so 
distinguished men of leading position in every 
walk of life. It is remarkable to have so much 
good sense, so many important suggestions, nay, 
so many of the fundamental truths upon which 
civilized society rests, crowded into one hour. 
The power of the speaker on his audience, the 
hold with which he compelled their fascinated 
attention were again and again referred to 
through the afternoon. This is not simply the 
attention which people give to what they hear 
with pleasure, it was the satisfaction with which 
the audience received important principles, of 
which they felt the value, whether they were or 
were not new to the hearer. Vero pro gratiis in- 
deed might well be taken as the motto of the ad- 
dress, the passage which showed how the bar of 
the country must be relied upon to maintain at 
the highest the dignity of the bench was received 
with profound sympathy and interest. It deserves 
the careful attention of the bar in every part of 
the country. 

His oration on "The Profession of the 
Law as an Element of Civil Society," 
pronounced June 29, 1881, before the So- 
cieties of the University of Virginia, was 
regarded "as a learned and profound dis- 
cussion of this subject, in which he ar- 
gued that the bar is essential to the ad- 
ministration of justice, that the adminis- 
tration of justice is essential to the ex- 
istence of society, and the existence of so- 
ciety essential for the protection of man 
in his endeavors to live according to the 
laws of his being." 

Judge Bradley married (first) April 28, 



1842, Sarah Manton, daughter of Joseph 
and Mary (Whipple) Manton, of Provi- 
dence, Rhode Island. She was born 
March 10, 1818, and died December 12, 
1854, survived by three sons: 1. Joseph 
Manton, who died March 7, 1879, unmar- 
ried. 2. Charles, of whom see forward. 

3. George Lothrop, of whom see forward. 
Judge Bradley married (second) August 

4, 1858, Charlotte Augusta Saunders, of 
Charlottesville, Virginia, and she died in 
May, 1864, her daughter, Janet Laurie, 
dying in the same month. He married 
(third) in May, 1866, Emma Pendleton 
(Ward) Chambers, of Winchester, Vir- 
ginia, who died February 28, 1875. Judge 
Bradley died in New York City, April 29, 
1888, while on a visit to his son, the late 
George Lothrop Bradley. 

(VII) Charles (2) Bradley, son of the 
late Chief Justice Charles Smith and 
Sarah (Manton) Bradley, was born in 
Providence, Rhode Island, May 6, 1845. 
He received his early education under 
Dr. S. F. Smith in a private academy in 
Newton, Massachusetts, and later at- 
tended the University Grammar School of 
Providence, where he prepared for col- 
lege. He entered Williams College, and 
was graduated therefrom in 1865. Short- 
ly afterward he entered business life and 
went to Chicago, where he was engaged in 
business for several years. He next went 
to Colorado, where he was interested in 
gold mining, but, tiring of this venture 
and of business life, he returned to Prov- 
idence, where he determined to enter the 
legal profession. 

He prepared for the bar in the office of 
his father in Providence, and after being 
admitted at once began the practice of 
his profession in the office of Bradley & 
Metcalf, of which noted law firm his fa- 
ther was senior member. His legal prac- 
tice dealt more with the technical and in- 



220 



ENCYCLOPEDIA I >F BI< (GRAPHS 



volvcd problems of jurisprudence, and 
was for the greater part conducted in his 

office. He was well known in the ranks 
of the legal profession in Providence as a 
lawyer of fine capability and masterly 
reasoning powers, hut was of a retiring 
disposition, eschewing public life. Mr. 
Bradley spent much time on his country 
estate in the town of Lincoln, taking great 
pride in its beauty. He was essentially 
a homeloving man, and his home was 
that of the man of culture, refinement and 
scholarly tastes. PI is library and art col- 
lection, the nucleus of which had been 
left him by his father, were his special 
attractions. He was a member of the 
Hope and Rhode Island clubs of Provi- 
dence, and of the Rhode Island School of 
Design and the Providence Art Club. 
Mr. Bradley died in the prime of life, No- 
vember 9, 1898, in the fifty-fourth year 
of his age. 

On October 31, 1876, Charles Bradley 
married Jane Whitman Bailey, who was 
born in the town of North Providence, 
July 13, 1S49, daughter of William Ma- 
son and Harriet (Brown) Bailey. Mr. 
and Mrs. Bradley were the parents of the 
following children: 1. Charles, Jr., men- 
tioned below. 2. Alice Whitman, born 
November 5, 1881 ; resides with her 
mother. 3. Joseph Manton, born Decem- 
ber 10, [882; was engaged in business in 
Portland, Oregon, for six years, at the 
end of which time he returned to the 
East, and engaged in cotton manufactur- 
ing in Brattleboro, Vermont; he married 
Margaret S. Walter, of Portland, Ore- 
gon, and they have two children: Joseph 
Manton, Jr., and Margaret Bradley. He 
died in Providence, Rhode Island, March 
x 5< I 9 I 5- 4- Mary Emerson, born June 
18, 1884; married Dr. Emery M. Porter. 
of Providence; issue: Emery Moulton, 
Jr., who died in infancy; George Whip- 
ple ; Jane Bradley, who died in infancy ; 



Arnold, and Nancy Porter. 5. Margaret 
Harrison, born July 6, 1890; married 
Brockholst M. Smith, of Providence, and 
they are the parents of a daughter, 
Helen Bradlej Smith, born in August, 
1 < > 1 ). and a son, Brockholst M. Smith, Jr., 
bom ( Ictober 24, l<;l/. 

i\ llh Charles (3) Bradley, son of 
Charles (2) and Jane Whitman (Bailey) 
Bradley, was born in Providence, Rhode 
Island, December 19, 1877. He was edu- 
cated in the University Grammar School 
of Providence, and entered Brown Uni- 
versity, from which he was graduated in 
the class of 1898. Immediately on com- 
pleting his education, he entered the em- 
ploy of the Bell Telephone Company, and 
was assigned to the Pittsburgh (Pennsyl- 
vania) office in 1900. He rose rapidly to 
the fore in the office in this city, and by 
successive promotions was made super- 
intendent of one of the departments of 
the plant. His promising career was cut 
short by his untimely death, as a result 
of blood-poisoning, on January 17, 1910. 

Charles Bradley married, October 16, 
1901, Helen N. Hunt, daughter of Hora- 
tio A. Hunt, of Providence. Mr. and Mrs. 
Bradley were the parents of the following 
children: Charles, Horatio Hunt, and 
George Lothrop. Mrs. Bradley, who sur- 
vives her husband, and resides at No. 170 
Waterman street, Providence, is well 
known in social life in Providence, and 
has been prominently connected with 
charitable and philanthropic work in the 
city. 

(VII) George Lothrop Bradley, third 
son of the late Chief Justice Charles 
Smith and Sarah (Manton) Bradley, was 
born in Providence, Rhode Island, Octo- 
ber 4, 1S46. He was educated in private 
schools in Providence, and in Newton, 
Massachusetts, later attending the Uni- 
versity Grammar School of Providence, 
where he prepared for Harvard and 



221 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Brown Colleges, passing the preliminary tem. This contract between the two 
examinations for both institutions. He companies resulted in a compromise 
entered neither, however, but, becoming which gave the Bell Company an undis- 
deeply interested in metallurgical engi- puted field. Its stock had gradually in- 
neering, went to Freiburg, Germany, creased in value from one to fifty dollars 
where he pursued a course in this science per share, and eventually rose to $800 
at the School of Mines, from which he per share. Through his holdings in the 
was graduated in 1867. On his return company, Mr. Bradley realized a goodly 
to America, he went to Colorado for the profit. His name ranks among the fore- 
purpose of developing some mining prop- most in the history of the telephone, and 
erty, making the journey across the plains he probably did more to make it a busi- 
in a stage coach, at a time when Indians ness success than any other man in the 
and marauding bands of outlaws infested country. He saw from the outset the 
the region. The coach preceding that in great financial possibilities in what others 
which he was a passenger was attacked of recognized foresight had regarded as a 
by Indians and all its occupants killed, mere mechanical toy, and became one of 
After a short period spent in the West, the original investigators and promoters 
which was filled with the thrilling exper- of the invention which has played so im- 
ience of the pioneer days, he returned to portant a part in human progress in the 
his home, and shortly afterward went to past three decades. In his researches he 
South America to investigate mining con- was associated with Professor John 
ditions there. Pierce and Professor Blake, of Brown 
On his return, in Boston he met Profes- University, and, encouraged in the un- 
sor Alexander Graham Bell, then a teacher dertaking by the late Hon. Rowland G. 
of a new system of communication for Hazard, of Peace Dale, who was confident 
deaf mutes, who subsequently went to that the telephone would be as univer- 
Salem, Massachusetts, and, while giving sally used as gas and water, 
instructions there, devoted considerable After establishing the telephone on a 
time to the study and development of the financial basis, in 1883 Mr. Bradley set- 
telephone. Professor Bell later came to tied in Washington, D. C, and became 
Providence, where he met Norman N. actively interested in the Mergenthaler 
Mason, who was then in the apothecary Linotype Company, which had been a 
business, and they with others placed the business failure for more than six years, 
telephone on a practical working basis. With the assistance of the late Hon. Wil- 
Mr. Bradley, deeply interested in the pro- Ham C. Whitney, who was secretary of 
ject, and keenly alive to its possibilities, the United States Navy in President 
was induced to introduce the invention in Cleveland's cabinet, Mr. Bradley put the 
Boston, where in 1876 he organized the latter company in such a sound financial 
New England Telephone Company. In condition that its stock was greatly en- 
the following year he organized the Na- hanced in value. 

tional Telephone Company in New York Mr. Bradley later became interested in 
City. In the meantime the Western Un- the Florida Coast Line Canal and Trans- 
ion Telegraph Company had acquired the portation Company, investing heavily in 
Edison patents for the telephone, and its stock. This company was organized 
there was a contract between the two for the purpose of constructing an inland 
companies for the monopoly of the sys- waterway five hundred and sixty miles in 

222 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 

length along the eastern coast of Florida, not only transformed the eastern section 

Mr. Bradley gave this enterprise not only of Florida from a wilderness into the 

great financial aid, but in addition took an greatest winter resort in the United 

active interest in the management of the States, hut, in addition, gave great im- 
COrporation, and for several years served petUS to the development of the agricul- 
as its president In order to form a con- tural resources of that country by giving 
tinuous navigable inland waterway, it rapid transportation to the growers ot 
was necessary not only to construct canals delicate fruits and vegetables, which en- 
through the divides separating natural abled them to place the products of their 
waters, but to remove shoals from the plantations in the northern and western 
channels of these waters, and in places markets in good condition. The vast im- 
CUt through sharp bends and increase the provements of the Canal Company, too, 
width of a number of tortuous salt-water had drained large bodies of rich marsh 
creeks which form a portion of the route land, which, when the water was lowered, 
selected by the company. The canal is were read}- for the plow, and resulted in 
operated under a State charter and has new agricultural enterprises, as well as 
the right of eminent domain, and privilege the building of new towns and villages on 
of charging tolls on all canals constructed both sides of the waterway for practically 
and channels improved, the tolls to be its entire length. A line of passenger and 
fixed by the president and directors of freight steamers was placed in commis- 
the company, and to be approved by the sion and operated between Titusville and 
board of trustees of the internal improve- Jupiter, one hundred and thirty miles to 
ment fund of the State of Florida. In ad- the south, another important factor in the 
dition to the rights acquired by the canal opening up of this country. Until the 
company under the above law the State year 1892 the inside waters of the Flor- 
Legislature. by special act, granted to ida coast were supposed to be controlled 
the company a land subsidy of 3.840 acres by the State, and the canal company, un- 
per mile for the purpose of enabling those der its charter, improved the channels of 
interested in the project to obtain the the Indian river where necessary. In the 
necessary capital for the construction of latter year, however, through the efforts 
the canals and improvements along the of the late Senator Matthew S. Quay, of 
natural waterways. This policy on the Pennsylvania, an appropriation was made 
part of the State resulted in the Canal by Congress to be expended in still fur- 
Company becoming such a considerable ther improving the river and in enlarging 
owner of land on the east coast of Flor- the canals owned by the land company, 
ida that when an opportunity came to The question of jurisdiction being raised, 
secure the construction of a railroad along the United States Attorney-General gave 
the coast of Biscayne Bay. the Canal the opinion that the appropriation should 
Company decided to grant a land subsidy not be expended until the Florida Coast 
of about 270.000 acres of land to the rail- Line Canal and Transportation Company 
way company, which resulted in the con- waived its rights to charge tolls on the 
struction of one of the best railroads in channels improved by the company be- 
the South. It soon became apparent that tween Titusville and Jupiter. After some 
the directors of the Canal Company had negotiations, an agreement was made 
made no mistake in subsidizing the rail- which provided that no tolls should be 
road, as the construction of this railroad collected on that section of the water- 

223 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



way, and the money appropriated was 
then spent on the channel, and subse- 
quently additional appropriations were 
made for the same purpose. The remain- 
der of the waterway, however, is still 
controlled by the canal company. In the 
launching of this colossal enterprise, in 
the financing of it, and in the subsequent 
work of placing it on a firm business basis, 
Mr. Bradley was one of the leaders. To 
his consummate genius as a business or- 
ganizer, executive and financier, a great 
part of the success of the Florida Coast 
Line Canal and Transportation Company 
is due. As one of the founders of this 
company he had no small part in the in- 
fluential place it holds in the growth and 
development of the interest of Eastern 
Florida. In the difficulties which beset 
the establishment of so phenomenal an 
enterprise, he was ever the wise counselor, 
the keen, sagacious, foresighted man of 
business, and his own belief in the future 
greatness of the gigantic scheme infused 
into all engaged in it the courage which 
carried it through to completion. 

Mr. Bradley possessed the calm, judi- 
cial type of mentality, was essentially an 
individualist and an original thinker. Al- 
though an idealist, he was endowed with 
a genius for the practical which made him 
a farsighted but dependable leader, a man 
whose vision might be relied upon, for it 
was tempered always with a regard for 
the practical. The broad understanding 
and tolerance of the cosmopolite, the cul- 
ture which comes with wide travel, con- 
stant association with men of influence in 
the world of finance, business and the 
professions, was his in a marked degree. 
He was a linguist of no mean ability, a 
fine conversationalist, a forceful and com- 
pelling speaker. He was deeply inter- 
ested in literature and the arts, and his 
home was the center of a thoughtful and 
brilliant society. He was essentially a 



diplomat, a man of affairs, of large visions. 
Nothing of a mean nature entered into 
his life ; he was above the petty disagree- 
ments. Mr. Bradley was a lover of na- 
ture and outdoor life, and took an es- 
pecial pride in his estate, comprising over 
eight hundred acres of land, in Pomfret, 
Connecticut, an ideal spot, commanding 
a magnificent view of the surrounding 
country. He was one of the founders of 
the Pomfret School for Boys, and main- 
tained a deep interest in it until the time 
of his death, serving as a member of the 
board of trustees. 

Mr. Bradley was prominent in social 
and club circles in New York and in 
Washington, D. C. He was a member of 
the Metropolitan, Cosmos, Elite, Chevy 
Chase, and Country clubs of Washington ; 
of the Reform and the Players' clubs of 
New York City ; and also of the National 
Geographical and various other societies. 
He was a man's man, generous, chival- 
rous and upright in every detail of his 
life, surrounding himself with none of 
the barriers which men who have attained 
the place of distinction which was his 
are apt to erect about themselves. In con- 
sequence, he was not only honored and re- 
spected but loved by a vast number of 
friends and acquaintances. 

On June 12, 1878, Mr. Bradley married 
Helen McHenry Chambers, daughter of 
Dr. John Mason Duncan Chambers, a 
prominent physician of Virginia, and his 
wife, Emma Pendleton Ward. Mrs. Brad- 
ley, who survives her husband and resides 
on the Bradley estate at Pomfret, Con- 
necticut, is a descendant from some of the 
earliest Virginia families. She is well 
known in social circles in Rhode Island 
and in Washington, D. C. Mr. and Mrs. 
Bradley were the parents of a daughter, 
Emma Pendleton Bradley. 

George Lothrop Bradley died at his 
home in Washington, D. C, on March 26, 



224 



ENCYCLI (PKDIA ()!• I'.K >( iRAI'I IV 



. in the sixtieth year of his age. By 
the terms of his will, the Bradley estate, 
in Providence, Rhode Island, containing 
twelve acres of land, became the I'mma 
Pendleton Bradley Home for Convales- 
cents and Invalids, in memory of his only 
daughter, Emma Pendleton Bradley. 



SHEPARD, Andrew Nelson, 

Tobacco Grower and Dealer, Legislator. 

A lifelong resident and native of Port- 
land. Connecticut. Andrew Xelson Shep- 
ard has attained an assured position 
among its business men and citizens of 
affairs and worth. He has always been 
interested in the progress and proper con- 
duct of public affairs, has borne no small 
share in their management, and has ac- 
quitted himself with credit to an honored 
name. The name of Shepard is an old one 
in England, and it is easy to conjecture 
its origin, being given when men began 
to employ surnames a few centuries ago. 

( I I Edward Shepard came from Eng- 
land and lived at Cambridge, Massachu- 
setts. His name, with that of his son, 
John Shepard, appears often in the town 
and county records. His will was proved 
August 20, 1680. It is apparent from this 
instrument and from deeds that he was a 
mariner. There is no record of his mar- 
riage or death. His first wife, Violet 
Shepard. died January 9, 1649. His sec- 
ond wife. Mary (Pond) Shepard, was the 
widow of Robert Pond, who died in 1637. 
She was probably the mother of Daniel 
Pond, who married Abigail, daughter of 
Edward and Violet Shepard. 

(II) John Shepard, born 1627, in Eng- 
land, was apparently the eldest son of Ed- 
ward Shepard. He was made a freeman 
at Cambridge, May 22, 1650, and removed 
to Hartford, Connecticut, after 1666. He 
lived on what is now known as Lafavette 



street, south of the new State House, and 
owned lands extending to the Wethers- 
field bounds, lie was known a^ Sergeant 
John Shepard, and is described as a man 
of consequence in the colony. He mar- 
ried, October t, [649, Rebecca, daughter 
of Samuel Greenhill. She died December 
22, [689. 

(III) Edward (2) Shepard, second son 
of John Shepard, was born July 31, 1662. 
He lived in Middletown, Connecticut, 
which town he represented in the Gen- 
eral Court in 1710-II. He married, April 
14, \(>Sj, Abigail Savage, born July 10, 
[666, died October 16, 1719, daughter of 
John and Elizabeth Savage, of Middle- 
town. 

(IV) John (2) Shepard, eldest child of 
Edward (2) Shepard, was born February 
19, 1688. He married, February 17, 1720, 
Sarah Clarke, born September 8, 1692, 
daughter of John and Elizabeth (White) 
Clarke, of Middletown. 

(V) Daniel Shepard, son of John (2) 
Shepard, was born September 16, 1723, 
and died in that part of Middletown 
which is now Portland, August 22, 1798. 
It was then part of the town of Chatham. 
He married, June 30, 1749, Sarah Corn- 
wall, born May 15, 1732, daughter of An- 
drew and Elizabeth (Savage) Cornwall, 
died January 10, 1773, descendant of Wil- 
liam Cornwall, who came from England, 
was a member of John Elliot's church in 
1633, and was at Hartford as early as 
1638. 

(VI) Daniel (2) Shepard, second son 
of Daniel (1) Shepard, was born March 2, 
1754, in that part of Chatham now Port- 
land, and died there October 24, 1850, in 
his ninety-seventh year. He married 



(VII) Erastus Shepard, son of Daniel 
(2) Shepard, was born in 1791 , in Port- 
land, and made his home in that town, 



Conn— 7— IS 



22 = 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



where he died September 15, 1843. He 
married Honor Goodrich, born about 1793, 
daughter of Luther Goodrich, of Chat- 
ham, and probably of his first wife, Free- 
dom (Bidwell) Shepard, who died about 
1797. 

(VIII) Nelson Shepard, third son of 
Erastus and Honor (Goodrich) Shepard, 
was born December 25, 1820, in Portland, 
and made his home in that town through- 
out his life, inheriting from his father a 
farm of sixty acres. On this he built a 
handsome residence in 1856, occupying 
the site of the house in which he was born. 
He was among the first in Connecticut to 
engage in tobacco culture, and made great 
success in the venture, which brought 
him a comfortable fortune. Mr. Shepard 
was one of the most public-spirited citi- 
zens of Portland, and a man of genial 
manners and kindly heart, the friend of 
mankind, active in promoting public wel- 
fare and useful in various official capaci- 
ties. For three years he was a member of 
the Board of Selectmen, represented Port- 
land in the General Assembly, and was 
for three years a county commissioner. 
He was a communicant of the Protestant 
Episcopal church of Glastonbury, of 
which he was a vestryman, and was a 
supporter of the Republican party in pol- 
itics from the time of its organization. 
Mr. Shepard was interested in several 
business institutions of his home town, a 
stockholder in the Middlesex Quarry Com- 
pany, trustee of the Freestone Savings 
Bank, and director and vice-president of 
the National Bank of Portland. 

Mr. Shepard married, in November, 
1844, Elizabeth, daughter of Noah and 
Elizabeth (Goodrich) Tryon. They were 
the parents of four daughters and a son. 
The eldest daughter, Gertrude Elizabeth, 
became the wife of Henry Cromwell, who 
was a soldier of the Civil War, in the 



Twentieth Connecticut Volunteer Infan- 
try. The second daughter, Isabella Ice- 
land, is the wife of Erastus Hubbard 
Crosby. The third and fourth daughters 
died before attaining maturity. The son, 
Andrew Nelson, is mentioned below. 

(IX) Colonel Andrew Nelson Shepard, 
only son of Nelson and Elizabeth (Tryon) 
Shepard, was born May 5, 1862, on the 
paternal homestead in the northern part 
of Portland, near the Glastonbury line. 
Here he grew to manhood, receiving his 
education in the public schools, the Glas- 
tonbury Academy and the Cheshire Mili- 
tary Academy. During vacations, he 
worked upon the paternal acres, and 
passed the usual life of farmers' sons in 
the neighborhood. Agriculture occupied 
his attention on attaining man's estate, 
and since 1888 he has been very exten- 
sively engaged in growing tobacco. His 
home is at Gildersleeve Post Office, in 
the village of Portland, and here he has 
established a large plant for housing, 
packing and dealing in tobacco. He is 
among the most progressive, scientific 
and successful agriculturists of the State, 
and has been distinguished also in public 
life. From 1883 to 1893 he was auditor 
of the town of Portland ; from 1899 to 
1909 was a member of the Board of Re- 
lief and represented the town in the Gen- 
eral Assembly in 1901, serving as a mem- 
ber of the house committee on appropria- 
tions. In 1907 he was elected to the State 
Senate and acquitted himself with credit 
to the town, serving as chairman of the 
committee on State institutions. Like his 
father, he maintains the principles and 
policies of the Republican party, and is 
active in banking affairs, being a director 
of the First National Bank, and president 
and trustee of the Freestone Savings 
Bank. He was a member of the staff of 
Governor George A. Lilley, and was ap- 

226 



ENCYCD »PEDIA f)F UK >GRAPH V 



pointed by his successor, F. 15. Weeks, 
to the rank of COlond Oil the guberna- 
torial staff. In the social life of his home 
town, Mr. Shepard tills an important posi- 
tion, affiliating with the various Masonic 
lodges, including Warren Lodge, No. 52, 
Free and Accepted Masons, of Portland; 
Washington Chapter, Royal Arch Ma- 
sons, of Middletown; Washington Com- 
mandery, Knights Templar; and Sphinx 
Temple, Ancient Arabic Order Nobles of 
the Mystic Shrine, of Hartford. He is 
a member of Freestone Lodge, Independ- 
ent Order of Odd Fellows, of Portland ; 
is a member of the Ancient Order of 
United Workmen, and of the Hartford 
Club, and is a vestryman of Trinity Epis- 
copal Church, of Portland. Colonel Shep- 



chusetts, and is now associated with Mr. 
Shepard in the conduct of a tobacco ware- 
house at Hartford. _• Nelson A., born 
November 1, 1897; graduated at Kent 

School, and was freshman at Trinity Col- 
lege, that year; he enlisted in hji8 in the 
United Mates Marine Corps, and served 
with the United States Marines at Paris 
Island, South Carolina, and later in the 
School for Non-Commissioned Officers; 
he is now associated with his father in the 
tobacco business. 



DONOVAN, James Patrick, S. T. D., 

Permanent Rector. 



Without a doubt one of the best known 
clergymen in Connecticut is the mild and 
unassuming rector of St. John's Catholic 
ard is very fond of outdoor life, and finds Church of Middletown, Connecticut, Rev. 



his recreation in hunting and fishing, 
making an annual trip to the woods of 
Maine. He partakes of the genial nature 
and kindly disposition inherited from 
worthy sires, and sustains the reputation 
made by them for industry and good citi- 
zenship. He has followed the custom of 
entertaining his fellow members of the 
State Senate and their wives, annually. 

Colonel Andrew N. Shepard married. 
May 1, 1889, Harriet Stockwell, born Au- 
gust 14, 1808, in Windsor Locks, daugh- 
ter of A. U. Stockwell, of that town. Col- 
onel and Mrs. Shepard are the parents of 
two children: I. Dorothea, born May 13, 
1891 ; graduated in 1910 with the degree 
of A. U. from the Uennett School, Hal- 
cyon Hall, Millbrook, New York ; she 
married, October 12. 1915, Gordon Stew- 
art, of Portland, now residing in Hart- 
ford, Connecticut ; Mr. Stewart engaged 
in the Ordnance and Quartermaster De- 
partment of the United States Army with 
the rank of lieutenant, stationed at Willi- 
matic, Connecticut, and Uoston, Massa- 



James P. Donovan, S. T. D. Although 
his duties have confined him to the Hart- 
ford diocese, his reputation for learning in 
ecclesiastical and canonical lore has 
spread his fame throughout the country. 
He was born in Meriden, March 18, 
1864, the son of John and Margaret (Mur- 
ray ) Donovan, two of the oldest Catholic 
settlers of the Silver City. Upon gradu- 
ation from St. Rose's parochial school, 
during the pastorate of Vicar General 
Walsh, he pursued his clerical studies in St. 
Charles College, Maryland, and Niagara 
University, and passed as an honor stu- 
dent from the latter institution to the 
Grand Seminary in Montreal. In 1887, 
by competitive examination, he won a 
scholarship in the North American Col- 
lege in Rome, Italy. Dr. Donovan was a 
leader of his class ; but he was also a 
leader among the students in athletic 
events and his reputation as a pitcher has 
lived long years behind him. He was ad- 
vanced to the priesthood, June II, 1892, 
by Cardinal Parochhi, in St. John Later- 



227 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



an's Church— "The mother of all the 
churches." 

Bishop Lawrence McMahon presided 
over the Hartford diocese when Dr. Don- 
ovan presented himself for appointment. 
The bishop chose the young clergyman 
as secretary and chancellor, in succession 
to the late Dr. Maher. Bishop Shahan, 
now rector of the Catholic University in 
Washington, D. C, had also occupied the 
post. The priests speak enthusiastically 
of Dr. Donovan's work as chancellor. He 
introduced new methods, sadly needed, 
and so coordinated the work that his of- 
fice was known throughout the country 
as a model. His courtesy was equaled by 
his energy, and many pastors have reason 
to remember his help with gratitude. 

The position of chancellor usually dies 
with the appointing prelate. Bishop Tier- 
ney retained Dr. Donovan, the old chan- 
cellor, in place, a precedent followed by 
the present ordinary who kept Father 
Murray, the successor of Dr. Donovan. 
The manifold activities of Bishop Tierney 
multiplied enormously the duties of the 
chancellor. The score of institutions 
erected by that indefatigable and success- 
ful builder, the religious communities 
either erected or received into the dio- 
cese, the codification of diocesan proced- 
ure, the polyglot problems introduced by 
the changing population, threw labors on 
the shoulders of Dr. Donovan, under 
which most men would have succumbed. 
During his tenure of office the first canon- 
ical visitation of the parishes was made ; 
the books and records of all the churches 
were carefully examined and titles puri- 
fied. As the law bearing on the election 
of trustees was ambiguous and trouble- 
breeding, he drafted a new bill, and in 
spite of strong opposition, induced the 
legislature to pass the measure which has 
since worked so satisfactorily. Dr. Don- 



ovan collected the Synodal Reports, col- 
lated them and added a luminous com- 
mentary, bringing out a volume which is 
recognized as an authority on Canon 
Law. He has been an examiner of the 
clergy since 1897, and in 1900 he was ap- 
pointed Defender of the Marriage Tie, 
one of the most important offices in the 
Catholic church, since the incumbent 
must pass on all cases of disputed or 
doubtful marriage. Later he was elected 
by the votes of the clergy a consultor to 
the bishop, a position he retained till ap- 
pointed pastor of the permanent rectory 
of this city. There are but six priests in 
this State holding this honor. 

Since arriving in Middletown, he has 
continued energetically to face the church 
problems which must inevitably confront 
the pastor of so important a parish. As 
the Convent of Mercy here was a mother- 
house, until the consolidation of the three 
communities by Bishop Nilan, Dr. Don- 
ovan set himself the task of building a 
convent chapel worthy of the dignity of 
the community. He collected over twenty 
thousand dollars for the purpose, and 
gave the sisters the most beautiful chapel 
in Connecticut. He renovated and dec- 
orated the interior of St. John's, placing 
gorgeous windows, imported from Aus- 
tria, for the former gloomy glass ; beau- 
tified the sanctuary, all of which cost 
$23,000. Both the chapel and the reno- 
vation of St. John's did not add a cent of 
indebtedness to the parish, as the money 
for the improvement was raised by Dr. 
Donovan, without any undue burden to 
the parishioners. Last year, the convent 
was renovated and new plumbing in- 
stalled throughout. The grounds were 
laid out so as to be a fitting setting for 
the ornate statuary which was set up. 
During his pastorate, new land has been 
opened for cemetery purposes. All these 



228 




J^/n^Uu-^n^^ 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



improvements entailed an expense of over 
eighty thousand dollars, and when it is 
recalled that two parishes have been set 
off from the mother church during the 
time— St. Francis and St. Mary, the Po- 
lish parish — and that always at the end 
Of the year money remains in the treas- 
ury, despite the reputation which St. 
John's enjoys of being the "easiest church 
on money in the whole diocese of Hart- 
ford." it speaks volumes for the financial 
ability of the competent rector. 

Dr. Donovan is dearly loved by every 
member of the parish, but it is the mutual 
love existing between the pastor and the 
little children which has attracted the ad- 
miration of his people. His "little tots" 
are ever uppermost in the rector's mind, 
and he rightfully considers that St. John's 
Parochial School, where nearly fifty-five 
per cent, of the pupils are of foreign birth 
or parentage, is one of the greatest factors 
in producing real, true American citizens; 
love of God and love of country being 
characteristic of every scholar. While 
the scholars are taught wholly in the Eng- 
lish language, it is quite a common oc- 
currence to hear the reverend pastor con- 
versing with the Italian children or their 
parents in their native tongue. There is 
a large number of Italian families in the 
parish. 

The rector of St. John's is noted for his 
patriotism, and earnest appeals to his 
people during the World War resulted in 
several thousands of dollars being raised 
toward all the war activities. His unob- 



Doctor Donovan is strength, tempered irith sin- 
gular iweetneu The word "honest" was n< 
better employed than i" characterizing this man 
whose detestation of every kind of deceit and 
littleness is proverbial. He nates unmanliness, 
and this trait colors his qualities. He wants truth 
in belief— simple, unequivocal truth; candor in 
speech, justice in action; withal, he is so chari- 
table that even enemies, if he has any, might call 
up. m him for service, and would be wholeheart- 
edly helped. 



MASON, Carlos V., 

Bniineu Man, Legislator. 

An enterprising and progressive citizen 
of Bristol, Connecticut, Carlos V. Mason 
holds a foremost place among the busi- 
ness men of that town. He was born 
November 23, 1863, in I'nionville, Con- 
necticut, son of Carlos L. and Frances E. 
(Goodwin) Mason, of that town. 

Mr. Mason is a scion of one of the old- 
est families in Connecticut, being a direct 
descendant of Major John Mason, who 
was born in England about 1600, was a 
lieutenant in the army, served in the 
Netherlands under his friend, Sir Thomas 
Fairfax. He came to America about 1630, 
possibly with Winthrop. He settled in 
Dorchester, and in December, 1632, he 
was sent as a lieutenant with twenty men 
against a pirate, for which service in the 
following July he received £10. His 
name is the first on the list of freemen, 
March 4, 1635, and distinguished by the 
title of captain. He was elected repre- 
sentative in 1635-36. In October of that 
year he removed to Windsor, Connecti- 
trusive piety and devotion to his religion cut, in company with Rev. John Warham, 
has often been noted, and it is not an Henry Wolcott, Esq., and others, taking 
unusual sight to see the pastor humbly part in the first settlement of that town. 
kneeling with his people in the congrega- In May, 1637, he commanded the suc- 
tion to receive the Benediction of the cess'.d expedition against the "Pequots" 
Blessed Sacrament. One who knows him near New London. He was elected rep- 
best, wrote some years ago this tribute resentative, serving from 1637 to 1641, 
to the jubilarian : and assistant or magistrate until 1659. 

229 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



The next eight years he was deputy-gov- 
ernor of Connecticut and major-general 
of the Colonies. In July, 1639, he mar- 
ried (second) Anna Peck, and removed 
with his family in 1647 to Saybrook, Con- 
necticut. In 1660 he became one of the 
first settlers of Norwich, where he died 
January 30, 1672, and his wife died shortly 
afterward. 

Daniel Mason, son of Major John and 
Anna (Peck) Mason, was born April. 
1652, in Saybrook, and died at Stoning- 
ton, in 1737. He was a school master at 
Norwich in 1679, and married his third 
wife, October 10, 1679. She was Rebecca, 
daughter of Rev. Peter Hobart. minister 
of Hingham, Massachusetts, born in 1654, 
and died at Stonington, April 8, 1727. 
Daniel Mason was made a freeman, with 
his brother Samuel, May 8, 1673, and in 
August of the same year was appointed 
school-master at Norwich, Connecticut ; 
was deputy in 1684, and representative in 
1701. He was confirmed quartermaster 
of the Stonington Militia, October 9, 1695, 
at the time the Colony feared war with 
the Dutch, and later was promoted from 
the rank of lieutenant to that of captain. 

Peter Mason, son of Daniel and his 
third wife, Rebecca (Hobart) Mason, was 
born at Stonington, November 9, 1680. 
He married Mary Hobart. July 8, 1703, 
and settled at Stonington, whence he re- 
moved to Colchester (now known as Sa- 
lem), and then moved to New London 
(North Parish), now called Montville. 
He held the rank of captain in the Colo- 
nial army, and was placed in command of 
a company of fifty-four Indians procured 
by Governor Saltonstall, that joined the 
expedition against Canada in 171 1, during 
the French and Indian War. 

Peter Mason, Jr., son of Peter and 
Mary- (Hobart) Mason, was born at New 
London, December 28, 1717, and died at 
Castleton, Vermont, in 1805. He married, 



in 1741, Margaret, daughter of Jonathan 
Fanning and Elizabeth Way, born at 
Groton, Connecticut, and died at Castle- 
ton, Vermont, in 1803. 

Robert Mason, son of Peter and Mar- 
garet Mason, was born at Groton, in 1749, 
and died at Simsbury, Connecticut, Feb- 
ruary 5, 1835. He married Chloe Case, at 
Simsbury, in 1774, and they removed to 
Castleton, Vermont, where they remained 
until 1749, in which year they returned to 
Simsbury. Chloe Case was a daughter 
of Charles and Phoebe Case, born July 
19, 1756, at Simsbury. 

Luke Mason, son of Robert and Chloe 
(Case) Mason, was born at Simsbury, 
March 19, 1800, and died there March 21, 
1840. He married, March 12, 1831, at 
Simsbury, Diana Higley, born there 
March 19, 1815, died at Unionville, June 
6, 1888. 

Carlos Luke Mason, son of Luke and 
Diana (Higley) Mason, was born at 
Simsbury, Connecticut, May 1, 1839, and 
for thirty years was engaged in the in- 
surance business in Unionville. Subse- 
quently he was in the employ of the 
American Telegraph and Telephone Com- 
pany, where he remained for twenty-five 
years. He married, September 23, 1862. 
at Unionville, Frances E. Goodwin, born 
there April 3, 1843, an d died there May 5, 
1884. They were the parents of four chil- 
dren : 1. Carlos V., of further mention. 
2. Frederick G., born at Unionville. April 
30, 1866; married, October 23, 1894, at 
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, Emily J. Lin- 
ess ; two children : Frederick L., born in 
New London, August 30, 1901, and Mar- 
ian F., born at Springfield. Massachusetts, 
February 27, 1903. 3. Alfred J., born De- 
cember 29, 1872 ; married, October 3, 
1896, at Newport, Kentucky. Mrs. Effie 
H. Banister, born at Tangipahoe, Louisi- 
ana, daughter of Alfred Hennen. 4. Ed- 
ward C, born February 9, 1877; married, 



230 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



September 7. [898, al Saratoga, New 
York, Jessie S. Ide, born at Corinth, New 
YMik, September io, 1875. 

Carlos V. Mason, son of Carlos Luke 
and Frances I". (Goodwin) Mason, was 
educated in the districl schools of Union- 
ville, Connecticut After completing his 
schooling he came to Bristol in October, 
[883, and engaged in the real estate and 
insurance business. He has built up a 
large and flourishing trade, and through 
his upright methods of doing business 
has attained a prominent and enviable 
reputation among the leading men of that 
town. He has ever taken more than a 
passive interest in all matters pertaining 
to the general welfare and has served in 
many offices. He is treasurer of the 
Third School District for the last fifteen 
years. In [902 he was elected Repre- 
sentative, and served as clerk of the rail- 
road committee. Mr. Mason is a director 
of the Dunhar Brothers Company, and 
fraternally he affiliates with Franklin 
Lodge, No. 56, Ancient Free and Ac- 
cepted Masons; Washington Command- 
cry. No. 1. of Hartford: Sphinx Temple, 
of Hartford: Stephen Terry Lodge, No. 
59, Independent Order of Odd Fellows ; 
Knights of Pythias Lodge. No. o: and of 
Bristol Lodge. Benevolent and Protective 
Order of Flks. He is also a member of 
the Bristol Club. 

Mr. Mason married. May 3, 1888, at 
Bristol, Alice M. Dunhar, born in that 
town. April 3. 1868, daughter of Win- 
throp W. and Sarah A. (Wheeler') Dun- 
bar. Mr. and Mrs. Mason were the par- 
ents of three children: 1. Florence F., 
born at Bristol, July 14. 1889, married 
Leandcr W. Rockwell, son of Albert F. 
Rockwell, of Bristol. 2. Anna D., born 
June 1 1, 1893, wife °f Herbert A. Marom, 
of Meriden, Connecticut. 3. Carlos H., 
born September 25, 1900. 



FENNER, George Potter, 

Mnnnfactnrer, Inventor. 

George Potter Fenner was born at Pot- 
ter Hill. Rhode Island, June 5. [855, son 
of Charles Arnold and Ann Elizabeth 

(Babcock) Fenner, and a descendant of 

Captain Arthur Fenner, a lieutenant in 
Cromwell's army, \sh<> came from Eng- 
land in [649 and settled at Providence, 

Rhode Island, and whose wife was Mehi- 
table (Waterman) Fenner. He was ap- 
pointed captain of the King's garrison; 
as civil engineer he laid out the bound- 
aries of the plantation; was assistant to 
the governor by appointment, and was 
commissioned to "put in order and have 
printed the statutes of the colony." 

The line of descent is traced through 
their son Major Thomas Fenner, and 
his wife, Dinah (Borden) Fenner; their 
son, Thomas Fenner, and his wife, 
Mary (Abbott) Fenner: their son, Wil- 
liam Fenner, and his wife, Christian (Ar- 
nold > Fenner ; their son, Stephen Fen- 
ner, and his wife, Mary Fenner; to their 
son, Philip Arnold Fenner, and his wife, 
Sally (Potter) Fenner. who were the 
grandparents of George Potter Fenner. 
Charles Arnold Fenner, father of George 
P. Fenner, was a native of Poland, New 
York, and a ship builder of note in Rhode 
Island. 

George P. Fenner was educated in the 
old Hopkinton Academy, Ashaway, Rhode 
Island, in public and private schools at 
Mystic, Connecticut, and at the Provi- 
dence (Rhode Island) Commercial Col- 
lege. At the age of seventeen he began 
his career as a manufacturer of printing 
presses in the firm of Cottrell & Babcock, 
of Westerly. Rhode Island, Nathan Bab- 
cock of that firm being his uncle. For 
eight years he worked in the pattern-shop 
and draughting-room, and in 1882 he es- 



231 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



tahlished a similar business in New Lon- 
don, Connecticut, in partnership with a 
fellow worker. At the request of his 
uncle, this company was merged into the 
Babcock Printing Press Manufacturing 
Company, New London, and thenceforth 
he devoted his energies to the manufac- 
ture and improvement of the printing 
press invented by his uncle. He was 
originally assistant treasurer and super- 
intendent of the factory, and for the last 
fifteen years of his life was president and 
treasurer. He made many valuable in- 
ventions, receiving some sixty-seven pat- 
ents between 1882 and 1915, the most im- 
portant being for eccentric roller sockets ; 
adjustable diameter plunger head; spiral 
slider controller; printed side up delivery; 
bell and socket joint; telescoping delivery 
slide rods and detachable carriage con- 
nection ; ball roll on end of star gear 
rack ; spiral table roll drive, and roller 
throw off. Aside from his manufacturing 
activities, he was for years a director in 
the National Bank of Commerce, New 
London. He was a member of the ex- 
ecutive board of the Associated Charities 
of New London, and of All Souls' Church 
(Unitarian-Universalist), New London, 
being for eighteen years president of the 
board of trustees of the latter. His dom- 
inating personal characteristic was a busi- 
ness integrity that squared with perfectly 
fair and honest dealings with individuals. 
He was a man of untiring industry ; was 
public-spirited, generous, a lover of home 
and family, of keen intellect, and withal 
had a great capacity for friendship. Fond 
of good literature from his earliest years, 
he possessed a retentive memory and the 
ability to talk entertainingly; was a ge- 
nial host and a welcome addition to any 
company. 

Mr. Fenner was married at Hanover, 
Connecticut, July 7, 1887, to Annie Cut- 



ler, daughter of Norman Smith and his 
wife, Sarah Adeline (Cutler) Smith, who 
were married November 15, 1849; ^ r - 
Smith, a merchant and farmer of Han- 
over. Mr. Fenner was survived by his 
wife and one daughter, Mildred Lucile, 
wife of Walter L. Douglass. He died at 
New London, Connecticut,- October 21, 
i9!5- 



ALDEN, Hannibal, 

Manufacturer. 

It is safe to say that there is perhaps 
no other name of the "Mayflower" Pil- 
grims more widely known than that of 
John Alden. And, in the poem by Long- 
fellow, "The Courtship of Myles Stan- 
dish," the reader gains an insight into 
the character and personal qualities of 
the man. It is therefore with a feeling of 
pardonable pride that one claims descent 
from this worthy Pilgrim, and Hannibal 
Alden, the subject of this sketch, is a 
lineal descendant in the ninth generation. 

John Alden was born about 1599. prob- 
ably in England, and was a signer of the 
"Compact" on board the "Mayflower," 
November 21, 1620. It is related that he 
joined the Pilgrims through a spirit 
of adventure, and as we learn from 
the poem, above mentioned, Priscilla 
Mullins delayed his return. He nobly 
shared his part in the important affairs 
of the town and held several offices. 
For forty-three years he was gov- 
ernor's assistant ; at different times served 
as assistant and deputy governor ; for 
thirteen years was treasurer of the col- 
ony ; eight years deputy to the General 
Court ; member of the Council of War of 
the colony for eight years. He removed 
from Plymouth to Duxbury in company 
with Captain Standish, and the house 
which he built there is now in the posses- 



272 





\^ 




ENCYCLOPEDIA OF lUOGRAIMIY 



BlOI) of the Alden kindred of America, married, June 20, 1K17, at Hartford, Lucj 

and a meeting of tins association is held Giddings, daughter <>f Solomon and Lucy 



there eaeh year. He married, about [623, 
Priscilla, daughter of William and Mice 
Mullins. He died September 22, 1087, in 
1 >uxbury. 

Joseph Alden, son of John and I'riscilla 
(Mullins) Alden, was born in [624 in 
Plymouth, and died February 8, 1007, in 
Bridgewater. He was an early settler of 
the latter town in 1654. and married Mary, 
daughter of Moses and Sarah Simons. 

Deacon Joseph Alden, their second 
child, was born in 1667, at Bridgewater, 
and died December 22, 1747. He mar- 
ried, in 1690, Hannah, daughter of Daniel 
Dunham, a native of Middlcborough. 
They lived in South Bridgewater and 
there Mrs. Hannah Alden died January 
13. '748. 

1 )aniel Alden, their son, born January 
29, 1691, in Bridgewater, died in Stafford, 
Connecticut. May 3, 1767. He served as 
magistrate and was one of the early set- 
tlers of Stafford. He married, in 1717, 
Abigail Shaw, daughter of Joseph Shaw. 
She died July 12, 1755. 

Joseph Alden. son of Daniel and Abigail 
1 Shaw) Alden, was born November 20, 
1718, in Stafford, and died of fever, Jan- 
uary 2, 1768, while on a visit to Wor- 
cester, Massachusetts. He married, in 
1 74 j, Susanna, daughter of Solomon 
Packard. 

Captain Joseph Alden, their son, was 
born in Stafford where he was engaged in 
farming. He was a captain of State mil- 
itia and served in the Revolutionary War. 
He married Lydia Hyde, a native of 
Stafford. 

Joseph Alden, their son. was born in 



1 White 1 Giddings, of Preston; she died 

April 22. 1S57. 

Hannibal Alden, their son, was born 

in Stafford in [818, and died October 28, 
1873. For many years he was one of the 

leading citizens of that town, taking a 
leading and prominent part in all its 
movements, a man highly respected in the 
community. He was a director of the old 
Stafford Bank, and treasurer of the Sav- 
ings Bank of that town. He married, 
May [8, 1853, Sarah Frances Isham, born 
in 1827, died June 7, 1869, daughter of 
Dr. Oliver K. Isham, of Tolland, Con- 
necticut. They were the parents of seven 
children, two of whom are now living: 
Emma Frances, wife of Salo Schier, now 
residing in Breslau, Germany; and Han- 
nibal Alden, of further mention. 

Hannibal Alden, son of Hannibal and 
Sarah Frances (Isham) Alden, was born 
May 1, 1867, in Hideville, town of Staf- 
ford, Connecticut, and when only four 
years of age was left an orphan. He re- 
ceived his education in the schools of his 
native town and at the Rochester Busi- 
ness University, at Rochester, Xew York. 
I lis youth was spent partly in the town of 
Bloomfield, Connecticut, and in Tolland, 
that State, during which years he lived 
with his uncle, Henry Isham, and his 
Grandmother Isham. Soon after that 
time, Chester Scripture was appointed his 
guardian, and he made his home with him. 

Mr. Alden returned to Stafford after 
completing his schooling, and entered the 
employ of E. A. Buck & Company, whole- 
sale dealers in oil. Having a desire to 
travel, Mr. Alden decided to go West and 



1787 in Stafford, and died there May 3, secured employment with the Santa Fe 

1870. He was an up-to-date and pro- Railroad, remaining for two years. He 

gressive farmer conducting a farm of was located at different times in South 

many acres throughout his lifetime. He Dakota, and Topeka, Kansas, and has a 

233 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



true knowledge of the West in its un- 
developed state. 

His wanderlust satisfied, Mr. Alden 
came East and was identified with the 
Central Woolen Company for a decade, 
holding the office of assistant treasurer. 
On New Year's Day, 1900, he became 
associated with the Warren Woolen Com- 
pany as secretary and treasurer, which 
position he still holds. He is also a 
director of that corporation, is a director 
of the Stafford Spring Savings Bank ; and 
secretary and treasurer of the Stafford 
Water Company. 

Mr. Alden is a Republican in politics, 
and although anxious to assist in any way 
he can, he is not a seeker for public of- 
fice. He served as a member of the board 
of assessors. 

Fraternally, he is a member of Ionic 
Lodge, No. 1 10, Ancient Free and Ac- 
cepted Masons ; Orient Chapter, Royal 
Arch Masons, holding the office of sec- 
retary ; St. John's Commandery, Knights 
Templar, of Willimantic ; Sphinx Temple, 
Mystic Shrine, of Hartford. 

Mr. Alden married, November 29, 1888, 
Helen Dodson, daughter of Charles H. 
and Lucy (Moore) Dodson, of Geneva, 
Illinois. They are the parents of three 
daughters : Frances Helen, born Septem- 
ber 11, 1889; Lucy Moore, November 5, 
1892; Ruth Isham, May 19, 1897. The 
family are regular attendants of the 
Methodist Episcopal church of Stafford 
Springs, of which church Mr. Alden is a 
member of the official board. 



BADMINGTON, Leslie E., 

Manufacturer. 

America seemed to attract strongly the 
young boys and men of England, Scot- 
land and Ireland as a country affording 
great opportunities in the textile business ; 
accordingly Edward Francis Badming- 



ton, of Gloucestershire, England, came to 
this country when a small child, locating 
in Rockville with his mother, and because 
of the lack of financial resources was 
obliged to enter the mill at an early age 
as bobbin boy in the old Florence mill. 
After being employed in this capacity 
about a year, circumstances permitted 
him to return to school for an additional 
year's education. At the conclusion of 
this year he returned to the woolen busi- 
ness and was employed in various depart- 
ments of different mills. 

His recreation and idol was music. He 
was exceptionally talented, and from the 
time he was eighteen to twenty-one years 
of age, much of his time was spent in the 
study and perfection of this talent. He 
was a pianist and organist of ability and 
had as many as forty to fifty pupils. The 
First Congregational Church of Rockville 
secured his services as organist, where he 
served a successful term of many years. 
He next assumed charge of the music at 
the Methodist Episcopal church in North 
Manchester, becoming choir master for 
both churches, and the musical programs 
rendered at these churches attracted much 
favorable comment. About 1895 he be- 
came very deaf. This was an exceedingly 
sad affliction for one so appreciative of, 
and talented in music. A successful 
musical career was brought to an un- 
timely end by this misfortune. 

In spite of his deafness he was able to 
continue an active and successful career 
in the woolen business. About 1880 he 
became associated with the American 
Mills, as assistant bookkeeper, and con- 
tinued in the employ of this corporation 
as long as he lived. 

He was a member of the Masonic 
Lodge at Rockville ; Washington Com- 
mandery, No. 1, Knights Templar, of 
Hartford ; Sphinx Temple of Hartford ; 
and a member of the Independent Order 



234 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



of Odd Fellows of Rockville. He mar- gigantic scale, but it is also to be honored 
ried Alice fosephine Webb, of New York for real usefulness as a citizen. 



City. They had three children: Gladys 
Hawkins, a well known soprano singer 
wlu> is a soloist in the Union Congrega- 
tional Church, Rockville, and lias also ap- 
peared on the concert stage; Leslie E.; 
and Rodney Webb, who is also in the em- 
ploy of the American Mills. Mr. Bad- 



born in Bethel, Connecticut, July 5, t8io, 
and died at his summer home in Bridge- 
port, in the same State, \pril 7. [89] 

'The founder of the Karnum family in 

Vmerica, Thomas Barnum, of English 
birth and ancestry, came about 1073. ami 
was among the first eight settlers of Dan- 



mington and his family arc members of bury, who bought their lands fro,,, the 



the St. John's Episcopal Church. 

Leslie E. Badmington was horn in 
Rockville, February 17. [890. He ob- 
tained his education in the grammar ami 
high schools of Rockville. Upon conclud- 
ing his high school course he spent three 
years in acquiring a practical knowledge 
of the manufacturing end of the woolen 
business. He then entered the designing 
departments and thoroughly mastered 
this branch of the business. In acknowl- 
edgment of his success in this line he was 
made assistant designer and two years 
later designer of the mill. After holding 
these positions for two years he received 
further promotion which made him as- 



Indians. Next in line were: Thomas (j). 

his son Ephraim, and his son. Captain 
Ephraim, who served in the Revolution; 

Philo, -"ii of the latter-named, married 
for his second wife. Irene Taylor, of 
Bethel, daughter of Phineas and Molly 
(Sherwood) Taylor, and they were the 
parents of the immediate subject of this 
narrative. 

The early lift' of I'hineas Taylor I'.ar- 
num was crowded with vicissitude-, and 
it was years before he "found" himself. 
He was in turn a farm worker, clerk in 
various stores at home and in Brooklyn 
and Xew York City ; conducted a lottery, 
auctioned hooks, "ran" a newspaper, was 
a traveling salesman, managed a boarding 



sistant superintendent, and upon his fa- house, and a grocery store. At the age of 

trier's death on June 13, 1918, he sue- twenty-five he entered the "show" business 

ceeded his father as superintendent of the as the exhibitor of Joyce Heth, who was 

m "'- advertised as the nurse of George Wash- 

We thus add another successful career in „ t()I1 |( , n ■ , years old. 1 lis success in this 

venture decided his vocation, and he or- 



to the industrial life of Rockville. 

Mr. Badmington was a member of the 
Masonic Lodge of Rockville, ^and of St. 
John's Episcopal Church. lie married 
Majorie J., daughter of S. C. Cummings 
of Rockville. a sketch of whom appears 
elsewhere in this work. They have one 
daughter, Barbara. 



BARNUM. Phineas Taylor, 

Showman. Man of Great Enterprise. 

The name which heads this narrative is 
famous the world over, as that of an 
author and manager of amusements on a 



ganized a circus company which toured 
to the Mississippi river and down to New 
Orleans. After six years in the amuse- 
ment business, he came to Xew York City 
and bought the American Museum, and 
began a series of undertakings which 
earned for him the respectful considera- 
tion of his countrymen and the personal 
acquaintance of foreign celebrities. In 
1S42 he began the exploitation of the 
noted dwarf. General Tom Thumb, whom 
he exhibited in England, France and Bel- 
gium, winning a golden harvest. Later 
he built at Bridgeport, Connecticut, his 



235 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



beautiful residence, "Iristan," an oriental 
structure, entertaining" a thousand guests 
at its opening. Next followed his engage- 
ment of "the Swedish Nightingale," Jenny 
Lind, who gave ninety-three concerts un- 
der his direction, to the delight of all 
hearers and to the great pecuniary profit 
of both singer and manager. He was at 
the same time continuing his museum, 
and organized his "Great Asiatic Caravan, 
Museum and Menagerie," which he fitted 
out at an expense of $100,000 (an im- 
mense sum in that day), and which he 
continued for four years. 

In 185 1 Mr. Barnum bought a large 
portion of the Noble estate at Bridgeport, 
Connecticut, and financed a clock com- 
pany ; its failure exhausted his fortune, 
which he at once set out to replace. He 
now again toured Europe, with General 
Tom Thumb and another midget, Cor- 
nelia Howard. During this time, in Scot- 
land, England and Wales, he also devoted 
himself to the lecture field, his subject 
being "The Art of Making Money." In 
i860 he built a new house in Bridgeport, 
which he called "Lindencroft," in honor 
of Jenny Lind, and from then on he was a 
principal upbuilder and developer of the 
city. In 1861-62 he procured for his New 
York Museum two dwarfs, Commodore 
Nutt and Lavinia Warren, both of whom 
became as famous as Tom Thumb. In 
1865 the museum burned down, entailing 
a great loss ; he at once replaced it, and it 
also met a like fate, these disasters and 
the burning of his Bridgeport home en- 
tailing a loss of about a million dollars. 
In 1867 he sold "Lindencroft," at Bridge- 
port, and built his "Waldermere" home, 
abutting on Seaside Park, he giving to the 
latter city, as an extension to the latter, 
thirty-seven acres of land. In 1889 he 
built "Marina," which was thereafter the 
family residence. 

When upwards of sixty years of age, 



Mr. Barnum accomplished his master- 
work, the organization of "Barnum's 
Greatest Show on Earth." A hundred 
railroad cars were required for its trans- 
poration, and its tents seated 25,000 peo- 
ple. The venture was profitable from the 
first and the enterprise is yet continued, 
through Mr. Barnum's wise provisions, 
under the management of capable men, 
many of whom came to their vocation un- 
der his leadership. 

Mr. Barnum's exactness in what came to 
be his profession was supplemented with 
a remarkable versatility. He was a model 
citizen, and Bridgeport during his forty- 
five years' residence benefited largely 
from his bounty and judicious public- 
spirit. As mayor, he inaugurated many 
improvements, laying out streets, plant- 
ing hundreds of trees, building blocks of 
houses, many of which he sold to me- 
chanics on the installment plan, and aid- 
ing parks, boulevards and public institu- 
tions. He gave nearly $100,000 to Tufts 
College for the establishment of the Bar- 
num Museum of Natural History, and a 
large lot to the Fairfield County Histori- 
cal Society, the Bridgeport Scientific Soci- 
ety and the Medical Society, besides an 
appropriate building thereon. In 1881 he 
presented to Bethel, his native town, a 
beautiful bronze fountain, made in Ger- 
many, and at its dedication he delivered 
an unimitable address, abounding with in- 
cidents of his youth. As a member of the 
General Assembly, for two terms, several 
years apart, he made an enviable record. 
Originally a Democrat, he allied himself 
with the Republican party at its organi- 
zation, and never departed from its faith. 

Mr. Barnum was a facile, but a sparing 
writer. In 1876 he wrote "The Adven- 
tures of Lion Jack," a work of fiction, 
founded upon facts, and dedicated to the 
boys of America. His "Autobiography" 
is without example, abounding in stories 



236 



ENCYCL< >PEDIA OF Bl< IGRAPHY 



of humor and practical jokes, of all <>f 
which In' was very fond. Few books in 
this country enjoyed a larger sale, per- 
haps none; nor do we knew of one which 
has lefl deeper impressions. He was ;i 
lover of all humankind, and his personal 
example was salutary. During the greater 
part of Ins long life he was a total ab- 
stainer from all intoxicants; he lost no 
opportunity of teaching the value of 
"tcctotalism," as it was then called, and 
his example and utterances were power- 
ful aids to the temperance movement that 
was just beginning when his influence 
was coming to be felt. In the latter dec- 
ades of his life he abandoned the use of 

tobacco. 

Mr. Barnum married (first) at Bethel. 
Connecticut, Charlotte, daughter of Ben- 
jamin Wright and Hannah (Sturges) Hal- 
lctt ; (second) Nancy Fish, of Southport, 
Lancashire. England. His first wife bore 
him several children. 



HALL, Stephen Stocking, 

Manufacturer. 

The Hall family is one of ancient line- 
age, and in industrial lines many mem- 
bers of the family have added luster to 
their name and to themselves by virtue 
of their success in those lines. Stephen 
Stocking Hall was born in Portland. Con- 
necticut. January 18, 1864, a son of Jesse 
(2) and Clara E. (Stewart) Hall. 

(I) John Hall, the immigrant of the 
family, was born in County Kent. Eng- 
land, in 1584. and died in Middletown, 
Connecticut, May 26, 1673. He came to 
Boston in 1633, a "d settled first at Cam- 
bridge, Massachusetts, whence he re- 
moved to Duxbury, that State, and was 
there a member of the church of Rev. 
John Eliot. He had been admitted a free- 
man in Boston in 1635. He was a resi- 
dent of Hartford previous to 1639, which 



vcar he broughl his family tO that town. 
[1 dm Hall followed the occupation of car- 
penter, and was a prominent man in the 

affairs of the community, the holder of 
several 1 iffices. The ( Christian name 1 >f his 

wife was Esther, and they were the par- 
ents of Samuel, of further mention 

( II . Samuel Hall. SOT of John Hall, 
was born in England, about [626, and 
died in Middletown, Connecticut, in io<K>- 
Me was a freeman of the latter town in 
[654. Like his father, he was also a car- 
penter, a large holder of lands, and also 
engaged in agricultural pursuits. He 
married, in [662, Elizabeth, a daughter of 
Thomas Cook and his wife. Elizabeth 
Cook, of Guilford, Connecticut. They 
were the parents of Samuel, of further 
mention. 

(III) Samuel (2) Hall, son of Samuel 
(1) and Elizabeth (Cook) Hall, was born 
in Middletown, Connecticut, February 3, 
1664. and died in East Middletown, March 
6, 1740. He was a farmer and deacon of 
the church. He married Sarah, daughter 
of Barnabas and Sarah (White) Hinsdale, 
of Hatfield. They were the parents of 
John, of further mention. 

(IV) John (2) Hall, son of Samuel (2) 
and Sarah (Hinsdale) Hall, was born Au- 
gust 19, 1699, and died January 3, 1767, 
in Portland. He lived in Portland, where 
he was a farmer. He married, July 19, 

1722, Mary, daughter of John and Mary 
Ranney. They were the parents of John, 
of further mention. 

(V) John (3) Hall, son of John (2) and 
Mary ( Ranney) Hall, was born June 1, 

1723. in Portland, Connecticut, where he 
died in 1754. He married, March 7, 1745. 
Abigail Shepard. He was a farmer. They 
were the parents of Joel, of further men- 
tion. 

(VI) Joel Hall, son of John (3) and 
Abigail (Shepard) Hall, was born in 
East Middletown, Connecticut, April 5, 



237 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



1753, and died May 25, 1818. He married, 
May 29, 1774, Hannah, daughter of George 
and Hannah Ranney, of Chatham, Con- 
necticut. They were the parents of Jesse, 
of further mention. 

(VII) Jesse Hall, son of Joel and Han- 
nah (Ranney) Hall, was born in Chatham, 
Connecticut, June 28, 1787. He married 
there, June 4, 1808, Harriet Cheney, who 
was born July 31, 1787, and died May 24, 
1827, daughter of Captain Daniel and 
Julia (Cornwall) Cheney. They were the 
parents of Joel, of further mention. 

(VIII) Joel (2) Hall, son of Jesse 
and Harriet (Cheney) Hall, was born in 
Cromwell, Connecticut, March 15, 1814, 
and died January 19, 1850. He married, 
December 12, 1836, Eliza Ann Stocking, 
born April 15, 181 1, daughter of David 
Stocking. They were the parents of Jesse, 
of further mention. 

(IX) Jesse (2) Hall, son of Joel (2) 
and Eliza Ann (Stocking) Hall, was born 
in 1840, and lived at Portland, where he 
married Clara E. Stewart, daughter of 
Henry Stewart. They were the parents 
of two sons: 1. Stephen Stocking, of fur- 
ther mention. 2. Joel Stewart, born April 
29, 1866. in Portland, Connecticut ; promi- 
nent in business circles in Portland, and 
associated with various town industries ; 
member of Warren Lodge, Free and Ac- 
cepted Masons, the Republican party, and 
clerk of Trinity Church Parish of Port- 
land. 

(X) Stephen Stocking Hall, son of 
Jesse (2) and Clara E. (Stewart) Hall, 
was born in Portland, Connecticut, Janu- 
ary 18, 1864. He was educated at the Sea- 
bury Institute of Saybrook, Connecticut, 
where his family were living in 1870. 
They removed again to Portland in 1880, 
and he attended the high school at Mid- 
dletown. In 1881 he entered the employ 
of T. R. Pickering & Company, of Port- 
land, Connecticut, as a clerk. Through 



his industry and attention to the details 
of his business, Mr. Hall rose rapidly, 
until in 1888 he was elected secretary, 
upon the organization of the firm as The 
Pickering Governor Company, and is 
now, 1919, treasurer of the company. He 
has continued in the association with this 
firm to the present time, and is well 
known among business men of the vicin- 
ity. Mr. Hall was a director of the City 
Savings Bank of Middletown, and now 
holds the office of trustee with that insti- 
tution, and is a director of the Freestone 
Savings Bank, of Portland. A Republican 
in political principle, he takes an active 
interest in municipal affairs, although not 
a seeker for office. He is a member of the 
Hartford Club, the Hartford Automobile 
Club, the Lincoln Farm Association, the 
National Geographical Society of Wash- 
ington, D. C, the American Society of Me- 
chanical Engineers, and Warren Lodge, 
No. 51, Free and Accepted Masons. 

Mr. Hall was married, September 5, 
1888, to Marie Ella Pascall, a daughter of 
Richard Henry Pascall, born October 13, 
1865. Mr. and Mrs. Hall are attendants 
at the Protestant Episcopal church, of 
Portland, of which he is a vestryman. 



WHITNEY, William Hiram, 

Man of Large Affairs. 

Arms — Azure, a cross chequy, or and sable. 
Crest — A bull's head coupled sable, armed ar- 
gent, the points gules. 

Motto — Magnomimeter crucem sustine. 

For Whitney as a surname, one must 
go back to the ancient parish of Whitney 
on the western border of Herefordshire, 
near the boundary between England and 
Wales. 

From Henry Whitney, the American 
ancestor, the record shows twenty-one 
generations direct to Sir Daldwinus de 
Whitney, and from him five generations 



238 



ENCYCU IPEDIA OF BIOGR Xl'IIV 



to Exrog, Earl of Eygaa and Ergom, probably the same who survived him 
whose son, Sir Piedge Exrog, lived in his His will of June 5. 1672, revoked all for- 
castle at Coedmore, in Cardiganshire, mer wills and bequeathed to "My beloved 



and was "A Knight of N't.- Round Table" 

in King Arthur's time. 

William llirani Whitney, of Enfield, 

Connecticut, of the eighth American gen- 
eration, and born in Connecticut, thus 



wife and son John." His personal esl 

inventoried at two hundred and fifty-five 

pounds, wa^ taken November 8, [673- 

1 1 1 1 John Whitney, son of I [enry 
Whitney, was of legal age before January 



tracer his ancestry to Henry Whitney, of _>o, [665, and so was probably horn be- 



this ancient English family. Line of de- 
scent is tints traced: Henry, the founder; 
John, his son; Nathan, his son; Uriah, 
his son; Samuel Piatt, his son; William 
Lewis, his son; William Hiram (I), his 
son; William Hiram (2), of Lnheld, Con- 
necticut. 

(I) The founder of the Whitney fam- 
ily in New England, Henry Whitney, was 
born in England about 1620. The first 
record of him is October 6, 1649, when 
with two others he bought three-quarters 
of William Salmon's land at Hashamomi- 
nock in Southold, Long Island, New 
York. Subsequently, we find him a resi- 
dent of Huntington, Long Island, when 
on August 17, [658, he bought "three 
whole necks of Meshepeaks land for the 



fore his father went to Southold. He fol- 
lowed his father's business of milling in 
Xorwalk, anil became owner of the mill 
there, giving it to his eldest -< in, J< >hn, and 
later selling him the grist mill and land. 
Three days before the death of John 
Whitney, he reconveyed the mill to his 
father, who sold it to his son Joseph on 
May 20, 1713. John Whitney is believed 
to have died in Norwalk in 1720, as an 
administrator of his estate was appointed 
October 11 of that year. His widow was 
a member of the First Congregational 
Church of Xorwalk in 1725, and was liv- 
ing as kite as April 3, 1 741. John Whit- 
ney married Elizabeth, daughter of Rich- 
ard Smith, March 17, 1674, they being the 
parents of: John, Joseph, Henry, Eliza- 



use of the whole towne of Huntington." beth, Richard, Samuel, Anna, Lleanor, 

As late as January 25, i(>6i, the Hunting- Nathan, Sarah, and Josiah. 

ton records show him the purchaser of a Thus through the oldest son John, and 

home lot in Jamaica, Long Island. Then his son Nathaniel, his son, Nathaniel (2), 

on July 24, 1665. he appears in the records his son, Nathaniel (3), was descended Eli 

of Norwalk. Connecticut, agreeing with Whitney, the inventor of the cotton gin, 

the town to "make, build, and erect a born December 8, 1765, in Westboro, 

goode and sufficient grounde corne mill." Massachusetts, died January 8, 1825, in 

He is named in "A true and perfect list New Haven, Connecticut, 

of all the Freeman appertaining unto the Eli Whitney made nails by hand during 

plantation of Norwalk. Taken this elev- the Revolutionary War, and by his skill 

enth day of October, 1669, and to be pre- as an artisan, and by teaching, he later 

sented unto the honorable court assem- paid his expenses at Yale College. On 

bled." graduation in 1792. he went to Savannah, 

The exact date of his death is unknown, Georgia, as a tutor, living at the home of 

though it is believed to have been in the General Nathanael Green's widow, while 



fall of 1673. Nothing is known definitely 
of his two wives, but the second was 



completing his law studies. It was Mrs. 
Greene who suggested to him the need 



doubtless a widow, name Ketcham — for a machine for separating the green 

239 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



seed from cotton. It was necessary for 
him to even draw the iron himself, but 
he completed the cotton gin toward the 
end of 1792, a monument to inventive 
genius and perseverance. Fulton went 
on record as saying that Arkwright, 
Whitney and Watts were the three men 
who achieved the most for mankind in 
their time. Eli Whitney married Henri- 
etta Frances Edwards, born in 1786, 
daughter of Hon. Pierpont Edwards, of 
New Haven. Five children were born to 
them : Frances Edwards, married Charles 
L. Chaplain ; Elizabeth Fay ; Eli ; Benja- 
min, and Josiah. 

(III) Nathan Whitney, son of John 
and Elizabeth (Smith) Whitney, was 
born at Norwalk, Connecticut, and mar- 
ried, in 1715, a woman whose Christian 
name was Sarah. They settled at Ridge- 
field on a piece of land conveyed to Na- 
than Whitney on February 5, 1718, by 
Joseph Keeler, Henry Whitney, and Mat- 
thew St. John "for and in consideration 
of the brotherly love and fraternal affec- 
tion we have and do bear towards our 
well beloved brother, Nathan Whitney of 
ye town of Ridgefield aforsed." On De- 
cember 9, 1728, at Ridgefield, he took the 
freeman's oath, and both were living as 
late as 1739. Nathan and Sarah Whitney 
were the parents of: Mary, Eliasaph, 
Eliakim, Sarah, Nathan (died young), 
Nathan, Seth, Josiah, Jeremiah, Uriah, 
Aun. 

(IV) Uriah Whitney, son of Nathan 
and Sarah Whitney, was born in Ridge- 
field, Connecticut, November 12, 1737. 
On January 6, 1773, he bought a farm and 
dwelling house in Simsbury, Connecticut, 
and was then called of Farmington, Con- 
necticut, but Farmington records only 
show the first record, April 28, 1728, when 
he bought land in Northington parish, 
now Avon, at a place called "the old 
farm," which he sold January 29, 1781. 



The farm in Simsbury contained sixty 
acres and "was within the first ledge of 
the West Mountain." Uriah Whitney 
married (first) Sarah Piatt, of whom 
nothing further is known. He married 
(second) in February, 1775, Marth (Hart) 
Owen, daughter of Samuel and Eliza- 
beth (Thompson) Hart, and widow of 
Daniel Owen. About 1795 Uriah Whit- 
ney and his family moved to East 
Granville, Massachusetts, where both 
died, he in June, 1816, she March 5, 1819. 
Both were buried in East Granville Old 
Cemetery. Tradition says he was a sailor 
and a soldier of the Revolution, captured 
by the British at White Plains, also being 
counted as the seventh son, he was often 
asked to touch for the "King's evil." He 
had three sons and a daughter by wife, 
Marth (Hart) Owen: Samuel Piatt, 
Lucy, Seth, Thaddeus. 

(V) Samuel Piatt Whitney, son of 
Uriah and Marth (Hart-Owen) Whitney, 
was born at Simsbury, Connecticut, No- 
vember 8, 1775, and died in Montville, 
Ohio, December 15, 1871, aged ninety-six 
years, one month, seven days. He was 
three days too young to vote at the presi- 
dential election of 1796, but voted at each 
succeeding election until his death. In 
1795 he moved with his father to East 
Granville, Massachusetts, and married 
Lois Buttles, on March 11, 1799, at her 
father's house in East Granville. Lois 
Whitney was born at Granby, Connecti- 
cut, March 18, 1772, daughter of Jonathan 
and Lois (Viets) Buttles. Until 1834 
they lived in East Granville, and then set- 
tled in Montville, Ohio, where they cele- 
brated their diamond wedding (seventy- 
five years) at the home of their son, John 
Viets Whitney, on March 11, 1870, where 
Mrs. Whitney still lived in 1874, aged 
ninety-two years. At the diamond wed- 
ding, their descendants were reported to 
number twelve children, of whom nine 



240 



ENCYCLOPKIM \ < >!• UK HiKAI'HY 



were living; fifty-seven grandchildren, of in 1825; a Bilver medal from the Franklin 
whom forty-one were living; and fifty-six 
great-grandchildren. Children: Sanuu-l 
Mart, Lois, Jonathan, Rasselsas, Agnes, 
Marcus, Israel, William Lewis, Seth, Nel- 
son, John Viets, Lucy Susanne, Harriet 
Atwood, Lurena. 

(VI) William Lewis Whitney, son of 
Samuel Piatt and Lois (Buttles) Whit- 
ney, was horn in East Granville, Mass 

chusettS, June 17, [809, died at South- 

wick, Massachusetts, in November, [835, 
and was buried in Granby, Connecticut. 

lie married, in Granby, in [832, Lmnie- 
line Holcombe, horn in 1814, in South- 
wiek, Massachusetts, daughter of Elijah 
and Betsy (Ives) Holcomhe, of South- 
wick. They were the parents of William 
Hiram Whitney, of further mention. 
Lmnuline Holcombe was half-sister of 
Amasa Holcombe, scientist, and inventor 
of the telescope, who was born at North 
Granby, Connecticut. June 18, 1787, the 
son of Elijah Holcombe, 2d., and Lucy, 
daughter of Silas Holcombe, of Simsbury, 
Connecticut. He was a descendant in the 
sixth generation from Thomas Holcombe, 
who settled in Boston, Massachusetts, in 
1630, and in the fifth generation from 
Mary Bliss Holcombe and Nathaniel Hol- 
combe. of Springfield, Massachusetts. He 
supplemented his common school educa- 
tion by a course in reading scientific sub- 
jects, and took private pupils to instruct 
in mathematics, civil engineering, survey- 
ing and astronomy. He finally made a 
telescope to assist him in teaching the 
subject of astronomy, and was told by 
Professor Benjamin Stilliman, of Yale, to 
continue their manufacture. This he did 
for several years, selling numbers of them 
in Lurope and America. He had no com- 
petition for twenty years in the manu- 
facture of reflecting telescopes, and in 
recognition of his skill as a scientist was 
awarded the Scott Medal by Philadelphia 



Institute in [838, and a gold medal by 
the New York American Institute in [839; 
in [840 a diploma from the same society. 

He made the first daguerrotype photo- 
graph in this country from his instru- 
ments. Williams College gave him the 
degree of Master of Arts in [837. I le was 
a Methodist preacher f< >r thirty years ; was 
a justice of the peace thirty-two years; 
three years in the State Legislature. He 
• lied at Southwick. Massachusetts, Feb- 
ruary -7, [873. 

(VII) William Hiram Whitney, son of 
William Lewis and Emmeline (Hol- 
combe) Whitney, was born in South- 
wick, Massachusetts, April 2, 1834, and 
died July 1, 1916. He was an exception- 
ally well educated man, and represented 
the publishing house of Cowperthwait & 
Company in New York State for many 
years. Mr. Whitney was keenly inter- 
ested in educational subjects and became 
an authority. In fact, the Whitney home 
in Enfield, and also in Brooklyn, New 
York, became the rendezvous of many 
brilliant men who constantly sought the 
opinion of their host on educational ques- 
tions. He married Rosina Bostock, born 
in Nottingham, England, December 21, 
1S40. Four daughters and two sons were 
born: Anna, September 2, 1862; Ed- 
mund Carelton, February 23, 1868, died 
April 29, 1871 ; William Hiram, Jr., of 
further mention; Mabel, October 1, 1873; 
Amy. October 28, 1878; Edith, October 
4. 1885. 

(VIII) William Hiram (2) Whitney, 
son of William Hiram (1) and Rosina 
(Bostock) Whitney, personifies to a re- 
markable degree the most striking char- 
acteristics of the Whitneys. Born in En- 
field, Connecticut, October 4, 1869, he 
early showed great delight in working on 
the land. The many things connected 
with his boyhood work, which the aver- 



Conn-7— 16 



241 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



age boy would consider hardships, were 
to him opportunities for getting closer to 
nature and the land. From time im- 
memorial, the Whitneys have been lovers 
of land, tillers of fields and raisers of 
flocks and herds. Throughout his broad 
and varied career, with its pronounced 
commercial success, William Hiram (2) 
Whitney has been imbued with this in- 
nate Whitney love of the land. 

He was educated in the public schools 
and Connecticut Literary Institute, en- 
tering the employ of Leach, Shewell & 
Sanborn, New York publishers, on the 
completion of his studies, and subse- 
quently going with Cowperthwait & 
Company, also publishers. Seeking a 
more active life, at the age of twenty, he 
went West, locating at Castle Rock, 
Colorado, thirty-three miles south of 
Denver, where he devoted two years to 
the lumber business under the firm name 
of Holcomb & Whitney, whence he re- 
turned to the East and immediately en- 
tered the paint business, working his way 
up from the bottom with the King Paint 
Manufacturing Company of Brooklyn, 
New York, to the position of superin- 
tendent. With seven years experience, 
and after mastering the manufacturing 
and selling of paint, he organized the 
Colonial Works, Inc., Brooklyn, New 
York, and established numerous famous 
brands of paint, selling practically in all of 
the world's markets. The success of Colo- 
nial Works, Inc., has been notable, due 
in large measure to Mr. Whitney's 
rugged perseverance, resourcefulness and 
determination to produce only quality 
products. Colonial Works, Inc., alone 
might well be an enviable monument to 
mark any man's career. 

On October 16, 1895, at Enfield, Con- 
necticut, William Hiram (2) Whitney 
married Mary Harriet Pryor, daughter 
of George and Charlotte Elizabeth Abbe 



Pryor, of Enfield, the Pryors being an old 
Enfield family. There are three daugh- 
ters : Anna Kincaid, Elizabeth Abbe, and 
Mary Elizabeth. 

Notwithstanding an exceptionally ac- 
tive business life, and with many inter- 
ests constantly before him, William 
Hiram (2) Whitney has given much of 
himself and means to the development 
and maintenance of the beautiful family 
estate, Enfield Farms, at Enfield, Con- 
necticut. He has also devoted a great 
deal of time especially to the constructive 
breeding of the Duroc-Jersey hog. Mr. 
Whitney's objective in breeding has been 
to raise the standard of the Duroc-Jersey 
and make its merits known universally. 

As a distinct contribution to the Whit- 
ney family history, and in keeping with 
its finest traditions, there is perhaps 
nothing which is more genuinely typical 
of those traditions and nothing more 
likely to be of definite and lasting benefit 
to thousands of Americans than William 
Hiram Whitney's wholehearted interest 
in "flocks and herds." All has been done 
without thought of profit, no ulterior mo- 
tive has prompted the development of 
Enfield Farms, and only a native love of 
"flocks and herds" could possibly steel 
a man to give years and the best of him- 
self to making it easier for others to suc- 
ceed in. constructive breeding. 

Mr. Whitney is also prominently identi- 
fied with numerous clubs and civic organ- 
izations, working for the betterment of 
conditions and interested in welfare 
movements. Twice he has been elected 
president of the Eastern Duroc-Jersey 
Association, and also served as president 
of the Commerce Club. He was one of 
the founders of the Green Point National 
Bank of Brooklyn, and is one of its direc- 
tors. Mr. Whitney is also interested in 
the following: Brooklyn Chamber of 
Commerce, Manufacturers' Association 



24: 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF l!I< >< IRAP1 IV 



of the United States, Travel Club, Ameri- 
can Exporters' Association, National 

Paint and Varnish Association, Brook- 
lyn Charities, director of Brooklyn Young 
Men's Christian Association, Editorial, 

Hue of Three Men Neighborhood Work. 
It is always gratifying to any man, 
after spending his time and giving freely 
of his means to better local conditions 
and institutions, to have a great metro- 
politan newspaper comment editorially 
on his efforts. Mr. Whitney received 
such recognition from the New York 
"Mail" in the form of a voluntary edi- 
torial tribute mentioning him as one of 
the three men who had most unselfishly 
aided Brooklyn's institutions and given 
most of themselves to improve conditions 
to a marked degree. Such civic work has 
been an inspiring part of Mr. Whitney's 
interesting and many-sided career, and 
remains to-day in enduring form stamped 
on Brooklyn's institutions. 



HURD, Alonzo L., 

Physician, Public Official. 

The late Dr. Alonzo L. Hurd, of Som- 
ers, Connecticut, was not only a leader 
in his profession, but a citizen of the first 
ranks, for he rendered a service during 
his career which any State might well 
feel proud of. Bringing to the study of 
his profession a general and classical edu- 
cation of unusual breadth and thorough- 
ness, Dr. Alonzo L. Hurd, during his 
medical course, acquitted himself with 
honor in his classes, and gave promise of 
a career of usefulness in his profession 
that the passing years and especially the 
more than a quarter of a century that he 
passed in Somers, Connecticut, amply 
fulfilled. He was known in his town and 
throughout the vicinity not less as a 
public-spirited, progressive citizen than 
as a physician of talent and ability. He 



was well known in Somers, and his death 
was a great lo-,s to the community and all 
those who knew him. 
Dr. Kurd's father was Jacob Edward 

Hurd, who was born in Sanford, Maine, 
in 1831, and died in [918, in Somers, Con- 
necticut. Me was a farmer of Maine, and 
a veteran of the Civil War, having served 
in the Fourth Battery of Maine Heavy 
Artillery throughout that conflict. He 
married Phoebe Samanthe Blake, who 
was born in Brownficld, Maine, about 
[836, daughter of Benjamin Edward and 
Elmira (Rogers) Blake, a member of an 
old Xew England family. Vilruveus 
Hurd, grandfather of Dr. Hurd, was born 
at Oak Hill, now Sanford, Maine, was a 
ship carpenter at Portsmouth, New 
Hampshire, and married Patience Wood- 
worth, born at Dover, New Hampshire. 
Vilruveus Hurd was a son of Jacob Hurd. 
born in England, the immigrant ancestor 
of the line herein traced. 

Alonzo L. Hurd was born in Brown- 
field, Maine. August 20, 1858, and there 
attended the public schools, graduating 
from the high school in the class of 1878. 
Immediately entering the University of 
Maine, he was graduated in the class of 
1882 with the degree of Bachelor of 
Science. During 1885 and 1886 he was 
a student in the University of New York, 
subsequently continuing his studies in 
the University of Vermont, receiving the 
degree of Doctor of Medicine from that 
institution in 1891. For a time Dr. Hurd 
was engaged in special work in the hos- 
pitals for the insane of Connecticut and 
Massachusetts, and he was also asso- 
ciated with Dr. Wentworth, of Lowell, 
Massachusetts, for a short time. He 
established in practice in Somers in 1891, 
and in that place continued his profes- 
sional work among a clientele in whose 
affection and regard he had become 
firmly fixed during the years of his pro- 



243 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



fessional administrations until his death, 
November 9, 1919. Although his prac- 
tice was for the most part of a general 
medical nature, Dr. Hurd performed nu- 
merous operations during this time, and 
he was frequently called upon for such 
assistance by fellow practitioners of the 
section. He was health officer of Som- 
ers, and during the period of military 
activity served as a member of the Medi- 
cal Examining Board of his district. Dr. 
Hurd was a member of the Masonic 
order, the Independent Order of Odd Fel- 
lows, the Ancient Order of United Work- 
men, and was a communicant of the Con- 
gregational church. In politics a sup- 
porter of the Republican party. 

Dr. Alonzo L. Hurd married, in Al- 
bany, New York, September 5, 1892, 
Belle A. Archer, born January 22, 1864, 
in Agawam, Massachusetts, daughter of 
Andrew and Jane (Wilson) Archer. Dr. 
Alonzo L. and Belle A. (Archer) Hurd 
were the parents of one son, Archer 
Lewis, born May 6, 1901, a graduate 
of Somers grammar and Enfield high 
schools, now attending Wesleyan Uni- 
versity. Mrs. Hurd survives her hus- 
band and retains the family residence in 
Somers. 



BATTERSON, James Goodwin, 

Father of Accident Insurance in America. 

While the fame of Mr. Batterson prin- 
cipally rests upon the founding in Amer- 
ica of accident insurance, his life work 
covered other fields which brought honor 
to himself and benefit to many. He was 
an artist whose creations are among the 
finest monuments and edifices in the coun- 
try ; a lover of science whose researches 
extended from the earth to the starry 
heavens ; a litterateur who wrote with 
classic elegance ; and a prime factor in 
community and political life. 



Mr. Batterson was born in the old town 
of Wintonbury (now Bloomfield) Con- 
necticut, February 23, 1823, and died in 
Hartford, September 18, 1901. His Amer- 
ican progenitor, James Batterson, came 
from the North of Ireland with the early 
Scotch Presbyterian immigration. George, 
son of the immigrant, settled in Fair- 
field county, Connecticut, and married 
Mary Oysterbanks, of Welsh ancestry. 
Their son George (2) served in both the 
army and navy during the entire period 
of the Revolutionary War. He married 
Mary Seeley, and they were the parents 
of Simeon Seeley Batterson, a pioneer in 
the building stone industry, and who mar- 
ried Melissa Roberts. 

James Goodwin Batterson, son of Sim- 
eon Seeley and Melissa (Roberts) Bat- 
terson, passed his boyhood in Litchfield 
county, where he attended the ordinary- 
schools, and laid the foundations of a re- 
markably vigorous constitution. As a 
youth he was noted for his feats of 
strength and leadership among his fel- 
lows. He fitted for college in Western 
Academy, but being without means for 
further education, he set out from home 
to become self-supporting. Traveling 
mostly afoot, he reached Ithaca, and ap- 
plying for employment in a printing of- 
fice, obtained it through his ability to 
translate a Latin sentence which had per- 
plexed the proprietor. While here at 
work, he devoted his evenings and spare 
hours to study. Returning home, he took 
employment in his father's stone-cutting 
shop, but determined to avail himself of 
the first opportunity for a learned career. 
This soon led him to the office of Origen 
S. Seymour (afterward Chief Justice of 
of the State), and he was making rapid 
progress with his law studies when a 
change in family circumstances obliged 
him to return home to the assistance of 
his father. While greatly disappointed in 



244 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF IIH xiKAIMIY 



the abandonment of the profession he had 
chosen, he resolutely met the necessities 
of the ease, and accomplished a success- 
ful development and expansion of his 
father's business, which he soon removed 
to Hartford. There he enlarged its scope 
from cemetery and foundation work to 
contracting building on a large scale, be- 
ginning with the State Savings Hank and 
the marble front Phenix National P.ank. 
In 1857 he was awarded the contract for 
the General Worth equestrian monument 
in New York City. In 1875 ne incor- 
porated as the New England Granite 
Works, with 8250,000 capital, operating 
quarries at Canaan, Connecticut; and also 
in Rhode Island and New Hampshire. He 
not only installed the best known me- 
chanical devices, but he invented a lathe 
for cutting and polishing stone columns, 
such work theretofore being only done 
by hand. He gave his personal attention 
to the work on the great granite pillars 
for the State Capitol at Albany, New 
York. Scarcely an important city or 
cemetery in the country is without Bat- 
terson granite work. The company con- 
structed the National Soldiers' Monument 
at Gettysburg ; the Alexander Hamilton 
statue in Central Park, New York City ; 
the West Point monument of General 
Thayer, founder of the Military Acad- 
emy; the Antietam battlefield monument; 
the monument at Galveston, Texas, to 
the memory of those who fell in the 
Texas revolution ; the General Halleck 
monument at San Francisco ; and the 
General Wood monument at Troy, New 
York, the latter a sixty-foot shaft weigh- 
ing nearly a hundred tons. Among the 
Company's great buildings are : The Con- 
necticut Mutual Life Insurance, Hart- 
ford ; the Equitable and the Masonic 
Temple, New York ; the Mutual Life, 
Philadelphia; the City Hall, Providence; 
and the thirty-story Park Row building, 



New York. The finest, however, is the 

Congressional Library in Washington 

City, exquisitely fashioned of gray Con- 
cord granite. Another of the famous Pat- 
terson buildings is the Capitol at Hart- 
ford, costing nearly two million dollars. 
In [860 Mr. Batterson established marble 
works in New York City, and from which 
have come the interiors of many of the 
notable buildings of the metropolis, as 
well as of various large cities. 

Mr. Batterson's business career, as out- 
lined above, gave him less fame, however, 
than did his recognition as the founder 
of accident insurance in America. While 
visiting England, he became acquainted 
with the accident insurance beginnings in 
that country, and upon his return he se- 
cured a charter for railroad accident 
insurance, having it amended the next 
year to cover all classes of accidents, and 
again in 1866 to include all forms of life 
insurance. This was the origin of the 
famous "Travelers." There was keen op- 
position, but the Batterson interests 
acquired or outlived all rivals. The first 
premium received by the "Travelers" was 
two cents, for insuring a Hartford banker 
from the post office to his home, and from 
this small beginning has grown a business 
with assets of over seventy million dol- 
lars, a capital stock of two and a half mil- 
lions, and writing single policies in hun- 
dreds of thousands. 

1 1 is principal business, however, did not 
bound either the interests or the capabili- 
ties of Mr. Batterson. He delved into the 
law, and learned how to maintain his 
rights and how to avoid litigation. He 
studied geology under J. G. Percival, the 
Connecticut poet-geologist, for whom he 
acted as guide in the first geological sur- 
vey of the State ; and in 1858-59, in com- 
pany with the eminent Brunei, he visited 
and studied the stone formations, pyra- 
mids and tombs, along the valley of the 



245 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Nile, and similarly in the Mediterranean 
basin. His interest in and knowledge con- 
cerning Egypt made him an honorary 
secretary of the Egypt Exploration Fund, 
and also gave him distinction as a leading 
authority on Egyptology. He was also 
diligent in astronomical observations. In 
art and literature he was an enthusiast. 
He acquired a rare collection of paintings 
and works of sculpture. He was an ad- 
mirer of and familiar with the classical 
languages, and was one of the founders of 
the Greek Club of New York City . He col- 
lected one of the largest and best private 
libraries in the State, and particularly rich 
in Americana. He was a careful and indus- 
trious writer, especially upon subjects of 
sociological importance, such as taxation, 
and the relations of capital and labor. In 
1896 he wrote an important work on 
"Gold and Silver," which was particularly 
timely, and was recognized as a first au- 
thority by the sound money parties. He 
published translations from the "Iliad" in 
blank verse ; an elaborate work, "Crea- 
tion" (the title subsequently changed to 
"The Beginning") ; and a number of 
poems of varied subject and range, in- 
cluding "Lauda Sion." translated from 
the Latin of St. Thomas Aquinas. He 
received the honorary degree of Master 
of Arts from Yale and Williams colleges, 
and from Brown University. In religion 
he was a Baptist. His business and social 
relationship were varied. He was a direc- 
tor of the Hartford National Bank and of 
Case, Lockwood & Brainerd Company; 
vice-president of the Wadsworth Athen- 
aeum ; a trustee of Brown University ; a 
member of the Colonial Club ; the Con- 
necticut Society, Sons of the American 
Revolution ; the American Statistical As- 
sociation ; the Society of Biblical Litera- 
ture and Exegesis ; the Hartford Scien- 
tific Society ; the New England Society of 
New York; the American Association for 



the Advancement of Science ; the Yale 
Alumni Association ; the Hartford Board 
of Trade; and the American Society of 
Civil Engineers. 

Mr. Batterson was for many years a 
political factor in the State, always gov- 
erning his conduct by loftiest principles. 
He aided in the organization of the Re- 
publican party, and held to it loyally to 
the last. During the Civil War he was a 
mighty supporter of the Union cause, and 
of its great leader, Lincoln. He had op- 
portunities of and desire for military dis- 
tinction, but turned them aside for sake 
of the usefulness he could be in civic con- 
cerns at that critical time. Throughout 
the entire war he was chairman of the 
Republican State Central Committee of 
Connecticut, and chairman of the war 
committee. He exerted himself to the 
utmost to keep the State in the Republi- 
can column, and to provide its various 
quotas for military service, and succeeded 
to such a degree that the State contrib- 
uted more men to the army than was re- 
quired of her. He was a tower of strength 
especially in the various elections, which 
were at various times saved through his 
tact and determination, and resulting in 
the choice or retention of congressmen 
and governors who were devoted to the 
Union cause. He spent much time and 
money in relief work for soldiers and their 
families. In public gatherings his power- 
ful voice, persuasive manner, ready wit 
and cogent reasoning, made him a mag- 
netic speaker, and he was a gifted presid- 
ing officer. The fact that he resolutely 
declined to accept all offices, elective or 
appointive, tended greatly to the enlarge- 
ment and maintenance of his great politi- 
cal influence. 

Mr. Batterson married, June 2, 1852, 
Eunice E. Goodwin, born April 6, 1827, 
died January 16, 1897, daughter of Jona- 
than Goodwin. Children : Clara Jean- 



246 



ENCYCL( IPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



nette, born January 17, 1855, died May minister, was a pioneer of Oregon, a dele- 
[6, 1868 : Mary Elizabeth, became the wife gate from that State to the Republican 



of Dr. Charles C. Beach, of Hartford; and 
James Goodwin Batterson, Jr., connected 
with Travelers' Insurance Company. 



PEARNE, Wesley Ulysses. 

City Judge, Useful Citizen. 



National Convention in (864, at which 
Abraham Lincoln was nominated for the 
ond term as president. He was also 
connected with the Christian Commis- 
sion, and after the w ar was editor of "The 
Whig" at Know ilk-, Tennessee; was sub- 
sequently United States consul at Kings- 



In the death of Judge 1'earne. which ton, Jamaica. 1 le was author of the book 



occurred at his home in Middletown, July, 

191 7. that city lost one of its most useful 
and public-spirited citizens, whose serv- 
ices have been many and in various ca- 
pacities. Judge Pearne was born April 1, 
[851, in Xew York City, and was de- 



known as "Sixty-one Years of Itinerant 
Christian Life in Church and State." 

Benjamin Marshall Pearne, son of Rev. 
William Nathaniel and Hannah (Hall) 

Pearne, was horn June 22, 1826. He was 
a carriage maker by trade, and for some 



scended from a family which originated at time held a government position in the 



Rochester Bridge, in the district of Lon- 
don. The family was identified with the 
Episcopal church. 

The first known was Francis Pearne, 
who was the father of Rev. William Na- 
thaniel Pearne, a native of England. 
About iSjo he came to this country, set- 



United States navy yard at Brooklyn. 
He married Emily Ann Swathel, born in 
August, 1826. in Xew York City, daugh- 
ter of William and Sarah Shipman 
(Clark) Swathel. William Swathel re- 
sided for a time at Middletown, Connec- 
ticut. Sarah Shipman Clark was the 



tied first in New York City, and was em- daughter of Jared Clark, and grand- 



ployed as a bookkeeper by the Blackball 
Line of Clipper Ships. In 1825 he 
removed to Xew York Mills, Oneida 
county. Xew York, where extensive cot- 
ton mills are located, and was there as- 
sociated with the mills in a clerical capac- 
ity. While a resident there, he became a 
minister of the Methodist Episcopal 
church. He married Hannah Hall, who 
was born in London, a daughter of 
Thomas Hall, several of whose sons set- 
tled in the United States. Their eldest 
son. William Hall Pearne, was a minister 



daughter of Colonel Edward Shipman, of 
Chester, Connecticut. He was captain of 
a Sayhrook company in the Revolution, 
the Sixth Company, Colonel Charles 
West's regiment (Seventh). Under the 
same colonel in the Xineteenth Regiment 
of the Continental army, he participated 
in the battles of White Plains and Prince- 
ton, was major of the regiment in 1779, 
and colonel of the First Battalion under 
General David Waterbury in 1781. He 
was descended from Edward Shipman, 
who sailed from Hull, England, in 1639, 



of the Methodist Episcopal church and and located in Saybrook, Connecticut, in 



presiding elder at Memphis, Tennessee, 
during the reconstruction days, and for 
some time superintendent of police and 
instrumental in stamping out gambling in 
that city. During the Civil War he was a 
member of the Christian Committee. An- 
other son, Thomas H. Pearne, Methodist 



the records of which town his name ap- 
pears as Shipton. He was admitted free- 
man in October, 1667, and died September 
15. 1697. 

Wesley Ulysses Pearne, son of Benja- 
min Marshall and Emily Ann (Swathel) 
Pearne, was reared in Xew York Citv and 



247 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



in Central New York. His education was 
supplied by the Academy at Oxford and 
the State Normal School at Cortland, 
New York, from which he graduated in 
June, 1870, and immediately thereafter 
entered the Wesleyan University at Mid- 
dletown, Connecticut, from which he was 
graduated with the degree of A. B. in 
1874. Immediately, he began the study 
of law in the office of Hon. Samuel L. 
Warner, of Middletown, and in 1879 was 
admitted to the bar. He opened an office 
in the Bank building in Middletown and 
engaged in the practice of law. In April, 
1879, he was made clerk of the Middle- 
town City Court, in which office he con- 
tinued until April, 1895, when he was ap- 
pointed judge of that court and filled this 
position with conspicuous ability to the 
time of his death, which occurred very 
suddenly. He went about the perform- 
ance of his usual duties and retired in 
apparent good health, but died before 
morning. Judge Pearne was very active 
in many affairs in Middletown, being a 
member of the Common Council from 
1880 to 1883, and in 1901 represented the 
town in the General Assembly, acting as 
house chairman of the Committee on Cor- 
porations. In 1905, he was again Repre- 
sentative and was house chairman of the 
Committee on Railroads. In 1880, he was 
elected a member of the Board of Educa- 
tion of the Middletown City School Dis- 
trict, and with the exception of four years, 
from 1882 to 1886, continued in that body 
until 1907, and during the entire period 
was secretary of the board. In 1893 until 
his death, he was county health officer, 
and for thirty-one years was organist of 
the First Congregational Church of Mid- 
dletown. His religious views were very 
liberal, and he was much devoted to mu- 
sic. On January 12, 1875, ne enlisted as 
a private in Company H, Second Regi- 
ment, Connecticut National Guard, and 
gave twenty-three years of service in the 



militia, rising through the various grades, 
being commissioned first lieutenant in 
1882, captain in 1885, and resigned in 
1898, being at that time the senior cap- 
tain of his regiment. Judge Pearne was 
a member of the Connecticut State Bar 
Association, and was very active in the 
Masonic fraternity, in which he attained 
the thirty-second degree. He was a di- 
rector and secretary of the Masonic Build- 
ing Association, was affiliated with St. 
John's Lodge, Free and Accepted Masons, 
of Middletown, of which he became a past 
master, and on the occasion of the cele- 
bration of the One Hundred Fiftieth An- 
niversary of the foundation of the lodge, 
was selected to give the historical address. 
He was high priest of Washington Chap- 
ter, No. 6, Royal Arch Masons, of Mid- 
dletown, and in 1900 was grand high 
priest of the State Chapter. He served as 
thrice illustrious master of Columbia 
Council, No. 6, Royal and Select Masters ; 
was commander of Cyrene Commandery, 
No. 8, Knights Templar; and in 1910 be- 
came grand commander of the State. He 
was a member of the college fraternity, 
Delta Kappa Epsilon ; was a member of 
the Society of Sons of the American Rev- 
olution, and was trustee and secretary of 
the Kent Literary Club. The multitude 
of positions of trust and honor which he 
filled came to him unsolicited as a tribute 
to his zeal and ability. He was singularly 
useful as a citizen, winning distinction in 
many different fields of activity. 

Judge Pearne married, April 25, 1883, 
Harriette Cornelia Arnold, who was born 
April 30, 1853, daughter of Charles G. and 
Betsy (Smith) Arnold, of Middletown, a 
descendant of many old Connecticut fami- 
lies. She is a member of Wadsworth 
Chapter, Daughters of the American Rev- 
olution, of Middletown. The only child 
of this marriage, Dorothea Arnold Pearne, 
was born May 16, 1887, and died Novem- 
ber 14, 1898. 



248 




** 




ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



PERRY, Clarence Curtiss, 

Civil and Mechanical EnRinoer. 

Clarence Curtiss Perry was born Janu- 
ary _'7, [882, in New Britain, Connecticut, 

son of Roswell and I lannah A. (Curtiss) 
Perry. He attended tin- public schools of 
New Britain and the New Britain High 
School. Subsequently he attended the 
Sheffield Scientific School of Yale Col- 
lege, graduating in 1004 with the degree 
of Ph. B. He inherited a strong taste for 
mechanics ami possessed great natural 
ability in this direction. For eight years 
alter his graduation he was engaged in 



the class of names known as occupational. 
It is derived from "Parcariu-," a park- 
keeper or shepherd. The following quota- 
tion aptly illustrates the importance ami 

significance of the name and also of the 

character of those early ancestors who 
first bore it : 

A Keeper of the King's Hunting Grounds must 
necessarily lie active and enterprising. He must 
In- a good hunter, and as well informed as the 
civilization allowed — a typical man of the early 
ages. 

The name Parker appears in the Domes- 
day Book (1086), and earlier than this 



teaching physics and steam engineering period there was a Geoffrey Parker, noted 

at his alma mater. In June. 1912, he ac- during the reign of King Edward (901- 

cepted the position as editor of "The Lo- 925)- There were five immigrants early 

comotive." published by the Hartford i" the history of New England who bore 



the name of Parker, and their progeny are 
very numerous throughout the country, 
many of them prominent men of affairs 
and leaders in their communities. 

William Parker, one of these immi- 
grants, was an early settler of Hartford 
and of Saybrook. He was the father of 
John Parker, who removed to New 
Haven, and there settled, and grandfather 
of John Parker, Jr., born October 8, 1648, 
died in 171 1. The latter was one of the 
early settlers of YVallingford, settling 
what was known as "Parker's Farm," 
and which took its name from his sur- 
name. On November 8, 1670, he married 
Hannah Bassett, daughter of William 
Bassett. They were the parents of Eli- 
phalet Parker, who died in 1757; he mar- 
ried Hannah Beach, and they were the 
parents of Aaron Parker, born February 
17, 1716, and married, March 11, 1756, 
Sarah Martin. Their son, Daniel Parker, 
married Miriam Curtis, and they were the 

parents of Daniel Parker, who was the 

PARKER, Charles Julius, father of Julius Parker, born in Meriden, 

„ . , . Connecticut, in i8o> 

Manufacturer, Legislator. ^ 

When Julius Parker was a young man 

The surname of Parker is one of the of twenty-nine years, he came to New 

most ancient of surnames, belonging to Britain and engaged in the manufacture 

249 



Steam Boiler Inspection & Insurance 
Company of Hartford, where he remained 
several years. On December 1, 1919, he 
resigned from Hartford Steam Boiler In- 
spection & Insurance Company to take 
charge of engineering matters in connec- 
tion with Engine Breakage Insurance for 
the .Etna Casualty & Surety Company, 
lie is an associate member of the Ameri- 
can Institute of Electrical Engineers; a 
member of the American Society of Me- 
chanical Engineers ; of the University 
Club of Hartford, and the college fra- 
ternity, Sigma Psi. 

Mr. Perry married Margaret Hubert, 
daughter of Robert and Alida (Norgren) 
Hubert, of New Britain, born in Chris- 
tiania, Norway. They were the parents of 
two children, Bernhard Hubert, born 
April 12, 1907, and Margaret Curtiss, Au- 
gust 22, 1910. Mr. Perry and his family 
attend the Center Congregational Church 
of New Britain. 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



of old-fashioned neck stocks. After a 
dozen or more years in this business, he 
added the manufacture of shirts. From 
the outset, Mr. Parker was successful in 
his undertaking, and consistent with the 
years was his development and growth 
in the manufacturing line. At first his 
business was conducted under the name 
of Julius Parker, which in 1872, on the 
admission of his son as a partner, became 
the Julius Parker & Son Company. Later 
the business was incorporated as the 
Parker Shirt Company, and at this time 
Mr. Parker became president of the cor- 
poration. Upright and straightforward 
in all his business dealings, Mr. Parker 
gained a position of well deserved respect. 
He was one of the leading citizens and 
business men of New Britain for many 
years, and during the years he was a resi- 
dent there, from 1834 to 1898, he took an 
active interest in civic affairs. Mr. Parker 
married Lucinda Warner, of Wilbraham, 
Massachusetts, and with his wife was 
long an attendant of the First Congrega- 
tional Church of New Britain. Mr. and 
Mrs. Parker were the parents of a son 
and a daughter : Charles Julius, of fur- 
ther mention ; and Ellen W., who died in 
1874. 

Charles Julius Parker was born in New 
Britain, Connecticut, October 18, 1849, 
and received his education in the public 
schools of his native city, and after com- 
pleting a few years of high school work, 
he left the school to assist his father in 
business. An only son, Mr. Parker was 
accustomed from his early boyhood to as- 
sist and aid his father in many ways, and 
in 1872, when the responsibilities of the 
business founded by the latter fell largely 
upon his shoulders, the son was ready to 
assume it and carry it on, upholding the 
same high standard attained. Naturally 
possessed of business acumen, through 
his tact and judgment Mr. Parker has 



attained an enviable position in the busi- 
ness world. The Parker Shirt Company, 
which was incorporated May 21, 1896, of 
which he is both president and treasurer, 
has been his main source of interest, al- 
though Mr. Parker has found time to 
take more than a passive interest in the 
welfare of his city and State, and has held 
office several times. He has been a mem- 
ber of the Common Council three times, 
and in 1898 was a representative in the 
State Legislature. A most efficient legis- 
lator, he rendered good service as chair- 
man of the Committee on Railroads. 
Other institutions with which he is con- 
nected are : The Young Men's Christian 
Association, of which he has been a direc- 
tor almost from its organization, and has 
served as president of the association for 
three terms ; a director of the New Britain 
Savings Bank ; the New Britain Charity 
Organization ; the New Britain Machine 
Company, and the New Britain General 
Hospital ; a trustee of the New Britain 
Trust Company ; also a member of the 
New Britain Club, and twice elected its 
president ; and a member of Centennial 
Lodge, Free and Accepted Masons. 

Mr. and Mrs. Parker belong to the 
First Congregational Church of New 
Britain, where Mr. Parker is active in 
committee work, and has served the 
church as chairman of the Societies' Com- 
mittee for over twenty years. 

Mr. Parker married, in 1875, Sarah Cor- 
nelia Eno, born in Simsbury, Connecticut, 
November 20, 185 1, daughter of- Salmon 
Chester and Sarah Cornelia (Goodwin) 
Eno, and a direct descendant of James 
Eno, the immigrant. 



FEDERKIEWICZ, Stanislaw Peter, 

Clergyman. 



There is something courageous and 
sublime in the character of one who, born 



250 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



in a foreign country, comes to this land 
of America, and there nol only learns the 
new language and the differenl customs, 
but devotes his life to the spiritual wel- 
fare of Ins brethren. Rev. Stanislaw P. 
Federkiewicz, pastor of St. Adelbert's 
Roman Catholic Church, of Thompson- 
ville, Connecticut, proves himself to be 
possessed of more than the ordinary 
amount of those sterling traits. 

In far off Poland, in the city of Ryma- 
now, Father Federkiewicz was horn April 
29, 1897. His forefathers were men who 
tilled the soil for their livelihood, men of 
worth and stamina. 1 1 i -s father, Joseph 
Federkiewicz, was a native of Rymanow; 
he married Mary Moczarska, and they 
were the parents of eleven children, seven 
of whom survive, and three came to 
America. One of these, John, was in the 
World War, and has returned to his na- 
tive home, where he is planning to follow 
agricultural pursuits, and in his way 
assist in the reconstruction of his father- 
land. 

The early education of Father Feder- 
kiewicz was ohtained in the puhlic schools 
of Poland, followed by normal and col- 
lege courses in Praga. In 1906 he came 
to America and attended St. John's Semi- 
nary, in Brighton, Massachusetts. His 
education for the vocation of priesthood 
was completed at the Catholic College in 
Baltimore, and there, in 1912, he was or- 
dained a priest by Cardinal Gibbons. His 
curacies were served in the parishes of 
Colchester, New London and New 
Britain, and in 191 5 Father Federkiewicz 
was appointed pastor of St. Adelbert's 
Roman Catholic Church, in Thompson- 
ville, by Bishop Nilan, of the Hartford 
Diocese. At the time of his coming, there 
were about twenty-five hundred com- 
municants, the greater part being natives 
of Poland. The call of the Fatherland 
and the work in cities where munitions 



were made for the war attracted almost 

half of thi^ population, so that to-day 
there are only about fifteen hundred souls 
in the congregation. Now that we have 
peace, il is to be hoped man) of these 
former residents will return and the fold 
will again be complete. With tireless 

energy and implicit faith, Father Feder- 
kiewicz labors for the L, r,i "d of his people; 
he is highly respected by the citizens of 
Thompsonville, who have nothing but 
crood wishes for his success and welfare. 



LASBURY, William Morgan, 

Manufacturer. 

During the recent World War there 
were many American business men, who 
though practically retired from active 
business duties, came again to the front 
at their country's time of need, and who 
were important factors in many phases of 
the work necessary to carry on that great 
struggle to a successful close. One of 
these men was William Morgan Lasbury, 
of Broad Brook, and Enfield, Connecticut. 
He possessed capabilities of great value 
which he used untiringly, thereby receiv- 
ing well deserved merit. 

The name of Lasbury is derived from 
Lasborough, a parish in County Glouces- 
ter, England, a section long famed for the 
honesty and integrity of its citizens. 

George Lasbury, father of our subject, 
was a son of Benjamin and Sarah Las- 
bury. The latter lived and died in Eng- 
land, and after his death, his widow, 
Sarah, came to America, where she re- 
sided with her son, George, until her 
death, which occurred in the early seven- 
ties. George Lasbury, above mentioned, 
was born in England, October 25, 1819, 
and died in 1906, at Broad Brook, Connec- 
ticut. At an early age he left home and 
school to help his parents, as he was the 
oldest of a large family of children. He 



251 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



was employed in the woolen mills of 
Bradford, England, his native town, and 
by his industry worked up until he be- 
came overseer of fulling. He learned the 
trade of finishing. He married (first) in 
1840, in England, Fannie Sylcox, and 
came to this country alone the following 
year. Speaking the same language, feel- 
ing the brotherhood in our common an- 
cestry, he became an American in the 
best sense of the word. His wife and son 
arrived in America a year and a half later, 
and they located at Webster, Massachu- 
setts. Mr. Lasbury worked first in the 
mills of Lowell, Massachusetts, then later 
removed from there to Broad Brook, Con- 
necticut, where he resided for about fifty 
years. By industry and economy he 
saved enough from his modest income to 
buy a farm in the southern part of Broad 
Brook. Enjoying the respect and confi- 
dence of the people of all the vicinity, he 
spent his last years on this place, and his 
memory is still honored by all who knew 
him. By his first wife, who died in 1852, 
there were the following children : Ed- 
ward G., married ; Elizabeth, wife 

of Samuel Morgan, of New York ; Emma, 
married Oscar Willey, of Broad Brook ; 
Addie T., wife of Gilbert Nabel. Mr. 
Lasbury married (second) in 1854, Sarah 
Morgan, and their children were : Mat- 
tie M., resides in Redding, Massachu- 
setts; William Morgan, the subject of 
our sketch ; and George B., of Omaha, 
Nebraska. Mrs. Sarah (Morgan) Las- 
bury died in September, 1865. George 
Lasbury married (third) Mrs. Esther Al- 
len, and their children are : Charles, who 
lives in Cleveland, Ohio; Ralph C, of 
further mention ; James N. ; and Harry 
L. The family have long been members 
of the Congregational church of Broad 
Brook. 

William Morgan Lasbury was born 
November 15, 1857, in Broad Brook, and 



attended the schools of that town, and the 
Eastman Business College of Poughkeep- 
sie, New York. Subsequently he entered 
a country store as a clerk and after gain- 
ing sufficient experience, he purchased a 
store in Hartford, which he conducted for 
two years. He was then in the employ of 
the Belding Brothers Company, silk manu- 
facturers, for three years as a bookkeeper. 
Returning to his native town, he secured 
a position with the Broad Brook Woolen 
Company and this marked the beginning 
of a career in the manufacturing business 
that has been one of marked success. He 
rose through various grades as his abili- 
ties increased and became paymaster, 
then assistant superintendent, and eventu- 
ally superintendent. From Broad Brook, 
Mr. Lasbury went to the American 
Woolen Company of Boston, and there 
he was in charge of the Fitchburg 
Worsted and the Beoli Mills of that com- 
pany, both located in Fitchburg, Massa- 
chusetts. He was later transferred to the 
Assacet Mills at Maynard, Massachusetts. 
At the latter place there were twenty- 
eight hundred employees, being the larg- 
est mill in the world. In 1914 Mr. Las- 
bury retired from the cares of business, 
and purchased a farm on Enfield street, in 
the town of Enfield, having decided to 
take a complete rest. His health had suf- 
fered severely through the arduous cares 
of his work and for a year he led a quiet, 
peaceful life on his farm. In 1915 he was 
urged to return to the American Woolen 
Company, and assumed charge of the 
Worsted Division of the eighteen mills, 
of thirty-five thousand employees. Then 
came the outbreak of the war and the 
great work of preparation began. One of 
the most important items was the cloth- 
ing of the soldiers, and second to that was 
the having in charge of the selecting of 
this material, a man of high integrity, 
broad experience, and withal a natural 



252 



ENCYCLOPEDIA < >!• I'.K >C,RAIM1Y 



love of country and honor. Such a man 
is Mr. Lasbury, who during the war held 
this responsibility, being a member <>t" the 
Fabric War Committee, and performed 

the duties involved in a manner that lias 

brought him material success and a posi- 
tion of honor. 

Mr. Lasbury is now retired, living on 
his beautiful farm, lie married, Septem- 
ber 27, [88o, Nellie P. Davenport, daugh- 
ter of Henry A. and Pamelia (Landon) 
Davenport. Their children are: Alma 
Louise, horn Decemher 30, 1S83, and 
Howard A., Decemher 24, 1885. The lat- 
ter married Ann While, and resides in 
Brookline, Massachusetts; he is in the 
employ of the American Woolen Com- 
pany of Boston. 

Mr. Lashury is a Republican, and fra- 
ternally is a member of Oriental Lodge, 
No. 11, Ancient Free and Accepted Ma- 
sons. With his family he attends the 
Congregational church of Enfield. 



LASBURY, Ralph Chesick, 

Tobacco Grower. 



It is impossible to estimate the value of 
early training in thrift. The natural ten- 
dency of youth is toward light-hearted, 
thoughtless enjoyment of passing pleas- ages and year after year has increased 



take up the responsibilities of a promi- 
nent citizen instead of being a mere 
figure head, or what is even Less to be de- 
sired, an idler. In a small town a young 
man of dignity, trained along these lines 

of thought and purpose, finds an open field 
for the development of his personality, 
and for the establishment of useful indus- 
tries which will reflect credit upon him- 
self and his name, as well as being a direct 
and practical benefit to his fellow-citizens. 

Ralph Chesick Lasbury, of Broad 
Brook, Connecticut, strikingly exempli- 
fies this dependable type of man, trained 
from his youth in worthy habits, useful 
ambitions and upright character. 

Mr. Lasbury was born in Broad Brook, 
February 22, 1875. He was educated in 
the public schools, then completed a 
course in Hannum's Business College in 
Hartford. He began his business career 
by growing tobacco on his own account 
in the intervals of freedom during his 
school days. He was only fourteen years 
of age when he began this work, but in 
spite of the inevitable discouragements 
incident to the handling of this delicate 
crop, persisted in his industry. When he 
left school he began planting larger acre- 



ures, without regard to the responsibili- 
ties which are sure to come later. The 
time comes when the community looks 
to the young man for a share of its pros- 
perity. There must be solid, dependable 
men to fill public oflfice ; the industries 
must prosper or the town will decay ; the 



until now he raises annually about two 
hundred acres of tobacco, mostly broad- 
leaf, and all open grown. Even in a to- 
bacco State and a tobacco center, of that 
State, this is a very large acreage. Mr. 
Lasbury also buys and packs tobacco ex- 
tensively, employing from seventy-five to 



community needs producers as well as one hundred assorted packers. He em- 
workers in less responsible lines. This is ploys about sixty field hands on an aver- 
the time when the young man whose age. To appreciate the varied capabili- 
habits of prudence and thrift are estab- ties demanded successfully to carry on 
lished, finds himself sought for positions such an industry, on so large a scale, it is 
of honor and dignity. This is the time necessary to be familiar to a considerable 
when the youth who has considered the degree, but it can readily be seen that in 
future is prepared to meet it ; prepared to a small village any industry employing 

253 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



this number of helpers contributes largely 
to the prosperity of the town. 

Mr. Lasbury's particular hobby is 
horses. He has been the proud owner of 
some of the greatest horses ever raced 
throughout the United States or Canada. 
One of the most dear to his memory is 
Earle, Jr., more familiarly known as the 
"War Horse." The racing time of this 
horse is 2:01^4 being the most consistent 
race horse ever entered in the United 
States. Others he has owned are : Ella 
Willis, 2:13^; Ellsworth R., 2:08^; 
Battle King, champion race-horse of 
United States, 2:09^, over ice; Tommy 
Pointer, 2:13^; Ardell, 2:0834; Colonel 
Taylor, 2:09^; Peter Piper, 2\\6%; Eli- 
tia Jay, 2 10914 ; Royal McKinney, mak- 
ing a record on ice; Ethel Chimes, 2:09^4- 
Many of the colts in Mr. Lasbury's pos- 
session at different times have been from 
such sires as Peter the Great ; St. Frisco ; 
Mocha; Manricho; Native King; Walnut 
Hall. He is intimately acquainted with 
many well known horsemen, counting 
among his best friends, Edward Geer, the 
veteran of the track, who is known to 
thousands as "Pop" Geers ; Tommy Mur- 
phy, the wizard of the sulky ; Walter Cox, 
better known as Long Shot Cox ; Long 
McDonald ; William Andrews ; Richard 
McMahon, and Ben White. One of the 
closest friends of Mr. Lasbury is William 
Fitch, of Hamilton, Ontario, Canada, and 
another is Irwin W. Gleason, of Gleason- 
ton, Pennsylvania. 

On being asked once what he liked best 
in the world, Mr. Lasbury replied : "There 
were three things : First, his wife and 
family ; second, his business ; third, his 
horses and his friends." His life has been 
one that in the retrospect can bring him 
joy and satisfaction. In his diligence and 
thrift he has set a good example for his 
children. He is self-reliant, progressive and 
aggressive, with it need hardly be said, 



good business judgment. He is courteous 
and diplomatic, yet firm in his stand on 
any position or question that he considers 
right ; a man to whom the citizens of the 
town point with pride. He married 
Eloise, daughter of Moses Thrall, and 
they have six children : Ralph, Lillian, 
Lura, Ardelle, Clyde and Walter. Both 
Mr. and Mrs. Lasbury are members of 
the Congregational church. 



CLOONAN, John Joseph, 

Physician, Useful Citizen. 

The record of Dr. John Joseph Cloonan, 
of Stamford, Connecticut, is that of a man 
who has worked his own way from a 
modest beginning to a position of promi- 
nence in the medical world by his own 
persistence and sound judgment. His 
value to his community is measured more 
by the weight of his moral worth than by 
any definite thing accomplished. 

Dr. Cloonan was born in Hartford, Con- 
necticut, July 18, 1869, a son of Michael 
J. and Anne (Tracy) Cloonan. His 
father, Michael J. Cloonan, was a native 
of Kings county, Ireland, and died at the 
age of forty-five years. Soon after his 
marriage he went West and settled in 
Minnesota, but not finding it a suitable 
location, returned East and settled in 
Hartford, Connecticut. In the latter city 
he followed his trade of stone mason, and 
was one of the respected and substantial 
citizens of that city. He married, in New 
York City, Anne Tracy, and they were 
the parents of seven children, six of whom 
grew to maturity. They are : Margaret, 
a nun, of the Sisters of Mercy Order, Con- 
vent of St. Joseph, Hartford, Connecticut; 
Thomas, deceased ; William, deceased ; 
Annie, wife of James Wilder; James F. ; 
John Joseph, of further mention. 

John Joseph Cloonan was educated in 
the grammar schools of Hartford, includ- 



254. 



ENCYCD IPEDIA OF BI< >GRAPHY 



in»- the high school. Desiring to go to 
college, and not being in a position to do 
-11 at the completion of his high school 
course, Dr. Cloonan went to work and by 
tutoring with private instructors prepared 
himself for college. He entered the Col- 
lege of Physicians and Surgeons at Balti- 
more, Maryland, and was graduated in 
the class of [897. During Ids vacations 
he worked as an interne at the Baltimore 
City Hospital. Subsequent to his gradu- 



( ompany of New Y'>rk City. Dr. and 
Mr-. Cloonan are the parents of three 
children: Gertrude Mary, horn Septem- 
ber [3, [912; Eleanor, May 3, [914; John 
J.. Jr., August 23, [915. 



SPERRY, Nehemiah Day, 

Man of Enterprise, Statesman. 



Hon. Nehemiah Day Sperry was dur- 
ing a D » 1 1 14- and eventful career one of the 
ation, he engaged in the practice of Ids most enterprising men of his State, fore- 
profession in Hartford, but soon there- most in advancing its commercial, manu- 
after removed to Stamford, Connecticut, facturing and transportation interests. He 
where he lias since been located. The was also a national legislator of far more 
fact that Dr. Cloonan has attained his than ordinary ability. 

present position of prominence in the The Sperry family descends from Rich- 

medical field unaided, render- him more ard Sperry. a native of England, who is of 
worth}- of praise. He is one of the most record in West Haven as early as Janu- 
SUCCessful physicians of his section of ary 4, 1643. He came presumably as 



Connecticut. He is surgeon to the Stam- 
ford Hospital, and consultant to St. Vin- 
cent's Hospital in Bridgeport. He is a 
member of the City, County and State 
Medical societies, and of the American 
Medical Association. 

Dr. Cloonan's business acumen has 
brought him into contact with several of 
the business institutions of Stamford, and 
he is first vice-president of the Fidelity 



agent for the Earl of Warwick, and was 
the last friend and benefactor of the 
regicides, Goffe and Whalley, who for a 
time took refuge in "The Judges' Cave," 
adjoining the Sperry home. In the fifth 
generation, Enoch Sperry, of Wood- 
bridge, was a town official and established 
various small factories. Lucien Wells 
Sperry, son of Enoch Sperry, with his 
brother. Stiles D. Sperry. was an enter- 



Title and Trust Company, and president prising man, a director in banks and rail- 



of the Stamford Morris Plan Company. 
He has given effective service as a mem- 
ber of the Board of Education for the past 
thirteen years, and served as its chairman 
for two years. In 1913 he was appointed 
a member of the Connecticut Labor Com- 
mission by Governor Baldwin. He is a 
member of St. Augustine's Council, 
Knights of Columbus, and of the Stam- 
ford Yacht Club, and Woodwav Countrv 
Club. 



road companies, mayor of Xew Haven, 
and State Senator. He married Harriet 
A., daughter of Enos Sperry, of West- 
ville. 

Xehemiah Day Sperry, son of Lucien 
Wells Sperry. was born in Woodbridge, 
July 10, 1S27. and died in 191 1. After 
attending a common school he entered 
Professor Amos Smith's private school in 
Xew Haven, and before reaching his ma- 
jority taught school in various places, re- 



Dr. Cloonan married Eleanor P. Griffin, ceiving the largest salary then paid in the 

daughter of Patrick J. Griffin, who was State to a country teacher. In 1848 he 

for many years a member of the well became a member of the building and 

known clothing firm of Rogers, Peet & contracting firm of Smith & Sperry, and 

255 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



with which he was connected to the end 
of his life. He early gave his attention 
to public improvements, and was the or- 
ganizer and president of a horse railway- 
company whose lines connected New 
Haven, Fair Haven and Westville. He 
was also a director in various corpora- 
tions, among them the New Haven & 
Derby railroad and the New England 
Hudson Suspension Bridge companies. 

Originally a Whig in politics, he sepa- 
rated from the party when it incorporated 
in its platform a pro-slavery plank. His 
determined stand for principle gave him 
great popularity, and in 1855 he was 
nominated for Governor, but was ex- 
cluded, not having reached the constitu- 
tional age. However, he was made Sec- 
retary of State of the Commonwealth, and 
was reelected. In 1856 he attended the 
national convention of the American 
party, where he vigorously opposed the 
resolutions on the slavery question, and 
refused to be bound. In the same year 
he attended the first national convention 
of the newly formed Republican party, 
with which he was ever after actively 
identified, and was made chairman of the 
Republican State Committee, and during 
the Civil War period served as such with 
ability and courage. In 1861 President 
Lincoln appointed him postmaster of New 
Haven, which position he held until 1889, 
when he was removed by President 
Cleveland under the charge of "pernicious 
political activity." He was reappointed 
by President Harrison, and Postmaster- 
General Wanamaker commended his 
office as one of the four in the country 
which led all others in general efficiency, 
and the Attorney-General pronounced its 
management as "Washing Monument 
high." In 1864 Mr. Sperry sat in the Re- 
publican National Convention which re- 
nominated President Lincoln, was made 
secretary of the national committee, and 



one of a committee of seven to manage 
the campaign. In 1866 he declined a 
nomination for Congress. In 1868 he pre- 
sided over the State Convention, and in 
1888 was a delegate to the convention 
which nominated General Harrison for 
the presidency. 

In 1894 Mr. Sperry was elected to Con- 
gress, the first Republican from the Sec- 
ond District in twenty-five years, and he 
was reelected for seven consecutive 
terms, sixteen years in all, at the end of 
which he voluntarily retired, his service 
being longer than that of any Congress- 
man in the district. He was long a mem- 
ber of the committee on post offices and 
post roads, a post for which his experi- 
ence most amply fitted him. He was 
called the father of rural free delivery ; 
he was a member of the post office com- 
mittee when the service was established, 
and some of the first rural routes in the 
country were in his own county. While 
in Congress he secured many improve- 
ments for harbors and rivers in his dis- 
trict ; the New Haven breakwater was 
completed, and the harbor permanently 
improved by widening and deepening the 
channels and docks ; the Connecticut river 
was placed on a permanent basis ; the har- 
bor at Duck Island was completed ; and 
smaller harbors such as Branford, Mil- 
ford and others were improved. When 
Mr. Sperry first entered Congress, there 
were in the State but two government 
buildings, at New Haven and Middle- 
town, both old and out-of-date. At his 
retirement, many public buildings had 
been erected or authorized — at Water- 
bury, Meriden, Ansonia, Naugatuck, 
Wallingford, Seymour, as well as new 
edifices in New Haven and Middletown. 

Mr. Sperry took an active part in ad- 
vocacy of the Dingley and Payne tariff 
laws. He strongly supported the protec- 
tion of American labor and manufactures. 

56 




<: zJ4jul^<s\-]7^ 



nOAJV^yy^ 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF UIOGRAI'IIY 



and also held to reciprocity principles, 
one of his last public acts being to vote 
for the reciprocity treaty with Canada. 
At his retiremenl from Congress, he was 

the oldest man in that body, and his col- 



which they brought to the new country 

were few in number and crude in desi 

They Fulfilled hut rudely the purposes for 

which the) were needed. I'.ut the 1'il- 
grims came with the spirit of pioneers, 



leagues held him in a respect approaching blazing paths, making homes for tl 



reverence, as a connecting link between 

that day and the days of Lincoln. lie 
possessed exceptional powers as an ora- 
tor and convincing speaker. A strong 
supporter of the public school system, he 
denounced the discontinuance of Bible 
reading in the schools, and effected a 
revocation of the order. As a Protec- 
tionist, in [888 he was one of the two 
speakers selected by the National Protec- 
tion League to speak in the great debate 
before the State Grange, and won a 
notable victory over certain great intel- 
lects. His speech on protection later be- 
fore the General Assembly, was pro- 
nounced the most masterly ever heard 
upon that subject. In the same year he 



who should come after them. They did 
no1 dream "f the marvelous tools and me- 
chanisms which their descendants were 
to produce. This was not because they 
lacked faith in the future of the Nation 
and people they were founding, but be- 
cause the marvels among which we mo 
with such calm indifference were still un- 
it wealed. The opening of this new era of 
invention and achievement was the nat- 
ural outcome of the bitter necessities 
which drove the pioneers to exercise their 
ingenuity to provide implements and 
weapons for building their homes in the 
forests and protecting them from the 
depredations of wild beasts and unfriendly 
Indians. From those early handwrought 



debated the Mills tariff bill before a large products to the present triumphs of me- 



chanical genius may be a far cry; but the 
one was the beginning, and there is no 
end. Herbert C. YYarren, of the Mutual 
Machine Company, of Hartford, Connec- 
ticut, has given the world some of the 
most wonderful, as well as the most prac- 
tical, devices which the present genera- 
ti( in has produced. 

Long before the first Warren came to 
America the name was famous in Eng- 
land. The first of the name was William 
dc Warrene, a nobleman, who distin- 
guished himself under William the Con- 
queror, and was rewarded by that mon- 
arch by the title, Earl of Surrey. An 
ancient genealogy traces the family line- 
age back to the year 900 A. D., when the 
Scandinavians are said to have settled 
Normandy. The family is traced to a 
When a little party of Pilgrims crossed Norman Baron, of Danish extraction. His 
the sea nearly three hundred years ago, son, Herfastus, had a daughter who mar- 
the steel and iron implements and devices ried Walter de St. Martin. Their son ; 

Conn— 7-17 257 



< mbly, against one of the ablest free- 
trade advocates in the State; and grow- 
ing out <>i this was his article on "The 
Advantages of Protection" in the Hart- 
ford "Christian Secretary,'' of which four 
hundred thousand copies were circulated, 
it afterward appearing in pamphlet form. 
Mr. Sperry married (first) in [847, 
Eliza H., daughter of Willis and Cath- 
erine Sperry. of Woodbridge ; she died in 
1873. He married (second) in 1S75. Min- 
nie B., daughter of Erastus and Caroline 
Newton, of Lockport New York. His 
only daughter. Caesara A., became the 
wife oi Ephraim I. Frothingham. 



WARREN. Herbert C, 

Inventor, Manufacturer. 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



William de Warrene, Earl of Warren in 
Normandy, married a daughter of Ralph 
de Tosta. Another daughter, Gundred, 
married Richard, Duke of Normandy. 
Their son, Richard, Duke of Normandy, 
was the father of William the Conqueror, 
King of England, who married Maud, 
daughter of Baldwin, Earl of Flanders. 
Their daughter, Gundred, married Wil- 
liam de Warrene, first Earl of Warren 
and Surrey. His name is given in the 
Domesday Book as owning land in al- 
most every county in England, or one 
hundred and thirty-nine lordships. Earl 
William Warren chose the village of 
Lewes, County of Surrey, for the site of 
his beautiful castle, of massive construc- 
tion, the ruins of which are still to be 
seen. He and his wife, Gundred, built 
the Lewes priory, and largely sustained it 
during the remainder of his lifetime. He 
died in 1088, and she survived him for 
three years. They were first interred in 
the Lewes convent, built by Henry VIII., 
but in 1775 their remains were removed 
to Southover Church. 

(I) From Earl William Warren, seven- 
teen generations in direct descent bring 
us to Richard Warren, the progenitor of 
this family in America. He was born in 
England, and came from England in the 
historic "Mayflower," among the little 
company of Pilgrims which founded 
Plymouth in 1620. He was one of the 
nineteen signers of the famous contract 
who survived the first winter. He was 
very highly respected as a leader among 
them. He received several land grants, 
one at Warren's Cove. He died at Plym- 
outh in 1628. His wife, Elizabeth (Jonatt) 
Warren, whom he married in England, 
followed him to America in 1623, with her 
five daughters. She died at Plymouth, 
October 2, 1673, aged about ninety years. 

(II) Nathaniel Warren, the first of 
their children born in America, and the 



elder of their two sons, was born in Plym- 
outh in 1624, and died in 1667. As he 
was one of the earliest children born in 
the colony, he had a special grant of land 
set off for him. During his lifetime he 
added much land to his holdings by pur- 
chase, and became a very prominent man. 
He served as selectman, as highway sur- 
veyor, as representative to the General 
Court, and also served in the militia. He 
married Sarah Walker, in November, 
1645, and she died in 1700. 

(III) Richard (2) Warren, eldest son 
of Nathaniel Warren, was born in Plym- 
outh in 1646, and died in Middleboro, 
Massachusetts, January 23, 1697. He set- 
tled in Middleboro soon after the close of 
King Philip's War. His wife's Christian 
name was Sarah. 

(IV) Samuel Warren, son of Richard 
(2) Warren, was born March 7, 1682-83, 
and died in 1750. He was a large land- 
holder in Nantasket. He gave fine lands 
to his children. He married, January 26, 
1703, Eleanor, daughter of Israel and 
Hannah (Glass) Billington. Both were 
admitted to Middleboro church, July 6, 
1729. 

(V) Cornel Warren, second son of Sam- 
uel Warren, was born June 12, 1709, in 
Middleboro, and died about 1750. He re- 
ceived land from his father, June 1, 1739. 
He married, January 18, 1732, at Plym- 
outh, Mercy, daughter of Nathaniel and 
Elizabeth (Pope) Ward. 

(VI) Joseph W T arren, son of Cornel 
Warren, born about 1733, was received by 
letter into the Ashfield church from Mid- 
dleboro, August 4, 1 771. He married, 
August 3, 1756, Mercy Perkins, of Bridge- 
water. 

(VII) Benjamin Warren, son of Jo- 
seph Warren, married Hannah Meacham. 

(VIII) George W. Warren, son of 
Benjamin Warren, was born April 10, 
1824, at Ashford, Massachusetts. He 



258 



ENCY( L( ►PEDl \ < IF BI< >GRAPHY 



came to New Hartford, Connecticut, when arrangement continued until Mr. Faxon 
a young man. and became overseer in a died, when Mr. Warren bought out his 
cotton mill there. Later he engaged in interest from the estate. The busin 
the shoemaking business in that town, was then incorporated, and still stands a 
and continued in that business until his close corporation, Mr. Warren's sons be- 
death. When the civil War broke out he ing the other shareholders. 
was fired with enthusiastic patriotism and No list of Hartford inventors would be 
enlisted, August 7. [862, in Company F, complete without the name of Herbert C. 
Second Connecticut Heavy Artillery. He Warren. He has taken out many patents 
was a member <>f Edwin R. Lee Post, of broadly practical value. Among the 
Grand Army of the Republic, of New more important may be mentioned a ma- 
Hartford, and past commander, lie mar- thine for correcting indexes, and an auto- 
ried Julia A. Hawley, daughter of Oliver matic universal gear cutter. He has been 
and Anna (C03 1 Hawley. She was horn to Europe twice in connection with the 
in Granby, Connecticut. Of their seven manufacture and sale of the latter ma- 
children six grew to maturity: Rena 11., chine. He has also patented many smaller 
who married Charles H. Hall; Herbert devices, among them a universal joint 
C. of whom further; Elton E. ; William adapted to all kinds of machine-. This 
('..; Fred; and Georgiana, who married device is used in practically every large 
Charles Bensted, and resided in a suburb machinery plant in the country. In all 



of London, England. 

(IX) Herbert C. Warren, son of George 

W. and Julia A. (Hawley) Warren, was 
born in Windsor, Connecticut, October 6, 
1846. He received his education in the 
public schools of New Hartford. He 
then came to Hartford, and worked about 
two years for the firm of P. Jewell & Son-. 
belting manufacturers. He went next to 



this work Mr. Warren is eminently prac- 
tical, and the plant, through all its de- 
partments, is keyed to that note. With 
hi- expert eye on every piece of work 
that goes through the factory, the final 
result is that nothing leaves their hands 
until it has reached perfection. The sons, 
working side by side with their father, 
hold far more than a casual interest in the 



Pratt & Whitney, where he completed his success of the business, and it has come to 



apprenticeship at the machinist's trade, 
after which he continued there for some 
years, handling a small contract. He then 
entered the employ of Mr. Swazey, who 
later became a member of the well known 
firm oi Warner & Swazey. Mr. Warren 
acted as foreman under Mr. Swazey for 
six or seven years, then succeeded Mr. 
Swazey when the latter left Pratt & Whit- 
ney to go West. But Mr. Warren is a 
man with higher ambition- than those of 
the workman who considers a job a com- 
plete and satisfying career. In 1900 he 
started in business for himself, with E. R. 



be a business of importance not only to 
Hartford, but the country-atdarge. Mr. 
Warren i- a member of Charter Oak 
Lodge, Ancient Free and Accepted Ma- 
sons. 

Mr. Warren married Laovne A. Allen, 
daughter of Alonzo and Rachel ( Wheeler) 
Allen, of Coventry, Connecticut. Of their 
children the following have come to ma- 
turity : 1. Alonzo W., director of the Mu- 
tual Machine Company, and secretary, 
manager and director of the Hodgman 
Rubber Company of New York; lives in 
Xew York City. 2. Gertrude R.. who 



Faxon for a partner, under the present married James Wallace, and has two chil- 
name. Mutual Machine Company. That dren, Donald and Raymond. 3. Harold 

259 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



C, manager of the Mutual Machine Com- 
pany, also secretary and director. Mrs. 
Warren died in February, 1912. She was 
a member of the Congregational church 
in Coventry. Personally, Mr. Warren is 
a man whom it is a pleasure to know. He 
is interested in all lines of progress, as 
well as the particular work to which he 
has given the best years of his life ; a man 
with a heart and soul as well as a brilliant 
mind. 



WHITTAKER, Robert, 

Journalist. 

Robert Whittaker was born February 
1, 1861, in Thurles, Ireland, a son of the 
late Henry and Anne (Livingstone) 
Whittaker, and the eldest child of his 
father's second marriage. Coming to 
Stamford in 1869, Robert Whittaker at- 
tended a public school situated near St. 
John's Park, the principal being Sipsco 
Stevens. When he was thirteen years of 
age, preparing for entrance to the high 
school, he was encouraged by Mr. Stevens 
to take an examination for the second- 
year, class, and was the only pupil from 
the graded schools who passed it. He 
spent only a year in high school, leaving 
it to learn the printer's trade. He de- 
veloped a taste for writing, and studied 
stenography. In the early eighties, he 
was foreman in the office of the Stamford 
"Herald," a weekly paper, and also wrote 
most of its local news. In 1884 he went 
to Port Chester to take charge of the Port 
Chester "Enterprise," a weekly paper 
started with New York capital, from 
which grew the Port Chester "Daily 
Item." Desiring to obtain a better train- 
ing in newspaper work than could be had 
on a country paper, he obtained employ- 
ment in New York, in 1887, doing con- 
siderable work for the "Sun," the "World" 
and the "Herald," and being for about 



three years employed by the "Evening 
Post." Here he had an opportunity to 
see how the various departments of a 
daily newspaper are conducted. Part of 
his work in New York was in the capacity 
of a proof-reader, which was an educa- 
tion in itself. In 1891, having again be- 
come a resident of Stamford, he received 
a proposition from Gillespie Brothers to 
perform work upon "Picturesque Stam- 
ford," a book issued for the celebration of 
the town's anniversary, the understand- 
ing being that, when this work was com- 
pleted, he was to take charge of the news 
department of a contemplated daily edi- 
tion of the "Advocate," which had been 
in existence as a weekly since 1829. He 
accepted this offer chiefly because he had 
a deep affection for Stamford. The story 
of his life since April 4, 1892, the date of 
the first issue of "The Daily Advocate," is 
bound up with that of the newspaper, in 
whose progress he has had a large share 
as managing editor. In the early days of 
the paper, he did practically all of the re- 
porting, and later, when the town grew 
and the paper had a considerable staff, he 
found time to do a large amount of writ- 
ing in* addition to his work as an editor. 
In 1893 he started a feature known as 
"Live Local Topics" for the Saturday 
edition of the paper. With the exception 
of a few weeks, which he spent in vaca- 
tions to Europe, this department has been 
a regular Saturday feature, read perhaps 
more than any other in the paper. 

Besides his work, of which the news- 
paper has afforded evidence each day, he 
has found time to do considerable corre- 
spondence for other newspapers. He has 
written numerous poems, some of which 
have been published in other form than 
the newspaper, and many essays on his- 
torical, social, political and industrial sub- 
jects, and has delivered numerous lectures 
and speeches. He has served as a mem- 



260 





-g^fr- 



/Z&yv^*-- 



ENCYCL< >PEDIA Ob I'.K )( IRAIM I V 



ber of the i < > ii 1 11 1« «ti Council, the School 
Committee and the Park Commission, 
and has been identified with important 
civic movements. He was for about 
twent) years secretary of the Board of 
Trade. He has been since iw<>-' a mem- 
ber of the vestry of St. John's Church, 
clerk of the parish, also serving as 
clerk of St. John's Church House Corpor- 
ation, and filling other positions in church 
work. He was secretary of the general 
committee for the celebration of the 
town's Two Hundred and Fiftieth Anni- 
versar) in [892, and was chairman of the 
general committee in charge of the Two 
Hundred and Seventy-fifth Anniversary 
of the town in [916. He is a trustee of 
the Ferguson Library, a director of the 
Associated Charities, and a corporator of 
the Stamford Hospital. For several years 
he has been a member of the Republican 
town committee, and has been a delegate 
to various conventions. He made nomi- 
nating speeches at two conventions at 
which the Hon. Schuyler Merritt was 
nominated for representative in Congress 
for the Fourth District. He is a mem- 
ber of Puritan Lodge. Independent Order 
of Odd Fellows, the Knights of the Mac- 
cabees, and several other societies. 

Mr. Whittaker was married, October 
12, 1882, to Emma, daughter of the late 
John W. and Delia (Dixon) Parker. 
Their surviving child is Dora, wife of 
John Milton Stewart, of Andover, Mas- 
sachusetts, born August 5, 1883. Their 
second child, Jean Parker, who was wife 
of Charles Russell Waterbury, of Stam- 
ford, died September 13, 1916, leaving a 
daughter, Jean. 



BARBER, George Harvey, 

Educator. Agriculturist. 

There has been a close connection be- 
tween the two strong Connecticut fami- 



lies. Barber and Stiles, Thomas Barber 
coming at the age of twenty-one y< 

from London in the ship "Christian," in 

the part} fitted out by Rev. Richard Sal- 

tonstall under I rancis Stiles, a master 

penter Thej sailed March 10, [835, 

and arriving safety, settled in Windsor, 
Connecticut; the same year Thomas Bar- 
ber had land granted him and was a ser- 
geant in the Pequot War and distin- 
guished himself for bravery. lb- was a 
man of strong convictions, but liberal in 
his views and read) to defend his opin- 
ions, lie was impulsive and energetic, 
but with an uprightness of character that 
won bin; the respect of his neighbors. He 
died September ii. [662, his wife dying 
the preceding day. They were the par- 
ent- of mui--: John, Thomas, Samuel, and 
Josiah, all of whom married and reared 
families. It was from this brave old In- 
dian fighter, Thomas Barber, that George 
Harvey Barber, sprang, he a son of Har- 
vey and Hannah (Stiles) Barber, and 
grandson of Wolcott Barber. 

Harvey Barber, a farmer of South 
Windsor, Connecticut, was there born, 
July 30. 1792. He married, March S. 1S15, 
Hannah Stiles, born December 24, 1792. 
She was a descendant of John (1) Stiles, 
who was baptized in St. Michael's Church, 
Milbroke, Bedfordshire, England, Decem- 
ber 25, 1595. John Stiles settled in Wind- 
sor. Connecticut, at the age of forty wars, 
and there died, June 4, 1662-63, aged sixty- 
seven years. His widow, Rachel, died 
September 3, 1674. The line of descent 
from John (1) Stile- to Hannah I Stiles 1 
Barber is through the founder's second 
son John (2) Stiles, born in . England 
about 1633. who was brought to Wind- 
sor, Connecticut, and there resided until 
his death about 1883. He married Dor- 
cas Hurt. The line continues through 
their son, John (31 Stiles, an actual set- 
tler and first of his name on the east side 



261 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



of the Great River, then known as Wind- 
sor Farms. He married (first) Ruth Ban- 
croft, and they were the parents of Lieu- 
tenant John (4) Stiles, who resided in 
that part of the old town of Windsor now 
known as Scantic parish in the present 
town of West Windsor. He married Mary 
Osborn. Israel Stiles, son of Lieutenant 
John (4) and Mary (Osborn) Stiles, mar- 
ried Martha Rockwell, and they were the 
parents of Benoni Stiles, a farmer of East 
Windsor, Connecticut, and a Revolution- 
ary soldier. Benoni Stiles married Han- 
nah Harper, and died January 1, 1820, his 
widow surviving him until August 16. 
1853, being then eighty-eight years of 
age. They were the parents of Hannah 
Stiles, who married Harvey Barber. They 
were the parents of three children : George 
Harvey, of further mention ; James 
Stiles, born June 15, 1818; and Edward 
Wolcott, June 20, 1821. 

George Harvey Barber, born in South 
Windsor, Connecticut, February 25, 1816, 
died in Thompsonville, Connecticut, Oc- 
tober 20, 1893. He obtained his educa- 
tion in the district schools, and until 
reaching the age of twenty-five engaged 
in farming. He had kept up his studies, 
however, and about 1841 he began teach- 
ing, continuing this occupation for about 
ten years in Thompsonville, Connecticut, 
schools. He continued teaching until 
1861, when he returned to his first occu- 
pation, and for several years operated a 
farm on Enfield street, Thompsonville. 
Later he opened a meat market in Thomp- 
sonville. and there resided until his death. 
He was a director of the Thompsonville 
Trust Company, and an attendant of the 
Congregational church. 

Mr. Barber married, in Enfield. Con- 
necticut, October 24, 1839, Silena Matilda 
Henry, born in Enfield, Connecticut, July 
4, 1820, her parents later moving to En- 
field. Her father, Parsons Henry, was a 



soldier in the War of 1812, a farmer and 
a tobacco grower. He married Hannah 
Bicknell. Mr. and Mrs. Barber are the 
parents of two daughters: 1. Ellen Han- 
nah, born January 18, 1842; married, Oc- 
tober 20, 1864, Royal A. Fowler, Jr., born 
in August, 1833, died December 13, 1867; 
son, George Barber Fowler, born June 25, 
1867, died November 23, 1915 ; graduated 
from law department of Yale, 1888; prac- 
ticed law in Hartford for a few years, 
then moved to Detroit, where he resided 
for the remainder of his life ; married, 
May 18, 1899, Grace Mary Filer, who died 
June 5, 1912; children: Barbara, born 
March 23, 1900, died aged six months ; 
Delos Royal Filer, born May 10, 1903. 2. 
Linna Amelia, of further mention. 

Linna Amelia Barber, youngest daugh- 
ter of George Harvey and Silena Matilda 
(Henry) Barber, was born in Thompson- 
ville, Connecticut, September 3, 1855. 
She married, in Thompsonville, October 
13, 1881, Herbert Clarence Moseley, a 
merchant of that place, son of George 
Washington and Mary (Lathrop) Mose- 
ley. George W. Moseley established a 
general store in Thompsonville, later re- 
moved that business to Hartford, Connec- 
ticut, where he resided for the remainder 
of his life. Herbert Clarence Moseley 
was born in Thompsonville, Connecticut, 
January 19, 1853, and there died May 23, 
1910. He completed grammar school 
courses in Thompsonville schools, then 
was a student at Williston Academy, there 
finishing his studies. He began business 
life with his father in his general store at 
Thompsonville, and when a wholesale 
grocery was established in Hartford by 
Mr. Moseley, Sr., his son accompanied 
him and was engaged there for some 
years. He then moved West to Pana, Il- 
linois, but later returned to Thompson- 
ville, married, and until his death was en- 
gaged in the wholesale grocery business 



262 



ENCYCLi H'l'DIA OF BI< >GRAPHY 



in Hartford. 1 1 «.- was a good business man 
and vers successful in his undertakings. 
He was a Republican in politics, an at- 
tendant of the First Presbyterian Church 
of Thompsonville, and highly esteemed in 
his community as a man of upright, hon- 
orable life. 

Mr. and Mrs. Mo-ley were the par- 
ents of two sun-: i. Clarence Lathrop, 
horn June 26, [885 : graduated at Yale 
College, in 1906, took up electrical en- 
gineering, and was for several years with 
the General Electric Company at San 
Francisco; he married Winifred Forhes, 
April 27, 1917, and now resides in Penn- 
ington, California. 2. Harold Alden, born 
September 23, 1888; a graduate of Dart- 
mouth, class of 19] 1 ; he settled the estate 
of his uncle, Seth Alden. and other es- 
tates and was engaged for a time on gov- 
ernment work with the Winchester Re- 
peating Anns Company of Xew Haven. 
Connecticut. 



SEXTON. Earl, 

Civil Engineer, Inventor. 

The name Sexton or Saxton is a very 
ancient one and there appear to he at 
least two possihle origins, from either of 
which it may lie derived, if indeed dif- 
ferent families bearing the same name are 
not derived from both. The office of 
Sacristan, now known as sexton or ver- 
ger of a church, is one of these, and we 
have, accordingly, record of one Hugh 
Sacristan who flourished in the County of 
Kent in [273, A. D. The alternate source 
is Saxton. a parish in the diocese of York, 
which may have given its name to some 
family residing there. In the case of the 
latter alternative, however, it is quite pos- 
sible that even the name of the place may 
have originally been derived from the 
same church office. With the usual flexi- 
bility of spelling in those days, we rind 



the name anciently under many divergent 

form-, and besides the common forms of 
Sexton and Saxton. we have those of S 
tone, Sacristan already mentioned, Sex- 
teyn and it i- even probable that Saxon i- 
a -till further modified spelling. In re- 
gard tci the de-cent of the American fam- 
ily or families bearing the name, there 
cue or two i" lints of importance yet to 

lie cleared up and chief among these i- 
the link which connect- it or them with 
the English derivations. From the re- 
searches of Mr. Harold Newell Saxton, of 
New York City, it would appear that the 
Sexton- and Saxtons of this country are 
all descended from one George Saxton, or 
Sexton (his name is variously spelled), 
who was of Westfield, Massachusetts 
and died in that community about the 
year [689. Mr. Saxton. however, admit- 
that he is not certain but that there may 
be other branches with which he is not 
acquainted that are descended otherwise. 
However this may be, there is no doubt 
but that the line which is at present rep- 
resented in Connecticut by Karl Sexton, 
of Hartford, the president and treasurer 
of the American Pump & Engineering 
Company of that city, is directly de- 
scended from this same George Saxton 
or Sexton. 

Five men bearing the name of Saxton 
or Sexton are recorded to have come to 
the Xew England colonies prior to the 
middle of the seventeenth century. These 
wire ' iiles Saxton, Peter Saxton, Thomas 
Saxton, of Boston, Richard Saxton. of 
Windsor, Connecticut, and George Sax- 
ton, of Windsor, Connecticut, and West- 
field. Massachusetts. The first two of 
these were Puritan ministers who did not 
remain permanently in the colonies, but 
eventually returned to England and there 
died. Thomas Saxton, on the contrary, 
continued in the Xew World and un- 
doubtedlv left descendants. Richard .^ax- 



263 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



ton, who is believed to have come to this 
country in the good ship "Blessing" in 
1635, settled in Windsor, Connecticut, 
where he married and had children. It 
is from George Saxton, however, that the 
line with which we are concerned is de- 
scended. It is distinctly probable that he 
was a brother of Richard Saxton, and 
appears to have settled first in Westfield, 
Massachusetts, as his oldest son, Benja- 
min, was born there in 1667. He later 
went to Windsor, Connecticut, where a 
son John was born, May 26, 1673. He re- 
turned, however, eventually to Westfield, 
where he passed his old age and finally 
died. There is a record of his having 
bought land in Westfield as early as 1663, 
the entry appearing in the county clerk's 
office at Springfield, Massachusetts, as of 
June 10 in that year. George Saxton's 
children were as follows, the dates of their 
birth being nearly approximate : George, 
born in 1658; James, born in 1660; Dan- 
iel, born in 1662; Joseph, born in 1665; 
Benjamin, born in 1667; and John, born 
in 1673. Of his wife we only know that 
her first name was Katherine. It was the 
eldest of these sons, George Saxton, whose 
birth occurred in 1658, that carried on the 
line which we are following. 

George Saxton lived for a time on Long 
Island, and in a deed given in 1690 he is 
described as a resident of Xew Town, 
near Jamaica. He is said to have married 
Hannah Spencer, of Hartford, a daugh- 
ter of Sergeant Thomas Spencer, of that 
city. Mrs. Saxton is believed to have 
married Daniel Brainerd, of Haddam, in 
1698, eight years after the death of her 
first husband, who is recorded to have 
died in or near 1690. George and Han- 
nah (Spencer) Saxton were the par- 
ents of the following children : George, 
born probably at Hartford in 1677 or 
1678; Nathaniel, born December 5, 1682; 
Charles, born September 9, 1690; and 



Gershom, born at New Town, Long 
Island. 

Joseph Sexton, a descendant of the 
above ancestors, lived for many years 
in Missouri, and was the grandfather 
of Earl Sexton ; one of his children 
was Erastus Snow Sexton, who returned 
from Missouri to the East and made his 
home at the town of New Egypt, Ocean 
county, New Jersey. He was married to 
Sarah Jane ( Inman) Sexton, and it was of 
this union that Earl Sexton was born. 

The birth of Earl Sexton occurred at 
New Egypt, Ocean county, New Jersey, 
October 22, 1879, and he passed the years 
of his childhood in his native place. He 
was educated in the public schools of 
New Egypt, but later attended schools at 
Jacobstown, and still later studied at the 
Jamestown Seminary at Mount Holly, 
New Jersey, and the Ryder-Moore Busi- 
ness College at Trenton. He finally took 
up a course of civil engineering with the 
International Correspondence School, and 
about the year 1901 entered the employ of 
the Flint & Wallington Manufacturing 
Company of New York City. This con- 
cern was engaged in the manufacture of 
windmills, towers and pumps, and young 
Mr. Sexton remained in its employ as a 
stenographer for about a year, and then 
went on the road for the same concern for 
some three years longer. He then sev- 
ered his connection with this company 
and went South, making his home in 
Louisville, Kentucky, where he worked in 
the employ of the International Harvester 
Company, for whom he traveled as a 
salesman for about eighteen months, and 
later was employed in their shipping de- 
partment for about a year longer. Al- 
though the work was congenial to Mr. 
Sexton and there seemed to be large op- 
portunities awaiting him, he was obliged 
to give up this position, owing to the fact 
that the southern climate did not agree 



261 



ENCYCD > I M : I > I \ ( IF i:i< >GRAPHY 



with him, and that he suffered what, had 
it been allowed to proceed, would doubt- 
less have resulted in a serious impair- 
ment of his health, Accordingly, he re- 
turned North and not long after secured 
an excellent position with the Central 
Supply Companj of Worcester, Massa- 
chusetts, who were jobbers of water sup- 
plies, pumps, engines, etc., where he rap- 
idly worked his way up the ladder of pro- 
motion until lie became manager of the 
pump department. How efficient was his 
work in this capacity may lie seen from 
the fact that he built up the company's 
business in pumps from a total amount- 
in , to the thousand dollars a _\ ear to one 
i<\ one hundred thousand dollars a \ ear. 



not alone in his capacity a- organizer and 
business man that Mr. Sexton i- known, 
and it i> probable that he • :ii even 

wider reputation in connection with the 
many inventions which have found their 
origin in his fertile brain. These inven- 
tion- cover a remarkably wide field of 
human endeavor and arc extraordinarily 
diverse, one, for instance, which app ir< d 
a few years ago, i aphic i. 

book which offers great advantages over 
those previously in use. Another device 
was a corn hu-ker. which hound the corn 
Iks in -heaves. Probably the most im- 
portant device which he has yet produced 
i- a o-bed sprayer system, which 

been properly protected by patents 



an accomplishment all the more remark- and which i> the only successful sprayer 
from the fact that it occupied no device ever invented. Mr. Sexton is prom- 
more than four years. At the end of that inently identified with a number of cluhs 
period, Mr. Sexton resigned his position and fraternities, and is a well known fig- 
with the company and came to the city of ure in the social world of Hartford. He 
Hartford, Connecticut, where he accepted is a member of Camp 4'). Patriotic Sons 



his present office of president and treas- 
urer of the American Pump & Pngineer- 
ing Company of that city. This was in 
the year 1912, Pebruary 23, and since that 
time he has, through his connection with 
this concern, come to occupy a particu- 



of America, of Pemberton, Xew Jersey ; 
U. C. T. : and St. John's Lodge, No. 4, 
Ancient Pree and Accepted Masons. 

Mr. Sexton was united in marriage with 
Viola E. Lewis, daughter of Joseph Lewis, 
of Sewell, New Jersey, where Mrs. Sex- 



larly prominent place in the engineering ton was born, November II, 1884. Two 

and business world of Hartford. The children have been born of this union: 

American Pump & Engineering Company Donald, November 10, 1909, and Yir- 

was indeed largely organized by him and ginia, February 26, 1913. 

came into existence at the time of his first 



coming to Hartford. It was organized for 
the purpose of manufacturing, construct- 
ing, purchasing pumps, windmills, towers, 
engines, boilers, farm machinery and tools, 
for the exporting and importing trades, as 
well as for a local wholesale business in 
engineering and water works equipment. 



JOHNSTON. Frank Hawthorne, 

Man of Various Activities. 

One of the leading and substantial busi- 
- men of the city of New Britain, Con- 
necticut, i- Frank II . John-ton. who has 
imbibed in his character many of the 
This business, which had practically no worthy characteristics of his forebears, 
dimensions at that time, has grown to be He i- a -cion of an old family that has 
a very large and successful enterprise, and long been prominent in Scotland. The 
the future promises even more brilliantly name has been derived from Johnstone, a 
than the realization of the present. It is city in Scotland, from which the early 

265 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



members of the family came. Mr. John- 
ston is a son of Robert Johnston, Jr., and 
his wife, Ellen Jane (Alcorn) Johnston. 
Robert Johnston, Jr., came from Ayr, 
Scotland, in 185 1, and settled at Am- 
herst, Massachusetts, where he was a 
merchant. Later he removed to New 
Britain, Connecticut, and there our sub- 
ject was born, August 10, 1861. 

The education of Frank H. Johnston 
was received in the grammar and high 
schools of his native city, and at the age 
of fifteen years he entered the employ of 
the American Hosiery Company in the 
capacity of clerk. For five years he con- 
tinued associated with this firm, and dur- 
ing that time he rose through various po- 
sitions and attained the position of pay- 
master. Subsequently, he became asso- 
ciated with the New Britain Lumber & 
Coal Company, continuing for five years. 
He applied himself to the mastering of. 
the details of this business, and being pos- 
sessed of natural business acumen and 
good judgment, he was able to start in 
business on his own account. He incor- 
porated the City Coal & Wood Company 
in 1889, with a capital of $5,500. This 
corporation has met with great success, 
due to the management of Mr. Johnston. 
He has been the moving spirit in the 
progress of the business throughout the 
years and now serves as its president and 
treasurer. The corporation has an in- 
vested capital of $75,000, and the sales 
annually are approximately $300,000. 

As is naturally expected, Mr. Johnston 
is identified with several other business 
interests, among them being: Director of 
the Prentice Manufacturing Company ; 
director of the D. C. Judd Company ; 
member of the executive committee of 
the New England Coal Dealers' Asso- 
ciation ; vice-president for Connecticut of 
the New England Builders' Supply Asso- 
ciation ; and vice-president for Connecti- 



cut of the National Builders' Supply As- 
sociation. Mr. Johnston also organized 
the People's Coal & Wood Company of 
New Britain, and the Eastern Coal & 
Coke Company of Hartford, wholesale 
dealers. 

In politics Mr. Johnston is a Republi- 
can, and while desirous of aiding in any 
public movement to the best of his abil- 
ity, he does not seek political preferment. 
He has been a member of various city 
commissions, in which he has been of 
great service by virtue of his experience 
and business ability. He has ever been 
foremost in military affairs, and in 1890 
enlisted in the Connecticut National 
Guard, serving a term of four years. Dur- 
ing the World War he was one of the first 
to enlist in the Connecticut Home Guard, 
and was commissioned captain. From 
1914-1916 he was major of the Putnam 
Phalanx, of Hartford, the smart military 
organization. Fraternally, Mr. Johnston 
holds membership in the following clubs 
and lodges : Centennial Lodge, Free and 
Accepted Masons, in which he has at- 
tained the thirty-second degree ; Wash- 
ington Commandery, Knights Templar; 
Sphinx Temple, Ancient Arabic Order 
Nobles of the Mystic Shrine; the Inde- 
pendent Order of Odd Fellows ; the Amer- 
ican Mechanics ; and is also a member of 
the National Academy of Political Sci- 
ence, the Hartford Club, the Farmington 
Country Club, and the Oasis Club. 

Mr. Johnston finds recreation from the 
arduous cares of his various business du- 
ties in travel, and has spent consider- 
able time in study in foreign countries. 

Mr. Johnston is also particularly fond 
of organization work, and during the 
thirty years of his business life he has 
given a great deal of time to the pro- 
moting of commercial and civic organiza- 
tions. This was first evident when as the 
result of his efforts the first organization 



266 



ENCYCLl IPED] \ < IF BI< »GR \I'HY 



of business men in the State was effected Artillery, Thirteenth Battalion, United 

'This was the Merchants' Association of States army, during the World War, and 

Connecticut, and was organized in [890, was commissioned lieutenant as a reward 

with Mr. Johnston as the treasurer. Fol- For his dutiful, excellent service, 

lowing this was the organization of the Agnes Hawthorne, born October 30, • - 

Merchants' Association in New Britain, a graduate of Wellesley College, class of 

New lla\en, and other eities of the State. 1 • 1 1 S. 

and eventually through these activities 

began the State Business Men's Associa- FLYNN, Michael H., 
tion of Connecticut, in 1897. In [914, 

, , , , , . , . Manufacturing Executive. 
when Mr. Johnston was president 01 tin- 
State Association, the title of the organi- There is a dignity of family and a dig- 
zation was changed to the Connecticut nity of achievement. The one fulfills a 
Chamber of Commerce and Mr. Johnston large pari in the making of the other. 
was reelected for a secnd term as the Nevertheless the personality of the indi- 
first president of the State Chamber of vidual, the power of making use of the 
Commerce, and has since been a member materials at hand, the capacity for absorb- 
of the executive committee of the State ing experience and making it a significant 
Association. part of his mental equipment, these are 
In 1917, as a result of the activity of the qualities of the man himself — quali- 
Mr. Johnston in State matters, he was ties which t,dve to the world the self-made 
nominated as director of the Chamber of man. 
Commerce of the United States of Amer- 
ica. Washington, D. C. and in 1919 was 
unanimously reelected as a director for a 
second term. The State of Connecticut 



The O'Flynns, now O'Lynns, and the O'Donnel- 
lans, were Chiefs of L'i Tuitre. The territory of 

L'i Tuitre lay along the northern shores of Laugh 
\ agh, and the River Bann, and extended to 



has honored Mr. Johnston at various Alieve, Mi-, comprising the Baronies of T 
times, he having received from Governor 
Baldwin the appointment of representa- 
tive of the State at the International Con- 
gress of Chandlers of Commerce in Bos- 
ton in 1912, and from ( iovernor Hol- 
COmb, to represent the State at the In- her. County of Roscommon, in which lay Slieve 



and Antrim, and was afterward known as North- 
ern Clanahoy. These O'Flynns were among the 
most warlike opponents of John de Courcy and 
the early Anglo-Norman invaders. 

The O'Flynns, Chiefs of Siol Maolruain, pos- 
sessed a large district in the barony of Balli; I 



ternational Congress of Chambers of 

Commerce in Paris and London in 1014. 
Mr. Johnston married, at New Britain, 
Connecticut. September 1. [889, Annie 
Isabel Andrews, daughter of John Henry 
Andrews, of New Britain, and they are 
the parents of two children: 1. Douglas 



l"i Fhloinn, or O'Flynn's Mountain, and which 
comprised the parishes of Killkeevan and Kiltul- 
and also part of Ballynakill, in the barony 
of Ballymore, County of Galway. Lough l'i 
Fhloine, — O'Flynn's Lake, — lies j n this terr- 
as docs the village of Ballinlough, that is the 
town of Flynn's Lake. O'Flynn's Castle, of which 
ndations are now traceable, stood on 



the top of the hill between the village and the 
Andrews, horn September 1. [890; he lnke . Others of this name were settled in Mun- 
graduated from the Sheffield Scientific ster. 

School ot Yale with honors, in the cli O'Flynn was Chief of Arda. a territory in the 

of [911, and is now associated with his barony of Carbery, and Hy Baghamna. now the 

father in business, and is vice-president J aron ? *', ^ an *! ^ arr - vr 2f- ad J°j nin 8 Car ' 

. . , , , _. _ . „ berv. in the Countv of Cork. These Hvnns were 

and superintendent of the Citv Coal & ,- ',• ,■ .• t ,i ' , c m-i • 'tu 

1 ot the line ot Ith, uncle of Milesius. The name 

Wood Company. lie served in the Field is also met with in Clare and other local: 

-'07 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



The crest of the family of Flynn and 
O'Flynn is as follows: A dexter hand, 
erect, holding a serpent, the tail embowed 
and head to the sinister, all proper. 

Thomas Flynn, the grandfather of 
Michael H. Flynn, was born in Queens 
county, Ireland, in 1800, and died in 1880. 
When a young man he went to England 
and learned the trade of carpet weaver. 
Being an ambitious young man and real- 
izing the advantage of continuing his 
work in a young and progressive countrv, 
he came to America when he was twenty 
years of age and went first to New Jersey. 
Here he was married and soon after went 
to Tariffville, Connecticut, where he was 
employed in the old carpet factory as a 
hand loom weaver. That was in the days 
before the introduction of power looms. 
\\ hen the new power looms were brought 
into use he retired to a farm in the town 
of Simsbury (Tariffville), Connecticut, 
which was owned by his second wife. 

Michael A. Flynn, son of Thomas 
Flynn, was born in Tariffville, Decem- 
ber 4, 1837, educated in the public schools, 
and learned the trade of blacksmith. He 
ran a blacksmith shop there on his own 
account for thirty-five years. Then in 
1890 he removed to Hartford and engaged 
in blacksmithing, still for himself and so 
continued until his death, which occurred 
April 24, 19 14. He was a genial man and 
a skillful workman ; a Democrat, and 
served as selectman of Simsbury for four 
years. His wife, Rachel, was a daughter 
of Jonathan Ledgard. She was born in 
Dewsbury, Leeds, England, and came 
with her parents to America, when four 
years old. They located in Tariffville, at 
the time that power looms were installed 
in the carpet mill, when Jonathan Led- 
gard became a foreman. After a time he 
left there and removed to Massachusetts, 
where he was employed in the woolen 



mills, finally settling in Maynard, Massa- 
chusetts, where he died. 

Michael A. Flynn's first wife was Mary 
Lynch, and there was one daughter by 
that marriage, Mary, who is now a pipe 
organist in Middletown. For ten years 
prior to going there she was organist in 
the Church of the Immaculate Conception 
in Hartford and during all this time has 
been recognized as a very successful 
teacher of music. By his second mar- 
riage. Mr. Flynn had twelve children, five 
of whom grew to maturity : Margaret, 
who married William T. Smith, of Water- 
bury; Michael H., the subject of this 
sketch ; Alfred A., Daniel J., and Kath- 
erine. 

Michael H. Flynn, son of Michael A. 
Flynn, was born in Tariffville, October 8, 
1875. He was educated in the grammar 
and high schools of Hartford, and then 
entered the employ of W. H. Kelsey & 
Company, tailors. He remained there 
four years and a half. He then worked 
for the Pratt and Whitney Company, then 
for L. H. Blood & Company, as a designer 
of machinery, and held the office of secre- 
tary of the company. After three years 
he left there and was with the Pope Man- 
ufacturing Company for a time, then with 
the Underwood Typewriter Company 
when their plant was in New Jersey. He 
came with them when their factory was 
transferred to Hartford and remained 
with them four years as a machine de- 
signer. The last year, in order to gain 
practical experience, of which he felt the 
need, he worked in the tool room. He 
was afterwards for a short time with the 
Travelers' Insurance Company, then back 
to the typewriter business with the Union 
Typewriter Company, at the Smith Prem- 
ier factory in Syracuse, and at the Yost 
factory in Bridgeport. He spent alto- 
gether about two years on those two ma- 
chines, then entered the employ of the 



268 



ENCYCLOPF.D1 \ OF BIOGRAPHY 

Royal Typewriter Company in Brooklyn, determination and ability to surmount 

in 1907, as chief draftsman, coming to the countless obstacles which present 

Hartford with that company in [908. In themselves before them. Their desire to 

[910 he was promoted to assistant super- serve comes straight from their hearts 

intendent, and in [913 to superintendent, and no discouragement seems too much 

He remained in that capacity until An- For them. Emanating Faith, hope and 

gust, [918, when he accepted his present charity, they are among the chosen people 

position, that of manager of the factory of of the earth. 

the M.S. Little Manufacturing Company. Father Preston was born November 3, 
This well known Hartford firm makes a 184c). in the city of New Haven. Connec- 
specialty of bent pipes and plumber's sup- ticut, son of Thomas and Margaret I Ban- 
plies, and was engaged during the World non) Preston, and grandson of Thomas 
War in the manufacture of munitions. Preston, natives of Ireland. 

Mr. Flynn is a member of the American Thomas Preston, grandfather of Father 

Society of Mechanical Engineers; of the Preston, was between seventy-five and 

Hartford Club, and the Knights of Co- eighty year- of age when he came to 

lumbus. He was appointed a member of America, accompanied by his wife. He 

the Charity Commission by Mayor Law- had been engaged in farming during his 

ler. and reappointed by Mayor Hagarty. active life and also was a gardener on the 

Mr. Flynn married Elizabeth, daughter large estates of his native home. His son, 

iA James Condren, of Hartford, and they Thomas Preston, father of our subject, 

have two children. Edward and John. was a young lad when he came with his 

parents to this country, and early learned 



PRESTON, Thomas James, the trade of shipbuilding. For many years 

previous to the Civil \\ ar, he was cu- 
red in this occupation at Charlestown, 
Rev. Thomas James Preston, pastor of Massachusetts, and after the struggle 
St. Patrick's Roman Catholic Church of above referred to was located at the 
Thompsonville, Connecticut, enjoys the Brooklyn navy yard. Mr. Preston mar- 
distinction of being one of the most es- ried Margaret Bannon, daughter of James 
teemed citizens of that town. Those of and I Bridget (Lilly) Bannon, natives of 
his profession who devote their lives and Ireland. They were the parents of eight 
services to the ministering of the gospel children, six now living, as follows : John, 
are among the noblest characters of man- Margaret, Joseph. Andrew, Mary, and 
kind. Sacrificing practically all of self, Thomas J., of further mention. 
they make the cause of humanity their Rev. Thomas James Preston attended 
cause. They are ever ready to counsel, the public schools of New Haven, and was 
cheer and uplift the downtrodden ; by a diligent student. Desiring to enter the 
their eloquence they put faith into the priesthood, he applied himself to his stud- 
heart of the weary, and through their ies with an earnest heart in order that he 
ministrations assuage grief. Unselfishly might the sooner achieve his ambition, 
they labor day after day. striving to aid in The succeeding year- found him a stu- 
countless ways. Men of worthy and up- dent successively of the Niagara I "niver- 
right character, they are deserving of the sity of New York, where he spent the 
position of esteem which they hold. They years 1868 and 1869, and at the Hols- 
are naturally possessed of the qualities of Cross College of Worcester, Massachu- 

269 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



setts, graduating in 1870. His priestly- 
course was completed at the Grand Sem- 
inary in Montreal, Canada, in 1876, and 
he was ordained to the priesthood Decem- 
ber 23, 1876, by the Most Rev. Archbishop 
Charles Fabre, archbishop of Montreal. 

Father Preston was located for a time 
in Meriden, Connecticut, as a curate of 
the Church of St. Rose of Lima. In April, 
1883, upon the death of the pastor, Rev. 
A. Princen, Father Preston began his ad- 
ministration of St. James' Parish in Dan- 
ielson, Connecticut. During his stay 
there he was instrumental in accomplish- 
ing much towards the remodeling and 
renovating of the church and the decreas- 
ing of the church debt. He was a prime 
factor in the movement resulting in the 
building of a parochial school at a cost 
of $16,000. In 1895, St. James "passed 
under the jurisdiction of the Missionary 
Fathers of Our Lady of La Salette of 
Hartford," and this year also marked the 
close of Father Preston's pastorate there. 
His services were transferred to the par- 
ish of which he is the present incumbent, 
St. Patrick's Parish, of Thompsonville, 
Connecticut. This parish was organized 
in 1863, the first resident pastor being the 
Rev. Bernard Tully. The predecessor of 
Father Preston was Rev. Joseph Gleason, 
during whose administration the corner- 
stone of the fine new church was laid, Au- 
gust 11, 1889. The parish has four thousand 
communicants. Father Preston was ap- 
pointed to St. Patrick's parish, in Thomp- 
sonville, December 8, 1895, which had a 
debt of $35,000 and a church to be com- 
pleted. The first work in the parish was 
$2,000 expended in the renovation of the 
convent. He also succeeded in paying 
$25,000 off of the debt. His chief ambi- 
tion has been to complete the magnificent 
brown stone edifice which will cost fully 
$200,000. In his work he has had the 
hearty cooperation of all the members of 



the parish. St. Patrick's new church is 
masterfully constructed of Portland stone, 
laid in broken ashler, and is Romanesque 
in its architectural lines. It is one hun- 
dred and fifty feet long and is, exclusive 
of a beautifully rounded truncated tower 
that swings off from the front at the gos- 
pel end, sixty-five feet wide at the facade. 
Its great tower, on the corner of two 
streets, is remarkable for its massive gen- 
erosity, and the whole front, with its three 
great portals, presents, architecturally, a 
most noble appearance. The church is 
especially to be commended for its rear 
view, with its Roman apse, producing a 
strikingly solid effect. The interior of the 
main auditorium will seat fourteen hun- 
dred people ; its lines are perfect and de- 
light the eye of the keenest critic. Within 
are three marble altars, one of which was 
the gift of Mr. Thomas Preston, Sr., of 
New Haven, in memory of his wife, Mrs. 
Margaret (Bannon) Preston. The main 
altar is a marvel of workmanship. The 
window over the main altar of the cruci- 
fixion was the gift of the pastor, Rev. 
Thomas J. Preston. The window on 
epistle side, the Resurrection, was given 
by the Rev. Terence J. Dunn, in memory 
of his father and mother, John and Eliza- 
beth Rossiter Dunn. 

For almost a quarter of a century 
Father Preston has labored tirelessly for 
the good of his flock. Through his good 
works and helpful ministering, he has 
made many loyal and lasting friends, irre- 
spective of creed or belief. He is beloved 
by all, especially by the little children, 
who revere him for his kindly word and 
helping hand. Charities are continually 
flowing out for the benefit of the unfort- 
unate and the needy, and there is an in- 
spiration and diffusing joy about him that 
is as refreshing to the human heart as 
water to the parched and thirsty earth. 
The work of the church and attendant du- 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BI< KiKAPIIY 



tics have been such t h.-it Father Preston 
has had little time for outside matters. 
He is progressive and interested in the 
welfare of Enfield, l>ut i- not bound by 
any particular views in politics, being an 
Independent. I lis fraternal activities have 
been with the organizations connected 
with his labors and he lias taken an active 
part in the Knights of Columbus order. 



WALSH, Joseph William, 

Physician. 

The late Dr. Joseph W. Walsh was 
among the most esteemed residents of 
Portland, Connecticut, where he was very 
successfully engaged in the practice of 
medicine at the time of his untimely 
death, October 20, 1918. During the great 
influenza epidemic of that autumn, lie ex- 
hausted himself so greatly in trying to 
care fur the sufferers that he overtaxed 
his strength and became the victim of that 
monster from which he had rescued so 
many others. A native of Middletown, 
Connecticut, born August 29, 1885, Dr. 
Walsh was a son of John J. Walsh, who 
was a native of Portland, where for many 
years he conducted a grocery business 
and is now retired. His grandfather, Jo- 
seph Walsh, was a native of Ireland, who 
came to this country and was among the 
enterprising pioneers of California in 
1849. The son. John J. Walsh, married 
Annie McAulitYe, a native of Portland, as 
were her parents. 

Dr. Joseph W. Walsh attended the 
grammar schools and Middletown High 
School, from which he was graduated 
in 1901. Having decided to engage 
in the healing art, he entered the 
College of Physicians and Surgeons, 
Baltimore, Maryland, from which he 
was graduated M. I). in 1907. Follow- 
ing his graduation, for two years he was 
an interne in a hospital, where in time he 



became resident physician. He began in- 
dependent practice in I 'anbury, Connec- 
ticut, when- he continued four year-, and 

in [912 removed t<> Portland, win-re he 
engaged in the general practice of medi- 
cine and surgery, with great success. Dr. 
Walsh gave little attention to matters 
outside of his profession, and through his 
earnest and faithful labor- was of great 
use to the community. I [e was interested 

in and an examiner for various fraternal 
organizations, including the Junior Order 
of American Mechanics, the Benevolent 
and Protective' >rderof Elks, Loyal Order 
of Moose, Fraternal Order of Eagles and 
Improved Order of Red Men. He wa 
member of the Portland Social Club, and 
one of the faithful adherents of St. Mary's 
Roman Catholic Church of Portland. A 
Republican in politics, he was independ- 
ent in political matters and did not seek 
any share in their promulgation. 

Dr. Walsh was married in Baltimore, 
Maryland, in 1906, to Mary Catherine 
( )'I\eefe, born October 17. [886, in Mid- 
dletown, daughter of J. W. and Martha 
(McDonald) O'Keefe, of Middletown and 
Portland, respectively. Dr. and Mrs. 
Walsh were the parents of two children : 
Geraldine Grace, born September 18, 
1907: and Joseph William, born January 
24. 1910. 



HOLT, Thomas, 

Public Official. 

A highly esteemed citizen and one of 
the most efficient and progressive dairy- 
men of the State, Thomas Holt, State 
Dairy and Food Commissioner, is giving 
to the Commonwealth the benefit of his 
observation and experience. He is a na- 
tive of England, born January 21, 1863, in 
I.ittleboro, Lancashire, son of John and 
Alice (Fletcher) Holt, of that place. 

Before attaining his majority, Thomas 



271 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Holt came to the United States and spent 
four years on the Western Plains engaged 
in grain raising, thence he removed to 
Alabama and conducted a dairy farm at 
Fort Payne. Subsequently he spent some 
time in Central New York, and in 1895, 
after having been a resident of the United 
States for thirteen years, he settled at 
Southington, Connecticut, where he built 
up a very extensive dairy business. He 
continued to make his home in that town 
until May 20, 1918, when he removed to 
Newington and located on a farm which 
he had just purchased in that town. He 
still retains his large dairy farm in the 
northwestern part of Southington, which 
is under the management of his eldest 
son. About seventy cows are maintained 
on the two farms, one-half of them pure 
bred Jerseys, and Mr. Holt usually main- 
tains about the same number of young 
stock, thus keeping his dairy up to stand- 
ard. For many years he delivered milk 
to customers in Bristol, Connecticut, 
where the business is still conducted by 
his son-in-law, James C. Gilbert. Thus it 
is apparent that Mr. Holt is a practical 
farmer. He is thoroughly familiar with 
all the details of his business, and is still 
able to milk eighteen cows at an early 
hour in the morning. Possessed of excel- 
lent business qualities, he has achieved 
success and is recognized throughout the 
State as a leader in the dairy interests, 
and it was very natural that Governor 
Holcombe, his neighbor in Southington, 
should select him, on January 21, 1918, to 
fill the place made vacant by the death, 
January 13, 1918, of Frank Stadtmueller, 
as head of the State Dairy and Food De- 
partment. This is still more complimen- 
tary to Mr. Holt, because he is not of the 
same political association as is Governor 
Holcombe. On May 1, 1918, at the ex- 
piration of the term, he was reappointed 
for the full term of four years. He early 
achieved recognition among his contem- 



poraries, and is now president of the 
Farmers' Cooperative Purchasing Asso- 
ciation of Bristol, and of the Connecticut 
Milk Producers' Association; director of 
the Connecticut Dairymen's Association 
and also holds this office in the Hartford 
County League and Farm Bureau. He 
makes an excellent director of this asso- 
ciation by virtue of his thorough knowl- 
edge of dairying, and is regarded by his 
associates as an expert and the best in- 
formed farmer in the State. 

While a resident of the town of South- 
ington Mr. Holt took more than an active 
interest in civic affairs. He is a Democrat 
in politics, and held the office of selectman 
of Southington for five consecutive years, 
and in all seven years, during which time 
he rendered valuable service. He is a 
member of Union Grange of Southington, 
of which he has been master. Of broad- 
minded, sympathetic nature and generous 
impulses, Mr. Holt very naturally became 
allied with several fraternities. He was 
raised in Free Masonry at Fort Payne, 
Alabama, and within a very short time 
after his locating in Southington, he be- 
came affiliated with Friendship Lodge, 
No. 33, Ancient Free and Accepted Ma- 
sons, of that town. He is also a member 
of Harmony Lodge, No. 35, Order of the 
Eastern Star, in which he is now serving 
his fourth term as worthy patron. He is 
a member of Steven Terry Lodge, No. 59, 
Independent Order of Odd Fellows, of 
Bristol, and of the Southington Lodge, 
Knights of Pythias. 

Mr. Holt married, October 26, 1884, 
at Bristol, Dakota, Mary Ellen Hurst, 
daughter of James and Ellen Hurst, of 
Littleboro, England, and they are the par- 
ents of three children: Mary Alice, who 
became the wife of James C. Gilbert, of 
Bristol ; John William, born in 1895, at 
Worcester, New York, now a resident of 
Southington ; George, born in Southing- 
ton, now residing in Newington. 



272 



ENCYCLt »l'i:i)l.\ OF I'.H XiKAI'HY 



HOLLEY, Alexander Hamilton, 

Manufacturer, Governor. 

Governor Alexandei Hamilton Holley 
was descended from John Holley, a native 

of England, who settled at Stamford, 

Connecticut, about [644. The line was 
respectably but not notabl) continued to 
Luther Holley, a man of great vigor of 
mind, and of exceptional business ability, 
qualities which were transmitted to his 

six sons, all of whom attained distinction, 

especially Myron Holley, the reformer. 



as the Holies Manufacturing Company, 
with Mr. Holley as president, which posi- 
tion he held until Ins death. It i- t" be 
said that to him America owe-, thi 
ginning of its prestige in his lin< 
goods. He was also active along other 
lines, lie aided in promoting and estab- 
lishing the Harlem and the Housatonic 
railroads, those also in Dutchess and Co- 
lumbia counties. New York, and especially 
the Connecticut Western, in which he was 
a member of the directorate and the ex- 
ecutive committee. He was also active in 



Leaving the farm, Luther Holley removed 

to Salisbury, where he established an iron the organization and management of 

manufacturing business, and in which he ,,:i,lks >» Salisbury. Boston, and else- 



was succeeded by his son, John Milton 
Holley, in association with John C. Coff- 
ing. John M. Holley married Sally Por- 
ter, of a fine family, and they were the 
parents of Governor Alexander H. Holley. 
Governor Holley was born August 12, 
1804. at Salisbury. Connecticut, and died 
at Lakeville, same State. ( October 2, 1887. 
After attending schools in Sheffield. Mas- 



where. His benevolent disposition found 
evidence in the fostering care he gave to 
the School for Imbecile-, at Lakeville, pri- 
vately established; and his last public ad- 
dress, delivered only a few months before 
his death, was made at the dedication of 
its new building. 

\ Whig in politics, in 1844 ne was a 
delegate in the convention which nom- 



sachusetts, and Ellsworth, Connecticut, mated Henry Clay for the presidency. In 

he entered Yale College, but feeble health 1S54. without his knowledge, he was nom- 

forbade his continuance there, and at the inated Lieutenant-Governor, and was 

age of sixteen he took a clerkship in his elected, his election as Governor follow- 



father's counting room. He had not much 
passed his majority when his father died, 
greatly increasing his labor and responsi- 
bilities, and when there were premoni- 
tions of the great financial panic which 
came in the next year. Notwithstanding 
these cares, and while devoting himself 
industriously to his business concerns, he 
found time to give much attention to po- 
litical matters, and was a frequent con- 
tributor to the press on political and so- 
ciological topics. In 1844 he began the 



ing in 1857. In February, 1858, as Gov- 
ernor, he attended the unveiling of Craw- 
ford statue of Washington, at Richmond, 
Virginia, and at a public banquet given on 
that occasion he delivered an address in 
which he deprecated any attempt at dis- 
solution of the Union. In i860, he was a 
delegate in the convention which nom- 
inated Abraham Lincoln for the presi- 
dency, and throughout the Civil War, in- 
capacitated through age for hard service, 
he did all in his power to inspire in others 



manufacture of pocket cutlery, employing a spirit of jive patriotism. In 1866, 

workmen from the noted factories in Governor Buckingham offered him a State 

Sheffield. England. This business he con- commissionership to the World's Fair in 
tinued with Nathan W. Merwin as a part- Paris, but his delicate health compelled 
ner until 1854, when it was incorporated his declination. His last public appear- 
Conn— 7— 18 273 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



ance was at the dedication of the soldiers' 
and sailors' monument at New Haven. 

Governor Holley abounded in public 
spirit, was exceedingly fond of mechani- 
cal pursuits, anci many of his city's houses 
and shops were erected under his superin- 
tendence. He was an intense lover of home 
and homelike surroundings, and aided 
industriously in promoting the beauty of 
the place. Pie was liberal in his benevo- 
lences, and was an earnest supporter of 
the anti-slavery and temperance move- 
ments. 

His first wife, Jane M. Holley, daugh- 
ter of Hon. Erastus and Abigail (Starr) 
Lyman, bore him one son, Alexander Ly- 
man Holley, who became distinguished as 
a civil engineer. Governor Holley mar- 
ried (second) Marcia Coffing, daughter of 
Hon. John C. and Maria (Birch) Coffing, 
who bore him five sons and a daughter. 
He married (third) Sarah Coit, daughter 
of Hon. Thomas Day, who survived him 
twelve years, and by whom he had no 
issue. 



GOODWIN, James Junius, 

Man of Large Affairs. 

There are many notable names identi- 
fied with the financial and industrial de- 
velopment of New England during the 
past half century, and they deserve the 
whole-hearted gratitude and praise of 
those who to-day are reaping the fruits of 
their labors. Among these names is that 
of Goodwin, the members of this family 
having been closely associated in the pro- 
jection of those vast plans, the consum- 
mation of which has influenced the entire 
business world. Among them was the 
late James Junius Goodwin, whose death 
on June 23, 191 5, left a gap in the life of 
two communities, New York, and Hart- 
ford, Connecticut, which it will be diffi- 
cult to fill. Although his active career in 



business brought him into more intimate 
intercourse with the financial operations 
of New York than with those of Hartford, 
the former city as the metropolis of the 
western hemisphere being a sort of clear- 
ing house for the world-wide financial 
transactions with which he had to do, yet 
in most of the aspects of his life it was 
rather with the smaller city that Mr. 
Goodwin may be said to have been identi- 
fied. His forebears were for many gener- 
ations among the prominent men of Hart- 
ford, who set and maintained high stand- 
ards of probity and liberality for the busi- 
ness methods of the city ; he was himself 
born there, and until his death he never 
gave up his Hartford home, spending, in- 
deed, the greater part of each year in its 
delightful retirement. 

The founder of the family in this coun- 
try was Ozias Goodwin, and it seems 
probable that he was one of the immi- 
grants who arrived in Boston on Septem- 
ber 12, 1632, on the ship "Lion" from 
England. It must have been no great 
while thereafter that he removed from 
Boston to the little colony founded by 
Thomas Hooker on the banks of the Con- 
necticut river, the germ of the modern 
Hartford ; for as early as 1662 Nathaniel 
Goodwin, his son, was admitted as a free- 
man into that community by the General 
Court of Connecticut. From that time 
through all the stirring chapters of its his- 
tory, the Goodwins have been active in 
the affairs of Hartford, taking part in its 
civic and military duties, and proving 
themselves in every way to be public- 
spirited citizens. 

In the earlier part of the nineteenth 
century the family was represented in 
Hartford by the dignified figure of Major 
James Goodwin, the father of James Jun- 
ius Goodwin, himself a prominent and 
successful man, who had passed his child- 
hood in his father's home, long the stop- 



274 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF i'.IOGRAFI I V 



ping place of the stages For Albany and had just been given the American agency 

other western points and known as Good- of the great London banking hous< 

win's Tavern. It was with him that the George Peabodj & Company, of which 

connection with the Morgan family be- his father was a member. The career of 

gan, when as a youth he entered Joseph the Morgan firm is too widely known to 

Morgan's office. This Joseph Morgan was need rehearsing lure, and in fact Mr. 



the father of Junius Spencer Morgan, the 
well known London banker, and one of 
tin.- founders of the great financial inter- 
ests which later became so closely identi- 
fied with his son's gigantic career. After 
a time James Goodwin married a daugh- 
ter of Joseph Morgan, and from his moth- 
er's brother, James Junius (ioodwin. was 
given the name of Junius. James (iood- 
win became associated in a prominent 
way with many of the largest and most 
important business institutions in Hart- 
ford, among which should be mentioned 
the Connecticut Mutual Life Insurance 
Company, of which he was president, as 
well as institutions of another character, 
such as the Hartford Hospital, and in the 
old military organization known as the 
Governor's Horse Guard, of which he was 
major of the first company. 

James Junius (ioodwin, son of Major 
James and Lucy (Morgan I (ioodwin, was 
born in Hartford. Connecticut. September 
i'), 1835, and there passed his childhood 
and youth. His education was for a time 
in the excellent private schools of the 
city, and later in the Hartford High 
School, from which he was graduated 
with the class of 1851. For a few years 
following- he was employed in a number 
of clerical positions, and in 1857 he went 
abroad for eighteen months of study and 
travel. In the early part of the year 1859, 
he returned to the United States and ac- 
cepted a position in the firm of William 
A. Sale & Company, of Xew York, 
engaged in the Chinese and East India 
trade. He remained with them about two 
years, and then became the partner of his 
cousin, the late J. Pierpont Morgan, who 



Goodwin remained a partner for only ten 
years, though the interests with which he 
was connected were always allied to Mr. 
Morgan's. In iSji the firm was recon- 
structed under the name of Drexel, Mor- 
gan & Company. Mr. (ioodwin withdraw- 
ing from it. and indeed from all active 
business. He was one of those who in- 
herited through his father a large portion 
of his ancestors' 1 lartford property which, 
with the growth of the city, had become a 
most valuable possession, and the care of 
which required much watchful attention. 
But though he was not now engaged in 
active business, he did not sever his con- 
nection entirely with the financial world 
in which he had played so important a 
part. On the contrary, his interests were 
very large and varied, and without doubt 
it is due in very large measure to his skill 
and wisdom that the institutions with 
which he was connected had great pros- 
perity. Among these should be mentioned 
the Connecticut Mutual Life Insurance 
Company, the Hartford Fire Insurance 
Company, the Collins Company. Connec- 
ticut Trust and Safe Deposit Company, 
the Holyoke Water Power Company, and 
the Erie & Susquehanna Railroad. 

Important as was his position in the 
financial world, and powerful as was his 
influence from this source, it is not for 
this that Mr. Goodwin was best known 
and is best remembered in the city of his 
birth ; for though his busini SS connec- 
tions were numerous, he was still more 
active in other departments of the city's 
life. His public spirit knew no bounds 
and there were few movements under- 
taken for the general welfare in which he 



275 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



was not a conspicuous participant, aiding 
with generous pecuniary gifts and also 
with his time and personal effort. He was 
proud of the beautiful old city of which 
his forefathers had been residents for so 
many generations, and it was a pleasure 
for him to be active and be known as 
active in its affairs. He was prominent in 
the general social life of the community, 
and was a member of many clubs and or- 
ganizations, such as the Colonel Jeremiah 
Wadsworth branch of the Connecticut 
Society of the Sons of the American Rev- 
olution, the Connecticut Historical So- 
city, of which he was vice-president, the 
General Society of Colonial Wars in the 
State of Connecticut, and the Hartford 
Club. It is appropriate to add here that 
he was a member of many important New 
York clubs, such as the Union, City, Cen- 
tury, Metropolitan, and the Church. He 
was also a trustee of Trinity College, 
which in 1910 conferred on him the degree 
of Doctor of Laws. In the matter of reli- 
gion, Mr. Goodwin was a communicant of 
the Episcopal church, as were his ances- 
tors before him. He was a warden of Cal- 
vary Church in New York for twenty-five 
years, and when in Hartford the venerable 
Christ Church was the scene of his devo- 
tions, and few of its members were more 
devoted or more valued than he. He held 
the office of warden for many years, and 
the parish is certainly much the stronger 
for his having served it. It was character- 
istic of him that he was at great pains to 
preserve its early traditions and records, 
and it was due to his generosity, in bear- 
ing the expense of publication, that the 
extremely valuable and handsome volume 
of more than seven hundred and fifty 
pages in which the history of the parish 
is traced in the form of annals down to 
the year 1895, by Dr. Gurdon W. Russell, 
was printed and distributed. Another act 
of Mr. Goodwin, which illustrated his 



great generosity to the interests of his 
church, was the gift of the handsome 
house at No. 98 Woodland street, Hart- 
ford, for the residence of the Bishop of 
Connecticut. 

Mr. Goodwin's pride in his city has al- 
ready been remarked, and we may add 
that its present prosperity, to say nothing 
of its beauty, owes not a little to his efforts 
and activities. His efforts, too, on behalf 
of the preservation of old records have 
been of great service for the more exact 
study and writing of the city's history, 
and the Historical Society is richer in the 
possession of some very rare and valuable 
works through his generosity, especially 
noticeable being the gift of that great 
work, "The Victoria History of the Coun- 
ties of England," not yet completed, but 
already a library in itself. He bore the 
expense of editing and publishing, as two 
volumes of the society's collections, the 
most important of Hartford's early rec- 
ords. 

Air. Goodwin married Josephine Sarah 
Lippincott, of Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, 
June 19, 1873. Mrs. Goodwin is a de- 
scendant of Richard Lippincott, who was 
a settler of Massachusetts some time prior 
to 1640, at which date he was living there, 
and who twenty-five years later was a 
planter of the first English settlement in 
New Jersey. To Mr. and Mrs. Goodwin 
there were born three sons who, with their 
mother, survive him. They are Walter 
Lippincott Goodwin, James Lippincott 
Goodwin, and Philip Lippincott Goodwin. 

A man at once of native power and a 
high degree of culture, Mr. Goodwin's 
was a character which instantly made an 
impression upon those with whom he 
came in contact, an impression which has 
never weakened, of essential strength, 
virtue, and kindly charity. He had the 
power of inspiring devotion on the part 
of friend or employee, and he repaid it 



276 



ENCYCLi >PEDIA OF i:i< nIRAI'IIY 



with a faithfulness on his part very note- tol, he engaged in the meat business, con- 
worthy. Nor were his relations with the tinuing for 9even years. Although he 



community less commendable than with 
its individual members. Man} specific 
examples of this might be adduced, but it 
must suffice to reassert and emphasize in a 
general way that I fartford has known few 
such devoted friends, few that have been 
at once so wil